Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brothers Management Company

Phone: (254) 753-5355 Fax: (254) 756-5408 400 La Salle Ave, Waco, TX 76706 http://www.brothersmanagement.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brothers Management Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brothers Management Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Brothers Management Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 23, 1994 Business started: 01/06/1982 in TX Business started locally: 01/06/1982 Business incorporated 01/06/1982 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Russell Trippet, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Russell Trippet, President
Business Category

Property Management Apartments

Additional Information

This company offers property management services, primarily student housing and multi-family properties.

Industry Tips
Landlord Repairs

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brothers Management Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 400 La Salle Ave

    Waco, TX 76706 (254) 753-5355

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am extremely dissatisfied with Brothers and their business practices. I live in an apartment with two physical roommates and one roommate who does not live in the apartment with us, but still "pays" her portion of rent. I say this because she has not actually paid her portion, but instead misses her payments without telling us. I understand that having signed our lease we agreed to pay the missing rent that my roommate fails to pay. However, Brothers has failed to inform us when a payment is missed so that we can rectify the situation quickly. Instead they wait until three months have passed with no payment and then threaten to evict us in mere hours unless the money is paid. The first time this happened, we specifically asked to be notified if a payment was missed so that we could take care of the matter together and quickly. They have not ever contacted us except to inform us of a large, built-up sum that must be paid now or else. Then when we asked them why they did not contact us, they blamed their "faulty systems," said they sometimes didn't even USE their systems, or they placed blame on some other employee, then offered us a free T-shirt, coffee mug or cookie. What? I'm flabbergasted that these people are even remotely organized or functional at all. This is the third time we are going through the same thing. I would be happy, more than happy to pay the rent that is missing if I could split it with my other roommates on a monthly basis. I cannot afford to pay or be expected to pay hundreds of dollars at a moment's notice. Also, they act as though unless you are there to happily drop off your rent, have no questions, or thank them for all their false niceness, they want you to leave. they want to get you out of their building as quickly as possible. They will say ANYTHING to get you to leave. They close early. Their business hours are from 8:30am until 5pm but they close and leave at 4:30pm, and if you are keeping them at their jobs past 4:30pm they almost literally push you out of the building. I should have known when I went to sign the lease. There was a huge storm coming and they closed early due to "inclement weather." This was at 2pm and they closed, throwing us out INTO the huge storm that was coming. What? None of the employees we talk to about our situation ever seem to be on the same page or willing to help us figure out a better situation. Instead they blame other employees or their systems. They withheld the information from us that our other roommate wasn't paying, and did not do as we had agreed to let us know when payments were missed THE FIRST TIME, so that we would not be in danger of eviction. If they cannot keep accurate accounting, if they cannot stay on top of their own business, and if they cannot serve their customers well, they should not be allowed to be in business.

Desired Settlement: they have a responsibility to not only listen to their customers, but actually do what they say they will. NEW STAFF. They need staff members with integrity and honesty. If they want to close at 4:30pm, change your hours to "Closed at 4:30pm." If they have a special case like ours that needs monitoring or attention, PAY ATTENTION. Customers want to be partnered with so that their issues can be resolved quickly and with feeling like it was a team effort. Cooperation. If this is not achieved, I, the customer feel as though I am a problem, I have to be "handled," I have to be evicted because I have to pay money I was not aware was missing for months. I want to be contacted by this business so I can know they saw this, read this, and now have to respond with a cooperative solution to our particular situation. Do not simply say whatever you can to appease me or get me to leave. WORK WITH ME.

Business Response:

As to our office closing at 4:30 - I honestly am not sure where this is coming from.  I know I am here everyday until 5 or 5:30 sometimes later than that.  We do lock our doors at 5.  She is correct in stating we did close early on a day of stormy flooding weather.  However, I know we did not "throw" anyone out into the storm.  We would have closed our doors for the day immediately after the last person left our office at 2 or 2:30 that day.  That was the same day La Salle Ave flooded and people were having issues navigating the street, which is where our office is located.  

As to notifying everyone when 1 roommate is late on rent.  We normally try to resolve, and have success in, resolving the situation in sending letters to the roommates that are behind in there rent.  Once we send letters to the roommate that is behind, that normally takes care of the situation.  Going forward, in this case, we will sent a late rent reminder to everyone on the lease contract via email.  Instead of going to the Better Business Bureau all she had to do was contact me, and I would have worked with them in getting their rent caught up.  We have instances that happen all the time when 1 roommate leaves and the others either try to work with the roommate that left to pay the rent or they pay themselves and we do work with them if we can see they are trying to get the rent caught up.

****** ****

Property Manager

Brothers Management

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are renting a house that was owned by ******** realty, there is a severe foundation problem resulting in half the house in a downward slant. An area of the foundation inside the house shifts when stepped on. A 2ft area of stone on the outside wall broke as a result of the shift with numerous cracks along the stone lining along the base of the house. Behind the stones is chicken wire that wraps around the house. ******** send maintenance to come out and glue the stones back thinking this would solve the problem. ******** then put the house on market. Around this time Brothers management owner came to look at the house. He asked me what all needed to be fixed. I told him about the foundation, the broken window in the bathroom, the rot around the entire window frame, a board that was holding another window secure, not locks on the windows except the two nails on the inside of the house that prevent it from being pushed in. Brothers management bought the house and our lease was transferred to them. We started hearing frequent cracking, and notified brothers management. Their maintenance manager told us that they had gotten an engineer to inspect and that there were not any cracks on the outside rock it looked just fine and that there was a slant in the kitchen but that could be fixed. She then told us it was safe. This didn't seem right because the there is an outside crack on the foundation, that is visible underneath the stone wrap around. The maintenance manager apparently thought the foundation was the stone wrap around. Even then there are cracks along it as well, not to mention the glued together piece that ******** realty did. It wasn't taken seriously so we notified the city code inspector, a day later the house was red tagged and said we need to move out in five days. We got a phone call the next day from brothers management saying that we can't lawfully break the lease because they had already had a group of engineers come out to do an inspection. Brothers management said that they had begun talks with the city to try and resolve the problem. The issue was taken lightly when brothers management called us to tell us about there being nothing severely wrong with the house. If there wasn't anything severely wrong then why would the inspector red tag the house. They are preventing us from leaving with the threat that we would be unlawfully breaking our lease.

Desired Settlement: For the sake of safety and the severity of the situation that the city of the **** would red tag this house let us move into safety and give us our safety deposit back. If this is a sensible reasonable and ethical business then you would also refund us a portion of our august 2014 rent we paid on the 1st of August, 495.00.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

************** 

From: ********* ****** * *********************************** 
Sent: Friday, August 08, 2014 7:53 AM
To: info
Subject: Re: Your complaint has been received

 

 This problem was resolved and we are able to move into a structurally safe house. The following is an email sent from the owner of the brothers management. 

 

******,

 

I am emailing you as promised on our telephone conversation of a few minutes ago. As I indicated to you we understand you will be moving out immediately and as such we will do the following:

 

1.       Upon receipt from you of the keys at our office at *** ** ***** and your forwarding address we will process the return of your security deposit and pro-rated rent to the 11th of  August and mail you a check for the amount due you within thirty days.

 

If you have any questions about this procedure please let me know.

 

******* *******

 

Brothers Management

*** ** *****

****, Texas *****

************

2/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: January 29, 2013To whom It may concern,I am requesting a termination of my lease per the attached document signed on 12/8/13 stating that in the event the Owner is unable to assign resident/s preferred unit before January 31, 2014, resident may terminate this lease upon written notice by no later than January 31, 2014. I have not received confirmation of assignment of unit at this date of January 29, 2014 and wish to terminate my lease and have my deposit returned. This was the letter, and the document she attached, did state that resident may terminate lease. Company was unwilling to even consider termination, or help us find a way out of the pre-lease arrangement.

Desired Settlement: Terminate lease and be kind and helpful to student.

Business Response: ******** **** and her roommate, ********* ****** signed a lease on December 3, 2013 for an apartment.  Their lease begins on May 29, 2014.  They were assigned an apartment number (909) before January 31, 2014.  ******** was told that we would help them try to release the apartment but,  she and her roommate would have to sign the document giving us permission to do so.  

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a student living at ****** ***** ***. The management company, from day one, has had the attitude that they could not be bothered to deal with me. I am (finally!) moving out of my apartment that I leased from them. When I called to ask for a walk through to determine what any charges for maintenance upon move-out might be, the company's response was that they do not make appointments for a walk through with the client because they had too few staff members. I asked if we could perhaps set up an afternoon where, whenever they had time, someone could come over and go through the most common charges, etc. Once again, they declined. They assured me, however, that their private walkthrough would be done on the day that I move out. From this, I gather that they obviously do have enough people to do a walk through, but that they could not be bothered to do the apartment walk through in my presence. This would not be such an issue if the apartments were better maintained. However, since the apartment had issues before I moved in, (screw holes, stains, small dents in the walls, carpet coming up, etc.), I am afraid of being charged for the damage from past tenants.

Desired Settlement: This issue would be resolved by changing their policy of refusing to perform an end of lease walk through. Unless they change their policy, I would like the company to waive their right to collect cleaning and damage charges for my apartment, since they are effectively giving me no opportunity to rectify any small cleaning requirements that may have been overlooked or explain any damages that were there when I moved in.

Business Response:

In reference to walking units at move out with residents we can do this if we have time but generally we have so many residents moving out at the same time there is no way we would have the time to meet with each resident. We give every resident very clear written instructions as to what is expected of them when they move out.  Also, in the event there are significant charges against the resident due to leaving a unit in poor condition we generally document the charges with photos or videos.

In this case if teh resident is unhappy wiht the dispostion of his move out he is more than welcome to contact our corporate office at ******** and ask for ******* ****** to discuss any issues.

7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is **** *******, and I am a first year graduate student at ****** ********** completing coursework for a Master's of Science in Education degree with an emphasis in Sport Management. In addition, I am employed as a Graduate Assistant with the ******** ******** ******* *********** under the direction of legendary of ****** football coach, ***** *****. My other duties include working as a summer intern with ****** Athletic Performance (football) and serving as President of the Sport Management Association at ******. I moved to ****, TX last August from ******* *********** where I graduated from *** ****. I secured an apartment unit with Brothers Management in a complex known as "*** *********". I had minor issues with my dwelling during the first six months of my inhabitance; however, Brothers Management was highly adept in getting my repairs taken care of in a timely fashion. Nevertheless, I ran into an issue that would and still does continue to plague my very well-being as a resident at *** *********. My residence has been infested with roaches for the past 6-7 months. My fellow residents have continuously complained about the same issues, but I decided to take action. Brothers Management has attempted to solve this problem, but to no avail. I have had my apartment sprayed five times with the strongest of pest deterrents and even bombed, yet I still find myself sharing my supposed one bedroom apartment with an influx of roaches. Mind you, I take pride in being a clean individual with respect to washing regularly and abiding by good hygiene practices. However, every waking moment of my very existence at my dwelling is filled with watching pests crawl all over my home and the possessions within it. They leave small black "residue/specks" everywhere- including my dishes. I have even had to clean pests out of my toaster when I noticed a pungent odor coming from it as I was attempting to fix myself breakfast. The last straw came about when I saw a number of pests crawling along my bathroom sink and onto my toothbrush! These sub-par living conditions are completely unacceptable and have severely affected my productivity when housed in my unit. I absolutely dread going home. Nowadays, I can expect to carry a pest or two with me to class and/or work as they usually crawl out when I retrieve my class materials. This has been a tough and embarrassing ordeal for me to the point that I can not let Brothers Management get away with their incompetence in dealing with this issue. I even went to Brothers Management's place of business to fervently voice my concerns with the manager. Instead, I was forced to deal with a "messenger" who served as a liaison to myself and the manager, Ms. ******. She never even came out of her office to hear me out. These are unacceptable business practices, and I will not stand by and be treated as an insignificance just because I may not be able to afford more affluent living arrangements. My current situation leads me to believe that my furniture, dishes, etc. will all be inundated with pests that will most likely come along to my next place of residence- forcing me back into the same situation.

Desired Settlement: I have paid my rent 6 months in advance over the past year only to be forced to live in my current unit fearful that something is crawling on me or that I have consumed something that roaches have left their "mark" on. In light of these injustices, I request for the superiors Brothers Management to be more forthcoming in their communication with me and provide me with suitable compensation to make up for what I have had to deal with as well as for potential issues unseen. I request to have portions of my rent for the past 6 months redistributed to me or applied to my rent obligations at my next choice of living arrangements- effective in August. Also, I would like to have my dishes replaced and my few pieces of furniture cleaned so as not to transport this issue to my next place of residence. Thank you for your time. Please contact me with any further inquiries. **** *******

Business Response:

On June 18th, our property manager, ****** ****, spoke to Mr. ******* regarding the pest control issue in his unit.  We informed him we were changing pest control companies in hopes of a more satisfactory treatment program.  Thus, * * * **** ******* will be treating his unit frequently to help remedy this issue.  It was also agreed that Brothers Management Company will waive Mr. ********* last month's rent in the amount of $485.  Mr. ******* mutually agreed that he would attempt to keep his unit cleaner making pest control treatment more effecitve.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******





















Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Brothers Management Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart