Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Commemorative Brands, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Commemorative Brands, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 31 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

31 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 31

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Commemorative Brands, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1970 Business started: 06/01/1913 in RI Business started locally: 06/01/1913 Business incorporated 12/12/1996 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Myers, President/CEO Mr. Clyde Walls, VP of Legal Affairs Ms. Sherice P. Bench, Sr. Vice President – Operations Mr. Donald Percenti, Executive Vice President Mr. Edward Pfaff, CFO & Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Myers, President/CEO
Principal: Mr. Clyde Walls, VP of Legal Affairs
Related Businesses
Powers Embroidery / Chenille
Business Category

Product Sales - General Jewelry Manufacturers Jewelers - Retail

Products & Services

Commemorative Brands, Inc. sells the following brand(s): See Trade Names

Commemorative Brands, Inc. offers the following product(s): Championship Rings, Class Rings, Diplomas, Graduation Announcements, Military Rings, Professional Rings

Method(s) of Payment
Cash; Checks; Visa; Master Card; Discover, American Express
Alternate Business Names
Artcarved Class Rings Balfour Balfour Announcements Balfour Austin CB Graduation Announcements Keepsake

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Commemorative Brands, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7211 Circle S Rd

    Austin, TX 78745 (512) 440-2203 (512) 996-9082 (800) 225-3687

  • PO Box 149107

    Austin, TX 78714

  • 7101 Intermodel Drive

    Louisville, KY 40258

  • P O Box 58188

    Louisville, KY 40268

  • P.O. Box 58188

    Louisville , KY 40268

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2316 Skyvue Ln

    Manhattan, KS 66502

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 781

    Manhattan, KS 66505

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the second report I am filing concerning the unprofessionalism of this vendor. I was promised a full refund on merchandise that I returned twice by Balfour. I was promised this on Friday, June 24th, 2016 that Customer Service had completed paperwork and I would receive full reimbursement by 72 hours. I called company on Wednesday, June 29, 2016 because there was no reimbursement in my banking account only to be told that company is processing paperwork on the day of my call. I am tired of getting the run around concerning my money, they had no business sending ring back to me after I sent it the first time, and customer service lied to me about processing paperwork so I could get reimbursement in a timely manner. This was supposed to have been my graduation ring to help me commemorate a festive occasion and they dropped the ball not once or twice, but three times. I want my money now.

Desired Settlement: I want my money...full refund and a written apology on behalf of this company.

Business Response:

If the customer will be just a little patient he will find the credit to his credit card shortly.  It was processed yesterday and it usually takes between 2 and 4 days to be processed and show up on his credit card statement.  A full refund has been granted to the customer as promised.

***** *****, Vice President - Legal Affairs


6/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a college ring from Balfour in Oct 2015 which I received in Dec 2015. After I received the ring I contacted them several times that the person they sent to size the ring made the ring too small. I was told someone would contact me but nobody ever did. After several calls I was always forwarded to a answering machine. Although they have not fixed my ring like they said they would I have made payments until my mother who pays for the ring became ill and had been in the hospital and surgery. My mother contacted Balfour to explain and make arrangements and than we were notified that they turned it over to Merchants and Professional Credit Bureau for collection. We have attempted to contact them for days but their phones are out of order so they can not be reached and Balfour says they can't do anything about it. On top of it the credit agency increased the amount owed which Balfour said is not the amount owed and by law they can not increase the debt. My feelings are that Balfour and Merchants and Professional Credit Bureau is working a scam.

Desired Settlement: I was told they would work out a plan with me and I will not pay more than what I owe and they should fix the ring like they promised months ago.

Business Response: ***** as discussed our credit department has contacted the customer and agreed to split the collection fee if he would pay the remaining two installments.  The customer has made one of the two payments and upon receipt of the second payment plus ½ of the collection fee, we will write off the balance and treat the account as paid in full.

*****


6/7/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a yearbook on June 5 2015. Order number **************. On September 2015 I called costumer service for information on the yearbook. I was told that the yearbooks were not ready and I had to wait. I also submitted a change of address. On January 2016 I received an email from my daughter's school that the yearbooks were ready. I called costumer service again and they told me that they were going to call me back to let me know if the yearbook was shipped. Once again I gave them my new address for shipment. never heard from them. I called costumer service in February and March and They told me that they were going to call me to let me know what happened to my order. I never heard from them. I asked them to give me my money back but they told me that they couldn't give me a refund. This company stole my money and never shipped the yearbook. They don't have any proof of shipping label. They are not giving me any information about my order. The costumer agent was extremely rude and did not answered any of my questions

Desired Settlement: I'm not interested in doing any business with this company. I want my money back. I paid for a product plus shipping fees and the yearbook was never delivered.

Business Response: With regard to the below customer complaint # ******** – ***** (or ********* ***** – be advised that we shipped a new yearbook to her via FedEx on April 26. 
It appears that the matter has been closed as I am unable to post our response to the BBB web site.

*****


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the wrong yearbook was send to my house. I called Balfour and I was told they were going to call me back. I never received a phone call. I have no use for the yearbook. They need to send me a shipping label so that I send the yearbook back.  I want this business to give me my money back. 

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

We apologize that we have been unable to produce the yearbook ordered by customer.  A refund check was requested on May 27th for $82.00 double the purchase price to compensate customer for the poor service she has received.  She should receive the check within 7 to 10 days.  If not received let us know and we will see that she receives it promptly.  We do not need the yearbook she has returned to us. She may dispose of it if she wishes.

***** *****,

Vice President - Legal Affairs


5/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered college graduation announcements in March received a package in April that my husband stored in a closet. When I found the shipping package and discovered I received only half the order I called and received no assistance. I requested a reprint and overnight ship to receive on Wednesday. I was told no that I should have called sooner and this was my fault for not opening the box when I received it. I requested an escalation to a manager or other decision maker with the company was told not available. I requested transfer to director of department or even to Vice President of this division, customer service, supervisor suddenly available and came on the line. The supervisor also told me this was my fault for not opening the box upon arrival and the other half of my order would not reach me until the following week at the earliest. I asked why the first person I spoke to stated it would be three days and yet she is stating it would take greater than a week. No explanation offered. requested again to escalated to a higher authority and was refused. I was again told that it was my fault for not calling sooner. I requested a refund and was told that only half would be given as I did receive half the order. I explained that half is not sufficient and I would now need to find a local printer to handle this on very short notice.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund. I would like the customer service department to be made aware that it is not correct to place blame for failure to complete and ship an order on the consumer.

Business Response:

We apologize for not being able to satisfy the customers requirement for overnight delivery of replacement announcements. It just was not possible.  We have issued a check for the full refund of the customer purchase price. It should be received shortly.

Respectfully,

***** *****, Vice President - Legal Affairs.


3/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a college ring from Balfour.com. Five days after submitting my order with payment in full, they contacted me to say that my choice was no longer available and they were refunding my payment. They went on to say that it was their mistake and they had amended the website. They said I could return to the website to order another ring at a much higher cost.

Desired Settlement: I would like a comparable ring for the price I was quoted and paid for.

Business Response:

We have been in contact with the customer and have reached a satisfactory resolution with the customer. She indicated that she would be responding the to BBB that the case has been resolved.

Respectfully,

***** ****** * * * ***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Commemorative Brands have agreed to find a replacement item from the one that I ordered. It seems that it will be satisfactory but I will not receive the item for 4-6 weeks. The replacement is more expensive and they honored the original price. I did go on the BBB website and comment about this. Thank you for your support in this matter, I think it went a long way in expediting resolution in this issue. 

Regards,

*** *****

1/22/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Factory error regarding my class ring. Incorrect size received. I ordered a size 9 3/4 white gold ring, however I received a size 10 white gold ring on Dec 01, 2015 which was the night of Baylor's Ring Ceremony. At the ceremony there were Balfour representatives to assist with any questions/concerns regarding our rings. I spoke with the representative about the incorrect size, he verified that I'd ordered 9 3/4 size however the ring received was a size 10. He apologized for the error advised me to send it back & assured me the correction would be made with no problems. Dec 04 I contacted Customer Service spoke with *** ******** & his supervisor ***** ******* regarding the factory error and that I'd already spoken with a representative regarding the factory error. *** also verified the size on the order in the system was a 9 3/4 ring size, I advised he and his supervisor that I was sending the ring back to be replaced not adjusted to size. This was not my error it was factory error I did not want the incorrect size ring cut/adjusted to size as he kept on insisting. I'd also advised him that once I receive the replaced ring I will have it inspected by a Jeweler to make sure the ring hasn't been cut to 9 3/4 size. Jan 08 I received a call from the repair department refusing to replace the ring due to cost. I advised them that this was factory error I ordered 9 3/4 ring size not a size 10. Due to this error what is supposed to be one of the most rewarding times of my life is turning out to be a stressful time. I did not spend $1077.98 on a ring that is not the size ordered nor do I want a damaged "new" class ring. I expect to have the ring replaced without all of the hassle and push back that I have received. Honor your policy and my request Awaiting your response, ****** ******* *** ************

Desired Settlement: I want another class ring made according to the specifications ordered. I do not want the ring reduced/cut to the correct size

Business Response:

We under stand the customers desire for a new ring and have entered a new ring into production.  The new ring should ship to him around January 25th to 28th and at no charge. We want the customer to enjoy his Baylor University Ring for many years.

***** *****, Vice President - Legal Affairs

 


9/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First off the customer service or representative that serves my zip code is horrible! We contacted the company at the first of March 2015 and it was always days to weeks before we had gotten any responses about getting a letter Jacket. Once we finally settled on a product and design, the jack was finally ordered around April 27 2015. We did not get word that the jacket was done and delivered to rep office until mid to late Aug 2015. When we went to pick it up the jacket was nothing near a quality product. The back patch was considerably smaller than expected and based upon the proof we were provided, and the embroidery had some pulled threads in it. Between the sleeve color, patches, embroidery, and cuff & collar Orange, there are five different variations of color orange in the jacket. It looked absolutely atrocious with that many ranges of one color on a single garment. I have not received a call about this problem from the Rep and when I call to leave a message they are not returned as no one answers the phone.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a product that meets the quality expectation and have better customer service. I have been made to feel unimportant when communicating with the rep and received an even less quality product. The patches should all match, as well as the embroidery. Basically anything added to it should match. I want some one to contact me to get this corrected not me having to chase down someone. I tried calling the general customer service number and got the run around when I asked to speak with a manager, owner anyone that might want to keep a good reputation for their company.

Business Response: Our Sales and customer service personnel have contacted the customer and are working with him to resolve his concerns and to get him the product he ordered.

He should have his custom made product in the next couple of weeks.

***** ******
Vice President - Legal Affairs.

9/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a college class ring with a total due of $299.17. This amount was to be broken up into 3 equal payments. In may I was called by a representative who advised that the ring I choose did not allow for 3 characters for the degree. The representative recommended another style. I told him I did not want it if it would cost more. He told me they were the same cost just a different shape of the stone. When I reviewed my credit card statement I was charged 1 payment of $99.72 and 2 payments of $174.28. This is a total of $448.28. I was over charged for the ring by $149.11. Spoke with ****** who said would have to do research to find out why was overcharged. No supervisor available. Finally put me through to ***** who identified herself as a "Sr. Rep". ***** said that the promo that I was offered was not available and should never have been offered to me. Offered me a $30 credit. I refused. The price I was quoted should be honored. ***** then stated that the representative who called me to advised on the degree letters was suppose to tell me that. I was never advised of this. ***** stated would "TRY" to have a supervisor call me back on Monday. I questioned the try and she stated would forward the information on for a call on Monday.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the difference of $149.11.

Business Response: The customer has been contacted and after discussion she requested a full refund and agreed to return the ring, which she did and we have given the customer a full refund.

We apologize for the misunderstanding and the response that was given to the customer when she originally contacted us.

***** *****
Vice President - Legal Affairs

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a class ring for the University of South Carolina for graduation year 2010. The ring is stamped 10K inside it, and I was under the impression that it was a 10K gold ring. I took the ring to sell it today to two different ***** shops and a jeweler, and they all told me that the ring is not passable as a white gold ring. Upon calling customer service, I was notified that the ring is a gold and "other alloy" mixture, and contains about 40% gold. The ring is marketed as white gold, and I paid $500 for a white gold ring, which, according to three different local experts, I did not get.

Desired Settlement: Because I attempted to call the location and seek corrective measures and they would not provide such, I want a full refund of my purchase price.

Business Response: We have contacted customer and assured her the product was gold as stamped inside the ring. We have offered her the opportunity to return the ring to us at our expense and we will have it tested by an independent testing lab to verify the gold content. We have provided customer with a FedEx prepaid Envelope to return the ring to us for testing.  To date we have not received the ring. 

Respectfully,

***** ****** * * ***** *******

6/15/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ive made 3 different orders with balfour. First one was a class ring which took 1 1/2 years to get. Second was for graduation products, which I did not receive the right stuff. Third thing I ordered waa a t-shirt that I never got. Called the main office and they just tell me there is nothing they can do, that I have to call the rep in my area. The sales rep in my area doesnt return calls and IF you get him on the phone, all he says is he'll look into but never calls you back.

Desired Settlement: Would like my products and a percentage returned to me for the inconvenience

Business Response: The customer has been contacted and the class ring issue, although long overdue, has been resolved. With regard to the graduation products and t-shirts, the customer is being issued a refund and will receive the ordered grad products and t-shirts free of charge.

All issues should be resolved upon her receipt of the refund check and the ordered items.
***** ***** **** ********* * ***** *******

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son received his graduation packet in feb24-26th around that time.in the packet was a miniature diploma ..the spelling of his name is not correct,i contacted the local office in garland,tx..i was told by the first lady that this is the font that the high school,chose i said okay but is not how i spell his name there is a "v" in his name & that is an "b"..She actually said oh well thats what the school chose..i told her that was unacceptable because that is not his name..i asked to speak with someone else she would not let me talk to anyone else..she hung up the phone..i called back & spoke with a lady who said she was an executive person there..she said she would order me another diploma.A week later i received the same diploma with his name wrong..so i contacted the corporate office in austin tx..this was in march 2015 the first week of the month..i was promised someone would get back with me i have been calling every week since march..it is now may 5th..i spoke with someone again today who promised me again a manager/supervisor/sales rep would call me or email me..nothing...

Desired Settlement: I just want either the font changed or my $10 back..please

Business Response: We were unable to change the font on the graduation announcements to the satisfaction of the customer.  We have been informed that the Sales Representative has issued a $10 refund check to the customer and the matter has been resolved.

Respectfully,

***** ******
**** ********* - Legal Affairs

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
****** ********

4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered graduation announcements, company messed up first order and we never received it. Second order was unable to get a completion date and now it will be delivered after the graduation. They are telling me it will be 10 days before I get my money refunded. They took the money in a day and have not produced the goods and continue to hold my 139 dollars.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund of money.

Business Response: The customer is correct in that we messed up on the first order and shipped the label but not the product, then the 2nd order was incorrectly entered and not scheduled for the correct delivery date. We apologize for the errors, and have issued a full refund to the customer. This is not our normal standard of customer satisfaction.  We will be glad to print the original order and send to the customer without charge.

Respectfully,
***** ***** **** ********* - Legal Affairs

Consumer Response:  

From: ****** ******* [mailto:*****************************]
Sent: Wednesday, April 29, 2015 6:33 AM
To: info
Subject: RE: BBB - You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint #********

 

I accept the response but get a server error  (Run Time Error) when I accept it electronically accept it. 

4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 12, 2015 I placed an order for graduation cards for my daughter who is graduating from Texas State University. I used Balfour because I wanted a quality product and I wanted the invitation to look official with the Texas State logo. I received the product on April 16, 2015 and was very disappointed. That night I wrote the company with my complaint. The photo on the announcement looked grainy, pixilated, and slightly out of focus. On my computer, the photo was clear and sharp.The quality of the product was no better than going to CVS or Walgreens; actually they provide a better quality product than Balfour. For the price I expected a much higher quality product. The back of the announcement was plain and bright white. The envelopes were too large for the announcement. I wrote the company and asked someone to contact me in regards to my complaint to see what could be done about this issue. With tax and shipping this was a $207.80 order. Since that time I have sent a total of 5 emails and have made 2-3 phone calls to the company. No one has returned my emails and when I call I am told they will forward my complaint to the appropriate person.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for this product. I have waited 10 days for someone to address this issue and complaint. I have heard back from no one. My daughter graduates on May 15th. Due to timing, today I was forced to place an order for graduation cards with a different company so I may send them out in a timely fashion.

Business Response: We did not handle this customer complaint as quickly as we should have and apologize to the customer.  A credit has been issued today to the credit card that was used to purchase the announcements and should show up on the customers credit card account within the next four to seven days for the full purchase price.

We would like for the customer to return the announcements to us so that we can determine what went wrong with our quality and fix it. We will be glad to reimburse the customer for the return shipping.

Respectfully,

***** ****** **** ********* - Legal Affairs

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Please ask Balfour for a shipping address so I may return the product to them.
Thank you.

Regards,
***** ******

4/2/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted an order (#**************) two months ago, February 2, of 2015, for "the basic package" of graduation announcements. It totaled to 125.29. I contacted them one month after placing the order as it was still in "processing status" and according to Balfour's website, and own policies "It will take approximately 10 business days plus shipping time to process your order from the date you place it. " I was told, Good morning *****- Thank you for your email and for permitting Balfour to be part of your achievement. I did some research. I am happy to confirm that your order is in production. It's production order number is ******* sg Congratulations on your milestone! ***" Nearly another month had passed, making it almost two months since I placed the order and it was still "processing" I contacted Balfour, to be told that "Good afternoon *****, Thank you for contacting us. We apologize for the late response. We have been informed by our production team that unfortunately we no longer service this school, therefore we do not have the licensing to print your order. The request was cancelled, and a full refund request was issued with our Finance Department. We are very sorry about this situation. Kind regards, Personalized College Announcements Customer Service | balfour | Austin, Texas | ***** *** ****" However, if you go to Balfour's website and look at their products offered you can still see that they offer announcements for the University of Louisville (********************************************************************) I would like a FULL refund for my order. Dishonest business practices are shady and I will NEVER do business with this company again, and I will tell anyone who wants to hear it how downright dishonest this company is. They have left me with less than a month to order, and receive and ship graduation announcements to family and friends. Which is ridiculous, there is no way I can ship them out in time now, and no way I can order new ones! I am extremely livid and will be filing complaints anywhere I can against this company.

Desired Settlement: Full refund and cancellation of order.

Business Response: The customer in this case is correct in that we did not timely notify her that we were not authorized to sell this licensed product.
A complete and full refund has been issued to the customers credit card.
We apologize for not handling this order correctly and in a more timely manner.

Respectfully,
***** ***** **** ********* - Legal Affairs

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

3/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An order for a Letterman Jacket was placed on August 28, 2014. After many phone calls, a number of emails between me, the local representative and the corporate customer service I have still not received any information about the order or it's expected deliver. Six months and still no explanation of what is happening. I paid over 50% deposit and gave them my son's High School Letter.

Desired Settlement: I really would like my money back plus the cost of the letter or just receive the jacket for what I have paid so far which is over half as a deposit. I feel that seems fair being that I have waited 6 months for this and have had no contact since November. It is holding up senior pictures for my son and graduation is almost here.

Business Response: In regard to *** *******’s complaint we have determined that *** ******* is absolutely correct in her complaint as the order was lost by the salesman while he was relocating his office and therefore the order was never placed for the letter jacket.

The salesman has mailed a full refund check to the customer this week and is having a jacket completed to the specifications requested by the customer and that jacket should be delivered to her within  the next 7 to 10 days, completely at no charge to the customer.

We apologize for the error and long delay in resolving this issue.

Please convey this information to the customer.

Respectfully,

***** *****
**** ********* * ***** *******
Phone: ************
Fax: ************
***********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,  ***** *******

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have ordered a college class ring on 11/28/2014 and I chose how it should be made on the website and paid for it 1319.89 dollars . The order number is ******** . When I received the ring it was NOT done the way I specified for it to be done . It was made different than what I ordered and done incorrectly . So I called Balfour and told them that the ring is not as I ordered it on their website . So they said that they made a mistake and for me to send it back so they can remake another ring . I sent it back and waited 3 weeks and called to check on the status of the ring . I was told that the pharmacy logo and the BS degree cannot be made as I asked for it and I was already fed up with their mistake and the long wait time since I first ordered on November 28th ,so I asked to cancel the order and refund me my money that I paid for a ring that was done wrong ,incorrect and not as I ordered it . The customer service person said that I have pay a penalty of 75 dollars for canceling plus other fees . I was very mad and angry , they made a mistake and they made the ring incorrectly and NOT as I ordered and they want to penalize me now and make me pay 75 dollars penalty . They already have the ring which I returned because it is not as ordered and it was made different than I ordered and wrong and they admitted to their mistake so I want a full and complete refund of my money of 1319.89 dollars and not one penny less .the senior customer service that I talked to was rude to me and kept saying that I have to pay a penalty . Very rude and very poor customer service and unfair to make me pay for their mistakes He was very unprofessional and kept arguing with me I want a full refund

Desired Settlement: I want a complete and full refund of all the money that I paid of 1319.89 dollars since it was not my error or mistake and they made the ring different than what I ordered and incorrect and they admitted their mistake .the ring was different than what I ordered on the website and it did NOT have the pharmacy logo like I ordered . They should NOT charge me any penalties of 75 dollars plus any fees . The 75 dollars penalty should be waived and I should get back all my money that I paid in full

Business Response: From: ********* ***** 
Sent: Monday, March 23, 2015 1:47 PM
To: ****** *****
Subject: RE: **** *** ******* BB Complaint 1-7-15.docx
Importance: High

*****,

There was an error on the ring.   Our standard is to fix the ring, not do a refund.  However, this order was returned and a refund was done for $1244.89 on 1-9.  The $75 forfeiture fee was refunded on 1-15.  All monies have been credited to the card used to purchase the ring.

Thanks,

*****

***** ******** | director customer service | commemorative brands, inc | balfour | ******* ***** | direct: ###-###-####   cell: ###-###-#### 

From: *****, ***** 
Sent: Monday, March 23, 2015 1:36 PM
To: ********, *****
Subject: **** *** ******* BB Complaint 1-7-15.docx

Sorry *****, here is the complaint in word.

*****

***** *****

**** ********* – ***** *******
Phone: ###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####
***********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
**** *******

7/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During May 2014, I made repeated attempts to contact representatives at Balfour rings, Inc. in an effort to completely pay off a University ring, I purchased for my son. They were calling my son's cell phone and not mine. The debit card used for all payments was mine. My card was lost and immediately replaced; I then tried contacting them to resolve the payment issue. I left numerous messages along with my contact #, for a rep named "******" but there was never any return phone call attempted. I informed everyone who took my messages that I wanted to pay-off the ring and I repeatedly requested a call back from "******". I never received any call back. Each time I called customer service, reps told me I would get a call back but I never did. Finally, I demanded to escalate the call to the District Manager, when I was finally addressed by ******. She said told me that my account was just sent to collections. This was during the period I tried calling Balfour to actually pay-off the ring. My communication was delayed in order to send the account to collections, instead of returning my numerous calls to resolve the matter with me. The customer service representatives, covered-up for this horrible, unethical customer service instead of addressing me, directly. They even changed the documentation in the computer system to reflect their false account of events, stating that I never, ever tried to call them. However, I have my phone records, that proves otherwise.

Desired Settlement: To Pay off the original final amount of $400 dollars, instead of the increased amount. I have taken every effort to settle this matter...Then are not trying to work with me a all... I would only like to deal with the owner, because no one from the District Manager's office returned my call either.

Business Response: While we feel we have acted in good faith and feel we have provided an opportunity to resolve this through proper business channels we will agree to work with the collection agency (MPB) and request that they cease efforts to collect the balance due plus collection fee. This means we will communicate with MPB on this decision and as long as Balfour receives full payment of balance due in the amount of $426.11 by August, 1st this situation will be considered closed. The remaining amount due is the $952.66 less a $75.00 courtesy credit less $451.55 customer payment equal $426.11. While we realize there is disagreement on how this payment effort has transpired we respect your position on this matter. Thanks in advance to the final payment in full of $426.11 and working with us for final resolution.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

In order that this nightmare stop, cease and desist, I have provided my bank account information to a Ms. **** at Commemorative Brands, the parent company of Balfour, as she reached out to me to settle the matter.

My original balance of only $426, will be paid before August 1st, which is in alignment with what I tried to do when I contacted Balfour months ago. I will not have to deal with a collections agency as the previous reps so feverishly tried to force upon me. Their response and attitude, as evidenced above, illustrates the utter obstinate behavior I've had to deal with, while they played "hot potato" with my account, in order to defer it to their collections agency. Their efforts to cover-up for their lack of professionalism and lack of respect for customer service was the most heighten form of immaturity, I've ever had to deal with, at best.

When my son graduates from law school, I will be certain we stay far away from Balfour. "Caveat Emptor" (Buyer Beware).

I'm most appreciative of organizations, such as the Better Business Bureau which helps protect consumers from unethical and/or illegal practices.

Thank you Better Business Bureau.


Best Regards, 

****** ********

6/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a class ring for my son from balfour. I paid a third of the purchase price upfront. Balfour was to bill me in two more installments for the balance of the ring. I never received an invoice from balfour for the remaining balance. My son had the ring and all the information concerning it. I called balfour at ###-###-#### and was told that I needed to call ****** at ###-###-####. Please note that while on the phone with balfour the service person read my address to me and they had a wrong address for me. I called ****** and left a message, I never received a call back from anyone at balfour. On March 05, 2014 I sent payment to balfour for the remaining balance. The next day Merchants& Professional Credit Bureau, Inc. (Merchants) called me on my cell phone demanding payment for the ring I ordered from balfour plus a fee. The amount of the fee is $204.12, the amount of the ring was $767.68. I informed Merchants that I had sent payment into balfour on 3-05-14. A week later Merchants called me on my cell phone and demanded payment of $204.12. Please note that Merchants stated my address to me over the phone and they had a wrong address also. I informed balfour and Merchants that they both had an incorrect address for me and that I should not be responsible for a fee of $204.12 in writing. Balfour has not responded to me in any form. Merchants responded with a letter that included a copy of the display invoice. On the display invoice the three equal payments are printed on it, however the $204.12 is hand written in with the word fee hand written next to it. There is no explanation of how this fee is arrived at. Merchants has threatened to damage my credit rating with negative postings.

Desired Settlement: I would like for balfour and Merchants & Professional Credit Bureau, Inc. to drop this fee of $204.12 and adjust any and all negative postings that they may have put on my credit rating. I believe that this should be done because both balfour and merchants had an incorrect address for me, thus I did not receive any request for payment from balfour in the mail. Thank You.

Business Response: While we always want to come to a mutual solution in every case, all records indicate we have the correct address and Dunn letters were sent starting 11/11. We apologize if you expected an invoice, but we bill the credit card in three equal payments and do not send an invoice. Unfortunately your card was not honored on the second payment attempt thus the initiated process leading to collections. I an having one last piece of research on the order checked to determine if there could be room for misinterpretation and if so will report out this week. Otherwise although we received payment for the ring on 3/5 the account was turned over to collections the prior month of February and feel the situation stands as is. Again will report out on final research step this week. Thank you.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
1. In the phone calls between Balfour, Merchants and myself you can clearly hear both Balfour and Merchants tell me an incorrect address for me.
2. The "FEE" has not been explained in any way, shape or form. I have not received a detailed bill for the "fee". Also the "fee" is UNREASONABLE!!!
3. Please look at the letters that I sent to Balfour and Merchants in them you will find a copy of the remittance/order summary form that was shipped with the ring. On this form it states "BALANCE TO B BILLED IN 2 INST". I attempted in include it in this response but this is my fourth time trying to proceed with it, it has been showing ERRORS and not proceeding.
4. I am waiting for the business to complete its investigation.
Regards,
********* ******

6/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 7th,2014 I ordered a replacement bowling award ring for my boyfriend. I ordered it over the phone and the woman said it would take 4-6 weeks. After 6 weeks, I contacted them to find out where my ring was and was told that my card had been declined due to insufficient funds. The problem starts with the fact that my bank account was charged the $175 for the ring in February. It is now mid April and I STILL don't have the ring I ordered. The problem continued when their customer service department didn't bother to inform me that there was a supposed problem back in February and they keep telling me that we can run my card again!! I'm not going to pay TWICE! I send a copy of my bank statement with the charge to them, that was a week and a half ago. I have heard NOTHING back about my account and finally reached their finance department; to be told that it looks like I need to go back to talking to customer service!! If there was ANY other way to get this ring, I would cancel the charge without a second thought! What kind of company LOSES $175?!?!?!

Desired Settlement: In a perfect world I would get the ring that I ordered and my money back. But I will settle for the ring and half of my money back due to Keepsake Bowling's loosing the money in the first place! And not informing me there of.

Business Response: Our apologies for the delay and frustration. We are researching this and will have a formal response this week, thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: this is not really a response. I still haven't heard from their customer service rep about how long I'm going to have to keep waiting. It shouldn't take a week to say give us more time!
****** *****

Business Response: Again our apologies for the delays and inconvenience. We hope the ring was well received by your boyfriend. While not the amount asked for, a $40 credit on 4/17 which you most likely have seen at this time was issued and an additional $20 credit will be processed within the week as well. Thank you for reaching out and we wish you well.    

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: whereas I apperciate the partial refund; there is no explanation. It is not reasonable to take 3 months for a product that is only supossed to take 4-6 weeks! How do you explain the CLEAR lack of communication? I want to make sure that this isn't going to happen to me or anyone else. 

Regards,

****** *****

Consumer Response: Date Sent: 5/7/2014 1:58:31 PM
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: whereas I apperciate the partial refund; there is no explanation. It is not reasonable to take 3 months for a product that is only supossed to take 4-6 weeks! How do you explain the CLEAR lack of communication? I want to make sure that this isn't going to happen to me or anyone else. 

Regards,

****** *****

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a daughter who is a Senior and we received information concerning the option to order her Senior packet that included cap and gown and other items. I was unable to order this packet until the first week of Jan 2014. My check was cashed on Jan 3rd but I had not received anything as of March 9th so I sent an email to the Balfour Rep located in Lexington, KY asking when I could expect to start receiving some of the items I had ordered. I did not receive an email response so on March 14th I contacted the customer service line for Balfour and to no avail did they help me. They kept referring me to the local Lexington Rep that would not return my email. I finally pushed until they emailed a supervisor and when the Lexington, KY Rep contacted me that afternoon, he was VERY rude and hateful and informed met that I should have gotten my order in before Christmas like every one else and kept referencing the issue as my fault because I didn't get my order in sooner. I was just trying to find out when I could expect the items. He finally stated it should be to us with in a couple of weeks. I waited until April 20th and sent him yet another email asking where our items were, with no response so I contacted our school counselor, that dealt with him, on April 28th and she emailed him because I informed her I couldn't get him to email me back and she proceeded to call me back on April 29th and stated that the Balfour Rep told her they must have lost my order and I should receive it in 10 days and if not to call the school counselor back. I had also contacted the main customer service for Balfour on April 28th because of the previous rudeness and informed them that I can not get him to respond or get anyone to help get me some answers and it had been almost 4 months with no items received or even an explanation as to why it was taking so long. The customer service department proceeded to inform me that they could see that my daughters items had been shipped already to the Lexington Rep's office. I waited another 10 days for our items and on May 7th I still had not received any information or items I contacted our local school counselor again and she stated that the Rep would be at the school that day for me to come by and speak with him. I took my lunch hour to drive 20 minutes back to my hometown to meet with him and he did not show in the time frame he had scheduled with my daughters High school so that was a wasted trip for me. FINALLY that afternoon my daughter was informed that Seniors had an assembly scheduled the next morning to receive their items and the Lexington Rep emailed me that same afternoon after I had sent him yet another email after he didn't show up at the school. She received most of her items but not all so I proceeded to email Rep again and he referenced yet AGAIN the fact I sent my order in later than everyone else and everyone else got their stuff I still had to wait and I received more missing items on Monday May12th. But we are still missing 2 items that I was told would be sent to me but I have dealt with all of this for an entire 4 months. Product_Or_Service: 2 Souviner Tassels

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to have a refund of items not received and some compensation for the aggravation of not getting any assistance and having to wait 4 months to get items that are no longer as valuable due to my daughter graduating in just a few weeks. No parent should have to deal with a stressor like this and the rudeness I received because I simply wanted to know how long we would be waiting for items ordered and with every communication from the R

Consumer Response:

-----Original Message-----

From: ******* [**************************]

Sent: Tuesday, June 03, 2014 7:06 PM

To: info

Subject: complaint #********

 

I wanted to inform you that the business has finally sent me the rest of my daughters order so I no longer need a refund and as far as I am concerned this case can be closed. I am still unhappy with the services and quality if products that I received and can't really expect them to make it right when it took so long just to get the original order complete.

 

 

******* *****

5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 10, 2014, ***** ***** came to my classroom at Lakewood High School and we placed an order for my son's class ring. He was paid in full at this time. He also assured me that I would have the ring by April 26th, my son's 16th birthday. Beginning April 7th and over the course of a week and a half, I left 4 messages with the number listed for my representative to check the status of delivery. I also emailed the address listed. I received absolutely no reply to any of these attempts. The week of April 14th, I contacted Balfour Customer Service and spoke with *****. She was helpful and said she would contact the supervisor of the representative. On the 21st, *** ***** called me. I explained my concern about getting the ring by Saturday the 26th and he stated he needed to make some calls and would get back with me the following day. He did not. On Wednesday the 23rd at 6:15pm I called the number he called from and his son, who actually took the order, answered the phone. He told me his father had stepped out for a bite to eat but would call me when he was back. I explained my concern with *****, the son, since he took my order and and he told me that when we ordered it he knew we would be "cutting it close". I said that that is not what happened and he simply stated that his father would call me later and hung up abruptly. It was very rude. At 8:40pm, his father, ***, returned my call and stated the ring would be mailed on Monday, April 28th. I stated that it was 2 days past my son's birthday and would not work. I asked if it could be overnighted and stated I would pay for the cost of the shipping. He said, "No. It will be shipped out on Monday." I asked for the number of his supervisor to see if other arrangements could be made and he told me she would just refer the call back to him, and would not give me the name or number to his supervisor. I told him I felt that he and his son were not understanding how important this was to my family, and he stated again, "It will be shipped Monday". I then told him I did not care for the way he was speaking with me and did not appreciate his son hanging up on me. He stated, "It will be shipped on Monday." He hung up. The next morning, I contacted ***** in customer service. She was great and provided me with the name of the supervisor and her number. I called ******* and explained the situation. She was very sympathetic and was on the mission to find out the location of the ring. She got back with me quickly and stated the ring was finished and just needed to go through inspection before being shipped. She was going to call me the next day to let me know exactly when it was being shipped. I did not get that call. Instead, I had to call her and she informed me the ring did not pass inspection and would be shipped over-night on Monday, April 28th. Since then, I have called her 3 times to find the ring and even called back to *****, who again tried to help. Today, May 4th, my son has not received his 16th birthday present.

Desired Settlement: I want the class ring purchased for my son on March 10th. I want a full refund for the terrible customer service, excluding *****, and hours of time I have invested in this situation. I want a new representative from Balfour at our high school, or will address the board requesting we no longer use the company or allow them to advertise/sell in our district.

Consumer Response:

Good Morning!

The address provided on the back of my order form is **** ****** ** ***** ******* ** **********.  Thank you for looking into my complaint so quickly!  Please let me know if you need anything additional. 

** ***** ******

Business Response: ***** *****, our ** ** ******** ******* has been working with *** ****** and her son and the latest update is the ring was delivered. Due to the ring not being quite what her son, *****, wanted we are processing a full refund. If another ring style is selected then we will assist in placing the order otherwise we will consider this issue closed. *** ****** has *****'s contact info as well if any further questions or concerns. Thank you. 

5/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a UT Texas class ring for my son the beginning of February 2014 after calling Balfour and being assured that they would ship directly to my home as long as not ordered during class promotion which was the end of Feb. I then ordered the next day online. Called to inquire about it the beginning of April and was told it would be held for their ring ceremony at campus. I told them that as I originally stated, I needed it shipped to me so that I could present it to him personally as it was a gift. the person I talked to said they would annotate that it was to be shipped to my home address. this was also placed in the remarks section when I originally ordered.Just prior to this, I received a card addressed to my son which invited him to partake in the class ring ceremony thus went the surprise fir his gift I was going to give him. I was then told that they would ship it to me after this ceremony if no one picked it up. I therefore waited till after the ceremony and once agin...no ring. I once again contacted ******** who I was referred to by Balfour previously (nothing but pass the buck) and they are now telling me that I must wait until AFTER commencement when they send it back to Balfour who are then to mail it to me. I am sick of this run around and after spending over 1300.00 have nothing to present my son nor am I confident I will ever receive the ring as promised, A total bunch of thieves.

Desired Settlement: SEND ME MY RING AS PROMISED SO THAT I CAN PRESENT IT TO MY SON AS PROMISED.

Business Response: *** *****,

Our sincere apologies for the frustration we created for you and for ruining the surprise ring for your son with our mailing.  I have confirmed the ring was delivered on 5/8 to your home and we hope that you and your son were pleased with his University of Texas ring he worked so hard to earn. Congratulations to the family on your son's earning his degree and we wish him well in his future career.  

We are applying a $40 credit back to your card as a good-will gesture. Thank you for reaching out as we need to hear how we can improve going forward. Take care.

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a class ring from the Balfour company using Balfour.com. After placing my order, I received my ring two weeks later. After trying the ring on, I noticed the black antique finish on the side of the ring wiped off onto my finger which is not supposed to happen. I also noticed the size I ordered was too large for my finger. Having purchased a protection plan that also includes repairs, I sent the ring back to be resized and to have the antique finish repaired. I also included a copy of my shipping receipt as I was instructed to so that shipping costs could be refunded to me. The ring returned to me two weeks later with a very poor resizing job done and no repair to the antique finish I mentioned on the service request sheet as well as on the phone with customer service. The gem on the ring was also resettled poorly resulting in a messy finish around the ring which I tried to clean up. After contacting customer service for a second time, I was instructed to send the ring back again noting "Attention ***** *******" so that the ring would be handled by a repair *******. Two weeks later the ring arrived with the same damage as before. Again, I included a copy of my shipping receipt to get a refund for the shipping costs. The ring has been sent to me a THIRD time now the the exact same damage. I have NOT received any refunds for my shipping costs despite claims that it has been mailed out. I was also told that they lost my receipt for the first return and would not honor the charges. I spent over $800 on this "commemorative" ring and feel the company simply opens items that were sent in for repair and mails them right back out, two weeks later. This allows them to create an image that they are conducting repairs when they are clearly not.

Desired Settlement: I would like my ring repaired to it's intended condition. The ring was never sent to me in a manner that it was supposed to. I would also like to have the total shipping costs refunded to me as promised by the company.

Business Response: *****, our apologies for not making sure your ring is the quality that Balfour and most importantly you deserve it to be.  If you would please, be sure to send it in to the attention of ***** *****, our ** ** ******** ******* and he will make sure this is resolved to your satisfaction. Be sure to include a note with your mailing address, contact phone number and any receipts for shipping we need to reimburse you for. We will reimburse the shipping charge up to $20 for the shipping cost where you do not have a receipt.  Your ring is a symbol of your achievement and we certainly want you to be able to wear it proudly, again sorry for the poor service to date, we will make it right. 
          

4/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called in twice last week. First to find out why an order I had place on February 26, 2014 payment had not been taken out of my account. Secondly, I called on Friday in reference to the payment being taken out of my account but for a amount not approve by me. When I signed the contract on 02/26/2014 the amount on the contract was $218.21 but when the payment was taken on 03/21/2014 it was in the amount of $224.33. The representative I spoke with by the name of **** informed me that on the contract that it states that there may be an adjustment to the payment. After, pulling my contract I do not see that statement nowhere on it. I just don't like surprises and the amount written on the contract should be binding.

Desired Settlement: I the future if there will be an additional charge that it needs to me communicated with the customer and if the tax varies from state to state the person on site needs that information in hand at the time of purchase. I recommend a state tax guideline card in your representative hand during the signing of the contract process. Therefore, everything will be upfront and no suprises at the end.

Business Response: We apologize for the inconvenience and confusion. We duly note the customer's suggestion regarding on-site tax guides due to there being destination tax differences. A less convenient avenue is having a customer's call us directly and place order over the phone as a service rep would then be able to provide an exact total sales amount. We will also review the price disclaimer on the order form to increase the visibility of the disclaimer. Again our apologies and we appreciate the customer feedback.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because: They have not once mention crediting me the difference, since it's not clearing note on my contract there may be some type of payment adjustment.  Also, I have asked them to show me this state on the contract about the payment adjustment.  I can email them a copy of my receipt and this statement is not on it.

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: ****, ***** *****, our * * of Customer Service will update his response to **** ***** and offer her a refund as the customer is correct that on the College Announcement Order Form, the proper disclosure was not included. It will be on our next printing of order forms for this fall.

Thanks for your assistance in this matter.

*****  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I'm still out of more than just the overpayment, the bank charge my account several overdraft fees totaling to $75.00 I have since cleared this matter. 
However, I would appreciate if ******* could write me a letter stating that I was charged $224.33 in error and the correct charged total should have only been $ 218.21.  Hopefully this will clear these charges and then I'll accept their response.  

Regards, ******* *****

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deposit placed on high school championship rings in January 2013 in the amount of $720.00 has not been returned.

Desired Settlement: Full deposit refund

Business Response:

****,

 

                My apologies for the delay getting something posted, ***** suggested I email you directly.

 

I have confirmation the sales rep, coach and customer have coordinated and returned the check so all should be resolved. Please let us know if that is not the case, but again all should be resolved as of a couple weeks ago. Thank you and again sorry for the posting delay.

 

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Thank you.  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

1/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a class ring from an agent of Balfour on 10/31/13. The price that was agreed upon was in the amount of $504.29 with a down payment of $168.10 and 2 more payments due in December and January in the amount of $168.10. I signed the contract and am in receipt of the copy of this contract. The first payment, (aka the deposit), was taken out of my account on 11/07/13. Due to financial hardship and rent being due the beginning of the month, I called around 12/04/13 regarding changing the payment due date from the 7th of the month to the 20th of the month and was told this was no problem. However, on the 12th of the month my account was charged without being notified that Balfour decided to change the agreed upon due date from the 20th to the 12th causing my account to become overdrawn because I was unaware they changed the due date. Upon calling on 12/16/13 to inquire as to why the date was changed I was informed the ring had shipped out early and they needed the second payment before it could ship out. I asked why I was not informed because now my account would become overdrawn the gentleman said he would look into it and get back to me. When he called back he explained the same thing again but was unsure as to why I was not notified. He also informed me my remaining 2 payments would indeed come out of the 20th of the following months. I explained I only had 1 remaining payment according to the contract I had signed and he informed me the salesperson did not properly calculate the amount of the merchandise on 10/31 and upon review they added an additional payment onto my agreement. This is unacceptable and poor business practice. I have a signed contract for the amount of 3 payments of 168.10 no more. I refuse to pay anymore than these 3 payments and feel they are in violation of this contract. They have poor communication and do not notify their customers of any changes/issues that arise.

Desired Settlement: I refuse to pay more than the 3 payments of 168.10. I expect them to honor the sign contract that I am in possession of. Due to their inadequate business practice I incurred expenses to my bank because of their failure to notify me when they changed my due date. Now I am expected to pay more than what I agreed to because their salesperson did not add properly? I expect to be charged $168.10 on 01/20/14 and no more!

Business Response: We appreciate ****** reaching out and we understand the frustration. Due to the poor communication and inconvenience created we certainly will honor the $504.29 price. We have credited the account so that the total amount owed at this time is $173.11 and it will be broken out with two final payments one in January for $86.55 and the final payment in February for $86.55.   Please call our customer service with any questions as notes have been placed on your account. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ****

11/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August of 2013, I completed a hard-copy form from ********, ordering a 300 game bowling ring. I then contacted ******** on September 5, 2013 to pay for my requested upgrades. Since the form was a color copy, I was not able to retain a copy of what I had ordered. My order was read back to me and the representative misread my request for CZ Zenith Stone Inset ($50) and I was told I ordered a 10K Yellow Panel ($75). Since this is a once-in-a lifetime achievement, I did not have experience in ordering this type of ring, the order was processed and my credit card charged. Two weeks after the charge, I was notified by my credit card company that my card was used in Ohio, South Dakota and a few other states. My card was cancelled and I contacted both the **** and ******** to let them know they have a possible leak in their credit card system (I did not use the card after that purchase, since I was close to my credit limit). I received my ring on 10-25-2013, with the wrong panel and the inclosed invoice received with my order, does not itemize the charges, just gives a total. \I notified ********, to which the response was "****, Congratulations on your recent 300 Honor score. I had the call pulled and the signet panel in 10kt plus the total amount of the order ($110.00) was approved at the time the order was placed. However, we can change the top to the requested Zenith with CZ. The repair charge would be $50 plus the cost of the new top($50.00) plus $14.95 shipping fee minus the cost of the 10K Gold Panel $75.00 for a total due of $54.90. $50.00 (Repair Charge)+$50.00 (CZ Zenith Top)+ $14.95 (Shipping Fee)-$75.00 (10K Gold Panel)=$54.90 Total due.

Desired Settlement: I just want what I ordered, and seeing as how they initiated the mistake by improperly reading my written order, I don't see how I am liable for the repair charge of $50. The panel I ordered is $25 less than what I received, so I should be credited that towards return shipment.

Consumer Response: I received a phonecall from ****** (rep of the company in
question) and they are willing to repair my ring without cost to me ("call
it even on any addtional charges"). I am happy with this resolution and
will return-ship my ring for repair. I will wait until I receive the repairs
prior to closing this complaint.

 

Thank you.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent the ******* Company my 1959 North Texas State College ring to them to be redone. I talked to a lady that said it would be with a new stone. I received it back with the stone, but the ring was still the same. I was charged $188.61. I sent the ring back after talking to them and they agreed to rebuild the ring as was originally requested. This time I paid an additional 110.91. They wanted an additional $175.00, but agreed to do it for half the price. When I received it back the second time, It was excellent. They could have done this the first time. Including shipping and handling, I was out $314.46 on service that according to them that should have been $203.56. This does not take into consideration that I paid to ship it back an extra time or shipped it to them twice.

Desired Settlement: I was out about $120.00 more than I should have been. If I received $100.00 that would be great. I would be surprised if I ever hear from them.

Business Response: Mr. ****,

                Thank you for your time and for the detailed information. In hindsight after reviewing the repair history and eventual remaking of a new ring for you we feel it is only fair to apply some of your repair payment to the cost in making your new ring since the repair was not to your complete satisfaction. We will be aplying a $110 credit back to your credit card and you should see that credit applied back to your card in the next 6-8 business days. We hope you are wearing your rng proudly for all the memories and achievement it symbolizes for you.  Thank you.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought college class ring in 1991 w/lifetime warranty. Company refuses to repair and wants to sell me a brand new ring at $175 I purchased a class ring from Arizona State University and ARTCARVED company in 1991. I have sent the ring back to ARTCARVED once to repair the shank of the ring which had worn through and cracked. I returned the ring, with the same problem, in June, 2013, to Balfour company, which had purchased ARTCARVED, or merged, or something. Anyway, Balfour now tells me that they won't repair the ring as they "can't guarantee that it won't break again" and will only sell me a brand new college class ring for $175 plus tax. That's ridiculous and not honoring my original lifetime warranty with my class ring that I bought. I do not wish to have a new ring. I have sentimental value in my old ring. It seems a shady practice to take my gold ring (which is worth probably more to the company to melt it down and re-use it, so they are making money on that deal) and give me another ring, WHILE CHARGING ME FOR IT!! Gee, they make money off my gold I've sent them (and stone) and then charge me for a new ring, which I don't want. For giggles, before I sent it in to Balfour, I had my local jeweler give me an estimate for repairing the shank and it was $80 (including tax).

Desired Settlement: Fix my original ring. If my local jeweler can repair it for $80 (tax included) that seems reasonable and prudent. Fix my original ring, without insisting that I purchase a brand new one from you.

Business Response: Mr. *****,
                               
We certainly want for you to be able to wear your Arizona State ring again with pride as we know it represents great memories and achievement. The challenge is in the wear and condition of the ring. While we respect another jeweler’s claim to be able to repair the ring and do so for $80 we did evaluate the ring’s condition and we cannot guarantee the ring will survive the repair. As for our $175 charge when having to make a replacement ring as in our opinion is required here it is for a brand new ring. We do respect the sentimental value you have for your ring and understand your desire to repair this ring and not receive a new ring.

So what we could offer is do another evaluation of your ring by our most experienced jeweler and see if it can be repaired. If this artisan feels he can repair it then we must first receive your permission knowing there is a risk the ring might not survive the stress of the repair. If it does survive then great and we will match the $80 charge you were quoted as a good-will gesture, but if the ring does not survive repair efforts then we would need to make you a new ring. As for the $175 charge it is to cover our labor and materials. We respect other jewelers pricing and ability to provide repairs and other services and have no intention of making comparisons in that matter. We have been in business 100 years because of our quality products, fair and ethical practices and will continue to do all we reasonably can for our customers past, current and future. We look forward to hearing from you, thanks.

***** ***** | vice president customer service | commemorative brands, inc | balfour | austin, texas | direct: ************  

9/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered High School Graduation Announcements for mailing in February, 2013. The promised delivery period was 6 to 8 weeks. At the end of April, they had not been received. I began emailing and telephoning to determine what the problem might be and when I might expect delivery. I made dozens of these contacts, each time requiring a significant investment of time. ******* explained that they had some sort of "factory issue" causing a delay. They made no commitment to resolving or delivery of the order. They simply offered to fill when available. In the second week of May, only weeks before graduation, really too late at that time, some generic announcements arrived. Something simple and having nothing to do with my son's high school, and not the invitations designed for his high school. At this time, I went to a local printer and had invitations printed. Given the late date, I had not choice other than simply not sending out announcements. I again contacted ******* about the generic announcements, and ******* explained that it was their policy that if they had none of the High Schools announcements available, to just send these generic announcements. I would have called the credit card company to deny payment, but ******* had run the charge at the time of order which was more than sixty days previous per credit card company policy. Of course, I complained vigorously at this. ******* said that they had some "smudged" ones from reject pile along with 17 "good ones" that they would send. ******* then "found" some from a cancelled order that they arranged, however, this was on about the 20th of May, only days before graduation. I told them that we did not want them, we had already had them printed elsewhere and that I expected ******* to issue a refund to my credit card. After numerous contacts, ******* is simply ignoring me.

Desired Settlement: Full refund. After the extraordinary hassle, a written apology as well.

Business Response:

We certainly want to apologize for the inconvenience and the ensuing issues in placing your order for ********* graduation announcements. We understand this was a special time for ******* and the family. We do show we refunded $118.20 back to the MasterCard on 6/6/13. If there is any discrepancy in the refund amount please let us know as we do not show anything charged except for the amount of $118.20, thank you.

8/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Commemorative Brands, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart