Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Quarter Moon Plumbing

Phone: (210) 651-5899 Fax: (210) 651-6695 18838 Fm 2252, San Antonio, TX 78266

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Quarter Moon Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Quarter Moon Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Quarter Moon Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 18, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 12/19/2001 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Joel Frederick, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joel Frederick, Controller
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Propane Gas Plumbing Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 18838 Fm 2252

    San Antonio, TX 78266 (210) 651-5899


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Five years ago Quarter Moon completely replaced my main sewer line. At that time there were no breaks or disconnects in the line. Quarter Moon said that the pitch of the line was insufficient to allow proper drainage. Now 5 years later, I have no breaks or disconnects in my sewer line but I am experiencing the same problems. Now Quarter Moon says there is a "belly" in the line which does not allow proper drainage. I have consulted 2 plumbing companies and an engineer about the problem. All have said if the repair had been completed correctly (trench level and sand placed below the line) this would not be happening again in 5 years. All agreed the work done should have been adequate to last my lifetime. When consulting with Quarter Moon about the problem, they said that this could happen to any line old or new. They offered to give me a WHOLE $250 off a repair of $3000+. They took no responsibility for the damage done to my yer which will have to be torn up AGAIN. Plus they charged me to come out this time to see what the problem was after they knew that it was essentially the same problem that existed which they were supposed to have fixed 5 years ago.

Desired Settlement: I am really not interested in their repairing the problem since they did not do it correctly the first time. Additionally, their lack of correctly completing the repair the first time means once again my entire backyard will be torn up. My yard has gotten over the mess made from the first repair.

Business Response:


BBB Corporate Office
**** ** ****** ** ******* ** ***** *** ************

August 11, 2015

Re:      Complaint ID ********
****** ** *********

*** ******** ***

*** ******** ** *****

On June 4th, 2015, we dispatched a plumber to *** ******** *** for a sewer backup call. The plumber unstopped the line from the back yard cleanout. Knowing that we had replaced this line 5 years prior, he used a camera to investigate the cause of the stoppage. He found water standing in a section of the line, then it was clear to the main. This indicated there was a belly in the middle. We sent out a cost proposal to replace the section of the line where the belly was found since the warranty period of one year had passed. This lead Ms. ********* to file a complaint to the State Board of Plumbing Examiners and to the Better Business Bureau.

After being made aware of the complaint from ****** *** *********,**** *** ***, Vice Pres., contacted her by phone and scheduled a meeting with her for the next day. He reviewed our files regarding the work we completed finding the original plumbing permit dated June 4th, 2010 and our approved inspection dated June 17', 2010.

He met with Ms. ********* on Tuesday the 4'h of August, 2015 at her home at *** ******** **, and they discussed possible causes of the belly in her exterior sewer line and the solutions. He scheduled for a sewer camera inspection to be made while he was present so that he could observe the condition of the drain line.

On Thursday the 6' of August, 2015, Mr. ****** met with one of our plumbers at her home and visually checked the line. He found the there was a belly present across the back yard in the line we had replaced five years earlier. Mr. ****** spoke with Ms. ********* and agreed to replace the line as a courtesy at no additional cost to her. She was very grateful and agreed that any complaints she had made would be dropped.

We have since called for utility line locates on her property and they should be completed by Friday August 14, 2015. Quarter Moon Plumbing Inc., is anticipating beginning the digging of the line and replacing it Monday, August 17, 2015.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at any time.


**** *********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me when the proposed work is completed satisfactorily.  After talking to the Quarter Moon representative I feel confident that this complaint will be resolved satisfactorily.


****** *********