This business is not BBB accredited.

Akimbo Card

Additional Locations

Phone: (855) 625-4626 Fax: (855) 625-4626 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 529, San Antonio, TX 78292 http://www.akimbocard.com ! There is an alert on Akimbo Card !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Akimbo Card
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 18, 2012 Business started: 01/22/2010 Business started locally: 01/22/2010 Business incorporated 01/22/2010 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Houston Frost, CEO Mr. Garrett Cox, VP of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Garrett Cox, VP of Operations
Principal: Mr. Houston Frost, CEO
Business Category

Prepaid Debit/Credit Cards

Alternate Business Names
Akimbo Financial Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3463 Magic Dr Ste 202

    San Antonio, TX 78229

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 529

    San Antonio, TX 78292

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Akimbo Prepaid Visa Debit Card has been restricted since October 2013. I have a balance of $745.14. I have sent in requested documents numerous times, even a Notarized Affidavit of Identity. When I call, I get the run around. I'm told to call back, or call another number, or send an email. I am thoroughly exhausted trying to get information on my OWN MONEY & ACCOUNT. I have requested for my Akimbo Account to be closed & send me the remaining balance, but Akimbo has not acknowledged any of my phone calls, faxes, or emails. Please help.Thank You

Desired Settlement: Either take the restriction off of my Akimbo Prepaid Visa Debit Card Account, so I can pay bills & spend my money or close my Akimbo Prepaid Visa Debit Card Account & send me my $745.14 ASAP

Business Response: This individual provided identifying documents which were determined to be altered or otherwise counterfeit by our issuing bank, The ******* Bank, Member FDIC.  The ******* Bank identified numerous discrepancies and abnormalities in both the state ID card and the Social Security card provided by the customer.  The same falsified state ID card was shown to a Notary Public in order to obtain the 'affidavit of identity' that was provided to Akimbo and The ******* Bank, and so this affidavit was also not honored.

Both The ******* Bank and Akimbo Financial believe that this individual has provided counterfeit documents and potentially committed a felony offense by affirming these documents were legitimate to both a US financial institution and a notary public.

If the individual believes our determination to be in error, she may follow arbitration proceedings as defined in our cardholder agreement. (***********************************************************)


Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The copies sent are not Counterfeit, they are a copy of a copy and maybe the quality isn't so good.  But in July, when I applied for the account and sent in the same copy of the documents, there wasn't any problems & I was approved for the Account. Obviously Akimbo no longer wants to have me as a customer, and it's been over two months since they blocked the Account, so why haven't they closed it yet? Also, on 11/27/2013, they deposited $245.14, into my account that wasn't my money.  I have a total of $500 of my money, not theirs, in the account. Shouldn't the account be closed and the balance settled?

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response:

Hi ****,

Thank you for the prompt response, I appreciate your help with this matter.


This individual did not provide these documents in July. Documents were not required to 'open' an Akimbo Card account. This individual used the name, DOB, and SSN for "******* *******," to open the account with Akimbo Card online.

 

It was not until this account had a temporary block placed on itm that these documents were requested and subsequently provided by the individual. Upon review of these documents, multiple irregularities and inconsistencies were found by the Fraud Department of ******* Bank, and these documents were then deemed counterfeit or otherwise altered.

Is Akimbo expected to respond to every allegation this individual makes?


Regards,
******* ***

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I still don't have an answer to what happens to my $500?

Regards,

******* *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Akimbo Card
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart