Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rancho la Mission meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rancho la Mission
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2012 Business started: 08/09/2011 Business started locally: 08/09/2011 Business incorporated 02/17/2012 in TX
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Raul Hernandez Jr., Director / President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raul Hernandez Jr., Director / President
Business Category

Party Planning Party Facilities Wedding Chapels & Ceremonies Wedding Consultants

Alternate Business Names
Rancho La Mission Inc

Additional Locations

  • 14047 Henze Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78223 (210) 889-9000


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We made the contract since may of 2015 before all of these bad reviews. Fell in love with the venue. Beautiful place but the owner is something else. ******** his ex girlfriend and our planner quit on us 10weeks prior to event 9/10/16. She did nothing prior to quitting. ***** jumped in and had to makes us a miracle. Then at that time he informed us that even though we had waiters that it did not include them serving the cake. ??? So then he tells us that because our cake was not purchased with his vendor he was charging us $1 instead of .50 lol that i should have a cousin or a tia serve! ok so we paid. The day of the wedding i asked him who is serving the cake since there are no waiters... He is like.. Oh that was just to cut it. Not to serve it!!! I wanted to faint.we had family cutting and serving the cake. When we did the contract we asked"does the barn have a/c ? His answer was yes they are units but yes. Then 3 days prior to the wedding last weekend he calls my daughter to ask ***** was interested in the a/c because they are not included. After he made her cry he tried to calm things down by saying ill "waive the fee" well he made his money back because we are not getting credit for not having the waiters, china, & silverware and last minute st the wedding at that that they were just cutting the cake not serving lol He wanted to charge us $250 per outside vendor and that was not in the original contract from 2015. We disputed it. At that the only vendor that we got from him was the caterer and they quit less than 12wks from event. ***** our planner thank god saved the event her son catered our event. Oh if he offered you a photo booth the day of getting the contract for free... Guess what? It doesnt work! So he definetly does not offer anything free or waive anything. He just tries to surprise till you have paid everythig and are screwed. You have no choice but to make the best of it. Come to find out he was so unprofessional he had 2 girls at one our tables. Not our guests, but as his guest!!! And was giving them our drinks. Because remember he does not have TABC. he was giving drinks from my guests bottles! You will have many surprises all right with **** *********. Mr ********* tends to change the contract at his will electronically. We trief signing to get the original contract from 5/2015 and i was unable to. He didnt print out the contract. He informed me i could get it electronically. Regardless of the situation he failed to have the waiters, silverware, china, and the cutting of the cake.

Business Response: The VENUE did not sign a contract with this person making false claims and statements that are NOT TRUE.  The VENUE does NOT know who this person is and has never done business with this person.  Please remove this claim.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

See attached contract.


******* *****

Business Response: I'm sorry;  After reviewing my documents, I noticed that person complaining is a past client.  The dispute that client is requesting I reject it is not true and because they owe me for renting 8 A/C window units and 4 portacoolers which comes to $2000 + $135 tax = $2135.  

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Mr. **** ********* never gave me anything r in writing that the a/c units were to take the place of services paid for. And he verbally informed me that the fee would be WAIVED. It is still considered breech of contract. Apparently Mr ********* word has no value. Its obvious Mr. ********* needs assistance or monitoring if he claims I had NO CONTRACT with him. My wedding event was just 2 weeks ago in September 10, 2016. Therefore Mr ********* continues to make false promises to clients and not remember what he said. But the services that I paid for are in writing and I did not get them. Waiters, china, waitress services,  and cake cutting. We had a family member cut and serve the cake. 

******* *****

Business Response: There is a fee to rent portacoolers and a/c units.  The fee is $2000.  When can you make a payment??

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
The fee was waived. And there is no contract with my signature. With authorization. Coward definetly not raised by a marine 
I am rejecting this response because:


******* *****

9/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was searching for a venue for my wedding reception and stopped in for some information about their services. I ended up making a deposit as I felt I was HIGHLY PRESSURES into signing a contract and making a deposit. I returned in less than 24 hours requesting a refund . He refused to give my money back. Also, the contract states $500 required to hold the date and he requested $700 and that none of this would be refunded if cancelled. I did not use any of his services. I attempted to explain why I would not be able to afford this and he said he didn't care. I also explained that husband is in the service and he is not here to help me with these arrangements. He printed out a contract and did not verbally explained the conditions or services involved and I signed it.

Desired Settlement: Full refund

Business Response: The owner did everything possible to make sure you were ready to book. The questions that he asked you was Are you ready to book? You answered Yes. The owner talked to your mom for 15 mins and answered all questions including the non refundable deposit to contract your event date. Before you agreed to sign, asked him to add 2 more services and told him you are ready to book after 2 hours visiting with the venue. The following day, you returned to the venue and asked for a full refund because you said you changed your mind. You wanted the venue to meet your price budget. The owner agreed reduce the price to meet your budget therefore re-negotiated the package. In the end, you said no and walked away. Please know that the venue strives to make every client happy by providing top-notch service. All questions are answered and the venue will continue to go above and beyond for every client. Even though the venue wants to make everyone happy, not all people can be pleased. We wish you the best and may God Bless you and your family!

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rancho la Mission
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)