This business is not BBB accredited.

Discount Roofing

5612 Grissom Rd, San Antonio, TX 78238 http://www.discountroofing.us


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Effective Feburary 5, 2016, Discount Roofing's BBB Accreditation Status was suspended due to failure to respond to one or more consumer complaints. This company will be presented to our BBB Board of Directors on February 18, 2016 for formal review. BBB will provide more information at that time. 


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Discount Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department
1901 S Alamo St, San Antonio TX 78204
http://www.sanantonio.gov/dsd/plans_permits.asp
Phone Number: (210) 207-1111

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Rick Ellis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Ellis, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing

Alternate Business Names
Discount Roofing and Remodeling
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5612 Grissom Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78238

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/1/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Discount Roofing replaced my roof in August 2014. The contract was for 30-year shingle, 25 Year Material, and 5 year workmanship. The total cost was $11,172.00. Since June, 2015 I have been home all the time and in October I noticed that the roof leaks when it rains. I am not sure how soon after the job was completed that the roof began to leak. I spoke with the owner Rick Ellis on the phone a few times and sent several text messages. He initially said he would have someone come out that next weekend. When nobody showed up or called I again attempted several times to call him until he finally answered. He then said he would have somebody call me that same afternoon. I never received a call. The sad part about Discount Roofing's workmanship is that I now have leaks where I never did before spending the $11,172.00.

Desired Settlement: If he does not want to fix the problem then he should refund me my money so that I can hire a different roofing company to do the job right.

10/12/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our roof replaced by Discount Roofing about 3 years ago. Our contract guarantees the roof for 10 years and the materials for 20 years. The roof began to leak approximately 3 months ago. We called immediately and it took 5 days to get someone out, during which damage to the ceiling and wall accumulated. The roofers came by, immediately identified the area of issue (that there wasn't appropriate tar under some shingles, per the worker). They fixed the roof. I asked about fixing the inside damage and the worker stated he would need to speak to his boss. Since that time, we have called approximately twice a week to Discount Roofing (For about 2 months). Two weeks ago, the "boss" called and stated he would call us the next week to come out and look at the problem. We haven't heard anything since, despite additional calls to their office.

Desired Settlement: According to our insurance company, USAA, the Discount Roofing contract (which we can provide on request) guarantees the roof for 10 years and the company should therefore be responsible for repairs inside the house. We want them to fix the ceiling and walls that were damaged by the leak through their roof.

Business Response:

Discount Roofing 

Ok I was out there and I found a leak on the metal portion  of the Roof.

I sealed it for the home owner and he was up set that it didn't get a new Roof... 

I told the home owner that we could replace that section of metal roofing when we Roof the main house.. .. the home owner said the metal section was done not to long ago...  and it was ok.

The problem is on that section of the roof...

My repair man sealed it at no cost to the homeowner. 

Tell them to send you a copy of the contract..

And read the print in the bottom left..

We sealed the metal roof section  and I don't mind helping any homeowner ... I think the issues is in the inside on the drywall

Something  my company  doesn't  do... 

We stand by our work 100% .

And sometimes  even work we didn't  do... 

We go beyond  and above  to work with all costumers. .

And I'm still willing to work with them...

If you got a copy of the contract  can you send it to me.

Tks ..

**** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

In response to Mr. *****:
 First, Mr. ***** has not been out to our house to look at the damage. He promised to come out over the phone then stopped returning calls. His statement that he has been out here is a lie. 

 Second, we did not ask for a replacement roof, only that the leaking area be fixed. The statement regarding the "main house" is confusing, as we had our entire roof replaced. I wonder if he is confusing our house for another job that was also botched.

 Third, we called when a leak appeared. It took several days for the company to send a repair man (Homer). During that time, MORE damage occurred to the inside of our house due to the leak in the roof. I have attached the roofing contract which, in the middle in bold print, states that the work is guaranteed for leaks for 10 years. I feel that the damage from this leak should be fixed by Discount Roofing given that they have admitted that their defective work caused the damage.

I feel that a business who is accredited by the BBB should at the very least respond to customer calls and follow-up on promises (such as the one Mr. ***** made to come examine the damage and discuss repairs with us).

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

Thank you I got the contract. .

Is the roof still leaking ...

I will go out myself if it is leaking ..

If it is leaking on the section we replaced I will fix ..

And if it not I still will repair the leak..

As for any inside damage.

 As stated in the contract 

Discount Roofing  is not liable  for any damage  due to current of future  leaks..