BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Superior Painting and Remodeling?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Superior Painting and Remodeling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Superior Painting and Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Superior Painting and Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 10, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1996 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Ernest Espinoza, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ernest Espinoza, Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors Wallpaper Removing Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Granite Countertops Countertop - Fabrication Floor Materials - Retail Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Pressure Washing Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Contractors - Flooring Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Drywall Contractors Floor Coverings & Installation Home Improvements Graffiti Removal

Alternate Business Names
Superior Colors Superior Painting Company
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 1141 N Loop 1604 E Ste 105 Ste 254

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 449-0193

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 495-4760 (Fax)
  • (210) 495-4760 (Fax)
  • (210) 655-2658 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted (***** ******** ******** *** **********) and hired Superior Painting and Remodeling LLC for painting services at my residence of **** *** ******* **** **** **. They began painting my property on Thursday June 12th. My husband and I went to check the status of the property the next day Saturday June 14th to find the residence extremely hot and the strong smell of tobacco smoke. Upon further investigation we noticed the largest window in the residence wide open and the HVAC turned down to 74 as we had it fixed on 81. I immediately went to check the HVAC unit and found it completely frozen and the culprit for the smoke smell with cigarette butts in the floor soaked in the condensation of the frozen HVAC. We then began looking around the residence to find my sliding glass door blinds had been removed and placed in the middle of the living room floor where they had clearly been stepped on and crushed in the middle as well as being covered in texture overspray. In addition to the painting services we had employed Superior Painting and Remodeling to fix a crack along the interior roof. The crack had been repaired but in the process there was an extreme amount of ceiling texture negligently tracked throughout the home. Superior had put a plastic covering over the living room carpet but the hallway and 3 bedrooms had no protection and the carpet was covered in sheet rock. There was also a large amount of trash throughout the inside as well as outside the property. In addition there was a 5 gallon bucket of paint sitting in the middle of my living room carpet with the lid off. We contacted (***** ******** ******** *** **********) regarding the state of our residence, our concern that things were being handled with such negligence, our property left unsecured overnight, and most importantly the condition of the HVAC as a result in which he immediately denied any wrong doing on his or his crew’s part. In turn he deflected the damages back on to us completely fabricating a story that I had told him my HVAC was already in ill repair. Let me state that this allegation is completely false and ridiculous on its face as there would have be no reason for me to have ever discussed the HVAC with (***** ******** ******** *** **********) upon seeking his services as he is not in the business of HVAC's but in the business of painting. Before leaving the residence my husband completely taped off the thermostat sealing it, and in block lettering wrote “DO NOT USE!!!!” We repeatedly called ****** only to reach his answering service. When he would communicate with us which was very sporadic at best, ****** continued to deny any wrong doing in any way on his part and informed us that he went to our residence and turned on the AC and that it was working fine in turn contradicting his story that we informed him that the AC was already in ill repair beforehand, and disregarding our verbal instructions not to use after my husband had sealed the thermostat with tape and labeled “do not use”. Mind you we were trying to let the unit completely thaw out in the hopes that it would resume functioning. He also informed us that we should not be touching our own blinds until they were finished with the job. My husband and I then returned to the property the next day to find the tape removed and the thermostat now set on 69 and that he had clearly tried to cover the damage to our blinds by unbending the crushed center although they no longer work. We never asked ****** for anything at this point except to acknowledge their mistake and give him the opportunity to at least call a technician to look at our HVAC unit, neither of which he would do. Again the only thing we did ask is that he not touch the unit which he proceeded to do anyway. My husband again taped off the thermostat, labeled do not use, and we then took it upon ourselves to call an AC technician. The technician arrived the next day and had to cut the coils out of the unit and replace at a cost to us of $620 dollars. The paint staff was on-site as this occurred. I would like to state for the record that the very first question the AC technician asked was if the paint crew was shooting the texture with the HVAC running. He informed us that appeared to be our issue in conjunction with having to work so hard due to the open window and low setting in turn causing it to freeze. I did speak with one of Superior’s workers and he admitted to me that they had indeed shot the texture with the AC running. The temperature during this time in Texas has been in the high 90’s -100’s. For the record, the temperature in the house when we discovered the issue was 91 with the thermostat set by Superior’s crew at 74 running full blast with a wide open window. The technician also stated the coils were completely blocked and that there was absolutely no way any air was getting through that unit, completely dispelling (***** ******** ******** *** **********) statement to us that he had turned the unit on and that it was working just fine. In addition to the damages, denial of any wrongdoing whatsoever, and deflection back on us with completely fabricated claims, (***** ******** ******** *** **********) had the audacity to accuse me of trying to contract his workers on the side to do the exterior of the house without his knowledge. Again absolutely absurd as I had signed a contract beforehand with ****** to do both the interior and exterior painting of the residence, not to mention we were obviously absolutely shocked at the state of our residence and negligence on their part and in no way would we ever be interested in doing any further business with them. In addition upon signing of the contract, (***** ******** ******** *** **********) agreed that the inside job would be completed no later than Tuesday June 17th. I spoke with ****** on Wednesday June 18th admittedly upset at this point due to what I have already stated as well as the property not being finished. I informed him he needed to be completed and out of my residence by close of business day and hung up the phone. Again my husband and I returned to the residence after business hours to find the job not only incomplete but that they had clearly not even been to the residence, again with no communication or update in anyway. (***** ******** ******** *** **********) contacted by email at 7:52pm that evening stating that he assumed I just wanted him out and informed his crew not to show up that day, again in complete opposition to what I had stated. I responded to his email and stated that his assumptions were incorrect and that he indeed needed to complete the work that I have already paid him in full for by close of business the next day as well as offer me some kind of resolution for the damages to my property. He replied that he would complete the work the next day and respond in full to our issues regarding the damages that evening. He sent one crew member to paint the next day as we had an electrician on site all day who informed us of the situation and again they still did not complete the job. It is now Friday June 20th and no one from Superior painting has returned to our residence for completion of the work, nor did he address our issues in any way as he stated he would the evening before. There has been no response from him at all. In addition I have photos to prove my claims regarding the frozen HVAC, the condition of my blinds, and the cigarette butts in the floor. I also have in writing where (***** ******** ******** *** **********) admits to opening the windows, turning on the AC after instructed not to, as well as his absolutely slanderous claim that I tried to contract his workers on the side for a job I had already signed a contract with him to do. They also packed up the remaining paint that we had purchased upon leaving the premises the last time in hindsight telling me they had no intention of returning and stealing property that was ours. At this point I am seeking: 1. I would like to have the work completed by another source at a cost of $150.00 2. An additional $150 down payment for the exterior which we informed him we will not be proceeding with. 3. Reimbursement for the HVAC repair costs of $620. 4. Replacement costs of our sliding glass door vertical blinds at a cost of $49.97. 5. Carpet cleaning at a cost of $120. 6. $50 for taking the remaining paint that we had purchased. 7. Release from any further presumed obligations.

Desired Settlement: A reimbursement of coast and damages totaling $1139.97.

Business Response: This response to case no. ******** is made by ****** ********, owner of Superior Painting and Remodeling. I was contacted by *** ***** to provide an estimates for interior and exterior work to be performed at **** *** ******* *** ******** *****.  I met with *** ***** and we agreed to pricing for both projects (See invoice(s) No. ***** and Invoice No. *****).  It was during this meeting that *** ***** mentioned to me she was having problems with the HVAC and that she was going to have an AC tech come by. *** ***** submitted the required deposit for the projects and signed both contracts.  We agreed to a start date of June 12th.  When my crew arrived, the HVAC was on and the home was hot inside. My crew opened windows so that it would be a little cooler while they worked. It made no sense for them to open a window if the HVAC was cooling the house.  I did speak to one of my crew members and he said they had left a window open upon leaving the residence at the end of the day.  I would mention that I had noticed cigarette butts in the garage when I first met with *** *****. Upon being notified by *** ***** about the cigarette butts, I personally went to the home to check on the conditions she allegedly believed were cause by my crew. Upon inspection of the exterior of the home, I saw numerous cigarette butts around the perimeter of the house and outside the back yard. I was also approached by the neighbor next door and I asked the lady if she knew the previous owners. She told me that they were heavy smokers that had lived there and that they were constantly smoking indoors and out.  She said she could smell the smoke from her home.  Furthermore, no member of my crew smokes cigarettes.  
    
Regarding texture overspray, I have photographs to support that not only did we take care of ensuring that the flooring covered with plastic; there was no overspray. And as to the blinds, I also have pictures of the blinds which were completely filthy; there were food particles on the blinds and they were in ill repair to the point of almost being unusable. *** ****’s assertion that we left overspray in the home totally incorrect.   
To address the trash allegation, my crew bagged all trash and it was left at the rear of the house.  The day we finished the job, we took the trash with us. 
*** ***** had just purchased this house and it was in dire need of repairs. She did tell me that she was doing most of the work herself in an effort to save some money. The HVAC unit was part of her conversation with me in that she had noticed it was not working properly. To have her come in after we started the interior project and attempt to extort fees from my company to repair something that is obviously her responsibility. My crew would not tamper with any customer’s AC unit. On the contrary, since it was so hot, they needed air flow in the house to perform their work.  Also, I personally was on site when the work was being done and I know the integrity of my crew.  My crew never touched the thermostat before it was labeled or after it was labeled. Nor did I. That said, one of my crew members told me that *** ***** had asked him to perform work for him “on the side.” This is not the first time this has happened. I have had customers try to engage my crew to do work for them. I have a company policy that if a crew member decides to perform work outside the work to be performed and under contract with Superior; it is grounds for immediate termination.  My employees are loyal and do not cross the line when it comes to their jobs. (See email dated 6/18/14) 
Superior is not responsible for the issues with the HVAC unit. The problems with the HVAC unit were in existence prior to our even starting the interior scope of work.  To attempt to extort money from Superior to fix an issue that was not even part of the project is absurd. 
We completed the interior project on June 18th. A crew member walked the scope of work with *** ****’s husband.  He acknowledged the work, was happy with the work and it was confirmed to be complete.  Company policy is to remove any materials and debris when a project is complete.  This includes the paint if any is left over. It is disposed of since we cannot use it for any other project. 
During the course of this project, it became very apparent that *** ***** was posturing herself to make false claims against Superior.  After a conversation with her wherein she hung up on me, I felt it was in the best interest of the company that we no longer speak by phone, but rather correspond by email.  
Regarding the balance due to Superior: Superior has a breach of contract against *** ***** for the exterior project.  We have a signed contract wherein she has denied payment. She paid a ½ deposit for the interior scope of work and ½ deposit for the exterior scope of work. The interior project is complete and Superior has applied the exterior deposit to cover the costs of the interior project. The overage of $150.00 is applied to closets that were painted and that were not included in the interior estimate.  We have pictures of the closets that were painted.
*** ***** still owes Superior for the exterior project and is in breach of her commitment a signed contract.  I feel that she is attempting to work the system and seek remedies she is not entitled to receive.  Superior seeks damages in the amount $2,100.00.  Thank you. 


****** ******** 
Superior Painting & Remodeling, LLC. 
**** ** **** **** ***** ***** **** **** ****  *** ******** ***** ***** 
Office: ************ Fax: ************ 
E-mail: ****************************
Webb: *************************************

 

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have used this company in the past with great success (we had a contract in place). With this episode, we had a tentative contract drawn up in October 2012, but did not have a current one in place when the work began in November 2013. We were charged more than we had initially agreed upon, and the work was not as requested. We had discussed verbally prior to painting that things would be done in stages (we were having floor repairs done as well), and this included painting the ceiling and base boards. The issue included the following: (1) Company representative did not remember we had agreed on painting the ceiling (2) Company representative painted the base boards, after not remembering we had agreed on this, and I had to perform the work myself after the floors were placed (3) Company finished the work in one day (Friday) when it was made clear they would need to return on Monday AFTER the flooring work (4) Company stated the floor crew would be responsible for touch up work, which was not agreed upon (5) Company needed a quick deposit to establish the work date, but did not follow up with a contract as requested by me on numerous occassions

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to be reprimanded for their limited business approach in this situation, and have a percentage of the amount refunded. I never look forward to paying $2000 for work and having to spend hours completing it myself.

Business Response: This is in response to Complaint No. *******.  We appreciate the customer’s note that they were prior customers who said they used this company with great success. That said, we pride ourselves on having repeat customers who contact us for their home remodeling projects. We were contacted by Mr. ******* over a year ago to provide him with a proposal for work to be done at his home. Mr. ******* asked if Superior could honor the prior proposal. Upon discussion, Mr. ******* was informed that the prior contract could not be found due to new computer systems in place and that it would be extremely difficult, if not impossible, to quote the original proposal. I offered to go by the home and review the scope of work to be done. After meeting with Mr. *******, I asked him if he could recall the price of the proposal and if so, I would honor the price even though it had been over a year that I had given him a quote. He said he believed the price was $1,900.00.  After further discussion, Mr. ******* said not only did he want the original work to be done, he had additional work that he wanted done that was not on the original proposal. I told Mr. ******* that we could do the  additional work and that the final price would be $2,000.00. This was a verbal agreement and he agreed.  We commenced the work and we put extra crew members on the job because he wanted the work to be done prior to flooring being installed. We met his deadline and completed our end of the project.  It was only until after the flooring installation was done that we had a disagreement. Our own agreement did not mention any work to be done post installation of any flooring.  I spoke to Mr. ******* on the phone and he asked if I would agree to paint all the shoe molding to be installed prior to our leaving the job. I told I would do so and did so.  To address the numbers in the customer’s narrative:

1: We painted the ceiling for Mr. *******. 
2: All baseboards were painted. The flooring company is responsible for any damage to baseboards after the painting has already been done.
3: We finished the project as Mr. ******* said there would be flooring contractors in to install the floor. We do not intend to work while flooring is being installed. Further, Mr. ******* requested that we finish due to his own deadline.
4: See No. 2 above. Further, there was no agreement to repair or touch up any baseboards after the floor installation.
5: Customer never requested a contract. On the contrary, due to his having to rush to have this project completed, he agreed to pay the deposit. Company policy dictates that we must have a deposit in order to schedule a start date.

Finally, I performed a walk through with Mrs. ******* and she was satisfied with the work and we were paid in full. And at the time of the walk through, Mrs. ******* called her husband and informed him that we were done with the work. I spoke with Mr. ******* and confirmed we had completed the job and Mrs. ******* presented me with final payment. 

We feel that Mr. ******* was upset with the flooring company for damaging already painted baseboards. Further, he could have contacted us to discuss his concerns, but never called and supposedly, he had to perform the work himself. 
Finally, Mr. ******* did find the old contract which reflected a different total for the original scope of work to be done. However, Mr. ******* did not take into account the fact that there was additional work done that was not included in the original contract.  Therefore, Superior stands behind the final proposal and amount paid. Also, if the customers were not satisfied with the work performed, they could have withheld payment. We are not responsible for any damages or alleged misunderstandings by the customer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

(1)  Work stated would require 2 days, and was completed in one.  Why would I want the baseboards and 1/4 round painted when the flooring was not yet done?  That makes no sense.  The 1/4 round was removed and new board placed after the flooring was installed.  Why would I want something painted and then moved/removed?  The verbal agreement, which is binding in Texas, were repairs/ceiling painted on Friday, floors installed on Saturday and Sunday by a different company, and finish baseboard and 1/4 round painting on Monday.  Yes, I did want the work done before the holiday.  The original agreement would have accomplished the task.

(2)  I was at work when ****** did the walk through with my wife.  My wife did not feel comfortable confronting him and his crew.  My wife called me frustrated with the process, and I spoke with him at length on her cell phone.  I reminded him of our agreement, and that they were to return on Monday and paint the baseboard and quarter round.  He stated the touch up would be the floor company responsibility, which it is not. He knew the flooring was going to be installed over the weekend, and again, the baseboard and 1/4 round were going to be removed/manipulated.  I stated "I was not happy with the situation", and he stated "sorry".  I then ask that he wait, and I would be home in 15 minutes.  When I arrived 15 minutes later, he had already taken a check from my wife and was gone.  His crew was also in their vehicles driving away when I pulled up.

(3)  I sent him an email on Monday a.m., November 25th, with the original written contract from 10/12 (my wife found it in her archives, see the attached). I stated my displeasure with the service, and never had a response.

(4)  The original invoice was for $1400, and did not include the baseboard (200 linear feet).  $2000 should have more than covered the original quote and the baseboard work.

(5)  I do not withhold payment.  I pursue other means as necessary. 

Regards,

***** *******

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summary: We had intended to contract with ** ****** ********, Superior Painting and Renovating, **** * **** **** * *** **** *** ******** ** *****, to paint our house; however, within a couple of hours of discussing this with ** ********, we cancelled the job in favor of a lower bid. ** ******** was apparently extremely offended that we chose to go with another contractor, and refused to acknowledge our cancellation, after text, email, and many phone calls. He cashed our deposit check of $2775 after having been notified of our decision to cancel and has refused to repay the deposit in spite of having repeatedly agreed to do so, under two separate sets of conditions identified by ** ********, and our almost 2 months of attempted resolution. ** ******** would not even discuss resolution initially, stating we would hear from his attorney, but we heard nothing. After being contacted by our attorney, he said he was planning to use the color specific paint he said he had purchased for our house on another job, after which he would fully refund our deposit. (From the beginning, we offered to pay for any job specific expenditures with proof of purchase) Again we heard nothing, and our attorney called him again with no answer. ** ******** finally sent an email , now stating additional requirements before he would return our deposit. He stated that he required a Release of Claims before he would return our deposit (which we had another lengthy wait for), and that if we signed the Release and returned it to him by scan/email, he would send our deposit to us by certified US mail. He refused numerous attempts to arrange for a direct exchange of the Release for the refund. We finally signed the release with the added statement that it was valid upon repayment of the full deposit. This was sent to him on 20 June 2013. It has been an additional 3 full weeks and he has not returned our deposit and will not return attempted contacts from our attorney. We have prepared a more detailed explanation to provide if you need it, as well as copies of multiple emails between us, which were punctuated by numerous attempts by our attorney to contact him.

Desired Settlement: Full, immediate, and unconditional refund of $2775 deposit.

Business Response: This is in response to the BBB complaint no. *******.  By way of chronology referenced below are the true facts that contradict the allegations made by the *********. The ********* did contract with Superior Painting (Contract No. ****).  We had a signed contract confirming the commitment by the ********** to have work done at their home.  I met with the ********** on May 21st wherein we discussed the scope of work to be done. I prepared and emailed the ********** a contract on May 22nd at 9:11 a.m. and we met thereafter the same morning  wherein there was an agreement to the contract price and in addition, a request for more work to be done which was handwritten in to the contract by **** ******** which also changed the contract price.  I was given a piece of stucco off the house in order to order and purchase the paint (custom color match) and the stain for all sides and rear fencing was also a special order. Thereafter, I was given a deposit for ½ of the total contract price.  Once a contract is signed, it is my obligation and duty to provide the services as stated within that contract. The ********* also requested that I expedite the project as they had a self-imposed deadline to meet.  All that said, once I received the deposit, I immediately ordered the paint and materials to be used (custom color match) to assure that the paint would be ready for when we were to start the project. I also made arrangements for my crew to proceed with the project and re-arranged other scheduled projects in order to meet the ********** deadline.   Everything seemed to be running smoothly up until I abruptly received an e-mail from **** ******** stating that she had received a lower bid and asked that I tear up the deposit check. 

*** ********, our other bid came back at $5250 for the entire job including the fence using the same products, so we have decided to go with them. Please just tear up the deposit check. Thank you for your time and presentation. ******* ********”

I did receive a phone call and messages on Wednesday asking that contact **** ********. I returned the call after business hours and told **** ******** that I was late to pick up my wife at the airport and that I would have to call her first thing in the morning.  I called her on Thursday morning as promised at 9:00 a.m. and left her a voice mail message. She returned my call and during the conversation I asked that we no longer speak by phone, but rather utilize e-mail for any further discussions.  Thereafter, I continued to receive several text messages from **** ******** and phone calls regarding the mixing of the paint (custom color match). She asked repeatedly if the paint has been mixed and I told her it had been mixed and paid for.   To that end, she even threatened me by asking why I would risk my good name over this supposed misunderstanding.    
 
I wrote in my email to **** ******** that she must think that ordering paint and scheduling projects is an easy task.  However, she doesn’t understand how I run my business and the many projects we handle not only on a daily basis, but on a monthly basis.  It takes time, effort and efficiency on my part as well as my staff.  To say that she gave me “ample” time to cancel the project is incorrect. 
 
I informed **** ******** that my attorney would contact her to discuss the situation as I did have a signed contract and I was at a loss of what to do due to the expenditure of funds due to the custom color match of the paint including other materials and for scheduling of crews to accommodate this particular project.
 
Subsequently after several emails and conversations between our attorneys, a Release was drawn up to resolve the differences between Superior and the *********. Even after the Release was drawn up and sent, the ********** had several edits that they requested be made to the Release. We obliged their requests and the Release was edited per their request. Thereafter, **** ******** demanded a face to face meeting to exchange the Release and return of the funds. I refused to meet with her in person, but offered to send her the funds via certified mail upon receipt of the Release.  To date, we have yet to receive an executed Release. 
 
Furthermore, we also have many emails and text messages save in the even that they are necessary to further refute the allegations made by the *********.  That said, there were numerous demands made my **** ******** throughout this unfortunate circumstance wherein she continuously tried tell me what, when, and how she expected me to respond to her.  In essence, she made the situation confusing and more contentious that it had to be. If you require further documentation, please advise. Thank you. ****** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

We emailed the scanned copy of the requested release of claims on June 20, 2013. A copy of the email has been forwarded to ********* ******* at the BBB.  If somehow it was not received by ** ********, this should rectify that issue and the refund of our deposit of $2775 should be sent to us by certified mail now, as promised.

Regards,

******* ********

Business Response: We are in receipt of **** ******** response and understand that a copy of the signed Release has been submitted to the BBB. However, we have not had the opportunity to review the signed Release for any edits, etc.  Therefore, we would appreciate that a copy be send to us to confirm the terms that were stated within and to ensure that they have not been altered. That said, I would reference itemized section number (2) wherein it states: 


" Covenant Not To Sue:  The Parties covenant that each will refrain from commencing any action or suit, prosecuting any pending action or suit, or participating or assisting in any manner in the commencement or prosecution of any action or suit, at law or in equity, related to the Claims released by this agreement.  If ******** has commenced an action with any third party or judicial court, ******** will immediately withdraw any claims and will provide adequate proof to the Company prior to release of any refund. Further, any claims or reviews of a negative nature pertaining to the Company that have been electronically submitted to the internet will be removed and ******** agrees to refrain from publishing such content in the future."

This clause within the Release expressly states that the ******** will not commence any action against Superior Painting once they sign the Release. Since we never received the Release, and she went ahead and filed a complaint with the BBB, we would respectfully request that she withdraw this complaint against Superior Painting. 

Thank you. Superior Painting

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Mediation. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that Mediation is necessary.

Regards,

******* ********

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: According to the contract the final 25% of the payment was to be made after completion of the job. ****** ******** demanded the final payment before the job was completed. When we said the agreed upon work was not done, he became abusive, threatening, and walked off the job, refusing to return our house keys.

Desired Settlement: Apologize for his behavior, return our key

Business Response: This is in response to Complaint No. *******.  On November 22, 2013, I spoke to Mr. & Mrs. **** and informed them that the scope of work had been completed. During the walk through, Mr. **** began speaking of additional work that he wanted done that was not within the original contract. During this discussion, it became apparent that the ****s were going to withhold the final balance unless we did extra work for them. I’d mention that all the while during the work that was being done, Mrs. **** would speak to my crew members and request work that was not agree upon or contracted for under the pretense of not having to pay for the additional work.  Unfortunately, my crew did perform additional work without my approval and this work was outside the scope of the original contract. I then spoke to my crew on several occasions and told them that they were to direct Mrs. **** to me in the event she continued to request work that was not within the contract.

Going back to the discussion at the final walk through, I told Mr. **** we were finished and that we would need to be paid. He refused to pay the balance owed plus the monies for the additional work that was done that was not in the contract.  At the point, he put his finger in my face and told me I was not going to get paid. My employees witnessed this gesture. I then told my employees to leave asap. The ****s began yelling and slamming doors and we left because we felt threatened and it was a very uncomfortable situation.  We intend on collecting the balance owed from the ****s.

As far as the key is concerned, the key was left on the premises. I personally told Mrs. **** that the key was in a cabinet in the wet bar area.  Thank you.

6/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service