Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jon Wayne Service Company

Phone: (210) 293-5551 Fax: (210) 293-5551 9272 Us Highway 87 E, San Antonio, TX 78263 http://www.jonwayneair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service plumbing, drain cleaning and electrical services for San Antonio area home owners


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jon Wayne Service Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Jon Wayne Service Company include:

  • 13 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Jon Wayne Service Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Jon Wayne Service Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 2002 Business started: 10/01/2001 in TX Business started locally: 10/01/2001 Business incorporated 10/29/2001 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Mr. Don Rackler, Partner Mr. Jacob McBee Mr. Tito Quintero Mr. Brandon Rackler, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tito Quintero
Principal: Mr. Don Rackler, Partner
Business Category

Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Bathroom Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Quality Service Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Energy Conservation Products & Services Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Systems Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Energy Service Companies Plumbing - Contractor Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Contractor - Electrical Electricians Heating Contractors Contractor - Insulation Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair

Products & Services

Jon Wayne Service Company sells the following brand(s): We service and repair all major brands.

Method(s) of Payment
This company partners with several lenders to offer financing options in the home repair industry. They accept all major credit cards, cash, and checks.
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jon Wayne Service Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9272 Us Highway 87 E

    San Antonio, TX 78263

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On TV the owner of this company offers free estimates on AC. When I called, I told the lady that I was looking for a free estimate on replacing my AC compressor. She was very freindly and took all my contact info. I then said again this is for a free estimate on replacing my AC compressor. She then asked what my kind of problems I was having. I told her my independent service guy said that the compressor probably won't last the summer. She asked if i had an invoice from my service tachnician and I told here no, I am getting estimates from multiple sources. *( Even if I had an invoice why would I give out that information. She said "I'll scheduale a tech out and the charge will be $89.95". I asked what "what happened to the free estimate?" She said that they must see an invoice to make an estimate.

Desired Settlement: Change their advertisement to say we give free estimates after You pay $89.95 for a tech to look at it. Provide me a free estimate to repalce my AC compressor.

Business Response: This matter was resolved directly with our customer shortly after his request for service and before we ever received this BBB submission. We ask the BBB along with our customer, to please rescind this complaint. 

3/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I saw your TV ad where you say service calls are $29.00 and you always do right by the customer. I called for a ballpark price to install a bathroom sink faucet. Before the girl would even talk to me she had to have my name, my address and my phone number, my personal information and I just had a question. She said to get that information someone would have to come look at it and they could do that in a few days for $89.00!! I told her I had looked forward to working with Jon Wayne but that wasn't going to happen. Why would I pay someone nearly $100 to get a price on a service that I could apply that $100 to? Most people are on a budget when they are trying to do a little home improvement. I just thought this was ridiculous. The girl didn't seem to be very concerned at all. Below this box you have a statement that says do not include any personally identifiable information but you just asked for all of that in step 1, plus I was forced to include a phone number to even proceed. That doesn't make sense

Desired Settlement: I don't want anything from you and I probably won't ever use your service. This is just for your information.

Business Response: Thank you for the feedback; this is something we will discuss with the responsible managers and owners of the company. Every job is unique and sometimes the diagnostic may be more complex, require special equipment or a special technician and we may not know this until we see the situation first hand. With that said, we agree that your situation did not fall within the category and as a result we do apologize for not being able to provide our service to you. We will use your case as a discussion point to improve our policies and our business practices.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 12, 2014, my heater would not power on. I contacted my regular AC company, NE AC, but unable to make an appointment for one week. We were having a cold front in SA and needed heat. I reviewed the phone book and contacted Jon Wayne. They were able to come out on Nov 12th. ***** & **** came to my residence and inspected my system. They indicated the system was not up to code with need CO system, drain monitoring system, and flame sensing system. However, they said the unit did NOT need to be replaced although the repairs would be $3000 with a 3 year rescue club service agreement. The agreement would entitle me to free service calls, warranty, and annual maintenance checks. As a widow and senior citizen, I wasn't sure there recommendations. ***** and **** assured me this was the best option and my unit would last for several more years. Due to the cold front and upcoming Thanksgiving holiday, I trusted there recommendations. On Thursday, December 4, 2014, the CO monitors went off and I contacted Live Oak Fire Department. They checked my residence and determined there was a gas leak in the heater. When I informed them of my recent repairs, they told me to contact Jon Wayne and they would speak with them. The firemen spoke with the calling service at Jon Wayne and was told a technician would come by to check my system that afternoon. Live Oak Fire Department turned off the gas to my home. ***** from Jon Wayne came that afternoon and checked the system. He spoke to my daughter on the phone as she resides in NH. He informed my daughter and me, that it wasn't a bird or bird's nest in the ceiling pipe and still reviewing the system for cause of the leak. ***** then said my unit was in hazardous condition due to a fracture fault in the heat exchange system and the unit would need to be replaced at a cost of $7000 to $14000. ***** said they would credit me $2000 of the $2720 I paid to replace the unit with a ****** AC/Heater unit. I informed him I was did not understand how I had a crack in my unit which wasn't discovered on the 12th of November. Also, I already paid almost $3000 for repairs and the technician said I did NOT need to replace my unit. This left me very confused and still dealing with the shock of the CO alarm and cost for a new unit. I told ***** I would have to determine the best decision as I felt Jon Wayne already robbed a senior citizen of $2784.20 for unnecessary repairs. My daughter contacted NE AC the afternoon of December 4th and requested a service call with a Spanish speaking technician so I could better understand the issue with my unit. She spoke with **** who informed her *****s would be there on Friday morning, December 5th from 830 am to 10am. *****s came to my residence on December 5th at 9am and performed a complete check for gas leaks. *****s then completed removed the furnace for a complete inspection of my unit. He found no cracks or fractures in my unit. *****s turned the gas back on and performed another check for possible gas leaks. He spoke with my daughter and indicated there were no cracks or gas leaks in the unit. *****s indicated there was nothing wrong with the unit and appeared no repairs from Jon Wayne other than the installation of the CO safety system. I can't believe a company would take advantage of an elder person and rob them of their life savings. As a senior citizen, I'm on a fixed income from social security. I have high blood pressure and diabetic along with other health issues. This has left me in worse condition and scared to live in my own home. I do not want another Jon Wayne technician in my home. I request a full refund of $2784.20. I have all the invoices to submit. As for Live Oak Fire Department report, I'm still waiting for the copy but the Case number is ******** and I spoke with ***** *******, Assistant Fire Chief at ###-###-####.

Desired Settlement: I request a full refund of $2784.20.

Business Response: We have received our customers complaint, we will be reviewing all pertinent information with regards to their concern and will do everything in our power to resolve this matter directly with our customer. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: We spoke with **** ******** from Jon Wayne Air and have not received a resolution or refund in the six calendar days as listed by BBB. We've sent all the documents and request a full refund.

Regards,

******** *****

Business Response: We are still working directly with our customer's daughter to allow us the opportunity to return and quality inspect the work that was performed at their home. One of the claims is that we never performed the work that was agreed upon. We are trying to send one of senior managers to perform the inspection but Mrs. ***** (mom) will not allow us back to do so. We have spoken to the field personnel involved and they've confirmed that all agreed upon work was completed. We don't feel that our request is unreasonable since they are requesting a full refund. We would just like the opportunity to confirm what has been done at their home. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because we have not heard from Mr. ******** at Jon Wayne Air. When we last spoke on December 16th my daughter requested an itemized bill. Mr. ******** said this would not be a problem and requested we sent the invoice from Northeast Air Conditioning and Heating. NE Air Conditioning and Heating which is the company that came and performed a complete inspection of my unit. This invoice was sent to Mr. ******** on December 16th via email and he confirmed it was received.

Mr. ******** left a voice mail for me on December 29th at 11:54am. I was admitted to Northeast Methodist Hospital for several days and
discharged on Christmas evening. Therefore, my daughter contacted Mr. ********. My daughter returned his phone call on December 30th at 10:54 and left a voice mail for Mr. ********. This situation has left me stressed and in ailing health. I have several appointments with a renal specialist and this ongoing issue is complicating my health and emotional state.

Jon Wayne had incompetent technicians at my residence and overcharged for services not required. Then another incompetent tech sent to my residence and told I needed a new unit due to a crack. The technician at NE Air was at my residence for over three hours and completed detached and inspected my unit and found no cracks. As stated previously, it is still working without issues. I request a full refund of $2784.20. The only item placed in my home was the CO system. However, my daughter purchased one for $50 which I am using.

I still have not received the itemized bill although have sent all my information. Although this is to be expected from Jon Wayne Air.

Regards,

******** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Date Sent: 1/5/2015 9:32:49 PM
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because we have not heard from Mr. ******** at Jon Wayne Air. When we last spoke on December 16th my daughter requested an itemized bill. Mr. ******** said this would not be a problem and requested we sent the invoice from Northeast Air Conditioning and Heating. NE Air Conditioning and Heating which is the company that came and performed a complete inspection of my unit. This invoice was sent to Mr. ******** on December 16th via email and he confirmed it was received. 

Mr. ******** left a voice mail for me on December 29th at 11:54am. I was admitted to Northeast Methodist Hospital for several days and 
discharged on Christmas evening. Therefore, my daughter contacted Mr. ********. My daughter returned his phone call on December 30th at 10:54 and left a voice mail for Mr. ********. This situation has left me stressed and in ailing health. I have several appointments with a renal specialist and this ongoing issue is complicating my health and emotional state.

Jon Wayne had incompetent technicians at my residence and overcharged for services not required. Then another incompetent tech sent to my residence and told I needed a new unit due to a crack. The technician at NE Air was at my residence for over three hours and completed detached and inspected my unit and found no cracks. As stated previously, it is still working without issues. I request a full refund of $2784.20. The only item placed in my home was the CO system. However, my daughter purchased one for $50 which I am using. 

I still have not received the itemized bill although have sent all my information. Although this is to be expected from Jon Wayne Air.

Regards,

******** *****

Business Response: We've made contact with our customer and have reached a resolution in their favor and deem this matter resolved and closed. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

This complaint was handled by **** **** and we were able to reach a desired resolution. We appreciate the efforts of BBB and **** **** at Jon Wayne Air.
 
Regards,

******** *****

11/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Jon Wayne Plumbing at 7:00 am due to a failed pressure regulator in main water line to house resulting in massive leak and no water service. Offered me an 8-12 time slot for service. Told them I had a doctor apt at 11 and asked if they could come early in that window. I was given a 12-4 service window despite still asking about the 8-12 window. Received call at 3:00 saying repairman was on his way. Repairman did not arrive at 4 pm. Looked at crumbling pressure regulator and told me their price was $789 to replace the regulator. It was too late in the day to call another company due to their repairman arriving so late in day. Had to get water back on so I agreed to the price based on assuming this was the going rate with other companies, as the repairman indicated. Next day I found out from my neighbor that he had his replaced by Beyer Boys who charged $450. Many people in our HOA told me they had theirs repaired for $250 - $420 recently. Called Jon Wayne to complain about pricing that is double and triple what other companies are charging. Manager told me the cost was due to installing a new shutoff valve, new PVC pipe, and cover box - all items which the repairman did not know at the time he quoted a price. Manager at Jon Wayne told me "the girl in the front office has to make money, and the repairman has to make money, and someone has to pay for advertisements...." He then told me he would contact the city inspector to come and inspect my property, something none of my neighbors had to have done when their regulators were replaced. This sounded to me like a threat because I was challenging their pricing.

Desired Settlement: I will pay a reasonable price for the repair work. $789, minus a 10% discount for military, when all other companies are charging half to a third of that is not reasonable. If they will not adjust the billed amount then I would like something to notify other potential customers of their questionable practices - repairman could have come earlier since they were called at 7:00 am; it took repairman over an hour to arrive after I was told he was on his way; manager justifying price billed based on information found AFTER the price was quoted; and simply over-priced service.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have provided the information to our Customer Relations Manager and responsible managers. They will be in contact directly with our client to discuss his situation and work toward resolving it.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011 we had a "2.5 ton electric upflow complete" "5x5" or "sxs" installed for in a garage apartment $5000. No one lives in the garage apartment and we only discovered that the air condition unit was not working when my mother decided to clean it for me to stay in because I returned from college. Another air condition company looked at it and told us it was broken and that it was manufactured in 2005. I contacted the manufacturer and it was confirmed that the ac unit was made in 2005. So when it was installed in 2011, the ac unit and the furnace were already 6 years old, but on the receipt, the technician, wrote "new" for the age of both the condensor and the air handler. He also wrote "new" for the condensor and air handler when describing the work that was performed. "New" is not a description of age considering the units are already 6 years old. The air handler and the condensor that were sold to us were sold under false pretenses because the age of the products were said to be "new" even though they were 6 years old.

Desired Settlement: A refund of $5000 is desired for misrepresenting the systems age and selling the system under false pretenses.

Business Response: Under Review.

Business Response: Prelude: We've dealt with 3 members of the ********* family. Mrs. ********, Mr. ********* (Senior) and Mr. ********* (son, who submitted this BBB com plaint) .


  Prior to the BBB complaint being submitted, we made every possible attempt to resolve the *********s concerns fairly and amicably. From the time we received the initial concern on 2/20/14, we made several requests for them to allow us to return and evaluate the system. Those requests were declined on the basis that they already had another company out to evaluate the system and that company concluded that the system was "broken". We made it clear to them, that we couldn't move forward with any type of resolution without our own diagnosis of the unit, at which point they agreed to have us out. On 2/24/14, we sent out our Senior Quality Inspector, upon his arrival, Mr. ********* (Senior) advised him that we were not allowed to diagnose the unit and could only verify the manufactured date on the placard. We are very aware of the 2005 manufactured date, this is information that we have on file and even provided to Mrs. ********* when she called us to inquire about their system's warranty. This denial to allow us to fully diagnose the system was a complete 180 from what Mr. ********* (senior) agreed to over the phone, the point of the service call was for us diagnose the system and verify the other company's findings, which would then allow us to move forward with resolving their concerns. Once they denied us full access to diagnose the unit, our service man began completing his invoice documenting what transpired, this was not to Mr. *********'s(senior) liking because he proceeded and attempted to physically take the invoice from our service man's hands before it was complete, Mr. ********* (senior) refused to sign the invoice and rudely told our service man to leave. This was out of line and completely uncalled for, our service man still managed to complete the invoice and left a copy on the door. As it stands, we have yet to evaluate the system's condition and as far as we know, the system could be in excellent working condition.


  To address the focal point of Mr. *********'s(son) complaint, the manufactured date. The manufactured dates of system components have no bearing on their capacity, efficiency or warranty. A system's warranty takes effect the date its installed, which is registered and honored by the manufacturing company. The system that they purchased was brand NEW, out of the box and never used before. In an attempt to assist in clarifying this matter further, we had the Manufacturer's Regional Manager contact Mr. *********(senior) to explain manufactured dates and effective warranties, but they ended up threatening him with a lawsuit as well. As a company we stand behind our product and employ a culture of 100% customer satisfaction. In order to find resolution to this concern, we made a good faith offer to Mr. ********* of $2500 which was half of the requested refund. We felt that there was no wrong doing on our behalf but wanted to find a common ground that would hopefully satisfy both sides. This too was declined and they advised us once again that they would see us in court.

 As a company, we pride ourselves in being able to resolve any concern or dispute directly with our customer. Even when we feel that we've done nothing wrong, we will do whatever it takes to keep a customer happy and would rather take a loss than to lose a valued member of our customer base. Unfortunately, we're not in the business of refunding THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS (as they are requesting) based on the findings of another company. We've  fulfilled our warranty obligations with the *********s (2yrs P&L) and the system is still under warranty through the manufacturer as promised.  We've done our due diligence in attempting to get this matter resolved and although we failed to achieve a resolution, we feel that we put forth every effort to do so. We wish the *********'s the best of luck.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

It is very concerning that Jon Wayne Heating and Air Conditioning does not understand what the dispute is over, despite numerous phone calls, a face to face visit, and a BBB complaint, explaining the dispute. The dispute is not over the unit being broken or the warranty of the units. The dispute is over the units being manufactured in 2005, which Jon Wayne Heating and Air Conditioning stated as being aware of in their BBB complaint response, but on the receipt, the age for both units was written as "new". Neither unit would have been purchased if the ages of the units weren't misrepresented. We are not basing are request for a refund of $5000 on another company's findings, because the unit being broken isn't the dispute. We are basing our request for a refund of $5000 based on Jon Wayne Heating and Air Conditioning knowing that the units were 6 years old, yet representing them as "new" when they were sold. The units were fraudulently sold by misrepresenting the age of the units.

Regards,

*********** *********

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New heating/air conditioning system was purchased to replace our home's old system in January 2010. We worked specifically with a Jon Wayne "comfort advisor" individual who came to our home and conducted what appeared to be, a thorough examination of the existing equipment and conditions. His evaluation and presentation led us to select a replacement system. With the purchase of a new heating/air conditioning system, we also obtained a "maintenance plan", and the comfort advisor agreed to install a new duct to a bedroom at no additional charge. Since the installation, we have had annual maintenance visits on Feb. 19, 2011, Jan. 27, 2012, Feb. 9, 2013 and most recently on Feb. 8, 2014. These annual maintenance visits are are best described as "heating and cooling tune-ups". During the 2013 maintenance visit, an optional suggestion(s) was made by Jon Wayne's maintenance technician to install a UV bulb. The maintenance technician on this year's visit (2014) also made some suggestions which led to an extended conversation about his recommendations. First he indicated that there was the need for the replacement of some "switches or sensors" which were partially "burned out". (Please note the the words switches or sensors may not be exactly the correct terms for the items that malfunctioned as the technician was describing. He said that five of the ten features were burned out and needed replacement). The technician continued in saying that the ductwork in the attic did not appear to be the correct size. He mentioned that there was fourteen inch (14) duct where there should be eighteen inch (18) instead. He further added that having the incorrect sized duct, restricted the air flow which he then linked to being the likely cause of the switch or sensor burn-out. He claimed that the "unit" was being overworked in accomplishing its' designed function. We (the customer) stated that Jon Wayne had installed the system and found it hard to believe that a professional company would install new equipment and connect it to existing sub-standard conditions without advising us. We recall questioning the original comfort advisor in 2010 about the original components and/or accessories that might be used with the new equipment purchased. The only ductwork that was replaced was to a bedroom at the southwest corner of the house. We were told that the rest was in good order. The maintenance technician of 2014 suggested that we speak with another "comfort advisor", since we were now very concerned about the work that had been done in 2010. In the meantime, the technician confirmed that he would have the "switch or sensor" parts ordered (covered by the warranty). We sent an e-mail to Jon Wayne voicing our concerns over these matters descibed above. A phone response came from "Tito" who would schedule a "comfort advisor and engineer to come and evaluate the conditions. In late February/early March, the comfort advisor and engineer came to the house and went into the attic and inside the home to evaluate current conditions. The results of the evaluation was not readily available because calculations and such had to be made from the measurements taken that day. These two gentlemen returned during the late afternoon of March 31, 2014 to disclose their findings. Our understanding is that there "were" deficiencies in the original installation and that some originalcomponents that were "re-used are not sufficient for proper performance with the new equipment. These gentleman from Jon Wayne could not explain why the original comfort advisor did not evaluate the conditions properly, but did state that the "new" duct work that was run to the southwest bedroom, would be re-worked (since it was found to be incorrectly sized) at no charge. Among the other deficiencies noted, was the fact that the original ductwork is not properly sealed at various connecting points, although the new equipment was tied into these existing ducts. These gentlemen also indicated that there were "air return" duct(s) that are not sufficient in carrying the air flow needed for proper performance of the new equiupment. Jon Wayne's comfort advisor and engineer had prepared drawings of the placement of the ducts within the atttic for this March 31st meeting to illustrate the current conditions and the "proposed" corrections needed. They would not provide us with a copy of these drawings or any written proposal, but we made notes as best we could. (Please note that only one owner representative was present for the March meetings). It is our understanding that the original comfort advisor is no longer an employee of Jon Wayne and some indication suggests during our recent discussions that he may have been careless in handling our heat/air conditioning needs. The current proposals for remedy in this matter range from a cost of $10,633.00 to $1,374.00 as described in six different proposals. It does not appear that any of the proposals adequately address the most immediate needs without including "add-on" features. It would appear to us that items should be gleaned from each of the proposals to address the most basic of needs without adding air purification equipment and upgrading insulation R-values that have changed. Even the comfort advisor and engineer agree that the ductwork is leaking at points where it was never sealed and that certain ductwork or returns are undersized. The offered proposals seem to provide a "piece-meal" approach to solving some of the problems, without all of the extras. A professional and responsible company would have identified any inconsistencies and advised the property owner in the beginning, but it appears that some deception was used to get the sale and the cost for proper restoration appears to be as much as the cost of the new equipment purchased in 2010. We believe that within the restoration proposals is the cost for "upgrading" to newer and updated components that have been developed recently or professionally prefferred. What's most unsettling is the fact that for four years now, maintenance technicians having been servicing our heating/air conditioning equipment and not one has noticed that the duct sections leak at various "un-sealed" connection points or that the returns may be undersized (with the exception of the most recent technician). We originally put our trust in Jon Wayne's original comfort advisor to provide expertise in proper installation of our new equipment. Now another Jon Wayne advisor suggests that that didn't really happen. What are we to believe? It is also necessary to advise that the the original "comfort advisor" was informed of our intention to expand the living space of our home to include the approximately 650 square feet of the attached garage. By intent, the attached garage was to be "remodeled" into living space and there would be a need to provide heating and air conditioning to that space also. We have not yet been able to obtain a suitable answer from the most recent comfort advisor and engineer, if the purchased equipment of 2010 was sufficient to accomplish.

Desired Settlement: All deficiencies pertaining to the sealing of ductwork, improper sizing of ductworks/returns including any enlargements of grill openings in various rooms to meet airflow requirements, etc,., must be repaired, replaced or restored per current trade codes. at Jon Wayne's expense. The switches or sensors that have burnt out must be replaced as provided for in the warranty. The ductwork to the southwest bedroom is to be re-worked/resized at Jon Wayne's expense. Since the new equipment has been identified as being "overworked" because of restricted air flow, etc., causing switches or sensors to "burn-out", and not originally discovered or disclosed via proper and professional evaluation of the original conditions, it is felt that the life of the equiment has been altered or reduced and should be replaced with new, and upgraded to include the attached square footage of the attached garage if necessary, at Jon Wayne's expense. It is also strongly felt that an independent HVAC consultant or other qualified trained technician, selected by the property owner, be retained to provide a full inspection/evaluation of the work requested in resolving these issues at the conclusion of any authorized repairs, replacement or restoration, at Jon Wayne's expense.

Business Response: We received Mr. *****'s concern and have already made contact with him. At this point, we will be working on a resolution directly with him and will be working diligently on reaching a satisfactory resolution.    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

We have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.  They have contacted us and a meeting is set for Thursday, April 17, 2014.  Upon the conclusion of the meeting, we will have a better idea whether we are satifsfied and the issue is resolved.

***** and ********* *****






 

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i called jon wayne because the heat was not working in my unit.I have a two storie house w/flat roof,about 14`tall so i told the girl on the phone that her technition would need at least a 16` to18` tall. for safety. whitch he did not do. he was able to locate a dirty filter. that i removed. when retesting unit the heat and a/c was working although we were not sure why.since we never got to see the upper part where the heat pump is.latter that night the heater stoped working.and upon talking to tech at jon wayn now want 90 more dollers from me. saying for having to dispatch two trucks.

Desired Settlement: start by chargeing 29 dollers just as before.only please remember to bring.the proper equipment.16`exstention latter.and apply the 29 dollers toany repairs done.

Business Response:

After reviewing file and listening to conversations with the client here is what I've found.

 

Technicians Findings

Restriction fault in the heat absorption system, restriction fault in the indoor air movement system, microbial growth in the air handler, no UV protection, found a washable filter at the system completely restricted and customer did not know about it, could not remove filter unless the whole condensate removal system was cut out of the way. Customer did not want me to do that and he said he would do it himself, could not get on top of the roof where the condenser was because my ladder was not long enough, system is 4 yrs old

 While at the home we informed the customer we actually needed a longer ladder to access the roof safely.  We carry a 17 foot and needed 20 foot.  He declined the additional charge for delivery and cancelled the rest of the service call.  At that time we only charged him the $29.00.  

In conclusion we did only charge the $29.00, and we did bring the correct ladder.  The customer actually didn't request the ladder at all.  While our call taker was talking to him originally he mentioned the "heater pump" was on the roof at which time she asked if we'd need to bring a ladder and if so what size did he think we'd need.  He then replied it's new up there so don't think you will need to get on roof buf if you do no more than 16' ladder will work fine.   

We now have notes in the system as to what is needed to access the customers equipment so in the future we have it at time of arrival.     

 

Jon Wayne Heating, Cooling, Plumbing, and Electrical

**** *****

** **********

###-###-####

Office ###-###-####

Cell ###-###-####

Fax ###-###-####

 

12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My issues are lack of communication by Jon Wayne Heating and AC and price gouging. They refuse to break out parts and labor making it difficult to determine if their pricing is fair. They installed two surge protectors for $800 and these were $40 parts (same part from ******). However, my primary complaint was they tried to overcharge me on my credit card. I needed repairs and agreed initially to $2100 estimate but same day I chose another option, which was completed, for $1500. I requested a receipt for $1500 by phone and email but was unsuccessful. I waited for credit card statement and I had been over charged by $600.

Desired Settlement: My credit card company has issued a payment for the $1500 amount and is aware of my dispute.

Business Response: In response to *** ********'s concerns, we will continue to attempt to make contact with him, there is a no question that a refund is due, we agreed and charged his card for XX dollar amount, but he changed his mind about the work to be performed after the transaction was processed, which required a refund. We're currently unable to credit him back without his credit card information and that's all we need to refund, but have unsuccessful to make contact. We will make every effort to resolve this matter directly with *** ********. As an avenue to make contact, when he receives this response, can he please call me at ************ or ************. We'll respond once again after this has been resolved. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I need to have business email me a receipt for $1600.00 for work which has been completed and was paid in full.  I want a copy which shows the itemized list for work completed:

1.  Install sensor into outdoor unit
2.  Install 2 surge protectors for outdoor units

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: Sent *** ******** the requested information. 

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought this house in early March. We decided to do a $29 inspection by Jon Wayne, since this is a rental house and wanted to avoid A/C or Heating issues when a tenant moves in. The Jon Wayne inspector checked the entire system and said that every component was fine, expect the coil may need replacing due to it looking all rusty, he did not state any leaks, just the life on the coil may not be that much longer. I agreed to have it replaced after he stated it would make it like a brand new unit and they honored a 5 year warranty. We have not had working A/C since Jon Wayne came and installed the coil on 4/12/2013. Jon Wayne came and installed a new coil for $3,605 and from this point on, its been one problem after another. After the installation of the new coil, water started to poor down from the ceiling and damaged the master bedroom doorway, causing the trim to crack in half and peel, in which to door would not close. So, I called Jon Wayne and they came out and said that the trap that the water is suppose to go down was clogged, which they stated they fixed and they also stated that I needed to install a new capacitor and some super-boost monitoring system or something; looking at my receipt, there is no mention of what was done or what I paid $568 for. A few days later, the leak came back, pouring through the ceiling. I call Jon Wayne again, they did not send a tech out, but another sales person, the Jon Wayne representative stated that it was not their fault, I never said it was, but he wanted me to know, but I learned quickly that they all say that, but at the same time, the rep stated that the coil installers neglected to put some kind of flashing to push water away from some area, which the ducting was saturated with water, thus leaking through the ceiling installation rather than in the pan. So, the rep stated I needed a whole new unit because the old unit was rusty and full of water in the ducting installation and that it will dry and smell bad through out the ventilation system. I just wanted it to work, so I paid an additional $3, 642. A few days later, I went back to the house and the A/C was dead yet again, the thermostat wasn't even lite up. I called Jon Wayne again and the rep (which I believe to be another sales person) stated that the filter was installed backwards causing it to freeze and flood the pan. So, he fixed it. A few days later, thinking everything was fine, I go back to the house and the A/C is humming and blowing warm air. I call Jon Wayne (now this is about the 7th time they have came), they sent another salesperson, who admitted that he could not work on the systems, then why send someone who can't fix the problem. What a waste of my time? This tech states that I need a new compressor and that he would get back with me tomorrow. He never called back. I called them, they stated that I need a new compressor for $7,000-$8,000. So, I would of paid over $15,000 for a sub-par A/C unit of the lowest quality. I am tried of their inconsistencies and from what they tell me and what they document on paper, which are totally different. I tired of them saying that one problem is not related to the other problem, but a coincidence. I believe they (not initially) have caused one problem after another and they do not want to make it right.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to give me a full refund and remove all their products, so I can go else where and have this fixed. This is a rental property that has been vacant since April, because of Jon Wayne.

Business Response: We addressed this situation directly with the customer and we consider this matter closed.  This BBB entry should be retracted. Please Advise.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******

11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service