BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential pest control services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alterra Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Alterra Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • 14 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Alterra Inc. include:

  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alterra Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 11, 2012 Business started: 01/17/2012 Business started locally: 01/17/2012 Business incorporated: 01/17/2012 in UT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N Congress FL 11, Austin TX 78701
www.agr.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 835-5832
spcb@spcbtx.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Lucas, Regional Manager Mr. David Royce, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Lucas, Regional Manager
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Alterra Pest Control
Industry Tips
Choosing a pest control company When to use a Pest Control Professional

Additional Locations

  • 4279 Gatecrest

    San Antonio, TX 78217 (210) 655-7378

  • 8204 N Lamar Blvd Ste B14

    Austin, TX 78753 (512) 467-7378

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When alterra salesman came to my home pitching a free treatment in yard fir bugs, the salesman told me that would be in control of when the first payment would be made. I was contacted by their office for the payment and informed them to run first payment on a certain date and relayed what their salesman told me. Well, alter ra did not run the payment on that date. About a month later with no further contact, alter ra ran the payment. It almost caused an overdraft of my checking account. When alterra was contacted, they were rude and unprofessional. Attitude was basically, tough titty you signed a contract. We informed we do not want their service. They since have sent us a bill although no further spraying or any other expenditure of service or expense from alterra. Some business. I want others to know that this business and their salesmen are not honorable and do not function with integrity.

Desired Settlement: Stop billing me when you won't stand behind your salesman's word. He lied to me to get me to sign up. Fraudulent sales and business practices. I told their salesman that I was on a shoestring budget and could not afford their product. That is when he assured me that I could control when payment was made.

Business Response: Mr and Mrs. *****,

My name is ***** ******* and I run the branch here in San Antonio. Before we
work on a resolution I wish to apologize for the way you have been treated. The
salesman didn't over promise you when he said we can run your bill on a certain
date. We are more than happy to do so. The only problem is that he didn't
communicate that to us on the agreement so we had no way of knowing the
arrangement you had made. However, where my office staff error-ed is that you
claim that you spoke with them to run the payment on a certain date and we
didn't do that. That is our mistake and I apologize.

It is not our wish or desire to do things against our
customer's wishes and we don't want to place our customer's in a financial
bind. My office staff should have treated you better and not been so difficult
with you. We are very grateful to have customers who give us the opportunity to
treat their homes for pest control. So any time you call us, for any reason, that
phone call should be a pleasant one where questions get answered and problems
get resolved.

After observing your account I can see who you spoke with so I will be sure to
have a direct conversation with them about customer interaction. I see that you
had desired to cancel the services early and that they mailed you a cancellation
letter with an early cancellation fee. Please ignore that letter if you haven’t
already received it. I can make this right.

Your desired resolution is a valid one that we can meet. I
can make the specific notes to your account to only bill you on the date you
select. However, since you mentioned that you are on a budget I want to help
you. I am will give you your next quarterly service, due next month, free of
charge. Then your future services I would like to offer you our lowest rate of
$79 per quarter, instead of the $89 you are currently paying.

If you have any further questions I invite you to call me at
the office any time.

Kind regards,

***** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: While I appreciate your sincere response, it seems that like your salesman are ignoring my intended communication. I do not want any further service or billing from your company. Please forget that I exist. 
I will not pay you or your company another cent. My trust in you is broken. The best you may do to show any residual of integrity is to agree and not bill me, dun me or harass me with future 'deal' offers. If you continue your pursuit of a contract signed under the false pretense and offer by your representative salesman, I will post additional reviews of this cpmplaint and treatment. Your company is being given quite the reviews out of Austin and other areas. Alter ra is a new company and it's big appeal was the proffered company integrity. I see this crumbling away. Hopefully, Alterra corporate will reign in the franchises members and get back to that basic. I think it your biggest selling point as exterminators are a dime a dozen. Sincerely,
Regards,

******* ***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Alterra for one years service. 4 services visits. I have tried to tell them I wanted to cancel for over 6 months now. The only time I was ever able to reach anyone on the phone when my account was delinquent and they wanted payment. I told the lady then that I wanted to cancel after my last service. She said I would have to call back after the last service visit. Well, every time i have tried to call during business hours, the phone just beeped like it was a computer that answered, or I have gotten an answering machine to which I have left a message every time asking someone to contact me. They have NEVER returned my messages. I have sent the several messages on the contact forum of their site, but once again I have NEVER received any correspondence to my messages. This all made me very concerned about this companies practices. Well, now I have received another service notification e-mail saying they are coming tomorrow. All I want is out. Why can't they simply return messages and talk to their customers.

Desired Settlement: Just cancel my contract like I have requested repeatedly, for months. If you wanted me to cancel in some other way or format, why didn't you just call or message me back what I needed to do. I don't appreciate the way I have been treated as a customer who upheld my end of the original deal. Now I just want OUT!

Business Response: It is with deep regret that you have had such a difficult time with our company. Our goal is to ensure that all customers have a positive interaction with our company whenever we reach out to them or them to us. I have canceled your agreement with us with zero fee's or early penalties. Hopefully, this will end the relationship on a higher note. Thank you for your business.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

But I would like to say that even when I talked to them last Friday, the girl was giggling the whole time. She apologized for the troubles I had contacting them, but it seemed rather meaningless when someone is laughing the whole time they are talking to you. Even when I tried to explain how hard I had tried to contact them and how they never responded, she continued to giggle. Not a very professional attitude at all. I'm just glad to be free of this nightmare!

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: one of their door to door solicitor came to my residence and knocked on my door, and offered their services at that time I was having problems with my dogs having fleas so I asked the representative if it's something that he can help me with, I also told him the every now and then I would find a cockroach scurrying about. It's not too bad but I thought if there's one there's got to be some hiding somewhere. He proceeded and talked to me about their services and that they could help me emphasizing that I would only pay $44 every 3 months. I thought wow that is affordable, he continued on his long winded sales talk but I am no linger listening as I thought my problems with the dog and the occasional cockroach will be solved. He actually did spray some stuff all around the house then and said he'll come back to do a follow-up treatment. Weeks past and I got a message on my voice mail that they will come to do the treatment. A week after that I received a bill in the mail for more than $200, I can't remember the exact amount but certainly not the amount I agreed to. The representative or technician who said he's come never rang our door bell to notify us that he did any treatment, there's always somebody in our household day or night and the problem is inside, if he ever came what in the world did he do to solve my problem without going into my property. I have a lot of dogs in the yard so his presence would have alerted my daughter if ever. I thought I got scammed and now they continually harass me by calling me everyday and I wish for them to stop and ply their ware somewhere else.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to stop harassing me, they got $44 from me, they sprayed that day so let's call it even but I will not pay a scam like this. That service that they said they provided? highly questionable as explained above.

Business Response: Dear customer,

I am sorry to hear that you have had an unfavorable
experience with our company. We always strive to ensure our customers are
satisfied and that their needs are met. In regards to your BBB complaint, I
have read your complaint and have looked into all the notes on your account. I
believe we can come to a fair resolution. I don’t want to be viewed as a scam
when do everything we can as a company to ensure the customer understands what
they are signing.

I apologize if you feel that the sales rep mislead you.
Unfortunately, I was not present at the time of the sale between you and him.
The only information I have to go off of is the agreement that you signed at
the time of sale. I have attached a copy of this agreement so you can refer to
it. On the right side of the agreement you will see a service schedule and
price breakdown which clearly indicates that the first service was discounted
to $39, and the services thereafter would be $99.

In addition to the service agreement we also covered the
same information in a welcome letter that our service professional went over
with you prior to your initial service. The purpose of this letter is to ensure
that all the information in the agreement is correct and that you agreed with
the cost of the services. You will see that this information has also been
initialed and signed by you before the service.

I hope that you are able to see from our point of view that
with everything signed and initialed by you, the customer, we are led to
believe that you understood the terms of the agreement.  We would never dream of servicing a customer
if the agreement and welcome letter weren’t signed and initialed.

However, with all this said, I would like to make everything
right and see if we can settle the account. In your complaint to the BBB you
said that you were led to believe by the sales rep that each service would be
$44.00. Since we did come to your home and performed a second service (as the
agreement shows) I will happily accept a payment for $44.00. I will then remove
your account with the collection company and consider your account closed and
in good standing.

I hope that this resolution works for you. I am not asking
for anything more than what was serviced. I am ignoring the cost of the early
cancelation and also waiving over 50% of what the service actually cost.

Please let me know if you feel this is fair resolution,

Thank you for your time and attention.

***** *******

San Antonio Branch Manager

************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have already explained my  position, I said $44 because I do not recall how much I got charged but I am not sure your technician or whomever you sent did not do anything because there is no way he could have entered my premises without being alerted. If he sprayed or did some treatment other than inside my house or yard, then he is a moron.



Regards,

**** *********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alterra continues to bill my credit card for services after I wrote to request cancellation of the account. The contract period was for 12 months, which ended in June 2013. The company has billed me twice since that time, for alleged quarterly service after I had previously asked that the account be cancelled. Also, the service provided (spraying of the exterior of my home to eliminate bugs) was ineffective. I have no evidence that their service has stopped or slowed the presence of bugs around my home. I endured the 12-month contract knowing the service was ineffective, but had no intention of continuing beyond the 12 months. Now the company ignores my requests to cancel and continues to charge my credit card.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of my account and the return of $214.34 ($107.17 x 2 charges) to my credit card for unwanted and ineffective services after the end of my 12-month contract period.

Business Response: ***** ****** started service with Alterra on May 23 of 2012.  They signed a 12-month contract of 1 initial service in May and 4 quarterly services starting in June.  The contract clearly states "After the initial one-year period, service will continue until cancelled with a thirty day written notice."  Since Alterra has never received this notification from Mr ******, service continued on a quarterly basis.  Now that we have received this notification, his account has been cancelled out.  He will have no further service or contact from Alterra.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  However, I am still dissatisfied with the business' deceptive contract practice and poor service.  Despite my verbal cancellations of service, the business proceeded anyway and did not advise me to submit my request in writing.  The business charged me for services that were not effective, throughout the contract period and since the contract period ended.  I am happy this account is now closed, but the business has done nothing to make amends with me regarding my negative customer experiences.

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After the first service I found a bigger problem then I had before and do not feel they gave me information I should have had. I called with in no more then five days to cancel and they would not take the cancellation. Said I needed to give it one more chance. When they came I did not like what I saw was being done. When I cancelled the cost was completely unreasonable. since I tried to cancel the next business day after the first service. I am very dissatisfied with this companies practices.

Desired Settlement: A parcel refund of the cancel fees.

Business Response: We spoke with Mrs. ******** on 9/10 regarding her account.  She was very pleasant to speak with and we were able to communicate well together.  She wanted to cancel her service in part because we typically use a liquid spray when treating homes as part of our service.  Our products are all people and pet friendly and we offered to use alternate methods that do not involve liquids.  She was adamant about cancelling service and said that she would give the service pro a check for the reimbursement to cancel prior to the fulfilling of the 12 month contract.  In turn, we agreed with her to not charge her for the quarterly service that had been performed which would have cost her $89 plus tax.  The check was received here at our office and her account has been closed.  She will not receive any further contact from Alterra.  We wish her the best.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 17, 2013, an Alterra salesman came to our door and offered the company's services. We were advised that they would handle any pests that we had. We informed the, that we had issues with fire ants, spidered silverfish, and sugar ants. We were told that all of these pests would be treated with their product, and that we would no longer have any issue, given that we continue their quarterly treatments. Alterra guaranteed that these pests would be eliminated with their treatment, but if we did continue to see pests, they would come back out and provide free re-services. We were offered a discounted price of $39.00 for the initial service, and $99.00 for each quarterly service, as part of a one-heat contract. We received our initial treatment in June, with a follow-up visit in July. We did not see any decrease in pests, in fact we saw an increase of spiders in the house and saw roaches surfacing in the house that we had previously not seen. We were advised by the first serviceman that we didn't need to spray indoors because the outdoor treatments would handle everything and there would be no further pests that would make their way into our home. This is a recurring statement from service and salespeople. We called for reservice in July, and were told by the customer service agent that they would spray inside. Again, when the technician came out, we were advised against it; in fact, talked out of it. In late July, we received our quarterly service, and noticed even more pests in and around our home, especially spiders and silverfish. In late August, another reservice was performed. Again, spraying indoors was discouraged, but silverfish taps were placed in the garage. Since then, we have continued to see the same pests from the original pests, including an increase of silverfish in sinks and bathtubs, and spiders in the corners and windows. When I contacted Alterra and asked for our contract to be terminated due to the fact that the product was not working, I was informed that the consequence of breaking the contract was a charge for any discount we received for the initial spray. The only resolution we were offered was a reservice. I advised the customer service agent that every reservice had no effect, but reluctantly accepted another reservice. On this reservice, I demanded interior spray of the product. I specifically pointed out where spiders had been spotted and personally watched a spiderweb be sprayed. The next morning, a live spider was on the spiderweb that was sprayed the previous day, confirming my suspicions that the product was ineffective. Since that reservice, we have seen zero change in the appearance of pests.

Desired Settlement: At this point, the resolution is beyond canceling the contract. Alterra is asking a refund for the discount of the initial service, when in fact, the service never worked from day one. The only resolution is for our contract to be canceled, and for the $149.39 we have spent thus far on our contract to be refunded to us. Reservice is no longer an option, as Alterra has shown that these reservices do nothing to resolve the problem.

Business Response: ****** *** signed a 12 month contract with Alterra.  We have following the contract exactly.  We performed his initial service on 6/17/13 and then his first Quarterly service on 7/23 as shown in the calendar on his signed agreement.  He called in because he still had some persistent pest problems and we sent out a free callback Aug and called him afterwards to make sure that everything was to his liking.  He said that all was well.  He called in the beginning of September because he is moving and wanted to cancel his service.  We gave the option of transferring the service to a friend or family member to fulfill the 12 months so that he would not have to pay back the discount given on the initial service as is stipulated in the contract.  He got very angry and then stated that he has bug problems.  We sent out another free callback to treat and issues.

According the the contract, ****** is obligated to pay back the $160 discount if he cancels the contract for any reason prior to fulfilling the 12 months.  I will go ahead and cancel out his service and NOT charge him this amount.  His account has been closed and he will not receive any further contact from Alterra.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Although the details of the Alterra response are not complete nor completely accurate I will redact my previous demand for a full refund for the payments made, since the product absolutely doesn't work, and accept the cancellation of the contract at no charge. I am please to have my days of dealing with Alterra behind me.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ***

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company promised they would get rid of our pests and would come back as many times as necessary. The first time they came out he did his job sprayed around house and yard. I specified getting the spider egg sacs out of the windows. He completely missed them!! I had to call them back out 3 weeks later for another round of pest control. Even after that the bugs were still around. We have lived in our house for almost 10 years. We know the life cycles of bugs. Our previous pest control provider got rid of all bugs. We simply were giving this company a chance to prove that they were better. That was their guarantee. We will be switching back to ranger pest control. Now realizing that Alterra is horrible with pest control. Or maybe they need to hire people who know what they are doing. We also ran into the customer service lady being argumentative about what we are saying. She wasn't trying to help us or understand our issues. We explained about the spider egg sacs. And she proceeded to say maybe the spiders laid more eggs the next day. Really?? Argumentative employees do not help. Like I said we know exactly what we want and they did not deliver. They now say we owe $172 for breaking their contract. We will not pay for them not holding up their end of the bargain.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to acknowledge our complaints without getting defensive. We would like for them to quit emailing us their bill.

Business Response: I spoke with Mr ********* the same day that he posted this complaint.  We resolved everything and both parties are happy and satisfied.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the last year my husband and I have engaged Alterra Pest Control to treat for ants and spiders in our home and yard in ***** ***** **. They adverstise :"Alterra knows that for most homeowners, it’s not if the pests will return, but when. That's why all of our customers are 100% Alterra guaranteed! If you have pests return between treatments, you can be sure we'll return to take care of your family promptly and at no extra charge. When the pests come back, we do too - absolutely free!" Our home is on the market and sold roughly 2 weeks ago. I contacted Alterra immediately following our July 3rd treatment to cancel our service as we would be closing on our home 7/25 and moving out of the their treatment area. Yesterday we noticed a large number of ants in the back yard and a few in the pantry. Today we noticed more in the house and our dogs food was completely covered in ants. I contacted Alterra for a free treatment based on the warranty. Granted we are not going to recieve another treatment from them however the treatments are quarterly and I would assume that the warranty would apply for my home up until the end of the quater. I would specifically expect that the work done the previous week which I have already paid $100 for to be warrantied as there is no reason for me to be seeing large quantities of bugs so quickly after a treatment especially since we have been recieving regular treatments for the last year. I contacted Alterra regarding this matter and was told that since our contract was canceled they would not be able to send someone to our home. I asked to speak with a manager and was told they would deliver the message to him but that he was out of the office and would not get back to me until tomorrow at the earliest.

Desired Settlement: I am simply requesting Alterra abide by their warranty and treat my home and yard again. The warranty states "If you have pests return between treatments, you can be sure we'll return to take care of your family promptly and at no extra charge. When the pests come back, we do too - absolutely free!" The implication is that until the quarter for which I have just paid is up in September, my home and yard should be treated at no charge.

Business Response: I spoke with ***** regarding this issue.  I re-opened her account and sent out a free reservice.  They are going to continue with the service until their home sells and will call in at that point.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with this company because of the amount of insects I had such as scorpions, ants, spiders and wasps. And because I wanted to change pest control companies. I have called them to come out time & time again. They would come out and spray but in a few days these insects were back again. I had a wasps nest near the front door and I called them. It finally took them 3 times before they knocked it off and 3 different people. Every time they came out to try and fix the problem they would leave word with my daughter in law who was home at times when they came out, to call them back if the problem persisted. That only told me that the product does not work.

Business Response: I have spoken with ***** and we discussed her concerns as well as possible solutions.  She is a wonderful customer and we hope to take great care of her in the future.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1