Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Professional Plotter Technology Inc.

Phone: (512) 382-5912 Fax: (877) 382-7568 3913 Todd Ln. #512, Austin, TX 78744

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers sales/service of large format imaging equipment and supplies.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Professional Plotter Technology Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Professional Plotter Technology Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Professional Plotter Technology Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 17, 2008 Business started: 04/01/2001 Business started locally: 04/01/2001 Business incorporated 12/01/2006 in NV
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jason Ake, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Ake, President
Business Category

Printing Equipment Printing Supplies Copiers & Copier Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Professional Plotter Technology Corp.

Additional Locations

  • 3913 Todd Ln. #512

    Austin, TX 78744 (512) 382-5912


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a refurbished HP designjet MFP815 large format plotter/scanner from Plotterpro. When the unit arrived it was missing the paper spindle for the plotter. A wheel/caster was damaged and it appeared that the touch screen mount on the scanner had been damaged. I asked ***** *** 3 times by email to confirm that the paper spindle had been included in the shipment - no response. I submitted an insurance claim to the shipper and subsequently ordered replacement parts from Plotterpro. Plotterpro did not have the correct touch screen mount but told me they had one "I have one but you may need to manipulate it a bit ,HP made two stand types and I am just not 100% if this one will fit perfectly. I do know that you can make it work, you just might need drill a new hole or two Is this ok?" I agreed. When it arrived I discovered that it was significantly different than what I needed and could not be made to fit. I have returned it and am awaiting a refund. I installed the paper spindle and tested the plotter. The paper cutter consistently jammed with a "system error 86:01". I contacted ***** *** about this problem. He claimed that it must have been damaged in shipping and that I should contact the shipper. "Peter you can call my tech support team all day long for free and we can fix the cutter it just needs to be bent back. I will not pay for anything as this printer was fully operational and working fine when it left any damages or functional issues are to be claimed under the shipping company as it is there fault due to the bang it took while under their care." Subsequently I had a local service technician look at the problem. One of the wheels on the paper cutter was binding. It was repaired by cleaning and lubricating the cutter assembly. This should not have been required on a refurbished machine. I dismantled the touch screen assembly in preparation for taking it to a machine shop for repair. In doing this I discovered that the mount was not in fact damaged, rather it was missing 3 screws that were not visible externally and which secure the touch screen to the upright. It is not reasonable to suggest that these 2 screws somehow were lost during shipping. It is also not reasonable to suggest that the unit was refurbished without anyone noticing the problem with the touch screen mount (the touch screen won't stay upright). The combination of the cutter head problem and the missing screws leads me to conclude that this machine was not fully refurbished as Plotterpro represented it during the sale.

Desired Settlement: The repair of the cutter assembly cost me CAD $78.75 (USD $71.27). I would like Plotterpro to pay for this repair. Replacing the missing screws was a trivial expense and I won't bother with that. The unit is fully functioning now so I am prepared to accept this as a final settlement on this matter.