Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Beck & Company Real Estate Services

Phone: (512) 474-1551 Fax: (512) 474-1811 8403 Shoal Creek Blvd Ste 100, Austin, TX 78757 http://www.beckandco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Beck and Company, founded in 1988, is a real estate management company of neighborhood associations, condominium associations and small apartment properties. We recognize this is a "people business". We are providing a service, not products. We offer our property owners personal attention to their needs and the needs of the property. Our phones are answered 24 hours a day, by people not machines, ensuring your needs are met in a timely manner.


We understand managing a homeowners association is substantially different from other forms of property management. Homeowners must work together with management for the common good of the association to maintain a harmonious and high quality living environment. For our part, this requires building consensus, courteous and informative communications, and respect for the individual as well as prompt response to owners concerns. It is our commitment to consistently deliver these competencies.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Beck & Company Real Estate Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Beck & Company Real Estate Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Beck & Company Real Estate Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 20, 1997 Business started: 02/01/1988 in TX Business started locally: 02/01/1988 Business under new ownership as of: 09/01/2015 Business incorporated 01/10/1996 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Steven Meisler, President Mr. Stan Scheiber, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Steven Meisler, President
Principal: Mr. Stan Scheiber, Manager
Related Businesses
Pioneer Real Estate Services
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
747 Group Inc Beck and Co Beck and Company Real Estate Services Beck Association Management Beck Property Management
Additional Information

Better Business Bureau was notified that Paul Meisler with 747 Group, Inc purchased Beck And Company Real Estate Services Inc from Carl Beck on September 1, 2015.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Beck & Company Real Estate Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8403 Shoal Creek Blvd Ste 100

    Austin, TX 78757 (512) 474-1551

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been without hot water for 2.5 weeks. The gas line had to be replaced to our complex, and we have been told over and over again that we will have hot water and we are still without hot water. It has been pushed back at least 5 times, I was told we would have it back yesterday afternoon, when we didn't have it at 6:30 I called and they promised me it would be on today early afternoon. It is 9:30 at night and we still don't have hot water. We got another email saying it would probably be tomorrow morning. It's horrible management, they are making promises they can't keep, they aren't even returning calls they promise to return. As a homeowner I thought I would have more say in being without hot water - now I don't even have the same rights as a renter and I have no say in it getting done quicker.

Desired Settlement: Get me hot water and reimburse us for the weeks without it & the promises not kept.

Business Response: I fully understand the frustration indicated by Ms. ******* (and in reality all the residents in this condominium community) related to the long an difficult process of getting gas and subsequently hot water restored to this property. I can only say we did all we could do to work within the physical limitations of a property approximately 40 years old, availability of plumbing contractors, gas company and City of ****** services, etc. Unfortunately, as detailed on the attached copy of the many emails sent to owners, it was a long and arduous process. Note in particular the email of August 10 from the President of the HOA explaining the circumstances to that point. Service was restored finally on August 21 and we are all in hopes none of us will have to go through this type of difficulty and inconvenience.    

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: no hot water in an excess of 90 days

Desired Settlement: Hot water service

Business Response:

Thank you for your assistance.  Mr. ***** filed a BBB complaint against Beck and Company based on the lack of water pressure in his unit at ****** *******.  While we sympathize with Mr. ******* problem, we do not have the authority or ability to solve the problem.  The Board of Directors of the ****** ******* *** is the decision making body and is well aware of Mr. ******* concerns.  Significant actions have been taken including the replacement of the commercial water heater that serves Mr. ******* unit, among others.  Mr. ***** has been in communication with Beck and Company and with the Board members so everyone is aware of the problem.  Other residents have related problems also.  The Board has consulted with plumbers and others about solutions and is continuing to determine a solution including the source of funds to pay for whatever action is determined to be necessary.

Attached is a copy of a letter sent to Mr. ***** by the Board of Directors in response to his communications with them.  While I understand Mr. ******* concern, I submit the BBB complaint against Beck and Company should be determined to be outside the purview of BBB since Beck and Company is not responsible for the problem and cannot control the potential resolution.

 

 

** **** ****, CPM

Beck and Company Real Estate Services

**** ***** ***** ***** ******* ** ***** *****************  ******************* *** ************  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: My issue has nothing to do with water pressure.  Water pressure issues are not as urgent, in my opinion.  My issue is that I have been without hot water since on or around the 22nd of October.  That is over 3 months with no hot water. I notified **** **** of Beck and Co. of my issue at that time. For weeks she insisted the issue was with my mixing valves inside my unit and my fixtures, without any investigation.  In the last month it has been determined that my mixing valves and fixtures are not the issue.  While there has been things done throughout the 4 month period in question, there have been days and weeks where no work has been performed to resolve such a time-sensitive issue.  It is the coldest months of the year and I have no access to hot water.  I concede that the ****** ******* Board of Directors are the decision making body but they are only homeowners, like myself, who turn to the property management group to make recommendations and assist in resolving difficult issues such as this. They are not equipped to make repairs or even seek out the proper people to make the repairs and that is why we pay Beck and Co. to manage the property.  The plumbers and all vendors doing work at ****** ******* are at the recommendation of **** **** and Beck and Co.  It is not surprising that Mr. **** would use this tactic of deference as it is what I have been dealing with for several months now. 

Regards,

********* *****

Business Response:

Unfortunately it appears we are at an impasse.  Regardless whether the complaint is about hot water or water pressure, the response is the same.  As property managers we assist the board of directors, but we are not authorized to spend association funds without approval.  Though I sympathize with Mr. ******* problems, Beck and Company cannot solve the problem without authorization to spend association funds.  We have provided assistance with the process of identifying options and potential solutions, but that is the limit of what we are authorized to do.  I request the BBB make the determination that Beck and Company has done all we can within the limits of our authority and close this file.  If there is alternative action available by BBB, please let me know.
thank you.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Beck & Company Real Estate Services
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart