BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

The Scooter Store, LTD

Find a Location

Phone: (830) 608-9200 Fax: (830) 625-3253 View Additional Phone Numbers 1650 Independence Dr, New Braunfels, TX 78132 http://www.thescooterstore.com ! There is an alert on The Scooter Store, LTD !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers power scooters, power wheelchairs, and accessories as medical mobility aids.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

274 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 82 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 22
Billing/Collection Issues 31
Delivery Issues 14
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 6
Problems with Product/Service 201
Total Closed Complaints 274

Additional Complaint Information

Consumer complaints received by BBB generally allege that consumers worked with The Scooter Store in order to receive power wheel chairs or scooters, the cost of which, in many cases, is billed to their insurance. Some consumers allege that they received a power wheelchair which is too large for them to use or does not appear to be the model the consumer expected. Other complaints allege that repairs to their power wheelchairs and scooters were not completed in a satisfactory timeframe. Consumers further state that they are dissatisfied with the results of bringing their concerns to this company and generally request BBB's assistance in having their chair replaced or returned. The company generally responds by providing an explanation of any service delays, and declining to replace the chair after explaining their warranty and refund policy.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1991 Business started locally: 01/01/1991 Business incorporated: 07/23/2001 in TX
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Martin Landon, CEO Ms. Candace Daigle, Mgr Compliance Pfmc Dr. Terry Goatley, Dir, Corp Compliance Suzanne Maldonado, Mgr of Legal & Risk
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Martin Landon, CEO
Business Category

Wheel Chairs Chairs - Orthopedic & Lift Scooters - Medical

Refund and Exchange Policy
This company has a 3-day return policy for purchased items. The stated policy is that a consumer may return purchased items for any reason and at no cost within 3 days of the date on the signed proof delivery form. However, with some exceptions, the company does not exchange mobility equipment. Consumers who wish to cancel their transaction must mail or deliver a signed written notice to: The Scooter Store PO Box 310709 New Braunfels, TX 78131 This company has a separate return policy in the case of direct sales. Consumers should contact the company at their Custom Care hotline for further questions.
Alternate Business Names
Alliance Seating & Mobility TSS Management Company, Inc.
Additional Information

This company has a stated Service Protection Plan, the details of which are provided upon the delivery of the product. The company's Service Protection Plan states a consumer's insurance company may cover the cost of service and repairs to their equipment if certain conditions outlined in the Service Protection Plan are met. Other aspects of maintenance and repair may be covered by the manufacturer and supplier warranties. However, there are certain repairs will not be covered by either insurance, or the manufacturer warranty. Consumers will be billed for charges which are not covered by the warranty or not paid by their insurance company. Other conditions may apply and consumers should contact the company at their Custom Care hotline for further questions, or the company's Repair Hotline for repair concerns. In the case of direct sales, consumers receive a manufacturer's limited warranty. Consumers are instructed to review the manufacturer's warranty for the complete details.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1650 Independence Dr

    New Braunfels, TX 78132 (800) 771-5449

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    26 Columbia Circle

    Merrimack, NH 03054

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701 Thomson Park Drive

    Cranberry Twp, PA 16066

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2079 S. Arlington Rd.

    Akron, OH 44306

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2079 South Arlington Road

    Akron, OH 44306

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    22660 15 Mile Rd.

    Clinton Township, MI 48035

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4334 Brockton Dr SE Ste E

    Kentwood, MI 49512

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3221 W. 86th Street

    Indianapolis, IN 46268

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    412 Production Ct.

    Louisville, KY 40299

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    250 Highland Square Drive

    Hendersonville, NC 28792

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    250 Highland Square Drive

    Hendersonville, NC 28792

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4540 Atwater Ct Ste 104

    Buford, GA 30518

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1165 Gadsden Hwy Ste 109

    Birmingham, AL 35235

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4045 Highway 49 S Ste A

    Harrisburg, NC 28075

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    400G Clanton Rd Ste G

    Charlotte, NC 28217

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3200 Lake Woodard Dr Ste 104

    Raleigh, NC 27604

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    306 Ashcake Road, Suite E

    Ashland, VA 23005

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    240 Stanley St

    Elk Grove Villag, IL 60007

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1068 N Garfield St

    Lombard, IL 60148

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1400 Pineview Dr

    Columbia, SC 29209

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2749 86th Street

    Urbandale, IA 50322

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3057 99th St

    Urbandale, IA 50322

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Forrester Creek Dr., Suite H

    Greenville, SC 29607

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7325 W. 79th St.

    Overland Park, KS 66204

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3000 E Enterprise AveUnit B

    Appleton, WI 54913

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7241 University Ave. NE

    Fridley, MN 55432

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    N. Knoxville

    Peoria, IL 61614

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1107 Beville Rd

    Daytona Beach, FL 32119

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2457 Silver Star Road

    Orlando, FL 32804

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2902 N. Orange Ave.

    Orlando, FL 32804

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2317 Silverstar Road

    Orlando, FL 32804

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10632 Alco Avenue

    Baton Rouge, LA 70816

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4616A SW LOOP 820

    FORT WORTH, TX 76109

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7613 Katy Freeway, Ste. C

    Houston, TX 77024

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6143 Getty Drive

    North Little Rock, AR 72117

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4617 50th St

    Lubbock, TX 79414

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6035 45th St Unit C

    Lubbock, TX 79407

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2700 Purdue Dr

    Oklahoma City, OK 73101

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7575 W. Lower Buckeye Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85043

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1170 National Dr Ste 30

    Sacramento, CA 95834

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3951 Performance Dr Ste D

    Sacramento, CA 95838

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4894 S Commerce Dr Ste D

    Salt Lake City, UT 84107

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16065 SE 98th Ave

    Clackamas, OR 97015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1000 SW 34th St # C

    RENTON, WA 98057

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1000 SW 34th St. Bldg. W-2

    Renton, WA 98055

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 391-7237(Phone)
  • (800) 771-5449(Phone)
  • (830) 626-5811(Phone)
  • (830) 627-4595(Phone)
  • (830) 627-4824(Phone)
  • (866) 883-7406(Phone)
  • (888) 879-3072 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

On 04/15/2013, the business filed for reorganization under Chapter 11 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case# 13-10904 (PJW). This permits the business to continue to operate with court supervision while developing a plan of reorganization. Those with monetary claims against the business are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to United States Bankruptcy Court 824 N Market St Wilmington DE 19801 for resubmission to that court. The case number should be entered on the form.

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested services for a Handicap ramp and Mobile Wheelchair for my Father, who lives at **** ********* ******, **** ****** ** *****. The Sales Representative stated that his company would honor my service request and that I would need to make a payment of $105.68, in order for a Contractor to come to my Father's residence to take the measurements needed to build the handicap ramp. An appointment was made for Monday, March 18, 2013 for a Contractor to come to my Parents residence. On March 6, 2013, The Scooter Store withdrew $105.68 from my checking account. On March 18, 2013, no one from the Scooter Store ever arrived nor made any type of communication to me that the service had been canceled. No one from the business could not be contacted by phone. There was an automated message that Identified the business and stated that all representatives were busy at that time, and I've continued to make contact with a live person with no success. To this date, no one from the business has responded to my letters mailed to the The Scooter Store.

Desired Settlement: A full refund to $105.68 for withdrawal from account, due to no services nor communication provided from their fraudulent act.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Name is ******* ** ******* im a patient of the Scooter Store until they closed on me with a prior work order in progress. You see I/m an amputee above the knee on the left side. Anyway because of the power W/C breaking down I wound up with a very bad open wound on my left stump thigh underneath, where it had to be operated on. Now for the last several weeks i've been on bed rest because of this problem. I need to file a complaint and suit against the Scooter Store. If you can help me in any way i would greatly appreciate it.

Desired Settlement: prior work order from local store/ issue with scooter

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a scooter from them in 2011 and my medical insurance was paying them until I lost my coverage and then my Medicare kicked in and paid their part and then I receive a bill from them stating that I owe this amount and I start paying on it and had gotten it down pretty low and then I receive another bill saying I owe more and I call and speak with them on this asking them why I owe more and they gave me that my insurance had paid all they were going to pay and I say ok then and she just said for me to pay like I have been doing each month so I have and now I get letters saying they are sending my account to a collection department and I have all my receipts and conformation numbers and the letter I received stated they had not received any payments from me but I have all my bills tracked and have all the information dates times and when they were delivered. Then I try to call them several time after I received this letter and the number I have been calling no longer works and I have even called the 411 information line trying to get a new number and I get nothing. The number they gave me is not working and this is on the bill I just received on 10/15/2013. The Reps first name is ***** that I spoke to in 9/10/2013 with The Scooter Store in Dallas, TX Account_Number: *******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund If this company is not what they say they are I want my full refund back because I am sure my insurance has paid this account in full. I have paid $110.00 this year 2013 on account ******* with The Scooter Store.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scooter store calling me on auto calls daily.They are sending collection letters.I do not owe them anything.My insurances paid.there is no way to contact defunct company.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January 2013, a cup holder was ordered and paid for by credit card from the Scooter Store. In May 2013, the Scooter Store began to send bills for this already paid for item. We've sent them letters and talked to them numerous times on the phone explaining that the item was paid for at the beginning of the year with a credit card. On the phone they tell us the record shows this will be resolved, yet we continue to get recorded phone calls threatening collection action (for $20 item) and bills every 3 weeks saying we'll be turned over to collection if we don't dispute or pay the bill. Well we've sent them letters and evidence for three months now - which they just totally ignore and continue to harass with recorded phone calls and threatening bills. The cup holder was paid for months ago - and we want the false and threatening bills and recorded phone calls to stop. Sending information to and talking with the company does no good - maybe the BBB can help get these false, threatening, intimidating, harassing, and frankly illegal billing practices stopped. Thank you for anything you can do.

Desired Settlement: Recognize the bill has been paid for months - adjust the balance to $0.00 - and stop contacting us with false bills and threats of turning this $20 item over to collection

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a work order with the Scooter Store last month and they got me an appointment in my area (Oregon) to have a service person come out to my home and look at my scooter which is having problems with the joy stick. In lower levels it is almost impossible for me to maneuver my chair around objects. I had one follow up call from the person in Oregon who would be coming out and I was not available that day, my husband took the message from him and I was told that the repair man would call me back the following week. He never called. I called all numbers I had several times and finally discovered from an outside source that The Scooter Store had gone out of business.

Desired Settlement: I would like to transfer my repairs of my Jazzy Scooter to another contractor of Medical Wheel Chair Equipment. I have been in touch with one such business and they said it would be optimal if I could get one of their wheel chairs instead. I called my insurance and they won't authorize this as I have only had this chair for one year. I am an amputee and have constant need for the chair and am afraid it is going to go completely out on me. I so far have found no one who will take over repairs and my machine is running sluggishly.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Cust. Service 9/9/2013 to request service for my mothers scooter because of the battery's inability to hold a charge. I was informed it'll take 3-6 wks for a service call. In addition, the company has failed to provided consumers with a proper working automated phone system. Throughtout the automated system, you are either placed on a continious hold, being rerouted, prompt to asked ANOTHER series of questions and then EVERYTIME you are ultimately hung up on. This has been a daily process. My 75 year old mother is still waiting for her scooter to be serviced by The Sooter Store, to no avail, today is Tuesday 9/17. The lack of customer service is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would like for BOTH me ******** ****** at (***) ******** = M-F 8a - 4:30p PST and my mother Mrs. ****** ***** at (***) 2******* to be contacted to set up an agreeable time for her scooter/battery to be repaired.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased scooter, cancelled before shipped, charged 15 percent restocking charge. At first they refused to give me back the balance after the restocking charge. So I disputed the $674 first payment on my credit card.The balance of the charge for the scooter would have been another $674. When they finally allowed the credit after the 15percent restocking charge to go onto my credit card. I paid the full payment charged of $674 on my Oct, 27,2012 credit card bill. They have been dunning me since Jan, 2013 for an additional $157.35 via mail and phone calls. After telling them via mail and on the phone that I do not owe any additional money, they are threatening a collection agency. They tell me now that they never received the payment of $674. I paid it to ***** on Oct.26,2012 and ***** made sure the funds went into their bank on Oct, 29, 2012. I told the Scooter Store that but they are still calling me for the $674.

Desired Settlement: They should contact their bank, **** ** ******* to find the $674 in their account as of Oct, 2012, post it to my account and leave me alone, and stop writing, calling, and threatening. They are harassing me

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wheel chair needs repair

Desired Settlement: Repair

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SCOOTER REFUSE TO REPAIR SCOOTER CHAIR, SET TO A DIFFERENT VENDOR. I SENT THE PHOENIX STORE A DEDUCTIBLE. 160.00$ AT BEGINNING OF YEAR. TO VALIDATE PAYMENT LOOK CREDIT CARD# THE FOOTHILLS BANK YUMA ARIZONA ******** ***** ** . ALSO MEDICARE SENT A LETTER SAYING CLAIM WAS DENIED. SO ADVERTISEMENT EXPRESSES THAT IF CLAIM IS DENIED BY MEDICARE, WHEEL CHAIR IS FREE. ITS BEEN REPAIRED TWICE IN THE PAST. WHEEL CHAIR TECH CAME DOWN AND LOOKED AT MY WHEEL CHAIR AND IT NEEDED NEW BATTERIES, NEW SEAT BOTTOM COVER. REAR CASTERS[NEW] AND TO CALL IT IN. TEXAS STORE, SENT ME TO ANOTHER LOCAL VENDOR . HE SAID LOOKING AROUND 400.00$ FOR REPAIRS. I PAID PHOENIX STORE THE DEDUCTIBLE FOR THIS YEAR;

Desired Settlement: RETURN $160.00 THAT PAID FOR YEAR. GET THE MONEY THAT WAS SENT THE PHOENIX STORE. MEDICARE SAID THAT I SENT AROUND $600.14 . I BELIEVE THAT WAS THE AMOUNT. CALL MEDICARE TO VALIDATE MONEY SENT. THEY SENT IT 2 MONTHS AGO. BEING BRAIN DAMAGE DR. CERTIFIED HANDICAP FOR LIFE. ***** ********* /PA -C **** ******* ******. TO VALIDATE INJURIES. WORKING UNDER ****** ** ******** M. D. CARD WAS ISSUED *** ** ****. IT READ PERMANENTLY HANDICAP DUE TO SEVERE HEAD INJURY SUSTAINED IN ****** OCCURRING IN ****. TELEPHONE # ************ FAX # *** *** ****. IF FIND PAPERWORK AT HOME, I WILL FAX IT IN. THANK YOU FOR YOUR CONCERN.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/22/2012, a Maine representative of The Scooter Store delivered my electric wheelchair. The representative said that I was required to purchase an accessories package for the power chair and said that I had to give him my credit card information which was charged $41.95. I did so as my wife was not home and she is the one that deals with this. When she got home, she realized that I had been given false information. I tried to return the items and the representative would not take them back or refund the credit card. I called my credit card company and told them about it. They stopped payment on the item. In January of 2013, I received a bill from the Scooter Store for this item. I called them and spoke to a ********* at ext. # **** on 3/4/2013. I explained the situation and she said that when she looked at the account, there was no balance. I asked her to send me something stating that. She refused and said I did not need it as the record showed no balance on her end. I am still getting billed for this. I called again today, 8/20/2013, and was told that I had to pay for this and they were going to continue to harass me and send it to the credit bureau. I tried to send this back to them. They refused to take it back and did not care that their Maine representative, which has subsequently closed, tricked me into a fraudulent sale. Patient#******* VIP# ******** Product_Or_Service: Power Chair Accessorie Pkg Order_Number: vip # ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like notice that I do not owe this bill of $41.95 in writing with an apology for all of the harassment from the Scooter Store. I would further like to know for sure that my credit report and/or fico score has not been affected by this.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE: Customer # ********** TIME LINE NOTES-- THE SCOOTER STORE DISPUTE SINCE JUNE 2012 5/09/12 - Telephone order of scooter battery pack - order #********, paid with my **** ******* ***a Bank Check card #********** for the amount of $242.29. MY BANK ACCOUNT DEBITED FOR PURCHASE $242.29 (The original scooter battery pack was stolen and this replacement was not covered by Medicare) 05/11/12 - The merchandise was received and shipped by the Scooter Store's supplier Pride Mobility Corp this date. I received the order in great working shape the following week approx 5/14-5/16. A 7/28/12 statement received from The Scooter Store in July indicated a debit adjustment of $242.29 to my store account. I now had a balance due of $242.29. A 08/08/12 phone call toThe Scooter Store's, bookkeeper, MS. **** ******, a rather testy employee, insisted I owe the money. She was claiming I had the bank check card reverse the charges due to goods or services not as described or merchandise was received as damaged or defective. merchandice received was damaged or defective. Such claims were never made and I have bank statements dating back to the original purchase to even the present date for verification. I Told Ms ******, any such claim would have shown up as a credit in my on my bank account statement. The bookkeeper was then rather snotty, told me to take it up with my bank! I owe the money! She would send copy of chargeback notification and abruptly hung up on me. I've noted the following discrepancies in chargeback notification sheet:- The credit card backcharged was #****************, not my credit card! The batch date of the Charged Back notification was 5/10/12 and hand keyed, a day before the battery pack was even ordered or shipped from or received from Pride Mobility. Further more, the invoice # of the transaction per the Charge Back is 1022410, my Scooter Store invoice is #********. There are two items on the Charge Back that resembles my purchase, those are the purchase date and the purchase amount. These two items Ms. ****** had circled and obviously referenced back to my purchase without double checking the credit card # charged, the invoice number, the batch date posted, even before the merchandise was ordered from Pride Mobility or even received by me. As indicated above, the bookkeeper never bothered to verify the accuracy of the Chargeback information which also says, if contested, must be by 6/26/12 or they will be unable to reverse this charge back. As noted above, my first notification of the "problem" wasn't until the 7/28/12 statement. It seems to me, I'm the scape goat for this inadaquate bookkeeping oversight. For months, my letters to The Scooter Store, Ms. ******, the bookkeeping dept, and CEO ****** ****** have only been responded to with monthly statements, some threatening collection and one phone call in January 2013 from supposedly the CEO's office, stating the matter would be taken care of. July 18, 2013 - received automated phone call from the Scooter Store for me to make arrangements to pay this bill and threatening collection. Here I am, a year later, an even more handicapped Senior Citizen with a non functioning scooter, purchased from the Scooter Store with Medicare assistance. Pride Mobility, the manufacturer has referred me back to where I purchased the scooter for the needed repairs, covered by Medicare. I don't feel it wise to have The Scooter Store pick up the scooter for needed repairs for fear The Scooter Store would hold the scooter ransom for the supposed monies owed. I have documentation of everything referred to in this letter, from my bank statements, receipts, charge back notification, etc. I'm hoping the BBB can help get this matter resolved. Thank you for your time. ****** * ********

Desired Settlement: Balance Due corrected to zero balance. Scooter repaired - covered by Medicare as follows New batteries, per Pride Mobility, problem with scooter post Give me back my mobility!

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello: My name is ***** ******. My husband **** ****** has been an amputee since July 2012. We were on vacation in Illinois with his family when he got an infection in his foot that spread and caused the amputation from the knee down. My husband has a host of several different, very serious health issues & in fact he had an pulmonary embolism after the amputation and was unresponsive but pulled through after the nurse performed CPR . He doesn't let it get him down though. He is the most strongest man that I know. He is a wonderful father to our 10 year old daughter ******* and loving husband and someone that I admire. After the amputation, we decided that the best option would be for him to get a motorized wheelchair. This would give him back his freedom and he would be able to do a lot of the things he used to do. We contacted the Scooter Store and set up an appointment around Aug -Sept of last year. **** got the scooter in October of last year and was so excited! He got his freedom back. He was able to do the things that he had always wanted to do. Life was good! Not for long!!! A month after we got the scooter, the whole system shut down & the chair no longer worked. After a month of calls to the scooter store and pleas for someone to please help us, someone finally came and fixed it. About 2 weeks later, the same thing happened again! Someone came out and took the chair and gave a loner chair but charged my husband 40 dollars for someone to come out and look at it again! Remember the chair was only 2 MONTHS OLD! They billed us be we did not pay because we felt like we should not have to since it is under warranty and the chair was not fixed! They sent someone out and they took the chair and gave **** a loaner chair but charged the insurance company 850 dollars! I could not believe that! So a month or so went by and the scooter store returned his chair. He was so excited. The repairman said that the wires were corroded and that needed to be replaced so they replaced it for us. We thought, "This is a BRAND NEW chair! How can it be??!" but **** had his chair back so everything was good at that point. About 3 weeks ago, the chair would not longer hold a charge. It needed a new battery. So **** calls the Scooter Store and requests a technician to come out and they tell him that it will be 2-4 months before someone can come out! He was so livid! Then, the proceeded to tell him that he owed 40 dollars for the service call from the first time and they he would need to pay that before someone can even come to assist him! They then referred him to a third party company that may be able to help. He called the company and they were out the next week. The repair guy comes out and has not idea how to work the chair or open the chair up to look inside or anything!!! He then told **** that he was going to have to order a battery and not sure how long it would take and also needed an authorization from ****'s doc stating that he needed the chair and that the doctor has authorized the use of the chair. Really??????!!!! This has just gotten ridiculous!!!! Well here is the final nail in the coffin. So ******* and I were out running errands and we come home and **** is out of breath & super frustrated. We asked what happened and he said that he was in the bedroom and had gotten up to go into the living room and the chair locked up and wouldn't move. So my husband was trapped in bedroom trying to get out and trying to maneuver a 400 pound chair & was trapped. It was good thing we got there when we did. He had enough at that point. He was done. So of course the Scooter Store was closed. It was after 6PM. They are not open on the weekends and I know when we call on Monday we are going to get the run-around again and no telling how much longer we will have to wait on the battery that he needs and now a new problem??? It may be months before this gets fixed. He needs his chair now! My husband doesn't give up easy. He has done just that , give up. This a 8,000 dollar chair that is "supposed to be" new. I really don't think that's the case. Is it too much to ask for my husband to have his freedom? So many of us take things for granted. My husband just wants to enjoy life in his chair and do the things he used to. The Scooter Store is a fraud and a joke and has been nothing but trouble and heartache for us since day one. I am asking for someone to please help my husband get the care he deserves so he can enjoy life again with his family. Thank you so much for your time.

Desired Settlement: Would like the whole chair replaced free of charge because this chair is defective.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has been harassing me for almost one year. When I started talking to the Scooter Store I was asked for my insurance information, doctor recommending the chair etc. I explained up front any additional costs I could not afford. After all paperwork was submitted I received a call from the Scooter store stating the chair would be 100% and no cost to me, again I explained if it was not I could not afford it. I never ordered this chair from the Scooter store and was still reviewing other companies who told me the scooter store would bill me for "something" no matter what they were telling me. The Scooter store called and said they wanted to deliver my chair, I told them I never ordered it but reluctantly went ahead being reassured the whole time it was no cost to me. The last words from the delivery driver when again I asked about any payment "No Sir, unless you change insurance this chair is covered 100%" and in fact gave me paperwork stating the same- Customer balance $zero. About 90 days later I receive a bill for $505.90. My calls to the company were pleasant at first and then very nasty, threatening and the last call even stated "you will have trouble should you ever need repairs". I had had enough, I even told them to come pick it up and reimburse my insurance but they would not do that either. Its bad enough I am in the situation I am but dealing with companies like this is terrible. The Scooter store also went as far as stating I was working with my insurance to cheat them out of money. I want an apology, to know I can take my chair in service without hassle and to be left alone. I do not owe this company a dime, if their was changes with my insurance they should have told me up front, not 90 days after delivery. I have never heard of such a thing. Also their advertised price was about $3600 for the same exact chair yet they billed my insurance $5000.00. They have been paid plenty and need to live up to their promise and their advertising as well as not be threatening and rude. Product_Or_Service: Pride mobility chair Account_Number: *******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Apologize, stop sending any more harassing statements and assure me I can have my chair serviced without it being held for a bill I do not owe. Live up to what I was assured and reassured from you as well as your promise.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am handicapped and spend most of my time in a electric wheel chair. My chair will not stay in gear. I called the Scooter Store and they told me it would be 6 to 8 weeks before anyone would be able to contact me about a repair. If the gears go completely out I will not be able to get around at all. I can't wait 6-8 weeks for a repair. They are responsible for my repair and if I do get someone else to do the repairs it might cost me. Also I would not be able to get around if my chair was completely broken. This 6-8 weeks for a repair is not fair to a senior handicapped individual. Some how they should be made to come out much sooner to repair the product they gave me and are charging medicare.

Desired Settlement: Either come out to repair my chair within one week or replace it all together so I can continue to be independent.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yes I am a 44 year old paraplegic who use a Pride Jazzy Select Power chair. On 7/15/13 I began to have problems with my chair holding a charge on the chair. I proceeded to call the Scooter Store Service Dept for Service, to tell them the issues I was having with the batteries and the charger. I spoke to a woman named ******* who asked me various questions about the trouble I was having. I told her that the chair will not hold a charge for more than 4 hours. I told her that I can't leave my house because I am afraid of it running out of power. She tells me its because of the heat, and everyone is going through the same issues. I said that is crazy, I have used this chair in hot temperatures before and never had a problem. I said *******, I charge this every night it is the batteries, no sir it is not. Well can you send service out to me. Well Mr ***** their is a 8 week back-up of service, we filed bankruptcy and don't have the staff, besides I see a past due bill for $402.29 Before we can send someone out, you need to pay 1/2 of your bill. I explained to her that I am on Social Security, and I have limited finances. I have Medicare so, they were paid 80% already. When I spoke to billing they advised me because of my income I would not have to pay the 20% . I had the Scooter Store for service on 3/8/2013 for Batteries to be replaced which they did. Still they said wait a couple of days and see what happens. Again I call on 7/18/13 for same problems, and Jamie tells me, oh Mr ***** I see you are getting an new power chair from another vendor, per Medicare we can't help you. I was furious!!! I said its your chair, and you need to honor the service. Again they would't help me. So, now it is the weekend and I am scrambling to see if I could get this repaired. They tell me to try Spin Life wheelchairs, and Blackstone Health. I call Spin Life, they won't touch any service contracts from the Scooter Store, then I call Blackstone Health, the send a repair guy, and that cost $50.00 out of my pocket. They come, and within 5 minutes he tells me the batteries are bad, and the charger need to be replaced. We then proceed to call the Scooter Store, and I reach Laurel from Billing, and explain the situation all over again. She tells me she will overnight a new charger. Well low and behold never received the new charger. Keep in mind everyone who I talked to has been rude, and not wanting to help me. On 7/19/13 I found a local guy from the area who owns Mobility Dist, and his name is ** *****. I tell him what is going on, he sells me a new charger thinking that was the problem. So I purchase that at $260.00 I go home, and charge it the same night 8-10 hours, and on 7/20/13 it happens again I run out of power. So, now it is the weekend and I have to use my manual wheelchair till Monday. On 7/22/13 I call ** ***** from Mobility Dist, he tells me to come over with the chair, and we will check batteries. Well both batteries are should show 13 amps while ilded, and when you start using chair, it should be a bit under that. Turns out the batteries are showing 7 amps. Well that is the whole problem. Now I purchase 2 batteries at $129.00 each, so now I am into this whole mess for $568.00 which I don't have. So, he fixes the chair, and seems to be working. He tells me your batteries are under warranty, and they need to reimburse you 2 new ones. I call today 7/23/13 and speak to Ulysses who was rude to me, and would not get his supervisor. He said I have to send and email, and thats the only way to connect to them. I am calling Fox News, and my State Representatives to give them a story.

Desired Settlement: I want them to send me (2) new batteries, and I will send the bad ones back. They have a 6 month warranty. And I want my money back for a the new charger. Also, I want an apology from the Hire upers.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called and called they keep telling me that their coming out to replace the battery.it's been about 2-3 months since i first called them.i need this chair to help me get around. plus they had no problem billing medicare for payment on this chair.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement i would like for them to replace the battery or the chair which ever is neede.i ned this done fast.i'm on oxygen 24/7 and i find out friday if i have lung cancer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they asked for the money for the scooter up front. I had to pay before they would bring the scooter out. I paid $1912.38 on delivery, on my Visa . got the scooter. then said i had to wait for medicare and UMR to pay me the money. They had medicare sent the money to Scooter Store. they held the money. On 7/6/2013 I got a check for $957.47 they still owe me money. $ 954.92. It has been 15 months i have paid interest on my card, it should not have not taking that long. they should pay for my interest too.

Desired Settlement: REFUND

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/5/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON 06/27/13 I SPOKE WITH A REPRESENTITVE AT THE SCOOTER STORE BY THE NAME OF ******* I PROCEEDED TO INFORM HER THAT MY MOTHER NEEDED SOMEONE TO COME OUT AND CHECK HER MOBILIZED CHAIR BECAUSE WHEN YOU TURN ON THE POWER A WARNING MESSAGE COMES ON THE CHAIR NOW MY MOM HAS MULTIPLE SCLEOSIS AND RHEUMATOID ARTHRITIS WHERE SHE IS UNABLE TO WALK OR GET AROUND WITHOUT THE CHAIR SO SINCE THE SCOOTER STORE IS THE PROVIDER WE GAVE THEM A CALL TO HAVE SOMEONE COME OUT BUT ******* STATED TO US THAT SINCE A TECH CAME OUT FOUR TIMES ALREADY TO ADJUST THE CHAIR FOR MY MOM TO BE COMFORTABLE IN IT IT WILL BE A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY FOR SOMEONE ELSE TO COME OUT AGAIN SO I STATED TO HER THAT THE CHAIR IS UNDER WARRANTY AND IT DOES NOT MATTER HOW MANY TIME IT TAKES FOR A TECH TO COME OUT AND CHECK ON THERE PROPERTY THIS IS THE FIRST SERVICE CALL TO HAVE THE CHAIR CHECKED ON DUE TO NOT WORKING SHE THEN STATED THAT SHE CAN HAVE SOMEONE CALL MY MOM AND WALK HER THROUGH TRYING TO GET THE CHAIR TO WORK I TOLD HER THAT WILL NOT HAPPEN MY MOTHER CAN HARDLY STAND UP LET ALONG TRY AND WORK ON A CHAIR THAT SHE HAS NO KNOWLEDGE ABOUT THEN ******* THEN STATED THAT WE SPEND OVER 30 MINUTES ON THE PHONE AND ALL THAT WE NEED TO TO IS FIX THE CHAIR OURSELVES I GOT HIGHLY UPSET AND TOLD HER I DON'T WORK FOR THE SCOOTER STORE AND THEY ARE RESPONSIBILE ON REPAIRS AND ANYTHING ELSE AS LONG AS THIS CHAIR IS UNDER WARRANTY NOW KEEP IN IND THAT THE SUPERVISOR FROM MEDICADE WAS ALSO ON THE PHONE AND ALSO EXPLAINED TO HER THAT THE CHAIR IS UNDER WARRANTY AND THE SCOOTER STORE IS RESPONSIBLE ON ALL REPAIRS AND SERVICE CALLS NEEDED ON THE CHAIR ******* STATED YES THE CHAIR IS UNDER WARRANTY BUT TO TRY AND SAVE MONEY ON A SERVICE CALL MY MOTHER SHOULD TRY AND FIX THE CHAIR HERSELF MY THOUGHTS IS THAT A BUSINESS SHOULD NOT BE RAN LIKE THIS ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY ADVERTISE THAT THEY TAKE GOOD CARE OF ALL THERE CUSTOMERS FOR OVER 75 YEARS THAT IS A LIE MY MOTHER IS STILL WITHOUT HER CHAIR SO WE WOULD LIKE SOME ANSWERS AND SOMEONE TO COME OUT AND SERVICE HER CHAIR.

Desired Settlement: JUST TO HAVE SOMEONE FROM THE SCOOTER STORE TO CALL AND APOLIGIZE TO MY MOTHER AND MYSELF AND TO HAVE A SCOOTER TECH TO COME OUT AND SERVICE MY MOTHER'S CHAIR SO SHE IS ABLE TO GET AROUND AGAIN WITHOUT HER CHAIR SHE IS NOT ABLE TO DO ANYTHING AND FOR THE SCOOTER STORE TO NOT CARE ABOUT HER NOR HER CAHIR IS A SHAME.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company has stalled repairing my only means of mobility. I am totally dependent on my chair. I was told that they gaurantee repairs and its been over 2 weeks with them saying at least another 6. No one is willing to work on their product so my hands are tied to using them. They were rude and arrogant on my last call with absolutely no simpathy for my dependency on their wheelchair. They were willing to jump through hoops to get me to choose them for buying a chair, but when repairs are needed I am all of a sudden unimportant.

Desired Settlement: Either repair or bring replacement until repair is made

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was approved by my physician for a power chair because of a medical condition which prevents me from walking or standing for long periods of time. I contacted three companies and looked at several more on the internet. I contacted both the Scooter Store and Hoveround by phone, and decided after a few conversations with each company to go with the Scooter store because of what I was promised. The Scooter Stores claim to fame is:We collect the required paperworkWe work with your doctorWe process the required paperworkYOU WONT HAVE TO DO A THING!!!EVERYTHING I received from the Scooter store stated that I would owe nothing. The Product Order Form POWER WHEELCHAIRS states that the Amount Due was $3441.75 and Batte2365 (battery) was an additional $196.00 which was a total of $3637.75. The invoice states that the Amount to be paid by my insurance co was $3637.75, the amount to be paid by my secondary insurance company was $0.00 and the amount to be paid by the customer was $0.00. I received a bill from my insurance company provider, dated January stating that I owed $959.76! It also stated that my provider was billed $4211.89, not the $3637.75 that the Scooter Store indicated on the invoice. I have tried multiple times to get in touch with the company even writing a letter to the CEO ****** ****** (in April. When I have tried to call, I either get a recording stating that they are not taking calls, or I get put on hold and then mysteriously disconnected after 25+ minutes of holding. Also, it took me over three months to get the power chair and every time I contacted the Scooter Store during the process, I was passed around from person to person even though I was told that I would have my own counselor to guide me through the process.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to remove the pending charges since I have documentation stating that I owe nothing. I have documentation on all of the claim including dates and people I have spoken too.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I GOT A POWER WHEELCHAIR FROM THE SCOOTER STORE IN 2011 AND A PART BROKE OFF AND ALL I GET IS THE RUN A ROUND THAT A PART CAN NOT BE FIXED IT IS A $40,000.00 CHAIR I CAN NOT USE Multiple Sclerosis AND CAN NOT WALK I NEED HELP

Desired Settlement: GET CHAIR FIXED

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ad on the television said little to no money out of pocket. Now, they tell me I owe $1,439.38. I refused to pay it and the lady said she would turn it over to a collection agency.

Desired Settlement: Either come and get the chair or mark it off the books.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I AM RENTING A SCOOTER FROM THE SCOOTER STORE THROUGH ********. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET MY SCOOTER FIXED SINCE THE BEGINNING OF APRIL. THE SCOOTER STORE HAS BEEN CALLED ON THIS PROBLEM AT LEAST 3 TIMES. THE FIRST TIME THEY SAID IT WILL BE AT LEAST 6 WEEKS BECAUSE THEY HAVE LAID OFF 90 PERCENT OF THEIR WORKERS. I TOLD THEM THAT WAS NOT MY PROBLEM I NEEDED MY CHAIR FIXED. THEY TOLD ME THAT WAS THE SOONEST THEY COULD DO IT. I JUST CALL THEM THE OTHER DAY ABOUT THIS THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY HAD CALL ME 3 TIMES. THAT"S NO SO BECAUSE IF THEY WERE TRYING TO GET A HOLD OF ME WHY DIDN'T THEY LEAVE A MESSAGE ON MY ANSWERING MACHINE. THEY TOLD ME IT COULD BE UP 2 MORE WEEKS BEFORE THEY COULD GET HERE. TODAY IS JUNE * THURSDAY I BROKE MY KNEE CAP. I REALLY NEED MY SCOOTER CHAIR NOW MORE THAN EVER BECAUSE I CANT GET AROUND WITHOUT IT.

Desired Settlement: THEY SHOULD BE HERE BY NOW AND HAVE IT FIXED. IT HAS BEEN 2 MONTHS.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when i called to find out when my machine was going to be fixed beause it was damaged and i was hurt earlier in the month of may i let them know that a waiting time of 5 to 6 weeks was not acceptable because in the past it took only 3 to 5 days. my neighbors are complaining about the noise the machine is making since the accident. i was also injured and needed 3 stitiches in my left eye lid. i feel that they should not beat around the bush and send a person out to fix this thing

Desired Settlement: i would like them to come out and repair this chair in a timely matter

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* ** ******* - Philadelphia Municipal Court Administrator, Retired34 David Scott Drive, Wayne, New Jersey 07470-3375Phone ************ - Email *********@aol.com____________________________________________________________________________________ SCOOTER STORE MAY 3, 2013COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT1659 INDEPENDENCE DRIVENEW BRAUNFELS, TEXAS 78130 RE: ****** ATT: **** *** ******* ******* I had the misfortune of speaking to your employee ****** today.I had a problem relating to the electrical (most likely the battery) that I called for repair about a week ago. She said she was returning my call. She asked me the problem, I told her it was running erratic and lost power quickly. She asked me when it occurs and I said when the battery went to 3 green it would drop instantly to 1 red. She asked if I used it outside and I said to go to the doctors or the mail box. She said does it happen outside, I said it did. She proceeds to tell me it is not covered because it happened outside. I told her it happens inside as well. She said it is not covered because she asked me and I said it happened outside. I told her I did not say it only happens outside. In any case she implied I was lying. I said she was for some reason trying to confuse me. I told her I need someone to check it out and I would pay if necessary. She said you only take Medicare paid jobs. To get another firm. I will do just that. However I did not know she was God and could make determinations from on high with infallible accuracy. I will start bogging my dissatisfaction every chance I get. I am copying Medicare as well. No need to reply as I am fed with your company. When ***** called I got taken care of but this ****** she is a ----- (you fill in the blanks). I am not the dead beat she thinks I am. I will get batterys that will run outside and pay for them myself and will find other repair service local. For the little I use it outside it does not matter. SINCERELY, A DISSATISFIED CUSTOMER. ******* * ******* CC: MEDICARE BBB BLOGG SPOT BY HER LOGIC IF I HAD CONGESTIVE HEART FAILURE IN THE HOME AND ON THE WAY TO THE AMBULANCE I HAD A HEART ATTACK, MEDICARE WOULD NOT COVER THE BILL. THIS IS THE SAME CONVOLUTED LOGIC.

Desired Settlement: Pay my expenses for repairs caused by their refusal to submit a claim to MEDICARE.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Taken by phone by BBB staff (pb): Ms. ********* purchased a scooter from this business approximately 3 years ago. In the 1st year, she had to replace 2 batteries. She also had to replace a battery in the 2nd year. Now in the 3rd year, battery is out and the Scooter Store has been unable to fix for over a year. Ms. ********* has called the service number, but the business just gives her the runaround. She's talked to her insurance and her doctor, and they've done everything they can.

Desired Settlement: Fix the scooter. Or, if they can't, refer her to someone who can.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mobility diivice was paid off in March, and they are still billing me

Desired Settlement: Iam on a fixed income by them still deducting money from my account. I was charged a over drraft charge. I have to account for my money closely. I want the $ 61.00 plus the $32.00. They over charged me. Ive tried to contact them, but they are out of business.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a scooter power chair which I have had since 2010. The batteries were replaced in 2012. Since then I had the chair checked out for problems with another company. They cannot fix the chair because it was not purchased from them. I have tried several times to get in touch with the scooter store and have been put on hold for at least 30 minutes. The other store I took the chair to to have it checked,said the right motor is bad and the right brake,or right battery is bad. I have to have the chair in order to get around. If I can't get a hold of the scooter store how am I suppose to get it fixed? I have insurance that will pay for fixing the chair. I can supply a letter from my doctor.Please help me. I have to have a chair I can use without any problems. Thanks

Desired Settlement: Have some one to come and fix the chair.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: God mother had stroke. In Nursing home. Right side weakness. Had to pay cash for power scooter @$6,000.00 twice from scooter store. If she was not in skilled nursing facility, at home, medicare and insurance would have paid for it both times. Now the company will not service chair for cash. They will only take service thru insurance. Cash is no good. Chair is broke and she is stuck in bed. may soon get pressure soares and die. Many calls later they still not service chairs we spent 12,000 for. Help

Desired Settlement: Service what they sell. We will pay cash.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer ordered a scooter from the Scooter Store of Columbia in October 2012 through ********. The scooter provided is not usable by the consumer and is only intended for inside use. She contacted them in November and was told that certain repairs had to done because of ***** and the couldn't assist her locally. She called them in January and they said that she was entitled to what she had and nothing else. She is mobile and would like to utilize something that she can take outside. She can't get across the grass and she needs assistance getting in the house and across the grass with the scooter. She called the business and asked them to come pick it up in November, January, February, and three times between March 15th and today. They only have a record of one phone call at the Texas office which is the 8th or 9th of April. Someone called from the Columbia location at ###-###-#### and informed her that they couldn't pick it up and for her to leave it with a neighbor until they came to get it. She cannot get back in touch with the store and only gets the option to leave a message. She is moving back to New York but can not leave until this is resolved.

Desired Settlement: She needs a receipt of pickup so that it can be documented and an appeal can be made to ********. The scooter will be paid off on May 2013.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The end of Nov. 2012 I purchased a side rail and a basket for my 94 year old mom's scooter. (she lives in WA). The items sent didn't fit this scooter. Since I live in Ut, my sister in WA phoned the company who said that a side rail wasn't made for this model. They said to send it back (they sent a *** slip and paid for the shipping) and a credit would be issued. A few weeks later we decided we couldn't make the basket fit either and they once again sent a *** slip and the basket was returned the first week of Jan. They said the appropriate basket would be sent once they rec'd this one. To date, I have not rec'd the credit for the side arm. My mom has not rec'd the basket. Since so much time has elapsed my last calls to them in March was to request a credit for the basket as well since my sister has "made do" with attaching a basket she had around her house. When I purchased the items I was told they were nonrefundable. HOWEVER, since they sent items which didn't fit, I feel I'm entitled to the credit. AND, why would they pay for the *** shipping if they didn't intend to do what they said they would do: credit the side arm, replace the basket with the correct one. I have made numerous phone calls, talking with many employees of the company with no result, so have resorted to contacting BBB to resolve this. thank you, **** *****

Desired Settlement: credit card refund for the 2 items.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/29/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally spoke to The Scooter Store in January 2013. We discussed what was needed to get a power wheelchair. I have many health problems including rheumatiod arthritis. My doctor completed all the necessary forms. I was contacted by The Scooter Store for them to tell me that I qualified for a power wheelchair. They set a delivery date for Monday, March 4, 2013. I called them that morning to confirm, and was told that all deliveries had been suspended until further notice. They told me they were experiencing an employee shortage and would get with me soon. I attempted to call The Scooter Store's 1-800 number on their website only to be told by a machine to call back later. I found the number for the local Scooter Store that had been assigned the delivery. They anwered the phone and gave me the story about an employee shortage. I told them that something was not adding up here and asked when I could get my power chair. They told me they had no idea. I am in very poor health. My daughter had to take a day off work to travel with me 260 miles to my rhematologist to complete the paperwork for this chair. I am very frustrated and aggravated. The Scooter Store was calling me non-stop until I was qualified and now they will not even answer the phone.

Desired Settlement: If delivery cannot occur soon, then no need.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lack of good product repair,customer service. Have left me sitting with on way to get around my apt. or to doctor appt.There parts are poor quality and don't last every long, the batteries don't hold a charge, the motors lock up. please call and I can explain better. I hope this will help Product_Or_Service: Power chair

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Want a chair that is reliable

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a scooter from The Scooter Store Nov 2012 over the phone. I'v been makeing payments on time. In Feb 2013 I received a bill that was incorrect. The balance was to be 168.00. Instead it was 299.00. This could be corrected with just a phone call. I have been calling this business for two weeks. I call from 8:00 am to 6:pm every day. I get a recording that says " we are haveing a large valum of calls please call at a later time ,we are open from 8:am to 6:00pm central time please back when we are open." I have found other phone numbers on the enternet for the Scooter Store and thay all answer the same way. I would like to find out what is going on so I can close outmy acc. Could you advise me. thank you for reading my complaint. Sharon Tetzlaff ###-###-#### Account_Number: Patient # *******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to talk to this company and pay my acc off. I will never due bussines with this company again nor will I promote this comp.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/15/2012 Delivery Issues
10/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/12/2012 Delivery Issues
10/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/25/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/25/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/4/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/27/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/26/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/1/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/1/2011 Delivery Issues
10/31/2011 Delivery Issues
10/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/23/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2011 Delivery Issues
9/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
7/12/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/17/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/2/2011 Delivery Issues
1