Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Legend Plumbing Company?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Legend Plumbing Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Legend Plumbing Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Legend Plumbing Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1986 Business started: 09/01/1986 Business started locally: 09/01/1986 Business incorporated: 06/12/1989 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
12100 Park 35 Circle, Austin TX 78711
www.tceq.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 239-1000

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bret G Brown, President Renee M Brown, Vice-President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bret G Brown, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers Sewer Contractors Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Excavating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Legend Enterprises Inc Legend Plumbing Legend Plumbing & Rooter Legend Service Company Legend Services Rooter
Industry Tips
Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 542 N Ww White Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78219 (830) 303-3335 (210) 340-8700

  • PO Box 310

    Marion, TX 78124 (512) 346-3335 (877) 930-3335

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (830) 303-3335(Phone)
  • (830) 609-3335(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company sent out plumber to check septic system on first call due to stopped up commodes. He was unprepared on all counts, I had already snaked out pipes except for one and he used our equipment to finished the last one (10 minutes) and the blockage was taken care of or so we thought. He charged us $49.50 Response Fee and $140.00 Diagnostic Charge but did credit us $25.00 Total $164.50 for using our snake machine. He said, telling us about the blockage being at septic tank was evaluating and justified the $140.00 which I thought was excessive. He said we needed a clean-out put in and that it would cost $750.00, I said I'd wait. So when the same problem reoccurred last then 30 days I called them back on Aug. 1 and they sent the same person on Aug 4. Again he came unprepared and used our tools, shovels and pickax, and our latter. He did have a snake that was smaller then mine and used it to check out the breather pipes on the roof. My wife told him that I had already done them all so we both dug looking for the pipe around the septic tank till he found it. He said he need the pipe camera and that it would cost $300 more, I said ok but there weren't any available at his shop so he did without. He snaked it and the tip came out against the wall. He dug there and found the original clean-out where the pipe had broken off at the the joint, this had caused the blockage of all 3 commodes, he cut the pipe but left it there cause he still hadn't dug out the dirt along the length of the pipe (about 5' left) the pipe was about 10' total from wall to septic tank. He then proceeded to install the new clean-out near the septic tank and said that to replace the pipe to the wall would cost an additional $600. This would be digging out about 5' of dirt and joining 3" PVC pipe to the original pipe on both ends. At this point I told him to finish the clean-out and that I would finish the installation myself. This I did and I also had to redo the cap to his clean-out because his was to far above the ground. This with a trip to ***** cost me $40 and my time and labor, about 4 hrs. I don't understand how this company can profess to do a professional job and not have the tools at arrival and charge as you go. People should be made aware of their methods.

Desired Settlement: I care more about their methods as wanting a bill adjustment. An explanation and an honest justification for their charging as you go would be nice.

Business Response: Mr, *****

Thank you for your concerns and we appreciate your business. We sent a second technician out to the job site to assist *** and we would have been happy to complete the task for you, however you requested to finish the work yourself.
We are sorry about your system having so many issues.

Please see attached invoices for customer satisfaction signatures on for both visits.


Thank You,

**** ****** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

 
I'm amazed that Legend Plumbing & Rooter didn't address their lack of preparedness (lack of tools and borrowing ours and asking to use our latter on his second visit and still not having the correct tools), exorbitant prices ($600 for finishing digging out pipe & replacing it, $140 for diagnostic charge on the first visit), the use of a camera for $300 in addition to the $750 for the clean-out, not to mention any of the parts needed.  The second technician sent out was a helper that said he only brought out the parts he was told to and did as he was told to in reply to my wife's complaint as to their unpreparedness.
 
Our system didn't have many issues as this company claims, just the one, finding the pipe and installing the clean-out after eliminating all causes for the stoppage which he did on his first visit according to his own paper work (stoppage between the house and the septic tank, hance the need for a clean-out).  For a company that's suppose to have been in business for so long you would think that they would have figured out that clean-outs are put right next to the house (where the original one was found which the tech didn't mention on his report and that's where the separation of the pipe was).  He install his clean-out right by the septic tank sticking up above groung where it could easily be broken, hence me having to redo the cap as I stated in my initial complain.  Finding the pipe should have been a minor problem for a qualified technician but it took a half day to find it.  For this reasons I decided to finish the job myself, of course they would have been happy to complete the task for an extra $600 dollars.
 
An explanation and an honest justification for their methods and charging would have been nice, but instead chose to ignore it.  My complaints stand on their own merit.
 
Regards,

**** *****

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Legend Plumbing out on 3/8/14 to unclog a toilet. Service person showed up and gave my wife a verbal estimate of $49.50 to unclog toilet or $150 if he had to use the "machine". No written estimate provided. He could not unclog the toilet with the hand snake, so he opted to use the "machine". He removed the toilet, ran the machine snake down the line a couple times and replaced the seal and toilet. The he said we owed him $675.51. He had given no indication that the estimate was false nor at any time did he inform us that the bill was increasing. He spent about 2 hours at the house albeit most of the time talking. His breakdown on the bill: $49.50 to show up, $195.50 to pull and reset toilet, $139.50 to run the machine, $250.95 for the 'use' of the machine, $38.00 for additive solution, $2.06 tax. Oh and he gave a "discount" of $30.00 when my wife found a coupon in the phone book. $645.51 final bill.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor their original verbal estimate of $150.00 plus the additive solution $38.00 which I agreed to for a total of $188.00 and refund $457.51 to me.

Business Response:  
 Mr ****

  Thank you for bring this to our attention we have discussed this by phone and I agreed to adjust your bill once your check cleared the bank.  Your job was a lot of work and I am sorry if there was any communication break down.  I reviewed the bill and it was correct for the amount of work done at your home. For customer satisfaction we will credit you back 139.50 and the 38.00 for additive.  Let me know if you will except this and I will forward you a check back  as a token of our customer service  Thank  *

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ****

Business Response: We agreed to the refund and it takes 60 days to process back to the customer, I will try to help speed this up a bit. Thanks ****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Legend Plumbing did not act in good faith. It didn't take me 60 days to pay you. Upon further review and consultation with other contractors, I categorically reject this settlement and am opening this claim again.

Regards,

*** ****

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Legend Plumbing for septic tank pumping and stated they could send a truck out the same day. Instead of sending a septic pump truck they sent a plumber. The plumber looked at the system, after, touched the electrical wires with a tester and stated the pump and the aerator needs replacing. I knew the pump was broken, this is why I called for septic pumping prior to replacing the pump. After a few minutes of calculations the plumber came up with a cost of over $1,800 of work needed which did not include pumping. This service was declined and the plumber tried to sale a rebuilt aerator for less and later even called back to try to sell a cheaper pump. Next I was hit up for $250 dollars. $49.50 for a response fee and $175 dollar diagnostic charge. Remember, I knew the pump was broken, I called to have my septic tank pumped in order to correctly replace the pump in an ideal condition the following Monday. I understand the response fee, however I did not call for a plumber, I called to have my septic tank pumped. I paid the requested amount but received no benefit from this company. After calling another septic company I was informed that the aerator automatically turns off in high water conditions and to replace the pump would be about $500.

Desired Settlement: The response fee and the diagnostic fees should be refunded. I called for a septic pump tank and they sent a plumber. I already knew the septic tank pump was not functioning.

Business Response: There are 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: They have not even completed a sentence in their response.

Regards,

******* ****

Business Response: I agree with the customer and once there check clears the bank I will refund them all the funds with exception of 50.00.  I know there is two sides to this Story but to us the customer is the most important. Sorry my first reply slipped on my ****. Thank you for your consideration ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ****

8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service