BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Square Cow Moovers?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Square Cow Moovers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Square Cow Moovers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Square Cow Moovers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 06, 2008 Business started: 11/01/2007 Business started locally: 11/01/2007 Business incorporated: 12/17/2007 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Wayne Lombard, Owner Mr. Derek Mills, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne Lombard, Owner
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Moving & Storage Company

Alternate Business Names
Square Cow Moovers, LLC Square Cow Movers
Additional Information

We are a local and long-distance moving company dedicated to serving the relocation needs of folks moving in and out of the great state of Texas.

Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Square Cow Moovers has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Square Cow Moovers packed and moved me 5/21-5/22/2013. During the move they did not lay down furniture pads and scratched/scuffed the freshly resealed floors terribly. Other items were broken and/or misplaced. I filed a claim for $1971.10. They initially cut me a check for $383.60. I filed with the ***** for damages. We went through mediation but could not come to an agreeable settlement. I have asked for an itemized breakdown on how they are paying for each line item in the claim spread sheet I sent them and have never received it from them. They also claim there is no way they could have done that kind of damage to the floors even though one of the senior movers warned the others to take care and they didn't heed the warning. To get the floors fixed I need to move out for two days. They refuse to cover this expense, plus they are low balling me on the floor repair and the damage to the rocking chair. I have no idea on how they figured out the reimbursement.

Desired Settlement: The initial claim amount minus $300 deductible.

Business Response:

We deeply appreciate the opportunity to respond to the complaint filed by *** ******.  Case #*******, letter dated January 6th, 2014

I hope to establish our exhaustive efforts to please *** ****** before, during and after the date of her move as well as provide the sound business practices and value driven standards our company culture is driven by.

 

Each statement/complaint is listed below with a response. 

 

Statement: “they did not lay down furniture pads and scratched/scuffed the…floors”

Response: Unfortunately, we have dealt with many, many damaged floors since we started our company in 2008.  This isn’t because we damage floors often but simply, it happens during a move from time to time.  In the nearly 6,000 moves we completed last year we probably dealt with a client’s floor damage less than 10 times.  Because we have extensive experience with this type of damage we had many reasons for denying this claim.  First, we never cover a clients floors completely.  This isn’t practical.  It would take hours to cover all the floor and we would be covering the very floor we’re required to place the furniture on.  Instead, we place protection in the areas most trafficked by our moving team.  Secondly, we don’t use furniture pads to protect the floors.  We use a neoprene floor runner specifically made to protect the floors.  These floor runners were used on *** ******’s move per our protocol.  The main reason that we denied the claim is because in the past when we damaged a floor we scratched or scuffed one area or one specific scratch.  When a member of our team does this the scratch is an obvious moving error and easily recognizable.  With *** ******, she claimed her entire house had scuffs and scratches from our movers.  This would go beyond a simple moving error and single incident.  Additionally, the type of floor damage wasn’t consistent with sliding or mishandling furniture.

Regardless, once we received *** ******’s claim form we viewed the pictures and became very concerned the damage wasn’t a result of our team moving her goods. Instead of automatically denying the claim we took the time to send one of our managers to *** ******’s house in ******, TX.  ***** ******, operations manager at Square Cow drove nearly two hours to *** ******’s house to speak with her and see the damage firsthand. From the beginning we were determined to make sure we exhausted all efforts to verify the cause of the damage was not a result of our services.  Again, we work closely with a flooring company to repair mishaps.  We are not above accepting damages caused by our team.  However, this situation proved to be very different.

 

Statement: “We went through mediation but could not come to an agreeable settlement.”

Response: Per our requirements by the ***** *** we followed through with mediation.  During the mediation hearing the attorney helping to mediate asked if Square Cow was willing to come up on their offer and we responded positively.  We would be willing to offer more to *** ******.  The mediator repeatedly asked *** ****** if she was willing to come down to close the gap.  *** ****** simply wouldn’t budge.  Finally, the mediator said he was marking this case as “unresolved”.  While we do not agree that we are responsible for more than the original offer we are and were willing to give *** ****** additional funds in good faith and in hopes of moving forward.

 

Statement: “I have asked for an itemized breakdown on how they are paying for each line item in the claim…”

Response: *** ****** did ask for a breakdown.  We communicated to *** ****** that we paid her asking amount on five of the eight items she claimed.  We did not accept her requested amounts on the remaining three items.  The breakdown is below:

  • Vacuum piece - Paid amount requested by *** ******
  • Glass - Paid amount requested by *** ******
  • Shelves - Paid amount requested by *** ******
  • Lamp shade - Paid amount requested by *** ******
  • Pot - Paid amount requested by *** ******
  • Rocker - Reduced the amount to repair rocker according to professional furniture repairman's advice
  • Floor - Deny liability but agreed to a $200 consideration 
  • Hotel - Denied claim

* It is important to understand that *** ****** agreed to a plan that requires a $300 deductible

 

Statement: “…one of the senior movers warned the others to take care and they didn’t heed the warning.”

Response: As with all damage claims we investigated and interviewed the movers involved.  The crew clearly recalled *** ******’s move.  They were surprised to hear she didn’t have a favorable experience.  To be honest, so was I.  I specifically called *** ****** at the conclusion of her move to make sure she had quality service.  She told me over the phone that the “guys did great”. 

  

We have responded honestly to each statement *** ****** made regarding her experience with our company.  In conclusion, we understand *** ****** is not pleased with her settlement.  We are very committed to providing top quality service and are always disappointed when a client is unhappy.  However, we simply cannot accept liability for damages we did not cause.  Perhaps the floors were not sealed properly and walking caused the scuffs.  Perhaps the floors were not yet cured and required additional time.  *** ****** had friends come over at the conclusion of the move to help.  Perhaps the inexperience of a close friend caused these issues.  Again, we’re confident it was not caused by our experienced crew.  Regardless, we have made *** ****** an offer significantly over our legal obligation.  We would like to focus on current and future clients and move forward.  We would hope *** ****** would feel the same way.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

First and foremost the moving guys did not put down the floor protection at first. It was only after quite a while that they did this.

I had two friends over to keep me company on the back patio and not to move anything I don't know where they got this idea from.. It sounds like SQ Moovers are trying to shift the blame.

I spoke to the owner after the packers were finished, different day.

I have asked to have an insurance adjuster evaluate the floors, not some inexperienced mover. The floors were done one week prior to the move. I have submitted the documentation to prove that. Yes they needed to be careful. Every mover in the past has always put furniture pads down where items are being wheeled in. I never expected the entire flooring to be covered. But in the past working for a very large computer company they always used professional/national movers and all of them put down furniture pads.  Again, this didn't happen at first when SQ Cow started moving stuff inside.

I am currently working with the ** *** on this issue. If we cannot resolve this we will go to court.

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

We deeply appreciate the opportunity to respond to the complaint filed by *** *******  Case #*******, most recent letter dated January 31st, 2014

 

Each statement/complaint is listed below with a response. 

 

Statement: “the moving guys did not put down floor protection at first.”

Response: *** *******was sent one of our top, A-Team crews.  We spoke to each member of the team to try and determine the results of the move.  Our head mover, assistant mover, and helpers all consistently stated that floor protection was applied according to our protocol. 

 

Statement: “..It sounds like SQ Moovers are trying to shift blame”

Response: This is not the case.  We took responsibility for the items that we believe we are responsible for replacing/repairing.  If we were trying to shift blame we would simply shift blame on all the items listed in the claim.  Instead, we are denying only one out of a list of claims.  We were attempting to offer alternative scenarios that “could” have caused these damages.  We also listed possible issues with the floors not being completely dried, cured.  These are simply possibilities that “could” lead to the damage.  Again, the damage to the floors is not consistent with moving.

 

Statement: “I spoke with the owner after the packers were finished, different day”

Response: Unfortunately, this is not a correct statement.  To be certain I checked our records to verify.  I spoke with *** *******on May 22nd (move day) at 5:28pm.  I have documentation of this if needed.

 

Statement: I have asked to have an insurance adjuster evaluate the floors, not some inexperienced mover.”

Response: *** *******is assuming that our manager, ***** ******, is “some inexperienced mover”.  This is not the case.  ******* work experience is not rooted in moving, although since he came onboard he has learned this industry well.  Before ***** was recruited and hired at Square Cow he worked for ******* and before that he was head of maintenance at a large residential property.  Both jobs required ***** to be skilled in electrical, plumbing, painting, flooring, etc…  This type of experience is great for our business because ***** has had extensive experience in a variety of fields, including flooring (tile, wood, stain, etc…)

 

Statement: “I am currently working with the ** *** on this issue.  If we cannot resolve this we will go to court.”

Response:  As previously stated we were/are more than happy to work with the arbitrator assigned to this case by the ** **** 

 

 

We have responded honestly to each statement *** *******made regarding her experience with our company.  In conclusion, we have offered *** *******a fair settlement for the items we were responsible for.  We would also offer to repair the floors if we caused the damage.  Simply put, we’re confident our team followed protocol and the floor damage was not a result of our team and was not consistent with a moving error.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

You claim the floor damage was not a result of the move. I have witnesses that saw the floor before and after and can testify that the floors were completely wrecked by the move.

Your employees are making incorrect statements. Perhaps I did speak to you on the day of the move. However I could not have assessed the floor damage as there were boxes everywhere. In fact, boxes marked garage were in the dining room. Boxes marked kitchen were in the garage. They didn't pay any attention to the labeling. I didn't find all this out until I started unpacking the next day or I would have told you that the day of the move. I was just so glad to get them out of here. I asked the movers multiple times not to stack the dishpacks on top of another yet they did it anyway.

Also, your business practices are questionable. You charged me for items you did not move. You charged me for boxes which I told you I would provide based in an email to you yet you brought your own boxes. I spent around $400 for boxes. You gave me a mere $75 credit. You did not itemize any of the final charges.

This will be culled out by the ***** investigation. Once the ***** investigation is complete we can move forward.

Regards,

***** ******

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SquareCow Moovers was hired for my residential move in June. They mishandled my move and did not meet the terms of the contract: - Mover accepted contract to move the sellers out of our (destination) house - Move was to be completed early afternoon - > move didn't finish until after midnight - Items in contract that were paid to be moved were not - > resulting in additional cost / expense to complete - Items in contract to move were "left" at origin resulting in significant overpayment and delays. - Move was not correctly adequately resourced - > resulting in significant overpayment - Above move conditions resulted in excessive damage to personal belongs (> $10k in repair costs) - Company sent out individual to repair damages to master bed but did not actually correct anything - Company has not responded to date to claims filed

Desired Settlement: To resolve this issue, I'm seeking $5,000.00 which is reimbursement for our severly mishandled move costing ($2,185) and damages to property ($2,815).

Business Response: To
whom it may concern:

 

Thank
you for the opportunity to respond to Mrs. **** regarding the BBB complaint
********  Below I've outlined the events leading up to and after Mrs.
****'s move. 

 


Mrs. **** contacted our office to set up an in-home
estimate.  Our sales representative arrived on time to provide the
walk through quote.  Mrs. **** was busy on a work call so only a
brief conversation took place after walking through.
Mrs. **** sent several emails asking various questions
leading up to booking the move.  One request was that Square Cow
provide three different crews; one for her house, a second for storage
unit 1, a third for storage unit 2.  We told Mrs. **** that we would
not be able to provide that much resources.  However, we were happy
to provide one crew for the house and a second for the storage units.
Mrs. **** eventually booked our services.
On the day of the move we found out that Mrs. **** and
the previous owner (I'll call her Ms. *****) of her new house had both
scheduled their move with us on the same day.  To further explain,
while we were loading Mrs. **** we were also loading Ms. *****.  This
has happened only a few times since we've been in business.  As soon
as we figured out that this was happened we immediately called Mrs. ****
to ask if she knew.  She said she did.  We addressed our
concerns with Mrs. **** that Ms. ***** would take much longer to load than
her and that this would probably delay everything considerable.  Mrs.
**** responded that it didn't matter because she and Ms. ***** are friends
and it will be fine.  Furthermore, she stated that she didn't mind if
her crew helped Ms. *****'s crew finish loading to get things completed
quicker.  We reiterated that we were concerned that the way they set
up a same day move would increase the amount of time.
Mrs. **** called several times mid-afternoon frustrated
that things weren't moving along quick enough.  We responded that
while we try to complete things in a timely manner we never guarantee how
long a job will take.  Regardless, we started calling our other crews
trying to find more help to complete the move quicker.  We were able
to get several members of our staff over the unload site for this reason.
 This was done at no additional charge to Mrs. ****.
While the move from her old house to her new house was
a flat rate, the storage units were moved by the hour.  That crew was
supposed to charge Mrs. **** for every minute they were on the job.
 Even though the crew was on the job for over 12 hours she was only
charged for 4 hours.
The move was scheduled for a Saturday.  As a rule
we don't work on Sunday's.  We reserve that day for the families of
our staff.  However, we had staff members help Mrs. **** on Sunday
for free in hopes of meeting her needs.
Mrs. **** called the following day (Monday) upset that
items were not completed.  Items were left at the old house and other
items were not where they needed to be or not assembled to her liking.
 Over the course of the next 10 days we sent several crews and
managers to Mrs. ****'s home in hopes of getting things exactly the way
she wanted them.  Again, all of this was done at no additional charge
to Mrs. ****.
Lastly, Mrs. **** produced a claim form regarding items
that were damaged in her move.  We are highly regulated by the state
of Texas in how we handle these types of claims.  We responded to
this claim according to our contract, signed by Mrs. ****.  


 

In conclusion, we're confident we completed the move Mrs. **** contracted us to
provide.  In addition, we worked tirelessly to resolve the issues Mrs.
**** presented.  These efforts represented many hours and several visits
of not only laborers but members of our management staff;  because we knew
Mrs. **** was upset we charged her far less than what we agreed to.
 

If you have questions or need further clarity please don't hesitate to contact me.
 

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.
 

Respectfully,

 
**** *******
Square Cow Moovers

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********** **
I am rejecting this response because:  their response to BBB about the facts and their actions is false and untrue.  Please let me know if I need to outline point by point their false claims and provide supporting pictures & documentation.  

Regards,

******* ****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********** **
I am rejecting this response because:
Square Cow Moovers did not respond to filed claims (within the 90 day requirement by the state of Texas).
Square Cow Moovers lied about what claims they did resolve (ie: bed room bolts, chair, etc)
. Square Cow Moovers did not move all items that they quoted and I paid to have move.
Square Cow Moovers grossly underperformed resulting in excessive & extraordinary damage to property and self.
I have a lot of documentation, written correspondance, pictures and physical proof that they have been intentionally deceptive.  This service only allows me to upload 5 documents.

Regards,

******* ****

Business Response: To
whom it may concern:

 

This
is our second response to to complaint ********  I will respond to each
comment made by this client in the order they were presented:

 


Square Cow did respond to claims filed by the client
within our allotted 90 days.  We have documentation showing this.
 We mailed a Claims Settlement letter and reimbursement check on July
30th.  The client emailed us on August 3rd confirming that she had
indeed received our claims letter and reimbursement check for the damages.
 The letter and amount provided meet the requirements of our
agreement.
The client mentions in two statements that we (Square
Cow Moovers) have acted deceptively or lied.  After reviewing all
correspondence between us and this client we have not been able to find
any area where we mislead the client or misrepresented who we are or how
we operate.  Conversely, most of the communication points towards
efforts to find solutions to this clients issues.
As stated in my first response Square Cow Moovers spent
considerably more resources (time, trucks, movers, management, etc...)
than we were contracted for in hopes of meeting this clients expectations.
 We have documentation showing this.  This is in response to the
clients statement regarding Square Cow Moovers not moving all items quoted
and underperforming.


 

Thank
you for taking the time to review all the information.  If we can assist
the BBB in answering further questions or providing more clarity we're more
than happy to do so.

 

Best
regards,

 

**** *******

****** *** *******

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********** **
I am rejecting this response because:  it is untrue. 
- They did not respond to my claims (documented proof attached)
- The claims they did respond to were untrue (ie bed not repaired, chair not cleaned, etc)
- They stated move conditions were extraordinary when they did an onsite/in home assessment of the origination AND destination (3 times, one of which included a physical move) within weeks of our move date

Ultimately, they misrepresented their services & deceived us resulting in extraordinary loss and damages.

Regards,

******* ****

6/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service