Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Greater San Antonio Transportation Co

Phone: (210) 222-2222 Fax: (210) 650-8650 View Additional Phone Numbers 9600 N Ih 35, San Antonio, TX 78233 http://www.yellowcabsa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Greater San Antonio Transportation Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Greater San Antonio Transportation Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1973 Business started: 02/01/1973 Business started locally: 02/01/1973 Business incorporated 09/08/2003 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Bouloubasis, General Manager Mr. Roman Martinez, President Ms. Lisa Marie Resendez, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Bouloubasis, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Roman Martinez, President
Business Category

Taxicabs Transportation Services Wheelchair & Disability Transportation Airport Transportation

Alternate Business Names
Alamo Cab Co. Checker Cab Company Checker Cab Company of San Antonio San Antonio Yellow Cab Defensive Driving School Taxi Express Texas Star Limousine & Tour Texas Taxi, Inc. Yellow Cab Company Yellow Checker Cab

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9600 N Ih 35

    San Antonio, TX 78233 (210) 222-2222 (210) 650-8600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Angry Road Rage driver! Guy almost rear ended me have photo to prove it. Then presumes to verbally assult me as well as visually flick me off when i got out to see of any damages i may have recieved.

Desired Settlement: I do wish to inform company of encounter based sole on moral judgement of this individual driver.

Business Response: The matter has been addressed.

Be Safe,

****** ****
Driver Services Manager

 
(Office) ************
(Fax) ************

Email: **********************
**** ** ** ** *** *******, TX *****
*******************

 
            

DISCLAIMER
THIS EMAIL TRANSMISSION AND ANY ATTACHMENTS HERETO CONTAIN INFORMATION FROM TEXAS TAXI, INC. OR AFFILIATES,  WHICH MAY BE CONFIDENTIAL AND PRIVILEGED. THE INFORMATION IS INTENDED FOR THE SOLE USE OF THE INDIVIDUAL OR ENTITY TO WHOM IT IS ADDRESSED. IF YOU ARE NOT THE INTENDED RECIPIENT, YOUR USE, DISSEMINATION, FORWARDING, PRINTING OR COPYING OF THIS INFORMATION IS PROHIBITED.
                    


11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife went to use San Antonio Yellow Cab and received horrible customer service/driver service. She scheduled a taxi to take her to an appointment that was made 4 weeks ago and no one ever showed up. She called customer service several times as well as having 6 different drivers call her and give her a hard time, because they didn't know where they were going. This has happened before at our old housing area as well. They were rude and get made, I feel that was not necessary. We also may be charged money for missing this appointment. They are in the business of customer service and it seems to me even when I called that they just pass you around until you hang up. Also the drivers never seem to know where they are going. Even when I have taken a cab ride to the airport and back, I have had to give them directions. Why do I have to tell them where to go? They have a GPS!!! San Antonio Yellow cab is just not the way to go and it's sad because they are the only taxi service around that I know of.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a phone call from there regional manger.

Business Response:

This particular street is so new there is no ground level view on Google Maps and it does not appear on Google Earth.  Two independent contractor drivers made an attempt to locate the passenger.  The second one was successful with the help of the dispatcher. Though the taxi was not on time, due to the difficulty of locating this new street, the complainant’s wife did ride to her appointment.  While she was in the cab, the dispatch Manager on Duty contacted her and informed her that the cab fare would be paid to the independent contractor driver by the Company.   She graciously accepted the gesture.  The following day she requested another cab and was able to get into her rescheduled appointment.

I did speak with Mrs. ********.  The complainant did not answer the phone when I attempted to contact him.

 

Be Safe,

****** ****

Driver Services Manager

8/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 6, 2015, I took a cab from San Antonio airport to the BMW dealership which is literally across the street from the airport. I would say it's about a mile drive. The cab driver complained to me about the little distance I was going. I asked him did he not want to take me there. He continued to drive. When we pulled up to BMW, the meter read $5.37 and the $1 surcharge. He then tells me that the fee was $12.50. I asked why and he tried to show me a sign about fees for certain locations. The sign was for night time charges. To avoid confrontation, I paid the bill. When I went to pay the bill, the app on his phone kept showing $14.50. I asked him why was this. He took the phone from me and showed that it would charge $12.50. I proceeded to pay via his phone. I emailed myself a receipt and it showed $14.50. I called the SA inspector line and they told me that I was overcharged and that they would contact the taxi company. The taxi company was supposed to call me back and I haven't heard from them yet. The taxi information is : ***** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like to get refunded the difference in the fare amount.

Business Response:

The complainant has been contacted and it was explained that the taxi in question is not a Yellow Cab.

6/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: San Antonio Yellow Cab **** **** ***** *** ******** ** ***** Re: $2.50 surcharge interposed at the outset of transport from Riverwalk Homewood Inn and Suites to San Antonio Airport May 14, 2015, 12:00 p.m. Gentlemen: Enclosed is a copy of my receipt for Cab# *****, Driver **** for the transport of one person (me) from the San Antonio Riverwalk Homewood Inn and Suites to the San Antonio Airport. Please tell me the justification for the $2.50 charge that was on the meter even before the cab had begun to exit the hotel lobby. When I questioned the driver enroute about the charge, he pointed to notices of surcharges applicable to certain situations, destinations and departure locations that were taped to the window. Indeed there were notices, including the $1.00 airport departure surcharge that I had paid coming into the hotel the day before. But I saw nothing that referenced a charge for departure from a San Antonio hotel.

Desired Settlement: So now I ask you the question, was the charge pursuant to Yellow Cab policy? An email reply will suffice.

Business Response:

I have contacted the complainant via telephone and explained the $2.50 charge. 

This $2.50 charge is not interposed because it is the charge at the beginning of every taxicab trip.  The drop rate is the first item clearly shown on the menu of prices posted by the City of San Antonio on every licensed and insured taxicab in San Antonio.  It’s not a surcharge or a hotel departure fee.  It’s called a drop rate because before digital taximeters all meters were equipped with a handle shaped like a flag. The driver had to manually turn it clockwise to the 9 o’clock position in order to activate it – thus the historical term: Flag drop.  All taxicabs have a flag drop fee.  The amount varies by city.  It is designed to provide compensation to a driver in case the trip is only one block long.  

Be Safe 

****** ****

Driver Services Manager

(O) ###-###-####

(F) ###-###-####

Email: ******@yellowcabsa.com

**** ** ** *****, San Antonio, Texas *****

www.***********.com

5/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cab ***, hail ******** on 5/3 from airport to LAFB. Driver drove route to Valley Hi exit on I-410. After turning onto road, driver proceeded back down Frontage Road towards US 90 and onwards to Military Drive. Asked driver why he did not proceed to the gate and he stated "Gate is no good, I cannot go". I questioned "Why then did you just not get off at US 90 to Military Drive? You are adding additional fare to this cab ride". Driver responded "If you think you know the way to go, then just tell me". I did know the way to go, as I figured this apparently seasoned driver understood as well. He knew where the gates were without assistance. In this case, adding an additional 3 miles to the fare not including time at the lights. He was not authorized to come onto LAFB, which would have been nice to know before getting this cab at the airport, as I had to walk a mile afterward. Called dispatcher less than an hour later who took my complaint and stated that a manager would call up to 3 days later. Have never heard from this manager. I will never hail this cab company again!

Desired Settlement: Refund the additional fare for 3 miles (measured from US 90 off ramp at I-410 to where northbound I-410 Frontage Road merges with US 90 Frontage Road and any fare for time (nearly 5 mins). Counsel your cab *** driver on his extremely poor customer service skills, to tell customers of his inability to pass security requirements to get onto installations prior to promising curbside delivery and advise him not to talk down at them. He should be ashamed!

Business Response:

Complaint ******** 

The complainant will have the disputed amount credited to his card. 

Be Safe  ****** ****

Driver Services Manager 

(P) ###-###-####

(F) ###-###-####

Email: ******@***********.com

**** ** ** *****, San Antonio, Texas 78233

www.***********.com

2/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/5/2014, I took a cab ride from H&M La Cantera ***** to my home address on ***** which was 10 miles. On arrival at my home, I was sick and I opened up the cab door and leaned outside to vomit. I did not make any messes inside the cab. I then signed the credit card charge and noticed the ride cost over $40 and then added tip for a total charge of $46. I did not question how a 10 mile ride cost over $40 but should have cost around $26. I however did sign the credit card charge anyway. On 1/7/2015, I received my credit card bill and noticed that my Yellow cab charge was for $86. I called Yellow Cab and also submitted a email form about the $86 charge. I am not disputing the $46 charged that I authorized. I am disputing the $40 additonal charge. I received a call from George the Public Relations manager and he explained that San Antonio allows a cleanup fee up to $200 and since I made a mess in the cab, I was charged a portion of the cleanup fee. He also said they have pictures when the cab driver came in that morning. I said I wanted to see those pictures to confirm as well as look at the date/timestamp. I am very positive that I did not make any messes in the cab and the cab driver did not point that out to me during the time he presented the $46 charge for my signature. I did not authorize and was unaware of the $40 additional charge. I said I was also willing to drive to their offices to look at the pictures. I have not heard anything back from them.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the $40.

Business Response:

Complaint ******** 

The alleged incident occurred on December 5, 2014.  The complainant states that the fare was over $40 for what should have been a $26 fare.  She says she added a tip to bring the amount up to $46.  An electronic trace of that specific trip shows that the Independent Contractor Driver took the most direct route to the destination.  The amount on the meter was $28.98 when they arrived at the destination.  There were no delays, detours, or other factors that would have caused a higher amount on the meter. 

The complainant states that when she got to her destination she opened the door and leaned out of the cab to vomit.  The Independent Contractor Driver discovered that the complainant had also vomited on the floorboard of his vehicle.  Chapter 33 of the San Antonio City Code of Ordinances allows a vehicle for hire operator to charge the passenger a fee of up to $200 when at no fault of the driver a passenger leaves the taxicab in a state that requires immediate cleaning.  The Independent Contractor Driver says he did inform the complainant of the cleaning fee before asking her to sign the credit card slip.

The conclusion is that the Independent Contractor Driver charged a fair amount for cleaning the complainant’s vomit from his vehicle, and therefore cannot be compelled to refund the cleaning fee.  However, Yellow Cab will send a $40 check to the complainant per her settlement request. 

****** ****

Driver Services Manager

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company

###-###-####

******@yellowcabsa.com

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* ****

11/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was severely overcharged for a taxi ride on 13 November 2014 originating at **** ******* ****** **** and concluding at the Marriott Rivercenter. My research indicates that this is an 8-9 mile ride and should cost $24.00, yet I was charged $50.82. I spoke with a Yellow Cab manager on 14 November 2014 who said that he would contact the driver and return my call, but no reply has been received as of writing this message. I have subsequently followed up with an online inquiry through their website upon my return home today. I am awaiting resolution to this inquiry and anticipate a refund of the amount I was overcharged, given the distance of the trip and the posted meter fare.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the amount that was overcharged given the distance of the trip and the posted meter fare.

Business Response:

From: ****** **** *******************************
Sent: Thursday, November 20, 2014 4:47 PM
To: info
Subject: complaint ********

 

The passenger will be refunded the requested amount.

 

****** **** ****** ******** *******

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company

***** ******** **********************

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** **********

6/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Overcharging. The posted rate is $2.50, and I have been charged $3.50 drop rate diametrically opposed to the taxi signage.

Desired Settlement: Change the in cab signs

Business Response:

It was explained to Mr. ******* that the meter drop rate changed from $2.50 to $3.50 between the hours of 7:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. per Chapter 33 of the San Antonio City Code of Ordinances.  It was further explained to him that the GTU of the San Antonio Police Department had not yet printed and posted the new rate stickers in the cabs due to the possibility of additional information being added.  This is a budgetary decision designed to prevent the tax payers from paying for two very large print jobs.

He acknowledge that he understood and stated he would withdraw his complaint. 

****** ****

Driver Services Manager

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company

(210) 650-8605

******@yellowcabsa.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested yellow cab service to pick me up at a specific time from the dispatcher. The driver arrived at that time and drove me 1.6 miles to my destination. The meter read $6.66. The cab drive said it will be $10.50. When I asked why, he said it was because I asked for a specific pick up time and that has a minimum cost of $10.50. The dispatcher never stated this information and it is not posted anywhere in the cab. I feel cheated and deceived.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $3.84 and require cab company to disclose their fees before service.

Business Response:

The issue regarding BBB complaint ******** has been resolved.  *** ******* was informed that Chapter 33 of the San Antonio City Code of Ordinances does, in fact, permit the practice of charging a minimum amount or the metered amount (whichever is greater) for reservations or “time calls.”  The reason for that particular ordinance was explained to her as well.

*** ******* is a valued customer and will be refunded $3.84.

 

****** ****

****** ******** *******

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company

***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******

12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their driver rear ended me at a red light on Sept 2, 2013, filed a false report and they aren't repairing my car and I was told they had to side with their driver because they have a contract with him even though he not only lied but has committed a crime, not his first, his criminal history is questionable and I would be concerned if he was driving me or anyone for that matter. I have presented proof their driver is lying and filed false complaint, along with contacting traffic investigations with SAPD and they agree but sstill having to fight them. They are self insured which means that they have no insurance according to Texas Department of Insurance. The person who handles claims has a license from state but is employeed by GSAT. I was told to file with my insurance and that's fraud waste and abuse all over the place.

Desired Settlement: Fix car and compensation for all my inconvenience and what I have had to deal with trying to do the right thing. I didn't play the sue, personal injury game, even though I was hurt, just not bad. I don't believe in lawsuit abuse. This shows the lack of integrity this company has and I have spoke with owner.

Business Response:

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company (Yellow Cab) is in receipt of the complaint submitted on 11/25/13 to the Better Business Bureau by Ms. ******* ***.

 

We are actively working on this case.  Because SAPD is involved, we are awaiting more information from the detective in charge, as well as other information.  Once we receive all the facts, GSATC will respond to the alleged incident accordingly.

 

We will keep the BBB updated.

 

****** ****

Public Relations Manager

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company

 

11/14/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had reserved a car from ***** *** San Antonio - which is run by Yellow Cab San Antonio, which is owned by Greater San Antonio Transportation Company. The car service was to pick me up at 5:30 am on 25 October to get to the airport. I called the afternoon before to reconfirm the reservation. The morning of the 25th there was no car at 5:30. I called their customer service number and was told they didn't have a driver that wanted the fare. I would have to sit there and wait for them to find a car, and call them back every 15 minutes until they could get me a car. No service was provided. No call was made prior to warn me that they didn't have a car for me. No attempt to get a car for me that day was made. I was forced to pile into my car at the last minute and drive to the airport, barely making my flight. This is unacceptable behavior for a transportation company. Their business practice is that all cars are contractors and they can't Guarantee service. I had someone that was going to pick me up at the airport, but since I had to drive, I had to pay twice what it would have cost me if they had provided car service as promised.

Desired Settlement: 1) Compensation of $50 dollars for the parking fees incurred 2) All car services run by Greater San Antonio Transportation Company should be required to warn customers making reservations that they can not Guarantee transportation.

Business Response: On November 4, 2013, I spoke with *** ********** about this
incident.  He accepted the offered apology and explanation.  He sent
a receipt for the time his vehicle was parked at the airport.  After
deducting what the estimated cab fare would have been, a check for $50 and
issued and mailed to *** **********.

 

****** ****

****** ********* *******

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company

***** ********

**********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** **********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Greater San Antonio Transportation Co
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)