BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Herb Chambers Ford of Westborough, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (508) 366-8311Fax: (508) 616-8761View Additional Phone Numbers310 Turnpike Rd, Rt. 9, WestboroughMA 01581-2812 Send email to Herb Chambers Ford of Westborough, Inc.http://www.herbchambers.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Herb Chambers Ford of Westborough, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Herb Chambers Ford of Westborough, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Herb Chambers Ford of Westborough, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
11/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My less than one year old Edge now squeaks daily. The squeaks have increased in frequency to almost every time I start the car after my last visit.
I bought a brand new Ford Edge 2013. My car squeaks daily. This began after a routine oil change and tire rotation. It squeaks daily and the noise has increased in frequency to almost every time I start the car and put it in drive/reverse since my visit last week to the service department. I have been told that the daily squeak was "normal" and that if I was a more aggressive driver I would probably not have this problem. I have brought my car back a number of times to try to get the squeaking to stop, but so far nothing has worked. The old *************** was willing to do whatever it took to get rid of the squeak. The new *************** is unwilling to help and has told me that I am stuck with this problem. This squeak is both loud and long enough to be noticeable, annoying, and embarrassing. They believe that it is the brakes and rotors, however even if I change the brakes and rotors (meaning I pay for new out of my own pocket) there is only a 50% chance the squeak would go away. I am still trying to solve this problem with minimal (if any) help from the people at **** ******** Ford. I have asked for phone numbers, extensions, and was told that I will be contacted by a Ford representative by 10/5/13 and have not.

Desired Settlement
I would like my car to stop squeaking.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** **
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@HERBCHAMBERS.COM
THE FORD MOTOR SERVICE DIRECTOR HAS ASSURED ME THE REPAIRS WERE DONE UNDER HER SUPERVISION TO THE CUSTOMERS SATISFACTION!

09/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Salesman ( ****** ***** ) did not follow up with me or my husband on what he promised, when I purchased my vehicle.
On **** **** I purchased a 2014 ******* convertible ( rental ) from Herb Chambers Ford of Westborough. The salesman ****** ***** said that it was a great car and I would save money by buying a rental because it has already been titled. When my husband saw the car he asked if it was ever in an accident, because the front end had some markes all along the bottom. Also the front end shield piece on the underneath driver side was hanging a liitle. ****** told us that it was just wear and tear and said he would order some touch up paint right away, and when that comes in he would then have one of the mechanics tighten the bolts on the sheild. needless to say i would text him for over a month on when the touch up paint would be in and he would always have an excuse, either he was on vaction or he was out of the office and he would call when he got back. Yet I never did recieve any phone calls. When I had gone to work ****** *** there was a bad rain storm, I was in ********** on my way to work, when I had no choice but to go through a puddle. Thank god I was 1 min away from my office because the whole shield was wedged under my car. The next day I called HERB CHAMBERS left a message for the generally manager *** *****, never got a response. I was leaving ****** *** on vacation with my family, so I just parked my car for that week. when I returned I made another phone call to ***, at this point I got a call back from him on sat the **** I went through everything with him and he told me, " bring it in lets het it fixed " when my husband brought it down on that following Monday *** put it on the lift and said sorry this is your problem now theres too much damage. He then said after me complaining, take it to another body shop and if they say that this damage could happen because they did not fix what they should of in a timely matter they would fix it. My husband then took it to three different body shops and they all said absolutely **** ******** is at fault. Because the shield was gone something could have come up and hit the a/c condencer. I then took those documents to *** and he then said that wasn't good enough. He then told me to take it to his place at **** ******** collision center in ******** I took there that weds. The man that I spoke with and that looked at my car ***** also said the same thing they should fix it. I went to see *** and he was mad that I didn't see the right person, he had a different guy he wanted me to see. so the next thing was to leave my car there so an insurance adjuster can take pictures and look at it. Again I do what he asks and leave my car there overnight so it's there first thing in the morning. I tried calling him all day and I never heard anything back, I finally went there around 6;00 that night and asked for my car, *** was not there and they had to call different people to find were it was. I did finally get my car after waiting about an hour. The excuse was *** had got called out for a meeting, which is fine but that still is no excuse for me not getting a phone call from him or someone about my car. I finally got in touch with *** After a week of me calling him on what the next step was on getting my car fixed, he proceeds to tell me that its my problem not there's after I did everything they asked and also I had to hunt them down for answers.

Desired Settlement
All I would like is for them to fix my car or take the car back and I will take my business elsewhere.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ***********************
The customer explained to me that she had been on Rt.9 during the flooding when she hit the water the vehicle was damaged we looked at the vehicle for her and explained that her insurance company needs to be involved in repairing the collision damage.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, I did not hit anything. I went through a puddle, if they would of fixed the shield in the first place there would of been no other damage to my car, by me going through that puddle. I was advised by my salesman that my car was fine to drive with it being the way it was when I picked it up. They are trying to pass it off on me, and I do not think that is fair.

Final Business Response
The vehicle has been in an accident maybe somebody backed into her when the vehicle was parked this is an insurance issue the vehicle has sustained severe impact!

12/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mulitple issues with purchased vehicle, one issue outstanding.
Purchased a 2013 **** **** ***** with the **** Certified Warrantee. Was told the car passed *** full **** Cert. inspection process. Have had to take the car back for multiple issues. First issue was the windows were tinted, and it did not pass ** state inspection (although the dealer told me they could take it somewhere else to get inspected - sounded rather shady to me, so I declined that approach and they removed the tint). 2nd issue - the front tire did not hold air. Was told it had a damaged rim (crack). Dealer told me it was a recent issue (implying we did it). Tire never held air since purchase. Dealer ended up fixing after holding the car for nearly a week (which was just a week or so after purchasing the car). 3rd issue - we discovered that there was black tape holding the passenger mirror together. The car is black, so it was not apparent to us when we bought the car. This is a safety issue, as the car's side mirror is not securely in place - it is being held by tape. We did not do this. We took the car back in, and the dealer stated they have put enough money into this car. They also claim that it would not have passed inspection for **** Cert. if it had the tape. It appears that the full certification inspection was either not performed on this vehicle, or performed poorly. There have been mulitple safety issues with this car since purchase. I simply want the dealer, or ****, to fix the sideview mirror, so that this car is safe for my family.

Desired Settlement
As stated above, would like the car's side mirror to be fixed.

Business Response
the customer brought the vehicle back two days after for the rim repair the mirror was not broken at that time we would not be responsible for something broken after delivery.

07/01/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False advertisement and sale of Vehicles ready for delivery
Herb Chambers Ford sold me a vehicle claiming that it was ready for delivery. After agreeing on the purchase price based on their SmartPrice advertisement claiming that there's no room for negotiation, the salesman comes back with the use car manager to tell me that the car is actually not available delivery. They claim that within 7-10 days they will receive the title from the RMV. The risk seems low so I gave the **** deposit requested by them. In the meantime, I made arrangements to purchase the boat that will be towed with this truck. On ********* they come back with me stating that they cannot sale the truck as there's too much work required by their techs in order for them to sell the truck. They wanted to refund me the deposit.

The bottom line is now I have no more truck to tow the boat that I made an offer on as the car dealer backed off from the offer.

They may have sold the truck to somebody else, employee, etc ... but I don't have visibility to that.

Desired Settlement
They should fine me a similar car at the same cost + refund cost encountered to tow the boat

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** gm
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********************
We must safety check every vehicle before sale when we put this through the service department we noticed the vehicle had been altered which meant it was not safe to sell the vehicle will be sold at a dealers only auction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
By publically advertising the vehicle as ready for delivery along with using pressure sales tactics claiming that the vehicle was priced wright using Herb Chambers "SMART Pricing" practice, then the vehicle should have been through all the required inspection checks (including safety...). Apparently it was not the case. The bottom line is that both the salesman and the sales manager were lying about the delivery status of the vehicle claiming that the delay was due to the title not being available from the RMV which the vehicle hadn't been inspected yet but still using pressure sales tactics to not wanting to negotiate the sales price. Other instances of lying and using wrong sales tactics can be found on *********** ******************************************************************************************************************. Thus SMART Pricing from Herb Chambers is a scam and they've used false advertisement on this vehicle.

02/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged $500 to hold a vehicle less then 24 hours after numerous assurances this was just routine. I was assured no charges would be applied
On or about 1/17/2014 i test drove a 2014 Ford Fusion through **** ******** of Westboro. When I left i informed the dealer i had several other vehicles to test drive. I was asked to place a credit card to hold the vehicle but no charges would be applied by sales rep Ed Connors. I left my credit card info and less then 24 hours later I called the dealer to have the vehicle taken off hold. I was told that the managers don't like doing this and they would be happy to hold it a few more days. When I strongly stated I didn't want my Credit card held up any longer or want charges applied I was again assured that no charges would apply and this was routine. When I informed the dealer 1 week later I was buying a vehicle through another dealer they charged me $500.00 and now refuse to return my calls to surrender my credit card info or provide a written receipt.

Desired Settlement
I would like my credit card reimbursed the $500.00 for no services rendered.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** **
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@HERBCHAMBERS.COM
THE REFUND WAS GIVEN TO HIM WITHIN 30 MINUTES OF HIS CALL

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/28/2003Business started: 01/01/1999Business started locally: 09/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Local Auto Dealer License
Unknown
Worcester, MA 01608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2002, MA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Quirk (/General Manager)
Number of Employees

49

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Products & Services

According to the information provided by this company it offers new Ford sales, parts and service, and certified pre-owned sales and service.

Alternate Business Names
Herb Chambers Ford
Industry Tips
SERVICE CONTRACTS and EXTENDED WARRANTIES
MASSACHUSETTS LEMON LAW SUMMARY
AUTO REPAIRS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Herb Chambers Ford of Westborough, Inc.

310 Turnpike Rd

Westborough, MA 01581-2812

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 310 Turnpike Rd
    Rt. 9 

    Westborough, MA 01581-2812(508) 366-8311
    (508) 870-3100

  • 75 Otis St 

    Westborough, MA 01581-3347

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Herb Chambers Ford of Westborough, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (508) 870-3100
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.