Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AAA AUGER Plumbing Services

Find a Location

Phone: (210) 341-6124 Fax: (210) 678-9118 View Additional Phone Numbers 450 Pinn Rd, San Antonio, TX 78227 http://www.aaa-auger.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAA AUGER Plumbing Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAA AUGER Plumbing Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on AAA AUGER Plumbing Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1963 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962 Business incorporated 10/14/2005 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kent Wahl, COO Mr. Frank Canonico , Business Manager Mr. David Cross, President Mr. Ray Hall, Manager Mr. Bill Stakes, Quality Control Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kent Wahl, COO
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Water Heaters - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
AAA Auger AAA Auger Plumbing Company AAA Auger Repair Service AAA Auger Sewer Service Augerman Inc
Industry Tips
Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AAA AUGER Plumbing Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAA Auger sent plumber to my house to unstop master bath toilet. He was here 3 hours. He filled clothes washer with water. Went up on the roof, on the kitchen side of the house, not master bathroom side vent where his field manager later said he should have been. He ran the auger for an hour at least. He starts to empty the washer and black water came up in the toilet and spilt all over bathroom floor and also came up in the bathtub. Of course it stunk. He did not have a helper so he told me to stop the washer. "Why would you do that", I said. He responded, "That is just an easy way to check and see if the drain has cleared" He left filthy water setting there for over an hour to soak up into my walls and floor and bathroom cabinet. My kitchen cabinet (located one foot below the ceiling and directly below where the auger was running started to fall off the wall. Dishes came crashing out on the counter top and then to the floor. Counter top was chipped and has many small pieces of glass embedded in it. I had to pay a carpenter to rehang the cabinet. I lost $250.00 worth of dishes. I have no idea what it will cost to replace the countertop or the flooring. The plumber walked all over the glass on the floor to stop the cabinet from falling any further. This company advertises to be insured but will not tell me who they are insured with.

Desired Settlement: I want their insurance company or them to pay for my damages

Business Response: We were called out to *** ********* residence on 8/23/2015.  The problem observed was that the master bathroom backs up when water is ran through the kitchen sink drain.  Our technician proposed to run a cable down the kitchen sink vent and quoted *** ******* a price of $ 257.50 to do so which she agreed to.  When that did not work, he ran his cable down the master bathroom but was still unable to clear the stoppage.  He then ran his cable from a clean-out back underneath the home and was able to clear the line.  He discounted his invoice from $ 257.50 to $ 167.50 which is our discounted price for running a sewer machine through a clean-out.  It is true that water came up in the toilet and went all over the bathroom while our technician was having the washing machine run to see if the drain had cleared.  *** ******* fails to mention that AAA AUGER had *********** ****** **** come out to her house and sanitized the area with Micro ban that got water on it as well as leave a fan in the bathroom for a day to insure that it was dried out.  He used a moisture monitor to show that the moisture readings were within normal levels and that it would be impossible for any microbial growth to form and multiply in those current conditions.  The fact that the master bathroom was backing up anytime water was ran through the kitchen sink makes the kitchen a logical area to start running our equipment.  Please also keep in mind that the cable of the sewer machine is designed to be ran down a sewer vent/sewer line so we were using the correct piece of equipment in the correct capacity.  The vibrations that are created from running a 3/8" cable are fairly minimal and it is our opinion that if that is all that it took to knock over a cabinet then that cabinet was destined to fall and cannot see anything we could have done to have prevented it from happening.  It should be noted that there was no damage to anything around the cabinet(sheet-rock, paint, ceiling)which would also indicate that any vibrations from our machine were minimal at best.  In my conversation with *** ******* on 9/8/2015 I did tell her that I would be willing to try to come up with some kind of compromise with her on the cabinets in the vein of trying to help her out.  She stated that she felt she was compromising but not asking us to pay for her plates, floor, or counter-top.  She did provide us with a hand written receipt for $ ****** to remove the microwave and cabinet, rebuild the cabinet, and reinstall her microwave.  This is the only document we have received that has any kind of dollar amount on it at all so I am unclear where her $ ******** figure comes from.  I have attached a copy of the certificate of completion that she signed verifying that the water damage services in her bathroom that was provided by *********** ****** **** was completed to her satisfaction.  It is our opinion that although the cabinet fell over while we were at her house, it was not due to negligence or recklessness and that the age of the cabinet combined with the weight of the items on the cabinet is what ultimately contributed to it falling over(I have attached a picture of the cabinet as well).  If it is *** ********* feeling that she received no value from our visit to her home(even though we did ultimately unstop her drain and left her a 90 day warranty should it stop up again) I would be willing to refund her the $ ****** she paid us.  I also explained to *** ******* that this would not be an instance where our insurance company would have involvement due to the dollar amount being lower than our deductible.  If she feels that we are at fault I urged her to contact her homeowner's insurance company and file a claim.  If they were to find us at fault(which I can't see being the case)they would eventually come after AAA AUGER for the cost.


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


This service call had NOTHING to do with my kitchen.  The plumber thought that when he came in but I told him NO! It was only that the master bath toilet was filling to the top and I did not want it to overflow as it had done before when drain needed clearing. He said the girl at his office told him wrong. So there was NO reason for him to go up on the roof to the kitchen side drain. Other plumbers have told me the same thing. 

I did not mention Carpet Care man because he got here after sewage water had soaked into my walls and bathroom cabinet, been wiped up and dried. So sewage water dried into these items.

As to the kitchen cabinet being destined to fall.  We are all destined to die but no one has the right to do anything to hurry that up either.

I told **** that I had contacted my homeowners insurance before I called him. They told me it was not covered because it was AAA responsibility for the damage. I asked AAA for their insurance company and he would not give it to me. It is up to his insurance co. to say if they would cover damages. The ***** is an estimate. I will not know correct amount until I talk to his insurance co.



***** *******

Business Response: We run sewer machines down thousands of lines a year and have never seen an instance where the vibrations have knocked anything off a wall.  Our technician did act appropriately as far as what openings he ran his equipment through.  When water was ran through the kitchen sink/washing machine it backed up in the bathroom.  This is proved by the fact that when we ran the washing machine through a spin cycle to see if we had cleared the drain, it backed up in the bathroom which lead to us having the carpet cleaning company come out to clean it up.  At this point just to get this issue resolved I would be willing to do one of two things.  As an act of good will/customer service I would be willing to cut *** ******* a check for $ ****** that should could apply towards what she paid for her cabinets.  This is not an admission of guilt as AAA AUGER is adamant that there was no negligence or errors made on our end to cause the cabinet to fall.  If *** ******* rejects this offer then I will be more than happy to furnish her a copy of our general liability insurance.  She should understand that we are not authorizing a claim to be made on our insurance, rather, simply fulfilling her request for a copy of the information. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I will take the information for their liability insurance. But it is up to the insurance company if they pay or not. It is not up to the company. If the insurance co. does not accept the claim then we will still have a problem. 

Regards,

***** *******

11/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAA Auger was called through the manufacturer ******** *****, to service my water heater. The water heater is under warranty. Once AAA got to my house and diagnosed the problem the service person, Jayson, quoted me a labor charge of $387. Since the wh is under warranty, all costs are coverd by ******** *****. I did not continue with AAA to fix the wh. The next day I called ******** ***** to clarify what is covered under warranty and the warranty dept. said all costs are covered. I should NOT be charged an additional labor fee. AAA gets paid by ******** *****. This is obvious a very unethical business practice by AAA Auger. I don't know if it is illegal but certainly unethical! I wanted to report this place of business for others to be aware of.

Business Response: There seems to be an initial error in procedures from our side that does not involve any actual intentional unethical practices, . The plumber's invoice
did not include any reference to ******** ***** which would have instructed him to exclude any charges to the resident. Please see
attached copy of invoice. Certainly, AAA AUGER would not require any payment from the resident if we would be charging ******** *****.
I truly wish Ms. ******** would have called us the day we were out there (Monday 10/20) and we could have avoided any incident. I did receive a call from
Ms. ******** on Friday, 10/24  and returned her call  at 3:00 PM. that same day. We unfortunately never spoke.
I can only apologize that we made a mistake, but please know we had  no intent to take advantage of Ms. ********. We haven't been in business over 50 years
by practicing unethical methods of making money.

***** ********
******** *******   

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The explanation does NOT explain why I would have been charged such an incredible labor fee if the work completed. It is a water heater,not a car!  The fact is the technician wrote an invoice with the amount of $387.50.  That means I would be obligated to pay that amount after work was completed on the water heater that was under warranty. ******** ***** warranty department stated to me that they pay the plumbing company for repairs, labor and all.  The consumer is not to pay anything out of pocket.  You can't tell me your business practice, in this case, was not unethical!

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: Once again, Ms. ******** responded before talking with me. We finally did speak, but not until she responded twice here in writing.

 Here is her second response:


"I am rejecting this response because:

The explanation does NOT explain why I would have been charged such an incredible labor fee if the work completed. It is a water heater,not a car!  The fact is the technician wrote an invoice with the amount of $387.50.  That means I would be obligated to pay that amount after work was completed on the water heater that was under warranty. ******** ***** warranty department stated to me that they pay the plumbing company for repairs, labor and all.  The consumer is not to pay anything out of pocket.  You can't tell me your business practice, in this case, was not unethical!

Regards,

***** ******** "

When Ms. ******** and I did speak, I told her that there was a mistake on our part, that we incorrectly left out ******** ***** as the customer, and that would have precluded her from any charges, since we do their warranty work. Now that I see her second response, I would like to further clear things up. First of all: AAA AUGER goes to a service call, at no charge, evaluate the situation and then provide upfront charges to the customer.
Once Authorized to start by having the customer sign our upfront charges, our plumber begins the work. Since Ms. ******** did not wish to begin the work, our plumber left. No money exchanged hands. That's the
procedure we've used for over fifty years. As for the remarks about the "incredible labor fees", AAA AUGER has a pricing menu based on market analysis of competitive pricing, parts, labor, insurance, etc. - the price of doing business. We believe our pricing is fair and competitive. We employ licensed plumbers who have spent thousands of hours developing their trade. That's why we have no service charge - basically a customer can call us to find out what's wrong with their plumbing, and get a "free estimate" on what the repair is, dismiss us, and then call another company to shop our price. To be fair, if Ms. ******** has a problem with what we charge, I suggest she call another company to see what they charge. We're all governed by the TSBPE. That entity would know if we are being unethical. But the bottom line here is that we made an honest error, no money exchanged hands and we didn't take advantage of her.                

***** ********              
Business Manager

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked for an itemized statement and was told they charge by the job only.

Desired Settlement: I think the price is outrageous. New water heaters can be found much cheaper and also parts could be bought for less than $125.00. I can't understand why it cost me $582.75 to repair my water heater. When the repairman told me the cost, I was in a state of shock. When I asked if I could pay $100 and then arrange to pay the rest in 6 months he told me "This is a C.O.D. business I had been without hot water for 4 days and had tried to relight the pilot 2 times. I was REALLY IN NEED of hot water. What I don't need is ever to call AAA Auger again. I am telling all my acquaintances about this experience. ******* ** *****

Business Response: We understand your frustration with not having water for 4 days. We were very happy taking care of the issues with your water heater. We did respond to your request for a plumber the day you called. We do send our plumbers to each address free of charge, we also give all pricing up front before any work is performed. When you agree to the charges and sign to have the work complete we then perform the repair. At that time the plumber would be happy to answer any questions you have about the cost or what the repair entails. 

We do not charge by the hour, we charge by the job which includes all labor and materials. Upon receiving the pricing you did sign for the work to be done. A 10% senior discount was also extended to you after you signed for the repair. After the repair was made you then signed having thoroughly inspected the work performed and verifying the completion in full.  If you have any questions about a breakdown the plumber or any of our managers would have gladly provided that for you.

Unfortunately we are unable to take payments for work performed unless you have an approved charge account.

We hope your issues have been addressed and if you have any further difficulties please do not hesitate calling us to assist you. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I am given no excuse for the excessively high cost.  I see no reason why a presumably honest company cannot provide a line item cost.

Regards,

******* *****

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable