Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Galaxy 2000

Phone: (512) 451-8993 Fax: (512) 451-8996 9008 Anderson Mill Rd, Austin, TX 78729 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rainbowsystem.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Galaxy 2000 meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Galaxy 2000 include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Galaxy 2000
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1991 Business started: 08/01/1990 Business started locally: 08/01/1990
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Kenneth G Bashford, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenneth G Bashford, Owner
Business Category

Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers Industrial Products Wholesalers & Distributors

Alternate Business Names
Rainbow Home Care

Additional Locations

  • 9008 Anderson Mill Rd

    Austin, TX 78729

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my rainbow in Colorado and was having a issue with it now working as well as it did when i bought it. I found a rainbow dealer based out of Austin's called Rainbow Vacuums Sales & Service Galaxy 2000. The dealers were a couple and the came to my house to check what may be wrong since i would not let them take my machine out off my house. They then told me the filter was bad. Not dirty because when he cleaned out in the kitchen and the water was clear. So something else was going on. They then took that part with them so the tech could look to see what was going on. The said they would call back by Friday and the took it on Wednesday. Saturday morning still heard nothing so i called the main store and the guy who answered the phone told me she was given a replacement to give to me. At 4:50 pm still no word from her I call back to the office the ***** answered i explained what was going on. He then said that i could not have talked to anyone because the office was closed. I told him i called at 10am and he said they closed at 2pm and he was going to call the dealer. I then get a call from her and got a long story of excuses why she did not contact me and tells me that she will bring my part over at 6. At 6:42 pm i get a text from her saying that the filter is $59. I then call her to see what is going on. See this was never discussed and all my warranty info was taken when they were here. Why should i pay anything when it is covered under the warranty. Anyways, she was very rude on the phone saying she told me this before she left but if that we what i needed a new part that i had too pay for why would you take mine, also why was i told by the office that a replacement was given to her. She then tells me when i called her back that the ***** will discount it to $45 or i could set up two shows for her and get it for free. She gives me corporate number and the wrong number for the owner. I called the office number and when it was answered i asked if i was speaking to the ***** and he said "it sounds like i am talking to a rude customer." i was calm still until this point. Out of a kindness i was letting him know of the customer service his reps were giving to me. His was worse. He was yelling and would not let me speak so i let me husband talk to him and he said in short since we did not buy our machine from him he was not going to help us. Our part that they still have is being mailed back to us and I'm only going to deal with corporate. This is the worst service i have ever received. I sold rainbows in Colorado and i know that the warranty will cover the party that was having issues.

Desired Settlement: I want my part replaced since it ifs covered under my warranty.

Business Response: RE: ******* *** ********** Complaint.

 

As always, I am dismayed when I have a complaint from a
customer.

However in this case, *** and *****, a relatively new couple
in my organization paid a courtesy call to the residence of ******* ***
**********. A practice we are not obligated to do. Customers come into our
Authorized Service Center where professional service is given. In this case
******* *** ********** could have come into our Austin Head Office, or Service
Center in Belton TX.

As they say, there are always two sides to every story. I
got involved when ******* *** ********** called my office, and she let off
steam on me, explaining the problems she was having. I also explained that
filters were not covered under warranty. ******* *** ********** told me she
sold Rainbows in Colorado where she purchased her Rainbow. As a representative
in Colorado she would known that filters are not covered under Warranty. She
said she had a Warranty that said they were? I am yet to see it.

I have been a Rainbow Distributor for over 34 years, and no
such Warranty exists. I have attached a copy of the Rainbow Owners Manual where
it clearly states, “These warranties do not cover normal wear-and-tear
arising from usage of the products.” I also attach a Certificate of
Excellence from Rexair the Manufacturer that I receive every year. My service
center services over 40,000 Rainbows in Central Texas.

******* *** ********** would not accept my explanation and
then ******* *** ****** husband got on the line and started cussing at me. That
is something I will not tolerate from anyone under any circumstance. I
suggested they call our World Headquarters, and speak to customer service,
which I understand they did. Because after they called Head Office, customer
service called me to find out my view of the situation. I understand also that
customer service informed ******* *** ********** that the filter was not under
Warranty.

Going on my personal theory, that “even if a customer is
wrong, they are always right”, I had another representative drop off a filter
for ******* *** **********. I understand that she and her husband thanked him,
and I assumed the case was closed.

If I may be of any further assistance, please do not
hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

*** ********

*****

1/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their shady business practices woke my sick child up, when their door to door harbinger of "free ham," proceeded to ring my doorbell, set my dogs off into a panic. When I called, the owner was rude, and a horrible business person.

Business Response: I am truly sorry for what happened to *** **** and his baby.
One of our representatives was out doing a bit of local advertising, telling home owners where our store was for our products. Unfortunately when he knocked on the door, he must have alerted the dogs who in turn. As he thought nobody was home, he left a flyer for the homeowner to call our office for a free Christmas Ham or Turkey.
The next thing *** **** called my office and he shared his frustration with me. I apologized but then when he started cussing me out, screaming on top of his voice, I too got upset. No wonder the baby would not go to sleep.
*** **** asked if I was a member of the BBB. I said I was.
I tried to appease *** **** but he would not hear it.
I have been in business for over 43 years and once in a blue moon something goes wrong. We are not all perfect. My staff are trained that if they see a note on the door, 'shift worker sleeping, or baby sleeping' they never knock on the door. 

I trust *** **** will accept my apologies for one of my staff for waking his baby. I will gladly mail *** **** a $25.00 gift card to HEB or Walmart, or better still I will mail or personally deliver one of our Home Care Products to him at no charge!
Sincerely,
*** ********

2/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service