BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Mr. Appliance of Central MA

Phone: (508) 917-5055

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service14
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints14

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of complaints concerning repair issues. Specifically, complainants allege paying for repairs that are not fixing the issues they are encountering. The business makes a repair, states the problem is solved, but the problem still persists. Consumers allege difficulty working with the business to address the incorrect repairs or obtain a refund.

On December 3, 2014, BBB sent certified correspondence to the company requesting their voluntary cooperation in eliminating the pattern of customer complaint on file with BBB. As of December 22, 2014, the business has not responded. BBB will update this alert if a business response is received.

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (14)
07/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

5 repair visits over a month, my two year old washer is still not working. Lied to repeatedly by ****** and *****.
Maytag washer, only two years old, broke on June 22nd. Contacted Mr. Appliance that day and scheduled technician to arrive on June 24. Diagnosed problem as broken motor, ordered replacement parts (visit 1). Second technician came and installed motor on June 27th - problem allegedly resolved. (visit 2) Tried washer on June 28th, same exact problem. Contacted Mr. Appliance again, spoke with **** - *****, scheduled technician to come out on July 2nd. Technician came on July 2nd, stated that part was not installed properly, allegedly fixed installation (visit 3). Used washer when we got home from vacation, still broken, same exact problem. Called Mr. Appliance and had technician come out on July 8th. Technician determined that motor was installed wrong and broken, would need new part ordered. Also ordered another part in case the problem wasn't the motor. 3-5 days for part to arrive (visit 4). Spoke to **** (*****) on July 10th, was told 5-7 days (lie #1) for parts. Was told I would be called as soon as the parts come in and I would be first on the list for repair when it does. Called Mr. Appliance on July 16th, parts were in and I wasn't called (Lie #2). Offered to schedule me for July 18th (Lie #3). Was told **** would call me when I said that wasn't acceptable. **** never called (Lie #4). Called Mr. Appliance on July 17th, was forwarded to parts *******. Said part was received, but broken. Re-ordered and received part overnight (why wasn't this done on their first mistake?). Offered to install on July 19th (Lie #5). Requested to get ****'s voicemail; was told he doesn't have one. Asked parts ******* to send him a message in whatever way they use to communicate to call me ASAP.

Current state is still: washer broken, 5th technician visit still pending, 5 lies (so far) from Mr. Appliance.

Desired Settlement
Finish repair as originally contacted for.

Refund for all services and parts procured and reimbursed or all Laundromat services we've had to use over the past month.

Plus, just an actual apology and admission of wrongdoing and poor service.

Business' Initial Response
We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. The part that we originally put in was faulty and the replacement we had broke in transit. We are very apologetic for the issues that have occurred. We will refund the customer the full $****** that they have paid and will cancel the service. I will cancel all additional parts and discontinue service. Please notify customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Not acceptable. I am still left with an inoperable washer and Mr. Appliance has done nothing but waste my time and provide frustration.

Business' Final Response
We will only provide the refund. We understand the customer is upset, but we are currently wasting more time and creating more frustration. The full refund will be provided. ($******) Again, we are closing the ticket on this end and no further responses regarding this matter will occur. Thanks. Mr. Appliance

03/27/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

didn't show up for appointment, never called. Told me they had ordered a part, they never did.
They gave me an appointment and never showed up. They told me they had ordered the part I needed. They didn't.

Desired Settlement
Finish the job.

08/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Unqualified people, can't do repair but want to charge the customer.
In ****** **** Mr. Appliance sent a person to repair my ******* Washing machine. That gentleman did not know anything about the washing machine repair. That gentleman accepted that he does not even have knowledge of washing machines repairing and can't do anything. He did not give me any quote for the repair and left saying he will not send me a bill.

Later in 2014 the company sent a bill of about *** to collection agency and reported to Credit Bureau which is affecting my credit history.

Desired Settlement
I want Mr. Appliance to withdraw the charges of non payment against me from Credit bureau.

07/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

They came to repair my icemaker and destroyed my unit.
Mr Applaince techs came to the house to repair a broken/leaking Icemaker. The kept on applying seal kits to the icemaker and forced it in to the refrigerator. Even though I was saying that this doesnt seem to be working they kept on adding layers of seal kits. They used hammer and wood blocks to force the icemaker in thr refrigerator. Eventually the refrigerator door refused to close. Then to remove the icemaker the tech used brute force shaking the whole refrigerator. During this he cracked the innerwall of the refrigerator exposing the insulation. Many of the screwholes and notches are also cracked or stripped. No one has contacted me since then. I keep on calling and am told that they will send the information to my warranty company.

Desired Settlement
They need to repair the damaged interior wall of the refrigerator

12/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We requested Mr. Appliance install a garbage disposal. They did not do it correctly, and we had a flood in our kitchen ruining the laminate floor.
In November 2013, we requested Mr. Appliance install a garbage disposal, they came and installed it, however, they did not hook up the dishwasher properly resulting in laminate floor damage. We called them the following week, and they asked us to get estimates for repair. We did that and over the course of the next several months, we made phone calls, and promises were made to return calls, but then calls were never returned. We began sending emails 2 weeks ago, asking for reparations, however, those emails have been ignored. Our next step is legal action, be it small claims court, or contacting our lawyers. My husband has copies of cancelled checks with dates, which can be provided.

Desired Settlement
We would like our floor to be replaced. Because they've put us off so long, the place we bought the floor has discontinued that particular model. Now it is going to cost us much more because we have to replace the entire floor, and not just the damaged pieces.

09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Did wrong diagnosis and unnecessary repair, ignore customer's call back and refund requests, didn't show up on scheduled appointment no call either .
In the week of *** ** of ***** My ******* fridge (model *********** the fridge side stop cooling, but the freeze side worked fine. Lowes referred me to Mr. Appliance for the repair.
Mr. Appliance send a technician in on *** *** said need order some parts, let us paid $150 first. The first repair was done on *** ***
the main board and one thermo sensor was replaced, we paid another $185.52 on that day. Then the fridge works normal for one week, then some big noise was heard as the same noise we heard before the repair.
So I called Mr. appliance in the week of **** ** On **** ***** they send the third technician (***) in, he told us it was the compressor was getting bad not anything else. I asked why the freezer side works fine (there is only one compressor), and there were ice still building up at the bottom of the fridge side too. We were told it may die within days or weeks. *** said unplug the fridge give the compressor a break may help for some time. So I unplug it overnight, then plug in the next day, it starts working again without the noise (now we know unplug made the ice around the fan melt, it freed the cooling fan).

By the end of ***** The fridge stopped cooling completely again. Everything was exactly the same as it was before the first repair. So I thought it was not the compressor, it was the repair didn't solve the problem. I called Mr. appliance. On **** ***** they send *** in. *** showed me the compressor was hot, the cooling board was covered with ice. He said he called Sumsung technical support , they all agreed it was the compressor problem, not anything else. I said that means the first time diagnosis and repair was wrong and unnecessary. *** also agreed. Then *** said he already let his office knew what is going on. they will review the case and call me back. I asked if I could get the money back, *** said it should not be a problem. *** also told me the compressor would be at least $900 for the parts only, it was not worth to replace, just recommended discard the fridge.

Because no one call me back from Mr. Appliance since **** ***** I called Mr. Appliance again on **** *** told them I want get the refund for the unnecessary repair. Was told they will review the case and call me back.

On **** *** I called ******* and knew they have 5 years warranty on the compressor and sealing system. My fridge is only 2 years old.

In the morning of **** *** I received a call from A&E factory service said an repair appointment was scheduled by ******* for my fridge on **** ***** Once I got the call from **** I called Mr. Appliance immediately in morning and then in the afternoon, told them I need to know what was their decision on my case before * ** get involved, they said would call me back after they review the case. I asked to speak with the manager or supervisor, was refused.
On **** ***** *** technician checked and repaired the fridge, said nothing wrong with the compressor, it was just the draining was blocked, extra moisture made ice built up gradually and freeze the cooling fan.

On **** ****** called Mr. appliance again and was told again they would call me back, but never.

On **** **** and **** ***** I called Mr. appliance again, A lady took the phone,She told me she did not know who I was speaking with before , she just came back from vocation.I asked to talk with the manager, was refused. On **** ***** the lady also told me, they were not going to refund me because they did some work. I argued the work didn't solve the problem, your technician *** also agreed the first time diagnosis and repair was wrong and unnecessary. I was told, they did not know what *** said, he was no longer with them. What she could offer was send another to check, which was ****** **** between 12:00pm and 5:00pm. I took the offer. But On ****** **** I waited at home all the afternoon and evening, there was no one show up, no any call from Mr. Appliance since then.

Desired Settlement
This wrong diagnosis and repair from Mr. Appliance cost me totally $335.52. The only reason caused the fridge stop cooling is the drain block resulted moisture made ice built up gradually around the fan, then freeze the fan result in no cooling air circulation. Mr. appliance was not able to figure out the problem, replaced parts didn't help at all. Then they has been refusing to take the responsibility for their mistake, just ignoring customer's reasonable refund request, Lied to customer again and again on customer's call back requests, didn't show up on a scheduled appointment, neither a call or notice to the customer, just no response.

What I want is just full refund of the $335.52 for the wrong diagnosis and unnecessary repair cost. Customer should not be responsible for the training of a service company's technician.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Appliances-Small-Service & Repair, Appliances - Installation, Appliances-Small-Supplies & Parts, Appliances-Major-Parts & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.