BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management services, rentals, and real estate sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Armadillo Properties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Armadillo Properties include:

  • 16 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Armadillo Properties include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Armadillo Properties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 15, 2005 Business started: 05/05/2003 in TX Business started locally: 05/05/2003 Business incorporated: 09/16/2008 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Denise Zehr, Co-Owner Mr. Greg Ruehlen, General Manager Denise Zehr, Realtor/CoOwner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Greg Ruehlen, General Manager
Principal: Mrs. Denise Zehr, Co-Owner
Business Category

Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals Real Estate Property Management

Method(s) of Payment
NO CASH
Service Area
This company offers rental Properties throughout the Fort Hood communities.
Alternate Business Names
Exit Heart of Texas Realty The Zehr Team
Additional Information

This company offers residential and commercial property management services, rentals, and real estate sales representing buyers and sellers.


Additional Locations

  • 2602 E Highway 190

    Copperas Cove, TX 76522

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to start by stating that I am 39 years old and have been in the **** for 18 years and have never had any problems like this before in my entire life. With that said we rented a house in ******** **** ***** from Armadillo properties while we were stationed in Fort Hood. When we moved in we made a deposit of $800, and completed the form to identify the problems with the quarters. Some of the problems that we identified were stains in all the carpets upstairs, the walls were scratched, carpet pulling away from the walls and door jams, seams in carpet separating, back porch door destroyed, window blinds broke in multiple windows, screens ripped in several windows, Front door scratched, back door scratched, holes in the yard, fence bent among six pages full of other problems with the house. We moved into the house during the month of July 2011with the understanding that we were not responsible for the past damage and moved out due to PCS March 2014. During the time we lived there we had a flood that was due to a water line in the wall between the garage and the living room. Armadillo sent a crew that fixed the leak and did a horrible job patching the wall, another crew that dried the carpet and refused to replace it even though it was wore out and mildewed. We made several complaints about the condition of the carpet that went ignored. During the time we lived there we damaged one thing and that was the toilette paper holder in the master bathroom, because my wife slipped and grabbed it on her way to the ground. The things that we should have had to pay for besides the toilette paper holder and the damage it caused to the wall which was minimal, was curtains for the living room, we accidently allowed the packers to pack them and a couple pieces of wood that we left behind in the yard. The reason the wood was there is because the fence was so poor we had to use the wood to block holes so our dog didn’t get out. We put a pet deposit down for the pet as well. When we moved out we hired S****** ******* to clean all the carpets, and a professional cleaner to clean the house. My wife keeps a spotless house and we treat a house that we rent like our own. We took great care of the home while we lived there and left it in better condition than when we moved in. I am sure if you talked to my former neighbors they would agree to all of the above. Anyway we received a bill for 2037.60 that included Armadillo properties cleaning the carpets that were cleaned by a professional company and we provided them with the receipt from S****** ******* ( which they recommended ), We disputed the charge and they sent it to a legal firm in New York. We have talked to the firm and have got it lowered to $969. We have asked the firm several times for a itemized list and he said he does not have a itemized list. I have a hard time believing that three curtains, damage from the toilette paper holder and picking up about three pieces of wood cost $969. I guess we will pay the money because we don’t want it to reflect on our credit report and because I am deployed and have better things to do for our country than argue with a dishonest Company. I really feel like we got scammed on this deal. Thank the lord it is only money that this dishonest company swindled us out of. I wonder if they are cheating me, how many other soldiers are being cheated out of their hard earned money. If you would like a copy of any of the documents for your investigation please let me know.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like for the company to justify the charges and when I prove that they were existing damages except for the damages I mentioned I would like to have my money back. I would also like the guarantee that no other Soldier or Civilian ever gets treated in such a despicable manner by this Company.

Business Response:

*** * **** ********

We have finished reviewing the disputed items, including pre-move-in inspection and work orders, your own inventory and condition form completed at move in, work orders and mid-term inspections completed during your tenancy, and our move out inspection photos and written report. Your complaint is very vague on why you do not believe you should be charged for anything other than a toilet paper holder, some curtains, and some wood left in the back yard. Therefore, we reviewed every charge against your security deposit. Our findings are as follows:

PROBLEMS NOTED DURING MOVE IN: Our landlord’s Rules and Regulations booklet gives specific instruction on what to do if a tenant discovers problems during the move in process. For cleaning issues, they have 48 hours to request a re-cleaning of any items that do not meet the required standard. After that time, they are assuming full responsibility to ensure the unit meets the required standard at move out. For repair issues, they have 7 days to report existing problems and make a request for repairs. Anything not reported within 7 days is considered to be in good working order.  For pest issues, they have 14 days to report a problem and request the appropriate pest control treatment. After that, the tenant is fully responsible for all required pest control measures. Let me assure you that this property was fully cleaned with stringent standards before you moved in. We also offered you any cleaning touch up that you put in written request for us to come back and do.   Simply writing down some cleaning issues on your walk through form does not constitute a written request.  Tenants often document all sorts of things on their personal walk thru, that in fact, may or may not exist.  If they do not request any further cleaning, we deem the property to be in good order and will bill the tenant for any cleaning they did not complete at the time of their move out.  There are many different cleaning standards of people that you might hire to do cleaning. Hiring someone to clean does not assure that all cleaning requirements were met.  We note that you were not billed for many items you mention in your complaint but we will do our best to respond to each of the items that you mentioned.

CARPET CONDITION: The home did have a broken water line, which resulted in water damage to the carpet during this tenant’s lease. However, I can find no record of the tenant ever requesting carpet replacement. The only record we have is a note about “separating seams” and you asked us to make note of it in our file, so that you would not be held responsible at move out. We did as you requested, and you were not held responsible for any carpet damage.

WOOD LEFT AROUND FENCE: The chain link fence was installed correctly. The wood you placed was at areas where gates meet and gaps are unavoidable (see attached photos). Tenants may have varying sizes of pets so it would be your responsibility if you feel a pet could escape through the fence. I do not believe this to be an issue because you agree it was your responsibility to remove the wood when you left.

PET DEPOSIT:  You state you left a pet deposit.  A review of the record indicates the pet agreement was altered AFTER it was originally signed. Our policy for every tenant is to charge a one time, non-refundable pet fee of $250 per animal. We do not collect pet deposits. You can see on the original pet agreement that two dogs were originally listed and that a non-refundable fee of $500 ($250 per animal) was required. At some point, this agreement was altered with a pen and ink entry, showing a $250 pet deposit. If you take the agreement at face value, including the alteration, the tenant should have paid $500 in non-refundable pet fees, and a $250 pet deposit. Our records indicate that only $250 was paid. Our bookkeeper processed the $250 payment as part of the $500 non-refundable fee. Therefore, it was not applied to the security deposit. Since this appears to be an administrative error on our part, we will consider the $250 to be a refundable pet deposit and credit that amount to your charges.

CLEANING: I have attached several photos, as well as the inspector’s move out notes, that document the condition of the property at move out. These photos clearly document the need for us to order a re-cleaning of the unit. Additional cleaning was required to meet the move out checklist standard and you were billed accordingly. Please understand that due to file size restrictions, it is impossible to send all of the over 580 high resolution photos taken during the move out inspection. Original photos are available for review at our offices.

CARPET CLEANING: Though you did submit a carpet cleaning receipt, the inspector noted the carpets were not cleaned according to our standard. Our standard is explained in the landlord’s rules and regulation book. Since you had provided this receipt, we required our maintenance manager to personally verify the inspector’s findings, prior to our ordering the re-cleaning of the carpets. The maintenance manager’s personal inspection of the carpets confirmed that they were not properly cleaned and smelled badly of pet urine; especially in the upstairs hallway. Our move out instructions clearly state that if carpets are not cleaned to standard, we will re-clean them at tenant expense.

GENERAL REPAIRS: See attached worksheet for a complete list of make ready repairs required at move out. This is our internal invoice from the field technician to our bookkeeping department. Every item on this invoice is researched and scrutinized to determine who will pay for it. Then separate invoices are prepared for the tenant and the property owner, showing only their respective charges. I have furnished this copy so you can see the notes describing why the tenant was charged for specific items. Items marked “TC” were billed to the tenant as new damages. Items marked “OC” were paid for by the property owner as fair wear and tear or previously existing conditions. Though the tenant may have listed some of these items on their move in condition form (blinds specifically), our documentation shows that these items were replaced and were brand new before the tenant moved in. All maintenance charges have been reviewed and appear to have been billed correctly.

COLLECTION EFFORTS: We did send you a closing statement on 4/10/2014 to the forwarding address you gave at move out. This itemized statement gave you 30 days to pay. After not hearing from you, we sent a second letter on 5/16/2014 to the same address, informing you that we would surrender the file to our attorneys if you did not make contact regarding their account within 15 days. This letter further explained that the attorney would add 40% to the balance owed, and that this would be your responsibility to pay as well. Again, after not hearing from you, we surrendered your file to our attorney on 6/20/2014 for further collection efforts. The first time we heard from you was through the BBB complaint you filed, followed the day after by correspondence from the Fort Hood Housing Office restating the same complaint received by the BBB.

We do a have a thorough dispute process that was available to you and we would have been happy to review your charges and make any necessary adjustments, without the need for BBB or Fort Hood Housing’s involvement.  I am uncertain why you state you never received an itemized bill.  You were sent this itemization in your final closing statement and again when we sent the demand letter giving you 15 days to respond. Further, the attorney that handles our collections has a copy of the itemized list and could easily have provided one to you. Lastly, the attorney office is in Florida, not New York as you have stated.

SUMMARY: Aside from the administrative error regarding the pet deposit/fee, it appears that all charges levied against you were applied properly. The pet fee error remains a mystery, as we have no proof of who altered the original agreement, and the individuals who worked in our property management office at that time are no longer employed here. That said, we are happy to accommodate your expectation that this was a deposit, and will credit that amount to your charges as stated above. Please let us know if there are any further questions or concerns relating to this matter, as we are eager to settle this account.

**** ******* ********* ****** * ******* *******
Armadillo Properties
************

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We were told at the time of move in that we had seven days to prepare the pre-move-in inspection as far as for work orders we were told that anything we wanted fixed we would have to request a work order. We were not told that we would be held responsible if it was reported in a work order. When we moved in we were told to come by the office and pick up the key, we were never shown the house by a realtor and we never received the landlord’s Rules and Regulations booklet that is described in the text I received from the finding report prepared by Armadillo. You may find it weird that we never had a realtor show us the house and the reason we didn’t is simply because we rented this house off of the internet while stationed in **** ******* **** and never walked in the house until the day we signed for the property. I have read the statement prepared by Armadillo and our dispute on the findings is as follows:

PROBLEMS NOTED DURING MOVE IN: We never received the landlord’s Rules and Regulations booklet as I stated above we simply went by the rules stated in the lease. I was told by a gentleman (**** that worked at Armadillo during the move out process that we had the choice of paying them (armadillo) to clean the house, clean it ourselves or hire a professional to clean it. We were told at the time of move in when we picked up the keys that we had seven days to submit any issues that were found wrong with the property on the form that they provided us with. There was never any talk about us having to submit a work order or we would be responsible for the damages and to my knowledge it does not state that within the lease. I find it absolutely crazy that the Company would say that we had seven days to submit a work order or it would be considered to be in good working order and that we would be responsible especially when the lease we signed did not say anything about being held responsible for those damages that were present prior to move in. If this was the case then why would we be provided with a form to write down all damages, is this forms sole purpose to overwhelm the tenant? As for the comment that stated “hiring someone to clean does not assure that all cleaning requirements were met” I agree to this however we were told on multiple occasions while we were moving out that if we hired S****** ******* we would not be charged for any carpet cleaning. I do however agree that the people we hired to do general cleaning failed and we noted that when we turned over our keys. For the damages, we were billed for all the items that were mentioned in our complaint because we were told of these items while we were trying to dispute with the Company. However we requested several times to receive a clear statement of charges and we never received said statement. This is how I would assume a crooked Company to act or perform while scamming monies from past tenants. After reading I feel that the Company once again failed to respond to each of the items that I mentioned but I will do my best to dispute the finding that I feel are fraudulent.

CARPET CONDITION: I requested several times to the maintenance worker and the management that the carpets please be replaced after the leak, I even sent emails however I can’t recover those said emails.

WOOD LEFT AROUND FENCE: I did not dispute the wood left in the yard. The fence was properly installed however it was bent and in terrible shape. The fence and the wood were not part of the dispute and I even stated that I should be charged for the wood, so I don’t know why this was put in the text. My only assumption is the Company was trying to show that we did something wrong.

PET DEPOSIT: I don’t know how to respond to the pet response, I guess it shows the Company keeps poor records, makes several mistakes and is trying to justify something. We paid what was required during the signing of the lease. However we did lose a dog due to the fence not providing proper protection from a pet getting out hints the wood left behind. The dog that was lost weighed 130 pounds so I would think that will show the problems with the fence. The dog was a loved pet and was hit by a car.

CLEANING: As I stated above, I agree the people we hired for general cleaning did a poor job. We simply did as told and hired a professional to clean the house.

CARPET CLEANING: We hired S****** ******* specifically requested by Armadillo and paid extra for the pet odder removal even though that was not requested. We had complained of pet odder in the hall when we moved in and were told that it is “just the carpets”. The answer is simply we were told to hire S****** *******, we did, they cleaned it, we submitted the receipt.

GENERAL REPAIRS: We noted all of the areas during the move in as stated above. The blinds were never replaced and I would love to see the form that I or my spouse signed showing the replacement or repair of any of the items specifically the blinds. I still haven’t received a list of the maintenance charges so I couldn’t say if they were billed correctly or not my assumption would lean toward “not”.

SUMMARY: I disagree with 90 percent of the findings from the response from Armadillo properties. We have paid what was charged by Armadillo even though we didn’t agree. I will be sure to research businesses in much more detail in the future so that we are not taken advantage of ever again. I cant upload the supporting documents because I am in the **** and currently deployed.



Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

*** * **** ********

Please accept my sincere apology. It appears you have misunderstood some of my response. I did not say that any maintenance items you did not ask us to repair would become your responsibility. This is only true of cleaning and pest control issues. Because of the nature of these items, we must ensure the tenant has a clean slate at move in. If tenants do not report cleaning or pest control issues at move in and ask for them to be corrected, we assume that either everything met the required standard at that time, or the tenant is going to correct them on their own. In both cases, the tenant is responsible to ensure they meet the standard at move out.

With the exception of one window blind, I can assure you that you were not billed for any maintenance repairs where you had listed the item on your inventory and condition form as pre-existing during move in. The whole purpose of the inventory and condition form is for you to document those conditions, so that we will not hold you responsible at move out. As for the blinds, you marked “dirty blinds” in the living room at move in. Our inspector found one blind missing and one broken at move out.  You were billed for these blinds. In Bedroom #2 you listed “Blind Broken” (singular). Our inspector found 2 sets of blinds with missing control rods and end caps. In the master bath, you listed “dirty/chipped” for blinds. Our maintenance tech found these blinds to be broken. There were other blinds replaced at move out for which you were not charged because you had annotated them as broken at move in. This is clearly evident on the invoice I provided with my initial response that listed ALL maintenance charges, including those the property owner paid for. Again, you were not billed for anything that you had listed as pre-existing on your inventory and condition form at move in.

In regards to the Landlord’s Rules and Regulations booklet references; when answering your initial complaint, I observed that it was listed on Page 12, Paragraph 31 as an Addendum to the lease, indicating that you did receive one during the lease signing. Since it is our policy to ensure every tenant receives a copy of this booklet, and since it was listed as an addendum to your lease, I naturally assumed you received one. You say you didn’t, so I will take you at your word. In any event, since you are not disputing the fact that the cleaning was not done correctly, and since I have already clarified our policy on repair items, this is no longer relevant to the discussion. Having said that, I do know that you were also handed a copy of our move out cleaning instructions during the lease signing (copy attached), and that you signed this document acknowledging receipt. This is relevant. At the top of this form, in bold underlined text, it clearly states that if a tenant hires a professional company (carpet or general cleaning), and that company fails to clean to the standard required by the checklist, we will re-clean at tenant expense. So, even if you didn’t get the Rules and Regulations booklet (which expands on this policy), you did get the move out cleaning checklist.

At this point, I am unsure where this leaves us. We acknowledge the carpets were separating at the seams, due to no fault of yours. Our records indicate you sent an email regarding carpets (which I provided), asking us to ensure the condition was annotated in your file. We did so, and you were not billed for any carpet repairs. You were billed for carpet cleaning. The photos I provided clearly show the carpets were not cleaned to standard at move out and needed to be re-cleaned. You acknowledged that the house was poorly cleaned by the people you hired. We had to re-clean and you were billed accordingly. These are our normal procedures for cleaning, as indicated on the cleaning checklist you signed. We acknowledge there was a problem with the pet deposit and we have corrected that error. You are not disputing the wood that was left behind and we have already supplied detailed invoices for all maintenance repairs on multiple occasions; including with my initial response to this complaint. As always, we are happy to address any issues you believe you have been unfairly billed for. I believe we have already done so for each of the items in this dispute. Please let me know specifically what you think we have failed to address and why you feel that way. If we have made mistakes, other than those already corrected, we would like to fix them.

Respectfully,

**** ******** ******** ********* ****** * ******* ******* **** ***** ** ***** ****** * ********* ********** ******* ***** ******** ******* ***** ******** **** ***** ******** **************** ****************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Armadillo Properties sent us an outrageous Statement of charges. I tried multiple times to contact them at get this sorted out, but with no luck. Finally one month later i was able to get a hold of the person to discus the charges. I informed her of the following discrepancies: 1. They are missing our $250 pet deposit. 2. I paid the remainder of my rent via money order right before i left. 3. We contacted them prior to us leave and was instructed that since our lease had expired 2 years prior to us leaving then we didn't have to worry about the clean up. 4. I looked in the folder that was provided to me by Armadillo back in 2010 and I was given the wrong lease. I was told by that lady that they will look in there records and she will get back to me. However the pet deposit that I paid was a fee and not an actual deposit. But the paper work I got clearly says deposit fee. So two months later i get a letter from *******, Price & Stern telling me that my account was been turned over to them to collect payment. They lady never contacted me back about that issues listed above and now I owe this new company approximately $400 more than Armadillo was attempting to collect from me. I refuse to pay either company until my issues can be properly reviewed and adjusted.

Desired Settlement: I wish for them to drop all charges.

Business Response: First, let me say that we require all disputes to be in writing, and we reply to all disputes in writing. This way, everyone has a written record of the claim and findings. We have looked through all our files, emails, etc… and have no record of ever receiving a written dispute from this tenant regarding the charges to their security deposit. Having said that, we are happy to answer the tenant’s questions.

As for the pet deposit, the Pet Agreement signed by the tenant on January 31, 2011 (attached) clearly states that the $250 is a one-time, non-refundable fee. We make it very clear to all tenants that this is not a deposit, and it will not be used in reconciling the tenants account when they move out. It is surrendered forever upon payment.

As for the unpaid rent, our records show that the tenant made a final rent payment of $725 on 12/4/2013 via money order. Unfortunately, the account balance on that date was $956.50. The tenant should have been more than aware that they had unpaid rents on their account. These were the result of unpaid late fees and maintenance charges previously accumulated on their account and converted to rent in accordance with Paragraph 8 of the Residential Lease they signed on 12/30/10. In fact, the tenant has not had a $0 balance on their account since September 12, 2011 (ledger attached).

As for the statement that someone at Armadillo Properties told the tenant they did not have to clean the apartment when they left, this is simply not true. In fact, the tenant was given a copy of the move out cleaning checklist when they signed their lease, and again when they gave their move out notice (attached). I can think of no circumstance that would relieve the tenant of the responsibility to return a property to us in a clean and sanitary condition. Even if there were one, the tenant would be informed in writing, not orally. In accordance with Para. 31 of the Residential Lease, “There are no oral agreements between the Landlord and Tenant. This lease contains the entire agreement between the Landlord and Tenants and may not be changed except by written agreement.” Further, the ease clearly requires the property to be cleaned at move out: Para: 16 A states “Tenant will leave the Property in a clean condition ...” Para: 17 A (1) states “tenant, at tenant’s expense, must: keep the Property clean and sanitary.” Finally, Para: 12 D (10(2) states “the landlord may deduct reasonable charges from the security deposit for…cost for which the tenant is responsible to clean …the property”, which is exactly what we did.

Lastly, we sent the tenant a copy of their final bill (attached) to the forwarding address they provided us when they moved out. After receiving no written response or dispute from them regarding the remaining balance, we sent a second copy to the same address. It was enclosed with a letter (attached) which explained that if they did not contact us within 15 days, we would turn their file over to our attorney for collection efforts. This letter also explained that this would generate an additional fee equal to 40% of the balance owed. Again, we received no written response or dispute from the tenant. Therefore, the file was processed  for collections as stated. Finally, after being contacted by our attorney, the tenant filed this complaint with your organization.

We are very sorry the tenant feels they are being treated unfairly. However, we simply applied the provisions of the lease as we do with all tenants. Every charge is valid, and in accordance with the Residential Lease the tenant signed. We made several attempts to contact the tenant and make payment arrangements before turning the file over to our attorney, with no success. Hopefully, this response will at least give the tenant a better understanding of the charges, as there is not much else we can do for them at this point.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rent a property from Armadillo. My air conditioning went out over the weekend, and I submitted a request Saturday night for repair. I am being told the repair cannot occur until Tuesday. I understand this, however, I requested either a window unit or a hotel room until the A/C is fixed. I did this because I have guinea pigs who cannot live in an environment over 80 degrees. Additionally, due to rain and humidity, my furniture, clothing, and electronics are at risk of being damaged. Furthermore, as the house is at 85 degrees, I cannot use my oven or stovetop to cook without raising the temperature unbearably high. Armadillo Properties refuses to acknowledge that these are unlivable conditions. I picketed their location with a sign stating, "It's 85F in my house. I just want my A/C fixed!", and they called the police rather than trying to handle the complaint civilly. The police informed me there was no justifiable reason for them to be there, so this action can only be seen as harassment. Also, a representative of Armadillo made threatening gestures and communications towards me warning me that "the man" would do what he wanted to me if I didn't leave the public sidewalk.

Desired Settlement: I would like a reduction in rent to cover the cost of a window unit or hotel, an apology for the inappropriate behavior, and a reduction in rent to cover my loss of productivity and use of the property due to the conditions.

Business Response: Tenant submitted the work order via email at 11:38pm on Sunday night (5/11/14). Tenant's work request was processed when we opened for business at 8:30am on Monday (5/12/14) morning. The property is under a home warranty plan through American Home Shield (AHS), meaning we cannot order the work ourselves. AHS hires their own vendors. AHS hired Arctic Air, who called the tenant the same day (5/12/14) to schedule the service call for the morning of 5/13/14. The tenant stated he wanted it serviced immediately. The vendor was not able to comply with this request, so the tenant picketed our office. He was asked to leave and refused, so the police were called. He was never threatened by an employee. The unit was fixed the morning of 5/13/14. This is well within the 5 business days that we give vendors to complete non-emergency repairs. This did not qualify as an emergency, since the outside temperature did not exceed 100 degrees. Even in an emergency situation, it can take up to 24 hours to make the repair. This was done in just over 26 hours from the time we received the work request on Monday morning. We did tell the tenant that he could request whatever compensation he would like, and we would be happy to pass that request along to the property owner. We also informed him that the landlord is under no obligation to honor such a request. Rather than submitting his request through us, the tenant chose to file this complaint with the BBB. We are sorry the tenant was not happy with the level of service we provided. However, we know we did everything we could to get this problem solved as quickly as possible. We are forwarding the tenants desired monetary compensation to the property owner for consideration (as we told him we would before he filed this complaint) and will inform the tenant of the owner's decision when we have it. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It disregards the essential facts of my complaint and shifts blame to the landlord. I requested a winodw unit or a hotel room until the air conditioning was repaired because I could not cook, the high humidity could damage the rental property and my property, and my guinea pigs could not live in the heat. Thus, the home was not able to be used. A window unit is a reasonable compromise as it is low in cost, can adequately remedy the immediate issues, and can be reused in the future at other properties. Furthermore, this is the third time I have had a heating or air conditioning failure at my home. With this in mind, it is beyond reasonable that I be afforded this small convenience.

Important details regarding the exchanges were misrepresented by Armadillo Properties. I called Armadillo at 913 on the 12th and was told I would receive a call in about a half hour. I waited until 130 to call back, and I was told that service would be the next day. I requested same day service and was told I would immediately receive a call back.  Armadillo states that "The vendor was not able to comply with this request," regarding the same day service request. However, ***** informed me he would ask the owner for permission to seek an alternate vendor, not that he would ask vendor for approval. I never got a call back, so an hour later, I called again and offered the compromise of a window unit or hotel. Armadillo's representative personally attacked me by calling my reasoning "shallow" and "immature." Armadillo claims I picketed because I could not get same day service. I was very clear that all I wanted was a window unit or hotel to provide me and my animals a livable environment as well as prevent any moisture damage to the rental property and my property. I ended up having to take the guinea pigs to a pet store to spend the night.

When I picketed, the first action by Armadillo was to confront me with a camera and try to intimidate me into leaving by taking my photograph and telling me, "We already know who you are." This was done and said by a tall, white man in his 50s wearing a red shirt. About 30 minutes after this, he came out again and told me, "You'd better leave before they make you leave." I informed him I was on public property. He told me that "The man doesn't play like that around here. He'll do what he wants with you." I took this as a threat that I was going to be arrested for exercising my rights. I asked if it was a threat, and the employee told me it wasn't. I said it sounded like a threat, and he replied, "You interpret everything incorrectly." It is true that Armadillo asked me to leave, however they had no authority to ask. Their action of bringing the police was an overt act to humiliate me publicly and frighten me into forfeiting my right to protest. Once again, the officer told me that I had broken no laws, so Armadillo's assertion that "He was asked to leave and refused, so the police were called," proves that their action was without merit.

Armadillo's offer to submit my request to the landlord is not enough. Armadillo must take responsibility for its improper actions towards me. Armadillo must also guarantee reasonable compensation for the aforementioned loss of use and productivity. Armadillo complains that I went to the BBB. If Armadillo has a problem with utilizing the service, then they should not seek accreditation. Furthermore, their disproportionate response to my actions has shown that direct dealings with them are fruitless.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response:

It is regrettable that this situation escalated to the level it did so rapidly. While we certainly do empathize with the tenant, we believe we did everything we could to get the problem resolved as quickly as possible. 26 hours from the time we received the work request to the time the repair technician was onsite is a fair response time. The Texas property code allows 7 days for a repair to be addressed. We did it in just over one day. As for the response to the tenant's picketing our business, we did what we believed to be in the best interest of our employees and customers. With all the workplace violence and mass shootings occurring these days, we did not want to take any chances with a potentially unstable person. I say potentially unstable because we deemed his response to be outside the norm of what we have come to expect in over 15 years in this business. For a tenant to react in such a way in only a few hours from the time they submitted a work request seemed grossly unreasonable to us, and it made us uncertain of his mental state. Surely, a reasonable person could understand why we were concerned by his actions. Where the safety of our employees and the general public is concerned, we will always err on the side of caution. I have forwarded the tenant's request for rent compensation to the property owner. We will let the tenant know when we have an answer.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Once again, Armadillo has refused to acknowledge the basis of my complaint or the inappropriate action of its employee towards me. I appreciate the explanation for the involvement of the police, and I can understand that from someone who does not know me personally; however, this does not make sense when the fact that they had an employee taunt me is considered. It also does not make sense considering their complete background check they claim to run on all tenants. If they truly believed I was mentally unstable, they would not have chosen to confront me nor allow an employee taunt me. Furthermore, my actions were reasonable. Armadillo had missed two promised call backs. I had to become visible to obtain any meaningful action. Additionally, 11:38 PM plus 26 hours is  1:38 AM two days later. My air conditioning was not fixed in the middle of the night, so I must protest this repeated assertion. Finally, my main complaint was that a compromise was not offered to protect my property or pets. This was the third occurrence of such a failure, so a little extra consideration was more than justified.

I am willing to accept a response from Armadillo, I am not just clicking reject blindly. I just want the facts to be acknowledged. I believe this response is a reasonable response, and I appreciate that. Unfortunately, it does not match the facts of the matter. Finally, submitting a dollar amount to the landlord with no obligation is as useful as me putting a ticket on a stranger's car. He can certainly pay it, but why would he?

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My house was broken into on the morning of Jan 2. Since then, the company has been demanding the I pay for the cost to replace the kicked in door. I moved out of the house at the end of March. Prior to moving out, my wife and I cleaned the house, had the yard mowed, trimmed, edged, and I called to schedule a move out inspection and was informed that the company doesn't perform move out inspections. A month after I had moved out I received an account ledger describing my charges. $383.25- Damages to door $70- Cleaning income $37.50-Ground Maintenance

Desired Settlement: I want a refund check $490.75 and an apology.

Business Response: First, we would like to acknowledge that these tenants did leave the unit in very good condition, and we do appreciate the efforts they put forth in that regard. While we empathize with their situation regarding the break in, Paragraph 18.D.(2)(b) of the Residential Lease they signed clearly states that the landlord will not be responsible for any damages to windows, doors, or screens, unless directly caused by the landlord. Further, Paragraph 21 of the lease states “Unless caused by Landlord, Landlord is not responsible to Tenant, Tenant’s guests, family, or occupants for any damages, injuries, or losses to person or property caused by fire, flood, water leaks, ice, snow, hail, winds, explosion, smoke, interruption of utilities, theft, burglary, robbery, assault, vandalism, other persons, condition of the Property, environmental contaminants (for example, carbon monoxide, asbestos, radon, lead-based paint, mold, fungus, etc.), or other occurrences or casualty losses.” Please make note of the words “theft, burglary, robbery”. Finally, Paragraph 34.H. of the lease states that the tenant intended to purchase Renter’s insurance, which would have covered these damages.

This is a standard practice in our industry. Statistics show that most reported break-ins of rental properties are actually caused by tenants locking themselves out of the units. Of the legitimate burglaries, studies show that the majority are carried out by someone the victim knew either personally or casually. Maybe the perpetrator saw a nice care in the driveway. Maybe they followed the tenant home from the store. No one knows why these tenants were targeted. The bottom line here is that the TENANT was broken into, not the landlord; and according to the lease, the TENANT is responsible for the damages.

As for the lawn care and cleaning bills, I have attached a copy of page one of our inspection, showing the inspector’s note about tall weeds “TW”. I have also attached the cleaning notes, showing areas in need of touch up “T” or additional cleaning “N”. Lastly, I have attached the photos documenting these conditions for review. The tenants turned in their keys on April 1 and the inspection and photos were completed on April 3. Again, we do appreciate the effort these tenant put into maintaining this unit. There were only a few items that were missed and they were billed accordingly for these items.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Renter's insurance to replace our stuff within the home. I am not asking the landlord to be responsible for our stuff. I am asking the landlord to be responsible to the home, to replace the door, the purpose for homeowner's insurance. I have spoken with my renter's insurance agent and he says I am not liable. I have spoken with an attorney and he says I am not liable.


Regards,

****** *****





























Business Response: The tenant may wish to provide a copy of her lease to her insurance agent and to her attorney. As stated in my original response, the terms of the lease that she agreed to and signed clearly define these damages as her responsibility. We manage over 800 units in this area and unfortunately, this is not the first tenant to suffer a break-in. I know for a fact that other tenant's insurance policies have covered similar damages due to break ins. If her policy will not cover the damage, there is nothing we can do. We must enforce the lease the way it is written, as we have done for every tenant prior to her who has suffered a break in. We are very sorry, but there is nothing further we can do in this matter.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:

My insurance agent has dealt with this issue multiple times as has my attorney. We will be filing for small claims court with the City of Killeen next week. Thank you for serving your military customers with extremely shady business practices.

Regards,

****** *****





























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service