Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing-Austin

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 419-0055 Fax: (512) 514-1752 2007 Wendy Terrace, bldg. 7, Ste A, Cedar Park, TX 78613 http://www.benfranklinplumbersaustin.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Benjamin Franklin Plumbing-Austin meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Benjamin Franklin Plumbing-Austin include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Benjamin Franklin Plumbing-Austin
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 18, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1985 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 09/27/1991 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Fred Oldenkamp, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fred Oldenkamp, President
Business Category

Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Water Leak Detection Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Plumbers

Products & Services

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing-Austin sells the following brand(s): AO Smith, Navien, Premier, Pro Flow, State, Toto, Wolverine Brass

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing-Austin offers the following product(s): Faucets, Garbage Disposals, Toilets, Water Filters, Water Heaters, Water Softeners

Method(s) of Payment
Cash Check or Credit Card
Alternate Business Names
A-OK Plumbing, Inc. DBA Benjamin Franklin Plumbing
Industry Tips
Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 2007 Wendy Terrace, bldg. 7, Ste A

    Cedar Park, TX 78613 (512) 419-0055

  • PO Box 2369

    Leander, TX 78646

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I have repeatedly requested that our names and address be permanently removed from all current and future mailing lists used by Benjamin Franklin Plumbing (***** ***** ** *** **** ****** ** *****). The local office has refused to honor our request and we continue to receive unsolicited advertisements. This harassment has continued for more than a year, despite multiple phone calls to the office. The point of contact for the Austin office is **** *********, the franchise owner.

Desired Settlement: No more mailings of any type or at anytime from Benjamin Franklin Plumbing beginning June 19, 2015

Business Response:

****, this is the first I have heard of this complaint to the BBB. I did however get an email from our Franchisor about this on June 17th that I will forward to you. I was on a family vacation and my daughter that handles the direct mail was with me. We got back in the office on June the 30th and my daughter removed them from our current mailing list the week we got back. I have also instructed her to remove them from any new list that we routinely download from various venders. We will remove them from all future list but unfortunately we can't guaranty that they will never get another mailer from us at some point in the future because we have and may at some point in the future use a service offered by the US Postal service called Every Door Direct which does not use a mailing list but rather just gets delivered to every house in a given zip code.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory if I do not receive any advertisement from **** *********, regardless of the name of his plumbing business.

Regards,

****** ******

9/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Benjamin Franklin Plumbing to come to my home and fix a stopped up sink. They came out ran a 2" cable through my pipes, that didn't unstop it. They went and picked up a Hydrojet and ran it. The cost was $1197.00. I had a 60 warranty. Job done on 5/10/13. On 6/12/13 it was stopped up again. They came out to fix the problem again and ran the 2" cable. They said it must h*** something to do with my disposal and so they replaced it, it cost nearly $300.00, I was not left with a receipt. My sink would stop up on me for days at a time. I was awful to deal with, and smelled really bad. My Mom and me were feeling sick from the fumes all the time. So on 7/01/13 I called them again to come and fix this problem. I called the owner and complained on D*** the man who was here the last 2 times, told owner I never wanted this man back In my house again. He would trash my kitchen and le*** water standing under my sink, on my floors and worst of all over my cabinets behind him and on both sides of him. The water I am referring to also was full of old food and black stuff, he also tracked this through my kitchen and garage. He was more interested in watching TV and looking at us. It was creepy indeed.The owner came with the new man **** this time. They ran the cable and the hydrojet again. No results, we still had standing water in our sink. So they ran a camera down the pipe and said be had a sagging pipe by the stair case. That the only way to fix this problem was to jack hammer the floor about 5' and dig way down, which would cost a lot of money and replace the sagging line to make our sink water flow properly. So they g*** us an estimate to fix the problem at a cost of $9144.00. I was so shocked because Mom and me knew that this was just not right. We felt that because we are two single women, living in a big fine house that they all commented on, with a pool and beautiful back yard they commented on that we were being taken advantage of. That these men just saw dollar signs, and figured they could fool us and make some money off us because after all how would we know the difference if the pipe was really sagging or it was just stopped up with grease from the previous owners. So I called ************ ******** Co. and told them what was going on. They contacted the builder and the all came to the house on 7/11/13. They ran the camera and sink machine to clear GREASE out of the line. Drain line was totally clogged with GREASE in about a 3' (THREE FEET SECTION) section of pipe. It cost me $294.35 and my sink was totally FIXED and I h*** never had anymore problems. ************* ******** also said they were appalled by this and thought the same as we did. They were going to get me for $9144.00 for GREASE in the line on top of the $1197.00 they already had. They said you could call them at 512-********.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back $1197.00 for unsatisfactory work and trying to rip me off.