Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AAA AUGER Plumbing Services

Find a Location

Phone: (210) 341-6124 Fax: (210) 678-9118 View Additional Phone Numbers 450 Pinn Rd, San Antonio, TX 78227 http://www.aaa-auger.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAA AUGER Plumbing Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for AAA AUGER Plumbing Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on AAA AUGER Plumbing Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1963 Business started: 01/01/1962 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1962 Business incorporated 10/14/2005 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kent Wahl, COO Mr. Frank Canonico , Business Manager Mr. David Cross, President Mr. Ray Hall, Manager Mr. Bill Stakes, Quality Control Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kent Wahl, COO
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Water Heaters - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
AAA Auger AAA Auger Plumbing Company AAA Auger Repair Service AAA Auger Sewer Service Augerman Inc
Industry Tips
Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AAA AUGER Plumbing Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 13, 2016 I phoned AAA Auger Plumbing Services about a leaking pipe in our attic. I spoke with the receptionist who proceeded to take my information and said she would dispatch a plumber. Within 30 - 45 minutes, a plumber named (*) arrived at my home. My home is 2 stories, and we have 2 separate areas to access our attic. I took (*) to the walk in section of the attic, since it was closer to the leak. He climbed the ladder and I showed him where the leak was. I pointed out that we have 2 ways to access out attic space - 1) the walk in area with a ladder or 2) a pull down stairs at the other end of the hallway, if he preferred to access the attic that way. He said the walk in area with the ladder was fine. He immediately found the area of the leak. He said he would give me a price for the repair. We then went downstairs to our kitchen where he proceeded to figure out the cost. He told me the repair would be $577.50 or $772.00. It depended on what he found once he took the pipe apart. I was shocked at these prices. We have had 2 other leaks in this same section of the attic and both bills were around $250.00 each. I asked (*) why these prices were so high. He told me that it was near an area that had three connections and would be a "tricky" repair. That was exactly how he explained the work to be completed. He said pipe was $15.00 per foot. At no point did he say this price included a $250.00 charge for restricted attic access. I explained I needed to call my husband. While I was calling my husband, (*) reminded me that the pipes could burst at anytime - then I would have a much bigger problem on my hands. My husband was in a meeting, so I was not able to partner with him before giving (*) the go ahead. While I was thinking about if I would get a second estimate, (*) then said he would give me discount and bring the price to $515.00, then reduced it again to $500.00. I told (*) to go ahead and fix it, but did not feel right about the pricing. of course I was thinking, the pipe could burst as (*) said. (*) went out to his truck to get the parts and then proceeded upstairs to do the repair. He was back downstairs in 15 minutes to report that the repair was complete! I was shocked that this expensive and "tricky" repair took so little time to fix. I knew at that point that I was a victim of price gouging. The next day my husband called the manager of the office, the manager (*) to ask for a breakdown of the $500 cost. (*) reported that (*) submitted had listed a $225.00 charge for restricted attic access. We immediately knew that we were victims of price gouging. On June 15, 2016 I called the office to speak to the manager (*) about the bill, especially the fact there was never any mention of the charge for restricted attic access. He was not in the office, but I left message asking for him to return my call. As of today, June 23, 2016 I have not received a call back from anyone from this company.

Desired Settlement: I expect this business provide us with a refund for $225.00. We do not have a restricted access to our attic. It is the standard attic that most Houston homes have. Even after I asked (*) to explain the high price - he never once mentioned there was $225.00 charge for restricted attic access. I also, told (*) we have a second attic access if he preferred, but he never even looked at it. He said the access he was using was fine. Also, for such a "tricky" job, as (*) called it - it only took him 15 minutes to repair the pipe and be back downstairs. There was only 39 inches of pipe replaced and 2 fittings. It doesn't appear to be as "tricky" a repair as (*) described. I would also like to point out that we used this company to perform a hydrostatic test earlier this year. We had a hydrostatic test done a couple of years ago and the process the first time took longer and the company we used needed access to inside the house. The test done by AAA Auger (again by (*)) was done in a much shorter amount of time and they never accessed the inside of the house. After 2 encounters with this company, I now have a lot of questions on how they are serving their clients.

Business Response:

AAA AUGER Plumbing Services sincerely apologizes for any misunderstanding we may have caused Ms ******.   Our Customer Service Creed states that our customer deserves prompt, consistent, and thorough communication. Our Creed also states that our customer deserve value for his/her money.    After carefully looking at this situation, i feel that we missed on both of those target goals.  We did not communication properly the full detail of the job and what it would cost the fix the plumbing issue and we also did not meet the target goal of proving value for our services.  

 

******* **** (Business Manager) gave Ms ****** a call to discuss the issue and apologized.  After speaking with her, he wrote her a refund check for $250.00 and delivered to her personally today.      

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

The Office Manager contacted me by phone and apologized for the way the technician handled the invoicing of the work the technician performed.  He explained the correct process, and admitted there were training opportunities with the technician that would be promptly addressed.    He refunded the disputed charges and even hand delivered the refund check to my home that day. 

I have worked in a customer service driven environment for many years and understand that training opportunities arise with employees often.  I feel confident AAA Auger took this complaint seriously and will work to ensure their technicians are properly trained in accordance with their company guidelines. 

I am happy with the outcome of my dispute and the professionalism of the Office Manager in handling this dispute.  I would not hesitate to call AAA Auger for any future plumbing needs.

Regards,

***** ******

5/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: aaa auger turned off the water to the house at the street and then turned it back on too quickly causing the pressure to blow our water softener. from there they pushed the water softener resin through our pipes which clogged the pipes. we have had two other plumbers confirm this and aaa auger said they would fix the issues they called. they came out again today and tried to charge for the work to fix the issues they caused. very questionable ethics and very poor work product which significantly ruined our plumbing. i am not saying they are crooks but i am not saying they are ethical either.

Desired Settlement: they need to replace the water softener, get the resin out of the pipes, clean out the hot water heaters, and appologize for poor workmanship and unethical behaviour after saying they would fix it (which is the only reason we let them back in the house) for free given they caused the issues.

Business Response:

Consumer Info:                                                                                                   March 2, 2016

*** ***** *****                                                                                                    Case # ********

** ****** ***** *** ******** *** *****

 

To:  Better Business Bureau

*****  ****** * ***** ******

 

 

On Monday, February 22nd, 2016 **** ******* ***** approached one of our plumbers (AAA AUGER) *** ***** ********z (J-35776) while he was working at a neighbor’s home.  She stated that she had a water leak at her home and if he would come over and shut off the water to her home.  *** ********* was happy and kind enough to oblige **** ******* request. 

 

AAA AUGER sent another plumber *** **** ******* *J-43672), to asses and fix **** ******* water leak.   When *** ******* arrived, the water to home was still shut off.  He turned water on and was able to identify leak on water heater expansion tank.  *** ******* turned the water back off and installed ¾ iron pipe plug in place of the thermal expansion tank to stop water damage until a permanent repair could be made. He gave **** ***** up front charges for the repair and price was agreed upon.  *** ******* returned the following day (Tuesday, Feb 23rd) and replaced both faulty expansion tanks.  He tested the home’s water pressure.  It tested at 85 PSI and Plumber adjusted the pressure reducing valve to 80 PSI as per plumbing code.  He pressurized the expansion tank bladder to 85 PSI.  He turned off the water to the water heaters at water heater inlet shut off valve and depressurized the tanks by opening temperature / pressure relief valve He replaced the expansion tank and determined that second expansion tank was also faulty and not working properly.  He replaced second tank as well. 

 

After repairs to expansion tanks were done *** ******* ask **** ***** if there was any additional work that she would like him to address.  She said that she had a leak under the hall bath lavatory sink, but she informed *** ******* that she was having her warranty plumbing company come out and look at it.  *** ******* said he would gladly take a look at the leaking lavatory and let **** ***** know what needed to be done.  While testing hot water at sink, the water turned a reddish color and lost pressure. He then checked Powder room lavatory faucet and found similar results.  He disconnected the supply line and determined obstruction was in the piping, and not the fixture.  At this time *** ******* was still unclear of what the reddish discharge was.  He would later realize that it was media (resin) coming from **** ******* ruptured water softener.

 

*** ******* checked all fixture and found that affected lavatories were hall bath, kitchen sink, powder room and daughter’s bathroom.  At this time *** ******* started the process of blowing the obstructions from the lines.  At **** ***** instruction *** ******* was to return to complete work clearing lines on Thursday, Feb. 25th.

 

On Thursday, Feb. 25th **** ***** called to inform AAA AUGER that she had a second opinion from “Second Opinion Plumbing”.  According to her they stated that we caused the softener media (resin) by turning the water on incorrectly.

 

AAA AUGER sent out Jaime Smith (M-38142) to help access her plumbing issue. Upon arrival **** ***** requested that he replace the faulty water softener and flush out the resin from the lines and she should not be charged for the work. 

 

*** ***** explained to **** ***** that the water softener did not fail due to our first plumbers (*** *******) work, but was caused by an over pressure situation that resulted from thermal expansion.  **** ***** did not except *** *****’s diagnoses and felt that the problem occurred when *** ******* repaired her faulty thermal expansion tanks.  **** ***** stated again that she had two other plumbing companies’ opinions that AAA AUGER caused the issue by turning on the water to fast and caused the resin tank to burst and or rupture sending resin beads into the system.  **** ***** was unwilling to except *** *****’s explanation of what actually caused the water softener failure.

 

AAA AUGER’s diagnosis was that from the facts available, when the expansion tanks failed (one was leaking from the top of the top of the expansion tank, indicating that there was no air in the tank) the plumbing system no longer had any protection against thermal expansion and an over pressure situation existed in the cold loop from the water softener to the cold supply on the water heaters.  The system was now a closed system because a PRV (Pressure Reducing Valve) existed in the domestic waterline at the meter (some water softeners can also close the system, depending upon the type of valves installed by the manufacturer). This over pressure situation damaged the water softener and caused it to fail.

 

AAA AUGER has given **** ***** options and pricing to correct the problem and she declined.

 

I contacted **** ***** via phone and she was not interested in talking to me regarding the situation.

 

 

Thank you for your help regarding this matter,

 

**** ****

COO

AAA AUGER

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We apologize for not responding earlier, but we were out of town the past two weeks and the request must have been lost in our email system as we do not recall seeing it.

That said, we completely disagree with the incomplete and inaccurate account presented by AAA Auger.  Many of the facts are there, but the simple fact is that AAA Auger caused the issue by not pressurizing the system correctly and it occurred exactly when they were working on the system with no previous issues ever encountered prior to their work.

We are most certainly not satisfied with the way they want to charge us to fix the system and we will never be as we have already hired another reputable plumber to fix the issues their apparently less than competent plumbers created.  Not only did they create the issue, they did not even have a clue what the issue was after the fact.  The plumber we used to fix it knew within 2 minutes of entering our house, simply by looking at what was coming out of the hot water pipes.

AAA Auger has cost us a bunch of time and money.  Yes, they did come over quickly to turn off the water at the street and we appreciate that part, but everything after that point was a horrible experience where they caused more issues than they could resolve which has cost us greatly to replace two water heaters which were ruined by their actions as well as the water softener.  Please keep in mind the house is only 4 years old, so their claim that the equipment was faulty is also just a diversionary tactic to not stand up for the errors they caused.

Please contact me at ************ if you have any further questions.

Thank you,

***** *****

Business Response:

Consumer Info:                                                                                                                April 5, 2016

*** ***** *****                                                                                                                   Case # ********

*** ******** *** *****

 

To:  Better Business Bureau

AAA AUGER encouraged Mr. and **** ***** to contact the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners, which they have done.  A board inspector has contacted us and they will thoroughly investigate the situation and report their findings.  As we have stated there is nothing that we could have done to cause the problems that occurred.  Regardless, we look forward to getting this resolved.  We never shirk our responsibility and should the TSBPE find that we caused any of your other issues, we will certainly and happily make you whole.

**** ****   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It is unfortunate that aaa auger has failed to apologize for the disservice and disrespect shown to my wife and we completely reject their premise that they did not cause the issue through the actions of their employees.  We have indeed contacted the Texas State Board of Plumbing and, along with that, we have no choice but to continue to let our issues become known with others in our community and throughout the real estate industry so that others don't have the same experience.  Their claims of not being responsible, as well as, the way they rejected the promises made to my wife (both to fix the issue and to not bring to our house the original plumber who's actions caused the major issue that we had to later pay to fix with a plumber who understood what had happened) were less than admirable for a company claiming to provide good customer service.

We thank the BBB for being in the business of resolution and for the service it provides to future potential victims so that they are not placed in the same positions as those who were harmed previously.  At this point we can see that aaa auger will do whatever it can to redirect blame for destroying a 4 year old water softener and two 4 year old water heaters, while also seriously impacting the entire plumbing system of our home.  While we would like them to take responsibility to fix the issues, getting the word out to others through sources such as the BBB may be our only recourse at this time.  We would ask that the BBB notifies us if aaa auger continues to make their flawed claims and we would further ask that the BBB lets us know if any legal recourse would undo the complaint we have made, and will continue to make, to the BBB as we cannot allow others to be drawn into this same type of reckless behavior and costly results.

Regards,

***** *****

9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAA Auger sent plumber to my house to unstop master bath toilet. He was here 3 hours. He filled clothes washer with water. Went up on the roof, on the kitchen side of the house, not master bathroom side vent where his field manager later said he should have been. He ran the auger for an hour at least. He starts to empty the washer and black water came up in the toilet and spilt all over bathroom floor and also came up in the bathtub. Of course it stunk. He did not have a helper so he told me to stop the washer. "Why would you do that", I said. He responded, "That is just an easy way to check and see if the drain has cleared" He left filthy water setting there for over an hour to soak up into my walls and floor and bathroom cabinet. My kitchen cabinet (located one foot below the ceiling and directly below where the auger was running started to fall off the wall. Dishes came crashing out on the counter top and then to the floor. Counter top was chipped and has many small pieces of glass embedded in it. I had to pay a carpenter to rehang the cabinet. I lost $250.00 worth of dishes. I have no idea what it will cost to replace the countertop or the flooring. The plumber walked all over the glass on the floor to stop the cabinet from falling any further. This company advertises to be insured but will not tell me who they are insured with.

Desired Settlement: I want their insurance company or them to pay for my damages

Business Response: We were called out to *** ********* residence on 8/23/2015.  The problem observed was that the master bathroom backs up when water is ran through the kitchen sink drain.  Our technician proposed to run a cable down the kitchen sink vent and quoted *** ******* a price of $ 257.50 to do so which she agreed to.  When that did not work, he ran his cable down the master bathroom but was still unable to clear the stoppage.  He then ran his cable from a clean-out back underneath the home and was able to clear the line.  He discounted his invoice from $ 257.50 to $ 167.50 which is our discounted price for running a sewer machine through a clean-out.  It is true that water came up in the toilet and went all over the bathroom while our technician was having the washing machine run to see if the drain had cleared.  *** ******* fails to mention that AAA AUGER had *********** ****** **** come out to her house and sanitized the area with Micro ban that got water on it as well as leave a fan in the bathroom for a day to insure that it was dried out.  He used a moisture monitor to show that the moisture readings were within normal levels and that it would be impossible for any microbial growth to form and multiply in those current conditions.  The fact that the master bathroom was backing up anytime water was ran through the kitchen sink makes the kitchen a logical area to start running our equipment.  Please also keep in mind that the cable of the sewer machine is designed to be ran down a sewer vent/sewer line so we were using the correct piece of equipment in the correct capacity.  The vibrations that are created from running a 3/8" cable are fairly minimal and it is our opinion that if that is all that it took to knock over a cabinet then that cabinet was destined to fall and cannot see anything we could have done to have prevented it from happening.  It should be noted that there was no damage to anything around the cabinet(sheet-rock, paint, ceiling)which would also indicate that any vibrations from our machine were minimal at best.  In my conversation with *** ******* on 9/8/2015 I did tell her that I would be willing to try to come up with some kind of compromise with her on the cabinets in the vein of trying to help her out.  She stated that she felt she was compromising but not asking us to pay for her plates, floor, or counter-top.  She did provide us with a hand written receipt for $ ****** to remove the microwave and cabinet, rebuild the cabinet, and reinstall her microwave.  This is the only document we have received that has any kind of dollar amount on it at all so I am unclear where her $ ******** figure comes from.  I have attached a copy of the certificate of completion that she signed verifying that the water damage services in her bathroom that was provided by *********** ****** **** was completed to her satisfaction.  It is our opinion that although the cabinet fell over while we were at her house, it was not due to negligence or recklessness and that the age of the cabinet combined with the weight of the items on the cabinet is what ultimately contributed to it falling over(I have attached a picture of the cabinet as well).  If it is *** ********* feeling that she received no value from our visit to her home(even though we did ultimately unstop her drain and left her a 90 day warranty should it stop up again) I would be willing to refund her the $ ****** she paid us.  I also explained to *** ******* that this would not be an instance where our insurance company would have involvement due to the dollar amount being lower than our deductible.  If she feels that we are at fault I urged her to contact her homeowner's insurance company and file a claim.  If they were to find us at fault(which I can't see being the case)they would eventually come after AAA AUGER for the cost.


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


This service call had NOTHING to do with my kitchen.  The plumber thought that when he came in but I told him NO! It was only that the master bath toilet was filling to the top and I did not want it to overflow as it had done before when drain needed clearing. He said the girl at his office told him wrong. So there was NO reason for him to go up on the roof to the kitchen side drain. Other plumbers have told me the same thing. 

I did not mention Carpet Care man because he got here after sewage water had soaked into my walls and bathroom cabinet, been wiped up and dried. So sewage water dried into these items.

As to the kitchen cabinet being destined to fall.  We are all destined to die but no one has the right to do anything to hurry that up either.

I told **** that I had contacted my homeowners insurance before I called him. They told me it was not covered because it was AAA responsibility for the damage. I asked AAA for their insurance company and he would not give it to me. It is up to his insurance co. to say if they would cover damages. The ***** is an estimate. I will not know correct amount until I talk to his insurance co.



***** *******

Business Response: We run sewer machines down thousands of lines a year and have never seen an instance where the vibrations have knocked anything off a wall.  Our technician did act appropriately as far as what openings he ran his equipment through.  When water was ran through the kitchen sink/washing machine it backed up in the bathroom.  This is proved by the fact that when we ran the washing machine through a spin cycle to see if we had cleared the drain, it backed up in the bathroom which lead to us having the carpet cleaning company come out to clean it up.  At this point just to get this issue resolved I would be willing to do one of two things.  As an act of good will/customer service I would be willing to cut *** ******* a check for $ ****** that should could apply towards what she paid for her cabinets.  This is not an admission of guilt as AAA AUGER is adamant that there was no negligence or errors made on our end to cause the cabinet to fall.  If *** ******* rejects this offer then I will be more than happy to furnish her a copy of our general liability insurance.  She should understand that we are not authorizing a claim to be made on our insurance, rather, simply fulfilling her request for a copy of the information. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I will take the information for their liability insurance. But it is up to the insurance company if they pay or not. It is not up to the company. If the insurance co. does not accept the claim then we will still have a problem. 

Regards,

***** *******

11/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAA Auger was called through the manufacturer ******** *****, to service my water heater. The water heater is under warranty. Once AAA got to my house and diagnosed the problem the service person, Jayson, quoted me a labor charge of $387. Since the wh is under warranty, all costs are coverd by ******** *****. I did not continue with AAA to fix the wh. The next day I called ******** ***** to clarify what is covered under warranty and the warranty dept. said all costs are covered. I should NOT be charged an additional labor fee. AAA gets paid by ******** *****. This is obvious a very unethical business practice by AAA Auger. I don't know if it is illegal but certainly unethical! I wanted to report this place of business for others to be aware of.

Business Response: There seems to be an initial error in procedures from our side that does not involve any actual intentional unethical practices, . The plumber's invoice
did not include any reference to ******** ***** which would have instructed him to exclude any charges to the resident. Please see
attached copy of invoice. Certainly, AAA AUGER would not require any payment from the resident if we would be charging ******** *****.
I truly wish Ms. ******** would have called us the day we were out there (Monday 10/20) and we could have avoided any incident. I did receive a call from
Ms. ******** on Friday, 10/24  and returned her call  at 3:00 PM. that same day. We unfortunately never spoke.
I can only apologize that we made a mistake, but please know we had  no intent to take advantage of Ms. ********. We haven't been in business over 50 years
by practicing unethical methods of making money.

***** ********
******** *******   

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The explanation does NOT explain why I would have been charged such an incredible labor fee if the work completed. It is a water heater,not a car!  The fact is the technician wrote an invoice with the amount of $387.50.  That means I would be obligated to pay that amount after work was completed on the water heater that was under warranty. ******** ***** warranty department stated to me that they pay the plumbing company for repairs, labor and all.  The consumer is not to pay anything out of pocket.  You can't tell me your business practice, in this case, was not unethical!

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: Once again, Ms. ******** responded before talking with me. We finally did speak, but not until she responded twice here in writing.

 Here is her second response:


"I am rejecting this response because:

The explanation does NOT explain why I would have been charged such an incredible labor fee if the work completed. It is a water heater,not a car!  The fact is the technician wrote an invoice with the amount of $387.50.  That means I would be obligated to pay that amount after work was completed on the water heater that was under warranty. ******** ***** warranty department stated to me that they pay the plumbing company for repairs, labor and all.  The consumer is not to pay anything out of pocket.  You can't tell me your business practice, in this case, was not unethical!

Regards,

***** ******** "

When Ms. ******** and I did speak, I told her that there was a mistake on our part, that we incorrectly left out ******** ***** as the customer, and that would have precluded her from any charges, since we do their warranty work. Now that I see her second response, I would like to further clear things up. First of all: AAA AUGER goes to a service call, at no charge, evaluate the situation and then provide upfront charges to the customer.
Once Authorized to start by having the customer sign our upfront charges, our plumber begins the work. Since Ms. ******** did not wish to begin the work, our plumber left. No money exchanged hands. That's the
procedure we've used for over fifty years. As for the remarks about the "incredible labor fees", AAA AUGER has a pricing menu based on market analysis of competitive pricing, parts, labor, insurance, etc. - the price of doing business. We believe our pricing is fair and competitive. We employ licensed plumbers who have spent thousands of hours developing their trade. That's why we have no service charge - basically a customer can call us to find out what's wrong with their plumbing, and get a "free estimate" on what the repair is, dismiss us, and then call another company to shop our price. To be fair, if Ms. ******** has a problem with what we charge, I suggest she call another company to see what they charge. We're all governed by the TSBPE. That entity would know if we are being unethical. But the bottom line here is that we made an honest error, no money exchanged hands and we didn't take advantage of her.                

***** ********              
Business Manager

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked for an itemized statement and was told they charge by the job only.

Desired Settlement: I think the price is outrageous. New water heaters can be found much cheaper and also parts could be bought for less than $125.00. I can't understand why it cost me $582.75 to repair my water heater. When the repairman told me the cost, I was in a state of shock. When I asked if I could pay $100 and then arrange to pay the rest in 6 months he told me "This is a C.O.D. business I had been without hot water for 4 days and had tried to relight the pilot 2 times. I was REALLY IN NEED of hot water. What I don't need is ever to call AAA Auger again. I am telling all my acquaintances about this experience. ******* ** *****

Business Response: We understand your frustration with not having water for 4 days. We were very happy taking care of the issues with your water heater. We did respond to your request for a plumber the day you called. We do send our plumbers to each address free of charge, we also give all pricing up front before any work is performed. When you agree to the charges and sign to have the work complete we then perform the repair. At that time the plumber would be happy to answer any questions you have about the cost or what the repair entails. 

We do not charge by the hour, we charge by the job which includes all labor and materials. Upon receiving the pricing you did sign for the work to be done. A 10% senior discount was also extended to you after you signed for the repair. After the repair was made you then signed having thoroughly inspected the work performed and verifying the completion in full.  If you have any questions about a breakdown the plumber or any of our managers would have gladly provided that for you.

Unfortunately we are unable to take payments for work performed unless you have an approved charge account.

We hope your issues have been addressed and if you have any further difficulties please do not hesitate calling us to assist you. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I am given no excuse for the excessively high cost.  I see no reason why a presumably honest company cannot provide a line item cost.

Regards,

******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on AAA AUGER Plumbing Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart