BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Texas Pools & Patios?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Texas Pools & Patios

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 402-1175 Fax: (512) 402-1322 View Additional Phone Numbers 2105 RR 620 N, Lakeway, TX 78734 http://www.texaspoolsandpatios.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Texas Pools & Patios meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Texas Pools & Patios include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Texas Pools & Patios
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 27, 2005 Business started: 11/01/2005 Business started locally: 11/01/2005 Business incorporated: 09/13/2005 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department
1901 S Alamo St, San Antonio TX 78204
http://www.sanantonio.gov/dsd/plans_permits.asp
Phone Number: (210) 207-1111

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Neil Crites, President Diana Blackstone Mr. Jeff Crites Mr. Jim Crites, Owner Robert Gravitt, Construction Superintendant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jim Crites, Owner
Principal: Mr. Neil Crites, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas Landscape Contractors Outdoor Kitchens Cabanas - Beach & Pool Concrete Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Patio Cover

Alternate Business Names
Texas Patios & Pools Inc
Industry Tips
Landscaping tips Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 16264 San Pedro Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 524-0177

  • 2105 RR 620 N

    Lakeway, TX 78734 (877) 409-7665

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 409-7665(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Texas Pools and Patios on 6/14 to report 3 separate issues. 1) The pool lights were still not operating correctly (unable to change light programs) after several visits. (This issue had been ongoing for a number of months) 2) There is a patch of rust forming below the waterline of the pool due to exposed metal through the plaster. 3) The slabs of rock making up the swim-up bar counter top are were loose and therefore unsafe. They obviously need to be re-attached. After several weeks, I called again to see when the repairs would be scheduled. After several more weeks, the repair technician came to the house whilst we weren't home. He left a business card, with 3 bullet points saying that the lights did work, the rust patch was a "maintenance issue" and the rock slabs would be repaired by stone masons. I called the technician 7 times over the past month to ask him to explain the bullet points and left a message each time to call me back. None of my calls have been returned. I called the office again on Wednesday 28th of August to ask the technician to call me. They said he would call me back that day. Again I received no call from the technician or the office.

Desired Settlement: I would like the unsafe stone slabs to be re-attached to the counter. I would like the rust spot below the waterline to be repaired. I would like the pool lights to be fixed so that I can select the various available programs. If they are indeed "fixed" I would like the technician to explain to me how they are fixed and why they don't operate the same way that they did when they were first installed.

Business Response: In regards to ID ******* associated with *** ***** *****, Texas Pools
and Patios has begun the resolution for the complaints listed in his letter. A
service technician is scheduled to visit with *** ***** on October 1, 2013 at
12pm to discuss the proper operating procedures for his lights and will also
address the patch of rust below the waterline. Texas Pools and Patios has also
scheduled the masonry crew to repair the loose rocks on the bar counter this
week. Once the desired settlement has been reached for *** *****, Texas Pools
and Patios will advise the BBB.

Please feel free
to let us know if there is any other information needed so that we may address
it as well.

Thank you,


****** ******

******* ******* Texas Pools and Patios ************

Consumer Response: Hi ****



Thanks for getting back to me.



Basically, this company is following exactly the same path as it has since I
began dealing with them. They promise, don't deliver...and don't follow up.



After I filed my complaint, a number of weeks later they finally arranged for
the tech to meet me at the house.



There were 3 issues.



1) The lights did not appear to work.

2) The stone slabs on the swim up bar were lose.

3) There was rust coming through the plaster in various places.



Issue 1 was solved by the tech at the meeting. The lights had been replaced and
now operated differently than the original units. This could have been solved
months ago if they had bothered to return my calls.



We looked at the loose slab from issue 2 and found that the slab next to it was
also lose. The tech said the stone mason would come and check all of the slabs.
We also noticed a hole in the pool shell at the side which they made when they
punched through to add a pipe they had forgotten. They told me when the pool
was being built that it would be patched before the pool was finished...but
they had simply covered it with grade which has since eroded and and the hole
was now visible. The tech told me that the stone masons would also patch that
when they came. About a week later, the stone mason came...seemed to partially
re-attach the original stone slab...but totally ignored the other issues we had
talked about on the walk through the previous week.



On issue 3, the tech told me that the plaster guy would need to come and look
at it since is ,ay be a warranty issue with them. I got a voicemail on Friday
Oct 4th telling me that the plaster guy would be at the house on Tuesday (8th)
to check it out. I heard nothing...and finally called today to find out what
the plaster guy had said. Of course, it turns out the plaster guy apparently
never went to the house. Brandy the customer support person told me should
would call him and call me back...of course she hasn't.



So essentially, only one of the issues is resolved, which wasn't really even an
issue.



Thanks



*****

 

Business Response: In regards to ID ******* associated with *** ***** *****, Texas Pools and Patios has repaired all issues reported by ***** *****.  A service tech did an onsite visit with *** ***** to show him the operation of the LED lights which were not defective. Our technician also removed the rust spot on the steps and noticed more rust spots in the pool.  He called the plaster company to put in a work order.  *** ******* sent a technician to *** *****'s residence and cleaned up the rust spots under warranty.  Our technician, ***** met the masonary contractor at the residence and explained that there were 2 slabs to be reattached and to fill in the hole in the side of the pool. Texas Pools and Patios found out that the masonary contractor did not complete the job so we sent the masonary back out to *** *****'s to finish the repairs.  After all the repairs were completed ***** did a final walk through to check on the workmanship and he pained the part of the wall which was patched by the masonary.

I called *** ***** ***** to follow up on all the repairs and to make sure he was satisfied with the workmanship. I left him a voicemail but never heard back from *** *****.

Thank you, 

****** *******
******* *******
Texas Pools and Patios

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*****topher *****

5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service