Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

School District Publishing

Phone: (800) 685-9148 Fax: (800) 699-9793 View Additional Phone Numbers 5120 Highway 6, Riesel, TX 76682


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for School District Publishing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on School District Publishing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 2008 Business started: 03/01/2003 Business started locally: 03/01/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Lee Peterson Mr. Andrew Hall, Executive Vice President Ms. Kay Peterson, Publisher
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kay Peterson, Publisher
Principal: Lee Peterson
Business Category

Publishers - Book


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5120 Highway 6

    Riesel, TX 76682

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have received multiple billing invoice from School District Publishing, as well as prior calls stating a balance is past due. However we did not purchase ad space in a School Guide in Maysville Local School. The ad is erroneous and the company will not stop issuing billings. Calls have been made as well as we have contact the Auditor of State of Ohio, Complaint Specials Dept regards to the matter to protect our credit. State Case # ************ Although the name on the invoice states, School District Publishing, Riesel, TX, the phone number provided, ************* on the internet states to University Sports Publication.

Desired Settlement: Never to be contacted by this company or any other company in its affiliates.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********:

School District Publishing, LLC ("SDP") has received and reviewed your statement of concern, and write in response to your May 11, 2016 letter.

Gateway Electric has been a longtime advertiser with School District Publishing and has placed advertising in the Ohio School Guide annually for several years. SDP has no record of a request to cancel their advertisement. In the interest of customer goodwill, School District Publishing will cancel invoice and remove customer from its call list.

For the past 15 years, SDP has published an annual Guide, an important and useful directory of Ohio’s public and select private schools, department of education offices, and regional education agencies. Until 2012, the Guide was printed and mailed directly to school administrators across the state. More recently (commencing with the 2013-14 edition), due to changes in the availability of and access to digital media, the Guide has been exclusively made available online (www.oh-schools.com) and in printable .pdf format for schools to download to suit their own needs.

To help underwrite the cost of preparing and distributing this free Guide, SDP sells advertising. Salespersons soliciting advertising on behalf of SDP for the Guide are well-trained to accurately represent to potential clients the exact nature of the Guide. Following a script, they inform potential advertisers that the Guide is an online resource sent to school district administrators annually, that advertising in the Guide helps provide school districts a valuable resource tool to use, and that placing advertisements in the Guide is a good way to get their name in front of school administrators. When a business agrees to place an advertisement, no payment is taken up front. Rather, a confirmation letter is sent that again describes the Guide as a "valuable resource to school districts" through which the advertiser can "gain positive exposure." The confirmation letter confirms the section of the Guide in which the advertisement will be placed, along with the price. And it concludes by stating unequivocally that "School District Publishing is not affiliated with any school, school district, association, or public or private agency/department." It is only after receipt of this confirmation that the advertiser is asked to make payment.

We trust that this information is sufficient for your purposes. If you need anything further, please do not hesitate to let me know.

*** ********

Publisher

 

3/29/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: According to the letter we received the advertising is for an online guide yet no online information is provided nor can you find it when doing a search. When I typed in School District Publishing the only things that popped up were scam reports. We believe this is a scam for advertising. Our Company did participate in this "advertising" last year before realizing this is not a legitimate company.

Desired Settlement: No further contact by mail, email, and/or phone or any other form immediately.

Business Response:

School District Publishing, LLC ("SDP") has received and reviewed your statement of concern, and write in response to your March 10, 2016 submission to the Better Business Bureau. In the interest of customer goodwill, SDP will cancel the Jays Landscaping advertisement from the 2016-2017 Connecticut School Guide.

For the past 15 years, SDP has published an annual Guide, an important and useful directory of Connecticut’s public and select private schools, department of education offices, and regional education agencies. Until 2012, the Guide was printed and mailed directly to school administrators across the state. More recently (commencing with the 2013-14 edition), due to changes in the availability of and access to digital media, the Guide has been exclusively made available online (www.ct-schools.net) and in printable .pdf format for schools to download to suit their own needs.

SDP has and continues to provide the Guide to Connecticut’s school administrators at no cost to any school, school district, or the state Department of Education. School administrators are free to distribute the Guide to others; and indeed, some schools and districts have made the Guide available on their own websites, so that everyone associated with the school or school district and the general public may benefit from it. A Google search for the “Connecticut School Guide” yields the 2015-2016 edition of the Guide as its first result.

To help underwrite the cost of preparing and distributing this free Guide, SDP sells advertising. And it does so by offering its advertisers the ability to place ads in various targeted sections of the Guide, depending on their needs and interests, which is consistent with most similar directories that contain advertising. Accordingly, if a particular advertiser regularly does business in Hartford, for example, then that advertiser may decide to place its ad in the advertising section of the Guide entitled "Business Friends Working For The Future Of Enfield Public School District and Hartford Public School District," or in the separate advertising section of the Guide entitled "Architects, Engineers & Business Friends Working For The Future Of Connecticut Schools," for more generalized advertising exposure.

Salespersons soliciting advertising on behalf of SDP for the Guide are well-trained to accurately represent to potential clients the exact nature of the Guide. Following a script, they inform potential advertisers that the Guide is an online resource sent to school district administrators annually, that advertising in the Guide helps provide school districts a valuable resource tool to use, and that placing advertisements in the Guide is a good way to get their name in front of school administrators. When a business agrees to place an advertisement, no payment is taken up front. Rather, a confirmation letter is sent that again describes the Guide as a "valuable resource to school districts" through which the advertiser can "gain positive exposure." The confirmation letter confirms the section of the Guide in which the advertisement will be placed, along with the price. And it concludes by stating unequivocally that "School District Publishing is not affiliated with any school, school district, association, or public or private agency/department." It is only after receipt of this confirmation that the advertiser is asked to make payment.

Like every other advertisement-based print or digital media publisher, we generate our sales leads from a wide variety of publicly-available information sources and selected proprietary information lists developed by and purchased from third parties. We also contact businesses in the community who have advertised with us previously, or who we believe may benefit from an advertisement before school administrators.

SDP is proud the Guide is an important information tool for schools in Connecticut. In fact, in reviewing background materials for this letter, we came across a note SDP received by email on January 28, 2016, at 1:38 pm from ***** ****** at Branford Public Schools, who wrote to request a copy of the newest edition of the Guide as soon as it becomes available. In her words,

"Our Superintendent is interested in receiving an updated copy of your publication ConnecticutSchool Guide."

We trust that this information is sufficient for your purposes. If you need anything further, please do not hesitate to let me know. 

12/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales representative caused confusion and misunderstanding as to their affiliation, connection, or association with the ******** ************ Independent School District. Unfortunately we made payments for a previous year under the impression that they were associated with this school district. We have, on numerous occasions, requested that they remove us from any future publications and any other publication they are associated with, yet they continue to invoice us for services we do not authorize.

Desired Settlement: Remove their invoice # ******** from our records immediately and cease any future collection efforts

Business Response: Contrary to the assertions contained in the complaint, School District Publishing does not assert in any manner that is associated with, contracted by, supported by, endorsed by or working on behalf of ******** ************ Independent School District.
 
In fact, quite to the contrary, School District Publishing makes a number of efforts to distinguish itself from the District. For instance, at the bottom of each solicitation letter and invoice is contained the following disclaimer: “Texas School Guide is published by School District Publishing, an independent publisher. School District Publishing is not affiliated with any school, school district, association, or public or private department/agency.” Further, in each school guide publication we produce, including the Texas School Guide, there is contained another disclaimer in the table of contents as follows: “School District Publishing, LLC is a private business entity not affiliated with any public or private institution, school, school district, or association.” Thus, we believe we have expressly made very clear that there is no connection between our company and any school district. Any assertion to the contrary is the result of either a misunderstanding or the failure to carefully read our materials.
 
It is interesting that *** ******** ************ has been purchasing advertising in this publication for several years, paying invoices that include the disclosure statement, and are just now claiming not to know School District Publishing is not associated with the School District.
 
There is no question that *** ******** ************ has been a long standing client of School District Publishing as we have paid advertisements from *** ******** ************ dating from as back as 2003 for the Texas School Guide publication. 
 
In regards to the 2011 Texas School Guide invoice, our business records clearly indicate that on November 29, 2011, Mr. ***** ***** of *** ******** ************ agreed to place a 1/4th page advertisement in the 2011 Texas School Guide publication at a price of One Thousand Nine Hundred Seventy Five Dollars ($1,975) with the knowledge that he had until November 2012 to pay for it.  At that time *** ******** ************ already owed One Thousand Nine Hundred Seventy Five Dollars ($1,975) for the 2010 Texas School Guide; however as a repeat client we ran the ad on good faith that the invoices would be paid as previously done.  On February 7, 2013, after several attempts to reach Mr. ***** went unanswered, Mr. ***** sent an email stating that he would pay the two invoices as soon as possible.  A partial payment was then received shortly after and applied to the delinquent 2010 invoice with a final payment received May 23, 2013.  When payment was sought for the remaining open 2011 invoice, Nydia from *** ******** ************ accounting department stated that *** ******** ************ was refusing further payment.
 
School District Publishing invoiced *** ******** ************ for the previously agreed-upon $1,975 and has sought to collect these funds. Curiously, * * * ******** ************ first raised an issue about the legitimacy of the advertisement only after they were unable to pay their invoice.  The advertisement had already appeared, * * * ******** ************ had received the full benefit of School District Publishing advertising services, and School District Publishing sought to collect the monies due and payable.
 
Therefore, the facts are very clear here. * * * ******** ************ purchased an advertisement in both publications and agreed to pay for them. One ad was eventually paid for while the other still remains delinquent. Mr. ******* rather transparent effort to avoid a just obligation by casting School District Publishing in a negative light is most disappointing. 
 
School District Publishing hereby reserves all rights, claims, remedies and defenses against * * * ******** ************ and all other parties in the event that * * * ******** ************ fails to pay its obligations in full ($1,975).

10/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ******* called stating he represented the City of Stony Point. We are on the do not call list but they are still calling; gave us a 800 number to call to put a compliant in ###-###-#### No body to talk to.

Desired Settlement: Fine for calling on the do not call list!

Business Response: I apologize for the delayed response; however, this is the first time I have been made aware of the complaint.  I have reviewed our records and show that we did make a business to business call offering advertising space in our independent publication.  Our records also indicate that our last call to ****** ****** ************ was on 08/29/13 at which time they requested we not call again, which we have not.  I have removed ****** ****** ************ from our call list.  Please note that ###-###-#### is a working phone number which goes to our publishing line.  All phone calls are returned promptly.  Paying a fine for this call is not applicable as it was a business to business call.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on School District Publishing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)