BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Austin Bazaar is a retailer of musical instruments and accessories. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austin Bazaar, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Austin Bazaar, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Austin Bazaar, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 2006 Business started: 05/05/2005 in 0 Business started locally: 05/05/2005 Business incorporated: 06/05/2006 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Suman Singh, CEO Jason Birchmeier
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Jason Birchmeier
Principal: Mr. Suman Singh, CEO
Business Category

Musical Instruments - Dealers Musical Instruments - Supplies & Accessories

Refund and Exchange Policy
For a full explanation of the company's return policy, please check the following link: www.austinbazaar.com/returns-policy-a/240.htm
Alternate Business Names
Austin Bazaar Music

Additional Locations

  • 2306 Howard Ln Ste C

    Austin, TX 78728 (800) 511-1322

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 300-0487(Phone)
  • (800) 511-1322(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an ******* ********** 49es 49-Note USB MIDI Controller Keyboard Sold by Austin Bazaar from ******.com on December 29, 2013 for $104.99, when I purchased it I knew that I had to purchase a power adapter (9VDC) in order to turn it on and that it would not be included so I had to purchase it separately. According to how it was advertised, all I needed to do was purchase a particular type of adapter (9VDC) to power it. I bought it and then realized that adapter would not work with the instrument to power it at all, I then found out after purchasing it that it could ONLY be powered by a USB adapter plugged into my computer, which was not mentioned in the advertisement when I ordered it. After finally purchasing the correct adapter (USB) which took me going to a few stores and searching online, I discovered that keyboard isn’t even working at all. When I received the product, I and others who saw it delivered noticed that it wasn’t packaged well. It was delivered in its original box with no real protective packaging. Others and I could not understand why a large electrical product would be sent through the mail so poorly packaged. I believe that it may have been damaged in transaction. I did file a complaint with ******.com who contacted Austin Bazaar to obtain a full refund for me, which was unsuccessful. The company contacted me and informed me that the 30-day period for a refund had expired. According to their return and refund policy, any damage or defects must be reported within 48 hours of delivery. Products can only be returned within 30 of the delivery date. Since they did not advertise the correct power adapter that has to be ordered, separately how would I be able to know the product would be defective within 48 hours? It took me a while to file the complaint because it was so frustrating finding the adapter needed. I was basically, trying to resolve the problem first. It was hard dealing with such a large piece of electrical equipment. I did not know what to do for a while. I took a big chance purchasing it via the internet and what I feared had happen-- I would have to consider returning this large fairly expensive product because it was damaged and unable to operate. Financially I cannot afford to lose money or have to purchase another keyboard. Another thing, I was contacted by two people (****** and ******) from Austin Bazaar who were attempting to help me with the issue. Although, they were attempting to resolve the problem it seemed that they had very little knowledge of the product (the keyboard). As the following email correspondences illustrates: Hello *******, Hm that is strange. Are there any other ports on the keyboard. I saw a switch to the right of the sustain pedal input. Is there anything underneath or on the sides? ****** Austin Bazaar Customer Service Phone: ************** ** On Thu, 13 Mar, 2014 10:50:08 AM CST, ******* ********* asked: Hi, Thanks for responding. I know that it is USB port because I bought a Usb cord for it and even though, I was able to turn it on there was no sound. Now as for the gold rim, it is not for AC adapter input because I bought one from ****** and it didn't fit -- its a Sustain Footpedal input so an AC adapter won't fit. ******* ------ Original message------ From: Austin Bazaar - ****** ****... Date: Thu, 3/13/2014 12:06 PMTo: ******* mcfarlane;Subject:Re: Return policy inquiry from ****** customer ******* ********* (Order: *******************) Hello *******,Thank you for those images. The white outlet is for the USB cable. :) The center hole with the gold rim is the AC adapter which is round. ****** Austin Bazaar Customer Service Phone: ************** **On Wed, 12 Mar, 2014 07:13:52 PM CST, ******* ********* asked: Here is the picture you requested ******* ------ Original message------ From: Austin Bazaar

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a full refund or at least a partial one.

Business Response: This customer purchased this item back in December. We allow 30 days from the delivery date to authorize a return. This package was shipped 12/31 and delivered 1/6/14 via: **************************************************************. As the customer stated, we also have a 48 hour defective time frame, but we waive that frequently and stick more to our 30 day time frame. The customer would have had to contact us by 2/6/14 in order to be eligible for return. We usually even extend that out another 10 days but this customer did not contact us until 3/4/14 to let us know she was having issues using the product. We referenced the manufacturer. Then on 3/11 she sent a return request over. This is over 30 days from the eligible return time frame and as such we denied the return request. She then filed an ****** A-to-Z Claim, and ****** ALSO denied the buyer's return request which is why I think she is trying to do something via BBB. The manufacturer has a warranty as we let her know, that covers any issues that happen after the 30 day return time frame. You can view our ****** Return Policy here: *******************************************************************************************************************************************************. We have to be strict with returns customers say are defective after the 30 days due to the fact that most manufacturers state that it is no longer something we can return, its something the customer must contact them about. If you would like or need any further information, please let us know but this is something that we unfortunately can not accept back as a return as it is now over 3 months old.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:I already received this form email response and it's not addressing misleading advertising information (not giving correct information right adapter for the keyboard). I wrote a very detailed email explaining exactly why I couldn't return the keyboard within 48 hours and three months period. 





Regards,

******* *********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1