BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hendricks Property Management LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hendricks Property Management LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hendricks Property Management LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1976 Business started locally: 11/01/1976 Business incorporated: 01/08/2009 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Don Hendricks, President Dru Lassley, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Hendricks, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
Don Hendricks Real Estate Center Hendricks Investment Corp. Hendricks Property Hendricks Property Service

Additional Locations

  • 2227 Lockhill Selma Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78230 (800) 460-9608 (210) 344-3463

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 460-9608(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hendricks Property management has failed to ensure a broken dishwasher be replaced since a repair request was issued 3/18/14. A service man did come to try and fix the dishwasher on March 31, 2014. The service man advised the dishwasher was not repairable and needed to be replaced. Hendricks Property was advised this on March 31, 2014. I inquired again with ***** ***** of Hendricks property on 5/1/2014 by email and have not received a response. I have experienced numerous problems with this property and the management companies response is they work for the owner, not the tenant. There has been a water leak, owner refused to replace broken and missing blinds that appeared to be intact during my 1 viewing of this property. I was not given the opportunity to review the property again before signing the lease, and feel Hendricks property knowingly rushed the rental process and took advantage of my situation to get me to sign this lease. Per ***** ***** she took on the management of this property because the owner is hard to work with yet I am obligated to the lease., yet the owner and leasing company do not abide by this lease,

Desired Settlement: Lease terminated with no negative repercussions to ****** * ****** , A complete refund of $1275.00 Rental deposit and $300.00 pet deposit with professional carpet cleaning by ******* ****** to be refunded within 10 days of vacating the property. There has been no damages to this property by ****** * ******

Business Response: This is in response to the complaint submitted on 5/8/2014, ID ********

Hendricks Property Management, LLC. represents the owner of the property as the owner's property manager.

The owner of the subject property is willing to replace the dishwasher immediately.   This work order has been submitted to the the vendor for processing.  The owner believed that sending a handy man to determine the problem with the dishwasher and waiting to determine if the tenant was using the wrong soap products was reasonable, considering this was a problem with the previous tenant.

Hendricks Property Management did not prevent tenant from reviewing the property prior to move in and possession of the property.

All other requested repairs have been completed in a timely manner.

The carpets were cleaned by the previous tenant upon move out of the premises; therefore the owner does not feel responsible for reimbursing the current tenant for cleaning the carpets during her occupancy.

The normal move out inspection and security deposit disposition would be implemented at the time of vacating the property.
 
The owner has indicated that she is not willing to terminate the lease without penalty.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The replacement of dishwasher is not within a reasonable amount of time it has been more than 30 days since repair man came to evaluate if dishwasher was repairable.  Per the repair man the kind of soap being used is irrelevant due to dishwasher not working the motor went out due to being so old had nothing to do with the kind of soap used.  I did advised ***** Weeks  on or about 2/24/14 that this dishwasher was only used once with liquid soap and has never worked.  Repair man stated motor was out and again had nothing to do with soap..  Owner is just using that as an excuse as to not repair as she refused to replace broken blinds that were in the condo upon walk through  I paid for replacements and have not been reimbursed.  Furthermore this owner hesitated to fix the broken outside fence securing the property for pets even though a $300.00 pet deposit was paid after much persistence on my part she finally agreed as Hendricks property advised the owner to do so.  Furthermore  this lease is not valid due to water leak prevented move in within 30 days of signing lease  Water could not be turned on due leak, work order for water leak was submitted on  Thursday  2/20/14  leak was not repaired until Saturday  2/21/14 due to plumber could not complete repair on Friday 2/21/14- Per lease If tenant is unable to move in within 30 days lease can be terminated. 

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: This is a response by the Management company to the tenant's response.
The owner of the property did state that the vertical blinds were in "as is" condition and the management company notified the tenant of this fact.  The tenant chose to replace the vertical blinds.  No reimbursement was offered.
The fence repair was completed.  This repair was done by an independent contractor. The $300 pet deposit is for pet damages (if any) during the tenant's occupancy and returned to the tenant at time of move out minus legitimate deductions.
The water leak referred to in the tenant's response was an unknown condition until tenant notified us that the water was off.   The HOA turned the water off due to the leak in this particular unit without notifying the management company.  The management company's chosen independent contractor repaired the leak within 2 days.
The only unresolved issue is the dishwasher.  The owner approved replacement.  The management company's chosen independent contractor has tried to schedule with the tenant.  The tenant told the contractor that she would probably be home Tuesday, May 20th.  The contractor called the tenant on Tuesday, May 20th and the tenant did not answer the phone nor return the contractor's call.
The contractor will try to contact the tenant again to schedule replacement of the dishwasher.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the 3rd property management for this location. I have given them all of my banking information to automatically debit rent from my account on the first of the month. They have made mistakes not taken the rent out at the designated time. Theyhave been taking the rent out of the account on the 13th thru 17 of each month. They have sent me eviction notices and claimed late fees. Yet the rent money has always been available in the accounts I have never paid rent late yet this company just can't get it right.

Desired Settlement: My rent is due on the first of the month every month. Not the 13th or 15th of each month I signed all of the correct documentation so they can ACH the fund directly from my bank account. This has been going on for months and needs to be corrected. I've made several phone calls they keep blowing it off as if its nothing. I've been sent eviction notices and then they just appolagize but this is getting to be ridiculous. This is a businesses that needs to be monitored for fraudulent fees.

Business Response:

HENDRICKS PROPERTY MANAGEMENT LLC

March 24, 2014

Better Business Bureau
Re Complaint
 *******

The tenant complaint is valid. Hendricks Property Management has been sending this tenant late notices and eviction notices in error. The tenant called several months in a row; questioning why notices were sent and no money had been withdrawn from his account. At the time of tenants' calls, Hendricks Property Management would draw on his account which have always been satisfactory, and removed all late charges and fees.

There was an error made in the setting up of his [FT withdrawal date, It was set for the 31S` of each month. There was an additional 3 typed into the date field. Instead of showing the 1st, the computer showed the 31st...Consequently the rent was never pulled on time and it appeared as if the tenant was delinquent...which was not the case, the error was a data entry date.

The problem has been identified and corrected. All fees have been purged from his account. The EFT payments are now scheduled for the first of each month. Hendricks Property Management would like to apologize to this tenant for his time spent in trying to correct this situation...which was our error.

*** ** *********-Broker
Hendricks Property Management, LTC
###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hendricks took advantage of me for not understanding my rights. They never had me sign an agreement. In the 3 years they managed my property while I was out of the country, they stoled over 10K. They made false expenses and posted them in a fake portal account that they later deactivated so that I could not see the report anymore. I still have paper tails of the expenses that were made up. The expenses were above and beyond reasonable and I was never notified of them. In their contract, they state that any expense over 300 needs approval from owner however I have expenses in the thousands that I was never notified of until I found out from my bank that my money was drained out because I was paying mortgage and not receiving the rent money that I should for each year.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that was taken from me for false expenses and expenses that were paid for by me and charged by them. They took it upon themselves to take the money from the rent for carpet cleaning that I paid for. all of their expenses added up to over 7K in 2011, 3K in 2012, and 2k in 2013. These are expenses that are on top of the 10% management fee they charge. This is absolutely robbery. I would like a full refund for the amount that were wrongly taken from me.

Business Response:


We are in receipt
of the complaint from Ms. ****** ****e for the property located at **** ****
*** **., San Antonio, Tx *****. The property was acquired from Bradfield
Property Management February 2009. There have been four tenants at the property
during this time period.

Ms. *****’s complaints in
reference to not receiving rent money are not valid. We provided Ms. ***** with
monthly statement’s of all income and expenses with copies of all receipts. The
rental proceed have been electronically deposited into a Wells Fargo Account
provided by Ms. *****. We have no knowledge of any returns from the money
electronically deposited into Ms. *****’s bank account. At Ms. *****’s request we have supplied her with copies of previously
transmittals that were provided to her in the past. Annual summary of income
and expenses has been provided to Ms. ***** along with her 1099 for IRS.

In regards to
repairs, since 2009, the repairs have been normal repairs associated with
ownership of an older property. The largest amounts of repair expenses were in
2011, when the property required painting and new carpet. These improvements
and additional make ready charges since the prior tenant had occupied the
property for the previous 4 years. Ms. ***** was physically present in San Antonio,
and approved repairs and provided a check in the amount of $2,272 to cover some
of the expenses. All repair requests were emailed to owner, from the email
address provided by Ms. *****. Ms. ***** would call from oversees to my cell
phone and work number to discuss the property and was informed of the repairs
and cost of the repair on numerous occasions.

There have been
several occasions when Ms. ***** asked if we would meet her family members at
the house. At different times we have met at the property, Ms. *****'s son and
brother. While at the property with a family member, they would call Ms. *****
while we were present to discuss repairs so we could complete make ready to put
property back on the rental market. We have spoken to owner daughter on a few
occasions trying to locate Ms. ***** for approval on repairs.

It has come to
our attention that Ms. ***** has contacted the tenants and instructed them to
stop paying their rent to Hendricks Property Management. Ms. ***** provided
tenant with her bank account number so tenant can deposit rent into her
account. This has caused confusion and concern with the tenant, since there has
been no official termination notification from Ms. *****. We have communicated
with the tenant to begin paying rent to the owner. It is our understanding that
during the Ms. ***** conversation with the current tenant, she asked if the repairs’ were really
completed. The tenant stated: “they were completed except a few which needed owner approval (window
screens and pocket door).







In summary, all rent money has been deposited into Ms. *****’s account. All repair requests were forwarded to Ms.
*****s’s email account for their information and
approval. There are no false reports for expenses. We have been Professional in
our business transactions during our property management of the subject
property and have gone above and beyond standard practices. We have accepted
Ms. *****’s verbal request to terminate our
relationship by mutual agreement.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

As to respond the message from Hendricks Property Management that you have provided me is not correct. I do have my bank statements, it will proved the Hendricks Property Management did not deposit the rent every month. Also, the expenses document they have provided me are falsely written by themselves.

If you need any further information, please, let me know. I thank you for your time and afford. May God bless you.


Regards,

**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented from Hendricks Property Management beginning in November 2011. In November 2012, our 1-year lease expired. When we received our Extension of Residential Lease notification, the monthly rent had been changed from $900 a month to $925 a month. I met with the ******** *******, ****** ********, who handles our rental house, in December 2012. While we wanted to renew our lease for a year, we requested if there was any way our rent could be kept at $900. My request was made complicated by the fact that the owner of our house lives out of the country, and there is often a delay in receiving a reply from him. ****** ******** promised that, until we heard back from the owner of the house one way or another, our rent would be kept at $900 a month. I asked if I needed to get that in writing, and our ******* stated that all we needed was his good word, and that he would be getting back to us as soon as possible. We trusted that our rates would be kept where Hendricks Property Management said they would be. When our month's rent was withdrawn from our account, however, the amount withdrawn was $975, rather than the promised $900, the extra $50 presumably being a month-to-month rate. This practice has continued since December 2012, despite numerous phone calls, many, many e-mails, and our determined attempts to resolve this issue. We are still technically going month-to-month, because Hendricks Property Management still has not revised and reissued us a new contract. We have been charged $975 for seven months now, despite the verbal commitment that I received from the ******* for Hendricks Property Management. For months now, we have been asking for that overpayment to be refunded, but the only thing that has happened is that they continue charging us $975 per month, not updating our contract, and not resolving our request. Even if they had not promised us a rate of $900, we would not have been on the higher rate of $975 for so long if they had gotten us an answer on the contract--and a revised contract--in a timely manner. We have been trying our best to renew our rental lease since November 2012. It is unacceptable that we have been left hanging for over seven months. Communication with this company is poor--our ******* is rarely reachable by phone and e-mails and phone calls are frequently left unreturned. After seven months of trying to resolve this with Hendricks Property Management, we are resorting to filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in the highest hopes that it will help bring resolution to our case. Thank you for your time!

Desired Settlement: Either a refund of $525 for the overdraft of $75 a month for the past seven months or an adjustment in our next month's rent to reflect the same amount.

Business Response: The tenants entered into a one year lease on the subject property on December 1, 2012 for
$900 a month.  In October 2012, a lease
renewal was sent to tenants for an additional year at a rental rate of $925,
which was a $25 a month increase.  A
rental market analysis was completed prior to sending the lease renewal. This
analysis indicated the market rent was well above the offered $925.  The tenants asked us to contact the owner to
request an extension of the $900 for another year.  We honored their request to get in contact
with the ***** who lives out of the country. 
We have had severe difficulty in contacting this owner as they have a sporadic
operating phone and an invalid e-mail. 
We received no immediate response from the owner and we continued to try
on a regular basis.  The tenants never
returned their lease renewal, so their lease rate went to $50.00 over the
renewal rate since they were on a “month-to-month” basis.  They remained at this rate through June of
2013.  Finally, we were able to contact
the owner, and he agreed to allow tenants to return to the $900 a month rate
until March 2014.  After receiving the
rental reduction as authorized by the owner, the tenants signed the lease
renewal and filed the complaint.

     In summary, the
tenants were offered a below market rental renewal rate of $925 in December,
but never signed or returned the lease renewal. 
Consequently, the lease went to a month-to-month  basis. 
They could have moved at anytime with a 30-Day Notice if they felt the
rent was too high.  They choose to remain
and paid the month-to-month rent while we were trying to contact the owner.  The owner is unwilling to reimburse any prior
rent from December (2012) to June (2013). 
However, since there was confusion on the  lease renewal and the extraordinary time to
contact the owner, Hendricks Property Management will return the $50 a month
difference between the renewal rate of $925 and the month-to-month rate of $975.  This would be 7 months at $50 a month for a
total of $350.

    

Thank You,

*** ** ********* ********* ******** *********** **********    

Consumer Response: Complaint *******


Better Business Bureau:

We appreciate that Hendricks Property Management had severe difficulty in contacting the owner of our rental house. Likewise, we have experienced severe difficulty in contacting Hendricks. We are grateful that they were willing to consider and pass on our request to maintain our rent at $900 rather than increase it to $925, but please bear in mind that it was just that—a request, one which took over 6 months to resolve. In the mean time, we were charged $975 as a month-to-month rate, despite being verbally told by the ******* representing Hendricks that our rent would be maintained at $900.

Our lease renewal was never returned because our ******* told us—twice—to wait (once at our initial meeting and once at a visit to our home to review some work that a contractor had done). Both times, we were prepared to submit a signed lease, but the ******* said that he was still waiting to hear back from the owner on approval so to hang on to it.

*** ********* is correct in stating that there was confusion on the lease renewal. At any time, he could have said "no" to our renewal request (it was, after all, a request), or offered the option to later modify a signed contract as a possibility. But instead, we were kept hanging from month to month, with the monthly overcharge of $75 being the the de-facto answer we received.

The proposition that *** ********* lays out for returning the difference between the increased rent and the month-to-month rate is logical to us. Although it is less than we were hoping for, we understand his perspective and appreciate what the refund represents on his part. Having reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, we find that this resolution is satisfactory to us.

Though the overcharge is certainly a significant side effect requiring resolution, the cause of our complaint was poor communication, without which the overcharge could have been avoided. To date, we have experienced periods of up to five weeks without a response from our *******, despite multiple attempts on our part for contact during those periods. As such, we will be seeking a plan for better communication moving forward to ensure a happy and mutually beneficial relationship.

For us, "better" communication can be defined as a) at least an acknowledgement from our ******* to e-mail or phone communications within a reasonable amount of time, say 3 business days, b) a resolution or communication about the reason for a lack of resolution every 10 business days after that, without the need for persistent repeated follow-up on our part, and c) if our ******* does not respond within this time frame, a point of contact that can actually help us resolve our request instead of directing us back to our *******. Though we like our current ******* a great deal personally and appreciate his efforts on our behalf during our tenure, we feel that the level of communication outlined above may require a different representative with a more aggressive approach to communication.

We actually did file the complaint with the Better Business Bureau (6/27/13) before signing our lease renewal (6/28/13), after notifying our ******* over 24 hours earlier (6/26/13) that we we intended to do so, with no response from him. As renters, we are not confident that this situation would have progressed to this point were it not for the Better Business Bureau, and are grateful for the assistance.

We are happy and grateful to be in this little house, and look forward to a pleasant continuation of our time here.

Regards,

***** *** ****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1