BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management services, rentals, and real estate sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Armadillo Properties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Armadillo Properties include:

  • 14 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Armadillo Properties include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Armadillo Properties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 15, 2005 Business started: 05/05/2003 in TX Business started locally: 05/05/2003 Business incorporated: 09/16/2008 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Denise Zehr, Co-Owner Mr. Greg Ruehlen, General Manager Denise Zehr, Realtor/CoOwner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Greg Ruehlen, General Manager
Principal: Mrs. Denise Zehr, Co-Owner
Business Category

Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals Real Estate Property Management

Method(s) of Payment
NO CASH
Service Area
This company offers rental Properties throughout the Fort Hood communities.
Alternate Business Names
Exit Heart of Texas Realty The Zehr Team
Additional Information

This company offers residential and commercial property management services, rentals, and real estate sales representing buyers and sellers.


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Armadillo Properties sent us an outrageous Statement of charges. I tried multiple times to contact them at get this sorted out, but with no luck. Finally one month later i was able to get a hold of the person to discus the charges. I informed her of the following discrepancies: 1. They are missing our $250 pet deposit. 2. I paid the remainder of my rent via money order right before i left. 3. We contacted them prior to us leave and was instructed that since our lease had expired 2 years prior to us leaving then we didn't have to worry about the clean up. 4. I looked in the folder that was provided to me by Armadillo back in 2010 and I was given the wrong lease. I was told by that lady that they will look in there records and she will get back to me. However the pet deposit that I paid was a fee and not an actual deposit. But the paper work I got clearly says deposit fee. So two months later i get a letter from *******, Price & Stern telling me that my account was been turned over to them to collect payment. They lady never contacted me back about that issues listed above and now I owe this new company approximately $400 more than Armadillo was attempting to collect from me. I refuse to pay either company until my issues can be properly reviewed and adjusted.

Desired Settlement: I wish for them to drop all charges.

Business Response: First, let me say that we require all disputes to be in writing, and we reply to all disputes in writing. This way, everyone has a written record of the claim and findings. We have looked through all our files, emails, etc… and have no record of ever receiving a written dispute from this tenant regarding the charges to their security deposit. Having said that, we are happy to answer the tenant’s questions.

As for the pet deposit, the Pet Agreement signed by the tenant on January 31, 2011 (attached) clearly states that the $250 is a one-time, non-refundable fee. We make it very clear to all tenants that this is not a deposit, and it will not be used in reconciling the tenants account when they move out. It is surrendered forever upon payment.

As for the unpaid rent, our records show that the tenant made a final rent payment of $725 on 12/4/2013 via money order. Unfortunately, the account balance on that date was $956.50. The tenant should have been more than aware that they had unpaid rents on their account. These were the result of unpaid late fees and maintenance charges previously accumulated on their account and converted to rent in accordance with Paragraph 8 of the Residential Lease they signed on 12/30/10. In fact, the tenant has not had a $0 balance on their account since September 12, 2011 (ledger attached).

As for the statement that someone at Armadillo Properties told the tenant they did not have to clean the apartment when they left, this is simply not true. In fact, the tenant was given a copy of the move out cleaning checklist when they signed their lease, and again when they gave their move out notice (attached). I can think of no circumstance that would relieve the tenant of the responsibility to return a property to us in a clean and sanitary condition. Even if there were one, the tenant would be informed in writing, not orally. In accordance with Para. 31 of the Residential Lease, “There are no oral agreements between the Landlord and Tenant. This lease contains the entire agreement between the Landlord and Tenants and may not be changed except by written agreement.” Further, the ease clearly requires the property to be cleaned at move out: Para: 16 A states “Tenant will leave the Property in a clean condition ...” Para: 17 A (1) states “tenant, at tenant’s expense, must: keep the Property clean and sanitary.” Finally, Para: 12 D (10(2) states “the landlord may deduct reasonable charges from the security deposit for…cost for which the tenant is responsible to clean …the property”, which is exactly what we did.

Lastly, we sent the tenant a copy of their final bill (attached) to the forwarding address they provided us when they moved out. After receiving no written response or dispute from them regarding the remaining balance, we sent a second copy to the same address. It was enclosed with a letter (attached) which explained that if they did not contact us within 15 days, we would turn their file over to our attorney for collection efforts. This letter also explained that this would generate an additional fee equal to 40% of the balance owed. Again, we received no written response or dispute from the tenant. Therefore, the file was processed  for collections as stated. Finally, after being contacted by our attorney, the tenant filed this complaint with your organization.

We are very sorry the tenant feels they are being treated unfairly. However, we simply applied the provisions of the lease as we do with all tenants. Every charge is valid, and in accordance with the Residential Lease the tenant signed. We made several attempts to contact the tenant and make payment arrangements before turning the file over to our attorney, with no success. Hopefully, this response will at least give the tenant a better understanding of the charges, as there is not much else we can do for them at this point.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rent a property from Armadillo. My air conditioning went out over the weekend, and I submitted a request Saturday night for repair. I am being told the repair cannot occur until Tuesday. I understand this, however, I requested either a window unit or a hotel room until the A/C is fixed. I did this because I have guinea pigs who cannot live in an environment over 80 degrees. Additionally, due to rain and humidity, my furniture, clothing, and electronics are at risk of being damaged. Furthermore, as the house is at 85 degrees, I cannot use my oven or stovetop to cook without raising the temperature unbearably high. Armadillo Properties refuses to acknowledge that these are unlivable conditions. I picketed their location with a sign stating, "It's 85F in my house. I just want my A/C fixed!", and they called the police rather than trying to handle the complaint civilly. The police informed me there was no justifiable reason for them to be there, so this action can only be seen as harassment. Also, a representative of Armadillo made threatening gestures and communications towards me warning me that "the man" would do what he wanted to me if I didn't leave the public sidewalk.

Desired Settlement: I would like a reduction in rent to cover the cost of a window unit or hotel, an apology for the inappropriate behavior, and a reduction in rent to cover my loss of productivity and use of the property due to the conditions.

Business Response: Tenant submitted the work order via email at 11:38pm on Sunday night (5/11/14). Tenant's work request was processed when we opened for business at 8:30am on Monday (5/12/14) morning. The property is under a home warranty plan through American Home Shield (AHS), meaning we cannot order the work ourselves. AHS hires their own vendors. AHS hired Arctic Air, who called the tenant the same day (5/12/14) to schedule the service call for the morning of 5/13/14. The tenant stated he wanted it serviced immediately. The vendor was not able to comply with this request, so the tenant picketed our office. He was asked to leave and refused, so the police were called. He was never threatened by an employee. The unit was fixed the morning of 5/13/14. This is well within the 5 business days that we give vendors to complete non-emergency repairs. This did not qualify as an emergency, since the outside temperature did not exceed 100 degrees. Even in an emergency situation, it can take up to 24 hours to make the repair. This was done in just over 26 hours from the time we received the work request on Monday morning. We did tell the tenant that he could request whatever compensation he would like, and we would be happy to pass that request along to the property owner. We also informed him that the landlord is under no obligation to honor such a request. Rather than submitting his request through us, the tenant chose to file this complaint with the BBB. We are sorry the tenant was not happy with the level of service we provided. However, we know we did everything we could to get this problem solved as quickly as possible. We are forwarding the tenants desired monetary compensation to the property owner for consideration (as we told him we would before he filed this complaint) and will inform the tenant of the owner's decision when we have it. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It disregards the essential facts of my complaint and shifts blame to the landlord. I requested a winodw unit or a hotel room until the air conditioning was repaired because I could not cook, the high humidity could damage the rental property and my property, and my guinea pigs could not live in the heat. Thus, the home was not able to be used. A window unit is a reasonable compromise as it is low in cost, can adequately remedy the immediate issues, and can be reused in the future at other properties. Furthermore, this is the third time I have had a heating or air conditioning failure at my home. With this in mind, it is beyond reasonable that I be afforded this small convenience.

Important details regarding the exchanges were misrepresented by Armadillo Properties. I called Armadillo at 913 on the 12th and was told I would receive a call in about a half hour. I waited until 130 to call back, and I was told that service would be the next day. I requested same day service and was told I would immediately receive a call back.  Armadillo states that "The vendor was not able to comply with this request," regarding the same day service request. However, ***** informed me he would ask the owner for permission to seek an alternate vendor, not that he would ask vendor for approval. I never got a call back, so an hour later, I called again and offered the compromise of a window unit or hotel. Armadillo's representative personally attacked me by calling my reasoning "shallow" and "immature." Armadillo claims I picketed because I could not get same day service. I was very clear that all I wanted was a window unit or hotel to provide me and my animals a livable environment as well as prevent any moisture damage to the rental property and my property. I ended up having to take the guinea pigs to a pet store to spend the night.

When I picketed, the first action by Armadillo was to confront me with a camera and try to intimidate me into leaving by taking my photograph and telling me, "We already know who you are." This was done and said by a tall, white man in his 50s wearing a red shirt. About 30 minutes after this, he came out again and told me, "You'd better leave before they make you leave." I informed him I was on public property. He told me that "The man doesn't play like that around here. He'll do what he wants with you." I took this as a threat that I was going to be arrested for exercising my rights. I asked if it was a threat, and the employee told me it wasn't. I said it sounded like a threat, and he replied, "You interpret everything incorrectly." It is true that Armadillo asked me to leave, however they had no authority to ask. Their action of bringing the police was an overt act to humiliate me publicly and frighten me into forfeiting my right to protest. Once again, the officer told me that I had broken no laws, so Armadillo's assertion that "He was asked to leave and refused, so the police were called," proves that their action was without merit.

Armadillo's offer to submit my request to the landlord is not enough. Armadillo must take responsibility for its improper actions towards me. Armadillo must also guarantee reasonable compensation for the aforementioned loss of use and productivity. Armadillo complains that I went to the BBB. If Armadillo has a problem with utilizing the service, then they should not seek accreditation. Furthermore, their disproportionate response to my actions has shown that direct dealings with them are fruitless.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response:

It is regrettable that this situation escalated to the level it did so rapidly. While we certainly do empathize with the tenant, we believe we did everything we could to get the problem resolved as quickly as possible. 26 hours from the time we received the work request to the time the repair technician was onsite is a fair response time. The Texas property code allows 7 days for a repair to be addressed. We did it in just over one day. As for the response to the tenant's picketing our business, we did what we believed to be in the best interest of our employees and customers. With all the workplace violence and mass shootings occurring these days, we did not want to take any chances with a potentially unstable person. I say potentially unstable because we deemed his response to be outside the norm of what we have come to expect in over 15 years in this business. For a tenant to react in such a way in only a few hours from the time they submitted a work request seemed grossly unreasonable to us, and it made us uncertain of his mental state. Surely, a reasonable person could understand why we were concerned by his actions. Where the safety of our employees and the general public is concerned, we will always err on the side of caution. I have forwarded the tenant's request for rent compensation to the property owner. We will let the tenant know when we have an answer.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Once again, Armadillo has refused to acknowledge the basis of my complaint or the inappropriate action of its employee towards me. I appreciate the explanation for the involvement of the police, and I can understand that from someone who does not know me personally; however, this does not make sense when the fact that they had an employee taunt me is considered. It also does not make sense considering their complete background check they claim to run on all tenants. If they truly believed I was mentally unstable, they would not have chosen to confront me nor allow an employee taunt me. Furthermore, my actions were reasonable. Armadillo had missed two promised call backs. I had to become visible to obtain any meaningful action. Additionally, 11:38 PM plus 26 hours is  1:38 AM two days later. My air conditioning was not fixed in the middle of the night, so I must protest this repeated assertion. Finally, my main complaint was that a compromise was not offered to protect my property or pets. This was the third occurrence of such a failure, so a little extra consideration was more than justified.

I am willing to accept a response from Armadillo, I am not just clicking reject blindly. I just want the facts to be acknowledged. I believe this response is a reasonable response, and I appreciate that. Unfortunately, it does not match the facts of the matter. Finally, submitting a dollar amount to the landlord with no obligation is as useful as me putting a ticket on a stranger's car. He can certainly pay it, but why would he?

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My house was broken into on the morning of Jan 2. Since then, the company has been demanding the I pay for the cost to replace the kicked in door. I moved out of the house at the end of March. Prior to moving out, my wife and I cleaned the house, had the yard mowed, trimmed, edged, and I called to schedule a move out inspection and was informed that the company doesn't perform move out inspections. A month after I had moved out I received an account ledger describing my charges. $383.25- Damages to door $70- Cleaning income $37.50-Ground Maintenance

Desired Settlement: I want a refund check $490.75 and an apology.

Business Response: First, we would like to acknowledge that these tenants did leave the unit in very good condition, and we do appreciate the efforts they put forth in that regard. While we empathize with their situation regarding the break in, Paragraph 18.D.(2)(b) of the Residential Lease they signed clearly states that the landlord will not be responsible for any damages to windows, doors, or screens, unless directly caused by the landlord. Further, Paragraph 21 of the lease states “Unless caused by Landlord, Landlord is not responsible to Tenant, Tenant’s guests, family, or occupants for any damages, injuries, or losses to person or property caused by fire, flood, water leaks, ice, snow, hail, winds, explosion, smoke, interruption of utilities, theft, burglary, robbery, assault, vandalism, other persons, condition of the Property, environmental contaminants (for example, carbon monoxide, asbestos, radon, lead-based paint, mold, fungus, etc.), or other occurrences or casualty losses.” Please make note of the words “theft, burglary, robbery”. Finally, Paragraph 34.H. of the lease states that the tenant intended to purchase Renter’s insurance, which would have covered these damages.

This is a standard practice in our industry. Statistics show that most reported break-ins of rental properties are actually caused by tenants locking themselves out of the units. Of the legitimate burglaries, studies show that the majority are carried out by someone the victim knew either personally or casually. Maybe the perpetrator saw a nice care in the driveway. Maybe they followed the tenant home from the store. No one knows why these tenants were targeted. The bottom line here is that the TENANT was broken into, not the landlord; and according to the lease, the TENANT is responsible for the damages.

As for the lawn care and cleaning bills, I have attached a copy of page one of our inspection, showing the inspector’s note about tall weeds “TW”. I have also attached the cleaning notes, showing areas in need of touch up “T” or additional cleaning “N”. Lastly, I have attached the photos documenting these conditions for review. The tenants turned in their keys on April 1 and the inspection and photos were completed on April 3. Again, we do appreciate the effort these tenant put into maintaining this unit. There were only a few items that were missed and they were billed accordingly for these items.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Renter's insurance to replace our stuff within the home. I am not asking the landlord to be responsible for our stuff. I am asking the landlord to be responsible to the home, to replace the door, the purpose for homeowner's insurance. I have spoken with my renter's insurance agent and he says I am not liable. I have spoken with an attorney and he says I am not liable.


Regards,

****** *****





























Business Response: The tenant may wish to provide a copy of her lease to her insurance agent and to her attorney. As stated in my original response, the terms of the lease that she agreed to and signed clearly define these damages as her responsibility. We manage over 800 units in this area and unfortunately, this is not the first tenant to suffer a break-in. I know for a fact that other tenant's insurance policies have covered similar damages due to break ins. If her policy will not cover the damage, there is nothing we can do. We must enforce the lease the way it is written, as we have done for every tenant prior to her who has suffered a break in. We are very sorry, but there is nothing further we can do in this matter.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:

My insurance agent has dealt with this issue multiple times as has my attorney. We will be filing for small claims court with the City of Killeen next week. Thank you for serving your military customers with extremely shady business practices.

Regards,

****** *****





























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1