BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/27/2010

Midstate Auto Group, Inc.

Phone: (508) 832-8886Fax: (508) 832-7993

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
06/06/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have contacted Midstate Auto Group in Auburn Ma numerous times about removing me from their mailing list! And they haven't! They won't leave me alon
I have contacted Midstate Auto Group in Auburn Ma numerous times about removing me from their mailing list! I have emailed, called, and even sent written letters and they won't get me off their mailing list! And I am registered on the national do not mail so now this is getting harassing! I removed mail again ********************** platinum card there is a number XXXXXXXXXX but it's automated and you can't talk to an actual person to be removed then on the bottom the letter reads only at Midstate auto group auburn ma XXXXXXXXXX and I did call there today 05/27/2016 at 1:43pm and told they guy I wanted to be removed from the mailing list but he wasn't typing or confirming didn't seem like he cared or even took my information down he was just like I'll let them know and hung up. So unprofessional this has been going on for a few years and they need to get their marketing under control of they can't control that what reassurance will anyone have in purchasing a vehicle from them!?!?

Desired Settlement
I don't want any further mail or contact from the business

Business Response
I am Ray B.***** the owner
This is the first time I've been made aware of Ms ********'s request.

I will personally make sure we contact our marketing agencies, and inform them of her request.

If Ms ******** has any more concerns she can contact me personally at XXX XXX XXXX

Ray B.*****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Hi there, this has been going on for awhile and many requests. I'm glad it has reached someone who will take care of it. I appreciate it. Thank you.

08/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold a car on ******* and after 2 weeks I noticed several issues with it and they refuse to fix any of them while I'm still under warranty.
On ******** I was sold a 2013 Kia Optima with 32,504 miles. Within 2 weeks, I was noticing a humming noise coming from my tires, the passenger window was making a noise when it would go down, my brakes were squeaking and there were some other issues. I called Midstate and spoke with Matt in service who advised me to bring the car in, so on ***** I dropped it off with 35,350. Which is well below the 3,750 dealer warranty set by the state of MA. The very next day, he called, claiming he heard no noise from the window and brakes and that my tires were "scalloped" but sales refused to justify putting new tires on. So I take it to my local Kia dealership who immediately heard the window noise and humming noise and advised me to take it back to the dealer immediately b/c the tires should have been replaced prior to my purchasing the vehicle. Now Midstate refuses to replace them and I'm stuck with an awful noise and I don't feel safe, my car is all over the road and I don't feel as if I should be paying for brand new tires on a car that I just purchased. My salesman is ***** ******* and the guy in service is **** ********* Please help!

Desired Settlement
new tires

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* **
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************************
As of X-X-XXXX we have addressed any and all concerns Mr ******* had. He is a great customer and I look forward to continuing our relationship in the future. He knows to always call me with any issue with confidence.

07/28/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lied to about down payment amount.
On June 29th I went into Midstate auto looking to buy a car. **** ******* assisted me. After my credit being ran I was informed I would need a $1000 down payment in order to secure a car. He uncomfortably pushed me to get a cosigner and then when I told him Friday was the only day I could come back his while mood changed. He informed me he would be losing money on any deal made with me but that I would win out with a new car and a longer warrenty. He specifically mentioned a mitsubishi. I called **** again on Wednesday July 1st to inform him I would be in on Friday with the requested $1000. He said no problem and advised I bring cash. He also let me know he would try and be there in the morning because he wasn't moving until later in the day. All expectations were set to go forward on Friday. I returned to the business on Friday July 3rd with the promised payment. **** was not there and a man named ***** helped me. He left me sitting and returned to tell me my downpayment amount of $500 was okay and that I needed $1500 for other fees associated with buying a car there. That was not fully expressed to me at all on the other several occasions I spoke with **** and was assured several times $1000 would get me a car there. I expressed this with ***** and he walked away. There was laughing from the office he went to and he came back and told me I needed more money and nothing could be done. I'm not sure if this was a case of discrimination against me due to age and gender or if it was a case of a sales person who was extremely lacking in knowledge and professionalism.

Desired Settlement
I would like to know why I was lied to by the company and have them held accountable for their actions beyond a shrug of their shoulders and a hollow apology.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *****@midstateautogroup.com
Upon reviewing the complaint I reached out to Ms. **********.
We both determined that there were a few misunderstandings. Those misunderstandings were clarified and rectified. I offered my sincere apology, and believe that the situation has been resolved.

02/11/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
onhttp://192.168.30.181/ebindr/images/icons16x/scrub.jpg sept 2 went to dealership with friend her relative was the financial mgr I had agreed to cosign loan was put as purchaser .Which I never agreed to
I was put on a loan as a purchaser to ally financial when I had only agreed to cosign I own my own vehichle I have never had possessi***** **id min van It was picked up on ****** 2014 by ******** ****** I was not present that day and*******received any paperwork the financial Mgr ***** **********s the salesmen a relative to Ms ****** the loan ****** Month for over ****** on the credit application they put I make over **** month I am disabled and receive at the time ******************** dollars I told them this and they forged the amount and signed it . I have been scammed I no longer have an*******to do with these people tried to talk to ***** ******* he said he would take my name off loan but I had to wait a year . this is wrong they claim they can finance anyone no matter what the credit so I want that to happen I am poor and need help

Desired Settlement
I want to be taken off loan and have 5 hard inquiries taken off my credit report as I said I am a disabled person who was never in possession of 2011 ****** mini van . I don't want money I want the salesmen who scammed me to take my name off loan and restore my credit number to all credit agencies

Business Response
On ********* 2, 2014 when Ms. ***** and Ms. ****** were here they were given two financing options. The options were regarding who would be first on the loan. They were told the rate could be less depending on who was first. Our understanding was that they were in a relationship and that it did not seem to be an issue either way. They decided together that having Ms. ***** first on the loan to save money and get the lower interest rate was in their best interest. The vehicle would be then registered and insured to Ms. ****** because she was the driver of the van. When the paperwork was processed Ms. ***** was well aware of what she signed and that she was signing as the primary purchaser. We had a very friendly experience with both parties during the entire buying process. As far as her sources of income Ms. ***** stated that she received a pension for her previous job as a locksmith, social security income, and also doing side jobs as a locksmith. This was presented to us twice once was to myself. She signed an UN-ALTERED credit application stating this information. Ms ***** also sought legal advice at which time we provided all necessary documentation and it was deemed by her attorneys to be appropriate. Ms. ***** is correct in the fact that the payment is **** per month. However it is for 6 years and 3 months, which was presented clearly. With all this being said, I want to make the point that we have not, and will never mis-lead any of our customers for the sake of selling 1 car. If Ms. ****** chooses to do so and qualifies to do so we will help guide her in anyway to refinance the van in just her name to help ease Ms. ***** from her decision to co-purchase with Ms ******.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I only found out I was the primary account holder when I received a letter from ally financial congradulating me on my purchase of a van I was never given any option as stated I also would like you to know as I stated in original complaint I receive no pension and don't work I receive disability only as I stated in complaintI I did not receive any paperwork on the day inquestion and the amount on credit application was altered I called and told ally financial of this I saw on facebook that ***** ******* could finance anyone and there is a picture of him and miss ****** together with van it was taken of facebook right away when I called for legal help all I am asking is to get my name off this loan these people have scammed me and as stated in ***** ******** ad he can finance anyone then he should I am seeking justice and the lies in his statement I will seek charges of felony fraud against the disabled with your help It would be in midstate auto best interest to get my name off loan and get financing for Ms ****** to end this.the I will not let this matter rest until justice is served

10/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
bought a car at midstate auto in Auburn, Mass not even a month ago. Since I have had this vehicle I have been going there at least once or twice a week due to them calling me and saying that things are ready. Yet when I get there they than say its not ready. This last visit to Mid-State was horrible. I went to mid state due to some body damage on the vehicle when purchased in which they said they were going to repair. While supposedly fixing these problems they ended up causing more damage to vehicle. So we talked to the owner of the company in which is very rude and not customer service oriented. But on another note he was very belligerent and tried to make me look like a fool by basically calling me a liar & that everything I said wasn't true. Some how they let me use a cosigner that didn't have a job nor income. The owner was causing a scene in his car lot. We got this vehicle on *********** Since than the dealer ship itself has caused us nothing but problems.
Product_Or_Service: vehicle
Account_Number:**XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
My desired settlement would be to be put in another vehicle around the same price with same payments or CHEAPER! Or have all the damage that is on my current vehicle fixed/repaired & being able to get a loaner while this is being done. If they do not agree on any of this than I would like a complete refund.

Business Response
The day the vehicle was purchased there was acknowledgement of a couple cosmetic concerns. They were addressed with the customer by the ******* ***** ******** It was agreed verbally by Mr ******* that we would replace the center console cover, and repair the small dent on the edge of the door and repair a small crack on the lower part of the bumber by the service department. We understand even though it is a pre-owned car customers want there car to be as new as possible which we greatly appreciate. Again we agreed to all of these concerns. The customer's left happy with the resolution. We did have to order the center console which we were awaiting for the arrival of so we could co-ordinate the other 2 concerns at the same time. They did come to the dealership twice after. 1. to obtain there new registration which they didn't have time to get a sticker. the 2nd time was to receive the inspection sticker. The 3rd time they came for the center console installation, and to have the dent repaired along with the bumper. also a courtesy we ordered them some touch up paint. At that point the customer stated the were not satisfied with results and wanted to speak to the owner. When the owner became involved the customer started to become loud and belligerent with him. The owner stood by the decision to continue to address there concerns but the customer just wasn't having it. At that point they were creating a disturbance at the store. So they asked to leave and that didn't settle well with them. We are still willing to address their concerns with the understanding that there behaviour will not be tolerated at the store.

12/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales person lied re: price of vehicle-hand covered real price & quote me another-ill at time; rust issues; trade-in-was rental-Carfax obtained etc
Totally deceptive practice in selling Chrysler 200 on 10/16/13; told it was trade-in. ******* covered real price with hand & stated lower price. Went back there & told I was crazy & delusional" (I'm not-physically disabled) by ***** ********* he must know ex-husband ***** and asked to cancel on 11/15/13; laughed at. CarFax indicated rental from New York. Car has much rust inner doors etc. wheels, most likely underneath. Car stalled yesterday & idiot light went off behind odometer reading. Asked for another key-not given; remove scratches-not done. Another women pulled up & was screaming at them.

Desired Settlement
Would like to receive NADA price, sales tax, and Registry fees, etc on equivalent of 2002 Mercury Sable which I traded in.

Business Response
To the best of our knowledge *** ******** was very happy with the entire sales process and very thankful that we were able to obtain the terms that fit her needs. Up until her first complaint all had been well. Each time that she came in for a complaint no matter how minor we were very courteous to her and addressed her concerns.The fact it was a rental was in-deed properly disclosed along with her payment. We never have, and never would cover a price and hide it from a customer. Everything is in black and white and was fully disclosed. I have had our service department check the "RUST" she claims it has in the doors. I also offered to make an appointment for her at Chrysler to address the "RUST" concern. She claimed she would call and has not. Never has the subject of the vehicle stalling and the engine light coming on come into question. We are willing and able to address all of her concerns, and will continue to do so.

*** ******
********

07/17/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-Used Cars, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Transmissions-Automobile, Radiators-Automotive, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Headlight Restoration, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Air Conditioning

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.