BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that April Realty meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for April Realty include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 02, 1994 Business started: 06/01/1989 Business started locally: 06/01/1989 Business incorporated: 07/27/1989 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Allen, President Amy Borowski, VP Ms. Lucy A Borowski, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Allen, President
Customer Contact: Amy Borowski, VP
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
April Realty Services, Incorporated

Additional Locations

  • 5815 W William Cannon Dr Ste 102

    Austin, TX 78749

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved out of my duplex early, because I had accepted a job in another city. I paid the reletting fee to get out of my lease. I was told by April Realty, **** in general, that I would not be charged for rent as long as I paid the reletting fee. They also informed me that I would be receiving a breakdown of any damages that had occurred within 30 days of me moving out. I have never received any documentation from them at all. I have contacted them several times asking them about it, they informed me it has been sent, and even told me they would send another copy of paperwork. To this day I still have not received any documentation from them. I had several complaints about them when I was still living in the duplex because nothing ever was fixed when I called on it. I had three things I called on at least four times each, and they were never fixed correctly. I was also told that when I moved in the place it would all be freshly painted because the previous tenants had left it completely dirty. It was never painted. Now today, 9-11-13, I receive a call from a collection agency saying I owe April Realty around $1000.00 for damages, but yet I have no idea what damages they are charging me for so I could dispute the charges.

Desired Settlement: I want the charges deleted from my credit report and off April Realty records. I do not believe since I paid the reletting fee, and the security deposit that they can charge me for anything without guaranteeing that I see a list of the charges and giving me ample time to dispute anything they are charging me for. They were poor property managers and have no idea what they are doing.

Business Response: I need to clarify if I have the correct tenant. Our records show for **** ****** **. the tenants to be ****** ******** and ***** ********. Is this the same person and the correct address? We do not manage **** ******. Once I have clarification, I can respond to the complaint. Thank you, ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To begin, we moved into the property (single family house) with the understanding that the home was cleaned after previous tenants. The property was absolutely filthy (urine on the floor, carpet, and baseboards; dirt literally on the walls and embedded into the floor; sour/urine smell throughout the house; broken back door; broken fence (neighbors have 2 large and aggressive pit bulls); nails and holes in the walls from pervious tenants; gas stove is broken; gas stove was embedded with old food, marjinana, gum, human and animal hair, and I have no idea what else; termites; and there is a snake that lives under a bush in the back yard and the front yard. On the day of receiving the keys, I notified to April Realty that the house was ultimately trashed. April Realty sent some man over (who cleaned the house?) inorder to inspect the filth. The man coming over was totally inappropriate as he began to loose his temper and justify his cleaning service. I have had to clean the entire house and have sent April Realty and invoice of reimbursement according to their "Estimated Clean Charges", the amount was $210.00, I provided a date of June 3rd to be paid in full to me. The main problem is the objects that I physically can't repair or clean myself (I have had to do basically everything because April Realty informed us that "They manage 90 properties......." and their lack of cleaning contractors/readiness of the property...so I suppose we are neglected) such as : repairing and cleaning the GAS STOVE; repairing a broken and falling fence; replacing a door; cleaning and repairing the nasty floor/urine saturated carpet; and getting rid of the termites and snake. The superviser of maintnence came to the property May 20th, about a week after I sent the complaint email to April Realty. April Realty is a member of TAA, which TAA lease states that repairs effecting health and safety must be remedied within 10 days of reporting: this repairs and cleaning are effecting my safety and health. It's day 15 and April Realty has not remedied a single problem at their property, nor have they reached out to contact me inorder to schedule a repair date as they promised. I am so upset with this company. The owner of the home should be aware that his new tenants' (who qualified 4x the monthly rent, with an clean and perfect background and credit check) lease is in default due to the management company he hired to over see his property. Please give attention to this poor quality of a business, this has been such a horrible experience. We did not lease a property to clean up and repair after terrible service and be neglected as tenants.

Desired Settlement: CONTACT ME ASAP: REPAIR AND CLEAN THE PROPERTY. REIMBURSE ME FOR THE CLEANING I HAD TO DO FOR APRIL REALTY. PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR CUSTOMER AND THEIR LIVING NEEDS. If the outcome isn't fulfilled, I am more than prepared to seek legal action against April Realty Services.

Business Response: I believe we have resolved Ms. *****'s complaint. I will respond with how this was resolved. The house was cleaned prior to move in and then on the day of move in after Ms. ***** reported that it was not cleaned. Ms. ***** was still not happy with the cleaning and requested to be reimbursed $210.00 for cleaning the property herself. After corresponding with ******, the maintenance coordinator, a meeting was set up for 5/20/13 to walk the property and discuss options regarding the cleaning. ****** met with Ms. ***** and walked through the unit. The unit was painted prior to April Realty Services taking over management of the property and prior to Ms. *****'s move in. The painter painted over hair and dirt. ****** informed Ms. ***** that this, the chipped paint and the scuff marks on the walls and baseboards would be noted as already there on her move in condition form and she would not be charged for this. ****** informed her that he would discuss the cleaning with his supervisor. After the walk through ****** called her to tell her that we would be reimbursing her the $210.00 she requested and we would take care of the repairs to the fence, stove, back door. On 5/30 we sent 2 maintenance men to repair the fence (1 loose picket in front and stringer on back fence), replaced back door, repaired stove and pulled and cleaned sides and behind stove. Ms. ***** was unhappy with stove knobs because the part looked like a straw but it was an actual part with part # on it. On 5/31 our maintenance man returned with new knobs and a check for $250.00 ($40.00 more than the requested amount) to reimburse Ms. *****. At this time he repaired a sensor on the back door that was not fixed the day before when the door was replaced. As far as I know everything has been taken care of. If not, Ms. ***** can contact me or ****** to report anything that is still outstanding.

We do not expect tenants to clean and do repairs themselves. I'm not sure what was meant by whoever at April Realty said that we manage 90 properties and our lack of cleaning contractors/readiness other than an explanation for what might have happened and why it might take us time to get back to a maintenance issue. I apologize for any actions on our part that suggest negligence. We want our tenants to be happy with their residence and with April Realty.

Again, if there is any outstanding issue we request Ms. ***** contact us so that we can resolve it. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1