BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Austex Pools

Phone: (512) 331-5655 Fax: (512) 331-5657 12129 N Fm 620 Ste 605, Austin, TX 78750 http://www.austexpools.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Austex Pools include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • 11 complaints filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Austex Pools include:

  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 23, 2012 Business started: 08/09/2010 in NV Business started locally: 08/09/2010 Business incorporated: 08/09/2010 in NV
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jose Chavez, Acting President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jose Chavez, Acting President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Service & Repair Outdoor Kitchens Patio & Deck Builders

Alternate Business Names
Austex Holdings, Inc.
Additional Information

Design and build custom pools,spas,and outdoor living

Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12129 N Fm 620 Ste 605

    Austin, TX 78750

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Austex to build a pool early this summer. They never did so we canceled our contract. They agreed to pay us $3000 to end the dispute and gave us a check for that amount. The check BOUNCED 2 weeks later and they refuse to give us our money back even though we have a contract stating that they would pay us $3000 to end this dispute. *** ***** is nothing but a lying, stealing scoundrel. Please give this business the worst rating possible!

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY $3000 BACK IMMEDIATELY!

Business Response: This client got their money back from the credit card company! Austex went out of its way to help them build a pool, Austex financed their pool 100%, when the pool was not built in a time frame they wanted, they cancelled. Per the contract we were not obligated to return their deposit, but they disputed the credit card charge and they got their money back.

They should be thankful that Austex did not take them to court for Breach of Contract.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 25, 2013 we signed a contract with Austex and paid them $8500.00 to build a pool. At the time the contract was signed, we were assured that our pool would be completely in approximately 6-8 weeks from that date. After 9 weeks of NO CONSTRUCTION whatsoever, and another payment of $2000.00, we went to the Austex offices and spoke with *** ***** and **** ****** about canceling our contract and getting a partial refund back. They agreed and said they would "work on the paperwork". That was now almost 3 weeks ago and no one will get back to us. At this point Austex has stolen $10,500 and will not respond to any calls or emails. They are a VERY bad company. We are asking for our money back in CASH because everything we have read online says that they write hot checks.

Desired Settlement: We want at least $5000 cash back.

Business Response: Complaint *******  ********

We have resolved this complaint with Mr ********.Our resolve was a reimbursement minus the costs associated with the contract.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Austex Pools gave my husband and I a check for $3000.00 which we agreed would end the conflict. However, this check bounced. Big surprise.  *** ***** belongs in jail.

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: Austex request arbitration with the *********. They broke contract past the texas legal time frame, thereby they are liable for performance and obligations to the contract. 

Their complaint also said **** ****** was the sales person, not the case. Austex tried to help the ********* by providing them with financing because they were unable to get a loan for their pool. The ********* got most of their money back, Mr. ******** committed to pay for the design and commissions paid by Austex. Austex may pursue legal action for liable contract performance.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 9, 2013, I signed a contract with Mr ***** *****, representing Austex Pools, to get a pool built in my backyard. 1. The day of the signature of the contract, Mr ***** claimed that it takes maximum 6 weeks after building permits are approved to finish the job, and that he never built a pool in more than 5 weeks. They started working on May 7, and as of today, June 30, the job is still not finished (after 7 weeks and 4 days). 2. On a phone conversation with Mr ***** before May 7, Mr ***** told me that he received all necessary permits to start the work, and they started digging on May 7. On June 3, I received a letter from the HOA about backyard improvements being done on my property without HOA approval. Austex Pools did file an application to the HOA only until I forwarded the HOA letter to Mr *****. 3. I requested multiple times by email Mr ***** to provide proof of building permit approval from both the HOA and the City of ***** ****. I'm still waiting... 4. I looked up by myself the website *************** and I believe the City of ***** **** approved the permit, but surprisingly the contract amount is $35,000 instead of $41,271. At that point I don't even bother asking why such a difference, I will either not get an answer, either get another lie from Mr *****. 5. On June 19, I requested by email Mr ***** to send someone to repair the fence broken as a result of the work. Repair was done only on June 24, without any valid reason for the delay. 6. Mr ***** ********, "Project Manager" as written on his business card and designated as the man in charge of the build work, does not answer the phone, does not return calls, except when in need to pick up a check. 7. Last communication with Mr *****, by email dated June: "the masons will be starting this week". As of June 30, no mason has done anything in my backyard. Again, Mr ***** does not tell the truth. 8. Austex Pools never informed me, either by verbal or written statement, that I was not fulfilling my obligations with respect to the contract. Therefore, they should fulfill their obligations, and explain and document any delay such that these delays may be evaluated with respect to the contract clause titled "Responsibilities of Austex Pools - Conditions and Limitations". 9. Payments have always been made on time by me when requested for Austex Pools, either by Mr *****, either by Mr ********. I expect them in return to respect their word and satisfy their obligations as per the contract. 10. As of today, June 30, the construction site has been abandoned by Austex Pools for 3 weeks (with the exception of the fence repair on June 23). Why does Mr ***** verbally advertise a delay when signing the contract and then fail to justify all delays? Why does Mr ***** does not tell the truth and uses lies to communicate with customers? Why does Austex Pools take jobs they don't complete? Why does Mr ******** filter customer calls and doesn't return calls from customers he knows are waiting for him to do his job? Do Austex Pools employees know the meaning of the word "ethics"? I don't want to believe that they try to fool my family because I am a French national and my wife is a Chilean citizen. I sincerely hope they don't think my wife and I are stupid and will let them do whatever they want with us because we are aliens in this country.

Desired Settlement: I want Austex Pools to respect the contract they signed with their customers and I want them to finish the job they have accepted to take and I give them until July 14. Failure to complete the job by July 14 should result in extensive and comprehensive documentation and justification of all delays and in monetary compensation. If they want us to find another company to get the job done, they MUST inform us of their decision within 2 days.

Business Response: Complaint ******* *******

I have spoken to there lawyer and he mentioned the wanted us to continue and finish there pool despite how slow the process has been.However he wantted me to wait to start scheduling until he spoke with them.So i am waiting back for response.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: it's coming way too late (more than 60 days after the complaint!), the pool is still not finished, they don't understand that they won't go away with that without paying the price. Read their response and you realize they can't even spell!

***** *******

Business Response: Austex is requesting arbitration with Mr. *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The issues we have had have been ongoing since our pool was installed. AusTex has been made aware of these issues on dozens of occasions, we have communicated with ***, ****, ***, the other ***, and other random contractors and subs. The issues have never been adequately resolved and have persisted with little attention from AusTex, potential corrections have been put in place with little or no follow up and have required us to make countless calls to your personnel. The lack of professionalism and inadequate standard of care are no longer just an issue they have become litigious. It is not my intent or desire to have to take legal action against AusTex however if I am left without an option we will. Here are the open pool issues that AusTex is aware of: Filtration system – the filtration system requires backwashing or maintenance on what seems like a weekly basis. The filter restricts flow so the floor system and skimmers do not work. Paramount Floor System – the floor cleaning system has never worked. ***** ***** told us that this costly option would provide us with a 'near maintenance free pool'. Today our pool requires weekly cleaning since the floor system does nothing. Today as I write this there are piles of sand gathered around the main drain showing it clearly does not work. Skimmers – the skimmers work sporadically even when they have been cleaned out, this is most likely due to the water pressure at the filter. Heater – the heater has been a recurring issue and we have never had more than a 30 day period where it has functioned. We have been told it was: the regulator, which has been replaced twice; the heater itself, which has been replaced; the plumbing around the heater, which was replaced or repaired three times; the ignitor, which was replaced; and most recently the regulator, which has now been replaced for the third time. Spa – the pressure we had in the spa during the first month of ownership has never been duplicated. We believe there is a blockage somewhere in the system most likely related to the issues above. Summer Kitchen drain – the drain behind the ice maker clogs, we were told this would resolve itself. I pulled the ice maker out this week and there is considerable construction debris and mold. There is also considerable construction debris under the grill where the water filter is located. New Issues: The heater was running this morning without being turned on at the panel. This is a new issue I have never seen before. We did not turn on the heater at all this week. My pool is now at 92 degrees most likely since your tech was here. The heater needs to be reconnected to the control panel. The sun deck is cracking at multiple locations.

Desired Settlement: AusTex has proven unable to correct our pool in over a year of trying - if the pool is not corrected by July 1, 2013 we request a full refund of all payments made to AusTex.

Business Response: Complaint ******* *******

We have been in contact with his lawyer and have a path of resolution i hope will be suitable to both parties.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor was contracted to build a swimming pool. They failed to meet expectations with regards to timeliness. Subcontractors have stated that Austex Pools is not paying them, therefore they are refusing to do work.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my deposit back. I paid a deposit for them to build a pool, however, they failed to meet that obligation and I have been forced to build the pool myself.

Business Response: We did start the pool.We did get backlogged on our plumbing and the customer got frustrated and rescinded on the contract and decided to build the pool himself.The deposit covers design fees materials ordered and miscellaneous charges incurred.

Business Response: We did start the pool.We did get backlogged on our plumbing and the customer got frustrated and rescinded on the contract and decided to build the pool himself.The deposit covers design fees materials ordered and miscellaneous charges incurred.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I paid in full for the excavation, steel and forms which were not completed to code.  I had to pay a contractor to make the job code compliant.

Regards,

***** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I paid in full for the excavation, steel and forms which were not completed to code.  I had to pay a contractor to make the job code compliant.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: Complaint ******* *****

Mr ***** contacted us with his intent to build his own pool after work was started.We tried to sway his decision,and he said we could build his whole pool and he would pay the contract off in the end.We do not finance projects ,and the original contract was not detailed with those terms.He is a home builder so i believe his decision weighed on his abilty to build the pool..

Business Response: Complaint ******* *****

Mr ***** contacted us with his intent to build his own pool after work was started.We tried to sway his decision,and he said we could build his whole pool and he would pay the contract off in the end.We do not finance projects ,and the original contract was not detailed with those terms.He is a home builder so i believe his decision weighed on his abilty to build the pool..

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Austex to do our pool back in November of 2012. When we interviewing them to design our pool one of the request was that they be finished by the time we returned home at the end of January. They told us they would be able to do that with no problem. Fast forward to July 3rd and not only is our pool not finished but they are no longer responding to my emails nor have they been out here to work on it since May. I sent emails to them on 6/5, 6/17/ and 6/21 and they didn't respond to any of them. Then they requested more money last week to "finish up" which we did wire to them. They still have no t been out to our property nor provide the finish up schedule that I have been requesting for the last month. Its been almost 7 months since they started this project, we've held up our end of the deal and now they need to do their part. We just want our pool finished and to be done with them.

Desired Settlement: We want our pool to be completely finished in the next 2 wks.

Business Response: The ******* Family have been wonderful.We have had some major delays in construction timing due to a 45 percent growth rate of our company.The ******* family is substantiated in their claim on delays..

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Still no one has been out to complete our pool. 
Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: Complaint ******* *******

We have them on schedule to be finished by september the 18th.equipment set,electric,lanscape lights ,and plaster.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has not held to the terms of our contract and I need help getting my pool construction completed. The sub-contractor who performed the electrical work for Austex Pools has been trying to collect their NSF payment for $1260 from me. I have made several attempts to get Austex to reconcile this bill unsuccessfully. The company, ********* ******** is now filing a lien against my property. My pool slide is not installed or onsite, my lighting is not right, the 2 months of pool service has not started yet, there is rebar exposed on the patio, there are no covers to the drains on my patio, neither umbrella holder was installed, and the GM handling my account has now been fired but I was never contacted by Austex to let me know. I don't know how to work the pool- it has been running 24 hrs a day for the past month. My contract specifies an instruction to the equipment and 2 months of pool service.

Desired Settlement: I want: the owed bill to the Electrician settled rebar removed lighted cascade installed 2 umbrella holders installed instruction on pool equipment 2 months of pool service pool slide installed

Business Response: We had a 45 percent growing pain this year due to the economics in Austin,which creates a lack in subcontractors.We are very empathetic to the delay in completing the project.However the pool project is beautiful and complete...We have had some delays on timing and we own up to that responsibility

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

My project is NOT complete.
I have met with *** about the unfinished items. He took down a list and promised to come to our home on Sunday 3 weeks past, but never showed up.
He agreed that the list would be addressed and completed and NONE of the issues have been addressed.

Here is the list of unfinished business:

Slide not delivered or installed ($4K )
Re-bar at entrance to pool still exposed
Drain covers to 3 drains missing- tripping hazard
Remote control to Pool system not delivered
Lights at cascade not installed
Pool umbrella sleeves not installed
2 Months of pool service not delivered
Pool school to introduce and explain pool system not delivered
Plaster and pool finish warranty now voided due to lack of Payment to subcontractor by Austex Pools
$1260 Paid to ********* ******** by us when Austex did not pay the bill- they initiated a lien on our home until it was paid

Attached are photos showing:
Where the slide should be, it leaves a trip hazard as is
Rebar at entrance to pool
Drains without covers
Close up of slide piping that is a trip hazard

Our project is NOT complete. These are the issues that need to be addressed in order to call this project a "complete project"
All items here are listed in our contract and must be finalized.




Regards,

****** *********

Business Response: Complaint *******  *********

These are punch items our company should be taking care of.I will submit this list to nour superintendant have hime contact the ********* famile and schedule a tim eto complete.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
They have no plans to make corrections.

Regards,

****** *********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company has failed to provide construction of our pool in a timely manner, and furthermore, has failed to respond to multiple phone calls and text messages relating to progress and scheduling of contractors. Despite a meeting with the company's ****** *** *****, who assured us that we would receive daily phone calls and progress reports on our project, that has failed to happen. We have paid for much more of our pool project than we have received, and are concerned that although we have paid them most of the money for the work on our pool, construction has stopped. When I am able to actually speak to someone at the company, they have no answers as to when the pool project will continue. Moreover, when they assure me that contractors will show up, or progress will be made, the result is the same - cancelled work and no phone calls or updates. It has taken a month to do a week's worth of work, and there is no projected end date in sight.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting that either our project continue, or a refund of the incompleted services be awarded. Legal services may be consulted.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1