Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Action Roofing & Remodeling

Phone: (210) 650-4559 Fax: (210) 824-4559 8546 Broadway St Ste 238, San Antonio, TX 78217 http://www.actionroofingandremodeling.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing and remodeling services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Action Roofing & Remodeling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Action Roofing & Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Action Roofing & Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 10, 1996 Business started: 10/10/1996 Business started locally: 10/10/1996 Business incorporated 11/25/1996 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department
1901 S Alamo St, San Antonio TX 78204
http://www.sanantonio.gov/dsd/plans_permits.asp
Phone Number: (210) 207-1111

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Clarkson, Owner Ms. Michelle Machado , Office Manager Ms. Theresa Skrobanek, V P
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Clarkson, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Siding Contractors Bathroom Remodeling Windows - Installation & Service Windows Carpenters

Alternate Business Names
San Antonio Action Roofing and Remodeling, Inc.
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 8546 Broadway St Ste 238

    San Antonio, TX 78217 (210) 650-4559

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've had a terrible experience with Action Roofing. Communication with them has been terrible throughout the process and has only gotten worse. This is my first time buying a home and my home inspector suggested that due to signs of leaking and other obvious signs of damage I should have a professional roofer come have a look. Action Roofing came out and gave me a quote. We arranged with the sellers to deduct the quoted price from the cost of the home. Once we purchased the home, we had Action Roofing do the work. About a week after the "repairs" were made, there was a rain storm and water came into the home - damaged the paint on the wall in our bathroom in two places (one of them quite large) and leaked through the ceiling in our kitchen below. I contacted **** ******** and he said there was no way for them to know that there was a leak. I pointed out in the home inspection (which I had provided a copy to him prior to his trip out) and I showed him what I found in the attic - where it was clear to me that water has come through. He sent someone out to seal around the pipes that stick out the top of the roof (which I was told should have been done already) and we've had several storms since and though it's less, we've still continued to get water in our home. The initial repairs cost $750, but after the rain storm, I asked the Mr. ******** what he recommends we do - he quoted me an additional $850 to properly repair the roof. I've tried several times to get him to work with me on the cost, but all he does is change the scope to lower the cost... I don't see how doing LESS than what he said is necessary will help. I've asked him to give some concession on the cost seeing as how this was their oversight, but now, Mr. ******** has completely stopped responding to my emails. I am VERY displeased with the work, lack of response, and frankly complete lack of professionalism and accountability that Action Roofing has shown in this matter. We've since had another roofing company out and they looked at what has been done and said that it would not hold up and they were not surprised that we were continuing to get water in the home. I'm likely going to have to pay another company to fix what Action Roofing was unable to fix. To make matters worse, the company that I've had out since tells me that composite roofs in San Antonio don't generally last longer than 15 years and that's the age of our roof. I'm very angry that I was NEVER told that by Action Roofing prior to having these repairs made. Action Roofing has failed to properly assess my needs, repair my roof, or respond to my emails. I've found it nearly impossible to talk to Mr. ******** over the phone.

Desired Settlement: I'd love it if Action Roofing would pay to repair the damages that have resulted from the failure to properly repair my roof. I no longer trust them to make any repairs themselves and would like to use another company to do the repairs properly.

Business Response: DATE: 8-5-13

REF: Order Number *****/******* ** *********

This letter is to respond to the BBB complaint:

We received a request from ******* ********* to provide him an estimate for repairs to his roof. We told him when he called that we could not get out to his home for two weeks as we were booked from the recent rains. 

Mr. ********* said he was in a time crunch because he was purchasing his house and needed an estimate immediately for closing. He said he had an inspection report from a licensed home inspector and wanted us to do an estimate referring to the suggestions from the inspector (please see report attached) which we do the same for many other homeowners, including numerous realtors. He forwarded the report and we sent an estimate with the items noted from the inspection report (please see our estimate attached matching the report).

Contrary to what Mr. *********** letter states, that we came and inspected the roof beforehand is in­accurate. As noted above, we simply replied back to the items listed on the inspection report without physically inspecting the roof. We performed the repairs according to the inspection report.

After it rained Mr. ********* called and said water came into his house. I personally went to his house and sealed two pipes after he called. Afterwards I told him that if it were my house, I would install lead pipes
because the plastic ones that builders use don't last and crack. He asked for a price to do this and I gave him a price of $850.00 for the pipes along with some decking that would be changed out. He thought the price was too high.

We are not willing to pay for another company to change out the pipes to lead pipes. What we are willing to do is to change them ALL to lead pipes and the decking for NO CHARGE. We are not stating that we didn't do the initial repairs according to the inspection report however, what we are saying is that we are willing to make the situation right for Mr. ********* and make him happy.

Please note that is not the inspector that suggested new pipes, merely only to seal them which we did. It was Action Roofing that simply suggested long-term it may be a good idea. Remember, as noted above. We did not inspect the roof initially and that was told up front to Mr. ********* when he made the decision to just forward the report in the beginning.

We look forward to resolving this issue fairly and in a mutually respectful way.

Should Mr. ********* like for us to perform this repair, please have him simply give us a call or email Action Roofing & Remodeling and we will gladly complete the repairs

Regards,

******* ********, President

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Unfortunately, my trust in Action Roofing & Remodeling has reached a new low. When I initially spoke with Mr. ******** over the phone, he made no mention of being booked up. He said that he could make it out to inspect the roof in our timeframe (which was admittedly a small window of under 2 weeks). During my conversation with him, he never implied that he would be going only off of the home inspection report. To the contrary, on the phone and in email, he told me that he would come inspect the roof.

The whole reason I needed this done quickly was because I was in my option period and the home inspection report stated that I needed to seek the assistance of a professional licensed roofer to verify the integrity of the roof.

Mr. ******** asked me over the phone to forward him a copy of the house inspection report as it would aid him in the process. Wanting him to have every bit of information possible, I obliged. My understanding from our conversation was that the inspection report would help highlight the problem areas, but it was never said that it would be used in lieu of a physical inspection.

In the email I sent to Mr. ******** dated May 2, 2013 at 6:29PM, I attached the inspection report. I was expecting to get a response from him telling me when he would be out to inspect the roof. I sent another email on May 4, 2013 at 10:27AM. My message said:

*******,

I wanted to confirm that you received the inspection report and see if you would be available to check out our roof early in the week?

 

Thanks!

That same day at 2:12PM, I received a response from Mr. ******** that stated “Yes I will.”

I replied on May 5, 2013 at 4:09PM with “Sounds good. When should I inform the sellers that you will be out there?

He replied the same day at 12:08PM with “Some time on Monday.”

I replied informing him that I would let the owners know.

On Monday, May 6, 2013 at 3:34pm I received the quote for repairs from Mr. ********. I presumed that he had been honest with me and actually came out to the house and inspected the roof. Trusting that he had properly inspected the roof, we negotiated with the sellers to deduct the cost of repairs from the cost of the home and once we moved in, we scheduled with Action Roofing to come out and do the repairs.

After the repairs were completed, we had water leak into our home and when I asked Mr. ******** what we needed to do to insure it didn't happen again, he recommended the additional $850 worth of work. $850 worth of work that I’m sure he would have recommended up front had he inspected the roof like he said he would. In fact, I get the feeling that he would have recommended a completely new roof had he actually done the inspection in the first place. In that event, I would have been able to provide the larger estimate to the sellers during my option period and use it to negotiate down the cost of the home. I believe that Mr. ********’s failure to follow through on the inspection has cost me in two fold. First, I could have had the excess costs of repairs or replacement of the roof deducted from the cost of the home. Second, if the roof had been properly repaired, I would not have had damage done to my sheetrock and paint when water leaked into the home during the storms that occurred after Action Roofing performed their work.

I tried to negotiate with Mr. ******** several times to remedy this issue but he stopped responding to me altogether.

I feel like Mr. ******** completely misrepresented his estimate as having been the result of a physical examination of the roof. I am dissatisfied with the work that has been done because we still got water in our home during the last rain. The minimum necessary resolution to this dispute is a full refund of the $750 that we spent on the initial service. Money that we spent believing the roof had been inspected and that it was the professional opinion of Action Roofing that no further work was necessary. I would also like for Action Roofing to pay for repairs to my sheetrock. I’m planning to re-paint the bathroom and kitchen eventually, so I’m not as worried about the paint. As for the roof repairs, I don’t feel comfortable with Action Roofing doing any more work on my home. I would prefer to use an alternative company.


Regards,

******* *********

Business Response: DATE: 8-14-13

TO: BBB

REP BOB Complaint #*******

Response from Action Regarding the complaint number above:

We can go back and forth on what went wrong however at the point it is more important to resolve this matter and/or move forward. I apologize for any miscommunication on my part. I felt we communicated until the end via email.  Our offer still stands should you want us to come over to your home and install new lead pipes at no charge.

If you would rather not communicate with me, I will completely understand as ******* *********, V.P. will make sure that the work gets done to your satisfaction.

Thank you. We look forward to resolving this matter in a mutually and respectful way. 

Regards,

******* ********, President

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Before I found out that Action Roofing had mislead me in regards to inspecting my roof, I had offered to pay $400 for the repairs that they are now offering to me for free. That was before I lost faith in their ability to repair my roof and before they stopped responding to my emails. I am not willing to accept services from a company that has mislead me and betrayed my trust.

I never refused to pay for Action Roofing to repair my roof. I only wanted them to work with me on the cost since I felt like they had overlooked something during their inspection. However, now that I know it wasn’t a mistake, but an outright betrayal of my good faith, I no longer want their service (paid or free).

I’ve had another roofing company assess our roof and they pointed out that the sealant around our pipes, applied by Action Roofing, was not properly applied. They also noted a number of other issues that should have been pointed out to us during the initial assessment that I was promised by Action Roofing.

Ultimately, the other company recommends that we either spend $2700 to properly repair the roof, which will likely last 2 more years (once repaired), or replace the entire roof now for $7700.

What Action Roofing can do is refund me the $750 I paid for services that I was misled to believe would make my roof whole. I will not be satisfied with anything less than a full reimbursement.


Regards,

******* *********