BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/13/2010

Herb Chambers Hyundai of Auburn

Phone: (508) 832-9990Fax: (508) 832-0665735 Southbridge St, AuburnMA 01501-1311View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/13/2010

BBB has determined that Herb Chambers Hyundai of Auburn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Herb Chambers Hyundai of Auburn's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Herb Chambers Hyundai of Auburn

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
04/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
these people are con artist that lie and cheat people. my sales person is in prison. and i have not recieved my refund in over a year.
failed to refund me on 2 extended service plans i purchased with my 2013 Santa Fe. I sold my santa fe in March of 2014 after owning this vehicle for 1 year I purchased a wheel extended warranty as well as a key replacement warranty. I was to recieve the balance of the warranty refunded to me.
I have been to herb chamber 4 times in the last year always new people and all rude i filled out cancellation forms twice have waited several times for the correct person to look into things and call me back they return phone calls. I asked for my salesman and was told he is in prison and doesnt work for them any more. my last time in the auburn store i got into a confrontation with the sales manager after a hour in the store and no one being able to help me.
I have purchased 2 cars from them and this is how I'm treated and robbed. i would never buy anything from these people again.

Desired Settlement
I fully expect to be refunded for my unused portion of my warranty and waiting a year is POOR BUISNESS

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** **
Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX
*****,
My name is ***** ********, I am the ******* ******* of Herb Chambers Hyundai of Auburn. I am new to the store as of January 23rd of this year. I am sorry you have had such a bad experience with getting your refund and would like to resolve the issue for you. Feel free to contact me by e-mail at **************@herbchambers.com or by phone at (XXX)XXX-XXXX at your earliest convenience and I will take care of the situation for you.

***** ********

12/13/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My 2007 Hyundai ******** had a recall on the valve cover gaskets and alternator. The service was never taken care of correctly. Still having issues.
I originally brought in a 2007 Hyundai ******** back in November 2014 for a recall. The recall in a nutshell: Hyundai is recalling 61,122 2007-'12 Hyundai ******** SUVs because of a possible oil leak from the front cylinder valve cover.
The recall is expected to begin by the end of September.
Hyundai dealers will inspect, repair or replace the alternator and the front valve cover gasket. My vehicle was showing signs of electrical issues (power windows not operating correctly, turn signals not "ticking" when on, lights randomly flickering). All Hyundai did at that time was replace the left valve cover because they stated it was leaking the oil as the recall stated. They also said the alternator was fine and did not need repair/replacement, although they confirmed the alternator was soaked with the oil that was leaking from the valve cover they replaced. 2000 miles driven later, the issues are still there. I called the service dept in early June 2015 and spoke with the service manager ******. I explained the issues I was still having and she replied they would look at it, just to look at it, not fix it, for $125 diagnostic test. I then took the vehicle to my personal ASE certified technician who would look at for no charge. He confirmed that the alternator was not giving out proper output and that it was indeed soaked in oil. He then contacted **** ******** Hyundai service dept. (because he was aware of the recall that was supposed to fix this problem) and also spoke with the service manager ******. He gave her his professional feedback and she agreed to now look at it for no charge. I brought it in on Monday June 22, 2015 and I spoke with ******** who is an adviser in the service dept. I reiterated everything to her. I then got a call back later that night from the service manager ****** telling me that their findings were that the left valve cover was still leaking oil onto the alternator and that they would replace that one, and as a "favor" to me they would also replace the right one as well. She also told me that because during their test, the alternator was charging fine, although still soaked in residual and fresh oil, that Hyundai would not repair or replace my alternator. I told her to just fix the valve covers and I would contact Hyundai directly to see what could be done about the alternator (this will be filed under a different complaint against Hyundai Motors of America). Finally on Friday June 26, 2015 I get a call from ******** telling me my car was ready. I informed her I could not pick it up until Monday June 29, 2015. When I go to pick it up on Monday I asked her if it's not the alternator malfunctioning (which I know it is), what is causing the flickering of lights etc., and she tells me I never made her aware of those problems and they were never diagnosed. Why would I just bring a vehicle in for repair and not tell you the problems I was having? Now they want to do me another "favor" and charge me only $69.50 to look at the problems they should have already looked at. This just got me so irate, I simply asked for my keys and left. This is how crooks do business. How do you tell me that my alternator is fine although it is completely covered in the oil that your company was aware of leaking, therefore issuing a recall, yet not doing the job that the recall states.

Desired Settlement
Repair or replace the alternator as the recall states you should have.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************@herbchambers.com
Mr. *********** was in for service on November 14,2014 for a recall notice regarding inspection of valve cover gaskets and repairing/replacing the same if necessary. Upon inspection we noticed seepage from the left valve cover gasket and replaced same. Mr *********** returned in June after an independent mechanic noticed oil seepage near the valve covers. We replaced the left side gasket again and the right side gasket as well, all at no charge to the customer. Mr. ***********'s independent mechanic also claimed there was no output from the alternator. There is a recall/campaign regarding the inspection of and repairing/replacing alternators that were affected by oil seeping from valve cover gaskets. However, we have to test the alternator for voltage and on both occasions the alternator tested over 14 volts which is an indicator that it is in working order. We submitted a request to Hyundai, on behalf of Mr. ***********, but were denied due to the fact that the alternator is working fine. we also tested his battery which tested over 12 volts, an indication that the charging system is working fine.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As Mr. ******** indicated, there was a recall/campaign regarding the inspection of and repairing/replacing alternators that were affected by oil seeping from valve cover gaskets. Well my alternator was affected by the oil seepage, and neither a repair nor a replacement was made. The technicians at this facility simply turned the vehicle on, got the voltage reading they wanted, and called it a day by saying the alternator was fine. If they really wanted to test it properly, they would have left the vehicle on and saw that the voltage drops dramatically, an indication that the charging system is NOT working fine. I would also like to point out Mr. ********'s sincere effort to make it seem as if his company did me a favor by replacing both gaskets at no charge. Thank you Mr. ********, that is what a recall is for, fixing something at no cost because it was a known issue. Please do not act like you did me any favors. Also, I did get approval from Hyundai Motor America to replace my alternator at no charge after filing a complaint against them directly. It is a shame a customer has to go through all this trouble just to get what should have been taken care of initially. Let it also be known that since I got the approval for the alternator replacement at any Hyundai dealership I choose, I will definitely not choose Herb Chambers because of their lack of professionalism and expertise in that service department.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is nothing more to accept or resolve. I just want to let everyone know who is reading this or reviewing this company. Do not do business with Herb Chambers or Hyundai, in the end you will be sorry, not the company.

Final Business Response
Mr. ***********,
It was not my intent to give you the impression that the gaskets were replaced as a favor. They were replaced due to a Hyundai Motor America campaign. I am glad you were able to get Hyundai Motor America to replace your alternator, the customer sometimes has better results than the dealer in cases like yours. I am sorry you feel the need to go elsewhere and have the work done, we followed all of the same steps that any Hyundai dealer would have had to take to remedy the situation. Good luck in the future with your Hyundai product.

Regards,

***** ********

03/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor service repair that led to further damage leaving me with a car with ceased engine. Broke down because of being blown off had car towed.
My paperwork that provides dates are in my cars glove compartment that is at dealership. Around second week in ******** 2014. I brought my car originally for a recall i received in mail. When there I asked them to look at my car as it recently (within a week prior to bringing to them)had been sounding like ideling loader, car was not getting to speed it should when going through gears, felt some shake in front passenger ***** and sound like something trying to work also in front passenger **** engine. I was told needed new timing belt (which was shown to me), front end allignement and tire balancing. upon picking up vehicle I was walked to car by service manager and he asked me if my car always sounded like this as ideling high. I told him it recently started sounding that way. He told me if didn't feel right to give him a call. I did this and brought it to him(****). He didn't know and asked if I could come back the next day when his **** mechanic would be there. I returned again. this lead mechanic came out never opened hood to my car, went for a drive with me as the passanger. he stated he couldn't feel what I was feeling or hearing. I asked for him to drive and he declined. He stated he would need to look at closer. Went to speak with service manager tony. **** was on the phone and held phone away and said he would contact me around the **** to bring car back in and he would lend me a car. I never received a call to come in. During all my communications with **** he new I was going through difficulty times with nana dying, husband hospitalized and then my stepson whom lives with me hospitalized. Nana died on ****** husband in hospital for 2weeks until ***** and son became ill ***** whom now has feeding tube and paralyzed tongue. All through this time I responded immediatley and drove there looking for further help. Was towed back to them on ********** I was called several days after stating my crank sensor and plate needed to be replaced as it wasn't communicating to engine and would be causing the same issues I originally went to them for. I agreed change part. Then once parts came in they told me wasn't crank shaft but engine couldn't be saved because crank shaft bent coming out of engine. He texted me saying he was checking to see if hyundai would cover repairs. I still have not heard back from him. I then received a call from someone named ****** in service several days after asking why my car was there. Explained all as I did above. She stated **** has been out sick. She was telling me they were not at fault and I needed to pay for parts they put in. Beyond already being wronged they still were trying to screw me with a bill on additional parts that I had already been told weren't needed given engine ruined. I asked for a number to legal department or legal contact to file complaint. She said they have no lawyers. She then gave me number to ******* ******* (which has nothing to do with private dealership issues). However, after discussing issues they documented my concerns and opened a case for me which then was forwarded to a regional department. I spoke with a ***** and then ***** at regional. My case # is XXXXXXX.
I have no car which I loved and cared for very well, I have incured **** in car rental, I paid to have car fixed in which I had to borrow money from my mother. Thinking I'm being pro-active in keeping my car running properly. It is funny the fact that if know recall I never would have had them work on car. I have a friend who is mechanic whom was going to look at my car and just by listening and driving stated he was going to check timing belt, water pump etc. I have talked with several mechanics and have done research and is highly suspect that they were careless in diagnosing my car properly and because of age of car would have automatically adivised that crank sensor should have been replaced also that to change timing belt they would most definitely have been in the area of new damag

Desired Settlement
My car may be a 2004 but also only had 56,000 miles on it. There is so much that gets lost in translation when communicating the proble. I want my car back with working engine and 1 year warranty on the engine. If not I would like ***** to replace my vehicle. I currently have been forced to look for a used car to drive as no money for new one (They tryed to only accomodate me by telling my husband and then myself they would work at getting me into new vehicle). Currently borrowing money again to purchase a 1999 used car so that jobs are not lost and credit card not racking up rental charges. I need my plates off my car ASAP and don't know how to go about this when my car is dead at dealership. I have informed them of case# with ******** I need a speedy resolution. Mind you I am also on ****** ******** ********** for mental health issues and they are totally being exhasberated by this.

Business Response
On ******** *** Mrs. ******** brought her 2004 Sante Fe into our service department for a recall to be performed as well as to address concerns relating to engine noise and steering. We diagnosed the need to replace the damper pulley, timing belt, and balance belt. We also balanced all four tires and performed an alignment. As Mrs. ******** mentions in her complaint the vehicle has low mileage, however it is over 10 years old and we have never seen the vehicle for maintenance prior to this visit. Vehicles of this age can and do have part do to age regardless of mileage. The vehicle left or shop on ******** *** in good working order. On ******* **** the vehicle was towed in with egine failure. We tried to repair the issue first by replacing the camshaft sensor and plate in order to minimize the expense to the customer, unfortunately this did not resolve the issue. The engine had internal damage beyond repair and needed a new engine. We took pictures of the area involved and there was no damage in the area of the engine that we worked on whhile performing the timing belt replacement in ********* Unfortunately the engine is out of warranty coverage with ******* due to the age of the vehicle.

11/12/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a car from Hyundai. The vehicle was held from me for 23 days and delivered to me damaged and in poor condition.
I purchased a 2012 Hyundai Veloster from this location on 8/3/13. I was told to add the car to my insurance and that I would be able to pick it up on Monday 8/5/13. When I contacted the dealership 8/5/13 I was told that the title had been misplaced and it would be 7-10 days before I could have my car. The dealership held my car from date of purchase 8/3/13 until 8/24/13 when the salesman, ************* and the ***************, ***** ******, demanded I come pick up the vehicle. The same day I received a letter from my insurance company stating the physical coverage had been dropped from the vehicle because the dealership failed to have pre-insurance inspection pictures done. I brought the letter to the dealership and I was told by the *************** that I should take my car anyways with no physical coverage. I refused. After much disagreement we collectively decided that the dealership would take care of the pictures and insurance on Monday, and I would pick up the car at a later date. I left for vacation 8/25/13. On 8/26/13 the car was left at my house against my wishes. When I came home on 9/1/13 the car was parked at my house with air bubbles in all four tires, extensive damage to the rims, and scratches that were not on the vehicle during my test drive 8/3/13. I brought the problem to the attention of the dealership. The *************** told me that the car would be safe to drive with air bubbles in the tires for about 20,000 more miles, and that if I would like them replaced I could pay for them. I argued this and the dealership replaced two of the tires, but did not repair the rims or the scratches. On 9/14/13 I was driving the vehicle. The car made a strange sound and cut out. The transmission failed on my vehicle. I had the car towed to Hyundai, and it has been there for the past 2 weeks. I picked the vehicle up tonight, and upon driving it I again am dismayed. The vehicle is shaky, the timing is off (i.e. the RPMs are at 5000 before the vehicle will move). To say that I am disappointed in the service I have received at Hyundai would be a gross understatement.

Desired Settlement
Ideally I would like a different vehicle. I feel as though I am going to continue to have issues with this vehicle that I just purchased. I think the best solution would be to exchange the vehicle for one in proper working order.

Business Response
We are currently working with this customer to resolve all issues. She is scheduled to visit the dealership on Monday November 4th to address the final problem. As always, our goal is her COMPLETE satisfaction. I will update as soon as the customer feels we've reached that conclusion.

09/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Verbal trade in offer not honored
An initial offer for a trade in was 6800.00, I rejected this offer & the sales person came back & offered 9000.00 both verbally & written & circled on scrap paper. When we finished negotiating, I was sent to finance where they continued to try & sell me additional products & services. When it came time to sign the papers, I was entering my fourth hour of being there. There were many papers to be signed & I admit that I did not read them closely, assuming I had already negotiated. I left there with the car. A few days later it occurred to me to look @ the papers. It was then that I discovered that instead of the 9000.00 that I had been quoted, they had given me 7800.00 for my car. When I confronted them they said that I was told that the quote I got included rebates & incentives. This was not the case. I was told about 1000.00 rebate that I did get but it was never in connection to the trade in quote. I asked if that was the case, what about the other 200.00? They offered me 200.00 worth of oil changes, which I declined as I have no intention of ever dealing with them again. The ******* ******** ***** ****** did not even look @ me when I was there to question them, he spoke directly to the sales person as if I wasn't even there, someone to be brushed aside. I am not sure when the numbers got changed. The sales person seemed as surprised as I was @ the change, he freely admitted that he told me 9000.00 with out qualifications & that he had written it down & circled it.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to honor the quote they gave & pay me 1200.00.

Business Response
*** ******* was told the value of her trade in clearly on the buyer order and the contract that she signed. She did say that she wanted 9000 for her trade but due to the fact that the entire car was scratched it was only worth 7800. The**************** clearly and throughly went over all figures with *** *******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies-Wholesale & Manufacturers, Auto Parts & Supplies - Rebuilt, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used, Auto Parts & Supplies-Used & Rebuilt, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/08/1992Business started: 10/01/1991Business started locally: 05/31/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Local Auto Dealer License
Unknown
Worcester, MA 01608

BBB records show a license number of 14-142 for this company, issued by Local Auto Dealer License. This business is incorporated, does not need local license.

Type: Auto Dealer Class I

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1991, MA

Business Management
Principal: Devin Sullivan (General Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Dean Russo (Sales Manager)Mr. Kevin Zarrella (Service Manager)
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies-Wholesale & Manufacturers, Auto Parts & Supplies - Rebuilt, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used, Auto Parts & Supplies-Used & Rebuilt, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Products & Services

According to the information provided by this company it offers the sale of new and used cars. they also, service new and used cars.

Alternate Business Names
Herb Chambers of Auburn, Inc.
Industry Tips
SERVICE CONTRACTS and EXTENDED WARRANTIES
MASSACHUSETTS LEMON LAW SUMMARY
AUTO REPAIRS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Herb Chambers Hyundai of Auburn

735 Southbridge St

Auburn, MA 01501-1311

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 735 Southbridge St 

    Auburn, MA 01501-1311

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Herb Chambers Hyundai of Auburn is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.