Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kessling Services

Phone: (361) 857-6789 Fax: (361) 225-4481 4437 Dolphin Place, Corpus Christi, TX 78411 http://kesslingservices.com/home


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Real Estate Sales & Management


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kessling Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kessling Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Kessling Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1974 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1974
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Insurance
333 Guadalupe St, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tdi.texas.gov
Phone Number: (800) 252-3439

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Joseph John Kessling, Owner/Broker Ms. Laura Morin, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph John Kessling, Owner/Broker
Customer Contact: Ms. Laura Morin, Manager
Business Category

Real Estate Real Estate Services Insurance Companies Insurance Agency Insurance - Fire & Flood Specialists Insurance - Health Insurance - Medicare Services Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Insurance - Rental Insurance - Property

Alternate Business Names
AA Insurance Kessling Management

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kessling Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4437 Dolphin Place

    Corpus Christi, TX 78411 (361) 857-6789

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am renting a property under the management of this company and was led to believe the property was in livable conditions which it is not. There are major repairs that need to be done and I have been more than patient and allowed more than two weeks to pass without any of these repairs being made. I typed out a list of repairs and turned it in to Kessling Services on February **, 2014 as of yet February **, 2014 none of the repairs have been made nor have I been contacted or given an estimated time frame the repairs would be done. There is molding and mildew all over the unit. There are holes in the wall and I can feel the wind from outdoors blowing through them. I requested to have the holes from the previous tenant sealed and painted over and I was told that I could paint it myself. I have had out of pocket expenses to have the unit repaired to a livable condition and that is not a part of our lease agreement.

Desired Settlement: I would like most of the repairs I requested taken care of.

Business Response: We adamantly deny the allegations brought forth by this resident.  The property in which she has moved into is in fact very livable both now and at the point in which she moved in. It is a small one bedroom apt that has been consistently occupied prior to her move in. While it is not in immaculate condition, it is both livable and comfortable.  Oftentimes we find when residents do not like the responses they might get from us, with reference to things they deem necessary, this sometimes causes them to find ways to try and get a different response via reporting false or exaggerated complaints against us.

There were and still are absolutely no major repairs needed to this apartment.  The biggest 'cosmetic' repair would have been painting the interior, which was not necessary and absolutely did not affect the livability of the property.  Still we agreed to paint the interior, however it was a low priority given other work request stemming from electrical issues to security issues. Because the resident called daily regarding the painting, we offered to supply the paint if she wanted to do the painting on her own. She agreed to do so and on 2/**/14 we issued her a check in the amount of $29.74 which reimbursed her for the receipt she turned in to our office for the cost of the paint.

The resident also alleged there was mold and mildew in the bedroom closet. It was stressed to us the mildew was throughout the closet interior and that there was no way her clothes could be hung in there.  She requested we removed the carpet from the floor and remove the mildew from the walls. If you will refer to the attachments you will see a picture of the closet after the carpet was removed. Please make note to the walls of the closet. Though the walls are a little dingy, you will not see mildew throughout the entire closet.  This was a made up story once again to get a response because she was unhappy with the answers she was already getting.  When this picture was taken, maintenance had already been out to the property twice before to check for mildew. The floor did have evidence of moisture so maintenance addressed that issue immediately. As far as there being mold/mildew throughout the apartment, we adamantly deny that allegation.  We have been in business 40yrs and we have never and will never run our business that way. 

It was stated we were provided with a list of repairs that were typed and presented to our office on 2/**.  This is also a false statement. Our office has not received any such list of repairs typed or otherwise from the resident. We have expressed this to her and still we are not in receipt of any such list.

We did find a small hole in the wall that did allow a small amount of air flow from the outdoors come into the apt. This was never reported to us, we found out through a report she filed with the city of ****** inspectors office.  We immediately scheduled an appt to meet with the inspector at the property.  Once we met with him, he apologized for the wording in his notice to us.  After meeting with the inspector, the only thing we are required to do is replace a cpl of missing window screens. Though we have 30 days to complete this request we have already issued a work order for the work to begin. 

If you will make note to the other three attachments provided with my response, you will see the property appears to be a comfortable and livable place to call home. 

It is our belief the statements and comments presented by this resident have been exaggerated to appear more urgent than they are. We would never intentionally compromise the health and safety of our tenants. We've been in business a very long time, and had we allowed these allegations to take place would simply not be worth the risk to our business or our reputation. 

Because the inspectors report/meeting acknowledged there are no major repairs needed, we have decided to allow the resident to remain in the property under her current lease. If she chooses to vacate the premises at this time she will be in violation of her current lease agreement.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Kessling Services
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart