Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A-Tex Family Fun Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 451-8353 Fax: (512) 451-3503 View Additional Phone Numbers 8700 Burnet Rd, Austin, TX 78757 http://www.atexfun.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A-Tex Family Fun Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A-Tex Family Fun Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A-Tex Family Fun Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1974 Business started: 09/01/1973 in TX Business started locally: 09/01/1973 Business incorporated 09/07/1999 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Secard, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Secard, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair Billiard Equipment & Supplies Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts

Alternate Business Names
A-Tex Family Fun Center, Inc
Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Additional Locations

  • 501 N Interstate 35

    Georgetown, TX 78628

  • 8700 Burnet Rd

    Austin, TX 78757 (512) 930-2839 (512) 451-8353

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Deminsion-1 hot tub from A-Tex Family Fun Center approximately 4 months ago. From the first day it was delivered and set up. There was a malfunction with one of the diverter valves. We called A-Tex Family Fun Center and reported the problem. ***** from the services department was very professional and ordered a new part and scheduled the maintenance. After the technician was out to our house and fixed it the defective part. We were told it was fixed and tested. Within days, the same problem happened. The valve broke and shot into the air. Again, I called Nancy, and she ordered all the parts that would be needed to ensure the defective part was replaced. When the technician came out to replace the entire valve, it was determined the plumbing had “over 30 joints that would need to be replaced” and A-Tex thought it would be best to have the entire hot tub replaced. That was about 6 weeks ago and we still are sitting with an empty hot tub in our yard. I have called A-Tex numerous times and also the manufacturer, Dimension-1. NOBODY can tell me when the hot tub is going to be replaced. We have a product that has not worked completely since the day we purchased it and we are now months into this process. Our backyard construction and landscaping has been put on hold because of this. Although this might be a manufacturer’s defect, A-Tex Family Fun Center was the retailor we purchased it from and a representative of Demension-1.

Desired Settlement: I want somebody who can take responsibility for this and has the ability to make the decisions to make it right. Either with a full refund, or an exact replacement plus partial refund. My customer satisfaction is at ZERO

Business Response: As Mr. ******* states, we attempted to fix the problem on his spa, but were unable to make the necessary repairs.  Dimension One decided that in this instance, the best course of action would be to replace the spa.  This situation very rarely occurs, but when it does, the decision to replace the spa is always made by the manufacturer, not A-Tex.  At that point, the process is really out of our hands.  Dimension One orders a new spa to be built at the factory, and when it is completed they arrange for it to be shipped to us.  At that point, we can take over again and exchange the new spa for the defective one.  This is what happened in Mr. *******'s case - Dimension One had a new spa built for him.  It was completed and shipped last week, and we received it here at A-Tex today.  We will be contacting Mr. ******* today and arranging to swap the spas out this week.  We are sorry for the delays, but that is the time frame it took the manufacturer to process the warranty claim, build a new spa, and have it shipped to Austin.  We have been in communication with Mr. ******* throughout this process, and we have always given him updates to the best of our ability.  Unfortunately, while the spa was being built we were at the mercy of the manufacturer as to when it would be completed.  As he states, he called Dimension One and was not able to get a definite completion date himself.  That is the same situation we were in.  We did take the extra step of having the factory representative for Dimension One, Mr. ****** *******, contact Mr. ******* directly to make sure he was being taken care of and to assure him that both A-Tex and Dimension One were doing their best to expedite the process.  Having to replace a spa is an extremely rare situation, and we certainly understand Mr. *******'s frustrations.  However, we do want to make it clear that A-Tex has done everything it could during this time to keep him informed and make an unfortunate situation go as smoothly as possible for everyone.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


Demension-1 called and took responsibility for their mistakes and lack of communication. They told me that they “want to make it right” A-Tex has not, and they continue to disappoint. Their service department called me on Monday (4/20/2015) and informed me that the new hot tub was in and ready to be delivered. The gentleman asked if I would like it delivered the next day (Tuesday) in the afternoon or Wednesday morning. I told him it did not matter to me. This same gentleman said he would call me back with which day it will be and they will get the hot tubs swapped out. It is now Wednesday afternoon. There has been no return phone call and our broken hot tub is still sitting in the same spot.
 
I want A-Tex Family Fun Center to reimburse me for the two months our hot tub has sat empty and broke. We financed the hot tub and are continuing to make payments on something we have not been able to us. This should also be noted. At one time I was told I would need to talk to the owner of A-Tex. I said “why don’t you have the owner call me” I never received that call either.

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for any communication errors that may have occurred.  When Wulf Vance, the service manager, called Mr. ******* to set up delivery of the new spa, he offered him the choice of Tuesday or Thursday.  As he states in his complaint, Mr. ******* thought he offered Tuesday or Wednesday.  We should have reiterated the dates to make absolutely sure we were all on the same page.  In any case, when we were told that it didn't matter when we came (as Mr. ******* states that he told us), we scheduled the delivery for Thursday.  This too should have been clearly communicated, and we apologize if it was not.  The replacement spa was delivered Thursday, the old spa was removed, and Mr. ******* now has a brand new functioning hot tub in his yard.  In addition, as a gesture of goodwill Dimension One has sent Mr. ******* a "care package" containing various accessories for his spa.  We hope that Mr. ******* enjoys his new spa for many years to come.  In an effort to never have any communication problems arise again in our relationship, the owner of A-Tex *********** ****** invites Mr. ******* to contact him personally on his direct telephone line at ###-###-#### if he needs any assistance in the future.

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an above ground pool from A-tex Family Fun Center in the spring of 2013. I immediately noticed that the pool was not installed properly. Someone from the service department, **** *****, came out and inspected the installation and agreed that it was not right and said he would have it fixed right away. The entire summer I chased him around. He would say he was coming out to fix it and something would come up. Illness in the family, had to go out of town, endless excuses. So now it is the winter of 2013-2014 and **** says it is not good weather for doing this work and we will be on his schedule for as soon as the weather is better. Springs comes and the phone chasing begins again. During this time I also called the store multiple times and stopped by the store multiple times to try to get some help. All I get is more promises to call, more promises to come out and fix it. In mid July 2015 I realize they are never coming to fix it. I have now lost 2 summers of this pool I paid over $8,000 for. My kids are now teenagers and are no longer interested. I call again and am assured they will "make it right". At this point looking at this pool in my yard makes me feel sick. Nothing will make it right for me. The only thing that will make it even bearable is for them to come and take it down and remove the sand. For this I am told I will have to pay them. I don't think I should have to pay to have the pool removed. As a matter of fact I think I should have my money refunded.

Desired Settlement: I think they should take the pool back and at least refund some of my money.

Business Response: A-Tex does not dispute that there was a problem with the installation of the ********* pool.  It is not a structural issue, and does not affect in any way their ability to use the pool.  It is basically a divot underneath the pool liner, which creates a cosmetic defect.  As they state, **** *****, our service department manager, came out and inspected the pool installation and agreed that repairs were necessary. A-Tex also does not dispute that there were some difficulties in scheduling the repairs.  Mr. ***** did indeed have some family situations that caused him to cancel some appointments he made with the *******s.  Another factor which complicated scheduling the repairs was the fact that the *******s wished to try to save as much water as possible from the pool when the repairs were done.  We respected their wishes, as we were very aware of the severe drought situation in the area.  But this did make scheduling the repairs more complicated, as special equipment would be needed to retain the water while we worked on the pool.  Lastly, as they state in their complaint, Mr. ***** correctly pointed out that the fall/winter season would not be a desirable time to do the repairs, as the pool liner requires warm weather to be pliable so that it can be installed with the least possible wrinkles.

At some point during this chain of events, the situation became personal for the *******s.  They decided that Mr. ***** was the cause of all their troubles, and refused to deal with him any longer.  They did contact various A-Tex personnel, up to and including myself, the owner of A-Tex.  At every turn, they were informed that **** ***** was the service manager, that he was the one with the expertise and skills necessary for the job, and that he would be the person they would need to deal with.  They continually balked at dealing with Mr. *****, saying that they did not want him on their property.  A-Tex does not employ any other person with the experience and skills needed to make these repairs - it's **** ***** or no one.

Finally, in about July of 2014, during a conversation between Mrs. ******* and myself, during which I once again explained that **** ***** was a reputable person and an expert in his field, she agreed to consider allowing him to come out and repair the pool.  She stated that she and her husband were going on a trip out of the country in the next few days, but that she would discuss the situation with her husband and call me back with their decision.  Until the day I received this complaint, I never heard back form her again.
 
To summarize, while A-Tex and our service manager **** ***** have certainly not been as efficient as we could have been in making and keeping appointments to do the necessary repairs, we are and have been more than willing to do the work.  The ultimate obstacle has been the *******'s refusal to work with Mr. *****, the only person who can do the job.



Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It is not a single low spot in the pool.  The entire floor is uneven with spots serveral inches lower than the surrounding area.  When we were quoted an installation price we were told it would be a 2 day job.  One day to remove the old pool and one day to install the new pool.  The entire process was completed in one day.  Obviously it was rushed and the install was not properly done. 

We were never told that special equipment needed to save our water was an issue.  I did state that I did not want to waste the water but I was told they have tanks to store the water and it would be no problem. 

The statement that I refused to work with **** ***** all along is completely false. They expose their own lie by their admission that **** missed multiple appointments with us.  If we were refusing to work with him why did we make all those appointments?

The statement that I was told it was **** or no one is also false.  By July of 2014, after missing the use of my very expensive pool for 2 summers I had become quite frustrated.  Over the year and a half before that we have made many appointments with ****.  We have taken days off work and waited for him to show up.  He doesn't call to say he isn't coming.  After each no-show we would again have to make multiple phone calls to get a single returned call.  And the cycle starts again.  I would also like to point out that while family problems were the reason given for some missed appointments, being busy with new installs was just as often the reason.  We were ignored because they already had our money.  As a matter of fact I spoke to **** on the phone this month and he stated that we were put on the back burner in favor of new installs and he apologized for that.  That's nice, but it is not enough.

So yes, by July of 2014 I was done waiting for ****.  At that time we were told we could get a different crew.  At this point, since we had already lost the use of our pool for the 2nd summer, I was very upset and decided it would be a good time to take a step back and cool off.  In January of 2015 when I decided it was time to try dealing with A-Tex again, at this point is when I was told my only option for having the pool repaired was ****.  I have no confidence that this company will deliver on a promise and I want this pool out of my life for good.

I reject the response from A-Tex Family Fun Center because it is full of false statements. 

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: In a good-faith effort to amicably resolve this dispute, I called and spoke with both Mr. and Mrs. ******* today, Friday February 20th.  We have agreed that I will come out to their home sometime during the next few weeks to meet with them and personally inspect their pool.  At that time, we will determine the proper course of action.  I will be contacting the *******s next week to set a exact date and time. - ***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A-Tex Family Fun Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)