Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Beck And Company Real Estate Services Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Beck And Company Real Estate Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beck And Company Real Estate Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Beck And Company Real Estate Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 20, 1997 Business started: 02/01/1988 in TX Business started locally: 02/01/1988 Business incorporated: 01/10/1996 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Carl Beck, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carl Beck, President
Business Category

Property Management


Additional Locations

  • 8403 Shoal Creek Blvd

    Austin, TX 78757 (512) 474-1551

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: no hot water in an excess of 90 days

Desired Settlement: Hot water service

Business Response:

Thank you for your assistance.  Mr. ***** filed a BBB complaint against Beck and Company based on the lack of water pressure in his unit at ****** *******.  While we sympathize with Mr. ******* problem, we do not have the authority or ability to solve the problem.  The Board of Directors of the ****** ******* *** is the decision making body and is well aware of Mr. ******* concerns.  Significant actions have been taken including the replacement of the commercial water heater that serves Mr. ******* unit, among others.  Mr. ***** has been in communication with Beck and Company and with the Board members so everyone is aware of the problem.  Other residents have related problems also.  The Board has consulted with plumbers and others about solutions and is continuing to determine a solution including the source of funds to pay for whatever action is determined to be necessary.

Attached is a copy of a letter sent to Mr. ***** by the Board of Directors in response to his communications with them.  While I understand Mr. ******* concern, I submit the BBB complaint against Beck and Company should be determined to be outside the purview of BBB since Beck and Company is not responsible for the problem and cannot control the potential resolution.

 

 

** **** ****, CPM

Beck and Company Real Estate Services

**** ***** ***** ***** ******* ** ***** *****************  ******************* *** ************  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: My issue has nothing to do with water pressure.  Water pressure issues are not as urgent, in my opinion.  My issue is that I have been without hot water since on or around the 22nd of October.  That is over 3 months with no hot water. I notified **** **** of Beck and Co. of my issue at that time. For weeks she insisted the issue was with my mixing valves inside my unit and my fixtures, without any investigation.  In the last month it has been determined that my mixing valves and fixtures are not the issue.  While there has been things done throughout the 4 month period in question, there have been days and weeks where no work has been performed to resolve such a time-sensitive issue.  It is the coldest months of the year and I have no access to hot water.  I concede that the ****** ******* Board of Directors are the decision making body but they are only homeowners, like myself, who turn to the property management group to make recommendations and assist in resolving difficult issues such as this. They are not equipped to make repairs or even seek out the proper people to make the repairs and that is why we pay Beck and Co. to manage the property.  The plumbers and all vendors doing work at ****** ******* are at the recommendation of **** **** and Beck and Co.  It is not surprising that Mr. **** would use this tactic of deference as it is what I have been dealing with for several months now. 

Regards,

********* *****

Business Response:

Unfortunately it appears we are at an impasse.  Regardless whether the complaint is about hot water or water pressure, the response is the same.  As property managers we assist the board of directors, but we are not authorized to spend association funds without approval.  Though I sympathize with Mr. ******* problems, Beck and Company cannot solve the problem without authorization to spend association funds.  We have provided assistance with the process of identifying options and potential solutions, but that is the limit of what we are authorized to do.  I request the BBB make the determination that Beck and Company has done all we can within the limits of our authority and close this file.  If there is alternative action available by BBB, please let me know.
thank you.  

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 9, 2012, I sent **** & Co an email asking about outside issues my home inspector found while inspecting the unit I later bought. On 8/10/12, I got a response asking me to send a copy of the inspection report, which I emailed that same day. On 8/28/12, I was told the report was being forwarded to the HOA board and they would get back to me when the board decided what items fell under their jurisdiction. I was told that it looked like some of the issues would be addressed when improvements would be made from a special assessment. No timeline was given, and no one ever followed up with me. On 4/2/13, I emailed because I had a water spot on the ceiling of the master bedroom after a heavy rainstorm. The leak occurred in an area that was identified as needing repairs in my home inspection report. On 4/9/13, I got a response that this would be forwarded on to the board to decide if immediate action would be taken. Again, I never heard back. On 7/23/13, I emailed again asking if the issues with the roof/side gable would be addressed with the special assessment work that was now underway. I never got a response. On 7/30/13, I emailed again. Work had been done on my balcony, but there were outstanding issues left from the inspection report, and I asked again for an update on the roof/side gable. On 8/1/13, I got a response that my concerns were forwarded to the HOA board president who was handling the special assessment project. On 8/3/13, I got a response from the HOA board president addressing the concerns over my balcony. No response was giving about the roof/siding issue. 8/5/13, I emailed the HOA board president, and attached my home inspection report and ask if the roof/siding issue had been repaired. To date I have had no response.

Desired Settlement: I would like confirmation that the roof/siding issue has been fixed. I would like all items I expressed concern about in my original email of 8/9/12 to be addressed. It's fine if based on HOA bylaws that some of those items are not the HOA's responsibility, but I would like written confirmation of repairs done and explanations for what was not repaired. I would like assurances that in the future I will receive follow up communication with in 72 hours.

Business Response: Ms. *********-
Please accept this message as confirmation that I have received the complaint filed by ***** ****** (****** ************* ****).  Due to the nature of the complaint and the timeframe covering slightly more than a year, I will need to do some research and consult with other **** and Company staff members to provide a response to the specifics of the complaint.  I expect to be back in touch by the end of next week with more information to help bring this concern to resolution.

**** ****

Business Response: Response to BBB complaint concerning Arbors #201

Ms. *********-

I have reviewed the complaint from ***** ****** concerning her reports of needed maintenance related to unit 201 in The Arbors and further concerns since her purchase of the unit approximately one year ago.  I have discussed her concerns at some length with **** ****, Property Manager, and **** ******** who is my partner and supervises the HOA management division of **** and Company.

My understanding is that Ms. ****** has two primary concerns:  Confirmation of status of reported maintenance problems and lack of specific communication related to her unit. 

The primary problem relating to the maintenance issues themselves is that there has been a major Capital Improvement project funded by a special assessment in planning and implementation for over a year.  The Board of Directors has determined that any maintenance needs which are incorporated in the project are to be delayed until the appropriate phase of the project is implemented.  In other words, we (**** and Company) are not authorized to have work done independent of the work specified in the project.  Further, the special project is being managed by the Association President, ***** ******; we are not actively involved in the schedule or oversight.  I can state Phase 1 of the project has been completed and that phase includes unit 201.

As Ms. ****** confirmed in her statement, she was told “some of the issues would be addressed when improvements would be made from a special assessment”.  She also stated she did not get specific response to her questions about the various repair issues.  She was notified by Ms. **** that her concerns and questions were forwarded to the Board which they were.  Unfortunately we cannot control whether her questions are being addressed by the Board.  I must also state that during the period from 8/28/12 to 4/2/13 there were notifications circulated to all owners about the status of the Capital Improvement project and further there were direct communications between Ms. ****** and Ms. **** about other issues and it would have been a good time to notify Ms. **** that Ms. ****** had no response from the board.

I do not mean to suggest Ms. ****** is totally responsible for her concerns, but since it was six months between the 8/28/12 and 4/2/13 communications specified in her statement, it was reasonable to assume the problems had been resolved.  Frankly, I agree we could have done a better job communicating with Ms. ******, but the overall resolution of the reported maintenance issues are controlled by the Board. 

In response to Ms. ******** Desired Settlement:

To the best of my knowledge the roof/siding issues were resolved with the completion of Phase 1 of the project.  That also applies to the other repairs indicated on the report.  The only item that I noted on the list in the August 9, 2012 email that is clearly not HOA responsibility is the ‘hole in the wall under the kitchen sink’.

I think it is totally reasonable to expect response to communications within 72 hours and we do endeavor to do such.  We should have been more responsive to make sure Ms. ****** understands we can only refer her questions on to the board and can’t be responsible for their response to her questions.  In the future we will make sure we respond in a more timely fashion.

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

                                                    
**** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolves my complaint. I was not aware that the property management company would not act as the go between between me and the HOA board. And after their response did a little searching on the internet to find contact information for the board, which I did not have before. I have since heard from the board president confirming the repairs were made.

Regards,

***** ******

4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable