Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

K & J Enterprises

Phone: (512) 916-9655 Fax: (512) 916-9656 3900 Drossett Dr, Austin, TX 78744 View Additional Email Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that K & J Enterprises meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for K & J Enterprises include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on K & J Enterprises
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 28, 2005 Business started: 03/28/2005 in TX Business started locally: 03/28/2005
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Keith Kelly, Owner Ms. Ashley Kelly, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Ashley Kelly, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Keith Kelly, Owner
Business Category

Vacuum Cleaning Systems Vacuum Equipment & Systems Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Vacuum Cleaners - Industrial & Commercial


Additional Locations

  • 3900 Drossett Dr

    Austin, TX 78744 (512) 916-9655

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DECEPTIVE SALES PRACTICES: On May 19th 2016 a ***** representative came to my home (by the name of ******* *****) and explained to me I would have a 33 day trial period basically where I would have no penalty or obligation to keep the product. He explained further by saying that within the first 3 business days I could call and cancel and they would come pick up the vacuum from my house. During the remainder of the trial days, I could change my mind, but I would have to bring the vacuum back to a ***** store. I am located in Killeen, TX and this representative was from the ***** company in Austin, but he assured me that there is one here in Killeen. He affirmed that if I were to decide I didn't want the product after those 3 days, I would have the remaining 30 days to go drop it off. When signing the contract I saw the 5/23/16 cancellation date but thought nothing of it since he explained the 3 day repo thing, but he had explained that I could take it back to a ***** store in the following 30 days. After discussing it with my husband and trying out all the other functions we decided it was not the best fit for us. We don't have carpet and the vacuum was too suction-y for our rugs. The other capabilities were cool and no doubt the vacuum part was high quality, but the vacuum wouldn't really serve us and I wouldn't utilize those extra assets enough to make it worth such a large investment. So last Saturday (June 4th- way before the 33 day mark) I looked up the ***** store here in town that **** mentioned. I packed the vacuum up in my car and headed out expecting to return it. I got there 30 mins before closing time and no one was there, which didn't alarm me because it was a Saturday and figured whoever just headed home a little early on the weekend. I knew I still had a large majority of that 30 day trial period left so I just added a trip to ***** to my To-Do list for the week. My schedule didn't allow me to return until today (June 9th). I brought my paperwork in and the Killeen store and they told me that they are not affiliated with the ***** out of Austin and that I would need to contact them directly. While there though the guy looked at my contract and noted that it was past my 3 day cancellation time and pointed at the date on the paper. I told him what **** had explained to me though and he just looked at me. He said that that wouldn't matter because it wasn't the date listed and that this wasn't the first time people have come into the Killeen store under similar impressions after interactions with K & J Enterprises in Austin. Anyways, I call K & J and speak with Ashley. She said the date on the contract is the date they go by and didn't seem to care much about my story. She said I could call the loan people and see if they would cancel it. So I called Unity Consumer Financial Services and they told me they couldn't do anything unless ***** gave them the cancellation # or whatever because they are under contract. So I call back K & J asking for a manager (who is Ashley, go figure). She said that **** has had no complaints like this against him before and that I should have paid attention to what I was signing. When I explained to ****** why that initial date didn't raise a red flag for me (apparently she was listening a little more closely this time), she called the distributor to see about the 30 day thing, but called me back saying it wasn't true. She said she could give me some free product. I asked her if she could give me $1200 worth of free product and she said no. She said there is nothing she can do and that I signed the contract. BS. Not understanding that *****, the manufacturing company, sells to vendors (like K & J) and is unattached, I called them trying to get further up than ****** to get special consideration for my case since the sales rep clearly gave me misleading information (for goodness sake he told me I could take it to the Killeen store that isn't even affiliated with his! To bad for me I didn't understand the business structure until it was too late). The information given verbally by **** was blatantly false and I feel I was purposely deceived. Because of his deceptive sales practices I was led to believe I had more time than I did to change my mind about the product, thus causing me to miss the actual deadline. I am disgusted by the integrity of **** as an individual and the company for not taking action to right the situation. I really can't believe this is happening. This is a nightmare and I've spent a whole day on the phone with apparently no one that can help me. I hope that this doesn't happen to anyone else. I am going to be way more cautious with sales people now and way more questioning about contracts. If someone tells me a date, I'm going to ask for it in writing with a signature.

Desired Settlement: For them to release me from my contract with no penalty and for them to come pick up their machine.

Business Response: I am writing this letter in regards to complaint ID #********. This customer ******* ******* ***** was already picked up. She is no longer in possession of the machine and she informed us she would recant her statement. Please let me know if you have any questions.

7/8/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales rep light after a long debate and insisted on his life until we accepted it as truth then later found out after the contract was passed its cancellation date that it was in fact a lie and now neither the company nor the financial institute will help fix the problem and tell us that we are just stuck with what it is

Desired Settlement: To cancel the contract take back their product and return our product and to never contact us again once resolved

Business Response: On 5110/2016 your wife ****** ***** entered a binding contract for the purchase of the Avelir. The finance company United Consumer Financial Services fully explained with Denise the terms of the contract in regards to the 12 months same as cash. They clearly state that from the date of purchase as long as the product was paid for in full at the purchase price of $2800 within the 12 months that there would be no Interest or finance charges. If it was not paid off within the 12 months, then the interest and the finance charges would be added to the purchase price. It is also clearly stated on the back of the binding contract. I am sorry that you feel you were miss informed but your wife Denise was explained the process by our finance company. Also the cancelation date is clearly stated on the bottom of the contract that you have until no later than midnight of May 13th 2016.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards, that is inaccurate information the terms in which you state were explained were not explained the sales rep explained completely different and there was an argument between myself and the sales rep that this would happen he ensured me that it would not happen and if it did so happened that that would give me the right to sue that is of course paraphrase but he did say to me that if there was $0.01 added in other than what was agreed upon at the time of signing that that would be legal standing to sue he failed to inform that it was a financial company doing the financing would not be bound by those terms for your company's verbal contract the company has also refused to bring in the sales rep in a three-way conversation to confirm or deny that said terms were discussed

***** 

Business Response: Per the agreement that Mrs. ****** ***** entered solely on 5/10/2016 she agreed on and stated she understood the terms of the agreement on the 12 months same as cash to the finance company United Consumer Financial Services. Mrs. ****** ***** is the sole person on this contract and is currently up to date on her payments with the Avalir. i have attached a ledger from the finance company showing that Mrs. ****** ***** is current on the payments of the Avalir.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** *****

We agreed to a 12 months same as cash term that was explained to us by the sales rep that was not honored by the financial company it was not explained by the financial company therefore making your representative a liar and a financial company will not honor what your company sold us on without a written statement from the sales rep which you refused to let us get

6/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales representatives (mainly one named ******) have repeatedly knocked on my door to solicit services. I have very clearly posted "No Soliciting" sign on my door. When I pointed out to the representative that I do not accept solicitors, the representative cut me off mid-sentence to tell me that she is not soliciting anything, but simply offering a free carpet cleaning demonstration. This is, clearly, solicitation of a service.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this business to cease all solicitation attempts at my residence, indefinitely.

Business Response: I am truly sorry that your residence has been knocked on repeatedly. I do understand that you are stating you have a no soliciting sign in your residence and we have put you on our do not contact list for our office.

3/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At 6:30 pm last night the office manager of k&j enterprises ****** *****' came to my house demanding money and threatening myself and my husband with ruining our credit if we don't hand over money right then she said she will continue to return to my home every night harassing us and my 5 year old until she sees fit, I asked her to please leave and not ever come back, that she had no right to "strong arm" payments from us, she continued to speak over myself and my husband demanding $112.66 in cash right then !

Desired Settlement: Please take the ***** vacuume back and get this very unpleasant women out of our lives we no longer want it and feel VERY threatened by her

Business Response: This is ****** ***** Office Manager of K&J Enterprises I did go to the home of **** ******** last night March **** around 6:30PM to speak to him regarding his pass due payment with ****, When customers become over 30 days past due they ask for our assistance on contacting the customers regarding payment. I spoken to ******* ******** back on the **** of  February regarding the payment she assure me she would mail in the payment as soon she received her payment booklet she requested and will mail in her payment on February ****. I called **** and relayed the message so her account would be mark hold for payment. Payment was received at a much later date March **** and was sent back for NSF on March ****. I called yesterday March ****  around 2pm asking for **** ******** and who I was, ******* ******** stated she mailed in her payment of the $236 and she just went on a repaid to telling me that we have be harassing her husband at work and that we apparently don't want her money because she try to pay with credit card, automatic draft and now with a personal check while at the same time yelling and cursing at me. I explained her yes her check was received but was returned for non-sufficient funds and after that I could never get a another word in, finally she was yelling what do you have to say now? So at that point I explained to her I'm with K&J Enterprises not **** and I was just trying to help **** on collecting the 1st payment due of $112.66,she hung up on me.

 A home visit is our next step on being able to speak to **** ******** himself, I did go to the home around 6:30pm on Wednesday March **** ,ran the door bell once **** ******** came to the door and I introduce my myself as ****** ***** with K&J Enterprises and handed him my business card shook his hand. As soon as ******* heard my name she started with the yelling. I explained to him I was there to discus his past due payment and **** did received payment of $236  but unfortually it was return for non-sufficient funds. He wasn't aware of that NSF and asked me what was due while he was trying to get wife to calm down. I told him $112.66 he said he would take care of that payment with ****  and I thank him for his time and left. I never demand cash at that point, never mentions anything regarding ruining their credit nor threaten any of them at their home or that I would continue making home visits.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
everything in ******'s statement is compleatly untrue  and incorrect except for she came to my home at 6:30-7:00pm at night to strong arm a cash payment on the spot, I also have her business card that SHE wrote on the back of the amount that she was insisting my husband and I pay her in cash right then and there !

i will not be intimidated to make payments to a company I do not owe !! 
I owe united consumer finance NOT k&j enterprises, and certainly not ****** ***** !
Regards,

******* ********

Business Response:

I spoke to **** and **** stated that *******  ******** will have her Husband **** ******** give **** a call when he get home for work to discus payment with him since he is the singer on the contract. It will be up to **** on what and how they wish to handle/ settle the account with the **** ********.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:I'm not denying we owe united consumer financial services, I'm reporting ****** at k&j on her VERY unethical collection practices, we do not live in a time where it is acceptable for someone to come to someone's home at 7:00pm at night to itimidate and strong arm $112.00 from me and my husband this is "2014" and not "1914" !
no one from a & j Is to ever come over to my home again we will only deal with united consumer finance from now on ! 
As or ****** ***** she needs to re-think going to peoples homes like she's done with us, this is Texas we have the right to bear arms and trust me "we do" and we have the right to protect our property any way we see fit if we feel threatened ! 
Stay away from me and my husband and family !
Regards,

******* ********

1/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A door to door salesman from this company came to my home tonight at nearly 9:00pm waking up both my 3 year old daughter and 6 month old daughter, then had the nerve to try to pressure me into listening to his sales pitch after I repeatedly asked him to leave my property.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to stop soliciting at night, and if their actions are illegal I would like for them to be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law.

Business Response: Dear, ******* *******,

I would like to apologize in be half of K & J  Enterprises and  for *****, I have spoken to ***** in regards to last night and made sure he understood when he is asked to leave the property he is to do so immediately, And not continue to pressure you or anyone with his sell pitch. We will mark your address down as a home not to visit in the future.


Thank you for your time
****** *****' 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on K & J Enterprises
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)