Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Anthony & Sylvan Pools?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Anthony & Sylvan Pools

Phone: (512) 258-1232 13343 Research Blvd Ste 295, Austin, TX 78750 http://www.anthonysylvan.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Anthony & Sylvan Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Anthony & Sylvan Pools include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Anthony & Sylvan Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1946 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated: 04/14/1997 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Van Horn, General Manager - Texas Mr. Tom Albano, Area Sales Manager for Region Mr. John Myer, Warranty Manager - Texas Mr. Alan Walker , VP of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Albano, Area Sales Manager for Region
Principal: Mr. Bob Van Horn, General Manager - Texas
Related Businesses
Anthony & Sylvan Pools
Business Category

Swimming Pools - Private Landscape Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Manufacturers & Distributors Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

Industry Tips
Landscaping tips Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Anthony & Sylvan Pools has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13343 Research Blvd Ste 295

    Austin, TX 78750 (512) 258-1232

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told when the pool was sold to us that our property would be surveyed before digging it was not and the power line was hit. We were told that there must have a mix up with the paperwork. The city came out and told them what to do and they did not follow procedures. They dug through our planter that contains heirloom trees that are protected by the city and hit the roots of the trees. *****, the project manager was told not to dig through by the diggers because the roots would be hit. They were hit. ***** came out after we made numerous calls. He assessed the situation and said he would dig outside the fence line to re route the power line . We said we wanted approval by the city before they start digging again. The city denied the approval. ***** then said he could dig inside the fence line all the sudden because our hot tub was removed. From the beginning we were told that could not be an option due to the bending of the conduit. I feel that is nor of the numerous lies we have been told. The customer service has been less then acceptable. We have been blown off and lied to this entire process and they did not follow protocol to avoid the whole situation. Our yard looks like Baghdad and we have to walk our dog on a leash in our own backyard. This has been a complete nightmare. We have lost all faith in this company.

Desired Settlement: We want refund of our $16,242.00 we have put down and our yard put back they way it was before it was completely destroyed. We will not be financially responsible for any of this

Business Response: We have refunded the McKights the money they have requested and have came to a agreement of resolution to the issues in question.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

From: **** Weiskopf [mailto:**********************]
Sent: Wednesday, December 03, 2014 10:47 AM
To: info
Subject: Re: BBB - You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint #********

 

We are in the process of getting it resolved. It is not complete to satisfaction at this point. I will respond back once it is complete or if it is not done to satisfaction. 

 

Thank you for the follow up

 

****

Regards,


10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They installed a pool in 2012. They have not completed the work since initial install. Have left issues unresolved and have passed them off as warranty. When asked to fix, they say not covered under warranty.

Desired Settlement: I want the pool I purchased to be completed and satisfactory to quality.

Business Response:

****, good afternoon. *** ****** sent me the complaint on Mr. ********. I spoke to Mr. ******** a few weeks back and agreed that the next time I was in ****** I would set a time and come to his home and review the remaining issue on his pool deck. I am going to be in ****** on October 24th and will set an appointment with Mr. ******** at that time. I will respond to this complaint once the meeting has taken place. I do apologize for the long delays.

 

****** *** ****

******* *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have spent the last 3 years getting delayed, told that things would get fixed before the swim season, each season, told that someone would come out and fix the problem. That in itself is the problem. The pool was installed in 2011, and the manager (Mr. *** ****) is admitting in his past response that he is just now coming out on October 24, 2014. I could sit here and write a novel on the problems we have had. I could sit here and write up how many time's the company said they fixed something for it to just break again and or not get fixed at all. I had to threaten them with Legal actions and this BBB report to make this all come about. That is not how business is supposed to operate.

I don't want anyone else to go through what my family has gone through. I don't believe we should have went through this and I will not rest until the pool we designed, paid and have waited for is completed, operating and working as planned.

Regards,

**** ********

Business Response: Please see attached copy of Mr. ********s Contract and the question of warranty on the pool deck.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: These issues were called "WARRANTY" immediately after they finished installation. The issues we have raised didn't happen because of a lapse of use or a time frame that would include normal wear and tear. Anthony & Sylvan has taken almost 3 full years to fix the issues we have brought to their intention from day one. The most abusive of issues at this point is a problem in work that they want to pass off an acceptable level of quality from a contractor they hired to do the work, yet the work that was performed was not in line with the contract. When you have decking or concrete work put into or around a pool, they cannot simply say it's normal for cracking to occur in the amounts that we have. EVERY PANEL of CONCRETE has cracking. Every part of the deck has DEEP cracks. This is not superficial, or from chemicals, or wear and tear. We have every email and correspondence that goes along with our issues and how they failed to fix them in a timely manner, and we also have proof that our POOL was NEVER in a COMPLETED state so that these issues could be called WARRANT ABLE!

 
We are demanding that the quality of work we paid for be performed. We are demanding that the BBB holds our complaint serious and helps us get resolution in this matter. We feel our only recourse at this point is LEGAL!

Regards,

**** ********

Business Response:

Please see the attached. This is a copy of Mr. ********s contract. There is not a warranty on decking or sidewalks from normal cracking ,chipping or raising. This why I wanted to verify this for myself, I have had others look at this deck prior to my visit. There is hairline cracking in this deck and on once crack some minor chipping of the deck topping.

 

Mr. ******** has had complaints of this for some time and we have at one point out of customer satisfaction reasons went in and touched these cracks up. this area of ****** does have ground movement you can see conformation of that on the ******** property as well as in the neighborhood.

 

At this point everything else is in working order that I can see.

 

Thank you,

 

****** *** ****

******* *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The company is not addressing the numerous issues and failures to resolve them in order. There are cracks ON EVERY SURFACE. This IS NOT THE CASE for the REST OF OUR PROPERTY. I have asked them to explain why a pool that is less than 1 year old had all the cracks. They said that the cracks were superficial.. If the cracks were superficial, then the cracks wouldn't continue to GROW in SIZE and DEPTH. They already acknowledged there was a problem and sent the original contractor to fix certain areas of the cracks. The company did fix the crack, within 2 months not only did the crack return, but worsen. That is when we made it clear to the company that this is not acceptable and we need it to be fixed correctly. Knowing that they have a larger issue, they have stalled and delayed and have even tried to stonewall any resolutions. The failures of this company and it's services are deplorable. I appeal to BBB to remove their A rating and start a full investigation. We are not the only customers that have complained about the quality of work and services performed.


I will also be seeking legal actions at this point considering it has taken more than 2 years to get any types of results for lack of functionality and services.


Regards,

**** ********

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when contactacting company, you get a recording stating that they will return your call within 48 bussiness hours. This has not been the case on severel occassions. I have been trying since a few days after install of the pool to get warranty work performed. The warranty personnel will come out without proper tools or material and do a absolutely terrible jod. their repair work has failed several time, or has not been performed at all. The company sends out reps to look at the problem, but that seems to be all they want to do. Each time I have been told we will let you know in couple (or few) days what we plan to do and I do not hear from them again until I get angry and call their corporate headquarters. Product_Or_Service: In Ground Pool

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to have what I paid for.

Business Response:

The complaint seems to be based on communication issue. He has non-warranty issues that have been taken care of as customer relations, however not all issues were addressed in the past. ***** ********* (****** Construction Manager) and I looked at the coping and deck recently and heard his concerns. We brought up the matter to the subcontractor, who is willing to perform the work. Unanticipated rain has put crews behind, so the schedule has not been defined yet. We will contact customer  on Monday with action plan and a tentative start schedule.

 

 

**** **** * ******** *******

ANTHONY & SYLVAN POOLS – TEXAS

               ****  ************

 

        ******* ***********************     *******       ************    **** ****       ******          ************    **** **** *** *******   ************    **** ****

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Work has not been performed!


Regards,

***** ****** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am rejecting this response because: Work has not been performed!


Regards,

***** ****** *****

Business Response: Work has been completed, customer is aware and satifyed.