Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Commemorative Brands, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Commemorative Brands, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 35 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

35 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 9
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 35

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Commemorative Brands, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1970 Business started: 06/01/1913 in RI Business started locally: 06/01/1913 Business incorporated 12/12/1996 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Clyde Walls, VP of Legal Affairs Ms. Sherice Bench, 440-2128 Mr. Donald J Percenti, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clyde Walls, VP of Legal Affairs
Business Category

Product Sales - General Jewelry Manufacturers Jewelers - Retail

Products & Services

Commemorative Brands, Inc. sells the following brand(s): See Trade Names

Commemorative Brands, Inc. offers the following product(s): Championship Rings, Class Rings, Diplomas, Graduation Announcements, Military Rings, Professional Rings

Method(s) of Payment
Cash; Checks; Visa; Master Card; Discover, American Express
Alternate Business Names
Balfour Austin

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Commemorative Brands, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7211 Circle S Rd

    Austin, TX 78745 (512) 996-9082 (800) 225-3687 (512) 440-2203

  • PO Box 149107

    Austin, TX 78714

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a class ring for the University of South Carolina for graduation year 2010. The ring is stamped 10K inside it, and I was under the impression that it was a 10K gold ring. I took the ring to sell it today to two different ***** shops and a jeweler, and they all told me that the ring is not passable as a white gold ring. Upon calling customer service, I was notified that the ring is a gold and "other alloy" mixture, and contains about 40% gold. The ring is marketed as white gold, and I paid $500 for a white gold ring, which, according to three different local experts, I did not get.

Desired Settlement: Because I attempted to call the location and seek corrective measures and they would not provide such, I want a full refund of my purchase price.

Business Response: We have contacted customer and assured her the product was gold as stamped inside the ring. We have offered her the opportunity to return the ring to us at our expense and we will have it tested by an independent testing lab to verify the gold content. We have provided customer with a FedEx prepaid Envelope to return the ring to us for testing.  To date we have not received the ring. 

Respectfully,

***** ****** * * ***** *******

6/15/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ive made 3 different orders with balfour. First one was a class ring which took 1 1/2 years to get. Second was for graduation products, which I did not receive the right stuff. Third thing I ordered waa a t-shirt that I never got. Called the main office and they just tell me there is nothing they can do, that I have to call the rep in my area. The sales rep in my area doesnt return calls and IF you get him on the phone, all he says is he'll look into but never calls you back.

Desired Settlement: Would like my products and a percentage returned to me for the inconvenience

Business Response: The customer has been contacted and the class ring issue, although long overdue, has been resolved. With regard to the graduation products and t-shirts, the customer is being issued a refund and will receive the ordered grad products and t-shirts free of charge.

All issues should be resolved upon her receipt of the refund check and the ordered items.
***** ***** **** ********* * ***** *******

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son received his graduation packet in feb24-26th around that time.in the packet was a miniature diploma ..the spelling of his name is not correct,i contacted the local office in garland,tx..i was told by the first lady that this is the font that the high school,chose i said okay but is not how i spell his name there is a "v" in his name & that is an "b"..She actually said oh well thats what the school chose..i told her that was unacceptable because that is not his name..i asked to speak with someone else she would not let me talk to anyone else..she hung up the phone..i called back & spoke with a lady who said she was an executive person there..she said she would order me another diploma.A week later i received the same diploma with his name wrong..so i contacted the corporate office in austin tx..this was in march 2015 the first week of the month..i was promised someone would get back with me i have been calling every week since march..it is now may 5th..i spoke with someone again today who promised me again a manager/supervisor/sales rep would call me or email me..nothing...

Desired Settlement: I just want either the font changed or my $10 back..please

Business Response: We were unable to change the font on the graduation announcements to the satisfaction of the customer.  We have been informed that the Sales Representative has issued a $10 refund check to the customer and the matter has been resolved.

Respectfully,

***** ******
**** ********* - Legal Affairs

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
****** ********

4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered graduation announcements, company messed up first order and we never received it. Second order was unable to get a completion date and now it will be delivered after the graduation. They are telling me it will be 10 days before I get my money refunded. They took the money in a day and have not produced the goods and continue to hold my 139 dollars.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund of money.

Business Response: The customer is correct in that we messed up on the first order and shipped the label but not the product, then the 2nd order was incorrectly entered and not scheduled for the correct delivery date. We apologize for the errors, and have issued a full refund to the customer. This is not our normal standard of customer satisfaction.  We will be glad to print the original order and send to the customer without charge.

Respectfully,
***** ***** **** ********* - Legal Affairs

Consumer Response:  

From: ****** ******* [mailto:*****************************]
Sent: Wednesday, April 29, 2015 6:33 AM
To: info
Subject: RE: BBB - You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint #********

 

I accept the response but get a server error  (Run Time Error) when I accept it electronically accept it. 

4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 12, 2015 I placed an order for graduation cards for my daughter who is graduating from Texas State University. I used Balfour because I wanted a quality product and I wanted the invitation to look official with the Texas State logo. I received the product on April 16, 2015 and was very disappointed. That night I wrote the company with my complaint. The photo on the announcement looked grainy, pixilated, and slightly out of focus. On my computer, the photo was clear and sharp.The quality of the product was no better than going to CVS or Walgreens; actually they provide a better quality product than Balfour. For the price I expected a much higher quality product. The back of the announcement was plain and bright white. The envelopes were too large for the announcement. I wrote the company and asked someone to contact me in regards to my complaint to see what could be done about this issue. With tax and shipping this was a $207.80 order. Since that time I have sent a total of 5 emails and have made 2-3 phone calls to the company. No one has returned my emails and when I call I am told they will forward my complaint to the appropriate person.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for this product. I have waited 10 days for someone to address this issue and complaint. I have heard back from no one. My daughter graduates on May 15th. Due to timing, today I was forced to place an order for graduation cards with a different company so I may send them out in a timely fashion.

Business Response: We did not handle this customer complaint as quickly as we should have and apologize to the customer.  A credit has been issued today to the credit card that was used to purchase the announcements and should show up on the customers credit card account within the next four to seven days for the full purchase price.

We would like for the customer to return the announcements to us so that we can determine what went wrong with our quality and fix it. We will be glad to reimburse the customer for the return shipping.

Respectfully,

***** ****** **** ********* - Legal Affairs

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Please ask Balfour for a shipping address so I may return the product to them.
Thank you.

Regards,
***** ******

4/2/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted an order (#**************) two months ago, February 2, of 2015, for "the basic package" of graduation announcements. It totaled to 125.29. I contacted them one month after placing the order as it was still in "processing status" and according to Balfour's website, and own policies "It will take approximately 10 business days plus shipping time to process your order from the date you place it. " I was told, Good morning *****- Thank you for your email and for permitting Balfour to be part of your achievement. I did some research. I am happy to confirm that your order is in production. It's production order number is ******* sg Congratulations on your milestone! ***" Nearly another month had passed, making it almost two months since I placed the order and it was still "processing" I contacted Balfour, to be told that "Good afternoon *****, Thank you for contacting us. We apologize for the late response. We have been informed by our production team that unfortunately we no longer service this school, therefore we do not have the licensing to print your order. The request was cancelled, and a full refund request was issued with our Finance Department. We are very sorry about this situation. Kind regards, Personalized College Announcements Customer Service | balfour | Austin, Texas | ***** *** ****" However, if you go to Balfour's website and look at their products offered you can still see that they offer announcements for the University of Louisville (********************************************************************) I would like a FULL refund for my order. Dishonest business practices are shady and I will NEVER do business with this company again, and I will tell anyone who wants to hear it how downright dishonest this company is. They have left me with less than a month to order, and receive and ship graduation announcements to family and friends. Which is ridiculous, there is no way I can ship them out in time now, and no way I can order new ones! I am extremely livid and will be filing complaints anywhere I can against this company.

Desired Settlement: Full refund and cancellation of order.

Business Response: The customer in this case is correct in that we did not timely notify her that we were not authorized to sell this licensed product.
A complete and full refund has been issued to the customers credit card.
We apologize for not handling this order correctly and in a more timely manner.

Respectfully,
***** ***** **** ********* - Legal Affairs

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

3/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An order for a Letterman Jacket was placed on August 28, 2014. After many phone calls, a number of emails between me, the local representative and the corporate customer service I have still not received any information about the order or it's expected deliver. Six months and still no explanation of what is happening. I paid over 50% deposit and gave them my son's High School Letter.

Desired Settlement: I really would like my money back plus the cost of the letter or just receive the jacket for what I have paid so far which is over half as a deposit. I feel that seems fair being that I have waited 6 months for this and have had no contact since November. It is holding up senior pictures for my son and graduation is almost here.

Business Response: In regard to *** *******’s complaint we have determined that *** ******* is absolutely correct in her complaint as the order was lost by the salesman while he was relocating his office and therefore the order was never placed for the letter jacket.

The salesman has mailed a full refund check to the customer this week and is having a jacket completed to the specifications requested by the customer and that jacket should be delivered to her within  the next 7 to 10 days, completely at no charge to the customer.

We apologize for the error and long delay in resolving this issue.

Please convey this information to the customer.

Respectfully,

***** *****
**** ********* * ***** *******
Phone: ************
Fax: ************
***********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,  ***** *******

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have ordered a college class ring on 11/28/2014 and I chose how it should be made on the website and paid for it 1319.89 dollars . The order number is ******** . When I received the ring it was NOT done the way I specified for it to be done . It was made different than what I ordered and done incorrectly . So I called Balfour and told them that the ring is not as I ordered it on their website . So they said that they made a mistake and for me to send it back so they can remake another ring . I sent it back and waited 3 weeks and called to check on the status of the ring . I was told that the pharmacy logo and the BS degree cannot be made as I asked for it and I was already fed up with their mistake and the long wait time since I first ordered on November 28th ,so I asked to cancel the order and refund me my money that I paid for a ring that was done wrong ,incorrect and not as I ordered it . The customer service person said that I have pay a penalty of 75 dollars for canceling plus other fees . I was very mad and angry , they made a mistake and they made the ring incorrectly and NOT as I ordered and they want to penalize me now and make me pay 75 dollars penalty . They already have the ring which I returned because it is not as ordered and it was made different than I ordered and wrong and they admitted to their mistake so I want a full and complete refund of my money of 1319.89 dollars and not one penny less .the senior customer service that I talked to was rude to me and kept saying that I have to pay a penalty . Very rude and very poor customer service and unfair to make me pay for their mistakes He was very unprofessional and kept arguing with me I want a full refund

Desired Settlement: I want a complete and full refund of all the money that I paid of 1319.89 dollars since it was not my error or mistake and they made the ring different than what I ordered and incorrect and they admitted their mistake .the ring was different than what I ordered on the website and it did NOT have the pharmacy logo like I ordered . They should NOT charge me any penalties of 75 dollars plus any fees . The 75 dollars penalty should be waived and I should get back all my money that I paid in full

Business Response: From: ********* ***** 
Sent: Monday, March 23, 2015 1:47 PM
To: ****** *****
Subject: RE: **** *** ******* BB Complaint 1-7-15.docx
Importance: High

*****,

There was an error on the ring.   Our standard is to fix the ring, not do a refund.  However, this order was returned and a refund was done for $1244.89 on 1-9.  The $75 forfeiture fee was refunded on 1-15.  All monies have been credited to the card used to purchase the ring.

Thanks,

*****

***** ******** | director customer service | commemorative brands, inc | balfour | ******* ***** | direct: ###-###-####   cell: ###-###-#### 

From: *****, ***** 
Sent: Monday, March 23, 2015 1:36 PM
To: ********, *****
Subject: **** *** ******* BB Complaint 1-7-15.docx

Sorry *****, here is the complaint in word.

*****

***** *****

**** ********* – ***** *******
Phone: ###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####
***********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
**** *******

7/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During May 2014, I made repeated attempts to contact representatives at Balfour rings, Inc. in an effort to completely pay off a University ring, I purchased for my son. They were calling my son's cell phone and not mine. The debit card used for all payments was mine. My card was lost and immediately replaced; I then tried contacting them to resolve the payment issue. I left numerous messages along with my contact #, for a rep named "******" but there was never any return phone call attempted. I informed everyone who took my messages that I wanted to pay-off the ring and I repeatedly requested a call back from "******". I never received any call back. Each time I called customer service, reps told me I would get a call back but I never did. Finally, I demanded to escalate the call to the District Manager, when I was finally addressed by ******. She said told me that my account was just sent to collections. This was during the period I tried calling Balfour to actually pay-off the ring. My communication was delayed in order to send the account to collections, instead of returning my numerous calls to resolve the matter with me. The customer service representatives, covered-up for this horrible, unethical customer service instead of addressing me, directly. They even changed the documentation in the computer system to reflect their false account of events, stating that I never, ever tried to call them. However, I have my phone records, that proves otherwise.

Desired Settlement: To Pay off the original final amount of $400 dollars, instead of the increased amount. I have taken every effort to settle this matter...Then are not trying to work with me a all... I would only like to deal with the owner, because no one from the District Manager's office returned my call either.

Business Response: While we feel we have acted in good faith and feel we have provided an opportunity to resolve this through proper business channels we will agree to work with the collection agency (MPB) and request that they cease efforts to collect the balance due plus collection fee. This means we will communicate with MPB on this decision and as long as Balfour receives full payment of balance due in the amount of $426.11 by August, 1st this situation will be considered closed. The remaining amount due is the $952.66 less a $75.00 courtesy credit less $451.55 customer payment equal $426.11. While we realize there is disagreement on how this payment effort has transpired we respect your position on this matter. Thanks in advance to the final payment in full of $426.11 and working with us for final resolution.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

In order that this nightmare stop, cease and desist, I have provided my bank account information to a Ms. **** at Commemorative Brands, the parent company of Balfour, as she reached out to me to settle the matter.

My original balance of only $426, will be paid before August 1st, which is in alignment with what I tried to do when I contacted Balfour months ago. I will not have to deal with a collections agency as the previous reps so feverishly tried to force upon me. Their response and attitude, as evidenced above, illustrates the utter obstinate behavior I've had to deal with, while they played "hot potato" with my account, in order to defer it to their collections agency. Their efforts to cover-up for their lack of professionalism and lack of respect for customer service was the most heighten form of immaturity, I've ever had to deal with, at best.

When my son graduates from law school, I will be certain we stay far away from Balfour. "Caveat Emptor" (Buyer Beware).

I'm most appreciative of organizations, such as the Better Business Bureau which helps protect consumers from unethical and/or illegal practices.

Thank you Better Business Bureau.


Best Regards, 

****** ********

6/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a class ring for my son from balfour. I paid a third of the purchase price upfront. Balfour was to bill me in two more installments for the balance of the ring. I never received an invoice from balfour for the remaining balance. My son had the ring and all the information concerning it. I called balfour at ###-###-#### and was told that I needed to call ****** at ###-###-####. Please note that while on the phone with balfour the service person read my address to me and they had a wrong address for me. I called ****** and left a message, I never received a call back from anyone at balfour. On March 05, 2014 I sent payment to balfour for the remaining balance. The next day Merchants& Professional Credit Bureau, Inc. (Merchants) called me on my cell phone demanding payment for the ring I ordered from balfour plus a fee. The amount of the fee is $204.12, the amount of the ring was $767.68. I informed Merchants that I had sent payment into balfour on 3-05-14. A week later Merchants called me on my cell phone and demanded payment of $204.12. Please note that Merchants stated my address to me over the phone and they had a wrong address also. I informed balfour and Merchants that they both had an incorrect address for me and that I should not be responsible for a fee of $204.12 in writing. Balfour has not responded to me in any form. Merchants responded with a letter that included a copy of the display invoice. On the display invoice the three equal payments are printed on it, however the $204.12 is hand written in with the word fee hand written next to it. There is no explanation of how this fee is arrived at. Merchants has threatened to damage my credit rating with negative postings.

Desired Settlement: I would like for balfour and Merchants & Professional Credit Bureau, Inc. to drop this fee of $204.12 and adjust any and all negative postings that they may have put on my credit rating. I believe that this should be done because both balfour and merchants had an incorrect address for me, thus I did not receive any request for payment from balfour in the mail. Thank You.

Business Response: While we always want to come to a mutual solution in every case, all records indicate we have the correct address and Dunn letters were sent starting 11/11. We apologize if you expected an invoice, but we bill the credit card in three equal payments and do not send an invoice. Unfortunately your card was not honored on the second payment attempt thus the initiated process leading to collections. I an having one last piece of research on the order checked to determine if there could be room for misinterpretation and if so will report out this week. Otherwise although we received payment for the ring on 3/5 the account was turned over to collections the prior month of February and feel the situation stands as is. Again will report out on final research step this week. Thank you.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
1. In the phone calls between Balfour, Merchants and myself you can clearly hear both Balfour and Merchants tell me an incorrect address for me.
2. The "FEE" has not been explained in any way, shape or form. I have not received a detailed bill for the "fee". Also the "fee" is UNREASONABLE!!!
3. Please look at the letters that I sent to Balfour and Merchants in them you will find a copy of the remittance/order summary form that was shipped with the ring. On this form it states "BALANCE TO B BILLED IN 2 INST". I attempted in include it in this response but this is my fourth time trying to proceed with it, it has been showing ERRORS and not proceeding.
4. I am waiting for the business to complete its investigation.
Regards,
********* ******

6/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 7th,2014 I ordered a replacement bowling award ring for my boyfriend. I ordered it over the phone and the woman said it would take 4-6 weeks. After 6 weeks, I contacted them to find out where my ring was and was told that my card had been declined due to insufficient funds. The problem starts with the fact that my bank account was charged the $175 for the ring in February. It is now mid April and I STILL don't have the ring I ordered. The problem continued when their customer service department didn't bother to inform me that there was a supposed problem back in February and they keep telling me that we can run my card again!! I'm not going to pay TWICE! I send a copy of my bank statement with the charge to them, that was a week and a half ago. I have heard NOTHING back about my account and finally reached their finance department; to be told that it looks like I need to go back to talking to customer service!! If there was ANY other way to get this ring, I would cancel the charge without a second thought! What kind of company LOSES $175?!?!?!

Desired Settlement: In a perfect world I would get the ring that I ordered and my money back. But I will settle for the ring and half of my money back due to Keepsake Bowling's loosing the money in the first place! And not informing me there of.

Business Response: Our apologies for the delay and frustration. We are researching this and will have a formal response this week, thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: this is not really a response. I still haven't heard from their customer service rep about how long I'm going to have to keep waiting. It shouldn't take a week to say give us more time!
****** *****

Business Response: Again our apologies for the delays and inconvenience. We hope the ring was well received by your boyfriend. While not the amount asked for, a $40 credit on 4/17 which you most likely have seen at this time was issued and an additional $20 credit will be processed within the week as well. Thank you for reaching out and we wish you well.    

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: whereas I apperciate the partial refund; there is no explanation. It is not reasonable to take 3 months for a product that is only supossed to take 4-6 weeks! How do you explain the CLEAR lack of communication? I want to make sure that this isn't going to happen to me or anyone else. 

Regards,

****** *****

Consumer Response: Date Sent: 5/7/2014 1:58:31 PM
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: whereas I apperciate the partial refund; there is no explanation. It is not reasonable to take 3 months for a product that is only supossed to take 4-6 weeks! How do you explain the CLEAR lack of communication? I want to make sure that this isn't going to happen to me or anyone else. 

Regards,

****** *****

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a daughter who is a Senior and we received information concerning the option to order her Senior packet that included cap and gown and other items. I was unable to order this packet until the first week of Jan 2014. My check was cashed on Jan 3rd but I had not received anything as of March 9th so I sent an email to the Balfour Rep located in Lexington, KY asking when I could expect to start receiving some of the items I had ordered. I did not receive an email response so on March 14th I contacted the customer service line for Balfour and to no avail did they help me. They kept referring me to the local Lexington Rep that would not return my email. I finally pushed until they emailed a supervisor and when the Lexington, KY Rep contacted me that afternoon, he was VERY rude and hateful and informed met that I should have gotten my order in before Christmas like every one else and kept referencing the issue as my fault because I didn't get my order in sooner. I was just trying to find out when I could expect the items. He finally stated it should be to us with in a couple of weeks. I waited until April 20th and sent him yet another email asking where our items were, with no response so I contacted our school counselor, that dealt with him, on April 28th and she emailed him because I informed her I couldn't get him to email me back and she proceeded to call me back on April 29th and stated that the Balfour Rep told her they must have lost my order and I should receive it in 10 days and if not to call the school counselor back. I had also contacted the main customer service for Balfour on April 28th because of the previous rudeness and informed them that I can not get him to respond or get anyone to help get me some answers and it had been almost 4 months with no items received or even an explanation as to why it was taking so long. The customer service department proceeded to inform me that they could see that my daughters items had been shipped already to the Lexington Rep's office. I waited another 10 days for our items and on May 7th I still had not received any information or items I contacted our local school counselor again and she stated that the Rep would be at the school that day for me to come by and speak with him. I took my lunch hour to drive 20 minutes back to my hometown to meet with him and he did not show in the time frame he had scheduled with my daughters High school so that was a wasted trip for me. FINALLY that afternoon my daughter was informed that Seniors had an assembly scheduled the next morning to receive their items and the Lexington Rep emailed me that same afternoon after I had sent him yet another email after he didn't show up at the school. She received most of her items but not all so I proceeded to email Rep again and he referenced yet AGAIN the fact I sent my order in later than everyone else and everyone else got their stuff I still had to wait and I received more missing items on Monday May12th. But we are still missing 2 items that I was told would be sent to me but I have dealt with all of this for an entire 4 months. Product_Or_Service: 2 Souviner Tassels

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to have a refund of items not received and some compensation for the aggravation of not getting any assistance and having to wait 4 months to get items that are no longer as valuable due to my daughter graduating in just a few weeks. No parent should have to deal with a stressor like this and the rudeness I received because I simply wanted to know how long we would be waiting for items ordered and with every communication from the R

Consumer Response:

-----Original Message-----

From: ******* [**************************]

Sent: Tuesday, June 03, 2014 7:06 PM

To: info

Subject: complaint #********

 

I wanted to inform you that the business has finally sent me the rest of my daughters order so I no longer need a refund and as far as I am concerned this case can be closed. I am still unhappy with the services and quality if products that I received and can't really expect them to make it right when it took so long just to get the original order complete.

 

 

******* *****

5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 10, 2014, ***** ***** came to my classroom at Lakewood High School and we placed an order for my son's class ring. He was paid in full at this time. He also assured me that I would have the ring by April 26th, my son's 16th birthday. Beginning April 7th and over the course of a week and a half, I left 4 messages with the number listed for my representative to check the status of delivery. I also emailed the address listed. I received absolutely no reply to any of these attempts. The week of April 14th, I contacted Balfour Customer Service and spoke with *****. She was helpful and said she would contact the supervisor of the representative. On the 21st, *** ***** called me. I explained my concern about getting the ring by Saturday the 26th and he stated he needed to make some calls and would get back with me the following day. He did not. On Wednesday the 23rd at 6:15pm I called the number he called from and his son, who actually took the order, answered the phone. He told me his father had stepped out for a bite to eat but would call me when he was back. I explained my concern with *****, the son, since he took my order and and he told me that when we ordered it he knew we would be "cutting it close". I said that that is not what happened and he simply stated that his father would call me later and hung up abruptly. It was very rude. At 8:40pm, his father, ***, returned my call and stated the ring would be mailed on Monday, April 28th. I stated that it was 2 days past my son's birthday and would not work. I asked if it could be overnighted and stated I would pay for the cost of the shipping. He said, "No. It will be shipped out on Monday." I asked for the number of his supervisor to see if other arrangements could be made and he told me she would just refer the call back to him, and would not give me the name or number to his supervisor. I told him I felt that he and his son were not understanding how important this was to my family, and he stated again, "It will be shipped Monday". I then told him I did not care for the way he was speaking with me and did not appreciate his son hanging up on me. He stated, "It will be shipped on Monday." He hung up. The next morning, I contacted ***** in customer service. She was great and provided me with the name of the supervisor and her number. I called ******* and explained the situation. She was very sympathetic and was on the mission to find out the location of the ring. She got back with me quickly and stated the ring was finished and just needed to go through inspection before being shipped. She was going to call me the next day to let me know exactly when it was being shipped. I did not get that call. Instead, I had to call her and she informed me the ring did not pass inspection and would be shipped over-night on Monday, April 28th. Since then, I have called her 3 times to find the ring and even called back to *****, who again tried to help. Today, May 4th, my son has not received his 16th birthday present.

Desired Settlement: I want the class ring purchased for my son on March 10th. I want a full refund for the terrible customer service, excluding *****, and hours of time I have invested in this situation. I want a new representative from Balfour at our high school, or will address the board requesting we no longer use the company or allow them to advertise/sell in our district.

Consumer Response:

Good Morning!

The address provided on the back of my order form is **** ****** ** ***** ******* ** **********.  Thank you for looking into my complaint so quickly!  Please let me know if you need anything additional. 

** ***** ******

Business Response: ***** *****, our ** ** ******** ******* has been working with *** ****** and her son and the latest update is the ring was delivered. Due to the ring not being quite what her son, *****, wanted we are processing a full refund. If another ring style is selected then we will assist in placing the order otherwise we will consider this issue closed. *** ****** has *****'s contact info as well if any further questions or concerns. Thank you. 

5/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a UT Texas class ring for my son the beginning of February 2014 after calling Balfour and being assured that they would ship directly to my home as long as not ordered during class promotion which was the end of Feb. I then ordered the next day online. Called to inquire about it the beginning of April and was told it would be held for their ring ceremony at campus. I told them that as I originally stated, I needed it shipped to me so that I could present it to him personally as it was a gift. the person I talked to said they would annotate that it was to be shipped to my home address. this was also placed in the remarks section when I originally ordered.Just prior to this, I received a card addressed to my son which invited him to partake in the class ring ceremony thus went the surprise fir his gift I was going to give him. I was then told that they would ship it to me after this ceremony if no one picked it up. I therefore waited till after the ceremony and once agin...no ring. I once again contacted ******** who I was referred to by Balfour previously (nothing but pass the buck) and they are now telling me that I must wait until AFTER commencement when they send it back to Balfour who are then to mail it to me. I am sick of this run around and after spending over 1300.00 have nothing to present my son nor am I confident I will ever receive the ring as promised, A total bunch of thieves.

Desired Settlement: SEND ME MY RING AS PROMISED SO THAT I CAN PRESENT IT TO MY SON AS PROMISED.

Business Response: *** *****,

Our sincere apologies for the frustration we created for you and for ruining the surprise ring for your son with our mailing.  I have confirmed the ring was delivered on 5/8 to your home and we hope that you and your son were pleased with his University of Texas ring he worked so hard to earn. Congratulations to the family on your son's earning his degree and we wish him well in his future career.  

We are applying a $40 credit back to your card as a good-will gesture. Thank you for reaching out as we need to hear how we can improve going forward. Take care.

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a class ring from the Balfour company using Balfour.com. After placing my order, I received my ring two weeks later. After trying the ring on, I noticed the black antique finish on the side of the ring wiped off onto my finger which is not supposed to happen. I also noticed the size I ordered was too large for my finger. Having purchased a protection plan that also includes repairs, I sent the ring back to be resized and to have the antique finish repaired. I also included a copy of my shipping receipt as I was instructed to so that shipping costs could be refunded to me. The ring returned to me two weeks later with a very poor resizing job done and no repair to the antique finish I mentioned on the service request sheet as well as on the phone with customer service. The gem on the ring was also resettled poorly resulting in a messy finish around the ring which I tried to clean up. After contacting customer service for a second time, I was instructed to send the ring back again noting "Attention ***** *******" so that the ring would be handled by a repair *******. Two weeks later the ring arrived with the same damage as before. Again, I included a copy of my shipping receipt to get a refund for the shipping costs. The ring has been sent to me a THIRD time now the the exact same damage. I have NOT received any refunds for my shipping costs despite claims that it has been mailed out. I was also told that they lost my receipt for the first return and would not honor the charges. I spent over $800 on this "commemorative" ring and feel the company simply opens items that were sent in for repair and mails them right back out, two weeks later. This allows them to create an image that they are conducting repairs when they are clearly not.

Desired Settlement: I would like my ring repaired to it's intended condition. The ring was never sent to me in a manner that it was supposed to. I would also like to have the total shipping costs refunded to me as promised by the company.

Business Response: *****, our apologies for not making sure your ring is the quality that Balfour and most importantly you deserve it to be.  If you would please, be sure to send it in to the attention of ***** *****, our ** ** ******** ******* and he will make sure this is resolved to your satisfaction. Be sure to include a note with your mailing address, contact phone number and any receipts for shipping we need to reimburse you for. We will reimburse the shipping charge up to $20 for the shipping cost where you do not have a receipt.  Your ring is a symbol of your achievement and we certainly want you to be able to wear it proudly, again sorry for the poor service to date, we will make it right. 
          

4/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called in twice last week. First to find out why an order I had place on February 26, 2014 payment had not been taken out of my account. Secondly, I called on Friday in reference to the payment being taken out of my account but for a amount not approve by me. When I signed the contract on 02/26/2014 the amount on the contract was $218.21 but when the payment was taken on 03/21/2014 it was in the amount of $224.33. The representative I spoke with by the name of **** informed me that on the contract that it states that there may be an adjustment to the payment. After, pulling my contract I do not see that statement nowhere on it. I just don't like surprises and the amount written on the contract should be binding.

Desired Settlement: I the future if there will be an additional charge that it needs to me communicated with the customer and if the tax varies from state to state the person on site needs that information in hand at the time of purchase. I recommend a state tax guideline card in your representative hand during the signing of the contract process. Therefore, everything will be upfront and no suprises at the end.

Business Response: We apologize for the inconvenience and confusion. We duly note the customer's suggestion regarding on-site tax guides due to there being destination tax differences. A less convenient avenue is having a customer's call us directly and place order over the phone as a service rep would then be able to provide an exact total sales amount. We will also review the price disclaimer on the order form to increase the visibility of the disclaimer. Again our apologies and we appreciate the customer feedback.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because: They have not once mention crediting me the difference, since it's not clearing note on my contract there may be some type of payment adjustment.  Also, I have asked them to show me this state on the contract about the payment adjustment.  I can email them a copy of my receipt and this statement is not on it.

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: ****, ***** *****, our * * of Customer Service will update his response to **** ***** and offer her a refund as the customer is correct that on the College Announcement Order Form, the proper disclosure was not included. It will be on our next printing of order forms for this fall.

Thanks for your assistance in this matter.

*****  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I'm still out of more than just the overpayment, the bank charge my account several overdraft fees totaling to $75.00 I have since cleared this matter. 
However, I would appreciate if ******* could write me a letter stating that I was charged $224.33 in error and the correct charged total should have only been $ 218.21.  Hopefully this will clear these charges and then I'll accept their response.  

Regards, ******* *****

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deposit placed on high school championship rings in January 2013 in the amount of $720.00 has not been returned.

Desired Settlement: Full deposit refund

Business Response:

****,

 

                My apologies for the delay getting something posted, ***** suggested I email you directly.

 

I have confirmation the sales rep, coach and customer have coordinated and returned the check so all should be resolved. Please let us know if that is not the case, but again all should be resolved as of a couple weeks ago. Thank you and again sorry for the posting delay.

 

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Thank you.  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

1/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a class ring from an agent of Balfour on 10/31/13. The price that was agreed upon was in the amount of $504.29 with a down payment of $168.10 and 2 more payments due in December and January in the amount of $168.10. I signed the contract and am in receipt of the copy of this contract. The first payment, (aka the deposit), was taken out of my account on 11/07/13. Due to financial hardship and rent being due the beginning of the month, I called around 12/04/13 regarding changing the payment due date from the 7th of the month to the 20th of the month and was told this was no problem. However, on the 12th of the month my account was charged without being notified that Balfour decided to change the agreed upon due date from the 20th to the 12th causing my account to become overdrawn because I was unaware they changed the due date. Upon calling on 12/16/13 to inquire as to why the date was changed I was informed the ring had shipped out early and they needed the second payment before it could ship out. I asked why I was not informed because now my account would become overdrawn the gentleman said he would look into it and get back to me. When he called back he explained the same thing again but was unsure as to why I was not notified. He also informed me my remaining 2 payments would indeed come out of the 20th of the following months. I explained I only had 1 remaining payment according to the contract I had signed and he informed me the salesperson did not properly calculate the amount of the merchandise on 10/31 and upon review they added an additional payment onto my agreement. This is unacceptable and poor business practice. I have a signed contract for the amount of 3 payments of 168.10 no more. I refuse to pay anymore than these 3 payments and feel they are in violation of this contract. They have poor communication and do not notify their customers of any changes/issues that arise.

Desired Settlement: I refuse to pay more than the 3 payments of 168.10. I expect them to honor the sign contract that I am in possession of. Due to their inadequate business practice I incurred expenses to my bank because of their failure to notify me when they changed my due date. Now I am expected to pay more than what I agreed to because their salesperson did not add properly? I expect to be charged $168.10 on 01/20/14 and no more!

Business Response: We appreciate ****** reaching out and we understand the frustration. Due to the poor communication and inconvenience created we certainly will honor the $504.29 price. We have credited the account so that the total amount owed at this time is $173.11 and it will be broken out with two final payments one in January for $86.55 and the final payment in February for $86.55.   Please call our customer service with any questions as notes have been placed on your account. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ****

11/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August of 2013, I completed a hard-copy form from ********, ordering a 300 game bowling ring. I then contacted ******** on September 5, 2013 to pay for my requested upgrades. Since the form was a color copy, I was not able to retain a copy of what I had ordered. My order was read back to me and the representative misread my request for CZ Zenith Stone Inset ($50) and I was told I ordered a 10K Yellow Panel ($75). Since this is a once-in-a lifetime achievement, I did not have experience in ordering this type of ring, the order was processed and my credit card charged. Two weeks after the charge, I was notified by my credit card company that my card was used in Ohio, South Dakota and a few other states. My card was cancelled and I contacted both the **** and ******** to let them know they have a possible leak in their credit card system (I did not use the card after that purchase, since I was close to my credit limit). I received my ring on 10-25-2013, with the wrong panel and the inclosed invoice received with my order, does not itemize the charges, just gives a total. \I notified ********, to which the response was "****, Congratulations on your recent 300 Honor score. I had the call pulled and the signet panel in 10kt plus the total amount of the order ($110.00) was approved at the time the order was placed. However, we can change the top to the requested Zenith with CZ. The repair charge would be $50 plus the cost of the new top($50.00) plus $14.95 shipping fee minus the cost of the 10K Gold Panel $75.00 for a total due of $54.90. $50.00 (Repair Charge)+$50.00 (CZ Zenith Top)+ $14.95 (Shipping Fee)-$75.00 (10K Gold Panel)=$54.90 Total due.

Desired Settlement: I just want what I ordered, and seeing as how they initiated the mistake by improperly reading my written order, I don't see how I am liable for the repair charge of $50. The panel I ordered is $25 less than what I received, so I should be credited that towards return shipment.

Consumer Response: I received a phonecall from ****** (rep of the company in
question) and they are willing to repair my ring without cost to me ("call
it even on any addtional charges"). I am happy with this resolution and
will return-ship my ring for repair. I will wait until I receive the repairs
prior to closing this complaint.

 

Thank you.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent the ******* Company my 1959 North Texas State College ring to them to be redone. I talked to a lady that said it would be with a new stone. I received it back with the stone, but the ring was still the same. I was charged $188.61. I sent the ring back after talking to them and they agreed to rebuild the ring as was originally requested. This time I paid an additional 110.91. They wanted an additional $175.00, but agreed to do it for half the price. When I received it back the second time, It was excellent. They could have done this the first time. Including shipping and handling, I was out $314.46 on service that according to them that should have been $203.56. This does not take into consideration that I paid to ship it back an extra time or shipped it to them twice.

Desired Settlement: I was out about $120.00 more than I should have been. If I received $100.00 that would be great. I would be surprised if I ever hear from them.

Business Response: Mr. ****,

                Thank you for your time and for the detailed information. In hindsight after reviewing the repair history and eventual remaking of a new ring for you we feel it is only fair to apply some of your repair payment to the cost in making your new ring since the repair was not to your complete satisfaction. We will be aplying a $110 credit back to your credit card and you should see that credit applied back to your card in the next 6-8 business days. We hope you are wearing your rng proudly for all the memories and achievement it symbolizes for you.  Thank you.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought college class ring in 1991 w/lifetime warranty. Company refuses to repair and wants to sell me a brand new ring at $175 I purchased a class ring from Arizona State University and ARTCARVED company in 1991. I have sent the ring back to ARTCARVED once to repair the shank of the ring which had worn through and cracked. I returned the ring, with the same problem, in June, 2013, to Balfour company, which had purchased ARTCARVED, or merged, or something. Anyway, Balfour now tells me that they won't repair the ring as they "can't guarantee that it won't break again" and will only sell me a brand new college class ring for $175 plus tax. That's ridiculous and not honoring my original lifetime warranty with my class ring that I bought. I do not wish to have a new ring. I have sentimental value in my old ring. It seems a shady practice to take my gold ring (which is worth probably more to the company to melt it down and re-use it, so they are making money on that deal) and give me another ring, WHILE CHARGING ME FOR IT!! Gee, they make money off my gold I've sent them (and stone) and then charge me for a new ring, which I don't want. For giggles, before I sent it in to Balfour, I had my local jeweler give me an estimate for repairing the shank and it was $80 (including tax).

Desired Settlement: Fix my original ring. If my local jeweler can repair it for $80 (tax included) that seems reasonable and prudent. Fix my original ring, without insisting that I purchase a brand new one from you.

Business Response: Mr. *****,
                               
We certainly want for you to be able to wear your Arizona State ring again with pride as we know it represents great memories and achievement. The challenge is in the wear and condition of the ring. While we respect another jeweler’s claim to be able to repair the ring and do so for $80 we did evaluate the ring’s condition and we cannot guarantee the ring will survive the repair. As for our $175 charge when having to make a replacement ring as in our opinion is required here it is for a brand new ring. We do respect the sentimental value you have for your ring and understand your desire to repair this ring and not receive a new ring.

So what we could offer is do another evaluation of your ring by our most experienced jeweler and see if it can be repaired. If this artisan feels he can repair it then we must first receive your permission knowing there is a risk the ring might not survive the stress of the repair. If it does survive then great and we will match the $80 charge you were quoted as a good-will gesture, but if the ring does not survive repair efforts then we would need to make you a new ring. As for the $175 charge it is to cover our labor and materials. We respect other jewelers pricing and ability to provide repairs and other services and have no intention of making comparisons in that matter. We have been in business 100 years because of our quality products, fair and ethical practices and will continue to do all we reasonably can for our customers past, current and future. We look forward to hearing from you, thanks.

***** ***** | vice president customer service | commemorative brands, inc | balfour | austin, texas | direct: ************  

9/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered High School Graduation Announcements for mailing in February, 2013. The promised delivery period was 6 to 8 weeks. At the end of April, they had not been received. I began emailing and telephoning to determine what the problem might be and when I might expect delivery. I made dozens of these contacts, each time requiring a significant investment of time. ******* explained that they had some sort of "factory issue" causing a delay. They made no commitment to resolving or delivery of the order. They simply offered to fill when available. In the second week of May, only weeks before graduation, really too late at that time, some generic announcements arrived. Something simple and having nothing to do with my son's high school, and not the invitations designed for his high school. At this time, I went to a local printer and had invitations printed. Given the late date, I had not choice other than simply not sending out announcements. I again contacted ******* about the generic announcements, and ******* explained that it was their policy that if they had none of the High Schools announcements available, to just send these generic announcements. I would have called the credit card company to deny payment, but ******* had run the charge at the time of order which was more than sixty days previous per credit card company policy. Of course, I complained vigorously at this. ******* said that they had some "smudged" ones from reject pile along with 17 "good ones" that they would send. ******* then "found" some from a cancelled order that they arranged, however, this was on about the 20th of May, only days before graduation. I told them that we did not want them, we had already had them printed elsewhere and that I expected ******* to issue a refund to my credit card. After numerous contacts, ******* is simply ignoring me.

Desired Settlement: Full refund. After the extraordinary hassle, a written apology as well.

Business Response:

We certainly want to apologize for the inconvenience and the ensuing issues in placing your order for ********* graduation announcements. We understand this was a special time for ******* and the family. We do show we refunded $118.20 back to the MasterCard on 6/6/13. If there is any discrepancy in the refund amount please let us know as we do not show anything charged except for the amount of $118.20, thank you.

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I was about to graduate from college in 1999, Artcarved/Balfour sent a representative to my school to sell class rings. Even though I didn't have a lot of money saved, the representative was successful at selling me a beautiful, state of art $499 18kt yellow gold ring. Please note that this was an in-person business deal, not a phone or online deal. I was told the ring was fully covered with a LIFETIME warranty that covered both damage or loss. In fact, these are the words written in the ring invoice. The ring also could be changed to reflect a new advanced degree. The ring was beautiful and I never regretted that I bought it in spite of the price. In fact, few years later, I bought a graduation ring for my husband, then another one for my niece from this company. However, these two rings did not come with a lifetime warranty. Instead, they came with LIMITED warranty for both loss or damage. It is shown in the rings’ invoices. While purchasing these two rings I told them I was working on my PhD and would be sending them my ring for a change of degree within the next few years. When we relocated two years ago, we lost some of our belongings during the move and my graduation ring and many other valuable personal items were included in the loss. I desperately called the ring company shortly after and after spending a long time on the phone with a representative, I was told they could not find any record that I had bought this ring with them. I was told that I needed to provide proof of purchase for any further talk about a replacement. The representative took my name and phone number and told me that someone would be in touch at a later time after doing some additional record research. I never received a call back. I called another time later on and the same story repeated, no records of me as a customer for this one ring. They had record for the other two ring purchases, but not for my own ring. I thought that was it, my ring and hope were gone. Several weeks ago, like a miracle, I came across the original invoice for my ring while looking for some old photos in the garage. In the middle of a bunch of other papers, I found the ORIGINAL invoice for my college ring along with the original packing: a black leather box with the company’s name engraved in gold color. The invoice has all kinds of information about the ring including the following statement: Congratulations! Your Artcarved College Ring is like no other piece of jewelry you’ll ever own. It carries the memories of your academic achievement and college experience. For these reasons, your ArtCarved College Jewelry is of the finest quality, created with more than thirty hand operations performed by skilled craftsman and enhanced by attractive sculpturing and exquisite detail. These procedures make your jewelry truly one of a kind. Best of all, your ArtCarved College Jewelry is backed up by a FULL LIFETIME WARRANTY, so you can be sure your jewelry will give you a lifetime of satisfaction. We hope that you have as much pride wearing your college jewelry as we take in making it for you. The invoice also states the ring protection plan, date, price, my account number for the purchase and anything else the company needs to be able to identify me as a customer who indeed purchased this this one ring. However, after sending the invoice to them, the issue has changed from not having me as a customer in their records to something else. The LIFETIME warranty does not mean lifetime, instead it’s still limited warranty with me only having the right to get my ring polished and cleaned. The loss protection is only for a one year or whatever. What in the world??????????????????????????? My husband’s and niece’s invoices do have limited warranty and they are spelled out in the invoice. However, my ring DOES HAVE lifetime warranty like it says in the invoice. LIFETIME warranty is lifetime warranty like the term says it. My invoice does not state any of these new limitations that they are trying to explain by mouth. They could not believe me when I told them by mouth that I did purchase one of their rings. I had to prove it that I did. The person who sold me the ring in person at my campus bookstore was clear at explaining what a LIFETIME warranty meant and the benefits of it. I know you are business people and can not be trusted, but my rights are written in the invoice and you can not change that. I don’t care about your new rules or policies or your new Web site since none of these apply to my situation. But I do care about a purchase I made and a contract you have with me for this purchase. You must honor this contract. You need to send me a replacement ring with my new degree in it. It’s our contract and you must honor it.

Desired Settlement: I need a replacement ring with my new degree reflected in the ring. I want the ring to be in 18 Kt yellow gold, traditional style with all the other ring original attributes. I don't want anything more or less, just what the ring supposed to be.

Business Response: The ArtCarved Class ring purchased by *** ******* in 1999 was indeed covered by a lifetime warranty which covered the ring itself from manufacturing defects at the time of delivery and at anytime during the lifetime of the purchaser. This warranty did not cover the loss of a ring. The loss of the ring was covered by a separate policy called the "Ring Loss Protection Plan" and was included in the purchase price of the ring, not an additional charge or cost to the purchaser.  This Ring Loss Protection Plan, copy attached, covered the ring from loss for four (4) years from the date of purchase. In your case you purchased your ring on 12-1-1999, and the Ring Loss Protection Plan covered the loss of the ring until 12-1-2003. In addition, the Ring Loss Protect Plan, as noted on the attached copy, was subject to a $100 deductible and a shipping charge of $9.00. There were certain Requirements for the Policy to pay for the lost ring such as providing us with a copy of the original Ring Loss Protection Plan Certificate, a copy of the original invoice, {which you have provided} and that the replacement ring must be identical specifications as to the original purchase.
You are correct that we also had as part of the warranty, that if you changed degrees, such as Masters vs Doctorate, or college such as Education vs Business, we would accept the original ring for trade in on a new replacement ring with the new degree or school, but with the same University. In your case the ring is lost and not available for trade in for the replacement ring with the Doctorate degree.

We are sorry for your loss but since your purchase date is clearly out of the insurance policy coverage period of four (4) years, we cannot replace the ring under that expired policy. The lost ring is clearly not a defect in the ring that would be covered by the warranty.  

We will however offer to replace your ring with a new ring with your new degree, if we still have the dies for the University of Nebraska ring in the same style as you purchased, and in 18K yellow gold at our replacement cost. I do not have that cost at the moment, but will get it from our manufacturing people once we determine if we still have the dies for that ring back in 1999, some 13 years ago.

Please let us know if you want to accept our offer at replacement cost and we will provide you with that cost if we can in fact still make that exact ring, and if not we will replace the ring with a current model and style closest to your ring style at our replacement cost.

Respectfully,

***** ****** **** ********* * ***** ******* ************ *********************** 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I can not accept an offer without knowing exactly what your "replacement cost"
 really means. Judging from my experience with your company, I know the "Replacement cost" will be VERY close to buying a new ring and if that is the case, I rather take my current and future business someplace else and make sure I get what I'm promised. It is clear to me that you are NOT concerned about me as a customer. The attachment you sent doesn't mean anything to me since that information is news to me. Like I mentioned before I care only for what I was told then, not what you have to say now.

My new training in social media came in handy. If I don't get what I was promised rest assured that from ******* to ********, everyone will know about my experience. I can not impact any summer graduation customers, but I'll make sure a great deal of December graduates will take their business someplace else. Just watch and see. Honoring a contract will mean nothing compared to what this advertisement will do to your company as far as graduation sales at the end of fall semester. Watch and see. This will be my project for fall.


How can you expect me to accept an offer before I know what the offer is?  Well, what else should I expect from you? The only thing you care about is your profit. Have a great day since you are  able to sleep at night.

******** *******





























8/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Balfour had a sales person come to my school and what she was advertising was, order today which was 3-21-13 get by graduation which is 5-4-13. This did not happen and won't arrive until 5-6 because the company refused to do a Sat delivery. For the preceding two weeks when I would call and check on the status it was either at quality control or in process Each time . they would say call in a few days and check on status. Each time I would get a different answer. Also each time I would call they said they would call me and never did. I found the reason for this was they had wrong number. Every time I would call I would verify the number and they would not save the correct number because each time I would call they read back wrong number. All this time getting the run around, I will not receive the ring on time. I asked if the would compensate me in any way and they said the couldn't do that which is unacceptable. Graduation from college is a bog deal and they treated me otherwise. It came off as yes you will get the ring, but it won't be until after graduation I'm sorry, is there anything else I can help you with. The only thing they did was do overnight shipping without sat delivery. The way they handled the situation is unsatisfactory. The people they select to sell their product should not use that sales pitch if he company wouldn't back it up.

Desired Settlement: I am not requesting a full refund. I would request one third of the cost which is 237.00. I am doing instalment payments, which to simplify would I am requesting Balfour waive final payment.

Business Response: The ring was completed in 4 weeks versus our typical 6-8 week delivery in an effort to make the graduation date, however we inadvertently shipped overnight on Friday not designating Saturday delivery, therefore the ring arrived on Monday missing the Saturday graduation.  We apologize for missing that important date, but do want to congratulate Mr. ***** for his achievement. We can imagine the disappointment on the ring not arriving for graduation. We do hope he will wear the ring proudly as it represents his accomplishments and memories during his time at his university.

We will certainly offer a full refund should he choose to not keep the ring (which we hope he does) as that is the specific term of a guaranteed graduation delivery promotion.  However we will offer a $50 credit should Mr. ***** decide to keep his ring. The one condition is that all payments are current to date, as May final payment has not been received.  We will take appropriate action based on Mr. *****’s decision to return the ring for full refund or become current on payments and receive a $50 discount credit. 

Respectfully, ***** *****, * * ******** *******

6/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Early March I ordered my ring at ********** ** ******** ** **********. The sales woman said if I paid three payments I would have my ring on time before graduation on May 10. They called me back and asked me to get a different logo on the side because they could not do the one on my specific ring. I called a month before graduation to check on it and they said it was still in process. A week before graduation I called again and they had said partly because I was not receiving my ring was because they had lost my credit card information. I gave it to them again not understanding why they lost it. They sent an e-mail to the processor to get it done faster. Here it is a month later and I have still not received my ring. I called 6-6 and said that it was to be shipped out that day or Friday and Monday I would be able to call and get a shipping track number. I called to get the tracking number today and it still has not shipped. They have gave me the run around too many times. Something that is suppose to be fun and deserving has now turned something I have to plead to receive.

Desired Settlement: If I am not contacted within 24 hours, I feel that it is my right to call the Arkansas Attorney General's office because I have made 2 payments already and many promises that were not kept. I also would like my ring shipped over-night.

Business Response: Our apologies to *** for the ring delay. She did place her ring order with us mid- March. Unfortunately the school information and promotional offer was not yet updated in our manufacturing system and along with the school seal that was not available created the delay. While we did reach out to *** with an email in March and a vmail on 4/22 about the unavailibility of the school seal, we certainly should have been more dligent in reaching out to her keeping her informed on issues and delays especially since *** also reached out to us as recently as 5/2 to check the status. As of today the ring is shipping out overnight via ***** and will arrive tomorrow (Thursday).  The tracking number is # ************. 

Again our apologies to *** as unfortunately from the time the ring was ordered, it has taken 12 weeks to send the ring which is well outside our normal 8 weeks or less quoted delviery time.  Thank you. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** *****




















6/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/29/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered aCollege graduation package on line, on 4/4/13. My daughter's graduation from college is 5/4/13. The web site said to allow approx 10 working days for the order to be processed. I paid an extra $30 to have the order shipped overnight. I checked on my order on 4/12 and was told it was "in process". The person I was speaking to states she thought the order would ship around the 15th. On 4/18/13 I still had not recieved the order. I called again. I was told the order was "in process". I asked the person I was speaking to if she knew what the problem was. I really need to get the invitations out. I asked that if they could not get them to me in the next 2-3 days that I wanted to cancel the order. She states all she could do was e-mail the processing division and have a supervisor call me. She stated that an order in process cannot be cancelled nor money refunded. Anything refunded would have to be done once I recieved the order and shipped it back. As it was 4pm, she states someone would call me on 4/19/13. I never recieved a return call. I again called on Monday 4/22/13 am. I spoke with Claire who told me that the order was "in process" and all she could do was send an e-mail to the processing dept. I asked to speak to a supervisor. Again I was told they would have to send a message and have the supervisor call me back. I still had not heard anything by mid afternoon, so I again called back and spoke to Mary Bell. After being on hold 10min she came back and said the same thing all of the other people had said. I demanded to speak to a supervisor now and was told they don't come to the phone. A message is sent to them and they have to return the call. I asked for the supervisor to call me back that day. She said all e-mails to the supervisors and the processors can take up to 24hours to be answered. She stated it would be after 5pm or would be on the 23rd. As of 4:25pm on 4/23/13 I still have not heard from them, nor do I have my product. This is very upsetting to my daughter. We have had to use a local printing company who tells us they can have them ready in two days. Of course, they will not have the appearance of the other graduates invitations. I also have had to contact all family by phone or e-mail and explain the situation. Many out of state my not get their invitations until a couple of days before graduation. None of the people that I dealt with expressed any willingness to help, no did anyone apologize for the problems that I have had.

Desired Settlement: I also feel that the CEO of this company be aware of how complaints are handled and how no one is really willing to help the customer out, or show any concern. I also think I deserve an apology for whatever happened to this order.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

From: ***** ******* *******************************
Sent: Friday, April 26, 2013 4:17 PM
To: info
Subject: Complaint #*******
Since filing the complaint, the product was shipped on 4/24/13 and I recieved it on 4/25/13.  I want to continue with my complaint due to the way customer service handled my calls.  I'm no longer asking for a refund of the cost of the product, because I am going to use the invitations.  I still feel I should have been called back by a supervisor when I asked for this to happen. 
 
Thank you,
***** *******

Regards,
***** *******

3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/27/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service