Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Superior Painting and Remodeling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Superior Painting and Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Superior Painting and Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 10, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1996 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 08/17/2008 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ernest Espinoza, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ernest Espinoza, President
Business Category

Painting Contractors Painting - Faux Finishing Commercial Painting Contractor Industrial Painting Wallpaper Removing Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Granite Cabinets Countertops Countertop - Fabrication Floor Materials - Retail Resilient & Vinyl Flooring Floors - Hardwood Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Pressure Washing Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing Deck Cleaning & Sealing Contractors - Flooring Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Drywall Contractors Floor Coverings & Installation Floor Coatings - Epoxy/Polyurethane Floors - Laminate Home Improvements Graffiti Removal

Alternate Business Names
Superior Colors Superior Colors LLC Superior Painting Company
Industry Tips
Before You Build Your Home Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Superior Painting and Remodeling has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1141 N Loop 1604 E Ste 254

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 449-0193

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted (***** ******** ******** *** **********) and hired Superior Painting and Remodeling LLC for painting services at my residence of **** *** ******* **** **** **. They began painting my property on Thursday June 12th. My husband and I went to check the status of the property the next day Saturday June 14th to find the residence extremely hot and the strong smell of tobacco smoke. Upon further investigation we noticed the largest window in the residence wide open and the HVAC turned down to 74 as we had it fixed on 81. I immediately went to check the HVAC unit and found it completely frozen and the culprit for the smoke smell with cigarette butts in the floor soaked in the condensation of the frozen HVAC. We then began looking around the residence to find my sliding glass door blinds had been removed and placed in the middle of the living room floor where they had clearly been stepped on and crushed in the middle as well as being covered in texture overspray. In addition to the painting services we had employed Superior Painting and Remodeling to fix a crack along the interior roof. The crack had been repaired but in the process there was an extreme amount of ceiling texture negligently tracked throughout the home. Superior had put a plastic covering over the living room carpet but the hallway and 3 bedrooms had no protection and the carpet was covered in sheet rock. There was also a large amount of trash throughout the inside as well as outside the property. In addition there was a 5 gallon bucket of paint sitting in the middle of my living room carpet with the lid off. We contacted (***** ******** ******** *** **********) regarding the state of our residence, our concern that things were being handled with such negligence, our property left unsecured overnight, and most importantly the condition of the HVAC as a result in which he immediately denied any wrong doing on his or his crew’s part. In turn he deflected the damages back on to us completely fabricating a story that I had told him my HVAC was already in ill repair. Let me state that this allegation is completely false and ridiculous on its face as there would have be no reason for me to have ever discussed the HVAC with (***** ******** ******** *** **********) upon seeking his services as he is not in the business of HVAC's but in the business of painting. Before leaving the residence my husband completely taped off the thermostat sealing it, and in block lettering wrote “DO NOT USE!!!!” We repeatedly called ****** only to reach his answering service. When he would communicate with us which was very sporadic at best, ****** continued to deny any wrong doing in any way on his part and informed us that he went to our residence and turned on the AC and that it was working fine in turn contradicting his story that we informed him that the AC was already in ill repair beforehand, and disregarding our verbal instructions not to use after my husband had sealed the thermostat with tape and labeled “do not use”. Mind you we were trying to let the unit completely thaw out in the hopes that it would resume functioning. He also informed us that we should not be touching our own blinds until they were finished with the job. My husband and I then returned to the property the next day to find the tape removed and the thermostat now set on 69 and that he had clearly tried to cover the damage to our blinds by unbending the crushed center although they no longer work. We never asked ****** for anything at this point except to acknowledge their mistake and give him the opportunity to at least call a technician to look at our HVAC unit, neither of which he would do. Again the only thing we did ask is that he not touch the unit which he proceeded to do anyway. My husband again taped off the thermostat, labeled do not use, and we then took it upon ourselves to call an AC technician. The technician arrived the next day and had to cut the coils out of the unit and replace at a cost to us of $620 dollars. The paint staff was on-site as this occurred. I would like to state for the record that the very first question the AC technician asked was if the paint crew was shooting the texture with the HVAC running. He informed us that appeared to be our issue in conjunction with having to work so hard due to the open window and low setting in turn causing it to freeze. I did speak with one of Superior’s workers and he admitted to me that they had indeed shot the texture with the AC running. The temperature during this time in Texas has been in the high 90’s -100’s. For the record, the temperature in the house when we discovered the issue was 91 with the thermostat set by Superior’s crew at 74 running full blast with a wide open window. The technician also stated the coils were completely blocked and that there was absolutely no way any air was getting through that unit, completely dispelling (***** ******** ******** *** **********) statement to us that he had turned the unit on and that it was working just fine. In addition to the damages, denial of any wrongdoing whatsoever, and deflection back on us with completely fabricated claims, (***** ******** ******** *** **********) had the audacity to accuse me of trying to contract his workers on the side to do the exterior of the house without his knowledge. Again absolutely absurd as I had signed a contract beforehand with ****** to do both the interior and exterior painting of the residence, not to mention we were obviously absolutely shocked at the state of our residence and negligence on their part and in no way would we ever be interested in doing any further business with them. In addition upon signing of the contract, (***** ******** ******** *** **********) agreed that the inside job would be completed no later than Tuesday June 17th. I spoke with ****** on Wednesday June 18th admittedly upset at this point due to what I have already stated as well as the property not being finished. I informed him he needed to be completed and out of my residence by close of business day and hung up the phone. Again my husband and I returned to the residence after business hours to find the job not only incomplete but that they had clearly not even been to the residence, again with no communication or update in anyway. (***** ******** ******** *** **********) contacted by email at 7:52pm that evening stating that he assumed I just wanted him out and informed his crew not to show up that day, again in complete opposition to what I had stated. I responded to his email and stated that his assumptions were incorrect and that he indeed needed to complete the work that I have already paid him in full for by close of business the next day as well as offer me some kind of resolution for the damages to my property. He replied that he would complete the work the next day and respond in full to our issues regarding the damages that evening. He sent one crew member to paint the next day as we had an electrician on site all day who informed us of the situation and again they still did not complete the job. It is now Friday June 20th and no one from Superior painting has returned to our residence for completion of the work, nor did he address our issues in any way as he stated he would the evening before. There has been no response from him at all. In addition I have photos to prove my claims regarding the frozen HVAC, the condition of my blinds, and the cigarette butts in the floor. I also have in writing where (***** ******** ******** *** **********) admits to opening the windows, turning on the AC after instructed not to, as well as his absolutely slanderous claim that I tried to contract his workers on the side for a job I had already signed a contract with him to do. They also packed up the remaining paint that we had purchased upon leaving the premises the last time in hindsight telling me they had no intention of returning and stealing property that was ours. At this point I am seeking: 1. I would like to have the work completed by another source at a cost of $150.00 2. An additional $150 down payment for the exterior which we informed him we will not be proceeding with. 3. Reimbursement for the HVAC repair costs of $620. 4. Replacement costs of our sliding glass door vertical blinds at a cost of $49.97. 5. Carpet cleaning at a cost of $120. 6. $50 for taking the remaining paint that we had purchased. 7. Release from any further presumed obligations.

Desired Settlement: A reimbursement of coast and damages totaling $1139.97.

Business Response: This response to case no. ******** is made by ****** ********, owner of Superior Painting and Remodeling. I was contacted by *** ***** to provide an estimates for interior and exterior work to be performed at **** *** ******* *** ******** *****.  I met with *** ***** and we agreed to pricing for both projects (See invoice(s) No. ***** and Invoice No. *****).  It was during this meeting that *** ***** mentioned to me she was having problems with the HVAC and that she was going to have an AC tech come by. *** ***** submitted the required deposit for the projects and signed both contracts.  We agreed to a start date of June 12th.  When my crew arrived, the HVAC was on and the home was hot inside. My crew opened windows so that it would be a little cooler while they worked. It made no sense for them to open a window if the HVAC was cooling the house.  I did speak to one of my crew members and he said they had left a window open upon leaving the residence at the end of the day.  I would mention that I had noticed cigarette butts in the garage when I first met with *** *****. Upon being notified by *** ***** about the cigarette butts, I personally went to the home to check on the conditions she allegedly believed were cause by my crew. Upon inspection of the exterior of the home, I saw numerous cigarette butts around the perimeter of the house and outside the back yard. I was also approached by the neighbor next door and I asked the lady if she knew the previous owners. She told me that they were heavy smokers that had lived there and that they were constantly smoking indoors and out.  She said she could smell the smoke from her home.  Furthermore, no member of my crew smokes cigarettes.  
    
Regarding texture overspray, I have photographs to support that not only did we take care of ensuring that the flooring covered with plastic; there was no overspray. And as to the blinds, I also have pictures of the blinds which were completely filthy; there were food particles on the blinds and they were in ill repair to the point of almost being unusable. *** ****’s assertion that we left overspray in the home totally incorrect.   
To address the trash allegation, my crew bagged all trash and it was left at the rear of the house.  The day we finished the job, we took the trash with us. 
*** ***** had just purchased this house and it was in dire need of repairs. She did tell me that she was doing most of the work herself in an effort to save some money. The HVAC unit was part of her conversation with me in that she had noticed it was not working properly. To have her come in after we started the interior project and attempt to extort fees from my company to repair something that is obviously her responsibility. My crew would not tamper with any customer’s AC unit. On the contrary, since it was so hot, they needed air flow in the house to perform their work.  Also, I personally was on site when the work was being done and I know the integrity of my crew.  My crew never touched the thermostat before it was labeled or after it was labeled. Nor did I. That said, one of my crew members told me that *** ***** had asked him to perform work for him “on the side.” This is not the first time this has happened. I have had customers try to engage my crew to do work for them. I have a company policy that if a crew member decides to perform work outside the work to be performed and under contract with Superior; it is grounds for immediate termination.  My employees are loyal and do not cross the line when it comes to their jobs. (See email dated 6/18/14) 
Superior is not responsible for the issues with the HVAC unit. The problems with the HVAC unit were in existence prior to our even starting the interior scope of work.  To attempt to extort money from Superior to fix an issue that was not even part of the project is absurd. 
We completed the interior project on June 18th. A crew member walked the scope of work with *** ****’s husband.  He acknowledged the work, was happy with the work and it was confirmed to be complete.  Company policy is to remove any materials and debris when a project is complete.  This includes the paint if any is left over. It is disposed of since we cannot use it for any other project. 
During the course of this project, it became very apparent that *** ***** was posturing herself to make false claims against Superior.  After a conversation with her wherein she hung up on me, I felt it was in the best interest of the company that we no longer speak by phone, but rather correspond by email.  
Regarding the balance due to Superior: Superior has a breach of contract against *** ***** for the exterior project.  We have a signed contract wherein she has denied payment. She paid a ½ deposit for the interior scope of work and ½ deposit for the exterior scope of work. The interior project is complete and Superior has applied the exterior deposit to cover the costs of the interior project. The overage of $150.00 is applied to closets that were painted and that were not included in the interior estimate.  We have pictures of the closets that were painted.
*** ***** still owes Superior for the exterior project and is in breach of her commitment a signed contract.  I feel that she is attempting to work the system and seek remedies she is not entitled to receive.  Superior seeks damages in the amount $2,100.00.  Thank you. 


****** ******** 
Superior Painting & Remodeling, LLC. 
**** ** **** **** ***** ***** **** **** ****  *** ******** ***** ***** 
Office: ************ Fax: ************ 
E-mail: ****************************
Webb: *************************************

 

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have used this company in the past with great success (we had a contract in place). With this episode, we had a tentative contract drawn up in October 2012, but did not have a current one in place when the work began in November 2013. We were charged more than we had initially agreed upon, and the work was not as requested. We had discussed verbally prior to painting that things would be done in stages (we were having floor repairs done as well), and this included painting the ceiling and base boards. The issue included the following: (1) Company representative did not remember we had agreed on painting the ceiling (2) Company representative painted the base boards, after not remembering we had agreed on this, and I had to perform the work myself after the floors were placed (3) Company finished the work in one day (Friday) when it was made clear they would need to return on Monday AFTER the flooring work (4) Company stated the floor crew would be responsible for touch up work, which was not agreed upon (5) Company needed a quick deposit to establish the work date, but did not follow up with a contract as requested by me on numerous occassions

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to be reprimanded for their limited business approach in this situation, and have a percentage of the amount refunded. I never look forward to paying $2000 for work and having to spend hours completing it myself.

Business Response: This is in response to Complaint No. *******.  We appreciate the customer’s note that they were prior customers who said they used this company with great success. That said, we pride ourselves on having repeat customers who contact us for their home remodeling projects. We were contacted by Mr. ******* over a year ago to provide him with a proposal for work to be done at his home. Mr. ******* asked if Superior could honor the prior proposal. Upon discussion, Mr. ******* was informed that the prior contract could not be found due to new computer systems in place and that it would be extremely difficult, if not impossible, to quote the original proposal. I offered to go by the home and review the scope of work to be done. After meeting with Mr. *******, I asked him if he could recall the price of the proposal and if so, I would honor the price even though it had been over a year that I had given him a quote. He said he believed the price was $1,900.00.  After further discussion, Mr. ******* said not only did he want the original work to be done, he had additional work that he wanted done that was not on the original proposal. I told Mr. ******* that we could do the  additional work and that the final price would be $2,000.00. This was a verbal agreement and he agreed.  We commenced the work and we put extra crew members on the job because he wanted the work to be done prior to flooring being installed. We met his deadline and completed our end of the project.  It was only until after the flooring installation was done that we had a disagreement. Our own agreement did not mention any work to be done post installation of any flooring.  I spoke to Mr. ******* on the phone and he asked if I would agree to paint all the shoe molding to be installed prior to our leaving the job. I told I would do so and did so.  To address the numbers in the customer’s narrative:

1: We painted the ceiling for Mr. *******. 
2: All baseboards were painted. The flooring company is responsible for any damage to baseboards after the painting has already been done.
3: We finished the project as Mr. ******* said there would be flooring contractors in to install the floor. We do not intend to work while flooring is being installed. Further, Mr. ******* requested that we finish due to his own deadline.
4: See No. 2 above. Further, there was no agreement to repair or touch up any baseboards after the floor installation.
5: Customer never requested a contract. On the contrary, due to his having to rush to have this project completed, he agreed to pay the deposit. Company policy dictates that we must have a deposit in order to schedule a start date.

Finally, I performed a walk through with Mrs. ******* and she was satisfied with the work and we were paid in full. And at the time of the walk through, Mrs. ******* called her husband and informed him that we were done with the work. I spoke with Mr. ******* and confirmed we had completed the job and Mrs. ******* presented me with final payment. 

We feel that Mr. ******* was upset with the flooring company for damaging already painted baseboards. Further, he could have contacted us to discuss his concerns, but never called and supposedly, he had to perform the work himself. 
Finally, Mr. ******* did find the old contract which reflected a different total for the original scope of work to be done. However, Mr. ******* did not take into account the fact that there was additional work done that was not included in the original contract.  Therefore, Superior stands behind the final proposal and amount paid. Also, if the customers were not satisfied with the work performed, they could have withheld payment. We are not responsible for any damages or alleged misunderstandings by the customer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

(1)  Work stated would require 2 days, and was completed in one.  Why would I want the baseboards and 1/4 round painted when the flooring was not yet done?  That makes no sense.  The 1/4 round was removed and new board placed after the flooring was installed.  Why would I want something painted and then moved/removed?  The verbal agreement, which is binding in Texas, were repairs/ceiling painted on Friday, floors installed on Saturday and Sunday by a different company, and finish baseboard and 1/4 round painting on Monday.  Yes, I did want the work done before the holiday.  The original agreement would have accomplished the task.

(2)  I was at work when ****** did the walk through with my wife.  My wife did not feel comfortable confronting him and his crew.  My wife called me frustrated with the process, and I spoke with him at length on her cell phone.  I reminded him of our agreement, and that they were to return on Monday and paint the baseboard and quarter round.  He stated the touch up would be the floor company responsibility, which it is not. He knew the flooring was going to be installed over the weekend, and again, the baseboard and 1/4 round were going to be removed/manipulated.  I stated "I was not happy with the situation", and he stated "sorry".  I then ask that he wait, and I would be home in 15 minutes.  When I arrived 15 minutes later, he had already taken a check from my wife and was gone.  His crew was also in their vehicles driving away when I pulled up.

(3)  I sent him an email on Monday a.m., November 25th, with the original written contract from 10/12 (my wife found it in her archives, see the attached). I stated my displeasure with the service, and never had a response.

(4)  The original invoice was for $1400, and did not include the baseboard (200 linear feet).  $2000 should have more than covered the original quote and the baseboard work.

(5)  I do not withhold payment.  I pursue other means as necessary. 

Regards,

***** *******

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: According to the contract the final 25% of the payment was to be made after completion of the job. ****** ******** demanded the final payment before the job was completed. When we said the agreed upon work was not done, he became abusive, threatening, and walked off the job, refusing to return our house keys.

Desired Settlement: Apologize for his behavior, return our key

Business Response: This is in response to Complaint No. *******.  On November 22, 2013, I spoke to Mr. & Mrs. **** and informed them that the scope of work had been completed. During the walk through, Mr. **** began speaking of additional work that he wanted done that was not within the original contract. During this discussion, it became apparent that the ****s were going to withhold the final balance unless we did extra work for them. I’d mention that all the while during the work that was being done, Mrs. **** would speak to my crew members and request work that was not agree upon or contracted for under the pretense of not having to pay for the additional work.  Unfortunately, my crew did perform additional work without my approval and this work was outside the scope of the original contract. I then spoke to my crew on several occasions and told them that they were to direct Mrs. **** to me in the event she continued to request work that was not within the contract.

Going back to the discussion at the final walk through, I told Mr. **** we were finished and that we would need to be paid. He refused to pay the balance owed plus the monies for the additional work that was done that was not in the contract.  At the point, he put his finger in my face and told me I was not going to get paid. My employees witnessed this gesture. I then told my employees to leave asap. The ****s began yelling and slamming doors and we left because we felt threatened and it was a very uncomfortable situation.  We intend on collecting the balance owed from the ****s.

As far as the key is concerned, the key was left on the premises. I personally told Mrs. **** that the key was in a cabinet in the wet bar area.  Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Superior Painting and Remodeling
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart