Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sweetwater Hot Tubz

Phone: (210) 735-7946 Fax: (210) 735-8554 View Additional Phone Numbers 707 Vance Jackson Rd, San Antonio, TX 78201 http://www.sweetwaterhottubz.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Caldera Hot Tubs
Vita Hot Tubs
Catalina Swim Spas
Endless Pool Swim Spas
Freeflow Hot tubs
Pool Cleaning and repairs
Pool and Spa supplies
?


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sweetwater Hot Tubz meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sweetwater Hot Tubz include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Sweetwater Hot Tubz
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 2000 Business started: 02/01/1983 in TX Business started locally: 02/01/1983 Business incorporated 03/22/1989 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Hild, President Ms. Helen Frank, Office Manager/Bookkeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Hild, President
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts

Products & Services

Sweetwater Hot Tubz sells the following brand(s): Caldera, Catalina Swim Spas, Endless Swim Spas, Freeflow, Vita

Sweetwater Hot Tubz offers the following product(s): Hot tubs, Swim spas

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Credit card
and SACU financing
?
Alternate Business Names
Caldera Spas Sweet Water Pools Sweetwater Pool Service Sweetwater Services, Inc Sweetwater Spa Store

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sweetwater Hot Tubz has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 707 Vance Jackson Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78201 (210) 621-3923 (210) 647-3000 (210) 735-7946

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid Sweetwater to deliver our Spa to a specific location in our back yard. The delivery employees were shown specifically where it was to be placed. The instead left it in the middle of an easement. We subsequently had to have it moved out our expense. Repeated calls to Sweetwater to remedy the situation were not returned.

Business Response: Mrs. ****** was present on the date their hot tub was moved to their location in New Braunfels.  As per the delivery personnel. the tub was placed exactly where specified by Mrs ******.  At a later date, we received notification from Mr. ****** that this was not the correct location.  It was explained that there would be an additional charge to come out and move the hot tub since the placement was approved by Mrs. ******.   Mr. ****** was not willing to pay this additional charge.  The charge of $250 is a valid charge (at a significant discount off our normal spa move charge)  due to the fact that a service was rendered and approved by Mrs. ****** at the time of delivery.

12/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I went into the 1604 location around the end of July to look into purchasing a hot tub. It was our first stop, we talked to a sales associate ***** that was there that day. We told ***** what we were thinking as far as hot tubs and that we had just recently moved into a new house with a deck out back and we were interested in adding a hot tub to the backyard. We looked at the options that day and found one that we liked. He explained to us that the sale on the hot tubs was ending that weekend and in order to receive the price we needed to put down at least a 10% deposit to hold the price. We were unsure because we hadn't thought out the whole process but we wanted to get the sale price so I asked ***** multiple times while we were there if we put the deposit down and then something changed or we weren't able to go through with the hot tub at that time would we be able to get the deposit back. He assured me that the deposit was refundable up until we actually ordered the hot tub. We have since then decided that before we cold put a hot tub back there we need to run electrical and add to the existing deck which after getting quotes is going to take sometime. We called to get our deposit back as this money would help with that process and ***** stated that it would not be a problem but the manager that could approve the refund was out of the office until the following week. This was in October. It was not until mid November and several emails later did we receive a call from the manager ***** who informed us that there would be no refund there was a cancellation fee. There was no mention of a cancellation fee from ***** and we haven't even ordered a hot tub yet we just put a deposit down to hold a price. So basically they are keeping the deposit without us receiving anything. We are still looking to have a hot tub installed this has put us further behind but if this is how they do business we will be purchasing elsewhere.

Desired Settlement: We would like our deposit back.

Business Response: Contrary to what has been stated by the *****’s, they did move forward with the purchase of the hot tub.  They placed a $800 deposit on 8/8/2015 and a week later applied for financing for the remaining balance on 8/16/2015, which was approved on 8/17/2015.  At that time, since they were approved for finanincing, which is considered payment in full,  the order was placed for the hot tub since we did not have the specific color combination requested in stock.  Upon arrival of the hot tub, the *****’s were contacted to let them know it had arrived.  They informed Sweetwater that the expense involved with the deck and electrical was more than expected and they could not afford the additional expense, yet they still wanted the hot tub.  In November, ***** spoke with Mrs. ***** and explained that we currently had a limited time promotion running for 36 month interest free finanacing which would allow them to roll into the financing the added cost of the deck and electrical and also save them the interest they would have paid on the original financing approved in August.  The *****s declined this offer.  Sweetwater made a valid attempt to assist the *****’s with their concerns.  It is clearly written on the contract above their signature All Cancellations are subject to a 25% fee of purchase price.  The *****s have not lost their deposit.  Sweetwater has been holding the hot tub in their name since it arrived.  We have incurred expenses which include the purchase of the hot tub from the manufacturer, freight and storage.  We will honor their deposit any time in the future concerning their hot tub purchase.

7/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2013 we purchased a hot tub from this location, the paperwork didn't specify the specifics about the warranty, on July 11, 2014 I called the location where I purchased the hot tub and asked them about the warranty and what was covered, they directed me to their Servicing Department where I spoke with a lady that answered the phone, I asked her about the warranty. She mentioned the technician was out to lunch and she would have him call me, I told her the issue I was having, the button for the Jets wasn't working, she said she would give him this information. That evening a gentleman called me and I again told him I wasn't sure what our warranty was and told him the issue we were having, he proceeded to ask me for my name and address and when I purchased the hot tub, he then indicated he would come by and evaluate the issue, he said no one had to be home for him to work on it as long as we left any gates unlocked, never did he or the other 2 people mention anything about any fees and they had my information to look this up. On July 17, 2014 the technician showed up and my husband met him there, he said it was the button that was not working properly, he then continued to tell my husband that the cost of the part was $149 + tax, the service call was $29.99 plus the installation of the button, myself and my husband were upset because no one told us ahead of time that there was a charge, we proceeded to tell him that we would pay for the part but no one mentioned the service fee, he then got on the phone with someone in his company and told my husband he would not charge him for the service call just the part that came out to $168. The receipt we have shows the total of $168, however my card was charged $194. On 7/14/14 I called them back and was told I had to speak with ****** and the message would be given to her, I didn't hear back soon 7/15/14 I called and was on hold for over 10 mins after she got on the call, I explain to her my situation and she indicated that the technician was new and not too familiar with their service fees and that everyone else followed process, so I told her that it was a training issue since no one told me anything about the fees, which I argued about, she became irate and I told her that if she didn't credit me back I was going to get an Attorney since the receipt I have only indicated the charge authorized for $168, she then proceeded to talk over me and told me that if she credit me back my service fee, they will NEVER service me again, I told her that was fine and that I didn't want to deal with them in the future, as I was speaking with her, she hung up on me. I tried calling her back and she won't answer my call, not sure when my money will be credit it back or if it will be ever.

Desired Settlement: Even though it's not much, I was very unhappy at the service I received from SERVICING (******) when to began with we were very happy with the sales person at the location we bought it from. We will never ever make a purchase or recommend them to anyone.

Business Response:

Very sorry to hear that you did not have a good customer service experience.

Your credit card has been credited for the service call. 

The hot tub was out of warranty and you were not charged for the Diagnostic fee or the Service Call
only the part.

As far as the warranty is concerned our Sales staff covers that in the presentation at time of purchase
and it is in the Owner's Manual.

I have talked to the Service Department and Business Office as well. 

As I looked into this matter it has been addressed to prevent it from happening again.

Please feel free to call me if you have any other questions or concerns.  I can be reached at *********

***** ****





?

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I've checked my bank statement and there's no credit, how long does this take?  Also, I have been waiting on a call from someone that will personally address this issue since I was truly offended by ****** hanging up on me while I was speaking with her. 

When we purchased the hot tub, no one walked us through all the features or warranty, I see you mention something about a manual, there's no manual given to us at the time of purchase or time of delivery.

I do hope it doesn't give out on us anymore since I won't be able to count on you to repair it, at least that's the comment ****** made "we will NO longer service you". 

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: I spoke with Mrs. ***** on Saturday and she has rec'd the credit on her account.

In addition we had a very good conversation about her experience and
I have assured her if she needs help in the future she can contact me
directly.  

While we work very hard to train our staff how to handle customer service issues
there was a breakdown in her case.  

I did offer her an additional $50 store credit for supplies for the hot tub.
And she has taken advantage of that offer.

Sincerely,

***** **** ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****

7/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 30 May 2014 I signed a contract to purchase a hot tub from Sweetwater Hot Tubz located at I-410 and Evers. I gave SSFCU check #1049 and filled out an application to finance the remainder through San Antonio FCU. The salesperson, ****, told me that it would take about a day to process. On that day, I explained to **** that the concrete pad in my backyard, had less of one inch grade, for drainage, and if that would cause a problem for the unit. He explained that the particular model I was to purchase was a type that could be shimmed, because it was 'one piece'. We also talked about how the hot tub would be set up by the company, and he stated that the unit I was purchasing fit through standard backyard fence gates. The following day he called me and told me that I was approved, that I needed to give him $10 to open an account with the financing institution before we could schedule delivery. I went to the store and paid him the $10. Once there he asked when I would have liked the hot tub delivered. Excited about the purchase I told him that I would take it at the earliest possible date. At that point he said that I need to sign the 'delivery paperwork' so that he could take it to their manager's office on ***** ******* before they closed. Thinking that I had already signed all the pertinent contracts the day prior, when he took the $1000 check from me, I signed a paper. **** did not tell me that what I signed was the contract to purchase. The delivery was scheduled for the following week, but when their employees came to the house, they told my girlfriend that they cannot shim the tub and that it did not fit through the gate. My girlfriend called me at work and asked me what to do; I told her not to accept the delivery. After several days I was finally able to contact their manager, *****, who told me that I signed a contract stating that the site where the hot tub was being delivered had to be perfectly leveled and that I was responsible for taking off the fence panel because the tub did not fit; furthermore, that if I cancelled the purchase, that they will charge 25% of the purchase price, which is the $1000 I already paid them. I know that I should have been careful and read every line before signing, but I would not have purchased this unit, much less leave my girlfriend to accept delivery, if I knew that the site had to be leveled, and that the fence had to be taken down. **** assured me that the purchase price included their company being responsible for delivery and full set up, including shimming. What he did was deceitful, and now they want to basically extort $1000 from me to force a sale. Last week ***** told me to write a letter stating why I was cancelling the sale and to bring it to her, because their company had not even brought my financing paperwork to SAFCU. I delivered the letter and was told that after reviewing with her boss, they would issue a refund. Today she said either take the hot tub or lose the $1000. It is impossible that a legitimate business can scam people like this and get away with it. I do not remember signing any contract stating the contrary to what was said to me by the salesperson, and worry they forged my signature. Please help me.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $1010 that I paid them.

Business Response: When we arrived at the home the gate was not wide enough for the spa to go thru the opening.  Our delivery crew offered to remove a section of fence to accommodate the spa but told his girlfriend we cannot be held responsible for the fence.  She said she needed to call Mr. *******.  He said to come back the next day (Saturday) when he was home.  Unfortunately we already had two deliveries on Saturday.  We offered to come back on Tuesday to redeliver but Mr. ******* said no, I want to cancel my order. Mr. ******* signed the PreDelivery sheet that clearly states that the spa needs to be on a flat level surface and we do not shim.  **** the salesman said Mr. ******* took several minutes to read the PreDelivery sheet before signing and we have not nor did we forge his signature.  This is a serious accusation and is not to be taken lightly.  We have been in business over 30 years and have never forged a signature.  We stand ready to redeliver his spa or as contract states he has the right to cancel with a 25% cancellation fee. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

On the Thursday that delivery came to my house, I was not present, because their salesperson, ****, assured me that

1. The unit would fit through a standard wooden fence gate.

2. The delivery would include complete set-up, to include all chemicals and electrical connection to my panel.

3. That the delivery crew would use some hardiplank siding that I had to compensate for the (less than 1 inch) grade on the
concrete pad.

When the delivery crew arrived my girlfriend called me and stated that the men had an attitude towards her, looked as if it was their
first time working together because they kept arguing about every little detail with one another.  She stated that they were treating her in a chauvinistic and condescending manner, and told her that they would take the fence down, but would likely break it in the process, and
that they would did not have enough time to connect it, shim it, or attempt to put the pane back because they were behind schedule.  That is when I told her not to accept delivery.  At that point, the delivery crew threatened my girlfriend to charge $85 unless she accepted delivery (more  attempted extortion by Sweetwater).  I called to complain, and after several days of not having my phone calls returned, management (*****) told me that they do not touch fences, or shim the unit, because that would void the warranty, leaving me without the 2-yr parts and labor promised as part of the sale.  There was talk of possible Saturday delivery, but that was a conversation with their employee Melissa, who kept telling me that ***** would call me back whenever I complained about their delivery men’s inappropriate behavior towards my girlfriend.  When ***** finally returned my call, she began unraveling their unfair and deceitful practices.

It is untrue that **** read the pre-delivery sheet.  When I last saw ****, I was called into the store, and told that the Credit Union had approved my application and I needed to sign a couple of more documents for the bank, and bring $10 to open an account with San Antonio Credit Union. 
He told me that I needed to hurry if I wanted delivery the following week, because he needed to bring everything to their office at 707 ***** ******* Road.  I was under the impression, that the final paperwork would be signed upon the unit being delivered and installed; I would never sign for something prior to getting what I was promised.  If I signed anything stating that the pad had to be 100% leveled or that I would have to alter my fence, it was passed to me deceitfully as part of the financing paperwork.

Before walking into Sweetwater I considered purchasing used spas for a fraction of the price of theirs, or even buying a brand new one exactly like the one I tried to purchase from them from Wayfair.com, which would save me over $1000 and include delivery.  The only reason why I was willing to pay what Sweetwater Hot Tubz charges, is because I was guaranteed 2-yr parts and labor, delivery to my backyard and complete set-up; if I had any idea that there would be any preparation work required for the delivery, I would have been present, and would not have left my girlfriend to accept delivery.

Sweetwater Hot Tubz is trying to extort $4000 + interest and tax by forcing this sale, while requiring additional labor and voiding the warranty.  I can get the deal they’re offering me off of the classified ads for thousands less.  This is an egregious and shameless attempt to defraud a  customer.

I request all copy of every paper they claim has my signature on it, to see if they forged it, as I suspect.  

Regards,

******** *******

Business Response: We are including copies of the paperwork that Mr. ******* signed.  Line item #6 on Pre Delivery Sheet states that we do not shim, the tub weighs over 4,000 lbs.  With this kind of weight and it being shimmed it can void the warranty of the tub due to the structure not being evenly supported.  Under the delivery requirements it states it is the customers responsibility to provide us access to yard.  Also the second trip is an additional charge.  Our delivery crew makes several deliveries a week and work very hard to install the product safely and without incident.  When they foresee a problem they alert the customer of the potential issues.  That was done in this case.  In addition we are willing to reschedule for another day giving the customer more time to have the site ready.  We still stand ready and willing to make that happen.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have no recollection of seeing this paper prior to today.  The signature on it is sloppy and although it resembles mine, I do not believe I signed this paper.  The only paperwork that I signed at their store was for financing purposes with San Antonio Federal Credit Union.

I wanted to purchase a hot tub from Sweetwater Hot Tubz because I was promised full delivery and set up, plus a two year warranty for parts and labor.  I would not have agreed to purchase their product, knowing that the pad it was going on would have voided the warranty (due to the grade).  I would not have left my girlfriend to accept delivery, knowing that the fence had to be taken off.  The company's salesperson promised one thing, and the day their delivery personnel came, something else was offered.

I demand a full refund of my $1010.

Regards,

******** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Sweetwater Hot Tubz
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart