BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/13/1992

Westboro Motors, Incorporated

Phone: (508) 366-1741

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
09/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
hi,
when i saw the special on a Toyota on their website advertised made a visit to buy the car only to find out there is no truth no any of it...
on aug 29-2013 spoke to sales person named ***** to lease a Toyota venza as advertised on their website for 1999 due at signing and 99 dollars per month, but I was told the truth is $6000 due and 99 dollars if I wanted the car!!!!

Desired Settlement
they must honor what they advertised... thank you

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ************ **
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ******************************
i reviewed the complaint and understand th customer's complaint.the customer is correct in that the advertised lease special required a 1,999 down payment.the advertisement also required inception fees due at sighning as well.these fees include;sales tax,bank acquistion fee,doc fee,registry fee,title and first payment.
the total amount due is not $6000.00 however it is more than simply the down payment.our resolution is to honor the advertisement.
i will br happy to meet with the customer and gain a postive resolution and understanding.i can be reached at ************ ask for ************* *****************.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Good Day, this is exactly as ***************** has acknowledged the bases of this complaint, but I was asked to pay $6000.00 upfront plus the monthly payments where taxes and fees will be added. when the advertising clearly says $1999. Due at signing... unfortunately he just repeats the same problem and does not correct or stop the advertising on their website. misleading and deceptive advertising is not to an honorable business practice.

Final Business Response
Attached, please find a copy of our internet ad regarding the 2013 Toyota Venza LE AWD. If Mrs. *************** would kindly contact *************, our ********************* directly at ************ he will do everything possible to please our customers needs.

Thank you

************
************

09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a car, used car, Hyundai 2007, traded a Murano 2003 and get finance from ICU for difference. The Hyundai started breaking down almost immediately. I notified the dealers through ***************, *****. When car broke down on various occasions, I requested for exchange with another car. Just before concluding the deal, *********** stormed from his office and hauled verbal abuses to me and stated the deal is done and that I should take my car from the compound. I have been hiring taxi for my daily chaos of work, shopping, and dropping kids to & from school. I have been spending over $100 per day on transportation; I need a refund.


Desired Settlement
I need either a refund of the total amount, plus transportation expenses from that day to date. Or your Murano car.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***************
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: *******************************
i called consumer had her come to dealership and i delivered her car to her fixed and resolved the matter she ill call me about her fees for taxi rides and i told her i will help with the fees

Consumer's Final Response
Consumer supplied email: **************************

Business' Final Response
I REINBUST CUSTOMER 350.00 DOLLARS IF SHE G=HAD CONTACTED ME WHEN HER CAR WAS HERE I WOULD HAVE GIVIN HER A LOANER CAR,THE MATTER OF TAKING HER CAR BACK WAS IF SHE HAD ANY MORE PROBLEMS I WOULD WORK WITH HER TO RESOLVE ISSIE BUT SHE NEEDED WAS A BATTERY TO FIX HER CAR.

11/01/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor communication. Making me feel like I am a nuisance to them. Giving me outrageous prices for replacement parts.
I had brought my 2003 Toyota ****** for frame replacement. I had to call them to find out if my frame replacement was approved. I had to borrow someones vehicle for three weeks to get back and forth to work. I should have had a loaner vehicle from day one. I was told I would be charged ****** just to remove the cap on my truck. The list of the prices they would charge me for replacement parts was through the roof. They made no effort to go to bat for me with Toyota to get important parts covered under the replacement. Once I was given all the parts and prices to repair the vehicle they called me all day everyday not giving me time to go over cost and my finances to see what I could afford. I feel like I was just a bother to them. I have many friends and co workers who grew up in and around the Westborough area and I will contact all of them and use social media to make sure I get as many people as I can to not buy vehicles from any of their dealerships. My co worker buys vehicles for his personal customers and I will talk to him about not purchasing vehicles from Westboro Toyota.

Desired Settlement
I am sure if they are concerned about past, present, and future customers they will come up with some type of suitable offer to win me and my point of view back in their favor.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ***********@***************com
Mr **** was made aware that there could be xtra charges infact he signed a declaimer that he could have to invest some of his own money for parts that arn't covered by toyota,he mention that we did not go to bat for him with toyota to pay we as a dealer we know what can be covered and not covered we have done hundreds of repairs and other customers have ask some of the same questions why toyota will not pay for these items. the reason we repetedly called him was so we keep working on his truck and did not return the calls we have other frames that are in line to be worked on.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all I guess the response is given without reading my complaint. I know what Toyota is saying they will cover I am dealing with them now.My first point is can Westboro Toyota justify a metal pipe and a muffler for ******** I did sign the disclaimer since if I did not the truck would not get fixed and that is my only transportation to work. Going to bat is not just saying I know everything so to heck with the customer it is about doing all you can to help people out. I also am stating above that you are taking the whole truck apart anyway why would you charge ****** just to take off the cap? I also stated above that I was never contacted for three weeks and had to rely on others and pay money out of my pocket to be able to get back and forth to work to feed my family. I should have been given a loaner car from day one. I am not disputing what Westboro Toyota stated in their reply above but I am sticking to my original complaint which was never addressed in the reply.

Final Business Response
Mr **** was given plenty of oportunity to refuse any work offered including the exhaust piece in question. Further more the check he used to pay the bill was from his **********, the check was returned for insufficient funds. When contacted the person responsable for the check let us know that she would make good on her responsability. Multiple messages were left for Mr. **** throughout the process. He was provided a loaner veh while we were actually working on his veh.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have nothing more to say other than Westboro Toyota is a very poor excuse for a company. They did not even put the truck back together again like they were suppose to. They threw the parts into the back of my truck. The inside was completely black and filthy. Full of grease. They left all the greasy trash and papers on my floor. The issue with the check is not my business to speak of since I am not the person who wrote the check or is responsible for that check. I have large banners made up for both Westboro Toyota and Toyota motor sales which I am going to display on the junky Toyota truck I have. I have a website started to get the word on on both businesses. Also they took off a charge for one thing and moved it somewhere else on the bill ******* They refunded me ****** for taking off the cap and move it to a charge for cutting holes in my liner and destroying it. Also ****** what a coincidence. ****** and *******. I will cost them many customers I guarantee it.

07/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car towed into shop w electrical issues and exhaust issue. Car returned with destroyed transmission.
Issue occurred 5/31/13. Car in for battery and exhaust won't start. Tech quotes repair on battery/alternator-ok. Tech quotes 1400 on exhaust. After back and forth tech offers up secondary shop that can do repair for 225. Repair authorized. Also oxygen sensor quoted. Not authorized BSC exhaust not even fixed yet. Day of car pickup tech calls and says problem w transmission. Car was running perfectly outside of exhaust issues and obviously battery failing caused tow I to shop. Upon driving out of dealer transmission is skipping everywhere...10, 20 40 mph. Revving like its going to die any minute. No way it was even close to doing anything like this before bringing in. I call tech says transmission fluid was found overfilled by 4 quarts...car has not been touched in 6 months so there's no way that was case...on top of that he says fluid was black. I told him that I did not authorize touching transmission at all. Still they won't take responsibility. Car was out of their hands at this secondary shop for at least a day... Why did nobody notice transmission was broken on way over, but suddenly on way back it's hosed? It's too coincidental..car only has 86k miles of mainly highway driving.

Desired Settlement
I would like this dealer to fix what they broke or pay my out of pocket to fix this issue at another shop.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **********************
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: *****************************
customer had car towed in for no start condition and not running,diagnosed as faulty alternator and battery which no start condition,also has exhast leak catilitic coverter was leaking quoted replacing parts with labor 1400.00 customer said could afford to repair at this time,service advisor offered to get it repaired with aftermarket company to repair for 225.00 dollars,on the way back to westboro toyota the driver noticed cars transmision was skipping whe brought into shop our forman found transmission fluid was black and over filled buy 4 quarts of fluid.customer told service advisor he did have some skipping issue thought maybe needing tune up.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This isn't a proposed resolution or offer - it is Westboro Toyota continuing to deny liability for damaging the transmission on my car.

I'm not sure who is responding, but follow the timeline of events CLOSELY here. Yes the car was towed in for electrical issues- it was also apparently FINE leaving your shop after having an alternator and battery put in and being DRIVEN BY YOUR TECHNICIANS TO THE SECONDARY EXHAUST REPAIR SHOP WITH NO ISSUES NOTED! SO YOU DID HAVE A CHANCE TO DRIVE IT! Three days later, on its way back the transmission suddenly is so bad that you have to take a look at it and now its leaking and overfilled? I could tell the transmission was gone just pulling out of your lot as it was skipping and revving like crazy. It is simply implausible that someone driving the car to the secondary shop could have missed this kind of an issue just three days before, add to that the fact that the car only had 86K miles and that I drove it every day and you've got a pretty good case that the transmission was working fine on arrival.

I'm not sure how you can even claim to have taken care of the car the whole time when it was left at the subcontractors for a few days and then on the way back had issues. To me that's the same as it happening with you.

Almost forgot - thanks a ton for offering up a $1400 repair bill for a $225 job and putting it in writing here. I always lead with a 5x times price on work as well, it is how I inspire trust with my customers.

Business' Final Response
REMEMBER THIS CAR WAS TOWED IN FOR NO START CONDITION WAS REPAIRED,EXHAST WAS REPAIRED AT A SUBLET SHOP THAT HAS EXPERIANCE IN THOSE TYPE OF REPAIRS,1400.00 REPAIR OFFRERED FROM WESTBORO TOYOTA WAS A NEW PART PLUS LABOR SO I WOULD SAY THERE NO DISHONESTY OCCURRING.WE AT WESTBORO TOYOTA HAD NEVER SERVICED OR PERFORMED ANY INSPECTIONS OR REPAIRS IN THE PAST ON THIS VEHICLE,SO HOWWOULD WE KNOW IF IT HAD TRANNMISION ISSIE UNTIL DRIVEN,HIS CONSERN SHOULD BE WITH WHO EVER DID HIS LAST SERVICE AND OVER FILLED TRANSMMISION.
WESTBORO TOYOTA WILL NOT ENTER IN ANY MIDDLE GROUND OR FINANCLE POSITION.

10/24/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
09/07/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/01/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Brake Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Tire Dealers, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.