Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

FramesDirect.com

Phone: (800) 248-9427 Fax: (512) 288-1797 2801 S Ih 35 Ste 170, Austin, TX 78741 http://www.framesdirect.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that FramesDirect.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for FramesDirect.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 28

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on FramesDirect.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 24, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1997 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated 01/23/1995 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 W 49th St, Austin TX 78756
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: 888-963-7111

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Glenda Stubbs, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Glenda Stubbs, Office Manager
Related Businesses
EyeBuyDirect, Inc.
Business Category

Optical Equipment & Supplies Sunglasses Eyeglass Suppliers Contact Lenses

Alternate Business Names
Armed Forces Eyewear Frames Direct Frames for America, Inc. www.framesdirect.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

FramesDirect.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2801 S Ih 35 Ste 170

    Austin, TX 78741 (800) 248-9427

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered for a ****** Rayban aviator sunglass around Jan 27th. The amount of roughly around $154 was charged to my credit card on Jan 27th. The order date the first time given to me was around Feb 14th as they mentioned that it has to be ordered with the manufacturer. Later when I followed up on Feb 16th after I did not hear from the optician ******** she mentioned that the manufacturer had extended the order date to March 2nd. I ordered this sunglass as a gift to my nephew who had asked me for this model. I had run out of alternate options around the Feb 16th as I wanted it around the March 4th and other vendors were providing me with a date beyond March 4th. I decided to wait for March 2nd and again the excuse was given to me by ******* that the manufacturer had extended the date. After one more extension around March 17th when she had sent an email that the order date is Apr1st, my order was cancelled today stating that the product has ben discontinued by the manufacturer. I am yet to get my refund but my complaint is about the bad business practice of taking a customer for a ride.

Desired Settlement: I want Framesdirect to update the site for the availability/nonavailability of the products so that gullible customers like me will not be taken for a ride. I want my refund of $154.

Business Response: We apologize for all of the delays with the product that the customer selected.  We have no control over the manufacture delays and can only report the information we are given.  We agree this is not a good business practice and make every attempt to advise customer's as soon as we know of a delay.

4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a pair of glasses early November of 2014 from this vendor. Item arrived within time frame. Upon receipt, I noticed a material defect that impaired my vision (as well as my safety) and immediately contacted company. Was instructed I had to pay for return shipping until I demonstrated company's own policy stated otherwise whereby the company pays for return shipping of defective product. I sent back defective pair and was assured they (company representative) would examine and reissue new pair. Fast forward to end of December, received replacement pair and noticed yet another defect. Again, contacted company, and was instructed to send back for examination/repair. Sent back as instructed and waited over a month for 3rd replacement. Received 3rd replacement recently and yet again, a defective was present and after some back and forth with company representative, I went on my own time to a local optician who noted the defect and agreed. I contacted the company same day with findings and photographic proof and was told to send back and they company will decide whether they will issue a refund as requested.

Desired Settlement: A demand for a full refund is made here.

Business Response:

Looking at all of the notes on this original order and replacement orders, we have been working these issues for the customer.  I see that we refunded customer's original purchase less shipping - total of $289.40 on 4/2/14.  We refunded the customer's return shipping earlier today for another $4.00 which.  Customer is now refunded in full.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Note to business: evaluate your business practices. It's completely unethical on your part that well informed consumers like myself have to take it to this level to achieve timely results that are in line with YOUR written policy. 

Regards,

***** *********

4/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order a pair of eyeglasses and has been told it's on back order and they want return my $ 394.00 that I paid. It's been 4 months.

Desired Settlement: Want all of my money back. They even lied about saying they send me an email explaining that my order is back order. ***** ***** the operations Mgr could have give me the courtesy and call to give me further options.

Business Response: This message is really surprising since we have been in constant contact with customer.  ***** ***** spoke with him this morning and was just going to process a replacement order.  I've given this message to ***** to follow-up with customer on cancelling and refunding.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally placed an order with FramesDirect in October. After backorder delays, I finally got the glasses in December. The lenses were extremely poor quality, and I couldn't see well out of them. I sent them back, they agreed they were poor quality, and re-made them. The new glasses are still hard to see out of. I have returned them a second time and requested a refund because this is 2 sets of bad lenses, and I would rather go to another retailer then try again. They are resisting because they said the prescription is correct. I am not arguing the prescription. I am arguing that their product is poor.

Desired Settlement: I just want the product refunded. I am willing to keep the frames if they don't want to refund those, but I don't trust the company to make quality lenses after 2 bad attempts. I am also needed to move on because it has been 6 months since I started this order.

Business Response: Our Customer Service Associate has been in constant contact with customer and has submitted a refund request for full cost of lenses.  Frames were shipped back to the customer.  Refund for lenses in process. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******1, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

2/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pair of Versace frames from frames direct. The amount of 208$.00 was deducted from my card. I received a phone call from a rep telling me the order went through and my frames were being shipped. I had also paid for next day shipping so I was excited to know that my games would be here soon. When two days passed and I didid not receive them I called and spoke to another rep who exclaimed it would take a few days to process but then they would be next day mailed to me. I gave it two more days. And then I received an email from a lady name channel telling me that my games were discontinued and that I needed to login to my account and look for new frames. I was upset because when I logged on I didn't have a credit or my money refunded to my card. And in the email the say that they will not charge my card for new frames until its verified. But they had already taken the money before. If the frames were not avaulible why was my money taken or not refined promptly when they emailed me to notify me of the error. When I called and spoke to Allen who also emailed me in response to a complaint I filed with the company website the other pair of frames I had chosen were also not available. He then said he would refund the card. I called back and spike to a supervisor named ***** who said she would then process my card for a refund but that it could take a few days to receive it. This is clearly a ongoing practice of frames direct to advertise frames and take money for frames that they do not have and make it a hassle to get your money back. This is bad business practices in my opinion and should not be allowed to continue to fraud hard working people.

Desired Settlement: First I would like my money refunded and for this company to he forced to change the way they conduct business.

Business Response:

Looking at the history of this order, the details we received from the manufacturer advised that this product could be purchased but when we actually placed the order, it came back discontinued.  It is not our practice to in any way mislead our customers.  This order was placed on 1/30/15 and we advised customer of discontinued on 2/4/15.  We refunded in full 2/5/2015. 

2/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We placed an order for frames and authorized a one time USD charge. Instead they made a "small charge" and then sent and email asking for verification. This was off-putting as it wasn't what we authorized and felt like it could be fraudulent. Rather than give them any more information, we requested the purchase be cancelled. Instead of reversing the unauthorized charge, they refunded for a smaller amount, shorting us by $1.01. While this is not a lot of money, it is an unauthorized use of the credit card and deserves to rectified rather than dismissed as 'policy' as their customer service rep did with us. We requested a phone number for a supervisor but instead were given another email.

Desired Settlement: The original unauthorized charge should be cancelled and not refunded for less.

Business Response:

Customer placed an order on our website on 2/14/15.  Bill to name and address was different than the ship to name and address.  For security purposes, we always perform a credit card test where we charge customer's card for a random small amount and require the customer to confirm the amount of the charge before we process the order.  With the growing amount of fraudulent charges that customer are experiencing, this protects the customers as well as our company from fraudulent charges.  The amount refunded was different due to the exchange rate.  I will process a refund to cover the shortage.  I hope this explains the purpose of the charge and assure you we are trying to protect our customers with this policy.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution will be satisfactory.

Regards,

***** *****

1/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was a returning customer. Bought a $800 pair of glasses last year and within year lens cracked and rimless frame falling apart. Ordered some different frames to select a replacement and was then contacted by a customer rep and told that a mgr had singled me out and said that they would not except any returns from me anymore even though this special return policy on high dollar orders is not listed on their site. So I canceled the order and will never be ordering from them again or recommending them to anyone.

Desired Settlement: If they are going to single me out and not honor their return policy then they need to list this policy on their site.

Business Response: This customer has purchased many frames from us over the last few years but has returned almost every one of them.  That is why we advised customer that we would not accept any more returns. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The glasses i am wearing right now and the glasses that my daughter is wearing right now are from frame direct. So your statement is false.

Regards,

****** *****

12/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: According to Frames direct own website it clearly states that you can return or exchange an item for any reason and at the very least receive full purchase price refunded minus 50% of the lens price. I returned a pair of prescrition glasses October 20th but did not receive any kind of refund from Frames Direct. I believe they are refusing to issue a refund out of spite due to the fact that I complained multiple times for the condition of the glasses when I received them. I received five pairs of the same frame all in the same condition. I took the glasses to my family eye doctor twice in which they told me both times that there was nothing they could do because the glasses were beyond adjustable or fixable. I also took the glasses to an optical lab in which they said they could not adjust the frames to the original shape. I waited months for them to try and get the frames right and gave them every opportunity to fix them. I went out of my way to try and get the frames adjusted to fit. Each and every time I returned the frames either a Frames Direct representative or *****, the operations manager admitted that there was something wrong with the frames and they assured me they would fix it. Unfortunately, every pair of frames I received from Frames Direct was in the exact conditionsame condition. I needed a new pair of prescription sunglasses for the summer and found a pair of Gucci frames at my eye doctors office. Being that the markup on the price is quite high at the doctor’s office, I looked online for the same exact pair and found them at FramesDirect.com for slightly cheaper. Since the frames at the doctor’s office fit perfectly I expected the frames from Frames Direct would fit as well being that they were the same frame and the exact same size. I paid $286.35 for the frames and prescription lens plus an extra $55.00 for the lenses to be polarized. In total the glasses cost me $341.35. I received the first pair of glasses around the first of July and as soon as I put them on they literally fell off my face. They were so stretched out on the sides that I could immediately tell something was not right. I called to complain but they insisted that I take them somewhere and have them adjusted. Although hesitant, I took the glasses to my doctor’s office where they took one look and told me there was nothing they could do make them fit because they were too stretched out on the sides. I took the Gucci frames that the doctor had and put them next to the same Gucci frame from Frames Direct and you can clearly see the problem. The frames at my doctor’s office are actually curved in the front which is the way they are supposed to be in order for them to fit. I called Frames Direct and sent them pictures of the two frames to show them the problem. Once they received the frames they were very apologetic and said they didn’t know why they would have passed quality control in the condition they were in. They assured me that they would have quality control double inspect the frame to ensure that I didn’t receive them in the same condition. I received two more frames in this condition. I was very upset and by this point and wanted a refund which I stated to the Frames Direct representative Carrie in an email on September 4th. I then spoke to the operations manager ***** who was extremely nice and apologetic and convinced me to give him one more try. He also issued me a $40 credit for the inconvenience. He assured me the glasses would fit. Once I received the fourth pair of frames they were no different than the rest. I then tried calling ***** who would not return my calls. I finally called my credit card company, Capital One to dispute the charge in which they were able to get him on the phone. This time he was very rude over the phone with me and the Capital One representative but he did state that I could receive a full refund minus the 50% lens fee. After arguing with him for some time I finally agreed to take the glasses once more to try and get them adjusted since he seemed to think that was the issue. I clearly told him with the Capital One representative on the line that if they could not fix the glasses then I wanted a refund. I then took the frames to a local optical lab that fixes lenses and frames. They told me that it would cost me $40.00 to adjust the frames the best they could but that they could not adjust them to their original shape. I did show the optician a picture of the glasses from my doctor’s office. Looking at the picture, she assumed that they were not putting in curved lenses like the original lenses and instead were using flat lenses which were ruining the curved shape of the frame. When you look at the pictures of the two identical frames this seems to make sense. I asked a Frames Direct representative about this and she stated that they do not use curved lenses. I returned the glasses again but instead of getting a refund like I clearly stated I wanted, they sent me a fifth pair of frames that I did not ask for. Again, the frames were no different than the other pairs and had to be sent back. They would not send me a return shipping label so on top of having to visit the post office again, I also had to pay shipping for a fifth pair of glasses that they never should have sent me in the first place. Being that I did everything I was supposed to, I feel that I deserve a full refund from Frames Direct. I would have never ordered from them if I didn’t try the frames on at my doctor’s office to make sure they fit. At the very least they should at least follow their own refund policy which they have not done. I first ordered these glasses at the end of June to have for the summer. I gave them multiple opportunities to try and fix the frames which they could not. I have no sunglasses and Frames Direct kept my money as well. You can clearly see in the pictures that I have the problem with the frames. I have been wearing glasses for over 17 years. I buy new glasses at least once a year and have never had this problem. I’ve had to have my eyeglasses slightly adjusted due to normal wear and stretching but these frames were not even in the original shape when I received them. I will never do business with this company in the future and I hope I can at least get some of my money back so that I can order glasses somewhere else. Thank you, ******* ****

Desired Settlement: They have conterclaimed my credit card company and refused to issue me a refund. I feel I deserve a full refund for recieveing a defective product but at the very least they should honor their own policy of 100% refund on the frame and 50% refund on the lens.

Business Response: Thank you for detailing your experience with our company.  I will reach out to the customer service group and review the details of your order.

12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am at an impasse with Frames Direct over a defective pair of Nike eyeglasses frames that I purchased in February. My contact with the company from the beginning has been a nightmare. To start, my credit card billing address is different than my shipping address. I have moved around in the last few years a bit and my parents have always graciously allowed my credit card bill to be sent to their house. When Frames Direct saw the difference in the two addresses, they went about confirming that I was not committing credit card fraud. Now I completely understand the need for this practice and would have happily provided all information needed to verify my card as valid HAD I BEEN CONTACTED. Instead, the Frames Direct representative took it upon themselves to google my parents phone number (which I did not provide) based on the address and then call my parents to inform them they were victims of fraud. My parents are both elderly and have health conditions that can be exacerbated by anxiety. Imagine someone like that getting a call to inform them they are a victim of internet fraud when they never shop online? The Frames Direct representative did not clearly indicate whom they were calling from or how they had come to this conclusion. I contacted Frames Direct to complain and was told by a very apologetic floor manager that this was not the proper procedure for this kind of verification. I continued my transaction with them and after some other minor and annoying delays, I received the frames. Fast forward to November and I am at work, seated at my desk, in front of a computer. My glasses literally fall off my face into my lap. Upon inspection, the right temple hinge has simply snapped in half. The frames are useless. Now I do not play sports and for any physical activity, I remove my glasses and leave them somewhere safe, in their case. Clearly this is a defect so I call Frames Direct and speak with a rather pleasant lady whom walks me through the return process and promises an e-mail outlining all the vital info and containing my RMA#. The e-mail never comes and I have to contact her again to get the e-mail sent. I send the frames back via courier (UPS) and receive an e-mail on December 4 saying that the return has been received and it will take a few days to decide a course of action. When I do receive a call, the representative tells me Nike ********* has refused to honour the warranty on the frames so there is nothing Frames Direct can do but she can send me back my frames. SEND ME BACK MY BROKEN FRAMES. My patience with the company has worn out and I ask for a refund. The representative informs me that cannot be done either so apparently my only option is to accept return of broken frames. I refuse and ask to speak with a manager. She tells me that the case manager ******* can be contacted by e-mail and gives me his e-mail address. I spell it back to her and she confirms that is correct. I find out when my e-mails to the manager are sent back to me that she has given me his address incorrectly. I have to contact Frames Direct again to get his correct e-mail. The rep I speak to also forwards my e-mail to the manager. A week goes by and I have still heard nothing. I e-mail the manager again, asking for a reply. He does by next day and says that while Nike ********* refuses to replace the frames, he would be happy to. Now keep on mind I have been without glasses all of this time. I had to get an old pair partially repaired so they are usable so I had something to use to drive and be able to attend to my job properly. I inform him I appreciate they have changed their mind but I need a refund at this point. The manager e-mails back almost immediately, saying he cannot process any refunds over 30 days and that he will be having a representative contact me shortly to set up shipment of my new frames. When the representative calls, I again re-state my case and repeat I only want a refund. She informs me that the manager is her boss and he would have to make that call. I tell her I understand completely and she transfers me to the manager. I explain my case again and he again insists that they would like to expedite a new pair of frames to me as soon as possible. I again say at this point, I wish to have a refund only. He continues to tell me how long the business has been operating and how customer service is number one and Frames Direct is one of the best in the business. I am familiar with these diversionary tactics as I have worked retail at a management level as well. When he states that he is sorry I have lost faith in Nike *********, I correct him and say I have lost all faith in Frames Direct and therefore, wish a refund. The tone of the conversation changes at this point and he firmly states there will be no refund after 30 days and they would be willing to do another frame to get away from Nike if I would like. While I do understand the need for there to be rules, I also made clear that in certain exceptional circumstances, all retailers have to make exceptions. The manager still refused so I stated that while I understood his position, I would have to speak with someone else above him them. He said that there was no one else and I had reached as far as I could go up. I again reconfirmed that he was the highest management there and he said yes. I find this to a little bold and questionable. If that is the case, and he is the highest management at the company, would clearly have the power to do a refund if he so chose. Frames Direct has been a nightmare from the beginning and I have spent countless hours trying to deal with the company. I am done hence why the BBB is involved now.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of my Nike eyeglasses frames. I know this is possible outside of 30 days as the BBB website that lists cases with Frames Direct has multiple examples of refunds after months and months, one even involving the same operations manager I have been dealing with! Refund my credit card so we can part ways and stop this back and forth battle.

Business Response: Thank you for detailing your experience with our company.  We appreciate that you took the time to provide this information.  I will reach out to the customer service group and review you refund request.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******1, and believe it sounds as if we are going in the right direction.  I cannot fully accept your response until resolution through refund.  Thank you.

Regards,

***** ********

12/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 20,2014 @ 3:26pm, I received a call and email from ***** *** stated that the operation manager would like to speak with you, Mr. ****** I explained to him all of my concerns and he agreed to waive the $29.87 and exchange the glasses as stated in the letter dated August 19, 2014 in paragraph five. I receive three emails from ***** *** and one was very unprofessional. I can forward all emails to you for the record. I contacted ***** *** on September 8, 2014 @ 11:04 am; voice mail and i didn't receive a phone call until October 2, 2014@9:26am and stated that your glasses on back order. I received an email on October 16, 2014 @ 3:39pm that your order has been shipped. The color of Michael Kors, MK614, Black-Crystal (027), which was incorrect. I order Tortoise- Crystal (207). I received glasses on October 23, 2014. I have a copy of delivery confirmation for the record. I have been inconvenience for over two months. I cannot drive without my glasses. I do have DIABETES. I tried to work with ***** *** in resolving my concerns, but apparently she couldn't read my request? I forward an email to ******@framesdirect.com for the record on August 19, 2014. As stated in the letter the company did an excellent job with my prescription and i will rate them an A+. Please submit in writing the response for the Michael Kors, MK614, Tortoise-Crystal (207). I can be reached at ###-###-#### if you require any additional information.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the President or CEO of the company to contact me and i will explain all of my concerns. Please expedite my Michael Kors, MK614, Tortoise-Crystal (207).

Business Response: Thanks for bring this to our attention.  I will further research this situation but am not seeing any outstanding orders for this customer. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have submitted an email to ******@framesdirect.com, dated August 19, 2014.  In the email i order the Michael Kors MK614, Tortoise-Crystal (207) . The Michael Kors, MK614, Black-Crystal (027) was shipped, which was incorrect.  I would like for BBB to forward all my information to the *** or *********  of Frames Direct. I have submitting everything in writing, what is the problem?    Please submit in writing the response for the Michael Kors, MK614 Tortoise- Crystal (207).  

Regards,

** *** ********

Business Response: Our ********** ******* has been in contact with customer about this order.  He advised that the decision was made to order the correct frame color for customer and she will take to local optical store and have the lenses swapped out to new frame.  We placed the order for the new frame and are waiting for it to arrive. Customer indicated that this resolution was acceptable.

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 19, 2014, I purchased 2 pairs of prescription sunglasses for my friend on FramesDirect.com for a total of $1079.45. The order number was #******. The items were 1 pair of TAG Heuer Automatic Sun Vintage 0882 and 1 pair of Bolle Key West. My provided prescription was OD: -**** * ***** * * OS: ***** * ***** * *** PD: ***** Both items were delivered on May. 31, 2014. The TAG Heuer ones were fine. My friend could see things clearly through them. However, he did not feel comfortable wearing the Bolle ones because he did not see well through them. His eyes felt hurt when he wore the Bolle one. There were a big difference between the TAG Heuer and the Bolle ones. So, we brought both pairs to an optical store for a prescription checking. The TAG were quite close to what we ordered, but the Bolle ones were way off - OD: ***** / ***** * ** OS: ***** / -**** x **** On Jun. 06, 2014, I emailed ***** as an Online Optician at FramesDirect.com with all the information on the issue. She has been very helpful since I placed my order. We emailed back and forth to arrange a return shipment. I received a return shipping label on the 26th and mailed them out. They received the Bolle ones back. Since the sunglasses were defected somehow, I would like a store credit refund to purchase another pair, and ***** assured me that I would receive a full store credit refund in one of the emails between me and *****. Here it is, on Aug. 22, 2014, she wrote "Hi *****, I received your email and will check with ****** today to make sure the amount is set as a store credit so you will avoid any restocking fees. I thank you again for your order and your patience. Have a great day!" On Aug. 28, 2014, I received an email from ****** ***** at FramesDirect.com saying that "You do have a store credit for your Bolle glasses for $219.87 to use for any other frame. It doesn't expire." However, I paid $361 for the Bolle pair, so I emailed back to ****** and ***** for details on the refund on Aug. 30, 2014, and I have not received any reply from FramesDirect.com since. Because I have to go through this filing and I'm very disappointed in FramesDirect, I would like a full refund of $361.00 back to my credit card. Regards, ***** *** P/s: ***** was doing an outstanding job on following up the issue, and I'm appreciated it.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of my purchase of the Bolle prescription sunglasses which is $361 back to my credit card.

Business Response: Full refund was completed on 9/11/14

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I just checked with my credit card (American Express). As of today (09/16/2014), I have not received any refund from FramesDirect, and there is no pending credit that would be posted into my credit card account according to American Express.

To FramesDirect, please read the complaint seriously.

Regards,

***** ***

Business Response: I will have our Operations Manager contact you to discuss your issue and the in store credit amount on your order.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

As of today, I have not received either any refund back to my credit card or call from a FramesDirect's Operations Manager as promised.

To BBB: I believe FramesDirect will keep promising and never intend to fulfill their promises. How far should I follow up with their replies? I think they wait for me to miss the 6 day deadline in replying to their responds.

To FramesDirect: How hard could it be to refund me when you have all my credit card information and the returned product. You are wasting my time (it's been months now). I'm very disappointed.

Regards,

***** ***

Business Response: I do apologize that you have not been contacted for assistance on this matter.  I personally processed a full refund of $361.00 for the total purchase price of your product.  Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered frames & lens on 06/23/14. Since this time, I have patiently & politely tried to resolve my issue with Frames Direct without any success. I feel that over two months and being shipped the same defective product three times is unacceptable. My issue: the lens have been installed incorrectly into the frames. The first return merchandise authorization ***** ********* was processed on July 07 by ******. My second *** *********** was processed on July 30 by *****. An eMail with photo attachments of the lens problem was also sent to ***** on 07/30. I was told by ***** that my eMail would be forwarded to the Operations Manager (Craig) as well. I tried to personally contact Craig at his extension by leaving a voicemail, however, I never received a reply. I finally received my glasses for the third time on August 25. The lens may have been adjusted, but the same exact problem still exists. The lens are not contacting the frame near the temple & nose on both sides. Per information received by ***** during our phone conversation on 07/30, I was told the lens would be remade so I would have a "fabulous" pair of glasses. I strongly believe the lens were never remade because I documented a small imperfection/chip near the wearer's right side nose piece. I've used that imperfection to identify any changes in my lens since day one. It never has changed. I spoke with ***** once again today (08/26) and advised her the problem still remains. She told me she would contact me very shortly after receiving another eMail with photos attached - which I sent shortly after our conservation early this morning. It is the close of the business day and I have not received an eMail or phone call from Frames Direct concerning my issue. I would allow 24 or even 48 hours, but I feel my problem would still receive no response-it has been over 2 months of dealing with Frames Direct after all. I would like to point out, everyone with whom I spoke has been extremely friendly & polite. This however, does nothing to correct a physical problem with my glasses. I have been assured the problem would definitely be fixed twice now, with absolutely no results. Per Frames Direct's Returns & Exchanges Due to Incorrect or Damaged Order, I have sent my glasses back twice. Both times they have failed to correct my problem (this doesn't include the original shipment, which obviously was incorrect as well) and I have no further trust in their ability to resolve this issue with a complete repair. I have my three invoices from Frames Direct, which are very confusing. The addon(s) price and total lens price have changed three times now. On the most recent invoice, my *********** *** ****** have not even been itemized. This is all one very unorganized and unbelievable transaction with a company who claims to be "online eyewear experts since 1996". To whomever it may concern, I can produce copies of my invoices & eMails to validate everything I have stated. I should not have to do this, though. Frames Direct should have these invoices & eMails as well. Also, I can produce contact information for a third party licensed optician with whom I have spoke and to whom I displayed my glasses. She can verify the issue I have stated above.

Desired Settlement: I have put in a lot of time, effort and patience with this company to have my problem corrected. As stated, I have no trust in Frames Direct to properly correct my issue after this length of time and trials on their part. I await a representative of Frames Direct to contact me to discuss a return merchandise authorization number to return the defective glasses for a well deserved refund in the original amount of $338.80 via my original payment method.

Business Response: I apologize for the tardy response on this message.  It was in my SPAM mail for some reason.  I will review this with the Operations Manager and will respond.  Thanks.  ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am (partially) rejecting this response because: Operations Manager (*****) did contact me as promised (on Friday, September 05). I only reject this because I have yet to see a refund as we agreed upon. I was told it would be forwarded to accounting for processing.

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: Full refund was process on 9/11/14

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ****

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with customer service about the defective frames that I received from them and they asked me to send them for repair. After returning the frames without fixing the defect I insisted on returning them for a full refund. The ******* agreed and told me to send the frames. However, after they received the frames back, they only gave me less than 40% refund of the total cost!

Desired Settlement: I need the full refund as was promised to me before I sent the factory defective frames back.

Business Response: Customer placed order for perscription eyewear - we charged him a total of $379.30 on 7/25/2011.  Customer was not happy with the frame so we replaced frame and RX lenses at no additional charge to have the lens remade.  Customer returned eyewear and we refunded him the total price of the frame on  12/11/2012.  Total price of order $379.30 and total amount refunded was $160.35 leaving the balance of the perscription lenses at $218.95.

Again, this order is from 2011/2012.

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because:

The first time I sent the frames back they just replaced the lenses and not the defective frame that caused the cracks in the polycarbonate lenses. I called back and told them asked them why they put new lenses on defective frames. I told them they will crack again, in fact I took the frames to a local optometrist and they confirmed that the frames are defective. At this point I was very upset with them and asked for a full refund. So they promised to escalate the issue to their superior to get an authorization for a refund. On 11/30/2012 at 3:15pm ***** *****, the operations Director called me and informed that he will take care of this issue personally, even gave me his cell phone number. I have the call recorded in my google voice account. When I called him back, he apologized for the mishap and promised a full refund upon returning the frames or an exchange to anything on their website for the FULL value of my original purchase (including cost of the lenses). So  sent the frames back.

 

However, upon receiving the frames they changed their promise and told me they will only give me a partial refund or credit for the cost of the frames and not the lenses. This is crazy behavior for a large company like theirs. 

 

  1. They send me defective frame that they sell for $230.
  2. These expensive Prada frames (that are not carried by almost all optometrists due to factory defect that I experienced) crack my expensive $200 lenses (that were advertised as "unbreakable").
  3. During the first warranty return the main issue is not address (the frames). New lenses are put on defective frames, come on... what is their logic???
  4. A promise by Operations Director for full refund is not honored, instead they only provide a fraction of the promised refund of $379.30 and give me $160.35. Keeping 218.95 for themselves, a clear theft by normal business standards.
  5. An irrational denial of their misconduct, with disrespectful behavior on behalf of their customer support.


Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

I submitted the remaining refund for this customer but his refund rejected due to expired credit card.  Customer should go back into his profile and update his credit card expiration date.  Once that has been done, I will be able to refund in full.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me on the condition that they do provide the full refund within 72 hours of this message. I have updated my credit card information on their wrbsite as they requested.

Regards,

******* ******

5/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They stated the glasses would be 10 processing days + 4 shipping days. I ordered on March 4th and didn't receive until March 31st. Every time I called there was a different excluse. First, the anti-glare machine was broke, second time, they were shipping on the 19th, third time they stated they were behind because the frames had to be ordered because they were out of stock. Complete run around without a true reason. Also told by voicemail and email (which I kept) they would refund $20.00 because Ithe frames were cheaper through their affilliant company AFeyewear (military), as long as I filled out the form to the link they sent.

Desired Settlement: I feel they cannot give a true or correct answer and their customer service is below standards. I was told several time my sales rep would call and she never did. I would like the refund because I was informed I would recive one and for the long order time and the time and effort I had to put into contacting this company. I would of ordered from another company I used previously if I knew the outcome.

Business Response: After reviewing your message, I reviewed all of the notes in your order.  We truly apologize for the issues you had with our customer service.  As a courtesy, I have refunded your account for $50.00.  Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and know that this is not our typical service level.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:I have not seen a credit applied to my credit card and I will not accept a frames direct store credit. Once I see the credit applied to my **********, I will accept.

Regards,

**** *****

Business Response: The refund was done on 4/17/14. 

Consumer Response: Complaint* *******

I am rejecting this response because: my credit card has not posted a credit from frames direct.com. I am waiting to see a credit card credit to my account.

Regards,
**** *****

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased the Burberry BE3072 gold color on Frames Direct website that states "These sunglasses feature polarized lenses". After receiving the product I noticed that the sunglasses were not polarized. I called them to let them know I received the wrong product and they told me that I was wrong and that the website did not state that and that for the color chosen they only had not polarized. I asked for a **********. She was busy so I asked to have her call me back. A few days later nobody called me back so I called again and she was not there so I left another message. A few days later and nothing so I sent an email. No response. Finally the third time calling I spoke with the ********** that insisted that I was still wrong that the website did not state that. So I said I would return the product and asked for them to send me a shipping label. She said Id have to pay for shipping since there was nothing wrong with it. I was really frustrated and said I would pay to return and contact BBB about this since I believe other people are purchasing and not realizing this. After saying BBB she asked me to try to explain to her where I was seeing it and she finally saw the mistake. So she asked me not to contact BBB since she would have it fixed and that she would give me a $15 dollars discount just because I asked. Its been around 3 weeks now and I visited their website and they still have the same pair of sunglasses that states "These sunglasses feature polarized lenses". I do not believe now that it was a mistake since they did not fix. I have not contacted them back to complain again though.

Desired Settlement: They should as a courtesy to what they are doing let me keep the product and refund me in full. I do not believe this is a right thing to do. I can also say i tried it all to work with them even though I went through a hassle.

Business Response: After reviewing customer's issues, we will refund in full due to the confusion on our site. Refund for $120.15 given today.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered new frames with new lenses from Frames Direct on 12-19-13, I finally received them towards the end of January 2014. The first time I wore them, they started making me sick and realized that I had given a contact prescription instead of a spectacle prescription. I then sent them back with the correct, spectacle prescription, to have them fixed. I got an email stating that the prescription in the glasses was the exact same as the new one I had sent in. It was not the same, and I even went and talked to an eye doctor about it. Frustrated, I told them to just send the glasses back to me. When I finally received them a week and half later, I opened the untampered with package, unrolled the bubble wrap from around the case, opened it and pulled out my glasses to find NO LENSES in the frames. I was absolutely livid, and of course called the company to complain about this. I told them I would even send a picture of these now frames with no lenses in them, they said that didn't matter. I asked for just a refund for the lenses because some how between them receiving my glasses and sending them back to me, the lenses went missing, They would not give me a refund. They finally came back with a 100 dollar credit and I would pay the remaining $65 toward them putting in new lenses. They messed up twice, once with not catching that it was a contact prescription and second with sending them back without lenses. Therefore I do not feel comfortable sending them back to even attempt fixing this. I feel they basically took $165 dollars from me.

Desired Settlement: I would like just a refund for the prices of the initially lenses, of $165. I feel I should not have to pay anything towards another pair of lenses when they messed up some where.

Business Response: We will make an exception to our policy for this customer's issue.  I tried to place a refund of $165.00 on customer's credit card but the card is expired and therefore rejected the refund.  Customer will need to log into their profile and update the expiration date.  Please contact me at ************************ when date updated and I will try the refund again.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ****

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered my glasses in December 2013 and received them in about 2 weeks (no complaints on that wait time.) After trying on the glasses, I noticed they were horrible out of alignment with the left arm going out way too far to the left causing the frames to look exaggeratedly slanted on my head. After a few comments from some co-workers, and my excuse being that "oh, well, one of my ears is slightly lower than the other", I examined the glasses very closely by putting them on a table, noticed that they lied flat. Okay. No problem; but when I flipped them over to lie them upside-down, I noticed where the left arm meets the left lens was extremely askew and protruded out the left way too far. After thinking they did this on purpose to make the frames fit my sizing that I specified, I took them to get the ear hinges adjusted to see if that would correct the problem. First time I had them adjusted, it did nothing to change the tilt in the way the frames rested on my head. Second time, the optician told me that the left arm is way out to the left and this could have been caused by the glasses not being properly aligned before they were sent out to me or that they warped when the lenses were put in. While calling frames direct for the first time after purchasing my glasses, I noticed the lenses themselves had little cracks/scratches around all the edges so upon finding out the return policy, I specified this as a problem, as well, in my return letter they requested. Not to mention the lenses themselves weren't seated in the bridges properly, were popping out, and make a horrible cracking sound while putting them on or taking them off (properly; with two hands on both sides) I might add. I sent them Priority Mail 2 Day Delivery. After waiting two weeks, I finally get my glasses back after having to practically beg my optician for some trial contacts to were in the mean-time. I check the glasses and notice they sent me the same pair with more problems with the frame that I had before I sent them in. Upon calling, I find out all they did was make new lenses. I could have lived with the minor defects on the lenses if everything else was okay, but no; They didn't even touch the frames. As a matter of fact, when they put the new lenses in the further warped the frames and now instead of one lens popping out on one side; they were now both popping out and still making a cracking sound. I called again to inform them and me being unbelievably polite but sounding a bit disappointed, the rep told me they will order my frame again (luckily, they were in stock) and would just give me a new frame and even ship it overnight back to me and it wouldn't take nearly as long as it did before to get the frames back to me (literally; she said, the day they get the original frames back; they will pop in the old lenses and send them out the same day. Of course this did not happen. After not even being informed by them and the frames had been confirmed they had been delivered to them and signed for for two days now; for 2 week days and a weekend; I had to call and ask how the process was going. I was told "well they don't meet our quality control standards and will have to be shipped out to the lab to be remade and it will take roughly another week to get them back to you." I complied just because I wanted a fault-free frame and didn't want to rush the process. So I waited a full business week and two additional business days before I called again to ask what the update is. Left two voicemails; no response. Emailed all the reps I had previously talked to; no response. Waited another day, called again. Finally over the next two days after talking to several reps and being told "we are contacting the lab to get an update and will call you back" with no further information I waited another day before calling back. When I called this second to last time, I was informed they will be having a meeting with the lab to get ETA times for various orders and I will be let know before days-end. I waited till days end. Finally a timeline they held true to. I got a call later on that day letting me know the frames will be sent out that night and overnight-ed to me (although they called the wrong number even though I informed them of the correct number the 1st time I returned the glasses and twice after that.) Sure enough, the next day my frames came in. After opening the box to see my glasses, I gently squeezed the bridges to see if the lenses were seated properly and to see if they did what they said they were going to take another week fixing. Well, THEY DIDN'T. AGAIN. At this point I am truly disappointed with my experience with frames direct and will NEVER use them again for eye-wear purchases. The response time is spotty. The quality control is non-existent. And the "lab" is a crock. I could not believe despite how polite and patient I was with everyone of the reps (whom I know all by name) they didn't make absolutely sure the frames were in tip-top shape before they sent them back to me. So now that the TRIAL PAIR 1-WEEK CONTACTS I was wearing for over a month to get this long, drawn-out process through with and behind me, have literally dried up. I have no choice but to keep my slightly defective pair of glasses just to avoid the horrible LAG in services and response time and not being blind while waiting another however long to get a perfect pair (which is feel is just unattainable with this company) NEVER AGAIN. NEVER. NO RECOMMENDATIONS. NO REPEAT BUSINESS. My advice to Frames-Direct. Put your lab closer to you then 1800 miles away to eliminate these obscene wait times and spotty updates.

Desired Settlement: Whatever they feel is the right way to resolve the shipping costs and wait time for a product which I paid $180 for. My advice to Frames-Direct. Put your lab closer to you then 1800 miles away to eliminate these obscene wait times and spotty updates.

Consumer Response:

To whom this may concern, 

 

 

Since writing this complaint on BBB and **********, I have received a call from a rep named ***** at Frames-Direct **************, notifying me how he would like to resolve this situation with my order. I have agreed to accept his offer and would like to let you know they came around very quickly with a phone call response to this complaint. They were only aware of the complaint on **********; not BBB. I'm not sure how you would like to handle it from here. Whether or not this BBB complaint gets posted is completely up to you. Again, I am notifying you that they have settled this with me and have been quite generous with their offer. Just waiting on whether or not this "re-order" meets the quality standards I and they expect. 

 

 

Thank You.

 

***** ****** ************

 

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pair of sunglass from Frames Direct and received the product on Jan 9, 2014. But the sunglass was too big to fit my face and was very easily to slip off my face. So I couldn't wear it and decided to return it. Here are the issues coming up: I started the return process immediately on Jan 10, 2014 and got the RMA number generated for return. During that time, there is no return policy of "charging 10% re-stocking fee" brought to my attention. I followed the exact return process instructed by Frames Direct and no one/nowhere mentioned this "10% re-stocking fee". Couple of days later, I received an email from the company notifying me that the return had been processed. Later on, a refund of credit has been made back to my credit card. But the problem is that I paid total $192.17 and only got $157.80 back to my account. I called Frames Direct and tried to find out why. They said the 10% should be charged againt the original retail price instead of the amount of what I paid. So if I paid $50 for a discounted sunglass which was retailed at $200, does it mean I need to pay $20 (10% of $200) re-stocking fee and only get $30 back? I mean this is ridiculous! Not only the 10% re-stocking fee statement is not evident during the return process, the way of the calculation is very deceiving and full of trick. I don't know what to do and feel very unhappy and helpless. I was thinking of buying another pair of sunglass this Spring from the company. But after all these, this definitely won't happen any more!

Desired Settlement: I would like Frames Direct to refund the rest of the amount I deserve which would be $34.37. Thank you for your help!

Business Response: Looking at this order, customer did call back into FramesDirect and a ******* resolved this issue by refunding in full.  Issue should be resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ***

1/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The first shipment that frames direct sent me did not arrive in the box that they had sent me. I’m positive that they insured the package, and it required a signature. In light of that fact, I’m sure they would have placed a claim USPS in order to retrieve their funds for what i believe to be a mishandled/unpacked package on their part. I have shipped back the glasses that I ordered with frames direct, which they re shipped, evident in the email provided. I requested, and was granted permission for a refund. However, within this email, cited below, it’s clear the company is not permitting me to have a refund. I have spoke with several people, on more than one occasion. The problem is that when I bought the glasses, and before placing the order, I called to ensure the frames were not drastically “cat-eye” shaped, as it appeared in the picture. I was reassured that these frames were more “squared”, and so, appropriate for my petite facial structure. So, I purchased the frames. When the item arrived it was clear these frames were more “cat eyed” than I had wanted upon purchasing them. FramesDirect does not carry the frames I sought out. It’s my prerogative as a consumer to purchase glasses in rightful information. What’s more, I do not want to purchase any more items with this company. I found they were continuously pushing a sale on me. They did so in a way that reassured of me of one item, when in fact it was not the item I was seeking. At one point, when speaking with a sales Manager, *****, he became belittling. He asked how old I was, and asked that I place my parents on the phone when he found I would not comply with a “pushed” sale. He refused to abide by their return policy as far as I was informed. I took issue with the company, and complained about this to another manager. Concerning the extent that they tried to push a sale on me -– although, I had sent the frames back, with reassurance of a refund on their part, and a clear explanation on my part, they still attempted to send the frames back to me, as stated in the email. To a lesser degree – it is their policy to keep half of the cost of the lenses if the purchase is returned. However, the company did not readily inform me of this policy until well after the sale was made. In fact, if I had known this I would not have taken the consumer risk through the mail: (I had called when purchasing the item and inquired about returns.) When this was clear I asked that the sale be cancelled. The company informed me that they could no longer cancel a sale already in progress, --However, they had not progressed with the sale. This is to say, they hadn’t “made” the glasses yet. I have returned the glasses and requested a full refund, which is not being given to me. Please ensure the company refunds me for the glasses they have in their possession. I have returned this item in perfect condition, and immediately, for 378.19. Thank you. Best, ******* **** Email from ****** *, dated September 23, confirming that the glasses are in the company’s possession: Hi *****, Please contact me at your convenience and let me know if you want to exchange if not we will be shipping the product back out to you. Please contact us by the end of today, if we have not heard back from you we will then have this ship out tomorrow. Address: **** ** ***** ***** **** ******* ** ***** Phone: ************** | Fax: ************ | Website: *************************** --------- ************. --***** *******, Landlord, where the second package was sent, and signed for. Supposedly, FramesDIrect had a conversation with her, which they never had. What’s more, if they should have had access to her phone number in order to have a conversation. ************. -- **** *****, Bank Official -- Upon further inquiry **** stated that FramesDirect contacted her stating they had a conversation with ***** *******, though they did not. I’ve provided her with *****’s phone number. ~ This information is provided so that the BBB fully understands the lengths to which the company aggressively violated my privacy, and attempted to state they had a conversation which never took place-- meaning, they were willing to go to the extent to provide 'false scenarios' of which weren’t even relevant.

Desired Settlement: A full refund, and protection from the company and its attempted invasions of my privacy.

Business Response:

Below, I have listed details regarding her order(s):

 

·         ******* placed her order online, on her own free will.  FramesDirect.com employees did not coerce her into a sale.

·         ******* never once mentioned the cat-eye vs square shape of the frame when we called to confirm the order with her.  In fact, if you listen to the attached phone recording, she states very clearly that she has tried this frame on before and knows exactly what she is ordering.  She inquired about the return policy and was clearly informed of the fees she will incur.  This too is on the attached phone recording

·         ******* did inform FramesDirect that her original parcel was delivered as an empty box.  We replaced the order and shipped her another product, free of charge, as the investigation was pending. 

·         Upon receiving the replacement frame, ******* called and told both Operations Managers that she wanted to return the replacement frame for a full refund of the original frame.  We explained that this is not our policy for claimed lost/stolen product.  Then, ******* told both Operations Managers that the original product was never delivered at all. However, the postal service worker ensured us that he personally handed the product to her and she signed for it herself.

·         ********* bank contacted us and informed us of the following information:

o   Cease contact with ******* on this matter as they have a team investigating her claims because they believe it to be a scam and highly suspicious, seeing as how she had 18 other open claims with various companies.

 

Our Operations Manager called ******* 7 times to inform her of what was going on and ******* waited weeks before calling back, at which point we informed her that we will no longer be doing business with her.  We believe she has the original product that she ordered, paid for and received.  She did indeed return the 2nd item, in which she did not pay for, so there is no refund necessary.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


I’ll address these points systematically to try and
alleviate the confusion:

it’s clear to me that there are points of confusion
for the business in the response I’ve received. 
But, there are also points of fabrication – which, is the reason I no
longer felt comfortable communicating with Frames Direct. 

I will say, foremost, that I have initiated the claims with
my bank.  Any claim with a bank would be
customer initiated, and with the desire for investigation. That is a part of
the claims process, and solely initiated through the consumer – myself, as a
desired, and known, action of the claim.  

I have already cited that I felt that I was harassed – since, Frames
Direct had called me at one point multiple times, from the same number within
five minutes, with various responses, and contradictory promises.  This was all cited within the first letter.  I had asked my bank to make a point of
communicating this to Frames Direct, in the claim: a no contact request. 

I’ve addressed what I felt were misleading business tactics
in the letter written formerly, as well. 
Frames Direct has not provided all of the recordings – before the first
purchase, and throughout the purchase, there were a number of phone calls. However,
these are irrelevant.  This is for the
reason that regardless of my first order – and whatever I may have said, I did
ask that this order be canceled.  Though
the order was placed, it had not processed when this was done.  Still, the company refused to cancel the
order.

 It’s also very important to note that I have not called USPS
to report the 'second package' missing.  In fact, I have sent this package back to
Frames Direct.  There is evidence of this
in the email I was sent, from ****** *, which confirms Frames Direct does have
the glasses I sent back  (At one point
they had said they never received them back.)

 
As I have stated, Frames Direct called my landlord whose
information was not provided to them, and would not even be relevant. My landlord signed for the second
package, only.  Frames Direct informed my
bank that they spoke with my landlord, and had a “conversation” -- one that involved both “*****” and “********” 

What’s concerning is that I have spoken with my landlord who has never
spoken with Frames Direct, or had any reason to, since we received the second
package (it was returned), as I had said. 

I have provided the bank with my landlord’s contact information for the
sake of clarity, as well.  But, it should
be said that they should not have this information, it was not provided; they
have invaded my privacy, and her privacy, if they do.  She has also not had a conversation with
Frames Direct, as stated by Frames Direct, which is yet another reason I no
longer felt comfortable communicating with the company.  I have asked for the recording of this
conversation, regardless of its relevance.  It was not provided to me.

 It’s my feeling that those working for the company are
concerned about their mishandlings, as they should be – to the point that they have decided to
fabricate explanations to me.  I have
asked multiple times to speak with a supervisor – I was told that there were
only two managers I was permitted to speak with, at all.  (I also emailed the owner, a **** *, of the company requesting a response.  He has not responded.)  These managers are those, which I was, (warranted
in feeling), untrusting of working with.

I had responded quickly up until I felt the company had been
mishandling my order in poor intention.  I
have also responded recently, December 10, 2013, – in good intention, and
willing to work with the company -- so
long as I work outside the people whom I had spoken with prior.  They have not responded.  I do not feel it is without risk, or
possible, to work with the company at this point, and will attempt to work with
my bank and BBB. 

I have also noticed
that the BBB has multiple complaints about this company – citing delivery
problems.  If the company would return
the cost of the glasses, I would be satisfied. 
I have already tried to exchange frames, on December 1, 2013, and December
10th, 2013 – providing a frame SKU number so that (as they had said
was possible) they could order from one of their suppliers, as a last resort effort to resolve the issue.  Considering this email, and the hostility and
lack of honesty, I do not feel comfortable working with the company, outright. 




Regards,

******* ****

12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May we provided our own frames (containing lenses) to Frames Direct (FD)to have two different prescriptions filled. After lengthy discussions with ***** at FD, we were assured that the strong reading glass Rx would be High Index lenses - not heavy or thick. The distance Rx glasses were satisfactory and received in a timely fashion. However, the reading Rx lenses had to be remade 5 times before they passed quality control. When we finally received the glasses after a lengthy delay, the lenses were extremely thick and heavy, not as advertised to us. In addition, we did not receive our original lenses back as we were supposed to. I contacted FD many times re: these issues via phone, e-mail, and even a snail mail letter to the founder, Dr. ****** ******. I asked for a price adjustment to be made on the glasses since they were not the light, thin lenses that were promised and because we did not receive our original lenses back. I received no response from FD. An attempt to dispute the charge with my credit card company in an attempt to get FD to respond to me was met with failure. I am extremely disappointed in FD sales, customer support, quality control, and product. They are totally unresponsive to the customer and did not return our original lenses for the reading Rx glasses (they did return original lenses for the distance Rx glasses).

Desired Settlement: As I asked for many times, I want compensation (via a price adjustment) for the fact that that FD did not return our original lenses. In addition, I want a price adjustment for the fact that the lenses are not thin and light as advertised to us via pre sale discussion. I would also like to hear from them why they found it unnecessary to respond to my e-mail, phone, and snail mail requests regarding this issue.

Business Response:

Our customer service manager spoke with customer last week and my original attempt for resolve was to remake her husband’s eyewear to a thinner material at no-charge.  While she thanked me today  for the offer, she ultimately  asked that we credit $35.00 US per her original concern letter with the BBB.   I extended $50.00 to show full apology to her.  We have processed that credit today.

 

12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/21/2013 I ordered a pair of glasses from the Framesdirect website. I received the glasses and noticed that they were crooked (which should have been caught by their quality control inspection). So I contacted them by email and sent my glasses back to be adjusted. When I received my glasses the second time they were still crooked and also had new bends in the frame from trying to be adjusted by frames direct. So I contacted them by email again and sent the glasses back again. This time ***** *, a return specialist with frames direct told me via email that the glasses had a defective hinge and that they would send me a new pair. However, on 10/18/2013 they sent me the same pair of glasses back that ***** admitted were defective or they're a new pair with the exact same defect. One thing that irks me is that Frames direct tried to pass these defective frames off to me three times even though they sent me an email saying that their glasses go through a quality control inspection. To me it seems their practices are borderline fraudulent and at the very least grossly incompetent. How can I trust that the even got my prescription right when they send me the same defective frames THREE different times and they even admit the frames are defective.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $355.20 the cost of the frames and lenses. I should not have to pay part of the cost of the lenses because they never gave me a non-defective product.

Business Response:

Customer service manager reviewed this issue and contacted Customer.  We offered to send new pair; the customer thanked me and asked for refund.  I offered also to not charge the re-stocking fee as normally stated in our policy and he stated that he will be 100% satisfied with that offer.  We processed full refund today. 

 

 

 

 

 

12/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to return 2 pair of frames I purchased. The lenses were NOT prescription. I recieved the frames on August 28th, 2013. After I took them to my optometrist, the frames would not work for me. One pair too large, one pair was not suitable for bifocals. I called to return these frames, and they would not accept the returns. They said since it had been over 30 days they would not accept them. They really should modify their return policy. Now I am out over $200, and their solution was....."You can sell them on ****".

Desired Settlement: Ideally, I would wish to return these unused brand new in the box frames for a refund. I would be happy to pay the 10% restocking fee.

Business Response: This product was shipped to customer at the end of August.  I see notes where customer called in for the first time on 11/13/13 regarding returning this product.  We do not stock product and have to abide by our frame vendors return policy as well.  We are not able to return this product to our vendor since the product is over 30 days from sale.

I'll check with the ********** ******* to see if there is any other options for this customer.  If we are able to assist, I'll have the customer contacted.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I have been contacted by the company via e-mail.  They said they would give me a full refund.  I have sent the return by *** *** and am awaiting the refund. 

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: Customer was refunded in full on 11/25/13. We consider this closed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******

12/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 12, 2013 I placed an order for two pairs of sunglasses with frames direct. The order number is ******. I received confirmation on September 13 that this order would ship in 8-10 business days. I continued to monitor their website based order tracking interface to better understand when the order would ship. On September 30 I once again reviewed this order, seeing that is was now day 11. There was still no update regarding my order so I contacted a customer service representative to gain a better understanding of the issue at hand. Upon having this conversation I was informed for the first time that this order could be another 1-2 weeks because there had been an issue with one of the items. I spoke with another customer service representative later that day that it would likely not be another 2 weeks, but that there was a delay with one of the items that they were aware of on the previous Wednesday September 25, and that a supervisor would call me the following day (October 1) to help provide me with a resolution. I did not receive a call from the supervisor the following day. I once again spoke with the second customer service representative on October 2, and finally I was contacted later on the same day by the supervisor. He apologized for the delay and said that the order would ship on October 3 to be received on October 4 and the he would provide me with an update if this was not the case. There was still no update via their web based order tracking interface so I called the supervisor directly only to receive his voice mail. I contacted a third customer service representative through their main number, and she informed me that the order would not ship today contrary to what I had been told. During my conversation with the supervisor on October 2, he seemed puzzled that no one had contacted me to inform me that there was a problem with my order.

Desired Settlement: Everyone at Frames Direct has been a pleasure to speak to and generally helpful in trying to resolve this issue, with the exception of being told that something would be taken care of and it wasn't, and being told 3 separate delivery time lines for this order. I would like to receive my order instead of being told various excuses and falsities on what the issue was and when they will be received.

Business Response:

Complaint received and will be reviewed so that we can accurately respond to customer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

Since submitting this complaint I have been in contact with several different customer service representatives as well as the operations manager ***** *****, all of whom have been unable to provide accurate information regarding the status of my order. Since last week I have left ***** 2 voice mails and one message with a customer service representative, all of which he has not responded to by returning my call. I received one pair of glasses which were part of my order, however the prescription pair have been updated to being "In Lab" since Wednesday, 10/9. On several occasions, customer service individuals have told me that I could expect this "In Lab" item to ship within the next day. This was not accurate, and now I am being ignored by the manager/supervisor responsible for their customer service.

I am rejecting this response because: they have had on opportunity to look at this case and provide a solution. While working with their team directly to resolve this, they have continued to fail in providing any accurate information. Instead it seems that their main tactic is to deflect the questions or ignore their customer.

Regards,

********* ******

Business Response: We believe this has been resolved.  In October, our customer service manager contacted this customer.  We refunded him on 10/15/13 in the amount of $190.25 for the for the item that had not shipped.  We shipped him the product when it was complete a few days later.  Customer accepted this resolution.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* ******

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered sunglasses from Framesdirect.com and received confirmation of order on 7/29/13. Did not get any email or notification stating my item has been shipped yet so I called said company to inquire about my order. Rep tells me on the phone that my item has been placed on back order and has no other information other than the expected delivery date. I call back before customer service hours are closed on the new expected delivery date and is informed that there is a new delivery date due to back order issues. Exact same occurrence on 8/28/13, 9/12/13, 9/27/13. It has been over 2 months since I have been waiting for my item and the only information I receive from customer service reps is a seemingly script-like response along the lines of: "I am sorry, I have no other information other than what I receive from the manufacturer. They only notify us of a new delivery order on the day the product is supposed to arrive." It's a shame that I have to call myself to receive any information about my order because If i do not, I feel that I would not have received any information at all.

Desired Settlement: Update their online catalog so all orders not physically in stock are removed and/or no longer advertised as "In Stock," Have a upper level executive, manager, supervisor, or anyone with actual power to call the manufacturer to personally receive information on legitimate delivery date, overnight shipping when shipping out product, have better business practices.

Business Response: I ask the ********** ******* to provide information on this customer complaint.  Here is the response:

10-4 Spoke to customer and explained the BO process...whats happening is 2 things.
1. customer voice mail is not set up.  There is no way to leave a message so we email.
2. custom calls us on BO date when we should tell customer “we will call if we do not receive within 24 hours of ETA”.   This way our order dept can get info and we can give him info of new date.    I gave him my extension and will keep eye with *******.  **
 
 
Also, my initial call to customer on 10-1 I called and found same issue with voice mail so I emailed customer asking them to call me…I called again on 10-4 and he answered this time and did confirm he received my email.  He did confirm the voicemail issue “is not set up” .  I explained we have tried to reach him via phone and did send emails.  I explained the BO situation and how I will keep eye on it and give us 24 hours after date of ETA so we can receive order dept info with new information.  He understands.   I will speak to BO staff regarding the ETA dates are ours and we should discuss maybe telling patients if there is a further delay they will be notified within 24 hours after due date.  I discussed the alternate styles that we could research, however he agreed he will wait on his selection.
 
 
Below you will see communications from ******* of new BO times, however she has to email because of the phone voice mail issue. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Framesdirect.com's response contains many half-truths which twist the actual events of what happened. I have never once received a call regarding updates at all. The only time I received a phone call was after I had filed a BBB complaint against this business in regards to their lackluster customer service in which they take neither initiative nor responsibility of their business methods. I acknowledge that I had received a phone call directly from the supervisor, *****, after I requested to speak with a supervisor, but only after a few days when I was told I was to receive a call an hour later. Voicemail is a non issue that seems to take the lion's share of what is really going on: bad customer service. Email is more than sufficient in order to handle this situation, which again, is nonexistent unless I call ahead of time. Was never told about the 24 hour wait but rather to call at the end of the day due to their shipment schedule, which I have done, only to received minimal, vague information about my order.

I will follow-up this situation with an update, but product receipt does not change my perception of Framesdirect.com's inadequate service and lack of information.

Regards,

******* ***

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent an email to ***** * on 8-21-13 asking her to help me place an order due to my store credit and coupons she knew about. I never received an email response back from ***** * so I call on 8-23-13 and spoke to another Frames direct rep.. When I was ordering I ask the height of the glasses and the rep just kept stating she didn't know. I asked her if she could find out and call me back or email and she rudely put me on hold and then she came back with the height specs. I proceeded to tell her that might be to big and I'll have to check with the person I'm ordering the glasses for and without even saying another word the rep hung up on me. On 8-26-13 I placed my order on line. Order # ****** and as of today I still have not received one email or confirmation from anyone at Frames direct. I have sent 2 emails asking the status of my order an no one still will reply.

Desired Settlement: I just want my store credit of $57.92 just credited back on my credit card and I will go somewhere else for glasses. I wish not to do business with Frames direct anymore. The credit is from my return of order # ******. I placed a new order # ******** and $57.92 is what is left for my credit.

Business Response: We have been working with *** ****** for several months.  He has placed 7 orders since June and returned all 7 products.  The store credit that he mentions in this complaint was refunded on 9/5/13.  Since that time, we've had several people involved with his issues including our ********** *******.  To resolve this customer, we refunded him an additional $106.98 on 9/24/13 to finalize these transactions.  We consider this matter closed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******

5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service