BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We offer flexible and affordable delinquent property tax financing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Propel Financial Services LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Propel Financial Services LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 26, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2006 in TX Business started locally: 08/01/2006 Business incorporated: 08/01/2006 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner
2601 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78705
www.occc.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 538-1579
joann.mcanally@occc.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jack Nelson, President Ms. Terry Anderson, Service Manager Mr. Danny Collins, Director - Sales Ms. Sherry Houston, Client Relations Manager Mr. Sean O'Neill, Director - Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sherry Houston, Client Relations Manager
Principal: Mr. Jack Nelson, President
Related Businesses
Rio Tax Loans Propel Tax RETax Funding
Business Category

Property Tax Lenders Financial Services

Products & Services

Propel Financial Services LLC sells the following brand(s): Propel Tax, ReTax Funding, Rio Tax

Propel Financial Services LLC offers the following product(s): Delinquent property tax financing, Tax Lien Assignments - Nevada, Tax Lien Transfers - Texas

Hours of Operation
M: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
T: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
F: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Credit Card, ACH, Check
Refund and Exchange Policy
3-day right of rescission
Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner

Additional Locations

  • 7990 IH-10 West, Suite 200

    San Antonio, TX 78230 (877) 689-2118 (210) 582-2880

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 581-7712(Phone)
  • (210) 582-2868(Phone)
  • (210) 582-2880(Phone)
  • (866) 587-0099(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We requested a pay off for our 3 accounts finally after 4-5 days we received. I called a week before my payment was to be made to stop automatic withdraw they told me they could not do that. I told them we were paying the account in full on March *. On March * they took the money out of my account to pay the three accounts. I called on March ** to verify they received pay off and they said no. I checked with *** ** and they had received the payment at 8:30 am on MOnday March **. I then called back and they still could not verify and said neither that payment nor the one they took out of my account had been posted yet. I was then told it takes 7 days to post a payment both one that comes in from mail and one that take from your bank account. I explained that they were going to owe me money since they took out my payments because we had send in the payoff. They said call back in 7-10 days and my payments might be posted and then they could tell me about a refund but if I did get one it would take 8 weeks. I asked to speak to someone that could verify that my payment was received and they said you are not allowed to speak to the people that work in accounting. I asked how in the automated world we live in does it take 7-10 days to post a payment that is sitting in your office and one that you took from my bank account. Also how can it take 8 weeks to send some one a check for over payment. They said it just does. I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone our loan was transferred to them from another company who we had worked with for over 3 years and they were wonderful. I cant get a straight answer from anyone at this company and the amount of time they take to update your account is ridiculous. Customer Service was rude and could care less about helping you.

Desired Settlement: I want to know that my accounts have been credited and I want the refund they owe me and not in 8 weeks. I also hope they speak to their customer service about how to be helpful.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *******,
 
Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel Financial Services. You are a valued customer. Please know that we take all complaints and suggestions very seriously.

Your concerns regarding your payoff, ACH reimbursement, and customer experience have been heard. We apologize for any frustration and inconvenience this chain of events may have caused you.

We are pleased to report that your concerns have been researched, addressed, and resolved. As a recap of your account:
- On March *, 2014 your regularly scheduled ACH was drafted from your bank account.
- On March **, 2014 the payoff for your three Propel accounts was received and posted.
  -- In the normal course of business, we process a Release of Lien (ROL) within 30 days after an account is paid in full. This is to allow the time necessary for
      the funds to fully clear all channels and to allow time for the county clerk to record the document.   
- On March **, 2014 all three ROLs were expedited and emailed to you.
- The $323.71 ACH payment of March *** was reimbursed to your bank account by March ****.  In the event you have incurred any NSF fees due to this 
  event, simply provide us your bank statement with proof of NSF and we will reimburse you.  

One of our Supervisors reached out to you on March **** and **** by phone as we wanted to discuss all of the above with you to ensure satisfactory completion of your requests. She left  messages on both days.  Please feel free to contact her at the phone number provided if you need any additional information or assistance.

You are important to Propel and we appreciate your business. Please know that Propel embraces core values that promote quality customer care, respect, commitment, loyalty, and excellence in all we do. These longstanding principles are the foundation of Propel’s success and growth.  Your feedback is invaluable as we strive to improve our service. Thank you for your patience and for the opportunity to serve you in your property tax needs.

Respectfully,

The Customer Service Team
Propel Financial Services


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TAX ACCOUNT WAS UNDERPAID BY OUR MORTGAGE LENDER BY $48.57. PROPEL FAILED TO NOTIFY THE LENDER, AND THEN OVER A YEAR LATER, IN 2013, SENT US A NOTIFICATION. AT THAT POINT, LATE CHARGES, INTEREST AND ATTORNEY FEES AMOUNTED TO OVER $1800. SINCE NO AGENT WOULD EVER ANSWER AT THE PHONE NUMBER PROPEL PROVIDES ON THE BILL AND ON THEIR WEBSITE, I WAS FORCED TO USE THE CHAT FEATURE ON THEIR WEBSITE TO GET ANY INFORMATION AT ALL. GAVE THE UNDERPAYMENT INFO TO THE MORTGAGE LENDER TO BE DEALT WITH. NOW IN 2014, WE ARE SELLING OUR HOME AND FIND THE PROPEL TAX LIEN STILL ON OUR PROPERTY. ATTEMPTED TO CALL THEM VIA THE PAYMENT LINE (BECAUSE IT APPEARS THEY ARE MOTIVATED TO RECEIVE PAYMENTS) AND FINALLY GOT A REPRESENTATIVE WHO TOLD ME THAT THE CURRENT AMOUNT OWED WAS NOW $2121.82. HE TOLD ME TO CALL BACK AND CHOOSE THE OPTION FOR THE ATTORNEY'S LINE. AFTER BEING ON HOLD FOR ATTORNEY'S OFFICE FOR 37 MINUTES, STILL NO ANSWER. I PERCEIVE THAT THIS COMPANY IS MAKING A FORTUNE ON SMALL OVERSIGHTS LIKE THIS ONE OF $48. I AM READY TO PUT OUT FEELERS FOR OTHER PEOPLE HAVING THIS COMPANY ATTEMPT TO DEFRAUD THEM BY TURNING SMALL PROBLEMS INTO LARGE SUMS OF MONEY OWED TO THEM DUE TO THEIR NON-RESPONSE.

Desired Settlement: CALL ME, THEN THE MORTGAGE LENDER WITH A SOLUTION AND RELEASE OF LIEN. ADDRESS THE ISSUE OF FRAUDULENT PRACTICES. ADDRESS THE ISSUE OF FAILURE TO ANSWER THE PHONES AND PROVIDE TIMELY INFORMATION. PROVIDE DETAIL OF ALL CHARGES IN ADDITION TO THE ORIGINAL AMOUNT OWED OF $48.57

Business Response: Dear Mrs. ******,

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel Financial Services. You are a valued customer. Please know that we take all complaints and suggestions very seriously. Our company works hard to create and maintain an outstanding reputation with our existing and potential customers as well as our vendors and governmental agencies with whom we work on a daily basis. As a leader in the property tax financing industry, Propel has helped more than 25,000 Texas property owners regain their financial stability.

Your concerns regarding your payoff, fees, phone communication, and Propel’s business conduct have been heard. We apologize for any frustration and
inconvenience this chain of events may have caused you. Please know that Propel embraces core values that promote quality customer care, respect, commitment, loyalty, and excellence in all we do. These longstanding principles are the foundation of Propel’s success and growth which, on occasion, can result in a few growing pains.

Thank you for your time on the phone and subsequent email communication. As you know, the Propel team quickly rallied upon learning your concerns which have been researched, addressed, and satisfactorily resolved. Your acknowledged satisfaction and continued support of Propel is greatly appreciated. You are important to Propel and we appreciate your business. Your feedback is invaluable as we strive to improve our service. Thank you for your patience and for the opportunity to serve you in your property tax needs.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any additional information.

****** *******
****** ********* *******
Propel Financial Services



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

This issue was COMPLETELY resolved, and we were TOTALLY satisfied with Propel's response!

We want to say thank you so much to ****** ******* at Propel Financial Services for cutting through all the red tape on this and for working at amazing speed to get the issue resolved. It is only fair to say that the original problem was not even Propel's fault--but it required their help to fix it--and fix it they did!


Once we got through to speak to the right person, the issue was PROMPTLY and VERY COURTEOUSLY corrected. ****** went above and beyond to help us get the account straightened out, and she called us twice to follow up and make sure it was all taken care of. Nothing short of amazing. Because of their responsiveness, we would not hesitate to recommend their services. I would give them an A+ rating for customer service because of how they handled this situation.

Best regards,

**** *** ***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried contacting this company for two weeks about tax payoff receipts and no one has responded to my phone calls. I have left repeated messages. No one ever picks up the phone at this organization.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to call me and send me the tax payoff receipts I have requested for the property *** ***** *** ********** ** *****.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ******, 
 
Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your communication with Propel Financial Services.  

First and foremost, you are a valued customer and we apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced.  Please know that we take all complaints and suggestions very seriously.  Our company works hard to create and maintain an outstanding reputation with our existing and potential customers as well as our vendors and governmental agencies with whom we work on a daily basis.  As a leader in the property tax financing industry, Propel has helped more than 25,000 Texas property owners regain their financial stability.  

You express a concern that your payoff requests have gone ignored.  Propel recently discovered that its phone system was experiencing issues.  This resulted in some phone calls and messages going completely unnoticed.  At this time, we believe the phone lines are now appropriately configured and we are diligently monitoring the situation.  

As of 9:00AM Central Time on February 25, 2014, your payoff request was fulfilled and emailed to your representative, ******* ******. On February 26, 2014 I reached out and spoke to you directly by phone to relay that the payoff information had indeed been emailed to Ms. ******.  Your understanding is greatly appreciated and we are happy to have resolved your concern.

You are important to Propel and we appreciate your business. Your feedback is invaluable as we strive for excellence in all we do.  Thank you for your patience and for the opportunity to serve you in your property tax needs.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any additional information.

Respectfully,

***** ********
******** ******** ******* *** ***********
Propel Financial Services

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A couple of years ago I was in a cash flow crisis and my property taxes were due. I was offered a loan by Propel Financial Services to pay the taxes and repay them by installments. I borrowed approximately $15,000 dollars and set up an auto draft with them to deduct the payments from my bank. I finally found a buyer for my business and tried to call them for a pay off amount to settle the note. It was a priority because the interest fee was 13.5%. I tried several times to call them with no success. No one was ever available to talk to me and no one ever called me back. After a couple of days trying to call them I sent an email requesting the pay off amount. They did answer my email and informed me "Your request has been submitted, please allow 24-72 hours for processing.". This was on 02/04/2014. Finally today, I managed to get a pay off from them and was shocked at the total amount. The principal was $9,697.79 and they added $15.00 for a late fee, $30.00 for another fee, $104.00 for ROL, and $233.15 for "unpaid" interest. My payment isn't due until 03/01/2014 and they indicated I would not be charged a late fee until 03/16/2014. Plus, I don't understand any late charges since they have auto drafted my account for the payments from the very beginning. I tried to call them again today and every time I received a recorded message "Everyone is taking care of other customers, we will connect you with the party's voice mail." Then I was told the party at that number could not take any messages because their mail box was full. I sent them an email and told them I expected a rebate on the excess interest and late charges because they are bogus charges. I can't do much about their tactics except to hope this complaint will prevent someone else from getting taken like I was.

Desired Settlement: I want the overcharged interest and bogus late fees returned to me. They are charging me for at least three weeks interest due to their failure to respond to my request as promised.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******,

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel Financial Services.   You are a valued customer.  Please know that we take all complaints and suggestions very seriously.  Our company works hard to create and maintain an outstanding reputation with our existing and potential customers as well as our vendors and governmental agencies with whom we work on a daily basis.  As the leader in the property tax financing industry, Propel has helped more than
25,000 Texas property owners regain their financial stability.    

You express a concern that your payoff request was not answered in a timely manner which resulted in additional charges to your account.  Propel recently discovered that its phone system was experiencing issues.  This resulted in some phone calls and messages going unnoticed.  At this time, we believe the phone lines are now appropriately configured and we are diligently monitoring the situation.  

On February 26, 2014 I reached out and spoke to you directly by phone.  I relayed that we would waive associated late and NSF fees.  Additionally, we would recalculate the payoff amount as of February 4, 2014 (the date of your original payoff request).  As of 3:00PM on February 26, 2014, your updated payoff request was fulfilled and emailed to you.  Thank you for your understanding and I am pleased to have resolved your concern.

Propel apologizes for any inconvenience this may have caused you.  You are important to Propel and we appreciate your business.  Your feedback is invaluable as we strive for excellence in all we do.  Thank you for your patience and for the opportunity to serve you in your property tax needs. 

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any additional information.

***** ******
********** * ********* **********
Propel Financial Services

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a loan through propel financial and the payments are automatically drafted from my checking account. For the month October my checking account was drafted twice the amount of the payment. I called 10/07/2013 and a representative told my money would be refunded by the end of business on 10/08/13. He informed me that it was a problem with their computer program and they would have it resolved by the end of the day and money would be refunded by the end of the next day. The morning of 10/09/13 I sent an email because I have not received a refund. I returned a call and again I was told it was a problem with their computer program and I would receive a refund by the end of the business day. Imagine my surprise when I didn't receive a refund. I sent an email informing propel financial I have once again been lied to and I still want my money refunded. A representative named ****** called me today 10/10/13 and guaranteed me my money would be refunded by the end of the business day. To this minute 10:13pm 10/10/13 I have not received a refund. I am tired of being lied to and I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $189.56 plus $50 for a loan fee. If they do not agree its a short term loan then it is theft on their part

Business Response:

Thank you for inquiring about your Propel account.  Due to an unforeseen system error, some of our customers were inadvertently charged more than once for their October monthly payments.  

On Thursday October 10, 2013 we resolved all IT and technical issues and successfully submitted the duplicate ACH reversal for all affected accounts to our bank for processing.   Mr. ******* received a full refund of $189.56 on October 11, 2013 credited to his bank account for the duplicate ACH transaction.  A copy of the transaction can be provided upon request.
 
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this situation may have caused Mr. *******.  Customer service and satisfaction are at the
heart of everything we do at Propel, and we are disappointed that this error occurred. 

Thank you,
The Propel Customer Service Team

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are an attorneys office (*** ****** ** **** ********) and we close real estate transaction. One of our recent transactions involved a payoff to Propel Financial Services. We have a written payoff dated 4/25/13 and we sent via *** overnight the payoff to Propel on 5/6/13. Our daily interest was good to 5/10/13. Today, this afternoon I received a package back from *** with our original check and payoff documents. Reason was Propel had moved. I used the address on their payoff statement. I called and was informed that they had moved that week end and had notified their customers. Well, their customer had closed their transaction and we were handling the title work and disbursement. They did agree to waive the additional interest provided the package was deliver to them the next day. I asked what about the additional charges from *** for delivery of the package back to us and my deliver back to them and they said they could not do anything about those charges. If they were planning a move, they should have included that information on the payoff letter or simply said to please verify the address before sending any payoffs. I know its not much money but its very irritating because we cant collect from the customer and we have to pay out of our pocket. Funds in closings are in a trust account and we cannot use any funds that belong to one client for another. I just think its very poor business.

Desired Settlement: Since they are in charge and we need a payoff from them to close our file, I'm not going to argue with them, just want them to change their business practices to avoid something like this. If they would like to reimburse us for the charge for the package back to us and the delivery of the package to them it would be appreciated, I don't have the charge for back to us, I would image $70 would cover it.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ******,

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your experience with Propel Financial Services. Please know that we take all complaints and suggestions very seriously. Our company works hard to create and maintain an outstanding reputation with our existing and potential customers as well as our vendors and governmental agencies with whom we work on a daily basis.

We apologize for the inconvenience in this particular case resulting from our recent move. We reached out to your office on June 6, 2013 and spoke with ***** regarding the details of the complaint and our resolution.

Please let us know if you need any additional information.  You can contact me directly at ************.

Respectfully,

****** *******
Client Relations Manager
Propel Financial Services
************
*********************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1