BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/27/2010

Excellence Auto Exchange, Inc.

(413) 731-97441620 State St, SpringfieldMA 01109-2539 Send email to Excellence Auto Exchange, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/27/2010

BBB has determined that Excellence Auto Exchange, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Excellence Auto Exchange, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Excellence Auto Exchange, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a vehicle that will not stay running.
I purchased a 2008 Chrysler Pacifica on ******** *** 2014 from Excellence Auto. The car does not run properly and it stalls repeatedly while I am driving in traffic (which is a safety issue). I have contacted and brought the vehicle back to Excellence Auto several times (3-4) in the last week. The problem has not been fixed. He told me that "I could not have my down payment back, that's not the way this works" I need a reliable car to get back and forth to work and this
company has taken my money and given me a vehicle that does not properly work and they are not fixing the problem, they will not give me a loaner or rental car either. Your help in this matter would be greatly appreciated. I feel as if I am being unfairly being taken advantage of because I am a single 34 year old Hispanic woman

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the down payment and f0or them to take the car back

Business Response
We at Excellence Auto Exchange are committed to our customer and our vehicles. We operate within the quidelines of the Massachusetts Used Motor Vehicle Law. While attempting to address the customers concerns a problem arose when the customer didn't have transportation while we serviced the vehicle. The customer demanded her money back, when I told her that we had the right by law to repair the vehicle and that alternative transportation was not included in that the customer got out of control and was asked to leave the premise. The good news is since then we've had the oppurtunity to work with the customer. We provided her with a ride to and from work, completed the necessary repairs and the customer has since taken delivery of the vehicle and is on the road. We work hard to solve as many problems as possible and appreciate mediation when necessary. We look forward to working with this consumer as she is a repeat customer. Thank You, Management




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Problem did not arose because of transportation issues the Problem was that on ******** *** Monday the car did not want to start at all so I had to take the day off from work (my internship)and I kept calling Excellence Auto the whole day no one answered. The car finally turned on about 5pm so I took a ride to Excellence Auto and they where by the phone with no customers both ****** and ***** and they ignored me and kept talking about business acting like I was not there. I told him what was going on and he said just leave the car. Prior to this on Friday the *** ****** the owner of Excellence Auto told me drop off the car on Tuesday the *** because I was complaining that the car would not turn on and when the car turned on I had to wait upto an hour in order to change gears and take off or else it would just stall on me turn off. I asked him I need a ride to work can u provide me with another car in the mean time? ****** said no but that he would arrange a ride for me and that he would take me to and from work I said fine thank you very much but when Monday came the *** the car would not start so I told him ok I'll leave the car and what time well you be picking me up? He said no change of plans get your own ride sweety! I knew he changed his mind because on Friday the *** he was making sexual advances towards me and I declined and that pretty much bothered him. Sense ******** X XXXX from the time I left that parking lot of Excellence Auto the car has been turning off on me in middle of traffic then not turning on at all to having to warm the car up for up to an hour they kept putting me off and then on Monday the **** I tried getting the car inspected and I needed my Registration papers because they said they would register the car. when I called Excellence Auto to pick up my ***.papers they told me first the car is Registered to call back because they had not pick the papers up from the DMV. so when I called he said that the DMV told him ***** that they did not have the plate number. Sense ******** *** Excellence Auto ****** and ***** have been telling me and that yes we are registering your car today they keep giving me the round around til this day ******** **** Thursday I still am driving an unregistered car. I called him today Dante and once again gave him my place number and he told me I'll get it done tomorrow then ***** calls me back and saids my home boy just went to DMV and they said your plate number doesn't belong to you! I called my insurance to verify and he lied the plate number is correct!He then saids well I'll get it done tomorrow if I can ok because I sent the lady that works in the back to the DMV and they told her that the plate number did not belong to you once again he lied first his homeboy went to the DMV now the lady that works in the back went to the DMV! They keep jerking me around and I don't appreciate how rude the both of them have been towards me a returning customer. I didn't return because of good service last time I returned because I thought I couldn't get a loan some where else. I told Source One Financial that I did not want the loan with excellence auto because of car not working properly and because they did not want to work with me and Source One said I will not put the loan thru until they fix the car or you can go to a different dealership with still Source One so I said fine I'll give excellence auto time to fix the car and not even a week later ****** calls source one financial and tells them that I said yes put the loan thru that I am happy with the car now he lied and source one never called me to verify like they had agreed to they just took ******'s word for it the ***** of excellence auto and put the loan thru I called source one and they said that theres nothing they can do or me I'm stuck with the loan!!

Final Business Response
The statements made by this customer are false, after being escorted off the premises by local police and asked to not enter our establishment again this case is in mediation with a division of the Attorney Generals office called the Mayors Office of Consumer Affairs. Any future communications should be directed to that office. The customer is fully aware and has the contact information for that office.

Thank You, Excellence Auto Exchange managment.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I contacted the Mayor's office. And I was also at Excellece Auto on Saturday the3rd of January and ****** welcomed me with open arms. The place clearly has issues and the car as well...****** needs to stop selling lemons!

12/07/2015Problems with Product / Service
01/30/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a vehicle almost a month ago, they have had it a majority of that time and it still won't pass state inspection.
I initially paid them and have receipts ****** on ********** and another ****** on ***** and signed the motor purchase contract that day. The total purchase price was ****** yet they still financed me for ****** after my down payments. In other words an excess of ***** I took the car to be inspected the following day ***** and it failed. I told them that same day, I was told to leave the car there and they would fix everything without a problem so I did and they kept the vehicle until ****** When I picked it up I immediately noticed that things still needed to be addressed, I also realized that the clutch was fading to the point of making the vehicle unsafe to drive.. I was told to drop it of the following Sunday night ***** and I did (completely ruining my Christmas), picked it up ***** with issues still needing to be addressed.. I was told the clutch would be sorted out immediately once a replacement arrived.. They insisted on waiting till the clutch came so they could fix everything at the same time. I dropped it off Tuesday *** and haven't had it since, after speaking with the owner earlier they haven't even started to address the check engine light or safety issues and are just now getting the clutch installed.. I told them clearly that I wanted my money back at this point since I'm being forced to pay expensive taxi fees and walking in the winter. I told them I have a daughter and fulltime military career which both require a dependable vehicle and was pretty much told that they don't care and its MY responsibility to be prepared for situations like this.

The vehicle is a 2003 *** ***** with ******* miles vin# *******XX******** Total sale price ******

Desired Settlement
At this point all I want is my ****** back and to leave this situation behind me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **************
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: **********************
Here at Excellence Auto we always disclose all contract numbers including: principal, down payments, doc fees, extended warranties, reg fees, interest rates, and any other charges or fees related to the financing contracts before a customer signs. Mr. ****** looked over this contract very thoroughly and asked many questions. If he had asked us what the additional amount was for and any point to this date we would have told him the same thing we told him the day he signed the contract consciously(you didnt have the money for the registration fees at the RMV and their is a doc fee included. Please have the customer contact us and we will be more than glad to explain it to him again. Further more Mr. ****** also took delivery of the vehicle knowing that some maintance still needed to be done, his exact words were I need the vehicle to drive I will bring it back to have the repairs complete also stating that he was a mechanic and could do most of the repairs himself. I advised him to not repair the vehicle we would take care of it. Soon after Mr. ****** came in with a inspection report showing that the vehicle failed inspection and was giving an appointment to bring the car in for repairs. When the vehice was brought in we diagnosed the vehicle and repaired what could be repaired with the parts that were readily available and was told to pick the car up until the parts came in on order. Some days later the customer called and said the clutch was slipping on the vehicle at that time the customer was told "we would call him when the clutch came in" and we would take care of all the repairs simutanously. We had the car for 2 days repairing when the customer called and said he didnt want the car and that he was informed to leave the car at the lot and pursue a refund. The customer was informed of our right to repair under the Massachusetts Lemon Laws. After agreeing to disagree with the customer we came to agree to rescind the deal. This case is scheduled for final resolution on ******* *** 2015.

05/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The dealership told me they would stand behind their product but now they will not
My complaint starts within the first month of me having my car. I bring it in because the check engine light is on. The light goes off and they say they can't find the problem. The owner of the dealership tells me he will stand behind the car. I bring it in two months later because of a noise coming from the engine and he tells me the motor is broken and I have to pay to fix it. I feel as though I shouldn't have to pay. He gives me all types of attitude and says I should've gotten the extended Warrenty even tho he told me he would stand behind the car.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the dealership to take the car back and take the finance off of my credit report. I don't want any money back I just want to split ways as peacefully as possible.

Business Response
Upon the purchase of Mr. ****** was offered an extended warranty included in the financing, he declined. Some time after our warranty of 30 days or 1250 miles expired Mr. ****** came to us with a concern that the motor had a noise and wanted it diagnosed after being told that the motor needed to be replaced. After confirming the motor had some internal damage the customer said he wasn't paying for any repairs and voluntarily surrendered the vehicle then picked the vehicle up days later saying that he would repair the vehicle. We agreed that we would help him out with the repairs and get him the parts at dealer discounted prices and assist with the labor. We (Excellence Auto) also offered the customer the labor for free to help out(over a $750.00 service) we priced a motor out for about $1500.00 -our cost- that the customer was only going to pay $1250.00. By the time the customer was ready financially, the motor had been sold and the customer was not willing to wait the time it would take and to find another warrantied motor and have it shipped. Excellence Auto Exchange warranties our vehicles within the guide lines of the law. We go above and beyond to satisfy our customers and are not responsible for customers decisions to decline extended warranties. After exchanging words with the customer we are no longer interested in assisting the customer any further.

03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Engine died twice in 8 months ..they received 1600 dollar payment after the first 4 months due to the engine dying and 4 months later died again -_-
2006 chevy equinox 1700 dollar down payment ..had no gas in it no oil no washing fluid had to bring it immediately back cause of a loud ticking noise they then fixed it ..then had to change wheel bearings all 4 tires a broken seatbelt ...i went 3000 miles over the warranty after the second time of me fixing the engine for 1600 dollars and now they are just letting the car rot..got the car in june engine siezed i September ..then payed 1600 got it out in august died in november again i believ . They never put in a new engine all of there reviews are the same complaints

Desired Settlement
I want a working vehicle or my money back immediately

Business Response
We will be more than happy to address any complaints a customer may have. We only respond to complaints from consumers.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/06/2003Business started: 06/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Local Auto Dealer License
Unknown
Worcester, MA 01608

Local Auto Repair Licensing
Unknown
Worcester, MA 01608

BBB records show a license number of 10-5569-02 for this company.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2001, MA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Rodney O. Maye (President)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Dealers-Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

According to information provided by the company, they are a used car dealer.

Industry Tips
MASSACHUSETTS LEMON LAW SUMMARY
AUTO REPAIRS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Excellence Auto Exchange, Inc.

1620 State St

Springfield, MA 01109-2539

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1620 State St 

    Springfield, MA 01109-2539(413) 731-9744

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Excellence Auto Exchange, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-Used Cars

MASSACHUSETTS LEMON LAW SUMMARY
AUTO REPAIRS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.