Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pool Concepts By Pete Ordaz Inc

Phone: (210) 695-5111 Fax: (210) 695-3310 12340 Bandera Rd Ste 104, Helotes, TX 78023 http://www.pool-concepts.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pool Concepts By Pete Ordaz Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pool Concepts By Pete Ordaz Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Pool Concepts By Pete Ordaz Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated 12/31/1996 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department
1901 S Alamo St, San Antonio TX 78204
http://www.sanantonio.gov/dsd/plans_permits.asp
Phone Number: (210) 207-1111

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Vicki Ordaz, Vice President Pete Ordaz, President Mr. Ryan Ordaz, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Vicki Ordaz, Vice President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pool Concepts By Pete Ordaz Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12340 Bandera Rd Ste 104

    Helotes, TX 78023 (210) 695-5111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prior to construction being complete I receive a letter from pool concepts stating they were “done with construction. I sent the following e-mail. To '****** *******'; '******@pool-concepts.com'; '******@pool-concepts.com Subject : Finish my pool!!! Sent: 9/17/2014 You must be crazy!!!!!  I just received a letter stating my pool is done....NO WAY!!!!   1) No Jets in the hot tub!!!!  Not a one!!! 2) One hot tub fixture jet needs to be completely re-done…it sticks out. 3) Rock falling off retaining wall 4) Pool lights are faulted out...will not work...after the rain the GFCI breaker will not reset 5) Pool intakes not complete...two left without covers 6) Plaster everywhere...all over the rocks...big pile left in neighbor’s yard 7) Fence still needs to be repaired...we asked for a little time to bring in sod...but it still needs to be repaired where it was cut and where a truck hit it 8) Water fall values in the back not enclosed in value box   We told *** and I though he was going to fix it…and now you send me a letter that your done!!!  No you are not done!!!!  Long way from it!!!   Nothing happened... After the first rain storm the following e-mail was sent with pictures of the poor quality materials “****** ,     Here is a list of issues we are currently having.  *** is aware and we hope to get these resolved next week.  I did want to let you know that I am disappointed in you personally.  You assured us Pool Concepts was highly reputable and did high quality work.  The results have been less than advertised.  Poor quality coping material, poor grouting and the inability to secure plumbing materials (hot tub jets and pool intake covers) are not indicative of high quality. The issues we are having aren’t being “picky” they are significant issues.     In addition to this the “pool school” person ***** was a No-show on both dates (2-no-shows).  The first date he did not show/call nothing.  The second date he called to say he was going to be 30-minutes late…then at 30-minutes since he had not arrive and based on his history we left for dinner.  I can’t take time off of work to supervise the completion of our pool and I can’t continue to come home to discover we are getting no closer to being complete.  We choose Pool Concepts because of your salesmanship…its turning out to be a regret.      *** has been very responsive but he needs the full support of your office/company to secure the labor and materials to complete this project. Again here are our concerns:   Hot tub jets not finished – Our pool was filled on the 6th…we still don’t have all the jets   Pool intake covers not finished Grouting disintegrating (see attached pictures)  Will need to be re-grouted Plaster over spray – no more pressure washing allowed on my property…it just causes more damage.  Plaster needs to be cleaned by hand Fence repair – both where it was cut and where the truck hit it…lets not do this half-way…lets make sure the fence guy does a good job the first time. We need the rest of our equipment…*** is going to do our class now that ***** will not show up on-time.    I am telling you honestly there is no way I can look my friends in the eye and recommend Pool Concepts.  The project started off great…and has become very tiring.  These last items are probably 8 hours maximum of work yet we can’t seem to get them done.  What went wrong?   Very Disappointed **** This spurred ***** to call. He was from Pool concepts and came out after seeing the pictures, introduced himself as the owner and promised to “make things right”. However nothing happened. Additionally I showed him where the crew had left the Time Warner Cable unburied and he said he would get a crew right out…nothing happened. The on Oct 11th, we had another rain storm. Sadly the substandard materials are continuing to fall apart with every rain storm. Its not a question of “if substandard materials were used” that proof is evident in the continuing disintegration with every rain storm. It’s a question of getting pool concepts to live up to the mis-leading reputation.

Desired Settlement: Completely replace all substandard materials. Rock should be replace with colored flag stone (not gray slabs) Complete re-grouting of all joints Complete removal of all excess plaster No further damage to landscape or pool structure. (No more pressure washers…they cause too much damage to the substandard material) Life time warranty extend to ALL PARTS of the pool such as rock, deck, grout, plaster and drainage since materials used were substandard

Business Response: In response to BBB complaint re: Customer **** ******

This pool project was started July 11, 2014. 56 days later, the swimming pool was plastered on September 4, 2014.  The pool started to fill soon after and was
full on Sept 6th.  The pool was started up on Monday, Sept. 8th, , the customer does not need to be present at the start-up, unfortunately customer thought that he needed to be there and ***** (our start up technician),  didn’t show up when customer thought he was going, because there was no actual appointment made and ***** was not aware that the customer was waiting for him.    At Pool Concepts, we have a certain procedure after a pool is plastered.  One week after our pools are plastered a letter is sent thanking our customer for purchasing their pool from us.  The intent of this letter is not to insinuate that we are completely done with the project.  Often times there are several small things that still need to be done to complete the project, although the customer is able to swim in the pool.  Customer sent an email stating that we have not completed his pool and was upset by this letter.  Multiple Pool Concepts staff members responded very quickly to address his problems and assure him that we agreed that there were still multiple items already in the process of being completed.     All of his issues were addressed with him before he filed this complaint and many were completed prior to his complaint.  The only two items that remained at the time the complaint was registered were the flaking stone, minimal grout separation and some plaster splatter.  Pool Concepts was under the impression that the customer took our recommendation and decided to wait until the first freeze, so that any stone that was going to flake would complete the flaking process that some natural stones go through after initial application.  At a time after the first freeze and thaw we recommended that we would at that time replace any stones he wanted to replace.  We have emails and texts confirming that he was ok to wait so that they could all be taken care of at once.  In talking to him since his complaint, he was under the impression that we would replace the stones now and then wait and replace any more that flaked later after it froze and thawed.  This is exactly what we decided to do.  We have been in contact with the customer since the complaint.  We agreed
that we misunderstood each other and that we were always planning on replacing any stones they deemed necessary, it was just when this was going to take place
that was misunderstood.  We had the customer hand pick the replacement stones and each and every one of the stones they wanted to replace we have since replaced. 
We have also cleaned up any plaster splatter and filled in grout cracks.  These were the only items left to do since his complaint.  We are finished with all of the work and I believe that the customer will agree that everything has been completed to their satisfaction at this time.  We feel that the flagstone and all of the equipment used on this and every Pool Concepts pool is and has always been of excellent quality.  We are very proud of the fact that we use the best available products.    We were so
proud of the pool that when a prospective client in the area wanted to see some of our pools with scuppers on a raised wall, like this project, we asked if we could show the pool right after the customer complaint was issued and before we completed any of the requested work.   The stones were marked by the customer with blue tape that he wanted to replace and when the prospective customer asked why the tape was there we said that we are replacing these flagstones at the customer’s request.  The prospective customer was very impressed with the quality of our pool and all material. We have emails and texts to show all of our correspondence with our customer throughout the construction process.  We will gladly produce any and all correspondence at your request.  Our customers at very important to us and
their complete satisfaction is always our top priority.

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:



I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   As  soon as this complaint
was filed, Pool Concepts took action to ensure all work was completed. All three issues were addressed  - The substandard rocks that were falling apart were replaced, the grout that was cracking and separated was patched and most of the plaster splatter was removed.  We mutually agreed on a new construction completion date of Oct 29th, 2014 which will add two months to the one-year warranty. Additionally pool concepts has agreed to come back out within a year of construction completion to make any necessary repairs.      

Regards,

**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Pool Concepts By Pete Ordaz Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart