Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Paradise Pool Plastering?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Paradise Pool Plastering meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Paradise Pool Plastering include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Paradise Pool Plastering
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 12, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993 Business incorporated: 03/12/2012 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Brendan Norris, Partner Mr. Mark Norris, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Brendan Norris, Partner
Principal: Mr. Mark Norris, Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Service & Repair Plaster Plastering Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Paradise Plastering, L.L.C.
Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Additional Locations

  • ----

    Austin, TX 78728

  • PO Box 340316

    Lakeway, TX 78734 (512) 925-8418

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2012 I contracted with **** ****** of Paradise Pool Plastering to re plaster my pool. Mr. ****** used a product called QuartzScapes, which is manufactured by ***. ****** stated that the product was much better than regular plaster and would hold up for much longer. I choose a color called Aruba Sky, a fairly dark blue color. Mr. ****** went on to say, that as an approved builder, he could offer a “lifetime warranty” on the product. Upon completion of the job, the pool was filled with water and at that time I pointed out to ****** that there were some areas of white splotches in the pool, some of which were very heavy on one side. ****** stated that it was normal “creaming” and would bush out over the next week or so. The following day, ******’ son came to the house and did the “start-up” on the pool, adding the needed chemicals. After weeks of daily brushing, the splotches would not come out or fade at all. My wife and I began calling ****** repeatedly for the next few months, leaving messages about the situation. ****** would not call back, or always had an excuse as to why he could not make it by to look at the pool. Later we found that calls to ****** were always met with his voice mail, which was always full and no new messages could be left. Calls to the main business line met with the same messages. In April of 2014, after repeated calls to ****** and to his son, we were finally contacted by ******* ******, who came by to look at our pool. We pointed out the blotches and also the fact that the pool color seemed much lighter than we had originally seen it. Later we were contacted by **** ****** who stated that he had called the manufacturer, ***, and they suggested he do an acid wash, which should remove the blotches and bring the color back. ******’ crew came to the house and did two acid washes, which took them only about 20 minutes. Afterwards, the pool looked even worse. The blotches remained and only a few areas of the pool seem to have gotten darker, mostly in streaks. On 4/21/14 ****** stated that he would have someone from *** come to the house to look at the pool and that he would be by that date as well. ****** never showed up and has not returned calls since. On 4/23/14 *** ***** with ******** and ***** ****** with ******** **** ******** *** ( both vendors with ***) came to the house and looked at the pool. Both agreed that the pool color was not correct and did not appear to be Aruba Sky. ***** asked about water test record and took a sample of my water from the hose. ***** repeatedly talked about water chemistry and I advised that the splotches would have nothing to do with the water as they were present at the time the pool was first filled. I advised him that I would gather my records of water testing results. Neither ***** nor ****** contacted me unless I initiated the contact. ***** requested photos and water test results. I provided a copy of my contract which stated that there was a “Lifetime Warranty through ***.” I pointed out that there were no stipulations in the contract and no mention of water testing. I advised that when ****** told us about the warranty, I had to ask about terms and he stated only that the water should be tested “regularly”. On 5/7/14, after getting no feedback from *****, ****** or ******, I sent an e-mail giving them two weeks to take care of the issue. On 5/13/14 I received a letter from *** dated 5/8/14 stating that they could not honor the warranty because: 1. I had not filled out a warranty registration within 30 days. (We were never given any type of form to complete or return to anyone.) 2. ****** was no longer an Approved Applicator for *** as of 1/1/14 and he could only supply a 10 year warranty. 3. *** stated that the water chemistry documentation showed the chlorine level was too high and would have bleached the pigment. ( My chlorine level was actually low most of the time, not high. In 2013 I replaced some of my equipment to get my chlorine levels up. The supplied records showed this. The only time it was over the recommended level was after shocking the pool as recommended.) To date, **** ****** has not returned calls, failed to show up to see the pool and has in fact never seen the pool since the day it was finished.

Desired Settlement: My pool should be re plastered or repaired to acceptable color and finish or compensation given to that I can have a reputable company do the repair.

Business Response: Paradise Pool Plastering (PPP) is now and always has been certified by *** to offer a limited lifetime warranty for their products. 

The product manufacturer’s representative went to Mr. and Mrs. ******'s pool and determined the finish had been chemically abused. 

For ***’s warranty to be valid the customer had to, at least once a month, document that the water chemistry has been checked. Mr. and Mrs. ****** were made aware of their warranty obligations at the time PPP finished their pool.
 
Prior to the manufacturer’s visit,when **** ****** spoke to Mr. and Mrs. ******, they stated they had documented all their water chemistry once a month as was required.  When the *** representative checked the pool, Mr and Mrs ****** could only produce 3 water chemistry analyses. What was required was proof of the 15 mandatory maintenance chemistry treatments. This was not done.
 
The pool plaster warranty is similar to a car warranty. If the car engine malfunctions during the warranty period and you cannot provide documentation proving you carried out the necessary maintenance, the warranty is void. 

The maintenance procedures were explained this way at the time we applied the new surface. Paradise Pool Plastering feels bad that the home owners did not provide the correct maintenance, therefore voiding any warranty. 

*** has contacted Paradise Pool Plastering and is unable to provide any relief because the correct maintenance procedures were not followed. 

**** ******,  Owner, Paradise Pool Plastering.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

In his response to the complaint, **** ****** refers to the water testing that was required.  **** ****** and the representatives from the product manufacturer that he speaks of repeatedly have talked about the water chemistry and the loss of color in the pool.  In my conversations with them, I have repeatedly stated that this is not my primary concern.  My primary complaint has always been that since the first day there were blotches in the pool finish (large areas were the color was significantly lighter or had no color at all)  These areas were pointed out to **** ******' crew as the pool was filling up, later to **** ****** himself later that same day when he inspected it, and the following day to his son who conducted the start up on the pool.   These defects would have nothing to do with pool water chemistry (if it were, his company is the one that conducted the start up on the pool in the following days).  They were present immediately upon filling the pool.  **** ****** told us that this was simply "creaming" that would brush out.  It did not.

As I stated before, any loss of color (or the fact that the company representatives from California even stated that the color was not the Aruba Sky that we paid for) is not my primary concern.  The unsightly blotches are my concern.

**** ****** states that he is and and always has been certified to offer the warranty by SCP, although in a response from that company I have been told that he no longer is one of their certified installers.

**** ****** refers to my only providing 3 water chemistry results.  I provided more than that to *** and told them it was only a portion of what I had.  I also explained that the pool company that I used, Warehouse Pool Supply, changed ownership and lost all my records.  I do have my own records of water test that I conducted weekly and recorded. **** ****** himself has never asked for any records and in fact has still failed to even look at my pool since the day it was installed.  I am still waiting on his visit on 4/21/14 when he told me he would be coming by to look at the problem.  He never showed and has not called since that time.

I am still somewhat amazed that Paradise Pool Plastering and *** have gone to such great lengths to get out of doing something to correct a problem.    Color loss aside, *** stated that they cannot honor their warranty because I did not complete and return a warranty card within 30 days of installation. What?  I was never even given a warranty card by anyone.  **** ****** will not return calls and, as I stated, will not even come out to look at the pool.  I still believe that a proper acid wash might have resolved 95% of the problem.  Even *** stated that it did not appear that ******' crew did a correct wash.


I do not accept Paradise Pool Plastering's response as it dose not address the issue of the blotches that were present since the first day, having nothing to do with pool water  chemistry.  Even the limited water chemistry results that I did provide to *** show that all water chemistry was within specs other than the chlorine levels being slightly low or high due to shocking the pool.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response:

We had the product manufacture rep come out hoping that this would be covered under warranty. Upon the manufacture analyzing the material they determined that any and all damage was due to chemical abuse. The homeowner was required to keep records of his chemicals from day one. 

Upon review of minimal records, the manufacture was left no choice but to void the warranty. 

Paradise Pool Plastering cannot be held responsible when the manufactorer voids the warranty.

For everybody reading this review it is imperative that you document your water chemistry for your warranty to be active. This product is the best product in the world when maintained correctly. 

 

 

Please see the attached contract that we use for all pools.  Please take at the second page that goes over disclosed color variations. I have put them in bold for you.

 

 

Thank you

-******* ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 
First of all, the invoice you have sent is not the same as the one that was given to us when our pool was worked on.  It is a single page with nothing to which you speak.  
 
Secondly, and most important.  Every response I get has to do with water quality and chemistry.  Please, Please , Please reread my letters and see that I keep stating the same thing....the blotches in the pool have been there since day one!!!  Water chemistry has nothing to do with this.  The blotches were there before the water was even put in the pool.   **** ****** looked at it on that same day and flat out lied, stating that it was "creaming" that would brush out.  This is not what it was.   Again, water chemistry has nothing to do with it.  Please stop dodging this complaint by using that too convenient excuse.
 
The bottom line here is that **** ****** and his crew did a poor job of applying the quartz product and left blotches in the pool where the product was not correctly mixed.
 

Regards,

**** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am attaching some of the photos I have of the discoloration or splotches in the pool.  Again, these are ****s that were present on the first day.  **** ****** told me that they were simply "creaming" that would brush out.  They are not.  I am also attaching some photos of the acid wash that he did.  This was supposed to even out the splotches and darken the color.  All it did was make the finish worse.

 

I will send you a copy of the invoice or receipt that ****** gave us upon completion.  I have it on my computer at home and will send it later tonight.  As you will see, it is not the same as the invoice he is using now.  I find it funny that his new invoice addresses this same issue about splotches and color fade, basically saying that there is no guarantee that you will get what you ordered or that it will look good.

 

These are some of the photos that show the white blotches.  They are in several areas but particularly bad on one end.


Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: Again, the manufactures rep went out to the job. For any work to be under warranty, no matter the issue, all costumers must maintain a chemical record. 
This customer told the manufactures rep that he had all chemical records per requirement for the warranty.  When the rep got out there, the customer had only three. Therefore voiding their warranty. 
As to the unevenness of the color, no where is it written or implied that the color will ever be uniform. This is due to many factors. Please have the customer call the National Plaster Council to verify these facts.
For the acid wash, there was no guarantee, written or implied, that it would fix the problem. We were out there purely for customer service. It was an attempt to remedy a situation that the customer caused in the chemical abuse of his pool. 

Thank you very much

The photos underwater seem to be of the pool before the acid wash was done. The pictures with no water in the pool are after the acid wash was done.

 

Its odd that the homeowner recalls that they are suppose to document water chemistry a minimum of once per month. However, they do not recall the conversation that the color may vary and be uneven. 

Due to this selective memory as some home owners seem to have when information is given to them verbally. We ensure that every customer who gets a quartzscapes material also gets this warranty document attached. 
The specific items in question are explained clearly in the attachment (circled) as numbers 1 and 4. Addressing unevenness and the loss of warranty by not abiding to their warranty instructions. The warranty instructions for the chemicals are outlined specifically in item number 1 along with page 2. 

 

Thank you

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Again, I think that Mr. ****** is just not understanding my compliant or does not care.  This has nothing to do with water chemistry.  The splotches were there on day one and he told me that it was just "creaming" that would brush out.  It did not.   He has attached copies of invoices and documents that address these issues, however they are not the documents that he gave us.  They are obviously newer invoices that he now uses and not the same as the copy that I have previously provided.

This process is becoming tiring.  I understand Mr. ******' point about the water chemistry and unfortunately Warehouse Pool Supply has changed hands and can not provide my results.  I have some copies and then my own hand written notes.  All those results as well as my current one show that all my chemistry was in range other than chlorine being high (after shocking) on a few occasions.  Apparently Mr. ****** and the company reps out of California believe that their product is so inferior that a chlorine shock done twice a month is just too much for this product to hold up to, and that their product will begin to fail almost immediately.

What I do not understand is how a company owner can look a customer in the eye when looking at a defect in his workmanship, present on the first day, and tell that customer that the defect is something temporary that will "bush out".  When that defect does not brush out, then he simply blames the defect on the customer.

Again, this is something that was present and pointed out to Mr. ****** on the first day.  There were no chemicals in the pool at that time.  HIS company did the start up and introduced the chemicals into the pool the following day.  Water chemistry has NO part in this matter concerning the uneven color and splotches in the finish.  This part of the complaint has nothing to do with the warranty or a warranty card.  Mr. ****** (or his crew) either did not know how to properly apply the product, causing the defective finish, or Mr. ****** did not recognize what he was looking at when he observed the defect, later that day.

Mr. ****** has since that day, refused to come look at the pool or to return phone calls.  Even in this matter, Mr. ****** has been very slow to respond to the complaint or has had his son do so, dragging this complaint out for months.

Regards,

**** ******

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paradise Pool did a re-plastering of my pool in February 2012. By January of 2013 there were yellow areas appearing on the bottom of the pool so I attempted to treat them as I would a chemical imbalance but by May asked Aqua Logistics to check it out and he informed me that it was rust from the rebar in the plaster coming through. I have tried repeatedly to contact Paradise Pool and for about 2 months the voice mail box was reporting "full". When I finally got a person in July I have left several messages to talk to the ********* **** ****** and have sent emails in August and September but to no avail. I tried to add a comment on Yelp to get their attention but see that they have pulled themselves off Yelp and now I know why. I need to get this situation repaired and am extremely dissatisfied with the lack of response and disregard for clients once the company has finished the job. Obviously they do not care.

Desired Settlement: Fix the plaster job.

Business Response: Met with the home owner and was able to show her that it is organic staining and not rust. We explained to the home owner that for it to have been rust, it would have had to bleed through 6" of gunite, bondcote and a new layer of plaster and would of been a pre-existing condition. Of which, pre-existing conditions are not covered under warranty. We showed her
that it is was organic stains and she is completely 100% satisfied with Paradise Pool Plastering.

10/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service