BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers inground gunite swimming pools.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blue Haven Pools & Spas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Blue Haven Pools & Spas include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Blue Haven Pools & Spas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Haven Pools & Spas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated: 05/13/1994 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tyler Worthey, President Mr. Casey Worthey, V P Mr. Larry Worthey, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tyler Worthey, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Blue Haven Pools Inc
Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Additional Locations

  • 260 Addie Roy Rd Ste 205

    Austin, TX 78746 (512) 345-2583

  • 7575 N Loop 1604 W Ste 101

    San Antonio, TX 78249 (210) 680-0006

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 262-7064(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $1000 extra to have Midnight Blue Plaster LC0816 on my pool. Today, almost a year later I still do not have midnight blue plaster

Desired Settlement: Re-plaster my pool or refund my money. I prefer re-plaster

Business Response: To Whom this may concern. Blue Haven Pools will be correcting this issue immediately. We will be contacting Mr. ************ today.



Regards.
**** ******* ********** ******* ** ************ **** ***** ***** ** *** ******* ***************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and the suggested resolution has yet to be implemented. I will contact you upon the business's follow through.

Regards,

*** ************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cracks in the pool. Since December 2013 I have been asking Blue Haven to fix them. They promised to take care of the problem but did not deliver. My contract specifies a life time warranty. I have been paying large water bills for five months. In November they fixed one large crack but not the others. When I noticed the problem I started my requests for additional repairs. In January a Blue Haven sub contractor came and he was ready to start. Nothing was done, however. My conversation involved the Service Mgr, The Operations Director and even the General Mgr

Desired Settlement: The warranty is clearly stated in the contract. They DO NOT DENY IT.

Business Response: WE have respond to the Client and are in the process of scheduling to repair work.



Regards,

******

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because: On Friday 25th a message was left on my voice mail at 10:07 am. I called back  about 10:30 am and was informed that a person from Laredo was coming to my house to assess the work recquired to repair the cracks. He was at that point on loop 1604, 30 minutes away from my home. He never showed up. and three days later I am still waiting. As your deadline is around the corner, I had no choice but select the "reject" option. The acceptable response would be a detailed schedule of repairs.

My hope is to resolve the issue without litigation. Closure will com when the repairs are succesfully completed.

 
Regards,

**** *******

Business Response:  In regarding this complaint , we are and have been working with the complainant. We have re-gunited the cracks in the pool and have scheduled the plaster repair as well. The plaster company is getting back to me today  5/21/2014. On when they can re-plaster. I have sent an e-mail to the client stating this!. He actually called me last Friday asking when the plaster would be done. I explained  to him that as soon as the let me know I would contact him. I also asked him if he got my e-mail attesting to that fact, he said no!



Regards,

**** *******
Operations Manager
Blue Haven Pools San Antonio
1-210-680-0006

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, because the gunite job is done (May 9th) and efforts have been made to sche
dule the plastering (no date yet). I am a little worried about the pool staying empty for so long. It could endanger its structural integrity. 

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bluehaven Pools completed our pool in Oct 2013. Shortly after completing the project the mortar between the coping brick begin to crack. We made numerous calls to our Superintendent that went unanswered. Finally when they did talk to us, and after we sent them photos, they orbitrarily sent someone into our backyard to repair the coping. Once again about a week later the same cracks begin to appear but got worse. So, again numerous calls and promises to call us back. Finally, we contacted the Operations Manager he talked to our Superintendent. The Superintendent was instructed to contact us to set up an onsite meeting to discuss are concerns with the project. We never received a call from our Superintendent. After calling the Operations Manager again the Superintendent called me and we met on Monday, 16 Dec at our home. During that on-site meeting the Superintendent took several photos of what is now a huge space between the coping brick and tile of the side of the pool because of the horrible repair job done by Bluehavens sub-contractors. It was also at this time that the Superintendent noticed that the same thing is happening on the other end of the pool. He also took photos of those spaces. The Superintendent told me that he would talk to the Operations Manager and get back with me. I hadn't heard back from the Superintendent today, 18 Dec, so I called him. He seemed unaware of the result of the meeting I had with our Superintendent and told me he would call him and discuss and get it scheduled and possibly elevate it to the remodeling specialist. In my opinion, the Superintendent is not communicating his customers concerns or problems to his supervisors and we are getting extremely poor results from Bluehaven. Even when we call someone else besides the Superintendent we never get a call back and we are always the ones that have to initiate contact with them. In my mind this is extremely poor customer service of the entire company. We paid an extremely large amount of money for a product that we want to enjoy with no flaws and to date it has been a nightmare working with this company. We will never ever refer anyone to them for a pool construction project. The lack of communications between the company and us has not just been recently. During the entire construction of our pool the company never kept us informed of when people would be showing up to work on the project, keep us informed on what the next step was, keep us informed of delays, etc... We even had to ask the question of them if they were going to meet there self-imposed and only guarantee they made in the contrac that they would complete our project within a certain timeframe. Again, it was always us initiating contact after we hadnt seen anyone working for sometimes a week or longer. After them determining they were in jeopardy of not meeting their guarantee our project became a priority and was finished rather quickly. Perhaps this is why some of the work is second rate now and failing within weeks of being installed.

Desired Settlement: I want our project to be Bluehavens number one priority to be fixed and fixed correctly right now. We have paid in full for our pool on time and according to the contract we signed with them. Even though they have not delivered a quality product to us and I feel we just keep getting a second hand repair hoping we will go away. That is not fair to us the customer that saved a lot of money to pay for this project and we just expect the company to deliver a quality product that is going to last for what was promised in the contract. I want the Operations Manager and Whomever is ultimately in charge of all of Bluehaven San Antonio to set up a meeting at my house to see the poor construction that there company is providing the consumer. I want my pool fixed sooner rather than later and I want it done correctly this next time because I am having to take time off work and use my vacation to meet them when our project should be completed since they have been paid in full. I want whatever warranty we have with Bluehaven extended to when we agree the pools is indeed repaired to our satisfaction and I want it in writing. I don't think the 3 months we have been trying to get repairs, that we annotated on the punch list, should count as time lapsed on our warranty.

Business Response:

We have spoken to Mr. ****** and have scheduled a meeting this Friday to resolve the issue.

Regards,

****** *******
Operations Managers
Blue Haven Pools of San Antonio




************************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Blue Haven Pool and Spa to construct our pool, the first crew that came out with equipment was the excavating crew who was here until 9o'clock at night, and at some point while they were using a dump truck to move the sand and clay on 2 acres and they put 2000.00 worth of damage to the driver rear panel. This happened in August and from the time that I noticed to now I have spoken to field superintendent and was told he would take care of it. Two weeks later the superintendent on site who could not get out of his vehicle the whole day for whatever reason came out looked at it said he would talk to the field superintendent (****** ******), by the end of September I requested to talk to the next supervisor **** who assured me it would not be a problem, at the end of October I finally had to talk to part owner ***** ****** all the while telling me they would take care of my **** ****. I also informed them there were some issues with the construction of the molding and was told someone would be calling, and as of this date 11/10/13 no one has called and only after 3 weeks of running the pool the relief valve is already leaking. Not cool at all. The last contact I had with Blue haven about my repairs I was then informed they were not going to take responsibility and was going to let the subcontractors insurance who no one has actually spoken to but once by me and was told the dump truck was not registered on the policy with Blue Haven and now I have to file on my insurance and pay the deductible. I feel this is just bad work ethics. They definitely sold us a line, from start to not finished yet.

Desired Settlement: pay for my repairs and for my rental while my truck is being repaired and for them to come out and finish the job. The leak just happened this weekend but the part owner ***** ****** is aware of all the other issues and they still have not responded.

Business Response:

Our insurance company will not accept the claim without showing that we are legally liable.  They can not accept an auto claim on a vehicle that is not registered in our name. We tried to file they would not accept it. The subcontract who Mrs. ***** claims hit her truck is also questioning the validity of this claim. Until she can show evidence of who is legally liable for this it will not be accepted by any insurance company, except her insurance company. She need to file a police report to show proof of evidence in order to file the claim against the other party's insurance company. Her other option is to file this claim with her insurance company as an uninsured motorist claim. If filed in this manner it will not affect her rating in the future. We will pay the deductible on her policy.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2012 Delivery Issues