Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Alterra Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Alterra Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 467-7378 Fax: (512) 467-7378 8204 N Lamar Blvd Ste B14, Austin, TX 78753 http://www.alterrapest.com


View BBB Rating for Alterra Inc.'s headquarters.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential pest control services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alterra Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Alterra Inc.. BBB of Utah has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Alterra Inc..


Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 2012 Business started: 01/17/2012 Business started locally: 01/17/2012 Business incorporated: 01/17/2012 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N Congress FL 11, Austin TX 78701
www.agr.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 835-5832
spcb@spcbtx.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Lucas, Branch Manager - Austin James Ireland, Branch Manager - San Antonio Mr. David Royce, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Lucas, Branch Manager - Austin
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Alterra Pest Control
Industry Tips
Choosing a pest control company When to use a Pest Control Professional

Additional Locations

  • 4279 Gatecrest

    San Antonio, TX 78217 (210) 655-7378

  • 8204 N Lamar Blvd Ste B14

    Austin, TX 78753 (512) 467-7378

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Account # ***** Alterra Pest ControlOn about May/June of 2013 I signed a pest control contract with Alterra Pest control while residing at address at ***** ****** ****** ************* ** *****. I completed this contract and in June/July of 2014 the Alterra pest control technician showed up ask if I wanted to renew my contract and I stated "No, I do not want to renew because I was in the closing process of selling my home". However, I did let the service technician do one last service on the property for which I paid $107.17 at a one time rate. The service technician called the ******, ** branch of Alterra pest control and ran the payment and I physically heard this technician tell the branch office that I am moving and will not renew a 2014 pest control contract, only the one time service I authorized at this particular time. I moved from the residence at ***** ****** ***** in early Sept of 2014 to my new home at **** ******* ***** *****, ******, ***** *****. On October 10th, I received and email from Alterra Pest control that they had scheduled an appointment to spray at my old residence even though I no longer owned the property. I sent and email to Atlerra late at night not knowing there was a no reply filter on the email. On October 15th I was billed for a service on a property I no longer own and had heard the technician tell the branch office back in the June timeframe of 2014 to cancel my service while he was standing next to me outside by my garage. On October 15th, I went to visit the branch office for Alterra Pest Control and dispute the matter but they were absolutely not interested in my complaint and refused to listen or cancel my contract

Desired Settlement: 1). I desire a refund of $107.17 that was debited out my account on 10/15/2014. Hence, since I no longer own the property Alterra pest control trespassed on another owners property without a valid service contract2). I want a written cancellation of their services.3). I want an apology from the branch manager and his promise to educate and train his staff on how to handle a customer dispute. 4). Additionally, I will be forwarding a copy this complaint to Alterra Pest Control *** ***** *

Business Response: We have refunded Mr ******* EFT for the charge and cancelled out his account as per his request.  Had he initially notified us to cancel his account it would have been been done.  The email that he responded to was from the address *********************** and the first and last lines of the email notification clearly (and in red) state that the email is from a no reply and gives the phone number to call.  Mr ****** came into our office and threatened the office girls that were working and made a scene.  Once the service manager come up from the back, Mr ****** hurriedly left to write this complaint.  His actions were wildly inappropriate and it is very frustrating to comply with his demands and threats.  Though we have no obligation to do so, his money has been refund and we plan to have no future contact with him.