Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service management of homeowner associations, condominiums and townhomes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Asset Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Asset Property Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Asset Property Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1975 Business started: 12/12/2005 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1975 Business under new ownership as of: 04/01/2015 Business incorporated 03/05/1987 in AZ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Dixon, VP Texas Operations Ms. Victoria Carrington, Director of Operations Ms. Denise Mahan, Director of Finance
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Dixon, VP Texas Operations
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
AAM, LLC dba AAM Community Management LLC
Additional Information

on April 1 2015 Doug and JoAnna Panther with Asset Property Management Inc notified Better Business Bureau thet they had sold their business to AAM, LLC dba AAM Community Management LLC


Additional Locations

  • 8200 Perrin Beitel Rd Ste 128

    San Antonio, TX 78218 (210) 342-1181

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint: for approximately three years, I have complained to “*****” at APMI about the water leak in my ceiling near my chimney. The ceiling does not leak every time it rains, usually when we have heavy rains or consecutive rainy days. Each time I have spoken to ***** she asked for my permission to give someone my phone number who would contact me in or to make the necessary repairs. Which I did. I have never been contacted and when I informed ***** of the continued leaking, she told me that it was supposed to have been repaired. She told me that I did not receive a call because the repairman did not have to come into my condo. I let her know that the I was still having water leak through my roof and causing damage to my sheet rock and again was told someone would be in touch with me. This has gone on and on and I doubt if there is a record of my complaints at APMI. The leaking has caused the sheet rock to weaken on the area above the fireplace mantle causing my mirror to fall from the wall because it could not support the nail holding the mirror. The leaking has caused water damage on my ceiling. The sheet rock on the ceiling from where the water leaks, is stained, discolored and is bulging out. I am now concerned about mold since this has gone on so long. During one of my calls, she told me the previous on-site property technician “****” would be coming in to look inside my condo. When I spoke with **** he told me he was never informed by ***** or anyone at APMI that I had contacted them about my leaking roof. He came in and looked at it the ceiling and was willing to try and repair the sheet rock, match the paint and repaint the ceiling. I let him know it was custom made paint (it is not your traditional white ceiling) and I could repaint it as long as the sheet rocked was repaired and I knew the outside repairs had been done. He told me that he was told that the “it’s supposed to be fixed.” I am now keeping pictures of the water dripping into a bowl and the damage it has done. I have pictures from April 2015 and most recently, November 2015. I have also contacted APMI via email but this problem so I could have documentation, but I have not received a reply. I sent them a letter on 14 December documenting this and two other concerns but I still have not been contacted. One of my neighbors in this building, Jody, who is on the Board also is having the same problem. I have been keeping him posted on the issues and he too has been told the leaking areas have been caulked and are repaired. Hi roof still leaks. Only recently, my neighbors in building three discovered a leak and mold in their condo. It is my understanding from **** that they already have had repairmen in their condo to address the leak and mold. When I asked **** how they were able to get help so quickly, he told me “they had to raise all kinds of hell and write letters.” That was yesterday, 18 December. I searched the internet for a regulatory agency for condominiums in Texas and could not find one, so I started my first complaint with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like APMI to pay to have the roof repaired so it no longer leaks into my condo. I would like APMI to pay for repairs from the water damage to my sheet rook. I would like APMI to pay for new custom paint and repaint the ceiling of my condo. I would like APMI to pay to have my condo checked for mold and if there is mold, I want it removed at their expense. If I have to leave the condo while the repairs are done, I want APMI to pay for a hotel near my home which also allows pets. Thank you.

Business Response:

Asset Property Management serves at the pleasure and direction of the Board of Directors for Farmington Commons Condominium Owners Association.  The common elements are to be maintained by the Association and at the expense of the Association, not Asset Property Management (APM).  Nonetheless, as the managing agent for the Association, we are interested in doing what is needed to resolve the issue reported by *** *******  Upon receipt of the complaint, we forwarded it to the Board of Directors with a recommendation that a independent third party review the matter and determine the source of the leak and the damages sustained by *** *******  The majority of the Board agreed with the recommendation.  It is our understanding, the Association's chosen representative, ServPro, has made contact with *** ****** and expects to hear back from *** ****** on 12/30/15 as to when ServPro can inspect his property.  With respect to the issue of water leaks, APM became aware of issues of chimney leaks from several residents during the 2015 annual meeting.  A contractor inspected and presented a proposal in Feberuary.  This proposal was presented at a Board of Directors meeting on March 25, 2015.  The Board requested additional bids.  On May 26, 2015 the Board chose a contractor to proceed with chimney repairs.  In June 2015, the chosen contractor did not sign the contract and APM learned that the contractor did not carry proper insurance and therefore was unwilling to sign a contract.  The Board was notified and requested additional bids.  On July 28, 2015 the Board selected Norwest Roofing to complete the repairs.  Repairs were completed on August 17, 2015.  Norwest contractor reviewed units 303, 803 and 806 to look for interior damage.  Only unit 303 had significant damage which was repaired.  The other units had mostly brown water stain which the contractor recommended the owners cover with Kilz to seal.  With respect to past contact with *** ******, APM has no record of emails from *** ****** nor did we receive a letter he states was sent in December 2015.  To close, APM is interested in helping resolve this issue.  We await ServPro's report so we can transmit the information to the Board of Directors for further guidance on how to proceed. 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** ******

Thank you for investigating a replying. Unfortunately I did not keep a log of each time I contacted APMI with the water complaints.  I do have a copy of the email I sent and the last letter I sent.  Two of the previous maintenance workers ******* and **** *not ****) as stated in my earlier email, both have seen the damage.  I have now been contacted by Servepro who will be available during Jan 5 -8 and we are in the process of setting a time for them to come out  No one has inspected my property n the 14 years I have been here, unless they came into my property and investigated the water damage without my knowledge.  No recommendation were given such as using Kilz. This won't work until the damage to my sheet rock is replaced.  We had another hard rain this past weekend and once again the exterior was became soggy.   The wall next to chimney has separated from the crown molding and the ceiling, exterior all need to be checked for mold, repaired and repainted.  Thank you.  ***** ******

Business Response: We are sorry that your previous email communications were not acted upon.  As you may or may not be aware, ownership of the company changed on April 1, 2015.  Current leadership cannot speak to anything prior to the change of ownership.  With respect to the recent letter which you mailed in December, we are sorry but we have no record of it reaching our office.  Nonetheless, we are pleased that action is being taken to resolve your concern.  As you know, the Board of Directors approved an independent review of your unit.  It is our understanding that the Association's chosen contractor, ServPro, inspected your unit and the roof and chimney on January 7, 2016 at 3:00 p.m.  The preliminary report received from ServPro indicates moisture in the living room wall and ceiling with water intrusion originating from the roof/chimney juncture.  We anticipate receiving an estimate to repair within the next few days.  Upon receipt of the estimate, APM will forward it to the Board of Directors for evaluation and direction on how to proceed.  We appreciate the opportunity to address this matter. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I appreciate the response and am looking forward to the repairs.  If the work is not done in a satisfactory manner, then I will be in touch with the board and BBB once again. 

Regards,

***** ******