Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Boardwalk Real Property Management Inc.

Phone: (210) 340-1717 Fax: (210) 342-4198 2141 NW Military Hwy Ste 101, San Antonio, TX 78213 http://www.boardwalkrpm.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management and real estate services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boardwalk Real Property Management Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boardwalk Real Property Management Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Boardwalk Real Property Management Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1994 Business started: 04/17/1986 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 04/17/1986 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Foster, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Foster, President
Related Businesses
Stephen D. Foster & Associates
Business Category

Property Management

Method(s) of Payment
Credit Cards, Bank Draft, Money Order, Certified Check, Personal Check, ACH

Additional Locations

  • 2141 NW Military Hwy Ste 101

    San Antonio, TX 78213 (210) 340-1717

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is concerning the gross negligence, lack of concern, and minimal intervention by Boardwalk RPM to provide livable conditions of the property. Boardwalk RPM has shown an extreme indifference, insufficient and unsatisfactory responsibility in both the condition and maintenance of the property, making it unsuitable to safely live. After being assured that the property would be professionally cleaned, they retracted on their initial promise when I discovered the rugs and bathroom were unsanitary. Before I signed the lease, they promised to have it cleaned again to my standards if I was unhappy with how they cleaned the property. However, once the lease was signed they did not fulfill their promise made to me regarding the sanitation and safety of the property. When I talked to an Assistant Property Manager, my concerns were ignored evidenced by repeatedly cutting me off and avoiding my questions, concerns and complaints and attempting to hang up on me. Repairs that property management are refusing to fix or clean which were hidden from me prior to signing the lease are as follows: un-vacuumed rug before shampooing the carpet resulting in pushed-around dirt, dog urine on the carpet, accumulated soap scum on the bottom of a tub, dirty bathroom, hole in the master bedroom door, loose towel racks, unworkable lock on bathroom door, failure to install and then fix undrawable blinds and patch a bulging prior water leak. There has been severe lack of cooperation from the property management and owner, requiring 4 attempts, the last one being in person, to get information whether my service request would be carried out. These conditions were substandard and non-livable, and their response time is unexceptable in this matter. When tenant expressed displeasure of the “professional cleaning” job, they had the carpet shampooed, but would not clean the place or fix problems to make the house “move-in” ready (loose towel racks, hole in bedroom door, and refusing to even clean the tub) while stating that the house was in “immaculate condition.” Digging into my own finances to make the house move-in ready, I was forced to purchase cleaning supplies and then clean the entire house, which took an entire two weeks – and the master bathroom is impossible for me to clean without the use of heavy duty cleaning supplies, which no ordinary tenant would have access to. Boardwalk RPM will not reimburse me for any expenses because the owner deems these requests to be “cosmetic” in nature. They agreed only to check out the possible water damage and constant water draining in the bathrooms. A plumber has come four times, first stating that there is water damage from prior tenants, making another recommendation to patch the damage, which is drooping into the pantry downstairs. It obviously hasn’t been patched (declined by the owner who will only fix things that are minimally necessary). The second visit minimized the running water of the toilet, but it has not been fixed. I finally had to shut the water off and stopped using the bathroom in the master room because it is so filthy anyway. Due to the constant draining of water in the other bathroom, my water bill spiked significantly (more than twice the amount of gallons normally used by a household of entire families, as reflected on my water bill) due to willful negligence over a period of 4 weeks. Recently, I was informed by Boardwalk RPM via email that the last incident involving the toilet becoming clogged, overflowing and leaking from the bottom of the toilet, was somehow my fault and that I would be charged for the incident. Based on the fact that this plumbing issue was never resolved, this can in no way be my responsibility. I responded in writing on 4/3/15, via email, to both property managers, and neither bothered to respond to me or rectify the situation in any way. Electrical problems, including a spark and a near fire occurred because prior tenants changed a 4 prong dryer plug to a 3 prong dryer plug. Boardwalk RPM neglected to check this for safety, which nearly caused personal injury to me. It burned several holes in the laundry room floor to avoid bodily harm and injury to myself. The biggest safety concern involved a robbery that occurred on 11/25/14 due to a woefully inadequate closet door being placed on the front door, which had no structural integrity/safety to prevent theft and was purely cosmetic in nature. Attached pictures prove that this door was made out of particle board and foam, with what the police officer and detective said “a teenager could easily kick through.” Attempting to absolve themselves of any responsibility, Boardwalk RPM made numerous false claims, did not check the door (or dryer plugs) for safety and seemed surprised that this kind of door was installed, saying “we never had that problem before.” The door installer informed me that the front door was actually one used as a bedroom or closet (indoor) door with no structural integrity whatsoever – made of particle board and Styrofoam. I have lost thousands of dollars in personal property, not to mention personal and client information has been compromised. I understand break-ins do occur, but this situation could have easily been avoided. It is obvious that the cost-cutting and negligence on the owner’s part to avoid putting a door that was neither structural nor designed for any outside use is another example of their gross negligence in providing satisfactory living conditions of any ordinary tenant, going as far as to compromise my safety. In addition, since I was not able to stay at the residence, both due to personal safety and security of the actual building, I had to stay in hotels and other places for 6 days out-of-pocket expense. I have attempted on numerous occasions to work with Boardwalk RPM to help rectify the obvious and extremely hazardous safety concerns I now face due to Boardwalk RPM’s unwillingness to make the house safe. Additionally, they rejected assisting in installing a security system, repeatedly saying this would be my responsibility, and never allowed the door installers to return to make adjustments to the front door to make it lock or unlock properly. The obvious negligence and shortcuts by Boardwalk RPM is obvious, but when it comes to my personal safety, this incident was easily avoidable if it wasn’t for their gross negligence in safety not to mention subpar gross living conditions. I have repeatedly attempted in fear and desperation to work out a compromise with the Boardwalk RPM only to be callously rebuffed, ignored, and denied my basic tenant rights. They showed a behavior pattern reneging on promises and systematically lying to cover their habitual negligence. The heater never worked properly, and Boardwalk’s contractors came twice, the first time it took them 2 weeks to get the right company to come over. The second time, Boardwalk sent the same incorrect company again; however, this time I had to endure the coldest days of the year, the temperature being 40-45 degrees in my house for 4 days. Their communication with their maintenance department is nonexistent and grossly insufficient, and caused me to make a data entry mistake, costing me countless hours of sleep, additional fees, and continued stress. Additionally, other work requests that were rejected were to fix the dishwasher and the (new) front door. The dishwasher has never worked properly upon move-in, causing permanent damage to some of my dishes, only revealing that Boardwalk RPM provided misleading information regarding the property. The front door was installed on 11/27/14 , but the job was not completed. The door installers informed me they would return to finish the caulking, but no update was provided by Boardwalk RPM until, due to my repeated prompting, a Property Manager finally responded via email on 1/14/15 that both requests have not been approved by the owner of the property and will not be addressed. The front door’s deadlock now will not lock and/or gets fixated in the locked position, making it impossible to enter or exit the front door, which is obviously yet another safety concern and is costing me extra money to heat the house as air enters through that door. Overall, Boardwalk RPM’s negligence toward my safety and unexceptable state of the property upon move-in is costing me a great deal of stress, income expense and continued threats to my safety.

Desired Settlement: Make repairs, finish the job, refund money for expenses I had to pay out of pocket, make the conditions livable (conducive to living).

Business Response: I find the tenants statements about gross negligence,
lack of concern and minimal intervention to be ingenuous when the tenant has
occupied the property for approximately 6 months and has requested 17 work
orders during that time span, each of which has been taken care of in
accordance to the lease.  Cosmetic repairs are at the discretion of the
owner.  Following is our response to a letter we have received
on her behalf speaking about the same concerns.







We would like to clarify a few claims you have made regarding issues in the
home. 



First, the move in condition:  The property was in fact professionally
cleaned.  We have an invoice to prove this, attached, as well as follow up
pictures for verification.  We never “represented that the premises would
be cleaned to the tenants standards once the lease was signed” as she
have claimed.   I would need to see written
documentation or this to support her claim. 



The carpets were professionally steam cleaned prior to move in, we do not have
them shampooed, and are guaranteed by a trusted carpet cleaning company we use
on a regular basis.  Since the tenant claimed they were not
clean enough, we sent them back out to re-clean the carpets after she took
possession, as a courtesy.  An invoice for the cleaning service has been
attached for verification.



The tenant viewed the house before move in, signed the lease which states in
Paragraph 15 “Tenant has inspected the property and accepts it AS-IS”. 



Next, the heater: Yes, the heater has worked in this home despite your
claim that “the heater in the house has never worked properly”. The entire
HVAC system was replaced back in September 2012.  There have been a couple
work orders placed by the tenant regarding an issue with the system not working
properly.  The issue each time was relatively small, and repaired in a
timely manner despite the claim. 





The toilet issue:  We spoke to the owner regarding this charge. 
Since there were no items actually retrieved from the toilet by the plumber,
the owner has agreed to cover the cost. The tenant will receive a credit
on her account for the $85 charge. 



Next, the safety issues:  The tenant claimed that we “installed
a hollow-core interior closet door as an exterior door of the house”. 
This is completely false.  We do have (multiple) pictures of a solid-core
entry door in place before move in.  It can also be verified through our
certified locksmith.  The door on the property when she took possession
was the door installed by the builder, solid core as per building code. 
Under no circumstances would we ever install a hollow-core door as an
entry door.  After the break-in it was then replaced with another
solid-core entry door, performed in a timely manner.  The tenant did
report (months later) that she was having problems with the lock sticking,
so a work order was issued out to have it looked at/adjusted.  From what
we understand the contractor has contacted the tenant to schedule a time
for service. 



In regards to the break-in and damage to the door:  Per the signed lease,
Paragraph 18 D. (2)(b.), the tenant is responsible for damages to doors,
windows, and screens at the property.  The tenant will be charged for
the repairs, as the damages did not occur due to the Landlord’s negligence. 




Next, the dryer issue: The tenant has claimed we “had the clothes
dryer outlet plugged into an ordinary three-pronged outlet….”.  I
fail to understand how this is even possible, as an outlet cannot be “plugged
into another outlet.  There is a 3 pronged 110 outlet available for the
washer, above the washer drain pan.  To the right of it is a 220 outlet
for dryer use.  The tenant actually tried to replace the dryer
outlet themselves, which is a direct violation of the lease under Paragraph 18
C. (1).  From what we can figure from this situation is that she
tried to plug the dryer (220) into a 110 outlet for some reason, and it
sparked/created a fire.  Either that or she was not using a
properly-pronged cord from the dryer for use in the 220 outlet (there are
adapters she can purchase). 



Dishwasher:  Yes, the dishwasher is functional.  The
tenant has claimed the dishwasher “has never worked properly and has never
worked”.  She even

admits to using it frequently in the work order request, which debunks her
statement.  Her claim is that it just does not clean them as well as
she would like. Unfortunately some dishwashers are more efficient than
others, but the one in this property is fully functional. 



We will not pay the tenant for her expenses.  We believe we have
made every accommodation we are required to do under the lease, and have
documentation as proof. 



After discussing this issue with the owner in depth, he has agreed to let the
tenant out of her lease.  She will need to pay pro-rated rent up until she
vacates, and also let us know a date she will be vacating.  No leasing fee
will be charged to her, nor will she receive a broken lease status on her rental
history record.  If this is agreed to by the tenant, then both parties will
consider this entire issue finalized. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not consider this matter completely resolved. I wish to clarify Boardwalk’s assertions below:

First, I discovered some charges on my account today. There is no explanation for these seemingly extraneous and excessive charges that I am being billed for. I was simply billed with the description as “reimburse owner” with absolutely no explanation as to what or why. I can only assume that this is the cost to replace the Styrofoam and particle door that they had in place due to the burglary that occurred on 11/25/14. If this is indeed a correct assumption, there are several obvious problems:

1. Just recently on 4/23/15 was I even made aware of a possible door charge, but no other further explanation was provided. Why, after 5 months following the break-in, am I now being charged for this?

2. A detailed statement is a reasonable request for being billed.

3. There is no way it cost $1,103.24 to install a door. The original door that was smashed apart prices at Lowe’s for $122 unlike
the quality door that is now installed on the property. I can’t imagine roughly $500-800 in labor charges just to install a door. It appears that Boardwalk is charging me extraneously.

I have pictures as visual evidence that Boardwalk did indeed allow a hollow-core interior closet door as the front door. The pictures will show that it is made of Styrofoam and a very thin particle board as the exterior – not steel as Boardwalk claims – one that the police detective said “a young teenager could have easily kicked through.” These pictures show that it is the same door that Boardwalk had on the door at the time I moved into the house. In addition to the officer’s statement and visual evidence, I have witnesses from two door installers. The burglary occurred in November 2014, and on a letter dated 4/20/15 (and received 4/23/15) is the first time that Boardwalk has informed me that “according to the lease on paragraph 18 D. (2) (b.), that any damage to doors, windows, and screens at the property” will be billed to me “unless caused by Landlord’s negligence.” This door should have been inspected prior to my move-in for safety, and the facts of the burglary are obvious – they only had 10 minutes or less to get in, get out and not be seen or heard by anybody in broad daylight with both neighbors being home. This means nobody would have even heard them banging down the door. This could have only been possible if the door was flimsy enough to be kicked through on one to few attempts in order not to alarm my neighbors. It is obvious that this damage occurred due to an inadequate door on the building. I can do nothing about what door is placed on my dwelling. Based on this, I should in no way, be held responsible for a break-in that I could not control, and again could have been completely avoided by the type of door that was allowed to be kept on the exterior. There is damage to the doorframe, the paint surrounding the doorframe and the interior linoleum upon entrance, none of which I caused and the owner has never authorized this work order anyway. I reported all of this to Boardwalk at the time of the break-in, and they had said that as long as I provided a police report, I would not be charged for the damage. I’m not really sure why this is the first time I have been informed of this change. I can get further documentation from the officer if that is necessary to show that this was 100% a result of the burglary.

Next, to respond and clarify to the assertions that Boardwalk made in their response, unfortunately there are some matters of
contention on several grounds. You will find one common theme below, which is, that I, as a tenant, have tried my best to endure the situation before contacting Boardwalk for repairs, making absolutely sure that I could no longer endure it, was not a safe situation and that there was a valid concern:

The first six months were spent sending emails with no response, being rebuffed, finally deciding just to deal with a bad situation as best as I could, finding solutions to problems on my own before even talking to Boardwalk to submit a work order, and finally staying on top of them about work orders (in that order). The fact that I have been here 6 months enduring these types of conditions should further attest that I have been more than accommodating, attempting to make the best of a very bad situation. I have clearly not been a difficult tenant, but just someone who needed important things fixed in a more timely manner in order to have a safe and healthy (sanitary) place to live.

Now on to the actual property and their claims: I believe Boardwalk RPM did have the house professionally cleaned and I believe they have documentation to prove this – this has never been disputed. What is disputed is that the cleaning company did not do a satisfactory job, and secondly, Boardwalk did not follow through on what was promised, which was to “clean” and “shampoo” the carpet to see if the pet stains would come up, and to attempt to reclean the house if it was not satisfactory. I was present for the pet stain cleaning, per their request. There was no attempt to spot treat any of the pet stains (or other stains) by merely steam cleaning it. No chemicals were sprayed or used over these spots. Besides the carpet, the overall cleaning job was not only
unsatisfactory to my standards, but both professionals and acquaintances that saw the property with me prior to move in (after I signed the lease), made comments that “the house just needs to be cleaned” and they would “never go in the master tub” due to its filthiness. Clearly, these are not just my lofty standards, but a typical person’s reasonable standards. Boardwalk’s assumption
that I saw the house prior to move in is lacking accuracy. When I inspected the house, the current tenants took measures to hide the condition of the house, including using several rugs, covering the pet stains, and burning candles to cover the smell. Boardwalk assured me that it would be professionally cleaned and if it wasn’t done to my standards (reasonably), then I could request them
to clean it again. On these conditions, I signed the lease.

Secondly, I stand by the fact that the heater did not work until just recently when the whole motor was replaced. I am confident making this statement based on the following: Since I moved in, the heater was very loud, and blowing out cold air for hours. It was so loud that the noise of the heater often woke me up from my sleep, and that sound only intensified until the motor finally burned out. This further indicates that the heater never did work, and attempts to fix it were not satisfactory because the initial problem (a burned out motor) was never fixed. The utility company even told me to contact my landlord/property manager and keep making requests until it is fixed because with the type of money I was paying for utilities, I should be “very toasty.” I had to wear a jacket.  I reiterate the heater never worked properly, and did not get fully fixed for 5 months. This is not timely. I understand that sometimes it takes some trial and error to find a problem, but two weeks is not a timely manner (for the first
occurrence), which is not satisfactorily according to the lease. 

Additionally, It is not true that I tried to replace the dryer outlet myself. Boardwalk has no basis or proof for this assumption. It
was actually the prior tenants who did that, which is against the law, and this is precisely why it should have been checked for safety before allowing another tenant to deal with the issue. Their electrician will attest to this fact.

I would like to respectfully disagree about the dishwasher being fully functional. I had said in my work request that I was trying to use it, showing that I was working with them even though it was causing me extra money to wash everything again (sometimes 2-3 times). Regardless of my efforts, the condition only worsened to the point where I could not use it at all. It is true that some
dishwashers work better than others, but this is not the case with the dishwasher in the property in question.

To summarize, in light of the obvious discrepancies as stated above, I have decided to accept Boardwalk’s offer to terminate the lease early with no leasing fee or break of contract attached to my rental history. The standing point of contention is this “surprise” bill containing absolutely no explanation of what and why I am being billed. I have done my best to separate from Boardwalk under agreeable terms, considering the difficulty I have endured these past 6 months. It seems I am being charged excessively due to Boardwalk’s negligence, which according the lease is unlawful as it states the tenant must pay for damage done to doors “unless due to Landlord’s negligence.” They used a cheap, Styrofoam door covered in thin particle board-like material. If
Boardwalk had used a solid-core, steel door initially, the damage would have never happened. Pending return of my security deposit beyond normal wear and tear and an explanation of these inaccurate charges, I will consider this case completely
resolved.

In conclusion, I would like to thank Boardwalk for the owner’s offer to terminate the lease with no fees or penalties attached to my
rental history. I can promise that the house will be left in better condition than how I found it as this is a strong personal principle of mine regardless of how inherently bad this situation was. Regardless of my experience, I would like to thank Boardwalk in advance for taking the time to address these points of disagreement as stated above and coming to an amicable agreement as our
professional relationship ends. I would like to give Boardwalk additional time to resolve this billing issue, but due to the Better Business Bureau’s timeline, I must submit a response to keep the case open. I will attempt to contact Boardwalk to resolve this billing matter and will contact the BBB immediately upon resolution.  



Regards,

**** ********

Business Response: I would like to apologize to our tenant for a complete misunderstanding on our part.  We did not have photos of the door involved and could not believe that type of door had been placed as an exterior door by the builder, years before.  We have come to a mutual agreement with the tenant and I appreciate her efforts. 

11/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 4 2013 I paid the monthly rent of 925.00 to boardwalk. Boardwalk gave the rent of 925.00 to the landlord of the property and the rent wasn't paid for September 2013. Boardwalk is showing it as we didn't pay the rent for September 2013 even though I have copies of my bank statement showing the deduction of 925.00 to boardwalk. Later on in the month we received a letter from Carrington properties. That the house was in foreclosure. The landlord wasn't paying the mortgage. I've sent both boardwalk and Carrington properties the new property management. Company we have now both copies of the bank statements that show I paid 925 for September. 2013..they aren't. Willing to work on this issue with me and ignore my calls..i need help to resolve this matter..

Desired Settlement: Credit on my account for September. 2013

Business Response: The tenant is mostly correct.  They paid their September 2013 rent which we, Boardwalk, sent to the owner.  Later in the month we were also contacted by Carrington Property Services to help them with the management of the property.  Once Carrington assumed management of the property with us acting on their behalf here in San Antonio, we started a new register for the property.  Since we do not collect the rent for the Carrington properties, they have the rent sent directly to them, our register shows no more rental payments.  We have spoken to Carrington numerous times about this incident and today received an email from Carrington crediting the tenant with the September 2013 rent.  Problem solved.  I want to thank the tenant for their follow-up on this issue.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: In the response from Boardwalk, it did not state an amount credited for September 2013 rent. The amount that should have been credited is $925.00. I need to know the amount before I accept this.

Regards,

******* *********

Business Response: I have attached the emails that Marty received from Carrington Property Services verifying that rental account for ******* ********* was current.  This is all I have as we do not collect their rent, Carrington does.  If Mr. ********* wants a receipt he needs to contact the folks at Carrington, their contact info is included on the attachments.
 
Thank you,
******* ** ******

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We began renting with Boardwalk 4/1/14 the home was in poor condition. Lost of work order request needed to be made right off the start. Its taken them three months to attend to the issues.The assistant property manager for my rental property dose not return emails or phone calls even after many voicemails and emails have been sent. There were a few instances where she gave me poor customer service over the phone. She lost or miss placed documentation and insisted that I was at fault. I made a complaint against the property manager and the office manager sided with the assistant property manager. So I had a meeting with them and then said documentation was found and work orders did not get fixed till this day. They tell me that they are in the process of fixing it but no one is getting back to me. They currently started work on the plumbing issues and the home is not livable been trying to get another place to stay through them but is reviving no help.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to waive the month of July's rent.

Business Response: To whom it may concern.

The letter that was received by BBB was sent after the tenant had a meeting with the assistant property manager in question, the property manager of the property and the office manager.  As her lease states, all repair requests must be in writing.  Even though many of her requests have been over the phone, we try to have them taken care of as soon as the owner of the property gives us permission to.  One of the issues involves an insurance claim which has taken time to get the approval to do. 

I am sorry for the delay but we cannot always act as soon as we would like to.

I also am sure that if the property was in poor condition at move in the tenant would not have rented the property.

Thank you,

******* ** ******

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a property from this company and at the end of the lease they provided "Move-Out Instructions" that only required the walls to be cleaned. After moving out, they keep $175 from my deposit for touch up paint which was not a requirement under the lease nor the move out instructions provided.

Desired Settlement: I want the $175.00 that they unfairly kept back.

Business Response: I appreciate the letter from our former tenant.  The property in question was a new home and she was the first person to occupy it.  She left the home in excellent condition with the exception of the items that were mentioned in her security deposit reconciliation.  We have had written communication from her about this all of which we have answered.  I believe that this may be a miss understanding of what is deductible.  I also believe that she may not be aware of these damages because some of the damage may have happened while she was moving out as they appear to be scrapes to the wall as items were moved past them.  Pictures of these damages are attached.  According to the lease that she signed, paragraph 10.D.1. Landlord may deduct reasonable charges from the security deposit for: (q) cost to restore walls, flooring, landscaping or any alteration to the Property not approved in writing by Landlord: and paragraph 17.D.3 & 6. Prohibitions: Except as otherwise permitted by law, this lease, or in writing by Landlord, Tenant may not: (3) make holes in the woodwork, floors, or walls, except that a reasonable number of small nails may be used to hang pictures in sheetrock and grooves in paneling: (6) alter, replace or remove flooring material, paint, or wallpaper.  The tenant was charged the $175 that it cost to have these items restored.  I was not able to attach a copy of the lease due to the limit of attachments but will be glad to send one if requested.

Thank you,

Stephen D. Foster
President
Boardwalk Real Property Management, Inc.



?



?

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I reviewed the pictures and also have up close video of the alleged damages and the touching up of the small specs on the walls do not merit taking $175.00 from my deposit.  You are in the property management business and most likely have a handyman in staff or connections to people that can repair the allege damages for $25.00 or less.  
 
Regards,

****** ******

8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved out of ***** ***** ***** on 18 Jun 13 officially. That is when I turned in my keys however, had stopped living there the week prior so that the painters and cleaners could get the home inspection ready. I was expecting 945 (my full deposit) returned to me and only received a little over 200. I was charged by Boardwalk for painting, cleaning, and hauling away trash. These are all things I had paid for. I was also over charged for replacement of broken blinds and repairs for a toilet paper holder and a shower head. I replaced the shower head and paid someone to come put it in for me however, I was charged anyway. This is ridiculous. Instead of repairs being made on the house by the owner, I was constantly refused and told that the owner was not going to pay for the repairs even though the items in the house would be broken toilets or shower heads or fences. I am 100% disabled through the military and I can't work, I can't do repairs either. Boardwalk did not assist me and for four years my rent increased on a house that was paid for so I assumed some of that money was going to go to repairs and it did not. I spent 945 of my own money to pay for the house to be be cleaned professionally and repainted and gave me an invoice showing they spent an additional 600+ that is impossible. The house was being shown while I was still in it, instead of them waiting for me to move out. It is very possible that anyone could have messed up the house and I'm being held responsible. I asked that they wait until I move out to show the house and was told I would be charged $50 per missed showing if I did not allow the house to be shown. This is predatory because any Realtor could have shown the house at any time without my knowledge. I can provide a letter from the cleaners because people were showing up to view the home even while they were there trying to clean and while the painters were trying to paint. Even people off the street who were not there with a Realtor because a sign was in the yard and the Realtors left the door open. I also have my original inventory from when I moved in detailing everything that was broken in that house and the blinds they were trying to pin on me were broken when I moved in and only cost $4 however the bill I was sent was not itemized so I have no way of knowing how much was spent on what, I just know that Boardwalk is trying to keep money for services I had paid for and I moved because of how unhappy I was and now I am filing this complaint. I gave them an opportunity to fix the issue and they sent me a letter stating they had proof that I left the house a mess.

Desired Settlement: I want the BBB to thoroughly investigate my complaint, this company should have any good standing with the BBB revoked. It should also have its license to operate revoked for a period of time to review all of its records to find out what is going on in terms of maintenance when tenants have issues.

Business Response: Member Response August 12, 2013

Customer Information:

******** *****

***** ******* ***

*** ********* ** *****

ID: *******

RE: **** ***** *****

We have reviewed the move-in documents that the tenant completed and have agreed to refund the tenant $263.05 for the cost of replacing the blinds and is being sent along with the invoice that we received from our make ready vendor. 

However, the other charges will remain, The afternoon of the day the tenant returned the keys our property manager went to the property and took numerous move-out photos. I would advise the customer to contact the people who she hired to clean, paint and replace the shower head, electrical outlet covers, missing globe and toilet paper holder and ask for a refund as much of this was not done. I will be happy to supply the customer with photos of the broken toilet paper holder, no shower head and numerous walls that needed to be painted as well as items left in the property that needed to be disposed of. What the tenant was charged is exactly what we were billed by the make ready vendor.

With regard to the showings and possible charges for not allowing the property to be shown, these are all mentioned in the lease that the tenant agreed to and signed before moving into the property. No tenant is obligated to show any of our properties to anyone that is not accompanied by a real estate agent.

I apologize for any inconvenience.

Thank you,

******* ** ******
President / Broker

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I want the pictures that verify my home is in fact the home in question as the pictures should have and could have been included when I complained to the company and the company decided that it would not refund me money for items that were already inventoried as missing or broken to include electrical covers in the house.  The money that is being sent is not all I am due.  I had an employee from Boardwalk use a key to come into my home by mistake in order to document the items that would need to be taken care of at the customer's expense.  I had to buy a key for the lock box because one  of the broker's took the key so stating what the broker's will and won't do this company can't vouch for as I have the email traffic about the key missing and how I was treated by boardwalk regarding the matter as well.  I have no clue who was coming and going since a key was stolen from the box and ***** *** was aware.  She (the boardwalk employee) broke the key off in my lock, I got it out, and she had to replace it.  I had to wait for her to go to home depot to get the replacement as I had a medical appointment to attend and a friend present to drive me to it.  She returned and  apologized profusely for coming in as she stated "I apologize, I am truly sorry, I was told to come inventory this house and I didn't know that this house was not empty yet.  I really am sorry.  I saw the sign in the yard and am positive this is the house I was sent to."  I want my entire deposit back.  Boardwalk has made goof after goof and I will not be responsible for them cutting corners and not following protocol.  I will not stand for this under any circumstance.

Regards,

******** *****

Business Response: I am sorry that Ms. ***** feels as she does.  However, if she would like copies of the photos that were taken the afternoon that she moved, we will be happy to provide them for her.  I have provided 4 of them with this email.  Also, the only employee from Boardwalk that visited the property while she was present was *****.  Anyone else was probably an independent real estate agent showing the property to a client or previewing it.  All showings and previews are scheduled through Centralized Showing Systems and a call is placed with the tenant notifying them of the time.  We have already refunded the $263.05 for the replacement of the blinds to Ms. *****.  No other funds will be forthcoming. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I am fully aware of who ***** *** is as well as his gender.  The individual that came to my home was a woman of Latin descent that apologized to me profusely for coming into my home as well as breaking off the key in my lock.  I had a sick child with me at the time.  I was watching the child who was not allowed to attend school because he had a temperature.  He is witness to what happened as this was not a small child but a kid that was given a gift by the Latin woman who scared him when she came in unannounced and unexpected.  She made it clear she was there under boardwalks orders.  I have enclosed the invoice as well as a letter from the company that cleaned my home and did the lawn care, along with the proof that they were present when the painting of the walls in my home took place.  I want all of my deposit returned and will continue pursuing this matter.  Boardwalk has not acted in good faith or utilized even good business practices.  They have not operated above board and I am for lack of a better word DISGUSTED.  I saw no pictures in this complaint so again, I want a copy of these "pictures".

Regards,

******** *****

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service