BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions & Total Car Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for AAMCO Transmissions & Total Car Care include:

  • 16 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmissions & Total Car Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 16

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1967 Business started: 01/01/1963 Business started locally: 01/01/1963 Business incorporated: 10/27/1997 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Carl R. Cox, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carl R. Cox, Owner
Related Businesses
Aamco Transmissions & Total Car
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Air Conditioning Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems

Alternate Business Names
CR Cox Inc
Industry Tips
Car repair tips

Additional Locations

  • 2339 NW Loop 410

    San Antonio, TX 78230 (210) 341-3341

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a ** ***** that has less than 140000 miles on the odometer. I took my car to Aamco Transmissions to get an estimate on the repairs. I was told by *****, that an oil leak was the cause of my clutch going bad as the clutch was soaked in oil when they looked at it. There were a few other oil leaks as well but they were easy to get to and easy to repair. The first quote for repairs was $1758. After my parents talked to ***** the price dropped to $1350. I was told I got the car back in five days and the car felt like new after I got it back. Unfortunately I did not have the car for a week and started having problems with my car. The first thing I noticed on the second day after repairs is that my car was still leaking oil. Not a lot of oil but enough to raise suspicion. Then my car began shaking a few days after I noticed the leak. A week after I got my car repaired the clutch went out completely. I had to get my car towed to Aamco and I was told I would get my car back the next day, two days at the latest. Two days pass and I get a phone call from **** saying that the car is still shaking when they test drive it and he will let me know once my car is fixed. I ask **** if everything they are doing is covered in the warranty. He says yes and I continue on with my day. The very next day ***** calls and says that they do not know what the problem is with my car as the shaking wont go away. The next day after that ***** calls again and tells me that my car now wont move and its going to need more work as a bad gear in the transmission is what is causing my car to shake and I will have to pay for the repairs. My car did not shake at all until it was repaired. Also they were able to repair my car enough to drive as they were able to test drive it multiple times until it finally broke down under they're own care. I believe they caused the damage to my car after multiple test drives and will not admit to the mistake.

Desired Settlement: I would like a total refund or for Aamco to fix my vehicle at they're expense. I did not experience any of these problems with the car until I got it fixed and my car was drivable after it was towed which does not explain why, all of a sudden was my car not drivable again. Also I feel that Aamco was taking advantage of my situation as I am a young college student and do not have a lot of knowledge about car repairs. I last talked to Aamco on Jan. 29th and I am still waiting the new cost of repair

Business Response: I am sorry that Mr. ******** is having any problems with his vehicle. We towed his vehicle in on 12/31/14 and the vehicle would not move and had 140,962 miles on the odometer. We diagnosed the vehicle and identified immediate concern was to replace the clutch assembly and repair major leaks from the transaxle and engine. The leaks that were identified and repaired at the time were the front transaxle seal, both axle seals and both engine valve cover gaskets. There are numerous other seals, gaskets, O-rings and sealant on the transaxle, engine, and other components that were not replaced. We only replaced the most severe and needed at the time that we could identify. We have determined at this time that there is seepage from other areas which were not addressed with the original repair and would not be covered. The vehicle was towed back to the center on 1/21/14 because it would not move with the odometer reading 141,899. When the vehicle got here we road tested it and determined the clutch needed too be addressed first. We repaired the clutch and determined that the axles were in need of repair. While road testing the vehicle the cv axle joint gave out completely on the driver side. Our recommendation is that both axles will need to be replaced. The axles were not replaced with the original repair and will not be covered under any warranty. I will offer Mr. ******** a discounted price as a goodwill gesture on the needed repairs.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

After having my car diagnosed at another garage I was told that the valve cover gasket was still leaking oil. This is something I was charged for and was not fixed. Also I was offered about $800 at Aamco to fix both CV axles to my ** *****. ********** ****** is charging me about $650 to have the vehicle repaired and that's with labor. Also ********** gave me a more detailed account of what exactly is wrong with my vehicle more so than Aamco ever gave me.  Another thing that I am concerned about is that in order to be able to look at the Clutch or transmission you need to remove both front axles of the vehicle. The driver side CV axle was demolished and destroyed. The passenger side CV axle was completely dried. Since you are required to remove both axles in order to take a look at the clutch or transmission I can not get a full diagnose to what is completely wrong with my vehicle. How is it possible to not notice how bad both axles are if you need to remove them to take a good look at the clutch and transmission. Aamco told me during the second time I had brought my vehicle in they were convinced the reason my car was shaking was because of a bad second gear in the transmission. Then finally after 3 days after being told it was the transmission I was told by Aamco it was my CV joints in the front and now my vehicle is not able to move. If they couldn't look at the Transmission how were they able to come to that conclusion that it was the second gear in the transmission. Lastly when I was called to be updated about the price of the repairs I was never offered the discount that was mentioned on the first BBB response from Aamco. The fact that the valve cover gasket was not fixed and the price to repair my vehicle was more expensive at Aamco makes me believe that I was being taken advantage of. After my experience with Aamco I wil never recommend them to anyone and will not bring any of my future vehicles to them to be repaired.


Regards,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THEY HAVE SIGNS AVERTISING FREE TOW WITH REPAIRS, BUT A WEEK LATER I HAD CAR PROBLEMS AND NEEDED A TOW AGAIN, BUT WAS GOING TO BE CHARGED FOR THE SERVICE. COME TO REALIZE THE LAST INVOICE I GOT DIDNT SAY ANY CHARGES REGARDING THE TOW BUT AFTER TALKING TO THE TOW COMPANY I KNOW I WAS CHARGED. SO NOW WITH MY CAR BACK IN THE SHOP **** GAVE ME A QUOTE OF $190 INCLUDING TROUBLE SHOOTING AND ANY LABOR REQUIRED FOR THE JOB. THE NEXT DAY I GET A PHONE CALL SAYING THE BILL IS OVER $500. I FEEL LIKE THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I WAS TOLD ONE PRICING AND ALL OF A SUDDEN IM PAYING 2-3 TIMES THAT MUCH OF THE ORIGINAL QUOTE PRICING TO BEGIN WITH

Desired Settlement: I WANT TO PAY THE PRICE THAT WAS QUOTED TO MANY FROM THE BEGINNING, THE PRICE SHOULDNT VARY THAT MUCH JUST FOR A DISTRIBUTOR CAP

Business Response: We obviously did not tow his vehicle in for this repair. It would appear my manager explained that towing would not be covered for this particular break down well before it was brought to this center. He could have made arrangements to take it somewhere else if he wished. We made no claims that we would tow it in for free. I know that we then did not charge him for towing nor trick him to tow it here. It was towed in because it would not start.
We completed our initial check and agree it would not start. At this time **** called and spoke with **** and explained a more in depth diagnosis would be required to determine the cause of the no start condition. The diagnostic cost for this is $190 which was explained to ****. He agreed to the check and the cost and understood that this only included the diagnosis and not repairs. We determined numerous problems with the electrical, distributor, as well as the cap and rotor. He was quoted the amount before any repairs were performed and once again agreed to the amount and the repairs. He informed **** he did not have the full amount and would he would bring half the money on that Friday and the balance the following week. He did not come in on Friday and has since sent a letter to the BBB as a smoke screen for which I am sending my response. I feel this is more a complaint to help him because he does not have all the funds to pay for the repairs he authorized.
I spoke with **** today and it did not seem like he was misled or force fed a repair, rather after authorizing the repairs he has since talked to friends and he feels like he is paying too much for the repair. We charge $95 hr. labor and he says he can get another shop to do the repair for less than $60 hr. He said he now feels like he is paying too much for something he could have gotten repaired for less somewhere else. Buyers remorse.
I was in the process of talking with him and we were disconnected. I have called back several times with no answer and unable to leave voice mail because his is full.
I do not like to have any unhappy or dissatisfied customer  and if there is some way of him contacting me I would be willing to reach out and help in some way.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I looked online saw they had a free diagnostic check. I went in for my check engine light. I told the man(**), ******** could not get into my codes cause it was giving a transmission code. I wanted to know what it was. He asked if anything else was happening with my car. I stated there was some hard shifting. Took my keys,my name, had his "technician" take my car out for a ride. When he arrived I could hear my radio on while the windows were closed and I was in the office. After coming back he put it on a lift, took my transmission pan off without my consent and said my transmission was shot, he had never seen anything like it. Referring to the pink thick fluid coming from the transmission. I then asked him to put it back on,I would even pay for the fluid I just wanted to get home. He then said No i cant do that then your gonna hold us responsible if anything happens. He said he couldnt let me leave there like that. They could inspect and tell me what was wrong with my transmission. After several attempts to get them to put my pan back on, Feeling I had no other option I signed to let them inspect my transmission. It was 5 30 they were closing at 6 and I assumed, had I not agreed, my car would have been left outside the shop. The next day I get a phone call from ******* stating the work would cost over 2000, I replied I would be there the next day to pick up my car. Upon arriving, ******* offered to have the transmission put back together, then **** said there would be a charge and it wouldnt be done that day. I told them just to give it to me in pieces, they then took it outside and put all the pieces in front of my car on the ground. After this whole ordeal I purchased a transmission and installed it myself, I still have the same problems which leads me to believe it was not my transmission. I contacted AAMCO headquarters sent them a message regarding this matter,they then sent it to ****. **** contacted me and asked what the problem was. I stated my concerns but **** seems to think there was no problem. I told him I didnt get what I went in for, he then stated," What, you want the diagnostic codes? Ill give you the diagnostic codes." I then just laughed as we were both angry and yelling over the phone. He then said, "You know, Im not gonna be able to help you. You authorized for us to check your transmission and signed it,so I cant help you." I never got my transmission codes, they never told me what was wrong with my transmission, and took my $400 dollars. Also I am supposed to recieve a copy of the statement that had my signature, they seem to have made a new one and gave me that one. I do not want to be contacted by **** or any of AAMCO affiliates. Ive tried to work with them, they seem to think they are not wrong. **** and his associate ******* like to yell at their customers, when the customers feel they are being wrongfully charged. They bully and lie to theyre customers to try and force them into making the choices they really do not want to choose. I stated multiple times put my pan back on, and he kept telling me no.

Desired Settlement: I would like my 400 dollars back, I feel I was mislead and never authorized any dismemberment of the transmission pan. Had he not taken the pan off we would not be in this situation.

Business Response: I apologize if Mr. ******** felt I was yelling at him. I did not feel that any voices were raised but I will definitely check myself in the future.  I will be happy to send any codes that we found while checking his vehicle and a copy of the estimate as well. Please let me know where to send the information. We have internal paper work which we keep and we have customer invoices which we give to the customers. If there are other copies which he would like to receive please specify and notify me and I will do my best to forward them as requested. If Mr. ******** is still having problems with his vehicle I would suggest bring it to us or another reputable repair facility to have it checked and repaired before he causes further damage to his vehicle. Unfortunately Mr. ******** states he would like a refund because he did not authorize the dismemberment of his transmission, however in his complaint to the BBB he agrees that he did authorize us to do just that. If Mr. ******** had not authorized this check I would be more than willing to refund him for an unauthorized repair. Again my sincerest apologies for any misunderstandings.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: He is stating the same thing he said before just in a nicer manner. Yes given the circumstances I did authorize the removal and inspection of my transmission. However I did not authorize any removal of my transmisson PAN to begin with. Had my pan not been removed I would be able to drive my car out the shop that day. Instead ******* refused multiple times to put it back, which led me to believe I had no other choice but to let you disassemble and inspect. How is it okay for him to tell me no I cant put your pan back on and let you drive your car out of here? **** says to take my car to professionals, the same professionals who said my transmission lines were connected to my radiator and letting fluids into my transmission? Upon further inspection I realized that was wrong, they have their own cooling system. Im done with this so called "reputable" company. Its fine **** can have my money. Ive learned from my mistakes but from the amount of complaints put against this company it dosent seem they have or do not have to.

Regards,

******* ********





























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 8th, 2013, I had my GMC Sierra truck towed to Aamco for the company to run a diagnostics test and do necessary repairs to my truck to fix it. I was called by the mechanic doing the diagnostics, *******, and was told that the initial diagnostics test came back with nothing being wrong with the engine and that a 2 hour electrical computer diagnostics test must be run at $90 an hour to determine what was wrong with my truck. I had to call them back to get the results of the test. I was told that my truck needed a new ignition switch, lock cylinder, alternator, and battery and was quoted at $1100 for all diagnostics, parts, and labor. I opted to only have the ignition switch and lock cylinder replaced. This was completed two days later at a cost of $559.42: $180 being for the electrical diagnostics testing and $379.42 for the ignition switch and lock cylinder replacement. My truck was not running properly. I took it to ******** **** ****** in San Antonio where they tried to run a diagnostics test on the truck. A fuse was blown and would not allow the computer in the truck to register at all. It was not reading anything. After replacing the blown fuse, a diagnostics test was run and it showed that there was something was indeed wrong with the engine, a bad crank shaft sensor. With their being a blown fuse in the truck not allowing the computer to register, and a completely different diagnosis for the truck stemming from the diagnostics testing done, I am led to believe that Aamco did not run any diagnostics testing at all, but I was still charged $180 for the service. ******** **** ****** also did a test on the alternator, which tested to be in perfect working order and did not need to be replaced. Aamco did replace the lock cylinder and the ignition switch. It was working ok for the first week and half, but still stuck on occasion. Now the key is extremely hard to get into the ignition, if you can at all, and will not turn the truck on. I have to use a screw driver to start my truck. The parts used were faulty and it was not installed properly. I spoke to ****, the manager at Aamco, and the only thing he was willing to do was to look at the key and see why it wasn't working. He would not look at the actual cylinder and ignition switch that was put in my truck while I was there. He wanted me to leave my truck at the shop to be looked at while I wasn't there. This is unacceptable because of the issues I have had with this shop. I asked for a refund for the diagnostics testing that did not occur on this truck and a refund for the faulty parts and repair that was done, which he refused. I do not trust this shop with my vehicle and will be taking it to a different mechanic to be properly fixed.

Desired Settlement: I believe Aamco has the responsibility to refund my money in full. This shop lied about what was done with my truck and what was wrong with my truck. That is fraud. I am not ok with paying a company $559.42 for services that were done incorrectly or not at all.

Business Response:
The vehicle was picked up 4/13/13. This is the first that we heard of any problems. The receipt for ******** was from some time earlier this month. This is at least 2 weeks from the time that the vehicle left this center. It would be difficult for me to speak about other issues with the vehicle on repairs that were not done here and only addressed after 2 or 3 weeks. Our warranty does not cover abuse, misuse or alterations of any kind. I am sorry that there is a problem with the repair to the lock cylinder. I invite the customer back to our center to please drop the vehicle off and have it checked by one of our technicians. If the installed part is defective or installed improperly we will take care of such repairs under warranty.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1