Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Immediate Response Plumbing & Rooter Service

Phone: (210) 599-3500 Fax: (210) 494-1871 View Additional Phone Numbers 13106 Lookout Rdg, San Antonio, TX 78233 http://www.irplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Immediate Response Plumbing & Rooter Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Immediate Response Plumbing & Rooter Service include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Immediate Response Plumbing & Rooter Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Immediate Response Plumbing & Rooter Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 16, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2003 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated 05/16/2003 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Bruccola, President Ms. Jackilene Beaman, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Bruccola, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Pipe Inspection

Alternate Business Names
Immediate Response Plumbing & Rooter Service, Inc
Industry Tips
Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 13106 Lookout Rdg

    San Antonio, TX 78233 (210) 496-6900 (210) 429-7288

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two technicians (one a helper) showed up, made a cursory examination of the plumbing problem and declined to do the work because: 1) The water would have to be turned off--very expectable as the problem is a bathtub supply valve, and 2) "something might get broken and then the company would be liable." Absolutely refused to discuss any further evaluation of the work or the course of action needed. Unfriendly, uncommunicative and unprofessional. I told them to leave and called the company. I was told they were sorry for my experience and that the owner would be told. I told them I intended to complain to the owner, the BBB and their website review. No response.

Desired Settlement: A letter of apology from the OWNER of this business.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ***,

As per your request I would like to apologize for any inconvenience or lack of communication on the part of our technician on the recent visit to your home. 

After speaking  with the technician I believe he was trying to let you know that due to well situation he did not have the "well" operation experience to shut the water on or off.  Also, he felt that due to the condition of the tub valve that a replacement was a better option than trying to repair. 

I regret that your experience with our company was not positive.  I appreciate the comments and concerns and will use them to better serve our customers in the future.

Sincerely,

****** ** *********  *** ** ******** * *****
Immediate Response Plumbing & Rooter Service, Inc.

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My home warranty company American Home Shield sent Immediate Response out to do work on my water heater. (water heater was installed by Immediate Response & still convered under warranty) Originally a couple days previous, AHS had sent another plumbing company out , BASIN PLUMBING, who said the water heater had failed…the tank was leaking and had filled the pan. He turned it off so it would not cause additional problems such as leaking onto my ceiling… The workman from Basin Plumbing, who actually is the owner of the company, said the water heater should still be under warranty and the company who installed it should be the one doing the work. The access to the water heater is in the attic and requires additional installation work, so he felt the call should go back to that company…which is Immediate Response. I'm stating all this so you will understand why there are two companies involved. The workman from Immediate Response went up in my attic and said he could not get the water heater to come on because I had a bad rodent problem and one had chewed through the wire and he could not ignite the water heater. I went up in the attic with him and said that was not correct. I DO NOT have a rodent problem…the traps up there are old…AND THERE WERE NO RODENT DROPPINGS!!!! I pointed that out to him and he ignored it. I asked him to show me the "chewed up wire" and it had what looked like a little scrape on the side that did NOT even go through to the wire----NO BARE WIRE exposed!!!! I told that if he told AHS that it was due to a "rodent problem''' ----a NON-EXISTANT rodent problem---they would not cover my water heater. His comment to me was "He could not lie for a customer!!" I argued that what he was saying was false…..there was NOTHING to substantiate his claim ---IT WAS FALSE!!! He went directly to his truck to call AHS…and before he could even get to the door, they were on line calling me saying that "DUE TO MY SEVERE RODENT PROBLEM THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE WATER HEATER OR ANY PART OF THE REPAIR!!" I explained that his statement was false, but they maintained "Why would he lie???" That evening I had a friend who is an engineering executive with Valero Energy company come over as a courtesy to go up and look at the problem. While up there we called AHS and he stated emphatically that FIRST….the wire had not been "chewed"…that there were no TEETH MARKS…rather a slight scrape on the side…BUT IT DID NOT BREAK THE COVERING TO THE WIRE SO THE WIRE WAS NOT EXPOSED THEREFOR IT DID NOT EFFECT THE CONDUCTIVITY!!!!!! The next day I called the first company, BASIN PLUMBING, and they stated that they were the FIRST ones to go into the attic and that THERE WAS NOT A RODENT PROBLEM AND THAT IT WAS A RIDICULOUS ASSUMPTION THAT A MOUSE CHEWING THE WIRE CAUSED MY WATER HEATER TO FAIL. I next called another reputable company, *********, to come out and look. They said the same thing…basically that the guy was incompetent who said it failed due to a chewed wire!!! They actually told me how to file a complaint with the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners. Said people like that give plumbers a bad rap. I started to file a complaint with them and with BBB the next day….and to write a scathing review on the web the next day. Instead, I did what I felt was above and beyond my duty….and drove out to their office with was a 45 minute drive to try to resolve in person. The response from their office manager was frosty…..she kept saying that it was not possible…..that their was not reason for their guy to lie. She was extremely defensive….she called the tech and I could tell she was upset because even though he supposedly based his report on the "rodent problem " he did NOT take picture of rodent evidence OR of the CHEWED Wire LIke THEY ARE REQUIRED or supposed TO DO!!!!!!! She finally agreed to send out a supervisor the next morning. I kept asking to speak with the owner…but she would not let me. The next day the supervisor came out and AGREED WITH ME. He said he would talk with the owner and get back with me about correcting the situation. I did not hear anything for a week so I called and requested very very strongly, but politely, that I SPEAK with the owner of the company. AT THAT POINT I TRULY FELT HE OWED IT TO ME TO HANDLE THIS HIMSELF. Instead, the same office manager called and said that the father of the supervisor who came out here the previous week had passed away and she would get back to me on Monday…our conversation was taking place on a Friday. A WEEK AGO last Friday, November 7……I STILL HAVE NOT HEARD BACK FROM THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am so angry I could scream. I don't have the water heater….I can not get any response from them….AND AND AND Now I have two problems……not only do I not have my water heater….I received a letter from AHS warranty company stating that '"DUE TO MY RODENT PROBLEM" THEY WOULD NOT COVER MY WATER HEATER OR ANY CONNECTED PROBLEMS….this is in my permanent record at AHS and ANY PROBLEM with ANYTHING in my attic such as HVAC, etc. they will no always fall back to my NON-EXISTANT LIED ABOUT FICTIONAL RODENT INFESTATION!!!!!!!! Not only has IMMEDIATE Response caused me a problem with my water heater…..but UNTOLD FUTURE PROBLEMS with future repairs to other systems in my home!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I need them to come replace my water heater and cover ALL COSTS of installation. AND I NEED THEM TO WRITE A LETTER TO AHS STATING THAT THEIR TECHNICIAN GAVE AN INCORRECT STATEMENT ABOUT THE CAUSE OF MY PROBLEM--WHY THE WATER HEATER FAILD----AND----AND---THAT I DO NOT HAVE A RODENT INFESTATION!!!!!!!!! I NEED THEM TO RETRACT THE ERRONEOUS STATMENT…… and I would like an apology from the owner of the company

Desired Settlement: As stated above, I want my water heater replaced with NO additional cost to me! I want them to write a letter to AHS stating that their their technician's statement was incorrect about the cause of my problem--about why the water heater failed. I need them the retract their statement that I have a rodent infestation that caused the problem. I want them the tell AHS that NONE of that was true. I want that OFF MY RECORD!!!!!! And I want the owner of the company to send me a letter stating that it has been taken care of.

Business Response: Our company was dispatched to the home per the request of American Home Shield to perform a "second opinion" on a water heater in an attic space.  Upon arrival our plumber found a defect on a water heater wire consistent to a rodent chew.  American Home Shield required our plumber to call in for authorization.  American Home Shield denied coverage and our plumber left the home. 

Consumer Response:

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Apparently the owner of Immediate Response has not even bothered to speak with his own Service Supervisor regarding his findings.  The supervisor was sent out the day after I went in person to their offices to try to resolve the matter.  On his visit to inspect my water heater, Ralph, the supervisor, did NOT find any evidence of a rodent infestation OR ANY CHEW MARKS on the wire!  He found nothing to support the technicians claim that started all this problem!  
Therefore, I cannot NOT accept Mr. *******'s response…as it is NOT an INFORMED response based on the evidence available to him.  This lack of concern about a claim against his company can only lead to more incompetence on the part of his company.

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: In response to the latest correspondence, we stand behind the findings of our first technician.  The electrical wire on the water heater is defective and is consistant with rodent chews as previously stated.  Our service supervisor did detect a defect in the wire during his inspection.  As previously mentioned we were simply sent out be American Home Shield to do a "second opinion" and that is what was done with our findings reported to AHS.  AHS has the final decision on all "second opinion" dispatches.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

NO, I do NOT accept this response…but I'm not sure if there is anything else I can do other than let it be known that this is NOT a company that anyone should deal with…..especially if the owner….who NEVER came out here….NEVER would speak with me…..and DID NOT LISTEN TO HIS OWN SERVICE MANAGER'S OPINION…based his opinion on a technician who DID NOT FOLLOW THEIR COMPANIES policy of taking photos to document his "findings…"   

It is obvious that the owner does not care about the reputation of his company.   

I hope my complaint will stay in their file.  I don't have any idea how this works, but will be very disillusioned with BBB if this is not at least kept where other potential customers can read about Immediate Response. 

Thank you, 

 ***** ********

###-###-####

I meant to add that the reason I feel I am so correct is that I had 5 other service technicians look at the wire and NONE thought it was consistent with a rodent chew!!!  Matter fact they all laughed at the thought….including Immediate Responses own service manager!!!  

And I have pushed this point because his report went into my file at American Home Shield and has caused me a huge problem. 

I would think the owner would want to find out if his technician was correct…or just plan ignorant!!!!   

So to just clarify …..I DO NOT accept their response.

 

Thank you for you help, 

***** ******** 

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Immediate Response Plumbing was referred to us by our Home owners insurance company American Home Shild to replace our garbage disposal in September 2014. Three months after installation we discovered that the disposal has been leaking over time which caused secondary water and mold damage to the cabinet area under the kitchen sink and corrosion to the garage disposal. We reported the issue to American Home Shild, whom called immediate Response out once again to repair. The Immediate Response technician ***** informed us that the disposal was leaking due to missing parts and he proceeded complete the repair by adding the missing screws and taking photos of the work and damages. When we informed Immediate Response about the repairs of the secondary damages, their response was to send someone out to apply treatment for the mold only and they have continued to deny the responsibility of repairing the water damages. Repair reqest from myself as dissatisfied consumer and upon the request from American Home Shild was denied by Immediate Response Plumbing on December 31, 2014.

Desired Settlement: We desire to have Immediate Response Plumbing company to accept full responsibility for their faulty installation of the work they initially provided. We are requesting that Immediate Response Plumbing replace the current corroded garbage disposal with a new disposal with proper installation. We are also requesting that Immediate Response Plumbing to repair secondary water damage caused to the cabinet area under the kitchen sink.

Business Response:

We have contacted the consumer and arranged for a restoration company to remove, replace and repair items with secondary water damage.  That company has already met with her and after speaking to the consumer she is satisfied with the resolution.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The company has responded to my request of repairing the secondary water damages only.   However, the issue has yet to be resolved and the work has not been completed. 

Regards,

******* *******

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have a home warranty thru *** they reccomended immediate response plumbing to come an replace our water heater. They came out on Friday late afternoon an accessed the situation. Upon there inspection we were told water heater neede to be replaced an *** would cover that. (***. Is our home warranty company) they then proceeded to inform us that it needed to be brought up to city code. Which we would have to pay for. I understood that an we agreed to that. They said they would return on Saturday 7-12-14 between 10 &2pm. This did not happen had to phone them to ask what was going on an when they might arrive was told they only had one crew on duty they would arrive when they were done with other job. I proceeded to ask why no courtesy an was treated rudely. One of the charges was a permit fee 100 dollars. The permit was not pulled an work completed with out. When I called to question that I was told they were doing me a favor an they could not pull it do to it being the weekend. I proceeded to call city they told me said permit was applied for after I spoke to company an it was done on line. They also said they could of obtained on weekend thru same on line website. I ask about inspection they said I needed to schedule that myself. The city informed me they should have done this. I ask company back for permit charge of 100 dollars an was told for what. I proceeded to say because you all did not file protocol. It could be easily an amacabily if the would do this. Thank You

Desired Settlement: Receive permit fee back.

Business Response: We kindly replaced this water heater on the weekend and unfortunately the person who obtains permits does not work on Saturday. The permit was obtained from the City of San Antonio on Monday morning.  We regret that the owner of the home is unhappy with the situation.  We normally do not replace water heaters on the weekend but she explained that she and her family could not wait until Monday, so as a courtesy to the owner we got her unit replaced.  We will not be refunding the permit fee.  There has been no protocol issues violated except our company replacing the water heater on Saturday, but we thought we were helping.

Sincerely,

Immediate Response Plumbing Company Inc.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I sorry the business feels this way an the facts are somewhat misstated. When I talked to the city they said the permit could be obtained thru thru the weekend by applying on line the same way they obtained it on Monday. It is unfortunate that they conduct there business this way. As for as as the permit refund goes they can keep it. It was the principal of the issues at hand which they refuse to see the whole picture. 

Regards,

******* *****   Oh yes I forgot to mention they did no favor for us we paid for the service are lack there of.

10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service