BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Caldera Hot Tubs
Vita Hot Tubs
Catalina Swim Spas
Endless Pool Swim Spas
Freeflow Hot tubs
Pool Cleaning and repairs
Pool and Spa supplies
?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sweetwater Hot Tubz meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sweetwater Hot Tubz include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sweetwater Hot Tubz
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 2000 Business started: 02/01/1983 in TX Business started locally: 02/01/1983 Business incorporated: 03/22/1989 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Hild, President Ms. Bobbi Barber, Bookkeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Hild, President
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts

Products & Services

Sweetwater Hot Tubz sells the following brand(s): Caldera, Catalina Swim Spas, Endless Swim Spas, Freeflow, Vita

Sweetwater Hot Tubz offers the following product(s): Hot tubs, Swim spas

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Credit card
and SACU financing
?
Refund and Exchange Policy
See store for details.
?
Alternate Business Names
Caldera Spas Sweet Water Pools Sweetwater Pool Service Sweetwater Services, Inc Sweetwater Spa Store

Additional Locations

  • 707 Vance Jackson Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78201 (210) 621-3923 (210) 647-3000 (210) 735-7946

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 494-7070(Phone)
  • (210) 561-8829(Phone)
  • (210) 590-6700(Phone)
  • (210) 621-3923(Phone)
  • (210) 647-3000(Phone)
  • (210) 680-4444(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2013 we purchased a hot tub from this location, the paperwork didn't specify the specifics about the warranty, on July 11, 2014 I called the location where I purchased the hot tub and asked them about the warranty and what was covered, they directed me to their Servicing Department where I spoke with a lady that answered the phone, I asked her about the warranty. She mentioned the technician was out to lunch and she would have him call me, I told her the issue I was having, the button for the Jets wasn't working, she said she would give him this information. That evening a gentleman called me and I again told him I wasn't sure what our warranty was and told him the issue we were having, he proceeded to ask me for my name and address and when I purchased the hot tub, he then indicated he would come by and evaluate the issue, he said no one had to be home for him to work on it as long as we left any gates unlocked, never did he or the other 2 people mention anything about any fees and they had my information to look this up. On July 17, 2014 the technician showed up and my husband met him there, he said it was the button that was not working properly, he then continued to tell my husband that the cost of the part was $149 + tax, the service call was $29.99 plus the installation of the button, myself and my husband were upset because no one told us ahead of time that there was a charge, we proceeded to tell him that we would pay for the part but no one mentioned the service fee, he then got on the phone with someone in his company and told my husband he would not charge him for the service call just the part that came out to $168. The receipt we have shows the total of $168, however my card was charged $194. On 7/14/14 I called them back and was told I had to speak with ****** and the message would be given to her, I didn't hear back soon 7/15/14 I called and was on hold for over 10 mins after she got on the call, I explain to her my situation and she indicated that the technician was new and not too familiar with their service fees and that everyone else followed process, so I told her that it was a training issue since no one told me anything about the fees, which I argued about, she became irate and I told her that if she didn't credit me back I was going to get an Attorney since the receipt I have only indicated the charge authorized for $168, she then proceeded to talk over me and told me that if she credit me back my service fee, they will NEVER service me again, I told her that was fine and that I didn't want to deal with them in the future, as I was speaking with her, she hung up on me. I tried calling her back and she won't answer my call, not sure when my money will be credit it back or if it will be ever.

Desired Settlement: Even though it's not much, I was very unhappy at the service I received from SERVICING (******) when to began with we were very happy with the sales person at the location we bought it from. We will never ever make a purchase or recommend them to anyone.

Business Response:

Very sorry to hear that you did not have a good customer service experience.

Your credit card has been credited for the service call. 

The hot tub was out of warranty and you were not charged for the Diagnostic fee or the Service Call
only the part.

As far as the warranty is concerned our Sales staff covers that in the presentation at time of purchase
and it is in the Owner's Manual.

I have talked to the Service Department and Business Office as well. 

As I looked into this matter it has been addressed to prevent it from happening again.

Please feel free to call me if you have any other questions or concerns.  I can be reached at *********

***** ****





?

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I've checked my bank statement and there's no credit, how long does this take?  Also, I have been waiting on a call from someone that will personally address this issue since I was truly offended by ****** hanging up on me while I was speaking with her. 

When we purchased the hot tub, no one walked us through all the features or warranty, I see you mention something about a manual, there's no manual given to us at the time of purchase or time of delivery.

I do hope it doesn't give out on us anymore since I won't be able to count on you to repair it, at least that's the comment ****** made "we will NO longer service you". 

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: I spoke with Mrs. ***** on Saturday and she has rec'd the credit on her account.

In addition we had a very good conversation about her experience and
I have assured her if she needs help in the future she can contact me
directly.  

While we work very hard to train our staff how to handle customer service issues
there was a breakdown in her case.  

I did offer her an additional $50 store credit for supplies for the hot tub.
And she has taken advantage of that offer.

Sincerely,

***** **** ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 30 May 2014 I signed a contract to purchase a hot tub from Sweetwater Hot Tubz located at I-410 and Evers. I gave SSFCU check #1049 and filled out an application to finance the remainder through San Antonio FCU. The salesperson, ****, told me that it would take about a day to process. On that day, I explained to **** that the concrete pad in my backyard, had less of one inch grade, for drainage, and if that would cause a problem for the unit. He explained that the particular model I was to purchase was a type that could be shimmed, because it was 'one piece'. We also talked about how the hot tub would be set up by the company, and he stated that the unit I was purchasing fit through standard backyard fence gates. The following day he called me and told me that I was approved, that I needed to give him $10 to open an account with the financing institution before we could schedule delivery. I went to the store and paid him the $10. Once there he asked when I would have liked the hot tub delivered. Excited about the purchase I told him that I would take it at the earliest possible date. At that point he said that I need to sign the 'delivery paperwork' so that he could take it to their manager's office on ***** ******* before they closed. Thinking that I had already signed all the pertinent contracts the day prior, when he took the $1000 check from me, I signed a paper. **** did not tell me that what I signed was the contract to purchase. The delivery was scheduled for the following week, but when their employees came to the house, they told my girlfriend that they cannot shim the tub and that it did not fit through the gate. My girlfriend called me at work and asked me what to do; I told her not to accept the delivery. After several days I was finally able to contact their manager, *****, who told me that I signed a contract stating that the site where the hot tub was being delivered had to be perfectly leveled and that I was responsible for taking off the fence panel because the tub did not fit; furthermore, that if I cancelled the purchase, that they will charge 25% of the purchase price, which is the $1000 I already paid them. I know that I should have been careful and read every line before signing, but I would not have purchased this unit, much less leave my girlfriend to accept delivery, if I knew that the site had to be leveled, and that the fence had to be taken down. **** assured me that the purchase price included their company being responsible for delivery and full set up, including shimming. What he did was deceitful, and now they want to basically extort $1000 from me to force a sale. Last week ***** told me to write a letter stating why I was cancelling the sale and to bring it to her, because their company had not even brought my financing paperwork to SAFCU. I delivered the letter and was told that after reviewing with her boss, they would issue a refund. Today she said either take the hot tub or lose the $1000. It is impossible that a legitimate business can scam people like this and get away with it. I do not remember signing any contract stating the contrary to what was said to me by the salesperson, and worry they forged my signature. Please help me.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $1010 that I paid them.

Business Response: When we arrived at the home the gate was not wide enough for the spa to go thru the opening.  Our delivery crew offered to remove a section of fence to accommodate the spa but told his girlfriend we cannot be held responsible for the fence.  She said she needed to call Mr. *******.  He said to come back the next day (Saturday) when he was home.  Unfortunately we already had two deliveries on Saturday.  We offered to come back on Tuesday to redeliver but Mr. ******* said no, I want to cancel my order. Mr. ******* signed the PreDelivery sheet that clearly states that the spa needs to be on a flat level surface and we do not shim.  **** the salesman said Mr. ******* took several minutes to read the PreDelivery sheet before signing and we have not nor did we forge his signature.  This is a serious accusation and is not to be taken lightly.  We have been in business over 30 years and have never forged a signature.  We stand ready to redeliver his spa or as contract states he has the right to cancel with a 25% cancellation fee. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

On the Thursday that delivery came to my house, I was not present, because their salesperson, ****, assured me that

1. The unit would fit through a standard wooden fence gate.

2. The delivery would include complete set-up, to include all chemicals and electrical connection to my panel.

3. That the delivery crew would use some hardiplank siding that I had to compensate for the (less than 1 inch) grade on the
concrete pad.

When the delivery crew arrived my girlfriend called me and stated that the men had an attitude towards her, looked as if it was their
first time working together because they kept arguing about every little detail with one another.  She stated that they were treating her in a chauvinistic and condescending manner, and told her that they would take the fence down, but would likely break it in the process, and
that they would did not have enough time to connect it, shim it, or attempt to put the pane back because they were behind schedule.  That is when I told her not to accept delivery.  At that point, the delivery crew threatened my girlfriend to charge $85 unless she accepted delivery (more  attempted extortion by Sweetwater).  I called to complain, and after several days of not having my phone calls returned, management (*****) told me that they do not touch fences, or shim the unit, because that would void the warranty, leaving me without the 2-yr parts and labor promised as part of the sale.  There was talk of possible Saturday delivery, but that was a conversation with their employee Melissa, who kept telling me that ***** would call me back whenever I complained about their delivery men’s inappropriate behavior towards my girlfriend.  When ***** finally returned my call, she began unraveling their unfair and deceitful practices.

It is untrue that **** read the pre-delivery sheet.  When I last saw ****, I was called into the store, and told that the Credit Union had approved my application and I needed to sign a couple of more documents for the bank, and bring $10 to open an account with San Antonio Credit Union. 
He told me that I needed to hurry if I wanted delivery the following week, because he needed to bring everything to their office at 707 ***** ******* Road.  I was under the impression, that the final paperwork would be signed upon the unit being delivered and installed; I would never sign for something prior to getting what I was promised.  If I signed anything stating that the pad had to be 100% leveled or that I would have to alter my fence, it was passed to me deceitfully as part of the financing paperwork.

Before walking into Sweetwater I considered purchasing used spas for a fraction of the price of theirs, or even buying a brand new one exactly like the one I tried to purchase from them from Wayfair.com, which would save me over $1000 and include delivery.  The only reason why I was willing to pay what Sweetwater Hot Tubz charges, is because I was guaranteed 2-yr parts and labor, delivery to my backyard and complete set-up; if I had any idea that there would be any preparation work required for the delivery, I would have been present, and would not have left my girlfriend to accept delivery.

Sweetwater Hot Tubz is trying to extort $4000 + interest and tax by forcing this sale, while requiring additional labor and voiding the warranty.  I can get the deal they’re offering me off of the classified ads for thousands less.  This is an egregious and shameless attempt to defraud a  customer.

I request all copy of every paper they claim has my signature on it, to see if they forged it, as I suspect.  

Regards,

******** *******

Business Response: We are including copies of the paperwork that Mr. ******* signed.  Line item #6 on Pre Delivery Sheet states that we do not shim, the tub weighs over 4,000 lbs.  With this kind of weight and it being shimmed it can void the warranty of the tub due to the structure not being evenly supported.  Under the delivery requirements it states it is the customers responsibility to provide us access to yard.  Also the second trip is an additional charge.  Our delivery crew makes several deliveries a week and work very hard to install the product safely and without incident.  When they foresee a problem they alert the customer of the potential issues.  That was done in this case.  In addition we are willing to reschedule for another day giving the customer more time to have the site ready.  We still stand ready and willing to make that happen.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have no recollection of seeing this paper prior to today.  The signature on it is sloppy and although it resembles mine, I do not believe I signed this paper.  The only paperwork that I signed at their store was for financing purposes with San Antonio Federal Credit Union.

I wanted to purchase a hot tub from Sweetwater Hot Tubz because I was promised full delivery and set up, plus a two year warranty for parts and labor.  I would not have agreed to purchase their product, knowing that the pad it was going on would have voided the warranty (due to the grade).  I would not have left my girlfriend to accept delivery, knowing that the fence had to be taken off.  The company's salesperson promised one thing, and the day their delivery personnel came, something else was offered.

I demand a full refund of my $1010.

Regards,

******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There Was excessive Confusion Regarding this company’s Pricing, servicing and billing of A Replacement Cover For Our Hot Tub. They never clearly told us The Total Price. They Insisted On Quoting Separate Components…AND NEVER THE TOTAL COST. When We Received An Envelope From Them- (7/1/2013) It Contained Separate bills. Since Some Of The Invoice/Statements Appear To Be Duplicates We Have No Idea What Is The Amount They Wish Paid. This Is An Example Of What We Faced In The “Pricing” Phase Of This Project. It Appears That The Total Amount Due MAY be Over $700. If We Had Known This We Never Would Have Had The work done. Further, When we notified them that the work may have been improperly performed and that we wanted them to inspect it- they said there would be an additional charge to drive the 57 miles to Wimberley to inspect or repair their work. As the $105. Charge was being discussed, they offered to split the cost with us…then informing me that the total cost to be split would be $190. I’m not sure how to categorize this: bait and switch? With their various actions they may have violated sections of The Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Consumer Protection Act. This company has our credit card on file (as we have regularly purchased chemicals from them) so I am checking the box that this has been paid with a credit card. HOWEVER, in speaking with them this morning (7/3) they now say that they do NOT have our credit card on file. This business does not seem to be living up to the code agreed on with businesses receiving Better Business Bureau ratings. We Will Never Do Business With This Outfit Again and we want other consumers to beware of this company and their questionable business practices.

Desired Settlement: We wish to receive a simple statement declaring the amount owed. We further wish to have the work that was performed inspected by this company at their expense. We wish to have necessary adjustments made to the hot tub cover also at their expense. The original cover was installed by this company in 2007, the replacement cover (under dispute) was installed on 6/12/13. If any portion of the original installation was defective or improperly installed, that work was done and approved by Sweetwater. (the current vinyl fabric seems under stress on one side and will break again).

Business Response: Mrs. ****** had called on 05/13/13 and had spoken to ******* in regards spa cover pricing and pricing for delivery and repair to the lift and at that time had decided to wait and she just ordered chemicals.  On 05/30/13 she spoke to ***** and was again given all the pricing associated with the spa cover and delivery. The prices she was quoted were consistent with prices she had been quoted on 05/13/13.  If they were not consistent why would she have scheduled us to come out and do the work?   
On 05/30/13 Mrs. ****** requested the spa cover to be ordered and put it on and fix her damaged cover lift.  We told her that when we got out there we would make a determination whether to repair it or replace it.  In her phone call with ***** she was told that she would be billed for the cover ($331.20) and the remaining would be billed ($144.00 for delivery and trip charge, plus any parts or labor for the lift) at the time in which services were provided at her place of residence.
On 06/12/13 we delivered the cover, chemicals and looked at the cover lift.  The tech had told the customer to replace the cover lift but the customer did not want to pay for a new one and told the tech just to replace the parts on the old one.  We replaced the cover lift shocks at the customers request; everything was operating to the customer’s approval when we left.  Mr. ****** was the one that was present when the work was completed.  We would not have left the job if the customer was not happy with the work.
Nothing in their complaints have stated that the hot tub lift is not operational, and they also  stated that the lift looks the same as it did before when it was working (during the 6 years of service).  We told the customer we would take the price of the shocks that they were charged ($129.80) and apply that towards the price of a new lift ($399.95 plus tax) and that the trip charge and the one hour of labor is a total of $190 ($105 trip charge plus $85 labor) but that we would meet the customer half way at $95, for a total of $398.15 to replace the lift.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:   Our complaint is NOT about what weowed!  But about the fact there is a
small (hard to see) area of the cover that’s definitely stressed and will probably come apart, but they refuse to
come see their installation unless we pay them to do so.  We have never encountered a company who
wouldn’t back up their work. After all, we had been doing business with them
for years and certainly thought we could trust them.   We did notify them in a timely manner the following morning (the work was
completed late the evening before) when we could take photos of the section inquestion; anyone can plainly see  what we
are talking about. (Also we have no idea what a “cover lift” is or does, we did NOT tell them to replace it, nor were we told it needed replacing!  We were told the shocks needed to be replaced by the technician and willingly paid for them. If there is anything wrong with
the lift apparatus these people installed it in the first place.)

Though the above-mentioned is our bottom line complaint, this company  presents their costs in a sloppy, confusing and somewhat deceptive manner.   Neve did we hear the TOTAL amount due (but rather cost of one thing or another), and here are only a couple of examples; 1. Since we never received a bill, we phoned to ask what we owed so we
could write a check, and since ***** wasn’t able to come to the phone, the person went to ask her; upon return she said it was in the $300 range!  That is what ***** had told her to tell us.  When we finally spoke with ***** she said it was over $700…and that was the ONLY time she ever mentioned the bottom line.  If she had mentioned the total price from the
beginning, we would NOT have replaced the cover this year!  We don’t know why she was always unwilling to give us a TOTAL price—even into the billing phase, which brings us to Example 2:  We requested a bill be sent and when
it arrived (originally sent to wrong address and then resent) it gave the amount $300 range!  If it had arrived when originally sent, we would have thought that is what was owed.  They re-sent that bill stuffed in with other invoices that we owed.  Of course we can
use a calculator, but no company should expect a customer to add up the various costs when requesting a bill for what is owed!  CONFUSING, YOU BET!  
And on a lesser fact: we DO have an UP-TO-DATE credit card on file with them, despite the fact ***** claimed we didn’t. 





 

 

 



Regards,

**** ******





























Business Response: We will be willing to go back out and look at the installation.  If it wasn't installed properly there will be no charge, if there is no problem found with the installation there will be a charge of $90.00. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The complaint falls into three areas. One: Unclear or deceptive bidding. Two: Unclear billing. Three: Indifferent service. This is like going to a restaurant where the waiter quotes one price when ordering- then you receive another price on the completion of your meal. That we have had to file a complaint with the BBB should speak volumes about this companies dealing with us as customers. Their response does not deal with complaints one or two, and regarding their willingness to come out and inspect the work and if THEY judge the previous work to be properly done then we owe them for a service call? ALL work done on this unit- whether in original installation- or in the most recent installation was done by this company. If the work was incorrectly installed- this company did it. Further we no longer have any trust in this company and chose not to continue to do business with them. The reason we are filing this report is to make sure that other consumers have the information to decide for themselves whether to do business with this company.
 

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

2/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable