Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers inground gunite swimming pools.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blue Haven Pools & Spas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blue Haven Pools & Spas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Blue Haven Pools & Spas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 05/13/1994 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Casey Worthey, Vice President Mr. Jonathan Tyler Worthey, President Mr. Larry Worthey, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Casey Worthey, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Jonathan Tyler Worthey, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Blue Haven Pools Pools by Blue Haven Inc
Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Blue Haven Pools & Spas has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7575 N Loop 1604 W Ste 101

    San Antonio, TX 78249 (210) 680-0006 (800) 262-7064

  • 8868 Research Blvd Ste 301

    Austin, TX 78758

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We interviewed several companies to install a commercial grade spa heater for our apartment complex, we chose Blue Haven. It was supposed to be installed and wor**** by 4/1/16....it's 5/13/16 and we are still waiting. The heater got installed past the due date, due to weather. But then we were told we needed to install a new gas line because of low pressure, at a cost of $1500. This is something that should have been determined prior to installing and included on original bid. Now the heater just sits, and after as**** for a specialist to come look at it, he's determined it wasn't the gas line at all. So now we are being told it's probably faulty equipment, and they are ordering parts through warranty and the quickest they can get to us is next week. I've called to speak to the owner only to be told he is in a meeting and will call back. I'm still waiting for that call. My residents are really upset. I'm thin**** I'll just give them the number to Blue Haven to call themselves to see if that will get some attention to this problem! Very unhappy customer at this point!

Desired Settlement: We would like out heater to be switched out at the owner's expense, and for our spa heater to be installed correctly, and the sales person to actually take care of us other than pic**** up a check!

Business Response:

Blue Haven apologies for any inconveniences that the faulty heater may have caused.

After the heater was installed a fault code appeared on the heaters display board. The code “LO” appeared on the display board indicating a “low flow fault”. Prior to inspecting the heater, Blue Haven suspected the existing gas line may have inadequate capacity. After inspection from Blue Haven’s service tech it was determined that the gas line was not the cause of the fault. Blue Haven determined that the water pressure switch was at fault. Blue Haven informed maintenance personal that the parts needed to be ordered through the manufacturer of the heater. The parts were ordered the same day as the heater inspection. The parts for this heater are not stocked due this being a special order item.

All service to the heater will be covered under the heater’s warranty and will repaired as soon the parts arrive from the manufacturer. Once again we apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused customer.

  Connect with us: 

Business Response: Once again we apologizes for any inconvenience this has caused. We have repaired the heater under warranty terms. In addition we have applied a credit to the customers account.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to our company.  Blue Haven came out and called after the complaint was filed and fixed the heater for the hot tub.  In addition they gave us a discount for any troubles.  After being in sales for most of my adult life, if I could give one tip to Blue Haven; that would be to always contact the customer in a timely fashion and use their resources (service department) before assuming a way to collect more money (by adding more cost to the customer) without knowing what the cause of the problem is.  In our case, it was a warranty issue.  I had to ask for our rep to send a professional to check the heater before "adding" a new gas line to support the heater (costing us more money), he found that it was not the gas line at all....Kudos to the Service Department!

Regards,

***** ****

9/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My pool light is being held to the wall by one screw; the other two screws are there but do not tighten to anything. It seems to me as if the pool light housing has come apart at the plaster. We had the pool replastered on 08-27-14. I have been trying to get the issue resolved since 08-07-14. When the pool technicians arrived at my house, the first thing that they wanted is to collect a $95.00 service call fee and I gave a copy of addendum #3 which showed when the pool was replastered. At that time I I raised my voice to try to have him understand that the pool essentially was less than a year old. I also mention in an angry tone that this was the third time that they had wasted my time. On 08-07-15 I spoke with the service manager and he scheduled me for a morning service call but the were no call no show. On 08-11-15 I spoke with the service manager again and he scheduled us for a afternoon service call on 08-17-15 but they no call no showed again. On 08-18-15 I spoke with *****, a diffent manager and he scheduled us for 08-27-15 morning service call but the guys showed up at 2:40pm with no call. The bottom line is that I did raise my voice at the guys and I will apologize to them if they ever come back. At no time did I cuss or threaten them. When I came inside to call a manager the guys had left. I was told that they said that they did not feel safe working at my home. I finally did talk to ***** and he states that Blue Haven Pools has nothing to do with it because they did not put the new plaster on and that he was going to call ****** ******* to see what is going on with the light because he was the one who touched the light last. ***** said that he would inform me of when Mr. ****** was coming out tomorrow 08-28-15 so we will see if that happens. I told ***** that I wrote the check to Blue Haven Pools an not ****** *******. In closing, Blue Haven Pools is very quick to pass the buck to their contractors however, all the paperwork is written by blu Haven Pools. There are many other instances equating to extremely bad customer service but I'll be glad just to get my pool light fixed.

Desired Settlement: All I want is that the pool light issue get resolved quickly!

Business Response:

Pools by Blue Haven will be sending either service or a tech to secure the missing screw 
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I want this issue resolved early next week. 

Regards,
***** ******

Business Response: It will be resolved this week

8/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Blue Haven to get an estimate for a pool to be built at my home in New Braunfels, Texas. *** ***** was the sales person I was given to and in our initial contact told me that their pools start at $38,000.00. I said okay, I have no idea how much an installation would cost. He went on to state that anything that any add ons would be an addition cost. I also thought this was odd since, I have no idea what $38,000 includes nor did Mr. ***** take the time to explain. I must say, I was apprehensive, however, over 40 years ago my family had Blue Haven build one in another part of the country, so I thought I would give them a call or should I say an opportunity. Additionally, I asked Mr. ***** if he wanted a copy of my survey, he stated no. We scheduled a meeting, he showed up on time. We went to my backyard where I showed him where I thought the pool should be placed (due to a pie shaped yard). This is where everything went crazy! I don't use the word lightly. He stated he could only go in one way which was over the main portion of a flagstone patio I had just put in late last year. He also said they, "Do not protect the patio surface and are not liable for any damage". I then explained to him that I met with another pool company (**** *****, no comparison of professionalism between the two) who stated that they would come in through the back corner and put down a base to protect the patio. He said they do not do anything to protect property. I then told him we didn't need to proceed. He grabbed his stuff went through the gate shutting it on me when I was right behind him. I then asked for a number and name of someone in charge. He refused to give it to me and told me that the President would not talk to me if I called in because Mr. ***** was there best sales person. However, he offered that I use his cell phone to talk to the office. He then went on to say it was my fault for not telling him about my yard. This is the first I've heard of a customer asking for a estimate being blamed. I'm the customer, if he has questions, he should have asked. I then reminded him, I offered to send a survey. Finally, he stated he drove an hour to get here and it was a total waste of time. This by far is the worst sales person, I have ever encountered. If this is what the company represents, then I am thankful that I did not hire them.

Desired Settlement: To speak to the Owner or President.

Business Response: Tell usResponse from the owner - in the last weekWe are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with this particular Blue Haven designer. While we understand that you will not be using Blue Haven to build your pool, we would still be happy to speak with you. If you like, we can answer technical questions you may have regarding construction and the issues that were discussed, and you can provide detailed feedback about your experience with our designer so that we can use this information to improve how he addresses similar issues in the future. Feel free to call or email when convenient. **** ******* ********** ******* ************ ************************ *** *******

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an in ground pool in 2011 from this company and it is still under warranty. The company is very poor with getting back with us on the issue of rebar possibly poking through the plaster. My water bill has been high over the past two years. Last year we asked them to evaluate the pool for problems with rebar. They never came out. Due to the fact that my Father was dying from cancer, I did not follow up until May 2015. They came out to look at it within a couple of days. They discovered cracks in the pool and other problems. The handle on the inground leveler was found to be broken among numerous other things. We turned off the water and discovered a significant leak in the pool. The repairman assumed it was due to cracks and repaired it. The repair job is very visible and makes the pool look terrible. Two months later, the pool is leaking a lot of water, so much that i have to keep a hose in it or the pool will "float". I'm told it is not urgent enough for someone to come out today although it had gone down 4 inches overnight. The operations manager was extremely rude and hung up on me stating, he "does not have time to continue talking to me when he has other people that need assistance". He also put me on hold twice during our 5 minute conversation.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get someone out here as soon as possible. We are in a drought and I have to run my hose day and night to keep the pool from "floating" due to shoddy repair/product on their part. This leak is significant and requires a repairman as soon as possible. In addition, they are trying to drag the rebar thing out so they might not have to fix it under warranty. Need immediate resolution.

Business Response: We spoke with ***. ****** yesterday and informed her, that due to the scheduling in the service dept. The earliest that we could be there was this coming Friday.
My operations manager explained to ***. ****** that she needed to keep water in the pool until service arrive.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:  at a minimum, they should have come out and determined whether or not the matter can wait until Friday. When a customer calls to complain of a leak it is an urgent matter.  I explained that it was down at least 4 inches .  4 inches is significant and cannot be attributed to the sun and evaporation. In addition,  this is something that they have already attempted to repair so they should be more concerned about whether or not it is  was done properly.  We are in a drought and is not OK to deal with water leaks in this manner.   The operations manager was extremely rude and hung up before I was finished talking.  I will see them on Friday if this is how they deal with complaints of their pools leaking.  (3 days)

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:  I have created an opening with my service dept. and operations manager to have a tech there tomorrow.

6/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our pool was completed/installed on ********, by Blue Haven Pools. The Blue Haven Pool contract warrants the work to be free from defect from material and workmanship for a period of one year from the date the pool is plastered. On 20151001 my husband contacted Blue Haven Pools to repair a leak in the pool close to ground level, on the SE end of the pool, east side of a skimmer/trap. It has been 6 months since we have initiated the request for this repair, but the leak has not been fixed. Over time, numerous phone calls have been to address the matter without resolution. At least six repair visits have been scheduled but, each time a no-call, no-show has resulted. Blue Haven Pools has sent workmen out to look at the leak but, it has not been fixed.

Desired Settlement: That the leak be repaired and painted to match original paint.

Business Response:    We have contacted our sub-contractor who handles our plaster and all issues regarding plaster. They have stated to me via phone call that they have scheduled the work on 4/2/2015.

Regards,

**** *******
********** *******
Pools and Spas by Blue Haven *** *******
**** ***** **** **** **** *** ******* ****** ***** ************** ****** ************** *** ************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ** *** ******

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This is the second complaint for the same issue, refer to complaint ID ********. Blue Haven Pools has failed to repair the leak in the pool. They sent someone out to repair it but, it is still seeping. We have spent another month trying to get this repair scheduled and completed. The first request for this repair was made on 20151001 thus; it has been 7 months without resolution.Complete repair.

Regards,

***** ** *** ******

Business Response:

As per our conversation please note the following.

Our plaster contractor resolved the leaking in the wall on 5/28/2015.

We have also taken care of other issues that they had.

Please call me or email Tyler or myself if there is a need.

 

Respectfully,

 

 

****** *******
********** Manager 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: First, the leak has not been repaired.  See attached picture.
Secondly, because the gates are locked, the repair could not have been made without coordinating with us first, which did not happened. 

Regards,

***** ** *** ******

Business Response:

Good Morning ****

 

As per our conversation, the client called this morning asking

for our service dept. on equipment issue. **** ****** our service manager

spoke with Mrs. ** *** ******, He trying to reach her back to ask her about the

leak, plaster people did fix the inside of the pool, however it is a gunite issue.

We will be sending our people to repair the gunite.

 

Respectfully,

****** *******
********** Manager 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  However, this complaint is not closed until the repair is actually completed. 

Regards,

***** ** *** ******

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov 14, 2014 excavation began on our pool. Today, April 17, 2015 we still cannot use the pool due to the fact certain things still need to be fixed. Contractors would show up at 7:15 in morning to start work, we never had a schedule despite our constant request for a heads up that people were coming over to do work. We had contractors come on Thanksgiving day without notice, Contractors come on a Sunday without prior notice. Repeated phone calls and attempts to coordinate work and that fell on deaf ears. No consistent site manage to managed the contractors and oversee the work that was being done. When the deck was poured concrete was splashed all over the siding on the house, that was never cleaned, we the home owner had to clean and repaint the siding, The workers ran into the foundation with the front end loader and also damaged the siding above the foundation. Several sprinklers lines to include the control box were damaged due to carelessness (they were all marked ahead of time) They were subsequently fixed but it took many months to get that done. Repeated phone calls and emails to determine when the work was going to be finished, some were returned and we were told that they would get back to us which never happened. Once the plaster was poured in the pool and we filled it with water we did as instructed to brush twice a day for 10 days and leave the pump on continuously. We told the site manager that there was a lot of 'whitish' material in places that would not come off with brushing, he told us that the plaster people could put acid in the water to remove it. This never happened until just recently (the week of April 6th) when I sent yet another email to the store manager and threatened legal action. He then sent someone out to look and basically blamed us for the calcium buildup and not brushing as instructed. This has since been taken care of the plaster contractor was very nice and said it's normal when you use city water etc. The entire process was not what we expected. We spent a great deal of money on this pool and expected a superior product. Customer service in horrible, it seemed that when it was time for another payment that is all they cared about was getting the money from us. To this day we can't use the pool because now the acid wash needs to do it's job for 5 days. I repeatedly emailed, called, my husband called, emailed and it just seemed like we were not a priority. I even went to meet with the manager in person and we assured me it would all be taken care of. After reading all these other complaints it seems that this is normal operating procedure for Blue Haven. The sales person **** has apologized many times but the fault lies with the manager, the site manager and contractors.The contractors they use could care less about our personal property i.e. sprinkler system, smoking while working and leaving cigarette butts all over, leaving food wrappers and plastic bottles etc. We still have a crack in the plaster and the plaster company has assured us it will be fixed once the acid wash is completed

Desired Settlement: A finished product

Business Response:     To Whom This may concern

We had *****, one of our superintendents actually call and visit the home. There were 2 cars in the driveway.
***** knocked on the door and tried to establish contact with the client. No one would answer the door or answer the phone.
During the build there were rain days, also we did fix all the sprinklers that we had to run over to complete the dig. According to the contract that they
signed, Blue Haven is not responsible for damages to their sprinkler system. However Blue Haven did fix all sprinklers that were affected by the construction.
Please let us know what outstanding issues are left.

Regards,
***** *******

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:There is no date listed of when they 'tried' to establish contact, or why they were even here whenever day that was it is not clear the premise of the statement. Regardless of what the contract says about not fixing sprinkler system components the issue was disregard for the placement of the equipment as it was clearly marked with flags, and disregard for personal property. That being said the Site manager did call us yesterday and ask us if there were anymore issues after about 3 weeks since the last interaction. We did tell him that the deck surface has cracks in it and he did say that someone would come out to look at it so we will see how long that takes for that someone to arrive. In any event the major work etc is completed and while I appreciate the response from the company it seems that the finger is pointed back at the customer which is not what we expected at the time we had our initial meeting with the Sales representative.

Regards,

******* And **** **********

Business Response:  Our Superintendent did try and meet with them on 5/13/2015. By calling them and visiting their home. ***** did receive a returned call on 5/14/2015 from Mr. **********. Mr. ********** explained to ***** about the conditions of the deck. We are scheduling the deck crew to return as soon as the weather clears.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Both of us were not home despite the fact that there were 2 cars in the driveway.....We are a family of 4 vehicles. We do have an appointment this Wednesday (May 20, 2015) for the SunDeck company to come out to the house to inspect are issue. 

Regards,

******* And **** **********

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In or around May 14, 2014 my wife and I contracted with Blue Haven Pools to build and install a pool, patio deck around the pool. The work was continuously slow but the pool finally was put in. The wrong pump motor was originally installed because of back order of supply on pump motors from Hayward Pool Products. We had contracted for a variable speed pump with a freeze protector for cold days in the winter. I have called Blue Haven about this so many times and got no response to settle the problem. Finally on or about Sept. 24th ***** ( the project manager) and I came to agreement that I would keep the motor I had and they would refund me $400.00 and install the freeze protector on that pump. The problem had been that on the variable speed pump the freeze protector they used would not work and the cost of the freeze protector was over a thousand dollars more than they expected on the variable speed pump. So I told ***** to install the freeze protector and send me the $400 plus the money they already owed me from over payment on my last part of the bill. He agreed to do so. Since Sept. 24 I have not seen any money or a freeze protector put on or my refund from over payment. I did call ***** back on Oct 17 to see why I had not seen anything and he did not have an answer and he would take care of it by the following Monday - which I have never heard from them.

Desired Settlement: The work as contracted and refund my money.

Business Response:

    


             I spoke with Mrs. ********** on Friday the 24th of October, stating the following. That I have ordered the freeze protection. And as soon as it arrived that I would install it. And that all monies agreed upon would be reimburse. My apologies for all in convinces.

Respectfully,

**** *******
********** ******* **** ***** ***** *** ******* ****** ***** ************************ 
   

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have heard this song and dance several ( at least 3 times ) over the last 60 days. Until I see evidence I will not close case.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:         A check in the amount of $900.00 was mailed on 10/28/2014. I contacted Mr. ******* on 10/28/2014 notifying of this. As well as letting him know as soon as the freeze protection comes in I WILL notify him as to when we will install.


Regards,
**** *******   

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I will not accept any response until everything is 100 percent complete.

Regards,

***** *******

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $1000 extra to have Midnight Blue Plaster LC0816 on my pool. Today, almost a year later I still do not have midnight blue plaster

Desired Settlement: Re-plaster my pool or refund my money. I prefer re-plaster

Business Response: To Whom this may concern. Blue Haven Pools will be correcting this issue immediately. We will be contacting Mr. ************ today.



Regards.
**** ******* ********** ******* ** ************ **** ***** ***** ** *** ******* ***************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and the suggested resolution has yet to be implemented. I will contact you upon the business's follow through.

Regards,

*** ************

5/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cracks in the pool. Since December 2013 I have been asking Blue Haven to fix them. They promised to take care of the problem but did not deliver. My contract specifies a life time warranty. I have been paying large water bills for five months. In November they fixed one large crack but not the others. When I noticed the problem I started my requests for additional repairs. In January a Blue Haven sub contractor came and he was ready to start. Nothing was done, however. My conversation involved the Service Mgr, The Operations Director and even the General Mgr

Desired Settlement: The warranty is clearly stated in the contract. They DO NOT DENY IT.

Business Response: WE have respond to the Client and are in the process of scheduling to repair work.



Regards,

******

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because: On Friday 25th a message was left on my voice mail at 10:07 am. I called back  about 10:30 am and was informed that a person from Laredo was coming to my house to assess the work recquired to repair the cracks. He was at that point on loop 1604, 30 minutes away from my home. He never showed up. and three days later I am still waiting. As your deadline is around the corner, I had no choice but select the "reject" option. The acceptable response would be a detailed schedule of repairs.

My hope is to resolve the issue without litigation. Closure will com when the repairs are succesfully completed.

 
Regards,

**** *******

Business Response:  In regarding this complaint , we are and have been working with the complainant. We have re-gunited the cracks in the pool and have scheduled the plaster repair as well. The plaster company is getting back to me today  5/21/2014. On when they can re-plaster. I have sent an e-mail to the client stating this!. He actually called me last Friday asking when the plaster would be done. I explained  to him that as soon as the let me know I would contact him. I also asked him if he got my e-mail attesting to that fact, he said no!



Regards,

**** *******
Operations Manager
Blue Haven Pools San Antonio
1-210-680-0006

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, because the gunite job is done (May 9th) and efforts have been made to sche
dule the plastering (no date yet). I am a little worried about the pool staying empty for so long. It could endanger its structural integrity. 

Regards,

**** *******

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bluehaven Pools completed our pool in Oct 2013. Shortly after completing the project the mortar between the coping brick begin to crack. We made numerous calls to our Superintendent that went unanswered. Finally when they did talk to us, and after we sent them photos, they orbitrarily sent someone into our backyard to repair the coping. Once again about a week later the same cracks begin to appear but got worse. So, again numerous calls and promises to call us back. Finally, we contacted the Operations Manager he talked to our Superintendent. The Superintendent was instructed to contact us to set up an onsite meeting to discuss are concerns with the project. We never received a call from our Superintendent. After calling the Operations Manager again the Superintendent called me and we met on Monday, 16 Dec at our home. During that on-site meeting the Superintendent took several photos of what is now a huge space between the coping brick and tile of the side of the pool because of the horrible repair job done by Bluehavens sub-contractors. It was also at this time that the Superintendent noticed that the same thing is happening on the other end of the pool. He also took photos of those spaces. The Superintendent told me that he would talk to the Operations Manager and get back with me. I hadn't heard back from the Superintendent today, 18 Dec, so I called him. He seemed unaware of the result of the meeting I had with our Superintendent and told me he would call him and discuss and get it scheduled and possibly elevate it to the remodeling specialist. In my opinion, the Superintendent is not communicating his customers concerns or problems to his supervisors and we are getting extremely poor results from Bluehaven. Even when we call someone else besides the Superintendent we never get a call back and we are always the ones that have to initiate contact with them. In my mind this is extremely poor customer service of the entire company. We paid an extremely large amount of money for a product that we want to enjoy with no flaws and to date it has been a nightmare working with this company. We will never ever refer anyone to them for a pool construction project. The lack of communications between the company and us has not just been recently. During the entire construction of our pool the company never kept us informed of when people would be showing up to work on the project, keep us informed on what the next step was, keep us informed of delays, etc... We even had to ask the question of them if they were going to meet there self-imposed and only guarantee they made in the contrac that they would complete our project within a certain timeframe. Again, it was always us initiating contact after we hadnt seen anyone working for sometimes a week or longer. After them determining they were in jeopardy of not meeting their guarantee our project became a priority and was finished rather quickly. Perhaps this is why some of the work is second rate now and failing within weeks of being installed.

Desired Settlement: I want our project to be Bluehavens number one priority to be fixed and fixed correctly right now. We have paid in full for our pool on time and according to the contract we signed with them. Even though they have not delivered a quality product to us and I feel we just keep getting a second hand repair hoping we will go away. That is not fair to us the customer that saved a lot of money to pay for this project and we just expect the company to deliver a quality product that is going to last for what was promised in the contract. I want the Operations Manager and Whomever is ultimately in charge of all of Bluehaven San Antonio to set up a meeting at my house to see the poor construction that there company is providing the consumer. I want my pool fixed sooner rather than later and I want it done correctly this next time because I am having to take time off work and use my vacation to meet them when our project should be completed since they have been paid in full. I want whatever warranty we have with Bluehaven extended to when we agree the pools is indeed repaired to our satisfaction and I want it in writing. I don't think the 3 months we have been trying to get repairs, that we annotated on the punch list, should count as time lapsed on our warranty.

Business Response:

We have spoken to Mr. ****** and have scheduled a meeting this Friday to resolve the issue.

Regards,

****** *******
Operations Managers
Blue Haven Pools of San Antonio




************************

12/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Blue Haven Pool and Spa to construct our pool, the first crew that came out with equipment was the excavating crew who was here until 9o'clock at night, and at some point while they were using a dump truck to move the sand and clay on 2 acres and they put 2000.00 worth of damage to the driver rear panel. This happened in August and from the time that I noticed to now I have spoken to field superintendent and was told he would take care of it. Two weeks later the superintendent on site who could not get out of his vehicle the whole day for whatever reason came out looked at it said he would talk to the field superintendent (****** ******), by the end of September I requested to talk to the next supervisor **** who assured me it would not be a problem, at the end of October I finally had to talk to part owner ***** ****** all the while telling me they would take care of my **** ****. I also informed them there were some issues with the construction of the molding and was told someone would be calling, and as of this date 11/10/13 no one has called and only after 3 weeks of running the pool the relief valve is already leaking. Not cool at all. The last contact I had with Blue haven about my repairs I was then informed they were not going to take responsibility and was going to let the subcontractors insurance who no one has actually spoken to but once by me and was told the dump truck was not registered on the policy with Blue Haven and now I have to file on my insurance and pay the deductible. I feel this is just bad work ethics. They definitely sold us a line, from start to not finished yet.

Desired Settlement: pay for my repairs and for my rental while my truck is being repaired and for them to come out and finish the job. The leak just happened this weekend but the part owner ***** ****** is aware of all the other issues and they still have not responded.

Business Response:

Our insurance company will not accept the claim without showing that we are legally liable.  They can not accept an auto claim on a vehicle that is not registered in our name. We tried to file they would not accept it. The subcontract who Mrs. ***** claims hit her truck is also questioning the validity of this claim. Until she can show evidence of who is legally liable for this it will not be accepted by any insurance company, except her insurance company. She need to file a police report to show proof of evidence in order to file the claim against the other party's insurance company. Her other option is to file this claim with her insurance company as an uninsured motorist claim. If filed in this manner it will not affect her rating in the future. We will pay the deductible on her policy.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Blue Haven Pools & Spas
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart