BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers custom designed in ground swimming pools

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pool Concepts By Pete Ordaz Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pool Concepts By Pete Ordaz Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pool Concepts By Pete Ordaz Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated: 12/31/1996 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department
1901 S Alamo St, San Antonio TX 78204
http://www.sanantonio.gov/dsd/plans_permits.asp
Phone Number: (210) 207-1111

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Vicki Ordaz, Vice President Pete Ordaz, President Mr. Ryan Ordaz, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ryan Ordaz, General Manager
Principal: Mrs. Vicki Ordaz, Vice President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Additional Locations

  • 12340 Bandera Rd Ste 104

    Helotes, TX 78023 (210) 695-5111

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted Pool Concepts for build of pool, started off OK, so I thought, with a very over eager sale person who would not let me get a word in edgewise. Once contract signed and first exchange of money started, transaction seemed to go downhill from there. Throughout build there was extreme lack of communication, quotes for additional work were given after work had been performed, promises made on deliver and quality of product never happened, when I expressed displeasure of above qualityof customer service things became even worse. Lack of proper onsite supervision of build resulted in below standard of workmanship. Have made calls to question efficiency of pool equipment and extreme use of chemicals needed to maintain after following given instructions and have received no explanation outside of how much I will have to pay them if they have to come out and check. Recently called to inform that some of the rock work they performed has come undone, particularly on the steps, and instead of receiving a return call as to what was going to happen I received a letter in the mail the next day stating my pool was "one year old" explaining warranty information and before any repairs could be performed I would have to sign this letter. However, my pool is only 6 months old. I think it is very unfortunate that this is how Pool Concepts conducts themselves and handles their customer service. I have first hand knowledge that this is not how **** ***** established his company. Unfortunately, there are new hands at the helm that now obviously have other driving factors for the company. I can only assume Pool Concepts now only wishes to do business or communicate with me on paper instead of a courteous return call.

Desired Settlement: Have calls returned properly, repair of poor workmanship and have an explanation of inefficiency of product without having to sign a piece of paper that states "your pool is one year old" albeit only six months old.

Business Response: See attached business response.

[BBB converted the PDF attachment; thus, formatting irregularities may occur.]

ID:
*******

7-8-13

BBB
Corporate Office:

Sorry
for late response to this complaint as the envelope was put in the wrong box
here at our office. Pool Concepts started this pool on September 13, 2012 and
finished 74 days later on November 26, 2012. The day we started digging, it
rained 4 straight days and 2 of those days were very heavy down pours. Then it
proceeded to rain another 6 days throughout construction. One rainy day can
delay construction up to 3 days. Even at that time of year which is considered
our "off season" Pool Concepts was still very busy at that time. It
is hard to judge how our communication was during construction so it may have
not been up to our standards but the supervision was as best as we could have
done. Our supervisor was on site at least twice per week and probably just once
per week on those days where our guys were not working on site. Each one of our
crews have a supervisor so even though they are sub­contractors, there is still
supervision 100 percent of the time. In regards to customer writing:
"quotes for additional work were given after work had been
performed". Pool Concepts does not do additional work unless requested by
the customer. In this particular case, a "ball park" or guestimate if
you will was given and the actual bid came in a few hundred dollars more. In
the end we only charged for the original "ball park quote". So in
this instance we worked it out with the customer.

Customer
called in May 16th and the complaint was that they could not keep
the chlorine level consistent. A technician was sent out May 17 and found that
the cyanuric acid level was in range (35ppm) which helps protect and keep the
chlorine in the pool. Chlorine was at 4 which is high. pH was a high at 8.0. A
high pH level could cause chlorine to be inconsistent. The filter pressure and flow
to the chlorinator seemed to be ok. It should have been suggested to do a
backwash of the filter to increase flow to the chlorinator but our tech did not
communicate this with the customer which is our fault for not following up
completely with a full report. Pool Concepts at this time is willing to do a
complete filter clean and do a full chemical analysis at no charge to get the
chlorinator working properly.

On June 17th customer
called with the complaint that 2 stones had come loose from a step location and
from a retaining wall. The next day we sent a letter to the customer. This is
Pool Concepts policy before any work is done within one year of pool
completion. I have attached the letter for your records. The letter just
clarifies our warranties and states that we will do a courtesy repair within
the first year. Now it does say 1 year checkup because we typically do not do
crack or mortar repairs until one year after pool completion which gives the
cement and concrete products ample time to settle and expand and contract with
our rainy/drought like weather conditions. As most people know concrete is not
flexible and will crack at some point in time. (Just look at any sidewalk or
driveway). Pool Concepts has not denied service to the customer at any time and
we are willing to do whatever it takes within reason to make them happy. Pete
Ordaz is still very active in what happens here at Pool Concepts and is
informed about complaints but does not handle complaints due to health reasons.

In conclusion I would like to apologize to
the ******* family for the way they feel about Pool Concepts and I am confident
we will work things out. We are a family run business and think of our
customers as extended family. It is our goal to try to do things the right way
which is why we have such a good rating with BBB. In the future, after we work
this out, I encourage the ******* family to call and talk to me direct with any
issues or concerns they may have. I will return calls from now on in a timely
manner. We have already taken the proper action regarding lack of communication
from our staff. Also, at this time Pool Concepts will make the repair to loose
stones without customer having to sign anything. However, after this repair is
made, if there are any other issues with cement or grout, it is our policy to
have the letter signed and returned. Thank You!




BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1