Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Econo Move and Storage, Inc.

Phone: (210) 637-6100 Fax: (210) 637-6396 View Additional Phone Numbers 2610 Chestnut Bend, San Antonio, TX 78232 http://www.economoveandstorage.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Econo Move and Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Econo Move and Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Econo Move and Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 07/29/1996 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Denys Estopier, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Denys Estopier, Director
Business Category

Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving & Storage Company Movers Movers - Office Movers - International

Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • 2610 Chestnut Bend

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (888) 493-1055 (210) 637-6100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired a moving company "Econo Move & Storage" out of *** *******, Texas to move my household goods to ****** *** Texas. Pick up date was on February **, 2014 and delivery date was on February **, 2014. Per my receipt that I currently hold this move was a Flat Rate. I was not charged an hourly rate. Before leaving *** ******* Texas I was told by the driver of the moving truck "*******" that we would meet in ****** *** Texas by 2:00 P.M. This was discussed by him and I and agreed upon. He arrived in ****** *** Texas at 12:09. I arrived at 1:38 PM. The owner of the Company "***** ********" informed me that I would have to pay an additional 200.00 because the drivers arrived earlier than the agreed upon time and would not release my items to me off the truck until I paid the 200.00 in full. She held my items hostage. I paid a flat rate for my move and should not have been charged an extra 200.00 because the movers arrived there before I did. If that was the case, then I should have had 200.00 taken off of my flat rate because the movers were late arriving to my home by 2 hrs the morning of my move. I had agreed upon 8 AM and they did not arrive until 10 AM. This is unacceptable practice. The owner of the company was very unethical, very manipulative, and lied to me about several things. She said all of her movers have been with her for 10 years and that was not the case. As I asked the drivers and movers how long they have been with the company. ******* had been hired 2 months ago. The other's have been with her less than 10 years.

Desired Settlement: I want my 200.00 refunded to me as this was a flat rate move and not an hourly move.

Business Response:

 

Econo Move & Storage Inc. understands the challenging and stressful events for individuals when moving.  To meet these challenges, Econo Move & Storage, Inc. provides each of its customers with a free face to face personalized meeting prior to customers move. We take pride in educating our customer’s who we are, what services we can provide, scope of work we will perform and finally the cost of moving. Our customers include but are not limited to: apartment residents, homeowners, small & large corporations and US Government/Military.

 

Prior to February ****, 2014   we went out to meet with Ms. ***** *******, she was given a flat rate proposal of $1,985 for relocation services from *** *******, Texas to ****** ***, Texas and was explained to her how we based her standard flat rate. Our estimated rates are binding with a maximum time allocated and was explained to customer. It is an absolute procedure for us to inform, educate our customers and that they understand their timeline prior to their move.  It would be a loss of revenue to the company if we did not have a standard timeline breakdown for flat rate moves and let our customers believe they may use our trucks and movers as long as they wish.  Before her move would take place, Ms. ******* called our office requesting a lowered price or she would be canceling her move. We gave her a $150 discount that brought down her cost of moving to $1,835.00.  Her current copy of the Invoice reflects the discount amount. On February **, 2014 Econo Move & Storage, Inc. provided 1 supervisor and 2 experienced movers, moving equipment, tools, packing material and 1 moving truck necessary to relocate Ms. *******’s household furniture.  It is in fact true we were delayed 1 hour 30 minutes, due to Ms. ******* request the morning of her move.  Our scheduled arrival time was for 8 AM that morning. Our boxes and packing material we normally use for moving was changed by customer.  Movers were routed back to office on the way to her move to load packing material she wanted. She understood that this was out of our control and we were only complying with her wishes. No additional charges were added for time or material.

 

Next following day, February ****, 2014 the day of her unload Ms. ******* was scheduled to unload at 9 AM in ****** ***, Texas.  Our movers were dispatched to leave our office at 3 AM that morning, 5.5 hour drive.  Ms ******* called our office stating her apartment would not be ready until 12 PM.  That was an additional 3 hours of waiting until noon.  Movers called Ms. ******* a little after noon time trying to get an idea of her current arrival time.  Customer did not arrive at her destination until 2 hours past noon time. 

 

The total overtime hours Ms. ******* cost the company, was approximately 6.5 hours of unnecessary labor, idling diesel fuel, additional packing material, and a discount of $150 already given to her.  Her Invoice clearly reflects the time movers arrived to her new location she acknowledged and signed.  We broke down the times for her and explained the additional charge and she agreed to pay the $200 and was noted on her signed Invoice.   Our normal standard hourly rates are $105 per hour, she was charged 2 hrs vs. the 6.5 hours, (almost a whole work day, loss of revenue). 

 

Note: A normal job like this would have only taken our company a total of 14 hours to relocate including the driving time. We feel we went the extra mile to accommodate Ms. ***** *******. 


 Thank you for taking time to communicate to us why our service did not meet our customer’s expectation.   In addition, we will further evaluate how we can prevent this problem from occurring again in the future.

 

Respectfully,

 

 

***** ********

*********

Econo Move & Storage, Inc.

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The ********* of this Company has stated incorrect information.  She should be ashamed of herself and the Company she represents as the ***** and *********.  I have filed additional complaints with The ***** ***** ** ******** **********, The ******* ***** ******* ****** ************** *** *** ****** ** ********* *******.

 

Under a rule signed into law in July of 2012 by ********* ****** *****, the ******* ***** ******* ****** ************** has been granted power to fine up to $10,000 per day for holding customers belongings hostage. I did not agree to pay the 200.00. I was told that in order to receive my belongings off of the truck I HAD TO PAY the additional 200.00. The driver was instructed by the *****/********* to hold my items hostage until I paid the additional 200.00.  If I did not pay, she also instructed the driver to bring my household goods back to *** *******, Texas. This was said in front of my daughter and I.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

March **, 2014

 

 

 

Re: ***** *******

 

 

Dear Sirs

 

Thank you for your continuing help on this matter.  We truly appreciate customers who take the time to let us know about their experience with our services.   We assure you that customer satisfaction is our top priority and we want the service at our company to reflect that principle.  We certainly can understand the frustration and disappointment customers may have,  moving alone can be an overwhelming challenge.   I have attached a copy of Ms. ******* Invoice and forwarded our email communications with customer, we hope it will reflect on our part we tried to accomodate Ms. *******e on several occassions with her moving needs to the best of our ability.

 

If  you should have any other questions or concerns regarding this matter, feel free to contact our office at your convenience.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

***** ********

*********

Econo Move & Storage, Inc. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: What part of this complaint does this owner NOT UNDERSTAND??? Is she that INCOMPETENT? MY COMPLAINT IS ABOUT THE 200.00 THAT SHE CHARGED ME AS AN EXTRA CHARGE AND HELD MY ITEMS HOSTAGE UNTIL THIS EXTRA CHARGE WAS PAID. IF THE EXTRA CHARGE WAS NOT PAID, SHE INSTRUCTED HER DRIVER TO BRING MY HOUSEHOLD ARTICLES BACK TO *** ******* TEXAS FROM ****** *** *****. YES, I KNOW I INITIALED THE 200.00 THAT WAS PAID IN CASH. MY MOVE WAS A FLAT RATE, NOT AN HOURLY RATE. DRIVER PUT 2HRS = 200.00. I ALSO HAVE RECORDED INFORMATION  ALONG WITH MY DAUGHTER AS AN ADDITIONAL WITNESS AS TO WHAT THE DRIVER WAS TOLD BY THE *****/********* OF THIS COMPANY TO SAY WHICH CLEARLY SAYS "YOU WILL NOT RELEASE MS. *******'S HOUSEHOLD ITEMS TO HER UNTIL SHE PAYS THE 200.00 IN CASH THAT SHE OWES. IF SHE DOES NOT PAY YOU WILL BRING HER HOUSEHOLD ITEMS BACK TO *** ******* TEXAS FROM ****** *** TEXAS. I THEN ASKED ARE YOU HOLDING MY ITEMS HOSTAGE UNTIL IT IS PAID, DRIVER RESPONDED YES. THE *********/***** HAS RESPONDED WITH INCORRECT INFORMATION (LIES). MY OTHER COMPLAINTS HAVE ALSO BEEN FILED WITH THE ADDITIONAL COMPANIES I LISTED IN MY LAST RESPONSE. HOW UNETHICAL, MANIPULATIVE,  DISHONEST AND UNPROFESSIONAL THIS *****/*********. AGAIN I AM REQUESTING THAT THIS 200.00 BE PAID BACK IMMEDIATELY. SHE NEEDS TO JUST GO AHEAD AND TO THE RIGHT THING AND RESOLVE THIS ISSUE IN A PROFESSIONAL MANNER. I AM THE CUSTOMER. I HAVE ALSO CONTACTED THE MILITARY CONTRACT SIDE TO FILE A COMPLAINT, AS I AM A RETIRED MEMBER OF THE UNIFORMED SERVICES.

Regards,

***** *******

3/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 9, 2014 I contacted Econo Move & Storage, Inc. with a request for a moving quote. I spoke with a representative of the company named ****. **** reassured me that the company had been in business for 29 years and was well contracted with the military. She also said that all the employees were screened with background checks and that I would receive a quality full moving service, therefore I trusted Econo Move & Storage to move all my personal belongings. I explained to her that I was moving a one bedroom apartment on January 11, 2014. She did not ask for a list of the items. However, I informed her that I had two stops. The first stop was going to my storage center and that most items plus boxes would be dropped off there and for the second stop at my place of residence, a queen bed, a night stand, a dresser and some boxes would be going there. The movers arrived in an unmarked white truck at approximately 4:00pm. ******* the driver came in and asked for an inventory of all the items to be moved. We walked through the entire apartment and he was writing the items down. I specifically told him the items including the boxes marked “home” were going to the second stop at my place of residence and that my bed, dresser, and nightstand and the boxes not marked "home" would be going to the first stop at the storage. When the two other guys came in, I witnessed him telling them exactly what I explained to him. They followed me to the storage center and after our arrival at the storage and my personal belongings were being unloaded from the truck, I noticed that several boxes were not being unloaded into the storage. I explained to ******* in a respectful manner that I was specific about the boxes and I noticed that 3 large boxes were not in storage. He and the two other movers had to take 15 to 20 minutes out of my time to find the 3 large boxes that needed to stay at the storage. Before leaving the first stop, I asked ******* how much longer it would take and he said another hour. We left the first stop after 6:00pm and headed to the second stop. After the move was completed, I again told ******* in a respectful manner that some of the boxes were incorrectly moved. I had 15 boxes at the second stop that should have been unloaded at the first stop, and that I would like to have credited the extra 15 minutes it took to take the 3 boxes out of the delivery truck. He got very visibly upset and said that it was the way I stacked the boxes and they just loaded them that way. So basically, I was held responsible even though I am paying for the move and was specific in telling him 3 times to please look at the labeled boxes to ensure they were going to the proper locations. In addition, most of the boxes were sorted according to the first and second stops. He also said that on the bill of lading that only 1 bed, 1 dresser, and 1 nightstand was listed to move. He called **** and talked to her and then handed me the phone. She was very abrupt and rude with me and said that I told her I only had 1 bed, 1 dresser, and 1 nightstand moving. I explained to her in a respectful tone and manner that was not true and I would report the company. She said that was fine with her. I reiterated what I told her on the phone the day I called her for quotes. I explained to her that if I only had a bed, a dresser, and a nightstand to move, logically speaking, why would I hire 3 movers to move me? I reviewed the bill of lading and it indicated "(1) bedroom apt going to storage and (1) bed, (1) dresser with a nightstand going to the 2nd stop." I was very specific to explain to ******* at his arrival to my apartment on the date of the move, all the items that would be going to the first and second stops. **** didn’t care and was only concerned for payment. She told me that the charge for the move was $356 and forcefully requested payment at that time. After the bill was paid, ******* handed me a carbon copy of the bill of lading which did not include the inventory of all the items to be moved that he wrote down upon his arrival at my apartment.

Desired Settlement: An itemized bill with the accurate list of items that were moved on 1/11/14. ******* took an inventory of all the items to be moved.

Business Response:

RE: ****** *****

 

Good morning *** ****,

 

Please see attached copy of letter I submitted to ********* ***** from Windcrest Police department reference *** ****** *****s complaint.  I was asked to submit a written statement, *** ***** indicated to them movers took 3 boxes, she was not present at her unloads,  we ran her credit card unauthorized by her.   *** *****s Invoice clearly shows she was present, her original signatures at load and original signature when we unloaded her.   The only time we take inventory of customers household items is when we do the packing ourselves.  Her Invoice would have indicated a packing service.  She was also given a $25 discount.

 

Please see attached.

 

Respectfully,

 

**** ********

Econo Move & Storage, Inc.

Tel:  *************

Fax: *************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:

It is blatantly false namely because the information is contrary to what truly happened which was clearly recorded in the letter I provided BBB.


Regards,

****** *****

9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service