Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Paradise Decks & Spas LLC

Phone: (210) 496-3325 Fax: (210) 599-8106 17550 Judson Rd, San Antonio, TX 78247

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers custom decks and spas, outdoor kitchens and fireplaces.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Paradise Decks & Spas LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

24 Customer Reviews on Paradise Decks & Spas LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 24
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 24

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 14, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2006 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 02/13/2006 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. George Richard Hogue, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Richard Hogue, Managing Member
Business Category

Patio & Deck Builders Patio Design Patio Builder Deck Builder Patio Cover Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas Fireplaces Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Outdoor Kitchens

Products & Services

Paradise Decks & Spas LLC sells the following brand(s): Fiberon, Kamodo Joe Grills, L.A. Spas, Saber Grills, Sun Stone Grills and Accessories, TimberTech, Trex

Paradise Decks & Spas LLC offers the following product(s): Arbors, Decks, Kamodo Joe Ceramic Grills, L.A. Spas, Outdoor Kitchens, Patio Covers, Patio Fireplaces, Saber Grills, Sun Stone Grills and Accessories, Swim Spas

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Paradise Decks & Spas LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 17550 Judson Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78247 (210) 496-3325


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract, Service and guarantee issues. In late March or early April a salesperson for Paradise Decks and Spas came to our house and offered us a deck repair/replacement quote of $14,073. I asked about HOA and city permit. I was told the company would handle both. I also asked if work would be done by employees, not contact workers and was told yes. Later in early June I visited the store to move forward with the project. On 6.6.16 the owner and a different salesperson came to the house to examine the current deck and review the job quote. The new cost jumped to $19,210 with the plan to include adding 5 posts to the homes b**** wall to support the second story deck. When asked about the change in cost, the owner said 'well I,m glad you didn't sign up'. I again asked about the HOA and city permit and the workers. The agreement included bringing the deck up to code and I was again told the co. would handle. Requested delivery date was 7.06.16. In preparation for the work to start, I was cleaning around the current outside posts and discovered rotting wood at the bottom of the current posts. I brought this to the cos. attention, something which should have been discovered during the previous visit by the Paradise owner and second salesperson on 6.6.16. I told the co we were leaving on July 27 and needed to have the deck complete by then. I was informed 'it normally takes about 2 weeks to get their engineer to complete his work'. The work supplied was a stock drawing of how a post should be attached at the base of concrete. When I questioned the time it actually took, the co refused to permit the engineer (of A-1 Engineering) to answer my question about when he received the request and when he completed the info back to Paradise. I believe they lied to me and used the time as an excuse not to work on my deck. When they informed me they couldn't complete the work then, I requested they immediately start on our return 8.09.16. They did not start until the week of 8.22.16 on Tuesday or Wednesday because of weather. Other issues include: consistent changes to work without prior agreement, consistent incorrect or misinformation. This is the owner's response to my complaint: "As you are the one wanting arbitration, not me, you need to contact the BBB and start the arbitration process. I would suggest asking for a “worse case” scenario on how long it might take. Also, I will secure my company’s financial interest with a lien against your property (this is a mechanic and materialman’s lien as authorized by the state of Texas). This lien will remain in place until I am paid. You also need to know that your warranty “..becomes valid and enforceable only upon Purchaser’s full and timely payment of the Total Sales Price…”, and delay in payment will result in any warranty to you, or your home buyer, being voided. I have complied with the terms and conditions of my sales agreement with you. The City of San Antonio has inspected the deck, and other than the grab bars, which ***** has installed, and the requirement for putting dirt at the base of one step (which we have offered to do), so you know that the final inspection will not be a problem. I am not going to argue over what caused the delays – you have a beautiful deck that your new home owners will enjoy for years to come. Think this through – what would your buyer think if they discovered there was a lien against the property? Prompt payment in full will insure that you don’t get a lien (I will furnish a lien waiver you can pass on to the new buyer), and that the warranty will be in effect for the new buyer." Regards, **** I requested a discount because the work did not match the agreement. I offered an alternative solution via email after receiving the above.

Desired Settlement: 1. The price be adjusted to the original quote plus a reasonable amount ($550) for the additional posts, the warranty honored in writing and a release of lien be provided. or 2. A discount of about $3000 from the $19,210 with a paid-in-full invoice provided when paid and the warranty honored in writing and a release of lien be provided. or 3. Arbitration meeting be scheduled per contract immediately as our house has a sale pending due to close on 9.29.16

Business Response: As my response required several supporting documents, I chose to write the response and attach the supporting documents and mail them direct to you.  I wrote a 3 page response and attached 7 documents to support my position.  I mailed the documents on Saturday, certified with return receipt requested.  I look forward to any assistance you can provide me to get paid the $9,606 (and now add $444 for the cost of filing a lien).  Should you have any questions, either email me direct ************************* or call me on my cell phone at ************.  As Mr. ****** has requested arbitration, I have not copied him on any correspondence.  He is well aware of my position on this matter.  Thanks, **** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:The company did not do the work described, specifically the posts against the bricks that was priced differently than the original quote received. Changes were made without prior discussion or authorization. The contract attaches the drawings that show the posts. The deck has not yet been approved by the city. The lien appears premature as the job is not complete until approved by the city. I need to see the response from the business and request immediate arbitration to present documents and information.


*** ******

Business Response: Mr. ******** complaint is without merit.
I have attached several supporting documents that refute his claims.
This is the ONLY executed sales agreement between Paradise Decks and *** ******, and his wife *****. Mr. ****** keeps referring to a "quote" of $14,073 offered in March or April. For some reason, although he signed the agreement for $19,210, he thinks he's entitled to have the work done for what he claims was an earlier quote (no executed document exists). He has made payments against this sales agreement in the amount of $9,604, leaving a balance owed of $9,606. Full and final payment is due. Paradise has met (and exceeded) the terms and conditions of the agreement. He actually accused me of bait and switch. No one forced him to sign the sales agreement for $19,210.
Details the material specifications for the sales agreement.
Document #3: CHANGE ORDER
Prior to starting the work, Mr. ****** requested a change from the original agreement to include replacing 5 existing posts from the ground up through the lower level deck, and continuing up to the 2' story deck. At the time of this request (Early August, the change order is dated August 9Th) we had already delivered the lumber to build the deck per the agreement on July 13. When Mr. ****** requested the change, he was informed that it would cause a delay in starting the job, as we would have to get an engineering firm to review the plans. His allegation that we "lied" in order to delay starting the job is inaccurate. He was the cause of the delays by making a change in the scope of the work, then leaving on vacation. When he returned from vacation, we assigned one of our workers to the job and he began it as soon as he finished the job he was working on while waiting for Mr. ****** to return from vacation. As we paid for the lumber on July 13, and did not get our initial payment from Mr. ****** until we actually started on August 19, there was absolutely no benefit to us to delay the start of the job. He also "alleges" that we used the engineer as an "excuse" and acts pissed off that our engineer would not reply directly to him. We employed the engineer — not Mr. ******. Our engineer not only supplied the documents we needed to secure the building permit, he also visited the job site while the deck was under construction and offered some suggestions on improving the structure and flashing the deck to prevent water damage. We did everything he suggested, and got his approval to continue with the work as the work to that date met the building code. Mr. ****** agreed to the additional charge of $550. When he started his complaining about not meeting the terms of the agreement (putting posts against the house and supporting the deck with a beam as opposed to attaching a ledger to the brick, I agreed to waive the charge for the additional work as a gesture of "good will".
Document #4: EMAIL DATED AUGUST 9, 2016
In this email, Mr. ****** documented "So this is what I understand is being done:" There are 11 specific things detailed in this email. We completed 10 of the 11, the exception being installing 5 posts against the house. The reason for this change was documented and presented to Mr. ****** (see document #5), and he was also credited the $550 for the change order. We completed everything on his "expectation" list, and more important, everything on our sales agreement and everything required to get a passed inspection from the City of San Antonio insuring the deck was built to code. His assertion that he deserves a discount "because the work did not match the agreement" is not based in fact.
Mr. ****** was furnished this information to help him understand the building code, and why I initially thought that posts would be required against the house, and why, when we were able to get up on a ladder and see where we were attaching, that the posts would no longer be needed. In exchange, the floor joists had to be switched out from 2x6x8 to 2x6x10, and this offset the cost of the posts against the house. I also waived the $550 charge for replacing the 5 posts he requested.
Although our sales agreement called for no work on the lower deck, other than removing the existing guard rail (which did not meet current building code) and replacing it with a code compliant guard rail, we did quite a bit of work on the lower deck, at no additional charge. Because the deck was so out of level, the result of it being built nowhere near code at the time it was built, we jacked up the deck and added 4 additional support posts as well as a beam to support the joists. We also added new exterior trim to the exterior of the deck. This insured the deck would be safe, as well as a little more aesthetically pleasing.
Document #6: PAY RECORDS FOR ******* ******* (the builder)
Among Mr. ******** allegations that I am a "liar" is the terminology used to describe the personnel that work for Paradise Decks. We use the term "employee", even though some of our builders choose to receive their pay on a 1099 "subcontractor" basis. As you will see,
******* *******, the builder assigned to Mr. ****** project, as worked exclusively for Paradise Decks since March of 2015. By the IRS standards (we control where and when he works, and supervise the outcome of the work, as well as pay him weekly), he is an "employee". I tried to explain this to Mr. ******, and he seemed to grasp what I was talking about, now it's become a point of contention for some reason. ******* (*****) worked long and tirelessly to complete the project and make sure it was code compliant and safe, as well as beautiful. He has been paid in full for his work, and by definition, since he has not shared in the loss of payment, he is an employee.
Mr. ****** started his relationship with my company by giving me a lh star rating on Home Advisor BEFORE I even started work on his project. He has done nothing but complain during the whole process. I knew I was going to have a hard time getting paid, even though I went beyond the terms of my agreement with him. My record for customer satisfaction is obvious by my A+ rating with the BBB, and the fact that I have only 5 complaints (all resolved) in the past 3 years. When you consider I am not the typical deck builder that builds just a few jobs a month (we build approximately 650 jobs a year), so in a three year period we have satisfied 99.75% of our customers. I honestly believe Mr. ****** is in the category of someone who will never be satisfied, and will look for any way possible to keep from paying me what he owes.
I have filed a lien against his property for non-payment of the balance owed of $9,606.
Filing the lien cost me $444, which I am requesting Mr. ****** be directed to reimburse me.
I will bear the cost of releasing the lien once I am paid in full, and will furnish a release of lien to
Mr. ****** certifying I have paid all material and labor bills related to his job.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The Sales Agreement incorporates the drawing provided showing the posts against the b**** wall into the agreement. The posts were to be anchored into concrete foundations. I have an email from the company saying they would be done (only different size). Looking back I think there was never any intent to do that work as there was no wood included for them in the materials. There never appeared to be any effort to complete the work in a timely manner. When the work did not get started prior to vacation, I requested it be started immediately after return. That did not happen for several weeks. The issue with the engineer is they told me it usually takes several weeks but it appears to have been a very fast turnaround and the extra time was used as an excuse.  The city [permit was not even filed until 8.08.16. The lien was filed prior to the final approval by the city and while his right, not necessary. 

I am willing to pay the $9605 now  if the company will release the lien, provide proof of doing so and provide written warranty for the new homeowner. Then we can continue this complaint to resolution with arbitration.


*** ******

5/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Paradise decks to remove my old deck and replace it with exactly the same deck. Problem #1: They inadvertently removed my lower deck which was not part of the contract and despite many calls to the company not one person has called me back in regards to replacing that deck. Problem #2: I was promised a 1 week build and it has now been a month. I was also promised a team and most of the time it was one guy. Problem #3: Shoddy workmanship. PIllars are crooked and the wood supporting the base is not attached to house is free standing on the pillars. Problem #4: They purposely mis-measured my patio without my knowledge. I explicitly told several sales people I wanted the exact same patio I currently had. They cut off about 10 feet of patio on one side and another 6+ inches on the other side without my knowledge. The drawing I signed did NOT have measurements on it as I was told they would put all that in afterwards since I had a lot other workmen at my house that day. So the version I have now with numbers, was NOT the version I initialed. They had 2 other people after that come out to verify measurements and NOT one person said anything about their measurement not matching the current patio. Every person I spoke to I clearly stated I wanted the exact same sized patio I currently had on this house.

Desired Settlement: I want all pillars fixed for proper vertical alignment and supports attached as needed to base wall. I want the patio dimensions on the side where they cut off 10 feet built to the old patio dimensions. I want my lower deck replaced immediately after the upper deck is complete. I want the side off the kitchen to have the proper landing so the stairs end at the edge of the cement like the old stairs did.

Business Response: We are currently working with Mrs. **** to get everything requested taken care of.  We will be replacing the lower deck that was demoed by mistake at our cost.  The pillars and additional mistakes have been taken care of or are in the process of being take care of as we speak. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this future resolution is satisfactory to me.  They are still working the issues.


**** ****

11/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a deck built by Paradise in May 2015 and was assured all necessary permits were to be applied for and would be built to the code of the City of San Antonio. Upon completion we asked for permits and were notified none was needed. on September 8th 2015 I called paradise to inform them that I had people over that informed me a permit was needed and it was not built to proper specifications. A representative came out to our house to look at and said some things were not to code and he would fix and inquire about a permit. after several conversations and our persistence to get a permit they agreed to pull the permit after it was built and fix all issues. they scheduled an apt to look at it on oct 2nd and no one showed. they called and set another apt for today oct 14th and again no one shows

Desired Settlement: I would like the owner of the business to personally call me and get this settled ASAP since they have already admitted it was not to code as promised and would be rectified. I do not want ***** or *** to be involved in the resolution as they have given me the run around and been argumentative for the last 6 weeks over this issue.

Business Response: I met with Mr. ****** on Monday, October 19 at 10 am.  I reviewed his concerns regarding the spacing on the balusters (a few of which were too far spaced) as well as an issue where the steps transition to the yard.  We agreed to correct all issues, and had a service technician out at his home the next day.  Unfortunately with the rain, we did not get all issues completed, but will be back out there Monday the 26th to complete the repairs.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:the repairs that were agreed upon were not completed only part of them were done and those were done and look horrible. They are scheduled to come back out on Wednesday the 28th to look yet again. *** is coming not Rick as I requested to handle this issue. I was assured by Rick it was not going to be a problem , but as with all my other dealings it's not done and frustrating to have to spend more of my time trying to get this fixed! After I deal with yet another go around with them on repairs I still need the city to inspect and get a permit issued so very stressful dealing with this for 5 months and still not resolved. 


**** ******

8/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company was hired to build a large, open covered deck and a gazebo and arbor. The salesman failed to listen and twice caused issues. First they built the wrong product and when they corrected that, they ten delivered a gazebo with no back rests or supports. It was supposed to be exactly like the picture we used. We have grand children who cannot go near this safety hazard they have created. When I complained, they said, "We will charge you, we have you initials on the forms." Its NOT what we wanted. There re several other instances where they demonstrate thing about their customers (I still do not have a receipt from the 1st 10,000 I paid them in June!

Desired Settlement: Put on the rails and make the gazebo safe. It is useless to us as is. This is a $20,000 HIJACKING!

Business Response: We entered into a contract with Mr. ******** to construct a deck addition, a hip patio cover, an arbor, and a freestanding deck with a gazebo roof.  I have included a copy of the drawing depicting the scope of the work, as well as some notes regarding what we contracted for.  As you'll see, we were to construct a patio cover over a portion of the deck, with an arbor covering the rest of the deck.  In order to support the patio cover, we clearly showed a support post required in the middle of the cover, with the arbor to be supported by posts at the outside edge of the deck.  When Mr. ******** saw the post, the objected, so we offered to eliminate the support post by building a cover over the entire deck, eliminating the shade arbor.  We did not charge Mr. ******** for this change order (as he was very stressed out by the death of his mother).  We absorbed the additional cost, and even stopped construction while he dealt with his mother's death.  (Obviously a mistake in hindsight to "give him something for nothing" as I believe that set up a precedent he expected us to follow.  When we went back to work to complete the project, we built the freestanding gazebo out in the yard, which unlike the upper deck, is flat on the ground.  As I noted on the drawing, there is no detail showing this is to have any type of rail, just benches.  When you look at the other attachment (******** contract) which is the specification sheet, and you will notice that the section marked handrail has a large "X" drawn across it.  Now Mr. ******** expects us to put a rail around it for FREE!  We told him we would be glad to provide a rail, but not for "FREE".  We bend over backwards to make sure our customers are happy with us, but unfortunately some customers are just unreasonable! 

4/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a deck built on our home in June of 2013 and when the designer/manager was in our home we were told that the work and decks built by Paradise Decks and Spas had a lifetime guarantee against poor craftsmanship or defect. We paid nearly $17,000 to have our deck built and from the very beginning the company tried every tactic possible to not only string the job along but to not also honor their guarantee. We began having problems with the concrete work from the very beginning and it was like having teeth pulled to get someone out to fix the issues. Most of the issues were about the concrete in between the flagstone chipping and breaking. Once all the original defects were repaired my wife and I paid to have the deck sealed by one of their contractors. However, on 3/28/15 it was noticed that the concrete between the flagstone had again chipped away and broke to the point that it left a 1" deep X 5" long divet in the concrete. I called the office and spoke with a manager and was told now, "The concrete is not covered under the guarantee." This is a deceptive practice and the woman was looking for any reason to pass the product issues to me. She asked me if the deck had been sealed according to their recommendations and I informed her that it had. I also told her that we used their contractor to do it. Please let me know what to do here.

Desired Settlement: I want the concrete issues fixed. I want them to honor what the designer/manager told us.

Business Response: As per the attached (BBB-*****4), we entered into an agreement to perform work for Mr. ***** at his residence on June 1, 2013.  We applied for a building permit for the work on June 2, 2013 (BBB-*****3), and began work on June 11, 2013.  The first phase of construction was the installation of a concrete foundation, which was built to code and inspected by the city of *******, and then after the inspection, the concrete was placed, allowed to cure for a few days, and then the flagstone was applied to the top of the foundation.  This was completed on June 18th.  Seven days to complete a concrete foundation of 266 sq. ft. with the addition of flagstone (contrary to Mr. *****'s allegation that we did everything possible to "string the job along").  We delivered the material for the cover portion of the job, which also included installation of guard rail around the perimeter of the foundation, as well as built in benching and shelving.  Work on this portion of the job began on June 24, 2013, and was completed on June 31, 2013.  Again, the time line for completion of this work did not in any way represent our delaying the job.  Also attached is the addendum portion of the sales agreement for the concrete/flagstone work which clearly states "Due to the nature of concrete, we are unable to offer any warranty", and in attachment BBB-*****3 is the actual Limited Warranty and Customer Satisfaction Program which clearly states that the "Paradise Decks and Spas, LLC ("Paradise") warrants its workmanship to be free of defects at the time of completion of the work."  Mr. ***** contacted our office on Monday, March 30, regarding the mortar joints in the flagstone chipping/cracking, and yes, he was told that concrete was not covered under the guarantee; however he was also informed that we would have our construction manager (Kent Lain) contact him when he returned to work following a severe bout of laryngitis and make arrangements to meet at the job site and inspect the work to see if anything could be done.  Mr. ***** "jumped the gun" in filing this complaint without even giving us a chance to view the work. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Paradise Decks and Spas sent their contractors out to fix the issues with the cement grout. The work was very well done and I appreciate your help in this matter. As far as I am concerned, they have honored their side.of the deal.


****** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

24 Customer Reviews on Paradise Decks & Spas LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart