Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austin Rent A Home meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Austin Rent A Home include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Austin Rent A Home
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 04, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2008 Business started locally: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated 12/01/2006 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Soriano, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Soriano, Member
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service

Products & Services

Austin Rent A Home sells the following brand(s): AustinRentAHome

Austin Rent A Home offers the following product(s): condos, duplexes, fourplexes, houses, townhouses

Method(s) of Payment
personal checks, cashier's checks, money orders
Alternate Business Names
Dasor Management & Investment Services, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 100 E. Whitestone Blvd #148-328

    Cedar Park, TX 78613

  • 9600 Great Hills Trail Ste 150W

    Austin, TX 78759 (512) 607-6447

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon moving into a home rented to us by ***** ******* at ****** Rent a Home, we found the house to be unsafe and unsanitary, which violates state and city rental laws. We made ***** aware of the following issues the DAY AFTER WE MOVED IN and countless times over the next 9 months: The house had been swept, but the baseboards were caked in hair, dust, and dirt. There was blood on the floor and wall of the master bathroom. There was a disgusting brown hand print on the back of the master bathroom door. The bathroom downstairs had not been cleaned at all. These sanitary issues were never properly addressed. ***** suggested the cleaning crew should return if we were unsatisfied, but he did not follow through with that offer. He then had the audacity to charge us for cleaning expenses when we moved out, despite the facts that the house was filthy when we moved in but much much cleaner when we moved out. Both the front and back yards were full of cigarette butts, beer bottles, and a variety of trash. The yard had not been serviced before we moved in, so there was a significant amount of overgrowth. ***** relied on the clause in the lease that states the yard is the responsibility of the tenants. When we insisted the yard should be our responsibility moving forward, but there was a reasonable expectation that it be serviced before we moved in, he had someone come out to the house to do almost nothing more than grind down a stump at the side of the house. We were left with the responsibility of cleaning the trash left by the previous tenants. *****, again, had the audacity to charge us for yard maintenance when we moved out, despite the facts that the yard was not serviced when we moved in and it was not in need of being serviced when we moved out. The HVAC vents were caked in very thick dust and dirt and the filters that were in place were falling apart. This issue was addressed by an HVAC specialist months later after ***** made it clear that any failing of the HVAC system would be our responsibility at our expense. The refrigerator and freezer were dirty, as were the inside of many cabinets. Again, these sanitary issues were never properly addressed. The stove was red-tagged due to a gas leak. After the leak was repaired weeks later, an ignitor kept clicking, forcing us to unplug the stove when it was not in use. The stove was finally repaired 7 months into our stay. The garbage disposal was broken and was causing a massive leak, preventing use of the kitchen sink. This was repaired weeks later, leaving us without a usable kitchen sink for far too long. This violated city law regarding what amenities are required to be working properly for a property to be rented. The cabinetry under the sink was severely water damaged as a result of the leak having been left unrepaired for some time. The dishwasher did not work. After multiple visits by the repairman, the dishwasher was finally in working order a full 8 months after we moved in. When we asked the repairman why it had taken so long, he told us the part had been in for months, but ***** would not give him the approval to repair the appliance. A ceiling fan was pulling away from the ceiling and was unsafe. A bathroom lighting fixture was completely rusted, causing it to hiss and work intermittently but never completely. It took 5 months for these safety issues to be repaired. The heat lamp in the master bathroom had caused the popcorn coating on the surrounding ceiling to breakdown and fall off in large chunks. As a result, the heat lamp could not be used. This was never addressed by *****. The carpet on the stairs and in all four bedrooms was soaking wet and filthy. To be clear, it was not damp; it was so wet that stepping on the carpet caused water to pool around my foot. The movers had a difficult time bringing items upstairs because the carpets were slippery, and they could not set wooden furniture in the rooms for fear that the water would cause damage. When the carpets dried, they were very stiff, filthy, and smelled terrible. Vacuuming a 6'x6' area would fill the canister. When the area was vacuumed again, it would fill the canister again, indicating significant deterioration. This issues was never appropriately addressed by *****. When he finally did a walk-thru of the property almost 9 months after we had moved in, 9 months after we had begun providing the lengthy list of issues, he acknowledged that the carpets were in an unacceptable condition and they needed to be replaced. He made a verbal agreement that there would be a refund given to us for the time we spent with filthy carpets and the failure of the movers to complete the job to our satisfaction as a result of the carpets. ***** then charged us for carpet cleaning when we moved out, which violated the verbal agreement he made with us, not to mention it is unconscionable and unethical considering he was made aware of the issues with the carpets the day after we moved in. ***** ******* has used a number of methods to shirk his responsibility for the house not being in an appropriate condition when it was rented to us, and for it remaining in that condition for the majority of our lease term. We were told to list and prioritize our issues, after having already done so repeatedly over 9 months. We were told that we "need to understand" that the repairs are costly and not all of them could be taken care of. We were blamed for not making ****** Rent a Home aware of the issues, but our emails and phone calls began the day after we moved in, and over 100 emails were exchanged during our time there, proving we made continuous efforts to ensure ***** and his office worker ****** were aware of the issues. ***** has repeatedly stated that we have our timeline of events and ****** has hers, but we have all of the emails to prove that the timeline is definitive and not based on his or ******'s interpretation of events. Not to mention, ***** was cc'd on all emails to ******, so blaming her for repair delays is profoundly underhanded. ***** has blamed us for not being available to repairmen, but we repeatedly took time off of work to be at the house, only to have repairmen not show up and not call to cancel/reschedule. ***** has relied on the phrase, "I am not a plumber/electrician/HVAC specialist/general repairman/cleaning person" to avoid the reality that the landlord is ultimately responsible for ensuring a house is safe and sanitary BEFORE it is rented, as well as ensuring the house is safe and sanitary during the rental term. We asked to be let out of our lease early because, after 9 months of paying full rent for a house that was never in an acceptable condition, we had had enough. As far as we're concerned, ***** *******'s blatant and continued violation of both state and city law during our lease voided said lease. He repeatedly relied on the "AS IS" clause in the lease, but that clause cannot and will never make it acceptable for a landlord to violate the law. Because of his negligence and incompetence, we should have been permitted to terminate our lease with no financial penalty to us, allowing him to ensure the house was in an appropriate condition before it was rented to other tenants. Additionally, we have an email exchange between ***** ******* and the owner of the home. Because of our numerous and continuous complaints, the owner did a walk-thru of the home 4 months after we had moved in. He acknowledged all of our concerns as legitimate, and insisted ***** correct the issues ASAP. ***** failed to uphold that agreement.

Desired Settlement: Our total security deposit was $2495: $1695, plus $800 for pets. ***** provided us with a $350 credit for the months we spent without a dishwasher, as it was an amenity listed in the rental ad and on the lease. That would bring our total return to $2845. As a result of *****'s unethical calculations, we have received a total return of $708.21, which leaves $2136.79 (this does not include an amount for the carpet issues, as per *****'s verbal agreement). We each expect to receive a check for $1068.40, totaling the remaining $2136.79 of our security deposit, as *****'s unlawful actions voided our lease agreement and therefore voided any clause in the lease regarding a financial penalty for early termination.

Business Response: I the time and effort to respond to Ms. ******* complaints earlier and decided to display much of what I sent to their family lawyer and the former tenants:

The security deposit we received is $1695 and the pet deposit we received is $800.

Deductions Descriptions:
- Haul Fee $50 
There were a number of items left in the property after the tenants surrendered the house.  These items included a lounge chair, filing cabinet, bicycle, boxes and a vacuum cleaner.  Our handyman removed these items and donated or disposed of them.  This deduction is supported by the lease.
- Lawn Service $60
The lawn was not serviced upon the tenants move out and to my knowledge had not been service within 3 weeks or more of the tenants vacating the property.  This deduction is supported by the lease.  The property had it's lawn serviced before and shortly after these tenants moved in.
- Utility Reconnection Fee $200
If the property needs servicing that requires the use of utilities, due to the tenants not having the property cleaned or some other issue, the lease charges a flat $200 fee.  This fee is implemented in our leases to cover the expenses for having the utilities re-connected, the labor required to do this (sometimes meeting techs at the property) and the fact that utility bills do not arrive within 30 days of a tenants move out which would be too late for our required deadline to account for the deposit.  We find that utilities and their hook up expenses alone typically almost use up the $200 fee even if the utilities were on for only a handful of days.
- Maid Service $184.03
The tenants made no effort to clean the property after their move out of which I have video footage of.  They do live relatively clean, but we hired the same company to provide maid service as before they moved in.  This provided similar expense and quality of work.  I would say that without the cleaning that was done, the tenants left the property in worse condition than they received it in.  This deduction is supported by the lease.
- Carpet Cleaning $135.26
The tenants did not have the carpets professionally cleaned as was done before the tenants took possession.  This fee is supported by the lease.
- Re-Letting Fee $1116.00
This is 80% of one month's rent and it is the fee charged by the lease to cover the expense paying a Realtor who represents the tenants and the cost of advertising the property for lease.  The tenants wished to break their lease and they wished to do this without effecting their credit and rental history.  This is the fee charged to attain this.  Management did not release the tenants from their lease and management and the landlord will not cover the expense of paying the Keller-Williams Realtor who represented the tenants who now rent the property with no complaints thus far.
In an attempt at Good Will, management did provide a concession on the re-letting fee of $418.50 with the acceptance of our initial settlement.  This good will, will be removed in the event of a court hearing.
- December Rent $810.00
According to the lease, the tenants who break the agreement are responsible for the rent until a new tenant can be found to replace their rent liability.  The $810 in December rent covers the vacancy of the property until the new tenants could take over rent responsibility.
- Good Will Credit of $350
The tenants had a delay in getting their dishwasher repaired on a timely basis due to parts that were ordered and mis-communication between the contractor and the tenants.  Management offers this $350 cost of replacement credit to the tenants for their troubles.  According to the contractor, the tenants were difficult to get a hold of and he did delay longer than usual after the parts were received so management offered this credit which would have covered the expense of buying a new dishwasher.  Currently, the parts ordered and maintenance done solved the issues and management believes that better communication between the tenants and the contractor would have led to faster repairs.  Our procedures for repairs are attached and all contractors will be available for notarized statement or in person at any court hearing.

Note From the Manager
The way that the tenants ended their lease and the fact that they moved out of town leads me to believe, that their job changes or personal reasons were the main reason for their need to break their lease early.  The house was not uninhabitable as required by the lease to break a lease without penalty.  I do not deny that the tenants brought up some deficiencies in the house during their time in the property, but every effort was made within reason to make repairs that were acceptable to management, the landlord, the lease and the property code.  Note that any complaints the tenants have equally have a third party contractor to explain or support another side of the story.
If the house being uninhabitable was the reason used by the tenants to break their lease, they would have simply moved to a property in ****** and not change occupations and residence to another State.  I believe a Justice of the Peace would agree with my belief and my deductions thus far.
If you do wish to have a hearing to dispute our deductions, good will credits will be removed and an additional fee for painting the master bedroom without authorization and paint approval will be charged.  We would not have authorized the painting of the master bedroom in light blue.
I will listen to your positions and am open to mediation before a court hearing is set.

Management Response To ***** Table:
- According to the tenants and the funds received, the balance of the total deposits received are agreeable to management and were divided 60% for ***** and 40% for *****.  Any agreements or disagreements between the two tenants can be sorted out between the tenants.
- We have not received our bill from the City of ******.  When it is received and if you provide us with a copy of your bill, a rebate will be considered.
- UCS a national cleaning company cleaned the property before your move in and they cleaned the property after your move out.  I do not claim to be an expert at cleaning, but I can quantify that the appliances, bathrooms and property were cleaned by their maid service and that every attempt to make the property clean was made by UCS whose livelihoods are earned by this kind of work.  I don't deny that you all found some issues with cleaning as it is not possible to please all tenants all the time with the professional services we hire.  That is part of the reason we offered you the Good Will credits we did.
- Unfortunately, TLC carpet cleaning was not able to clean the carpets earlier than they did.  This is very unfortunate and we offered a total of $768.50 in good will credit to you for issues like this.  The carpet in my opinion and in the opinion of many of the tenants who visited the house during the leasing phase was not in poor or filthy condition during your last month of occupancy.  The carpet had been professionally cleaned and we replaced the carpet in the dining room, stairs and hall way after you visited the house and submitted your application to rent the house.  Before ***** and ***** applied, we made no mention that we would be changing carpet in the bedrooms.  The bedrooms and the property were being rented "as is".
Regardless, with the occupancy of two pets and as required in the lease, the carpets must be professionally cleaned prior to returning possession of the property and this was not done.
- In an effort of Good Will, I attempted to lease the property while it was on MLS to all Abor Realtors.  Unfortunately, I did not represent the best qualified tenants for the property who now occupy the house.  A Realtor from Keller Williams represented the tenants and thus the re-letting fee could not be reduced any further than it was reduced.
- There are many contractors and ****** Henderson who have their side of the story concerning your complaints and the condition of the property.  The property was not uninhabitable and I don't believe a judge would agree with your justification to not be responsible for the lease.  Especially, since your move was most likely job or personally related.  When a property is considered uninhabitable it does not typically involve tenants moving out of State and finding new work out of town.
We are open to mediation and will be open to further suggestions.  Any hearing placed by the tenants or their representation will be met with a counter suit and the addition of more charges.
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Yet again, ***** ******* has neglected to address our issues in a legitimate way. Simply copying and pasting his previous inappropriate and unethical assessment of the situation is unacceptable. His repeated insistence that we have "our side of the story" is infuriating. The series of events are undeniable, and they can all be proven via email correspondence.

I have attached a Word document that begins with an email sent from the homeowner to ***** ******* after the homeowner did a walk-through of the property on April 18th, 2014. In that email, the homeowner acknowledges all of our complaints and directs ***** to correct the problems, but ***** failed to do so. A comprehensive list of issues that had not yet been addressed was sent to ****** Rent A Home, as requested, and that email has been included in the attached document. I also included three sections with email correspondence addressing the specific safety issues related to light fixtures and the stove, as well as sanitation issues regarding the condition of the yard and the HVAC system. All emails can be forwarded in their original form to verify their authenticity. 

***** *******'s mis-management of the property violated city and state rental law on a number of occasions. As such, we should have been entitled to terminate our lease with no financial penalty to us. Because ***** felt it necessary to copy and paste the details of how he handled our security deposit, you can clearly see that he charged us for the very issues we began complaining about the day after we moved in (the same issues the homeowner addressed and directed ***** to correct). ***** *******'s behavior is unconscionable, unethical, dishonest, and illegal. 

Regards,

Kimberly *****

Business Response: I have attached the bulk of my response to this email.

Upon reviewing the the closing statement, I think it should be clarified that these tenants broke their lease.  They claim that they broke the lease because the house was a hazard.  If the house were truly a hazard, it would make sense for the tenants to move to another home in the ****** area.  Because the tenants moved out of State it is my belief that the tenants had other reasons for moving and thus the broken lease fees were assessed.

Also, the tenants had pets.  Per the lease, the tenants had to clean the property and have the carpets professionally cleaned with a pet treatment.  The tenants didn't clean and their deposit was charged appropriately.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

On 3/09/2015, I sent BBB a detailed explanation about why I did not accept the response from Austin Rent a Home. ***** *******'s responses were inaccurate and unacceptable, and it should be noted that they are not in accordance with the email evidence I provided. I was permitted to walk thru the property WHILE the previous tenants were still living there. I was promised the home would be cleaned thoroughly and any damaged would be repaired. We did NOT NEED to occupy the house before Austin Rent a Home had ample time for cleaning and repairs; in fact, our move-in date was delayed by Austin Rent a Home under the guise of additional cleaning. Certain issues were addressed with ***** before we occupied the home, specifically the lack of cleanliness both inside and outside, so there was time for those issues to be corrected, but they were not.

 

***** ******* clearly did not do a walk thru of the property before we moved in. The electrical issues were safety issues which, again, cannot be justified by the "as is" clause. The house was NOT properly cleaned, as there was filth everywhere, including blood on the floor and wall of the bathroom. It doesn't matter to us in the slightest how professional he believes the cleaning company was. He was not professional enough to assess their work firsthand before the home was rented, nor was he professional enough to assess their poor work by doing a walk thru of the property when our complaints were made, starting the day after we moved.

 

After 8 months of paying for a property that was not in an appropriate condition, we had had enough. We asked to be let out of our lease early, and this is when ***** finally came to the property to assess our concerns. He acknowledged there were areas of the home we had purposefully not been using because they had not been cleaned (kitchen and bathroom cabinets, a downstairs bathroom). He acknowledged that the carpets were in such terrible condition as a result of their inadequate cleaning before move in. Again, it doesn't matter to us in the slightest how professional he believes the carpet cleaning company was, the carpets were filthy and soaking wet when we moved in, which can be confirmed by our moving company. *****'s exact words during his walk thru were, "Now that I see it, I'm on your side." He told us the carpets would need to be replaced, so cleaning them would be a waste for both us and him. We anticipate the owner of the home would not provide the funds to replace the carpets, so ***** charged us for cleaning, despite having told us not to clean because he felt they needed to be replaced. This is unconscionable behavior on *****'s part. We should not be forced to pay for his incompetence and lies.

 

A house being old is not an excuse for electrical issues which ***** should have known about if he had properly assessed the home before renting it to us. Yes, the safety issues were corrected (both the electrical issues and the stove), but these very finally handled 5 months after we moved in and registered our first complaints. Yes the issues with the HVAC were finally corrected, but again, that was 5 months after we moved in and registered our first complaints. No, the issues with the garbage in the yard were never corrected by Austin Rent a Home, but were instead taken care of by our neighbor who we paid to help us with the yard during our stay. No, the sanitary issues in the house that resulted from an improper cleaning before we moved in were never addressed. To charge us for maid service and yard service is unconscionable, especially when the house was clean when we left and the yard had already been taken care of by our neighbor. 

 

***** ******* has time and time again proven himself to be unethical and dishonest. The age of the home, his personal lack of expertise and subsequent reliance on workmen and their assessment of issues, and the "as is" clause, have constantly been used as excuses for his incompetence with regard to providing us an appropriate rental home. We were always available to contractors and, in fact, we took days off to have the issues handled, only to have the contractors not show up or call us to reschedule, so the excuse that the delay in repairs was somehow our fault is a blatant lie, and there are numerous emails to prove this. ***** did not conduct a firsthand assessment of our complaints until 8 months into our stay, making it easy for him to blame the remaining filth and the condition of the carpets on us, despite the owner of the home confirming our issues during his 3 month walk thru. And again, ***** told us in no uncertain terms, during his walk thru after 8 months, that he saw what we were complaining about, and we should not be held responsible. 

 

I really wish this unethical, dishonest "businessman" would not be allowed to continue getting away with this kind of behavior. We are one of MANY previous tenants who have had their security deposits chopped to pieces based on fraudulent charges, and it is unacceptable. Every one of his justifications for his actions has been a lie. The emails I attached to my 3/09/2015 response prove that, and there are hundreds more of those that deal with additional complaints.

 

I would appreciate you reopening this complaint and insisting that ***** acknowledge the exorbitant amounts of time it took to rectify safety issues, and the complete lack of correction with regard to sanitary issues. His explanations do not match the email correspondence between us, him, his assistant ******, and the owner. How is it that my complaints and explanations come complete with proof, but his directly contradict that irrefutable proof? 

 

The monetary concessions do not make up for the fraudulent charges that significantly reduced our security deposit.

 

By the way, ***** finds it "very difficult" to work with me because I refuse to let him get away with lies and incompetence. He has bullied other tenants to the point where they just don't have the energy to continue complaining. I assure you, that won't be the case with me, and I'm under the distinct impression he knows that. 

 

Thank you,

 

******** *****  

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Austin Rent A Home
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)